The first method for estimating the intelligence of a ruler is to look at the men he has around him – Niccolo Machiavelli

The blogmaster read a report in the press yesterday that former Minster of Drainage (and the Environment) Denis Lowe,  “still has fervour for politics” and intends to throw his hat in the ring come next general election due in 2023. There was an attempt to make his intention serious by giving the story prominence on the front page of the Nation newspaper.

The blogmaster is challenged to present a cogent response to Lowe’s outlandish desire to offer himself as a candidate in the next election.  This is a man who left his ministry with a handful of garbage trucks and had to resort to commandeering MTW trucks and bobcats to remove piles of garbage from the streets of Barbados. What Lowe will be most remembered for is an attempt to foist a gasification waste to energy plant on Barbadians under the cloak of night. Cahill Energy … anyone?

The Nation newspaper reported Lowe’s desire to contest the next election was ratified by the Christ Church East constituency. The blogmaster notes the interesting comeback from president of the Democratic Labour Party (DLP) Verla De Peiza when asked to comment, the party will make candidate announcements at a later date”.

Political pundits are left to ask – how come the leadership of DLP Christ Church East  is so out of touch with the political reality prevailing in the country? What would have motivated a handful of individuals to ratify Lowe’s selection at this time? What would have motivated them to retrieve a spent, incompetent and shady  Denis Stephenson Lowe from the political dust bin? By the way, has he been given a clean bill of health? We recall he had to be away from office for unacceptable periods of time.

The blogmaster criticized Verla De Peiza when she allowed Stuart to share his specious concerns under the party banner earlier in the year. Once again this blogmaster is suggesting she should move with haste to excoriate political skeletons associated with Stuarts unpopular reign. At a time Prime Minister Mia Mottley continues to suck the political oxygen from Barbados’ political space,  Verla De Peiza leader is being undermined by political fiends stinking up her leadership space. If De Peiza wants to establish the party as hers, if she wants to match and surpass Mottley, she must respond with a ruthlessness borrowed from the Machiavellian handbook. If she does not the label of ‘watchman’ will flourish.

The ratification of Lowe by the constituency raises the perennial issue discussed many times on the blog. The private selection of candidates by the duopoly who eventually find themselves elevated to members of the cabinet. BU has posted several blogs exposing Lowe as a stool pigeon and plan for Peter Allard going back to when he was appointed to the Senate.

It is time for political parties in Barbados to reinvent themselves. Men and women must hold their noses and offer to serve. We can implement the best systems to ‘democratize’ the process, it will not work as intended unless intelligent  people with copious integrity raise their hands.

316 responses to “Denis Lowe Go Away!”

1. Miller

Didnt PTL state that he didnt need any acknowledgement just that his proposal is used to benefit Barbados?

Knighthood was used as sarcasm.

2. i before e except after c

3. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

john2 August 1, 2020 8:16 AM
    “A knighthood may be in the waiting for PTL (sic).”
    +++++++++++++++
    LOLOL. If you ever hear of me accepting a knighthood you will know that I have been kidnapped and tortured…

4. Everybody, except you it seems, knows that the dominant theme in West”s work is hope.

Sir William

5. Sir William

We also see that you elsewhere seek to rehash old canards of a bits and pieces sympathizer.

We have gone through these before and lack the inclination to so engage you in your trivial pursuits.

There must be residual aftershocks from our last frontal engagement. The perceived cussing. Knowning you as the small minded person with want for an axe to grind.

However, we have no desire to recognize what must be too painful for you.

6. BAJEAugust 1, 2020 3:27 AM

Dear Baje,

I see you are still not aware of how to calculate net worth. I also see that you are not aware of all the various ways to gain possession of money. I am also surprised that you do not know that what a person did not get in a year they can get in a day.

I leave you to find out the name of my accountant.

xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

NEXT TIME I COME TO BARBADOS I WILL MAKE SURE TO SPEAK WITH NATALIE FORMER POLITICIAN OF BUSH HILL YOUR ACCOUNTANT

Oh dear! Twice in one day I have been linked to whoredom by men who do not even know me! When men resort to such I KNOW I got them beat! Seriously, what is it about so many men that makes this their go to when bested by intelligent and strong women???? Scratch the surface and they are no different from the “thug” rappers they think themselves better than.

