On behalf of the blogmaster and BU household our heartfelt sympathy is extended to the family and friends of the late former prime minister Owen Seymour Arthur.

Former Prime Minister of Barbados, The Right Honourable Owen Arthur, passed away earlier today at 12.26 a.m.
Starting today, Monday, July 27, due to the passing of the former Prime Minister, there will be a period of national mourning for three days. In addition, all flags will be flown at half mast.
Minister of Labour and Social Partnership Relations, Colin Jordan, will be the coordinating Minister for the funeral arrangements.
The Government of Barbados extends sincerest condolences to his wife, Julie, his daughters, Leah and Sabrina and his extended family.
Image may contain: 1 person, close-up

182 responses to “Former Prime Minister Owen Arthur is Dead”

1. @ Cuhdear Bajan

Your friend Hal Austin real sporty, yuh.

Listen to him….

Exaggeration is part of mourning, it is one reason why I do not want any eulogies at my funeral or fish cake parties to follow. {Quote}

Now listen to he again….

As you are aware, I have been saying for years that Arthur had an opportunity to make an great contribution to Barbados political history by putting down on paper his experiences and knowledge. {Quote}

He trying to tell we that people should RESPECT HIS WISHES and doan give a eulogy at he funeral.

Suppose Owen Arthur DID NOT WANT TO WRITE his memoirs? Suppose writing his memoirs WAS NOT IMPORTANT to him? Or is Hal Austin telling we TO HELL wid what Arthur want, he should write his memoirs because Hal Austin was SAYING SO FOR YEARS?

We SHOULD RESPECT AND ACCEPT WHATEVER DECISIONS Owen Arthur make bout HIS LIFE and MOVE ON, instead uh being pun a ego trip and pushing we own personal agenda and harping bout what Arthur should uh do.

2. John Lewis crosses Selma Bridge for the last time in this lifetime. R.I.P.
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zLEs7sUkFcc

Whenever a black angel ascends to heaven a white angel is sent back down again
    How I Got Over
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rwoeNGTZ5rM

3. Vincent Codrington Avatar

Funerals are celebrations for the survivors. This is how we grieve. The dead has little or no say. It is our culture. This is who we are. I am sure OSA would be pleased by our efforts.

4. William Skinner Avatar

@ John
    You wrote:
    “ July 28, 2020 9:50 AM

The only regional PM’s who have actually written books are “Son” Mitchell and Eric Williams.

OK, OK, EWB did write a cook book I believe.”

Have you heard of Michael Manley and P.J. Patterson ?

5. Cuhdear Bajan,

There is such a thing as a will.

Pachamama,

It took no courage whatsever. It just takes common sense. People do remember what you said before the person died. I don’t see the sense in being a liar/hypocrite, especially an obvious one. It does not change what is nor what is not.

6. @ William

Cheddi Jagan?

7. @ Simple Simon
    “For I am convinced that neither death nor life, neither angels nor demons, neither the present nor the future, nor any powers, neither height nor depth, nor anything else in all creation, will be able to separate us from the love of God.”

You misquote the scripture, and badly. You leave out the most important, powerful, useful and actionable part.

” For I am convinced that neither death nor life, neither angels nor demons,neither the present nor the future, nor any powers, 39 neither height nor depth, nor anything else in all creation, will be able to separate us from the love of God that is in Christ Jesus our Lord.”

Condolences to the family of OSA.

8. Dullard
    You are 100% correct here— very good.
    “This quote from Romans chapter 8- speaks to the reversal that sin wrought when our fore parents sinned, i.e condemnation and separation * You have correctly pointed out that such a reversal is through Christ..

I find it very amusing when BU Bible illiterates seek to mislead by their obvious ignorance of the Word, and by their clear misunderstanding thereof and their deliberate omissions. In addition there is no consideration of the context of the passage cited.

There are of course two other incidences of misquotations on this thread

9. My condolences to the family of Owen Seymour Arthur, and to the country he distinguislhably served. Moments in time only come once, and these are the moments to cherish. The life of a man who had a positive impact on his country!

10. If you have nothing to share as far as paying tribute to the late Owen Arthur this blog is NOT for you.

11. Cuhdear Bajan Avatar

@Donna July 28, 2020 11:09 AM “Cuhdear Bajan, There is such a thing as a will.”

I know Donna.

But if your family decides not to obey the terms of your will, what can your dead self do about it?

I remember once reading about a dust up in a town, the towns-people wanted the dead to “size ‘roun” in order to give the living people more space, and the people who owned or managed the cemetery started talking about the “needs of the dead” until they were reminded that the dead have no needs.

No wants.
    No power.
    No authority.

12. Cuhdear Bajan Avatar

Dullard and GP if I quote to my children “honor thy father and mother” and I do not add “that thy days will be long in the earth which the lord thy god giveth thee, does that give my children permission to be rude and disrespectful because i did not quote the whole thing?

And I am sure that both you are GP are aware that long, long, long before Jesus walked the earth, our creator God was doing His thing and interacting with His people. Just because something is not written down does that make it less valid?

