It is mid term and the political temperature just went up after Prime Minister Mia Mottley executed  a shake up to her management team – see Prime Minister Mia Mottley Changes Cabinet.

Unlike her predecessor Freundel Stuart who preferred to hideaway on the hilltop of Mount Olympus and descend to talk to the people only if poked and cajoled- Mottley in stark contrast has commanded regional and international attention in her short tenure as prime minister – see Barbadians Take Pause to Watch Prime Minister Mia Mottley’s CNN Interview.

On Wednesday of this week (22/07/2020) the blogmaster listened to an interesting discussion on VOB’s Down to Brasstacks between David Ellis and Dr. Ronnie Yearwood. Both gentlemen agreed that Mottley has been successful in resurrecting the international profile of Barbados BUT the job of monetizing (Yearwood’s word) this intangible will be the challenge.

Relevant Link: Brasstacks Podcast (click 22 July 2020)

The blogmaster has broached this subject many times, the importance of a leader effectively communicating, even if it means OVER communicating. The effect it has on the psyche and confidence level of the people being led is one benefit. Especially during crisis situations that have led to economic and social fatigue of a people. There is a reason political communication is studied in political science.

…in Political Communication in America characterize it as the ways and intentions of message senders to influence the political environment. This includes public discussion (e.g. political speeches, news media coverage, and ordinary citizens’ talk) that considers who has authority to sanction, the allocation of public resources, who has authority to make decision…

The blogmaster concedes there is a dark side to the discipline of political communication. The responsibility rests with civil society to apply its collective intelligence to filter the noise and propaganda from the grist of the points at issue.

This preamble serves notice to readers that Barbados joins small open economies at an unprecedented time in the history of the world. Bold decisions will have to be made to sustain an acceptable standard of living. Old ways of doing business will have to be replaced. Different approaches to educating our people, constructing buildings and homes. The use of technology; digitization. Enhance governance in every sphere of endeavour must spike.

The masses however are reminded the political class in Barbados is a secondary class, there are a few who operate in the economic class; the primary class sitting as gatekeepers and ultimately the greatest influence on decision making and execution of policy in Barbados. While this scenario is no different to what obtains in other countries, some argue the degree of influence exerted by the primary class in Barbados is above the global median.

It is unfortunate the influence of Mia Mottley on the Barbados space looms large and has had the effect of sucking the opposition- political and others – from our space.

This is not Mottley’s fault.

The fault is ours.

How will we respond?

Are we able to strip away the political ragga ragga and use God’s gift to citizens – social media – to  intelligently  respond?

217 responses to “The Spectre of Mottley”

1. Lorenzo
    Stop waste yuh time wid Skinner. Stupse!

2. William Skinner Avatar

@ Lorenzo
    “Hear Mr Skinner Mr Thompson Sinckliar, Stuart and Mottley are cut from the same cloth.Tell us Skinner which cloth is this? You are comparing apples and orsnges.Name anything of significance has Mr Thompson , Mr Sincklair or Mr Stuart has done in their political lives to be mentioned in the same sentence as Ms Mottley”

Answer: The BLPDLP cloth. Why do you think Mottley put Sinckler on a committee ? Why do you think Hamilton Lashley could cross about the floor as he liked ? Why do you think Dr. Mascoll could join the BLP after cussing them for thirty years? Why do you think Kerri Symmonds and Ralph Thorne could switch parties so easily? Why do you thnk the BLPDLP can so easily accomodate Czar Maloney.
    They are all at home they live in the same house. They are cut from the same cloth.
    Hope this helps.

3. Better a system where politicians from different parties talk and cooperate with each other than a system like in Guyana, where the parties slaughter each other and the country sinks into chaos and anarchy. In Barbados politics is done at the ballot box, in Guyana with Molotov cocktails and criminal trials against the election officers.

4. Skinner you are speaking of frienships i am speaking about accomplishments politically two different things.As i asked you can you identify anything done politically by Mr Stuart , Mr Thompson or Mr Sinckler? Your wishy washy answer above does not cut it as i have been aroud too long. I hope that helps you.

5. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

“Parliamentary assent to cut the umbilical cord of almost 400 years of ‘Royal’ ties.”

you should see what i wrote about that one and the colonial created ministers who are still properties of the palace, otherwise why else will they still be maintaining a corrupt oppressive system against their own people…..and none of them from DBLP should be allowed anywhere near the parliament when it’s time to cut loose from that diabolical archaic colonial trap of a system…. they are colonial bred and trained and practice all the nasty things against black people as they taught themselves.

6. Shuffling.

The Prime Minister has reshuffled her Cabinet. That is a good management practise.

There are two appointments that are noteworthy. The first is William Duguid. The decision to finally address the traffic bottleneck at the Garfield Sobers Roundabout, is noteworthy. The solution was simple and effective, and it appears to be being implemented well.

We trust that the Minister will continue that ISO 9001 management approach of identifying the main problems, and developing and implementing the most effective and economical solutions.

The next appointment is Lisa Cummins. Her approach to her assignment at the Port was excellent. She identified the obvious problem at the Port as poor-management, and set about to formally implement the international management standard, ISO 9001. The only thing that can happen to the Port during that process, is that the Port would be better managed.

Because she approached her assignment with such basic common-sense, she deserved to have her pick of Ministerial portfolios, to show the others how to properly manage a public service. We trust that she will bring the same management standard to her new responsibilities.

To the other Ministers, please follow the examples of Duguid and Cummins. Whether you implement ISO 9001 formally, as Lisa started to do, or informally, as William appeared to do, you will do things that can only benefit the residents of Barbados. Using your normal management methods has only caused us harm.

Grenville Phillips II is a Chartered Structural Engineer and President of Solutions Barbados. He can be reached at NextParty246@gmail.com

7. Dr Rowley in T&T asked Bhoe Tewarie and Vasant Bharath to sit on TT’s equivalent to our Covid-19 panel.

8. ISO-Taliban as usual.

9. Our ISO-Taliban is slowly moving closer to the government. Very good. Now all we need is an ambassadorial post for the outspoken senator.

On the other hand, we don’t need expensive posts for the blues. They’ll be in jail soon anyway.

10. CONCLUSION
    For the foregoing reasons, the court denies Mr. Inniss’s motion for a judgment of acquittal. Sentencing of Mr. Inniss will take place on Monday, November 23, 2020 at 11:00 a.m.
    SO ORDERED.
    Dated: July 24, 2020
    Brooklyn, New York
    ___________/s/ _____
    Hon. Kiyo A. Matsumoto
    United States District Judge

11. And… down comes Nelson! During the Season of Emancipation too!

Old consultation as referenced by WURA used as basis for decision!

Seems like the citizens just need to keep on pushing like Suki!

Mia knows better than to listen to the two Johnnies, minister and BU racist troll.

12. Please take note:
    Inniss decision and Integrity in Public Life Bill at the same day!

Our leader demonstrates here outstanding intuition for the right timing.

What a nice weekend. Cabinet reshuffle. Hurricane defeated. A show of strength. Opposition in jail. What more do we want?

Thank you very much dearest Mia and dear Dale!

13. Does the opportunity exist at times like now for the Opposition parties to mount public positions as well in defence of the people and at the same time help to propagate party philosophy?

14. @ Donna July 24, 2020 7:53 PM

Grand Admiral Nelson may only leave if a monument of our Great Leader Mia Mottley takes his place. Otherwise, you’re gonna see some real, real Nelson rioting!!! 😉

15. If I were Mia I would give Trevor Prescod a new assignment – to organise a twelve step community programme a la Alcoholics Anonymous style to reverse our Eurocentric brainwashing. It can be online until the pandemic is conquered.

History, African culture, cuisine etc. taught by real Africans from Ghana.

Introductions to social media brothers and sisters like the old pen pal system.

Nuff, nuff ideas! Can’t tell all now!

16. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

https://www.facebook.com/johnkingonline/posts/3153275058053835

“I am pleased to announce, as Minister with responsibility for Culture that Nelson Statute will be removed from National Heroes Square. Read more details👉🏾
    Minister with responsibility for Culture, John King, made this announcement today, explaining that the Cabinet had agreed to the relocation of the statue of Vice Admiral Lord Horatio Nelson from National Heroes Square in Bridgetown.
    He further clarified that this decision was made in light of the fact that substantial consultations were carried out about two decades ago.”

17. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

Take note that Grenville is all over fb makig an utter ass of himself over this …he insists on making himself a laughing stock while trying to become someone’s leader…

18. Even the radical opposition on BU should finally admit that our beloved government does almost everything right:

Public finances cleaned up: done
    opposition in jail: done
    cabinet downsizing: done
    lazy public servants penalised by a pay cut: done
    LIAT into the trash can: done
    etc. etc. etc.
    I can’t list all points here.

There is only one choice for the Nelson replacement: Barrow is clearly unsuitable because he assisted the Burnham regime in its murderous reign. So our beloved leader, Mia A. Mottley, will replace him as new national heroine on the $50 bill and statute in Heroes’ Square.

19. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

Donna…we have been begging those parliament clowns for years to reverse the toxic euro-centric mind wash that is a destructive element in any colonial constructed system particularly when it’s embedded in the education system every generation, get rid of the white washed lies that i never believed from 12 years old……….it’s not part of any African culture….teach real African history in the schools, your enemies are still educating your children, which fool would allow that for over 60 years and going…

the internet is a university all by itself, one just needs to know where to find the information…but no, it served their crooked purpose to keep things as they were even when there is no longer any reason to…….except false pride, greed, vanity and arrogance….while actually believing anyone gives a flying shit about any of them..

if they can get some dude from Israel living in Canada to teach bajans about Marijuana online,, they can damn well get teachers from Africa to teach Bajan children in the schools about their great and impressive African history before europe invaded the continent.

20. Donville may spend Christmas in jail!!

21. Mugabe should have fired John King for giving his reactionary voice against a position he estimated was held by the majority of the cabinet.

22. @ Pachamama July 24, 2020 8:46 PM

Why?

We’ve got Barrow as a national hero. The people don’t question his status either.

Didn’t he support the Prime Minister, the butcher and grand racist Burnham?

If Nelson goes down, Barrow goes down. There are no good racists and bad racists.

23. @Pacha

Why would a political leader create a political wound to feed the opposition narrative? If she is the political animal we believe her to be John King’s turn will come. Do not forget Mottley and John King go back to a time she managed a musical band of which he was a member.

24. Those are precisely why he should have been fired. The shooting of a general, or a political lightweight, a long time friend, in public would have sent a message to the Black reactionaries seeking to derail her perceived agenda of social and economic transformation, if she were serious.

25. @Pacha

In a perfect world yes but you know different.

26. David

None of the people she fired have no recent experience in challenging her guvment”s certral plank, at least in the manifesto, if that still has credence.

27. WURA,

Grenville is a perfect example of Eurocentric brainwashing.

28. William Skinner Avatar

@ Pacha
    John King has been placed in the PMs office as a paper weight. He will now act only on Mia’s instructions , on a minute to minute basis. In real terms he has no ministry. The PM is now the real Minister of Culture etc. King is now the most expensive paper weight the taxpayers have ever paid for.

29. @Pacha

There is the ‘reverence’ (too much) accorded to a prime minister in the Westminster System commonly referred to as primus inter pares. What we have in our system is a group of professional MPs whose priority is to pay their bills and or feather their nests. The idea of holding MPs accountable to the people they are supposed to serve is ranked fairly low these days. LEt us hope the Integrity Commission will help to grow a new culture. Hopefully we will learn from the struggles of TnT to implement their integrity commission.

30. @Tron July 24, 2020 9:26 AM “It is perverse that we receive so many visa requests from hard-working foreign top performers while the local masses sunbathe on the beach at the expense of the NIS”

Tron. Ye twit. As one of the “local masses” we NEVER “sunbathe on the beach”

We go to the sea, the sea, the sea, NOT the beach. And we go there to “take a sea bath” NOT to sunbathe.