“Bitches and whores!” Didn’t the Republican congressman call AOC a bitch?

Baje, why not deal with the substance of the PLT post that shows him to be as “delusional” as I am? Go on, deal with HIM, big man!

PS: I do believe that Natalie is just selling what belongs to her and is therefore much better than many “big shots” that come to mind.

And…..you continue to make a fool of yourself! As the blog knows, I have no “stickability” and so I lost interest before taking the C.G.A but I did complete a B Sc. Accounting that is more than adequate for me to handle my simple needs.. So therefore I, and not the lovely Natalie, am my own accountant. AND if I need more, my first cousin who lives a stone’s throw away had more stickability than I.

Finally, I was quite serious when I said that what one does not get in a year one can actually get in a day. I leave you to figure out whether or not I won the lottery. I would call it “Income from Other Sources” but it was not taxable. Hint: I do not play the lottery and I am too old for Bush Hill.

7. William Skinner Avatar

@ Pacha
    “ We” prefer you cut out the small talk and direct us to your works. Obviously you as usual know West better than than anybody else. Just come down from wherever you are and direct us to your published works on the future of the Caribbean.

8. Pacha,

As I said, evolution is a slow process. NECESSARILY SO. Human beings cannot handle fast paced change. We need time to adjust. If it is not gradual we would descend into chaos. Even this rebel is pragmatic enough to prefer incremental change. It is less threatening and evokes less of a backlash! One can slide it on through with just a murmur of dissent. So no revolution for me. REFORM is the word!

I submit to you that we have come a long way and with hope and hard work we can go further.

You handle the systems theory and I’ll handle the hope. We all can handle the hard work.

Wiliam Skinner,

How many times must I tell you that all overseas Bajans are not the same? Geez, did somebody call your name? We were initially speaking about Hal who, if you are being honest, does nothing but insult us. Do you think the dollars SOME of you send home should deprive us of the right to respond??????????????

What then is the difference between you and the white tourist who thinks we should kiss his ass while he calls us n****ger????

9. “Imagine you call @ PLT a poochliker and PLT is the mastermind behind the only original idea of this current administration. His idea published weeks before it was stolen and masqueraded as the brainchild of some politician is now a worldwide topic. Now pray tell , would I want to be in your company or that of @PLT . I would rather lick his ass than take a glass of water from the likes of you!”

will wonders never cease, i remember the time they all joined together in a cabal about 6 years ago to remove social media from Barbados, hiring investigators to find out people’s identities for victimization purpose, all the minority crooks who were horrified at being brutally exposed for their crimes had power meetings to do something about social media, along with politicians in opposition and the then sitting government with security servies, all of them with a hard*n to remove social media from Barbados, then enters PLT with a revolutionary idea on social media and they up and tief it…..am sure they stole a few more ideas too, since we know they have none of their own and never will, am sure they are so happy that they were unsuccessful in removing the same social media from the island, they same social media all of them used to crawl into the parliament and are trying to stay there.

Going forward, as long as people don’t mind putting ideas out there for the government to use freely which i myself do sometimes, it makes sense to start to copyright what you don’t want used without your permission..

the government(s) their minion fowls and the minorities are known as notorious thieves when it comes to people’s intellectual properties…ah think the government is even on some blacklist for that ish…

10. The only people cheering at the resurrection of Lowe is the members of the BLP, Mottley and her team will probably say it is one seat we don’t have to defend. The leader of the DLP should probably advise the old guard to stay away but she is probably powerless and new blood is hard to come by.

11. The social construct remains ugly Donna, and must be rejected in its present form.

12. Sir William
    Like the consumate liar you are ascribing to us claims of your own making. Is this the best you can do.

Still licking your wounds we see.

Go back to over tens years of contributions here and you may find something to your liking.

The Caribbean has never been our focus. It is you who are the expert in this area, no?

13. ‘LOLOL. If you ever hear of me accepting a knighthood you will know that I have been kidnapped and tortured.”

