BU’s inbox has been inundated in the last 24 hours with requests to sign a petition calling for justice in the matter involving Demarco Gibbs who was beaten by for minors. Unfortunately the injuries sustained by Demarco left him brain dead.

The following words contained in the change.org petition reported to have secured 10,000 signatures at recent count caught the eye of the blogmaster.

The laws of Barbados need to be amended to charge children as adults when they commit heinous crimes. Their parents must also be held accountable. The time for change is now!

Increasingly our small society once characterized by personable citizens has morphed into something opposite- defined in this instant as Barbadians prepared to swing the sledge hammer to crush the symptom  and mostly ignore the causal factor(s) that created the outcome. What does it say about thousands of adults; elders in a society willing to relinquish causal responsibility?

The behaviour – good and bad – manifested by minors in our society; in our charge, in the homes, schools and everywhere reflects on us ADULTS. What moral authority do we have to propose to treat children as adults within the boundary of our laws designed to protect?  By all means let us how to treat with debate parental delinquency but charging children as adult does NOT Rh compute in the mind of this blogmaster.

Recently the blogmaster traversed the Bow Road heading North and his line of sight was assaulted by the dilapidated state of the National Stadium. The state of the stadium did not deteriorate to its current state in recent years, it has suffered steady decline even ‘in times of plenty’. In the mind of the blogmaster a national stadium is integral to a vibrant national youth program.

There is the oft repeated phrase a healthy nation is a wealthy nation.  The blogmaster is prepared to extend the adage that an engaged youth represent future leaders. What does a cursory assessment of the appearance of the National Stadium point to where youth affairs register on government’s list of priorities?

Screenshot 2020-07-04 at 18.44.58
National Stadium

The blogmaster is tired, tired, tired of connecting dots for some of you.

113 responses to “NO, NO, NO – CHILDREN ARE NOT ADULTS”

1. Critical Analyzer Avatar

Dear Blogmaster,
    I totally agree with you. We adults have done a piss poor job of setting good examples for children to follow. We have to realise in this social media world, adult behaviours that before would have never seen the light of day are being proudly put on display for our children to learn from.

How can we expect the children to be any better when we constantly have the media taking advantage of people’s weakened, emotional state to go viral, get lots of views, likes and sell papers? That video and others like it should never have been posted, kept private and used as the basis to write a proper article to inform society as to whether we have a tragic situation or is a manifestation of a larger problem.

How can we expect the children to be any better when we bicker like children by name calling, arguing and disrespecting each other in our parliament and forums just to be noticed and one up each other and call it robust debate when it is all a dog and pony show and they are all get along whether they are friends or not?

Instead of seeking to try children as adults, we should be seeking to to put ourselves on trial for being poor adults leaving our children with fewer and fewer good role models to look up to and learn from to guide their behaviour.

2. Vincent Codrington Avatar

Where were the adults, who are supposed to be supervising these children ,when this act took place? Should we not be censuring them?

3. Sometimes when people say that they want “justice” I am not sure what they mean. Do the mean punishment? Do they mean another law to punish after the fact?

I have been consistent on this blog calling for better parenting, specifically better FATHERING of our children. And sometimes I am accused of not liking men, when the truth is that I don’t have the time of day for bad behaved men who neglect and abandon their children, AND the mothers of those children. Raising children is brutal hard labor, every woman raising children deserves the emotional, practical, and financial support of the fathers of those chidren, and support from the state, the society inraising those children, because when we children raise children WE ARE REPRODUCING AND WORKING HARD TO RAISE THE WORK FORCE. No workforce, no economy, no businesses, no political class, no millionaires, no billionaires, It is way past time that we stop behaving as though our children are pickney in massa’s n—er yard, somebody’s else’s responsibility.

All the the children involved in this severe injury need help, The victim as well as those who committed the assault. If as has been said one of the children is 7 years old he or she does not yet have the emotional experiential or emotional capacity to understand the long term consequences of his or her actions. But it would help if he or she and all of the other children receive psychological/psychiatric counseling, perhaps weekly sessions for as long as a year. If as is said one or more of the children is 12 years old or older, then the law already provides for the punishment and rehabilitation of children of that age.