Why would a person, black like me to to the beach to lie in the sun. When we want sun we get it while doing our own yard and garden work.

Only people like you “sunbathe”

31. @Hal Austin at 9:35 a.m. “Keep an eye also on policies on BU…The chairman has an agenda.”

Some might believe that you have an agenda as well.

32. @William Skinner July 24, 2020 10:08 AM “I realized that as the threat of COVID subsided,”

Repeat after me:

The threat of covid19 has NOT subsided. The threat of covid19 has NOT subsided. The threat of covid19 has NOT subsided.

The epidemic is still growing rapidly, principally because in its initial stages it was so grossly mismanaged by know-it-all European and United States politicians who refused to be guided by scientists

There is covid20 now and almost certainly there will be covid21.as well.

33. .@Wiliam Skinner “Ask Senator Caswell what he was offered to shut up. He has so far refused but is under tremendous pressure.”

If he has refused, and if that refusal is principled, then how can it be said that he is UNDER TREMENDOUS PRESSURE?

Upholding one’s principles is hard?

34. @John July 24, 2020 8:33 PM “Donville may spend Christmas in jail!!”

So?

Worldwide tens of millions of people, mostly like you MALE LOL! spend Christmas in jail, and New Year;s Day and Good Friday, and Easter,and Independence Day.

On these special days they are visited mostly by their rarely imprisoned mummies and girlfriends.

Don’t know where their daddies and male buddies are on those special days.

35. Ton, didn’t you have any paid work to do on 24th July that you could be on the blog, morning, noon and night?

I just hope that the much maligned, hard working Barbados taxpayers are not paying you.

36. William Skinner Avatar

@ Cuhdear Bajan
    Are you aware that we successfully dealt with the threat of the virus . I said “ subsided” not finished .
    2. Caswell, according to my sources, is under pressure because Atherley is constantly critical of government policy and he still goes in the House and votes for them. Don’t you know that Caswell is the most trusted and admired parliamentarian in the island.

37. I do not understand why the people should admire an outspoken senator who beats up minorities like same-sex couples.

It’s a dangerous mixture: socialist, nationalist and anti-minority. The opposition obviously wants to transform our peaceful society into a kind of new Zimbabwe. Our government must do everything possible to bring down the opposition.

38. @ William

Has any explanation been given for the decision to move the Nelson statue? Or is it just another one of those no apology, no explanation, no regret?

39. Go an read the GIS communique.

40. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

“Grenville is a perfect example of Eurocentric brainwashing.”

and then some, part of the colonial created…… know not that they know not brigade …..who have the island infested with stupidity as well as the Caribbean at large …..he has spent literally weeks on FB giving a thousand reasons why that ugly statue should remain while creating his own tissue of lies, contradicting known historians……

.. these types of fools always seek leadership roles to poison the minds of another generation with the colonial brainwash and keep it going, just like the parliament rats have been doing from the 1950s with that boring, self serving style of governance, that they themselves were given., you will notice that not one of them have had any new style of politics from that time until now, no new style of governance, they are all waiting for UK to create a new one for them and they think the more intelligent would be impress, they can rest assured that only the fowl slaves are………they are all merely things, man-made creations, socially engineered for the entertainment of their creators…..totally destructive to Black people’s future and should be excised like you would any cancerous tissue.

41. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

We can never find any of the mental weaklings in Barbados having any of this level of strength and brain power let alone any intelligence….they are all merely spectres created by UK….that’s the beginning and end of any of them…jokers.

https://youtu.be/iiwlHG8Q4H8?t=4

42. PM Mottley is the best PM since the Right Honourable J.M.G.M. Adams.

Great woman, despite that some here dislike her. Chalk and cheese compared to the moron who preceded her and shoulders above Arthur and Sandiford.

43. @ Crusoe

Convince me.

44. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

For the black faces with white minds. Germans worship a BLACK SAINT who was a real person, i think he got killed in Battle, will have to revisit the story….Germany is one of the most RACIST countries on earth….THINK on that..

45. WURA-War-on-UJuly 25, 2020 6:23 AM

Germany is any more racist than other developed countries? Systemic racism is prevalent in many countries.