So the indigenous people who lived in the Caribbean long before Jesus, wunna believe that they did not know and love God and that God did not know and love them?

My God is bigger than that.

My God is better than that.

None of us know what God said to Owen or what Owen said to God

13. Cuhdear Bajan Avatar

So when my earthly father died we chose to read “‘When you reap the harvest of your land, you shall not wholly reap the corners of your field when you reap, nor shall you gather any gleaning from your harvest. You shall leave them for the poor and for the stranger”

And you know somebody had to come up to us in the churchyard and tell us “I never heard that read at a funeral before, you should not have read that”

I did not respond.

My father was a farmer and we liked that passage of Scripture, and I witnessed him living his life by what is set out there.

But imagine a virtual stranger coming up to grieving sons and daughters to tell them how very wrong they were in their selection of Scripture.

Like most people I own multiple paper Bibles and electronic Bibles are all over the internet and i do not need anybody’s permission to quote Scripture. People who want an explication of the Scripture can ask their pastor or priest, or Dullard or GP or the Pope.

14. Cuhdear Bajan Avatar

Suppose that Owen HAS written his memoirs and suppose that the document (s) is now in the hands of the editor(s) or publisher.

Many many books have been published posthumously, not so?

And many, many scholars spend lifetimes writing ABOUT great men and women, not so?

Not a thing stopping Hal from writing a book about Owen.

15. “Just because something is not written down does that make it less valid?”

There are parts of Jesus’ life that have not been written
    just like Hal would not be able to tell the full about Owen
    I could go on and on but the full has never been told

16. Cuhdear Bajan,

I have no doubt that my wishes shall be carried out. Those who love me will grant me my wish. They know it is the only way to celebrate my life. My eulogy will cause lots of nodding and laughter. I think presenting the WHOLE PERSON is even more respectful as it shows you accepted them for who they were –
    UNCONDITIONALLY.

PS. My will could depend on my wishes being carried out. The RSPCA always accepts donations, I’m sure.

17. fortyacresandamule Avatar
    fortyacresandamule

@pacha. Right on brother.

@ John. Manley wrote a few books. The politics of change was a popular one back in the day. He even wrote a book on the history of west indies cricket in his later years. Edward Seaga also wrote a volume about his political life in Jamaica.

18. Except for a few of BU’s commenters, the corrupt, incompetent leadership of this country is the daily fare. Bizzy and the bribing of the politicians is another favourite offering. I am actually more mild in my criticism than most of you.

Now a man dies and all of a sudden the same Bizzy’s words are served up and accepted as “wonderful words of life”.

No wonder nothing changes around here! Nothing except wuhnuh mouts!

Steupse!

Please forgive me if I can no longer take you “grieving people” seriously.

Wuhnuh mout remind me of politician mout!

If the “devil in white” died I suppose she would then be an angel in white.

Steupse!

PS. I doubt I have criticized Owen even once on this site.

19. Donna what point are you trying to prove with this nitpicking?You have not even offered condolences to the Mr Arthur and his family which is what this post is about.Even Piece and Mariposa have done so.This is not about Mr Williams or you but about a man who sucessfully led Barbados for 14 years.Therefore if you do not have anything positive to say you sjould stay off this particular blog story in my view as it is highly disrespectful especially to his family

20. A statue of Owen Arthur could replace Nelson, if it was deemed bipartisan and non-political.

21. This makes him a mere mortal and a very good friend. Hope I can have someone remember me in this way.

https://barbadostoday.bb/2020/07/29/beekeeper-recalls-his-friendship-with-arthur/

22. Here comes the blog police always trying to direct my post! The real blog policeman has the option to delete them.

True, I have offered no condolences. Is there a law that states I must?

PS. Respect is a two way street. I don’t do one way.

23. Gibson and Arthur were close friends.

24. Donna see wah we tell yuh. This is precisely why courage, a commodity not generally known to reside in the Bajan, was so necessary. LOL

For the record, this writer too failed to adhere to the societal implicit demand as well.

25. Donna
    Common sense and courage

26. But common sense is not common either

27. @Pacha

You and Donna have made your point.

28. David

Have the people who are going on ad nausium also made their point. Theirs is the point made fifty times.

29. Many know how I have spoken about the politics of OSA
    However at a most solemn time in his life where he has departed this world
    I believe it is only proper out of respect towards his family during the grieving period to reserve harsh criticism at this time
    In my mind these last moments should be reserved to say a final goodbye
    But that is me
    Carry on smartly one day your time will soon come and the manner and tone which was heaped on a person during grieving times of their death will surely be returned in like manner to you
    Have a good day

30. NorthernObserver Avatar

There are moments when one’s silence or absence are enough? As this late PM may have exclaimed “NOTED”.

31. The few people who demurred from the popular comment show no disrespect to anyone. Seems to this writer as a philosophical difference about processing reality.

However, was it not OSA himself who was grossly disrespectful on the occasion of the demise of David Thompson. Are our memories to be so short? Or must we continue to labour under the false assumptions imposed by religious domas?