I expect that all or many of the parents need help too, because where did these children learn to use this almost deadly violence? The PARENTS of this child particularly need help too to cope with the loss of a healthy child, and to prepare them emotionally and financially to provide long term care for their disabled child. One of my school mates suffered such an injury when he was about that age, in an accident. He is now in his mid-60’s and still dependent on his siblings for physical and financial care.

So perhaps instead of a petition designed for punishing children as adults we need an honestly organized fund raiser designed to provide decades long support for the parents and siblings of this child, because the possibility still exists that this child might yet long outlive both of his parents.

I have a sister-in-law who spent much of her career working on a ward for patients with brain injuries, those injuries mostly suffered in traffic accidents, but also through war, assaults,and falls. I am thankful that she told me once. Regardless of how angry you are NEVER EVER push a person unless you intend to kill them,because when you push a person you don’t know how and where they will land, and regardless of how angry you are NEVER EVER hit a person, especially a child on the head.

One of my schoolmates died a few years ago, after he was pushed by one of his drinking buddies, a childhood friend.

The consequences of head injuries evenif not deadly, are life altering.

4. William Skinner Avatar

@ Cuhdear Bajan
    A very thoughtful , instructive and enlightened post. Very good.

5. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ Cuh Dear

They usually mean legalised REVENGE. My emphasis is on prevention. Again I ask ,where were those responsible for supervision of these children?

6. I spoke about that national stadium for quite some time, while all the avaricious look all fat, unhealthy and bloated with huge salaries for sitting on their obese asses and doing very little to nothing and can hardly walk when you do see them, while calling themselves the olympic committee or some such, the kids are DEPRIVED of any and all amenities for a healthy transition to a well rounded development… it has been very ugly in Barbados for a very long time, the greedy continue to deprive generations of the young of their birthright and entitlements…and that is just fine with the greedy in the parliament.

there is more than enough blame to go around for the present state of the society.

7. With great reluctance and on the commendation of WS, I read the submission of cuhdear. I have seen her tackle and then stumble on a number of various topics and expected the same here.

The outcome of the altercation between these youngsters was an extreme one – brain death.

Like hell, Yes-Yes-Yes

On social media, i have seen so many school children fighting that I believe the next heavyweight champion will be from Barbados. I have seen videos of groups of youngsters ganging up to beat just one youngster. This must stop.

Like cuhdear, I do not believe that young children are midget adults, but unlike her I cannot just give them a free pass.

I am also unable to pass the blame of the children’s action on to their parents or lack of parents. I too recognize that these children brains are developing, but I do not suffer from the notion that they will all develop into good and productive adults.
    I have not seen a video of the beating, but the outcome tells me that it was a savage and vicious one. Surely these kids know the difference between winning a fight and almost killing someone. If they do, then they should be punished harshly and if they don’t then we should try to salvage them and punish them even more harshly.

We have graduated from beating to brain death. Must we wait until someone dies from an attack before we acknowledge that something is wrong? We should care more about the victims than we care about the predators.

I volunteer cuhdear to go to that ‘grieving’ mother and tell her, I am sorry for your son, but these children ….”

YES-YES-YES

8. Parenting in BDS is at an all time low. My Grandmother always said “I could take de ass to the pond and make it drink de water”. Most parents no longer spends quality time to mentor their kids. Not even on the rules of ethic. They are left to fend for themselves. It’s bloody outrage to remotely entertain the taught of trying a kid as an adult. Let’s put the neglected, unbridled, callous parents on trial.

They are called “kids”.

9. hear hear Bro Blogmaster
    Just Observing

10. I cannot join the blame the parents brigade for I know this will end up.demonizing a segment of our society.

I can see some believing that disgusting behavior come only from children whose parents are having a tough time making end meets. They would have you believe that ‘good parents’ only have good children and then they will paint a picture of a good parent and that of a bad parent.
    My concern is not for ‘the neglected, unbridled, callous parents” but for the good parent who has a demon on their hands or for the parents of victims.