I have seen Mia move a piece off the board without giving him a knighthood. In your case, it would not be a knighthood. She would create a new ‘Something’ and appoint you as “Czar of Technology and Business Start-up”. Throw in enough dollars so(( that you would find it hard to say “No” and a next piece is off the board.

Stop fooling yourself, you are already figured out and gift wrapped.

14. Donna

We must beg to defer.

Evolution is chaotic. Rrevolution is not necessarily slow.

Reforms have constantly given us the status quo with which we begun. Led to the saying” the more things change the more they remain the same.”

Of hope and hard work

We would prefer to pay off both political parties than to hope they do the right thing.

Our people have never been strangers to hard work. And what have been the result.

15. Wahloss, I love to sit back and watch the licks getting pelt. 🤐

16. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@TheOgazerts August 1, 2020 10:58 AM
    “Throw in enough dollars so(( that you would find it hard to say “No” and a next piece is off the board.”
    I have been fortunate enough in life that I cannot be bought… but of course I can still be seduced… I have no objection to serving the people of Barbados in any way that I am convinced will be progressive. However titles are meaningless to me and money is just a tool for creating the change that’s needed, I don’t need any more for myself.

17. I thought PLT gift wrapped the idea and presented it to THEM. And i really don’t see why they would want to buy him off. He does not spend his life critcising them as some do. Any position offered to him would actually be a recognition of his skills and a desire to put them to good use. They should not be ashamed to offer and he should not be ashamed to accept.

Pacha,

No need to beg. lol You and I have an understanding. Our respect goes both ways.

I will take some time to consider your position. Since my own has been held for quite some time, It will require an adjustment to my lens to bring it into focus.

18. Enuff,

Who winning the bout?:

19. Sargeant stated that the only people cheering Dr Lowe is the BLP.Where you get that stupid idea from? The BLP as far as i have heard has no interest in Dr Lowe or any of the ex MP,s desire to run again.Nothing to do with them but more to do with the political nightwacthman to see if she got the power to stop them.As for Gazzerts you doing a lot of hoping and wishing.Nobody in their right mind want to see you or the Dems in under 15 yesrs in my view or the mock party.Good luck with that as once the economy rebounds and people are happy it is good night nurse for 2023 in my view.

20. “I have no objection to serving the people of Barbados in any way that I am convinced will be progressive. However titles are meaningless to me and money is just a tool for creating the change that’s needed, I don’t need any more for myself.”

would not expect anything less.

21. “Stop fooling yourself, you are already figured out and gift wrapped.”

you do know there are some people Mia won’t touch with a 10 ft pole right, those are the ones can’t be bought, especially with taxpayers money,, politicians don’t like them at all..they would fight those types of people to the death, because they are not compliant slaves.

just recently we had an example, a sick and injured man fighting for his rights on social media, being ignored and getting sicker and sicker and a minister, as his lawyer and knowing the situation as the lawyer for the case, instead of showing compassion and making sure the man is looked after, his case completed and the minister looked upon as doing his job, nah, the reaction you got instead was the minister attacking and threatening the man on the media…that is how they treat Black people who try to assert their most basic human right, the right to quality of life, after they are elected to the parliament..

22. William Skinner Avatar

Respectfully, I have been subjected to the same crap. Like I said the old nonsense is back. We can’t sow corn and reap carrots.
    I notice that you are now being subjected to high levels of disrespect. Where I come from sisters are respected. But l am from a Barbados that’s is falling under the weight of people who have no respect even for our women folk. Once thuggery is encouraged it has no bounds. I say no more for now.

23. @”Oh dear! Twice in one day I have been linked to whoredom by men who do not even know me! When men resort to such I KNOW I got them beat! Seriously, what is it about so many men that makes this their go to when bested by intelligent and strong women???? Scratch the surface and they are no different from the “thug” rappers they think themselves better than.”

Don’t tek on the bad behaved men. The first time i was called a whore I was a virgin in my early 20’s, the most recent time I was called a whore was this year and I am in my late 60’s. Always, always by black Bajan men. I expect that it will continue to be called a whore for the rest of my life. You are right, some men seem to have great difficulty with hard working women, women who by their brains, and by the sweat of their brow, have earned their own living, women who never had to put out their hands and say gimme, gimme.