How come so many black Barbadians have been welcomed in Germany, especially musicians, who chose it as their adopted home?

46. @Crusoe

It is not a perfect world; racism is not a binary problem to solve.

47. William Skinner Avatar

@ Hal
    I personally need no explanation the damn thing should have been dumped in the Careenage at least 56 years ago . This has been my position for over 50 years. On this one my Comrade we seem to be miles apart. It has nothing to do with nationalism or wanting to discard all remnants of a colonial past. How on earth can we have a symbol such as Nelson commanding the most prominent spot in our capital city knowing full well this vagabond supported the enslavement of our people. Throw the damn thing in the Careenage.

48. Mia Mottley’s profile in courage on anti-discrimination

In a socially conservative Caribbean space

24 July 2020 in COMMENTARY, Lifestyle, Politics 5 min read

[caption id="" align="alignleft" width="264"] by Kellon Bubb[/caption]

The year 2020 will be recorded in infamy for hastening the unprecedented loss of human life and livelihoods, the wholesale annihilation of some economies, the obliteration of social safety nets for the working poor and vulnerable, and the dredging up historical pain that has always oozed below the surface on issues of race and class.

Historians would, therefore, have no hesitation in describing this postmodern period as a dark and sometimes regressive era for the multiple tensions that have resulted, and the widening divisions that might have been made permanent. Perhaps this Covid-19 pandemic also gave justification to the critique levelled against the modernist capitalist experiment that is currently a central feature of Caribbean development. Post-modernist Caribbean thinkers and economists such as Clive Thomas and CLR James.

In the Caribbean Sea, however, there is a female politician who emerged like a phoenix from the ashes of despair and brought global attention to a lot of the issues that currently confront the post-colonial Caribbean. She articulates these issues in a manner so eloquent and so passionate that the ‘global north’ started to pay attention to her very substantive, intense, and persuasive fustian rhetoric. While the people of Barbados grew accustomed to Mottley for several decades, she was still one of the islands’ best-kept secrets until her cataclysmic rise to executive power in May 2018. She became the first female Prime Minister of Barbados, and only the 4th woman to hold that role in the English-speaking Caribbean. A 2018 Jamaica Gleaner editorial eloquently describes Mottley’s political rise as one which would be an excellent opportunity for the regional integration movement. They opined that her presence in Caribbean life is an occasion for the Caribbean to find someone who can pull seamlessly together with the strands of many ideas, which can then be smoothly pulled together into a clear and compelling narrative.

One such compelling moment in Mottley’s political journey came on Tuesday, 21 July 2020, in the Barbados House of Assembly during a debate on the Remote Employment Bill, 2020. The Bill gives legislative ammunition to a revolutionary idea proposed by her Barbados Labour Party Government, which is designed to welcome those who have been relegated to working from home as a result of the cataclysmic coronavirus pandemic in the global north. The legislation will offer international visitors on a particular work visa in a country that has been able to keep coronavirus numbers at bay successfully. The Barbadian Prime Minister declared “no discrimination on the grounds of race, no discrimination on the grounds of age, no discrimination on the grounds of colour, no discrimination on the grounds of gender, no discrimination on the grounds of sexual orientation. And the people that want to put us in a box that will allow people to be discriminated against for any reason, Mr Speaker, that is not who we are. We are not that person.”

Mottley’s impassioned statement was not only revolutionary and courageous, but she dared to go where no other politician holding executive office in the English-speaking Caribbean would go, because of their need to appease their very socially and religiously conservative base of voters, donors, and supporters. Hers was indeed a profile in courage at a time when the LGBT community in a majority of English-speaking Caribbean states face culturally and legally sanctioned discrimination.