Hold the children accountable.

11. The thrust of the article is that you should not treat children as adults under law if the adults are responsible for the end result. It is a complex problem that calls for a multifaceted approach.

12. The thrust of the article is that you should not treat children as adults under law if the adults are responsible for the end result. It is a complex problem that calls for a multifaceted approach….(Quote)

Pleaseeeeeee will someone plse explain this great legal theory?

13. Taken from the CPS (Crown Prosecution Service in the UK website.

Principle
    The CPS is committed to ensuring that the special considerations which apply to cases involving a young offender are enshrined in its working practices and form part of the training of its prosecutors.

The key considerations governing the decisions made by Crown Prosecutors in dealing with youths are those contained in:

Section 44 of the Children And Young Persons Act 1933 (Archbold 5-232), which requires the courts to have regard to the welfare of a young person;
    Section 37 of the Crime And Disorder Act 1998 (Archbold 5-231), which requires the principal aim of agencies involved in the youth justice system to be the prevention of offending by young persons; and
    The Code for Crown Prosecutors, which states that Crown Prosecutors must consider the interests of a youth, amongst other public interest factors, when deciding whether a prosecution is needed.
    Standards for children in the youth justice system

Guidance
    Criminal Justice System
    The CPS is one of several agencies involved within the CJS that deals with youths.

Effective partnerships within the criminal justice system will contribute to securing real improvements in the youth justice system and will help to give effect to Government policy. Such partnerships require mutual cooperation and understanding.

All Areas are encouraged to participate in local inter-agency groups with representatives from the Youth and Crown Courts, Youth Offending Team managers, police, CPS, appropriate defence representatives and Victim Support Service co-ordinators.

These groups should be responsible for the implementation of youth justice initiatives. For example:

Contributing to a reduction of delay in the youth justice system;
    Monitoring of the expedited file system, i.e. the level of guilty pleas;
    Use of and checks with the Case Tracker Systems; and
    Developing good local practice in line with Youth Justice Board recommendations.

https://www.cps.gov.uk/legal-guidance/youth-offenders

14. After the resurrection of the old Kensington Oval to de existing new, with rocket boosters and all at each end of the grand payload bay/stands. Our National Stadium suffered serious maintenance and neglect. De new KO is poised for star system HBC 672.

15. it is noteworthy that when the devil’s agent flood the bloods a Bible blog with ungodly music that godly and relevant music is taken down , but I will ask simply and sincerely ask a simple question

WERE THESE DEVILISH DEMONIC BOYS EVER TOLD THE STORIES OF JESUS like those of my generation were?
    WERE THESE DEVILISH DEMONIC BOYS EVER TAUGHT TO PRAY taught like those of my generation were?
    DID THESE DEVILISH DEMONIC BOYS EVER SAT IN A CHURCH PEW AND LISTENED TO THEIR DAD SING “MORE HOLINESS GIVE ME” like I did.?

Let us now talk as we do on BU daily. We talk well and long dont we?
    But we never get to the root of problems.
    We have a big problem here people it is
    . A PROBLEM NO MAN CAN SHAKE…….IT IS THE SIN PROBLEM SIN IN THE HEART!
    Problems are a part of life and everybody has them. It is critical that we understand that success or defeat can come out of problems. The results depend on how we handle them and the one we trust to help us solve them. Certain problems can be solved, but one problem no man can solve is the sin problem. And, the sin problem is one that every person has (Romans 3:23). Just how can we deal with sin?
    Admit you need a need
    Be willing to do something about it
    Be open to what God shows you about it

GUESS WHAT? WHEN WE WERE ALL GETTING HIGHER UP AND BETTER OFF, AND OUR EDUCATION AND OUR FANCY HOMES AND CARS AND MOVING FROM THE VILLAGES TO THE HEIGHTS AND TERRACES…….WE FORGOT PRAYER AND THE THINGS OF GOD AND WE MOCKED AND SAID THE BIBLE WAS GIVEN TO US TO KEEP US DOWN.