My parents have 20 female descendants, [and 15 male] and all of us except for the 2 who are still children, have always earned our own livings. All but two of the adult granddaughters own our own homes, mostly mortgage free. All but one of the adult granddaughters have earned university degrees, including many with graduate degrees, up to the doctoral level. And not all in lemonade courses either, lol!. None have ever had to go go a man or a politician male or female and say gimee, gimme.

So “yes” to some men that makes us whores.

Feeling good. Took a 3 hour walk this morning, will do two hours on the land this evening.

Long live “whoredom”

24. To know a woman and call her a whore is a serious accusation.
    To not know a woman and call her a whore is a spurious and even more serious accusation.

Perhaps, it gives us insight into the disgusting state of mind of these men.during these exchanges.

25. I guess my writing is not as good as I think it is. I meant to convey victory not victimhood!

Baje has spent many months crawling out of the woodwork as soon as I post, calling me delusional. Now he can’t even muster one word in opposition to PLT and all he has left, this world traveller with two degrees, is to place me, a woman he does not know, in Bush Hill.

I find the whole thing hilarious!

Another one bites the dust!

William Skinner,

Baje’s acid attacks actually bother me less than Lorenzo’s list and he does not use that language. My grandfather was a fisherman!

PS. A few years ago a schoolboy on the school bus told my son he saw me on stage at a strip club and my poor son wanted to belt him one. When he reached home, seething with rage, I threw back my head and laughed. I asked why he didn’t just tell the boy that at my age they would pay me to get OFF the stage!

I may look good for my age but not THAT good!

Wuhlaus!

26. Oh dear! A woman on Al Sharpton’s Politics Nation show just finished talking about Baje on MSNBC! At least it sounded like she was talking about Baje. Strong, assertive women threatening the confidence of men and the resulting insults fueled by IMPOTENCE. (pun intended)

Murdaaah!

But enough! Back to the topic!

27. Wahloss 3-Degree get run outta town?🤣🤣

28. UNNECESSARY RISK

He also advised all of those who would attended the ceremony at the Grantley Adams International Airport – including Minister of Health Jeffrey Bostic, Minister of Tourism Lisa Cummins, executive chairman of the Queen Elizabeth Hospital, Juliette Bynoe-Sutherland and permanent secretary in the Ministry of Health, Janet Phillips – to “separate themselves from their work places” “out of an abundance of caution”, and the Ministry would arrange for them to be tested.

29. How is it that it wasnt a requirement for those nurses to be tested in Ghana before coming to Bim?

30. Distance from testing center to airport. Shortageof testing kits, etc. etc.

Thankfully everybody seemed to be wearing masks.

I am less worried about the nurses than i am about the Bajan who arrived from the U.K in late June, and now about to return to the U.K has tested positive.

Where has he or she been for the last 30 days or so, and who has he or she been in contact with?

31. there is one Barbadian woman who returned on July 29 and not June 29 as announced by George, a male visitor who arrived on July 30 and a Barbadian man who arrived from the United Kingdom with a negative test, but was positive when he was tested again to travel.

Taken from nationnewsl

32. Thanks for the correction.

33. @ Donna

@”Oh dear! Twice in one day I have been linked to whoredom by men who do not even know me! When men resort to such I KNOW I got them beat! Seriously, what is it about so many men that makes this their go to when bested by intelligent and strong women???? Scratch the surface and they are no different from the “thug” rappers they think themselves better than.”

xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

HERE’S TO REAL STUPIDITY AND BEING A REAL DRAMA QUEEN.

IDIOT PLAYING VICTIM.

I KNOW HOW TO SPELL AND IF I WANTED TO CALL YOU OR ANYONE A WHORE I KNOW HOW TO DO SO WITHOUT HAVING TO IMPLY.

YOU SPEAK MANY TIMES WITH YOUR MIND IN THE GUTTER INCLUDING MANY VILE REMARKS/INSULTS TOWARDS @ HAL AND OTHERS WHO DON’T AGREE WITH YOU..