Mottley’s leadership on non-discrimination is happening against the backdrop of a failed referendum on the island of Grenada due in part to a landslide vote against constitutional proposal Bill 6 that ignited the most vitriolic comments against a sexual minority group in that country. While the proposed constitutional reform provision in Grenada meant to address some of the similar issues of discrimination, the influential evangelical church organisations and their conservative partners in parts of the political class on the island led an elaborate public relations campaign against the notion of gender. They viewed Bill 6 as a catalyst for “shoving” gay marriage down the throats of citizens on the socially conservative island. Randal Robinson, a former NDC caretaker candidate, said that those who supported the Bill had an agenda, adding “this is a straight case of what was conceived in the darkness coming into the light because frankly speaking all of the issues highlighting gay people in Grenada are the same issues that affect all poor and vulnerable citizens of the state.”

In Trinidad and Tobago, its Prime Minister, Dr Keith Rowley, made his intention unambiguously clear, in a nod to the Roman Catholic Church and other influential religious organisations, that he will appeal the 2018 Trinidad and Tobago high court ruling by Madame Justice Devindra Rampersad. The High Court Justice ruled that the colonial-era buggery law is unconstitutional.

Additionally, Dr Desmond Austin, president of the Trinidad and Tobago Council of Evangelical Churches, signalled that his organisation would lead a campaign to “encourage the parliamentary agenda for September 2018 to amend the Marriage Act to define marriage as between one biological man and one biological woman. That’s because the family is the basic unit of society and a strong force of social cohesion and as such should be strengthened.”

What binds Grenada, Trinidad and other Caribbean islands on the issue of LGBT equality is the boogeyman of the “gay agenda,” and the boogeyman of the so-called “all-powerful” LGBT community as a sinister agent of moral and familial destruction in the Caribbean.

While large swaths of Caribbean citizens admire Mia Mottley, her stockpile of goodwill might well be diminished by the stance she has taken on the issue of gender and sexual equality. The jury is still out on the impact her statement would have on the mighty conservative majority in her country and other parts of the Caribbean. Despite what that perceived backlash maybe, she seems to be well poised to challenge those forces as eloquently and as strategically as she challenged the hegemony of the global north and the post World War II Bretton Woods institutions that maintain a perpetual debt grip on the Caribbean. Profiles in courage from politicians in the region are generational occurrences, and we are currently bearing witness to one such leader who was born for such a time as this.

NOW Grenada is not responsible for the opinions, statements or media content presented by contributors. In case of abuse, click here to report.

49. @ William

As I have said, that is a decision for the people of Barbados. What I am keen to know is what are the expected outcomes? Once we have removed the statue, will we create new jobs, will there be social progress? How will this make us a better society?
    How about those other symbols of slavery such as the Cathedral? Codrington College? Is there a link between removing Nelson’s statue and the call for reparations? If so, will we be demanding reparations from the descendants of ‘coloured’ slave owners?

50. William Skinner Avatar

@ Cruise
    To date Barbados has only produced two outstanding leaders : Sir Grantley Adams and Errol Barrow. I don’t agree with all that they did but the test of time has validated their leadership.
    Tom Adams built the Central Bank and passed the Freehold Tenantry Act and is responsible for the ABC Highway. Any serious person would say he was a great politician but I don’t know that he ever reached his farher’s or Barrows heights. Furthermore he was cut short rather early.
    Sandiford’s demise was of his own doing. Owen Arthur had the ability and intellect to eclipse them all but he squandered it for reasons known only to him; Sir Harold St John was despised for what many believe were matters not connected to politics. In my opinion he was the real deal. David Thompson was a Barrow / Tom Adams hybrid. Cut short too quickly to be placed up there. The current Prime Minister has a tremendous mandate and is doing okay but to declare her as great and to start placing her above others after only two full years in office is pure folly.
    Quite frankly she has made a number of serious missteps to date. For example the whole embarrassing debacle re: the second deputy Commissioner of Police issue. Being a former attorney general and a QC in private practice, she was totally knocked down by Senator Franklyn on a legal argument. Her most recent cabinet reshuffle where she actually tried to apologize for firing ministers was a serious blunder. So, give the PM time. She will be the very last to compare herself with Barrow , Tom, Bree or Arthur. She is far more intelligent than that.
    Sometimes it is shameful to witness her most ardent supporters trying to make her look foolish and unintelligent.

Leave a Reply to TronCancel reply