WE STOPPED LIVING THEREBY AND WE FAILED TO TEACH OUR CHILDREN HOW TO LIVE THEREBY ALSO ………….AND NOW WE MARVEL AT THE RESULTS, AND WE PONTIFICATE LOUDLY AND LONG AS WE PRONOUNCE OUR PHILOSOPHY AND PSYCHOLOGY AS WE SPEW MORONIC MOUTHINGS

BUT Jeremiah 17:9-10 IS STILL VERY VERY TRUE
    The heart is deceitful above all things, and desperately wicked: who can know it?
    THIS IS THE IRREFUTABLE TRUTH FROM THE WORD OF GOD

ANOTHER TIME I WILL RELATE THAT WHAT YOU ALL ARE MOANING ABOUT NOW IS NOTHING NEW. I SAW SUCH ABOUT 30 YEARS AGO IN MY CAPACITY AS ACTING MEDICAL OFFICER FOR THE POLICE

16. Bro GP sit down and shut up
    We have a serious mental problem here
    A problem which is in constant conflict within the stigma /s upon the way this generation and others have treated mental issues
    One can placed a bet that teachers and others who have engaged with these boys over the years would have seen the many red flags
    Some might have brought it to the parents attention while others might have turned a blind eye or deaf ear
    Physician heal thyself the whole of society is in this breakdown and despicable lack of communication together
    Yuh sow the wind at some point and time yuh sow the whirlwind
    Barbados might yet be behind in having this kind of horrific behaviour exhibited within society but its time is yet coming
    However one can easily look across at International countries and witness the carnage left behind within the halls of schools by children who took deadly actions into their own hands
    One can also hear the parents of these children testify to their good and wholesome upbringing
    However underneath lies a soul borne out of mental problems in need of help
    As to if these children should be treated as Adults
    Imho the root cause of the problem should be treated first if not the wheels remain stuck in mud going nowhere
    Have a pleasant evening
    #####mindingmyownbusiness

17. THERE IS A BIG DIFFERENCE BETWEEN MADNESS AND SIN IN THE HEART

MANY OF US OLD FOGGIES REMEMBER WHEN WE WERE SENT TO CHURCH THREE TIMES PUN A SUNDEE, AND SOME WERE DRAGGED IN ADDITION EVEN AT A TENDER AGE TO THE MIDWEEK MEETING AT THE ONE OF THE NUMEROUS LITTLE MEETING HALLS ACROSS THE ISLAND

THE CHILDREN OF THAT GENERATION WHO GREW UP IN THE 40’S AND 50’S AND 60’S ARE ALL NOW WELL STRICKEN IN AGE, AND STRICKEN WITH SEVERAL MALADIES. SOME CAN NO LONGER DARKEN A CHURCH DOOR. SOME MAY NOT HAVE LIVED THE MOST GODLY OF LIVES, BUT THE CHILDREN OF THOSE GENERATIONS HAVE NEVER MURDERED, OR DESCENDED INTO THE MORASS OF SIN AS IS PRESENT TODAY.

THE CHILDREN OF THAT GENERATION WHO GREW UP IN THE 40’S AND 50’S AND 60’S WHO DID NOT ATTEND ONE OF THE LOCAL VILLAGE CHURCHES, WERE BLESSED BY BEING TAUGHT AT SCHOOL BY MEN AND WOMEN WHO HAD SOME GODLINESS ABOUT THEM.

I AM AMAZED TODAY AT THE DEEP THEOLOGY IN THE LYRICS OF SOME OF THE “CHILDREN’S HYMNS” WE SANG IN SUNDAY SCHOOL AND AT MORNING PRAYERS. DID THIS DEEP THEOLOGY HAD SOME SUBLIMINAL PENETRATION IN OUR YOUNG MINDS? I CERTAINLY DID NOT UNDERSTAND THEM THEN.