I DON’T MIND THE SILLY HYPOCRITES WHO COME OUT TO DEFEND YOU.

I REALLY DON’T UNDERSTAND SO MANY ASININE INDIVIDUALS HOWEVER DOESN’T SURPRISE ME EXPLAINS WHY BARBADOS IS IN THE STATE IT IS.

I MENTIONED NATALIE FORMER POLITICIAN AND BUSH HILL FAME AS YOUR ACCOUNTANT TO REFLECT LACK OF CREDIBILITY OF YOUR ASSERTIONS OF BEING AMONG ONE OF THE RICHEST 10% OF THE WORLD’S POPULATION.

NEVER ONCE DID I SAY YOU WERE A WHORE OR INQUIRED ABOUT YOUR QUALIFICATIONS OR LACK OF.

SO STOP BEING A REAL BITCH TO CONJURE UP MEANINGS WHICH WERE NOT SAID TO BRING ATTENTION AND PITY FROM OTHERS.

34. William Skinner Avatar

@ BAJE
    “SO STOP BEING A REAL BITCH TO CONJURE UP MEANINGS WHICH WERE NOT SAID TO BRING ATTENTION AND PITY FROM OTHERS.”

Let’s not be calling our sisters the B word under any circumstances. Our women folk are to be treated with respect at all times.

35. Baje

She never said u called her a whore

Now you gone and call her a bitch.

Smh

36. @ BAJE
    “SO STOP BEING A REAL BITCH TO CONJURE UP MEANINGS WHICH WERE NOT SAID TO BRING ATTENTION AND PITY FROM OTHERS.”

Let’s not be calling our sisters the B word under any circumstances. Our women folk are to be treated with respect at all times.

xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

@ William Skinner

WHERE ARE YOU WHEN MANY TIMES THIS VILE WOMAN IS CALLING ALL KIND OF DISGUSTING NAMES AND TERMS TO OTHERS?

I DON’T SEE YOU JUMPING OUT OF THE WOODWORK TO CORRECT HER.

SHE CAST ASPERSION THAT I BEING ONE OF TWO FOR THE DAY REFERRED TO HER AS A WHORE WHICH I DID NOT.

@ Donna CAN BE VERY VERY VILE AND NASTY WAY TOO MANY TIMES TO COUNT UNNECESSARILY SO.

I DON’T MAKE NO APOLOGIES SINCE I NEVER SEE HER BACK DOWN WHEN SHE CALLS OTHERS SOME OF THE MOST VILEST INSULTS WHENEVER SUITS HER WHIM.

AS A MAN I RESPECT EVEN THOUGH WE MAY NOT ALWAYS SHARE THE SAME IDEOLOGY STOP BEING A HYPOCRITE.

37. Baje

She never said you reffered to her as a whore

She said you linked her to a whore. You did when you suggested natalie as her accountant.

38. It is funny how we become lawyers. We make aspersions/insinuations; we advance a birds of feather argument and then try to wiggle our way out …

Own it.

39. The worse i have called anyone on this site is a jackass! I have been called that myself and I never complained. I know it Bajan for, “Yuh talking foolishness!” I have called Grenville a liar, after he called me a hater – A LIE. I have called Lorenzo a bird brained yard fowl after he called me a pea brained disgruntled Dem. I have called Hal a liar after he said I threatened him – A LIE. I have called Lawson a racist, misogynist, homophobe – well, just read his posts!

But the one I enjoy a little fun with is Johnny Ma Boy who I know is not fazed! He calls me the Bride of Dracula.

One must place these things in context!

But I am left here wondering exactly how Baje got his two degrees! Baje like he can’t read, still here thinking I am playing the victim. Baje boy, I said I find it hilarious because it means I got you beat!

PS: When are you going to address the substance of the delusional PLT post that places me in the top ten percent of the world’s richest people?????

Murdaaaaaaah!

40. I will stop trying David’s patience now and no matter what the vanquished Baje says I will let him HAVE THE LAST BAD WORD!