32. Dogmas

33. Vincent Codrington Avatar

Let the horses neigh
    And the donkeys bray
    For the higher the monkey climbs
    The more he exposes his Rs .

34. fortyacresandamuleJuly 28, 2020 10:06 PM

@ John. Manley wrote a few books. The politics of change was a popular one back in the day. He even wrote a book on the history of west indies cricket in his later years. Edward Seaga also wrote a volume about his political life in Jamaica.

My point is simple.

Jamaica was destroyed as was Barbados and the various countries in the region by the half ass leaders of the past.

We say it again and again on here!!

The only books worthy of reading which the region’s past PM’s could write would be on cooking or cricket.

35. … once their cooking did not give anyone ptomaine.

36. Tass, amicus meus, you have written your own chapter in the annals of Barbadian history and indeed entitled to more than just a passing footnote in the political space of the wider regional English-speaking Antilles.

Rest in Peace, Dear Tacitus!

May LIGHT perpetual shine upon you!

37. I would like to extend my condolences and best wishes to the family and close friends of the late PM, Owen Seymour Arthur. Owen Arthur demanded hard and focused work from his senior Public Servants and generally got it because He himself set the example of tirelessly working without regard to the clock. Some other Bajan PM’s pretended deep care for the common man. Owen Arthur lived it. He was blessed with a phenomenal intellect and used it for the benefit of Barbados and all Bajans. May he rest in peace!

38. Tacitus????

39. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@All it has not a jot to do with religious dogma in real terms.. it is simply human decency … if one chooses to live by that standard.

Because OSA was disrespectful at the time of Thompson’s death or cussed a fella raw in one of his moments of arrogant pique why reference that to dismiss the simple human act of offering kindness at death and time of grief!

…. we now close our book on Owen S. Arthur with kind words. What’s so hard about dat!

Why prolong anxieties and anger beyond his mortal realm … to what avail!

We all know Arthur was not a saint … NOTED as was said.

But his soul has left this earthly realm….

Let the anger and distress about and for him… be released… as we did for multiple others … we revere none of them as a saint but speak kindly of their achievements even as we note their political sins.

Its just the decent and practical thing to do!

40. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ Hal Austin at 10 :32 AM
    Yes. Tacitus. That was a pet name known to his school friends. It was one of the Latin authors familiar to those who did Latin at A Level. It summed up his personality at that phase of his development. He was quiet and reserved. After he entered politics he became more open and more loquacious.

41. @Vincent

It was reported in Jeff Broomes tribute he was a dashing batsman who was partial to the square drive?

42. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ David Bu at 11 :00 AM

Yes . He was a competent, useful, and flashy batsman from all reports. He started at an early age with Road Cricket. That is where rural cricketers in 1950s and early 1960s learned their cricket and unorthodox strokes.

43. It seems as though Owen’s death has been met with different emotions. I’ve even seen the ‘nails woman’s possie’ on her Facebook page celebrating “Le Morte d’Arthur.”

I don’t believe anyone should have to justify why they decided whether or not to offer condolences to the Arthur ‘household.’

So, why condemn Trump for saying he’s not going to attend John Lewis’ funeral?

44. @ Hal Austin July 29, 2020 10:32 AM

That was OSA’s nickname among his peers in the ‘social’ circle of academia.

We are sure you had such a similar sobriquet in your own world of journalism like the “Black Max Hastings”.

45. Yup! And my point stands. When my time comes anybody can say about me what they say now. Mostly good and some bad! My son is immune from your comments. He will not bother what you say. He can tell you the bad better than anybody. Tells me it to my face even now. He will be busy mourning my death and celebrating my life in all truthfulness.

Pacha,

I am just being me. I always am. I follow norms and traditions when they make sense. I am well used to the friction that causes.

PS. Hypocritical and decent are not synonyms in my dictionaries.

And now I’m done! Thank you, David for allowing my point to be made, although I think most people went into autopilot mode and missed it completely.

And that’s why things will never change for the better.

46. @Donna July 28, 2020 11:02 PM “…she would then be an angel in white.”

For me, Yes. Lemme say it now that she is alive and well and can read it.

I love my Mia too.

Never met Mia, never met Owen, never met Tom, nor Errol, nor Bree, nor Sandy, nor Freundel, in fact I’ve never met any Prime Minister because I am entirely non-political, well yes I met Grantley once when I was a very young child and he came to our house campaigning.

But I love who i love.

47. The other area on which any politician or political leader in the region could expound at length in a book is graft and corruption.

A title like “How I made my first million or “How I got my first deluxe apartment (condo) at PSC from those two white devils” I am sure would sell.

48. Just say good bye and let them go long without any flowery speeches.

49. Yuh cud tell when some people had bad brougtupsy
    They have no time to compromise no matter time of day our place
    All i say is cuhdear to them

50. @ Mariposa

You bring sophistication to the blog.

Leave a Reply to DonnaCancel reply