THE CHILDREN OF THAT GENERATION WHO GREW UP IN THE 40’S AND 50’S AND 60’S WERE POOR–THEY KNEW POVERTY GREATER THAN FOLK TODAY, BUT THEIR POVERTY WAS NOT USED AS AN EXCUSE FOR RAMPANT SIN AS WE SEE TODAY

THEIR POVERTY DID NOT CAUSE THEM TO BE MAD OR DELUSIONAL
    THEY WERE TAUGHT TO BE CONTENT, AND THEY ENJOYED SUCCOUR AND COMFORT WITH FOLK OF LIKE CIRCUMSTANCES

IN THE USA THEY TOOK THE BIBLE OUT OF THE SCHOOLS AND THE TEN COMMANDMENTS FROM THE COURTS. TODAY THEY TEACH THE CHILDREN ALL SORTS OF RUBBISH ABOUT THE SEXES EVEN THOUGH GENESIS 1:27 TEACHES THAT 27 So God created man in his own image, in the image of God created he him; male and female created he them.
    WE COPY THESE DEGENERATES TO OUR PERIL

I THANK GOD FOR THE EXPOSURE AND GUIDANCE OF THE ELDERS IN THE SOCIETY DURING MY UPBRINGING

WE ARE WITNESSING THE FULFILLMENT OF THE PREDICTIONS OF 2 Timothy 3 AND THIS CAN NOT BE REFUTED

3 This know also, that in the last days perilous times shall come.

2 For men shall be lovers of their own selves, covetous, boasters, proud, blasphemers, disobedient to parents, unthankful, unholy,

3 Without natural affection, trucebreakers, false accusers, incontinent, fierce, despisers of those that are good,

4 Traitors, heady, highminded, lovers of pleasures more than lovers of God;

5 Having a form of godliness, but denying the power thereof: from such turn away.

6 For of this sort are they which creep into houses, and lead captive silly women laden with sins, led away with divers lusts,

7 Ever learning, and never able to come to the knowledge of the truth.

8 Now as Jannes and Jambres withstood Moses, so do these also resist the truth: men of corrupt minds, reprobate concerning the faith.

9 But they shall proceed no further: for their folly shall be manifest unto all men, as their’s also was.

18. Re I AM AMAZED TODAY AT THE DEEP THEOLOGY IN THE LYRICS OF SOME OF THE “CHILDREN’S HYMNS” WE SANG IN SUNDAY SCHOOL AND AT MORNING PRAYERS. DID THIS DEEP THEOLOGY HAVE SOME SUBLIMINAL PENETRATION IN OUR YOUNG MINDS? I CERTAINLY DID NOT UNDERSTAND THEM THEN.

Here, for example is O THOU CAMEST FROM ABOVE WHICH WE HAD TO MEMORIZE IN PRIMARY SCHOOL, which speaks initially about the sending of the Holy Spirit, and his work within, before delving into truths presented in Romans 12 & 14.HOW WAS A LITTLE BOY OF 6-8 UNDERSTAND SUCH DEEP NT TEACHING?

19. So what changed after the 60’s in Barbados?

Socialism or as the politicians like to say Democratic Socialism became entrenched.

A Marxist agenda was driven through the 30’s 40’s, 50’s and 60’s by at first a small minority.

We have even named one of the earliest proponents, Clement Payne, as a National Hero!!

Thing with Marxism is it embraces Atheism.

In America we watch the minority leftists trying to amplify their voice through the leftist media.

However, the left is still a minority there so we watch for the past four years every attempt to thwart the democratically elected President.

For Marxists, NO LIVES MATTER.

The President thinks differently, and the left, like Dracula, cannot bear the light of day.

So I could ask how come in a country where supposedly “BLACK LIVES MATTER” could such a thing happen?

How could four boys take a life?

But it would be a rhetorical question.