💤💤💤💤💤💤💤💤💤

41. David August 1, 2020 8:56 AM

Speaking of leaders, those looking on said a big gaffe was made earlier this week when the head joined others here and overseas in paying tribute.

It seems that not once in the tribute did the name of the beloved leader come from her mouth. The omission did not escape the listening ear of the members of the public.

The comments on social media were not at all complimentary and some regarded the action as a sign of uncharacteristic immaturity for a leader. They are telling the leader to grow up and grow up fast since the next big outing is just around the corner.

That approach of choking on people’s names will fast draw the ire of the public.

Source: Nation Newspaper

I did not listen to or read any of the tributes but is the public actually criticising Mia for chocking on Owen Arthur’s name??????

Is it really the “devil in white” they are criticising for being uncomfortable paying tribute to a man who labelled her thus? Or is it Verla who did not call the name of the “beloved leader”?

Is my memory failing? Was it somebody else who called her that?

It seems like the Barbadian public is more comfortable with politicians who are smooth liars than with those whose honesty slips out!

Somebody help me here, please! Don’t make me listen to the tributes to find out! That would be torture for me!

42. More DLP members ‘likely to follow Lowe
    By Colville Mounsey

The man who orchestrated the campaign for the Democratic Labour Party (DLP) in the 2018 polls, Dr Denis Lowe is likely to be only the first member of the ousted Freundel Stuart administration to come out of the woodwork in a 2023 election bid.
    While that is the prediction of Robert “Bobby” Morris, respected political scientist, Peter Wickham is warning the DLP that if this was to become reality, the party would receive the same 30-nil drubbing that it got in the last elections.
    Morris said that in the same manner that Lowe would have secured the endorsement of the party’s Christ Church East constituency branch, there were other members of the former DLP administration who have records they should be proud of and therefore would want an opportunity to carry on the work they started.
    In addition, he noted that many of them still had a very loyal base they could build on. He explained that while many of them had been silent for the last two years, they were merely watching and waiting for the political climate to be right for them to get back in the race.
    Why walk away?
    “There are some of them who have done very well in the years that they have been in Barbadian politics and I believe they would want to come back. Why would they walk away from the Democratic Labour Party? Why would they walk away from the people who are loyal to them and with whom they have created friendships in their constituencies? Why would they not come back? There are some who would have decided that they have had enough, and of course one would want an injection of new persons, but that happens with all parties,” said Morris.
    Morris, who was also campaign manager for Lowe in the last three elections, told the Sunday Sun that he fully supported the decision of the former Minister of the Environment and believes that he has a good chance of taking back the seat from Minister of Home Affairs Wilfred Abrahams. He also contended that a number of projects for which he was criticised while as a minister, including the waste-to-energy initiative, have now been embraced by the ruling administration.
    “Mr Lowe has a very strong following in the constituency. I can also say that he has done a tremendous amount of work in the constituency. He also silenced the naysayers on several issues, including his academic qualifications. I have heard orchestrated challenges to Lowe’s attempt to deal with solid waste management. I have now seen the current administration going back to exploring the similar waste to energy project. I don’t know if this has validated what Lowe attempted to do or if there are details that are particularly different. However, it appears to me that waste-to-energy is certainly on the agenda as we explore waste control,” he said.
    Attempt to purge old guard
    He further argued that the recent Cabinet reshuffle by the Mia Amor Mottley administration, in which three seasoned members of the Barbados Labour Party (BLP) were removed from their ministries, was an indication of an attempt to purge the old guard. This, he categorised as a mistake, one he advised his party not to replicate.
    “We saw in the Government reshuffle a move to retire some people from politics and to bring in some new people. The DLP cannot afford to make this mistake of trying to sideline its seniors,” he noted.
    However, referencing Grenada as an example, Wickham warned the DLP administration that the notion of a second consecutive clean sweep for the BLP was not far-fetched. He argued that outside of former Minister of Culture Stephen Lashley, he saw no one from the previous administration that the public would be willing to embrace.
    “I do not think that any of the individuals who were defeated from the Stuart administration have any right to have anything to do with politics again. There are probably one or two of them that the public will tolerate, but the Democratic Labour Party is running the risk of further obliteration in 2023. They have led by introducing one of the most toxic individuals from the last elections.
    They reintroduced him as the leading light because he is the first person that they have nominated. Once you start badly you could only end badly,” Wickham said.
    Very light work for Mottley
    He added: “I would encourage Bobby Morris to let Richard Sealy [former Minister of Tourism] and even Freundel Stuart, if he wants to come back and run. Ultimately, what they would do is make very light work of the next election for Prime Minister Mottley. They all have a right to return because they are citizens of the country, but it will be a disastrous idea. Instead of leading by introducing new blood, which is what the DLP needs, the first person out of the gates is Denis Lowe. What is he possibly coming back to do that could redeem the Democratic Labour Party?”
    He also criticised the party’s president Verla De Peiza, stressing that her “inertia” has created a leadership vacuum, which was now being filled by Lowe and other members of the last administration that were resoundingly rejected at the polls.