“NO LIVES MATTER”!!

20. Vincent Codrington Avatar

As usual the moot all over the place. One side wants to allocate punishment. Another side wants to look for solutions to the violence of underaged children. I will sit out this one until the moot is clear.
    in Sunday schools and primary schools the theology of the hymns were explained. My generation knew what morals they were intended to teach.

21. re in Sunday schools and primary schools the theology of the hymns were explained.
    NOT AT BAY PRIMARY OR ST PAULS
    NOT AT ST LAWRENCE BOYS OR CHURCH
    NOT AT BOYS FOUNDATION OR CHRIST CHURCH PARISH CHURCH OR AT HARRISON COLLEGE

RE My generation knew what morals they were intended to teach. BOVINE EXCREMENT
    I AM NOT TALKING ABOUT MORALS I AM SPEAKING OF THEOLOGY

14 How then shall they call on him in whom they have not believed? and how shall they believe in him of whom they have not heard? and how shall they hear without a preacher?

15 And how shall they preach, except they be sent? as it is written, How beautiful are the feet of them that preach the gospel of peace, and bring glad tidings of good things!

22. HERE IS ONE I LEARNED AT MY GRANNY’S FEET
    CAN YOU MR I LIKE EVERYTHING EXPLAIN THE THEOLOGY HERE? YOU CALL IT MORALS
    TO WHICH DO THE POET REFER?
    There’s A Friend For Little Children

There’s a Friend for little children
    Above the bright blue sky,
    A Friend who never changes,
    Whose love will never die;
    Our earthly friends may fail us,
    And change with changing years,
    This Friend is always worthy
    Of that dear Name He bears.

There’s a rest for little children
    Who love the blessèd Savior,
    And to the Father cry
    A rest from every turmoil,
    From sin and sorrow free,
    Where every little pilgrim
    Shall rest eternally.

There’s a home for little children
    Where Jesus reigns in glory,
    A home of peace and joy
    No home on earth is like it,
    Nor can with it compare;
    For everyone is happy
    Nor could be happier there.

There’s a crown for little children
    And all who look for Jesus
    Shall wear it by and by;
    A crown of brightest glory,
    Which He will then bestow
    On those who found his favor
    And loved His Name below.

There’s a song for little children
    A song that will not weary,
    Though sung continually;
    A song which even angels
    Can never, never sing
    They know not Christ as Savior,
    But worship Him as King.

There’s a robe for little children
    And a harp of sweetest music,
    And palms of victory.
    All, all above is treasured,
    And found in Christ alone:
    O come, dear little children
    That all may be your own.

23. Vincent Codrington Avatar

There is no difference between morality and Theology. I know for you Theology is engaging in Biblical Gymnastics. Serious Theologians study the relationship between God and Man, and the relationships between Man and Man. They are interrelated. You need to step outside of that suffocating theological box in which you are residing.

24. Vincent Codrington Avatar

Simply explained . God loves us unconditionally. We love each other unconditionally when God dwells in us. God is LOVE. You may now understand why I”like everything”. I look for the good in everything. I believe that is over your head.

25. There is no difference between morality and Theology. RUBBISH
    JUST DEFINE THE TWO WORDS TO START WITH
    ACTUALLY I HAVE STUDIED AND I TEACH WHAT THE BIBLE TEACHES
    I DIDNT EARN A DMIN BY HANGING OUT IN AMEN’S ALLEY
    RE Serious Theologians study the relationship between God and Man, and the relationships between Man and Man. RUBBISH!
    I URGE YOU TO AT LEAST READ A SIMPLE SYSTEMATIC THEOLOGY AND LEARN THEREBY
    THEOLOGY= THE STUDY OF GOD

THIS IS STUFF I WAS TAUGHT IN A LOCAL BIBLE BELIEVING BIBLE TEACHING BAPTIST CHURCH IN BARBADOS
    I NOTICE THAT THIS IS ALSO TAUGHT WORLDWIDE

What are the four types of theology?
    the four Great Departments of Theology are:

Biblical studies OR Exegetical theology. This pillar of theology is the critical examination and interpretation of theological texts. …
    Church history OR Historical theology. As the name suggests, this is the study of how Christian theology has changed over time. …
    Systematic theology. …
    Practical theology. …

HERE ARE THE 10 doctrines IN the discipline of theology
    • Theology Proper. Doctrine of God the Father.
    • Bibliology. Doctrine of the Bible.
    • Anthropology. Doctrine of Man.
    • Angelology. Doctrine of Angels.
    • Hamartiology. Doctrine of sin.
    • Soteriology. Doctrine of salvation.
    • Christology. Doctrine of Christ.
    • Ecclesiology. Doctrine of the Church.

I LOVE WHEN A BU BIBLE ILLITERATE SEEKS TO CHALLENGE ME ABOUT THE WORD OF GOD
    HILARIOUS

26. INCLUDE
    Eschatology Doctrine of future things
    Pneumatology Doctrine of the Holy Spirit

27. here are the a few Key concepts:on Theology Proper

cosmological argument Psalm 19:1-6

Teleological argument Job 39:13-19

Anthropological argument

General revelation Romans 1:18-20

Transcendence John 1:18

Omniscience Matthew 11:21

Holiness 1 Peter 1:15

Justice Acts 17:31

love 1 John 4:8

truth John 14:6

learn the Pneumatology Central Passages

Conviction of John 16:8-11

Effectual Calling of 1 Corinthians 1:23-24

Regeneration of John 3:6

Indwelling of 1 Corinthians 6:19

Baptism of 1 Corinthians 12:13

Sealing of Ephesians 1:13

Pledge of Ephesians 1:14

Gifts of 1 Corinthians 12:13

Filling of Ephesians 5:18

Teaching of John 16:12-15

28. @GP August 1, 2020 7:12 PM ” DID NOT UNDERSTAND THEM THEN.”

A whole lotta t’ings inattentive li’l boys don’t understand, just like the li’l boys who injured this child.

Some of us who are not narcissists have always understood.

29. I learnt about the Reformation in 3rd form, Captain Hutt, 1969/70.

It is only as I started really learning about the Quakers after 2000 that I understand what it was all about.

Always knew I had missed something, but was given enough to make me curious and it helped me to connect the dots later in life.

Can’t say if Captain Hutt was religious or not just that we got the basic facts without much explanation.

At the time I guess things religious were being frowned on as society changed its morals.

Today I doubt West Indian History syllabus even addresses such topics.

Religious Knowledge was taught at HC up to second form then abandoned.

The book used was called “Acts of the Apostles”.

The 60’s was all about denying God, I’m just lucky to have had the smattering of teaching at school I got to make me realise as I got older just how important a subject it was.

Confirmation classes at the Cathedral with Dean Hazlewood gave me alot of new theological concepts I only understood as I got older.

The name of the hymn we were expected to memorise was “Come Holy Ghost Our Souls Inspire”, 157.

I was 11 and dutifully memorised it without really understanding it.

“Breathe on me Breath of God” the next set of children in my family and extended family were set to memorise when they went through Confirmation classes at St. David’s a few years later with the Mirfield Fathers.

Yet I always knew I missed something special in the structured learning environment and something was being withheld.

I watched as a real bad boy got his soul saved in fourth form and joined the ISCF … Miss Alleyne!!.

I heard the story years later that he went to Tank and apologised for the trouble he had caused him.

He even broke down crying.

I wondered how Tank would have dealt with such an outpouring from a boy he had probably flogged many times!!

Then I realised as I got older I had the basics and could build on them by reading and learning on my own.

30. Three mornings a week were full prayers in the hall.

A selection of Hymns over the years at HC.

Probably about 120 mornings a year.

That was the other source of religious knowledge, theology.

Can’t say we understood what we sung but funny thing is the memory of a verse or three remains.

… and they make perfect sense now!!