43. Let the comedy start.

Verla, over to you and Guyson!

44. with the exception of Sealy and Steve Lashley, all the former beaten DLP MPs from the last govt should stay off the electoral stage. i suspect Morris is floating a trial balloon and providing some sort of distraction. for what i really dont know

ok now that we have dealt with that, i would like to know why MAM invited known drug dealers to the opening of parliament when she became PM?

45. @Greene

The question about the characters invited to the opening of parliament and seen on BLP’s campaign trail has been asked in this forum and elsewhere BEFORE 24 May 2018 and it didn’t seem to make an iota of difference. Go figure.

Under Stephen Lashley he failed to implement a comprehensive and policy based national youth plan. The stadium continues its collapsed into a bad state of repair under his watch. He sat in his palatial offices at Sky Dome when the country was in the grip of financial problems. Same issues by a different name.

46. it is not for me to go figure, mate. it is for those who push the honesty, integrity and greatness of MAM notwithstanding what we know of her. if we are to condemn Steve Lashley for what you posted there is no MP on either side that should ever face the electorate again.

what happened to Edutech? and the 3 S construction fiasco etc? who was the minister then? we behave as though only the Ds have a history

47. Who is condemning Stephen Lashley? The blogmaster posited his concern that occurred under his tenure. It is for him to defend himself when the time comes should he choose to challenge Verla for the leadership of the party, mate.

The same is true of the BLPite and Mottley to defend the issue of shady characters invited to the opening of parliament. You will get the unvarnished feedback on BU. The blogmaster and a few others have travelled this road before.

48. go figure!
    mainly US

used when you tell someone a fact and you then want to say that the fact is surprising, strange or stupid:

It’s a terrible movie and it made $200 million. Go figure!

49. William Skinner Avatar

@ Pacha
    The reason you would want to put hope in it’s barest sense as the main focus of West’s work is the obvious fact that you cannot seriously defend an your erratic message of hopelessness and you eschew intellectual humility like the plague. Your constant attempts to portray some exclusive knowledge of world affairs while pouring perpetual scorn on your own region ,clearly shows that you see no progress in your own civilization. You have determined that the only measurement of true Caribbean civilization is via the same essentially Eurocentric civilizations that you so admirably declare as crumbling.
    And that is where you and I part company. I now quote West himself:
    “ I am first and foremost a blues man in the world of ideas-a jazz man in the life of the mind-committed to keeping alive the flickering candles of intellectual humility, personal compassion and social hope while living in our barbaric century. I am primarily a dramatist of philosophic notions and historical narratives that partake of blood-drenched battles on a tear-soaked terrain in which our lives and deaths are at stake.”
    Ref: The Cornell West Reader
    Introduction ( To Be Human, Modern and American)

50. @ Mr. Greene

To be FAIR, any reasonable thinking individual reading any of your political contributions, in which you ALWAYS mention the short-comings and corruption of the BLP, while DEFENDING the tenures of DLP administrations and its ministers, would immediately become aware of your POLITICAL BIAS and conclude you “behave as though only the (Bs) have a history.”

After all, ‘six is still half dozen.’

Leave a Reply to GreeneCancel reply