31. I remember Auntie Olga on Rediffusion on a Saturday morning.

Seem to remember “There’s a Friend for little children” was played there.

Also remember “Jesus wants me for a sunbeam”

Where are those Christian women today?

How hard can it be to have simple programs like that these days?

Why do we only get nitwit music these days?

32. Gercine Carter and a young white guy also had a programme on Rediffusion. I think Gercine was still at Foundation at the time. She ought to be celebrated as a trooper. She is remarkable.

33. We see the problem with our society right here. Our societies have changed. We have to come up with the right policies to fix the challenges facing us. The Church does not occupy the role it did in the past, and it will npt in the foreseeable future.

34. A couple of things. Regardless of parenting, a child knows right from wrong from early, much earlier than ten years old.

Why do you think they run when stealing mangoes from Mr.Bannister tree and comes out, or when they scatter and disappear when they break Mrs Jones window playing cricket? Tink dem stupid?

Yes, indiscipline and disrespect or lack of, are driven by examples by families and the community.

But do not tell me that children do not know right from wrong.

The second point is that, in exceptional circumstances, the law allows for minors to be tried as adults.

35. On the issue of indiscipline and disrespect, that is where family and society is culpable.

Very much so. See it every day and every annual Wukup Festival.

36. @Crusoe

In the Barbados context, not the UK, USA, Canada or some other impersonal country that already have problems with managing crime- the 10 year old is found guilty, do we send them to DOdds?

37. And they ‘re off! Everybody has mounted his favourite soap box!

John is bashing the left and the whole population for whom he says black lives don’t matter, even though we are here paying attention to everything he says we should be paying attention to, namely blacks killing blacks.

GP is off proving that he knows the most about the Bible even though we all have acknowledge that he knows the most for sure but…

WURA is off blaming the fat full bellied parasites. lol

And Hal?

Well ….he is off OBVIOUSLY INSULTING the blogmaster’s English even though most of us have learnt to comprehend David Speak.

Good morning!

38. Correction: “acknowledged”

39. I will give my thoughts on the subject when I have thought some more.

40. William Skinner Avatar

@ Hal
    “ Hal Austin August 2, 2020 4:14 AM

“Gercine Carter and a young white guy also had a programme on Rediffusion. I think Gercine was still at Foundation at the time. She ought to be celebrated as a trooper. She is remarkable.”

You are absolutely correct, I have said over and over that her columns should be read by all students from primary and up. Her use of English is exceptional and her writing style is clear and precise.
    Good call, Comrade

41. David,

I believe that custodial sentencing for minors who are convicted involves retaining them “at Her Majesty’s Pleasure”.

I believe that could mean until such time as the Privy Council sees it fit to release them, once convinced of their remorse and rehabilitation, or never. One of the attending attorneys may correct me.

However, it would surely not be appropriate to place them with violent adult criminals and career criminals.

That is the purpose of Dodds Reformatory.

This is where a clear public policy is necessary. Where does the society place discipline and respect on the scale of importance?

42. @Crusoe

What is the status of our penal system? Besides Dodds for the adults what is the quality of our correctional institutions?

43. David,

Bear in mind too, that especially in matters pertaining to civil rights, Barbados must adhere to the tenets as held by jurisprudence internationally. There is not much room for deviance. Otherwise it will only be challenged in the highest appeal court.

Very few countries can be politically reckless enough to flout international convention by such as say, locking children in cages as is currently happening.

44. On the penal systems.

Your question seems to question the validity of the appropriate treatment, given the systems in place to handle it.

I think that we need to deal with the two separately.

The question of the appropriate treatment of minors in criminal cases as one matter.

The improvement of systems to support those needs as the second matter, derived from the first.

Your question may also refer to the overall state of social justice, but that is a broader issue and does not negate the need to deal with what is current first.

45. I think that we may agree that work needs to be done to improve the systems?

46. @Crusoe

This is the point. A holistic position must be taken.

Leave a Reply to TheOGazertsCancel reply