Part 1

We are in the midst of what may become the most important part of the of the 21 Century. It is a period ripe with the prospect for change, a revolution not yet coined. A global movement has arisen from the phrase “I Can’t Breathe” in support of black lives and as it affects Barbados, we too must become involved and ride it until the end, pushing to achieve all that we can as the ball is finally in our court. We will not pass this way again in our lifetime.

Blackout Day

The two ladies Marcia Weekes and Lisa Niles who brought to mainstream the recent Blackout Day in support of black businesses in Barbados must be commended. I hope that they will continue and become more organized so that ultimately one day of each week will be dedicated to patronizing black businesses in Barbados. In the spirit of inclusiveness I also hope that all white, brown and any in between will also support black business as black people have patronized their establishments for generations. Some may not have supported this action but the masses have to start somewhere to achieve economic enfranchisement and reduce inequalities in Barbados.

Although I was not surprised by the comments of the Private Sector Organization leader Edward Clarke in the media on July 7th 2020 (I will not comment on it in part 1), I was quite taken back by the comments of Senator Lynette Holder, CEO of the Small Business Association. She stated that “We have identified that small businesses tend to be disadvantaged and they are vulnerable and they represent a vulnerable group and so our focus has been on the issue of size and not the issue of race.” One can ask, how could the organizers not focus on race when it is the determining factor of the disadvantage and vulnerability. In addition she nullified her point as there in a correlation between the size of businesses and race in Barbados.

I hope that in time she recognizes that the activities of her organization to date have not changed the dynamics of black business in Barbados. With respect to both organizations there has been no effort to assist in black economic enfranchisement, shared prosperity, advocating to the banks on the behalf of black businesses, no programs developed to attempt to level the playing field or bringing suggestions to the table at a national level. They had the audacity to say that a blackout day was not the way to go but their way has not worked for black Barbadians. In essence, their way has served to maintain the status quo of inequality.

It is indeed disheartening that the black organizers and participants did not get the satisfaction of a symbolic victory without the accompanying backlash.

The value of black economic lives must matter to those who make up the private sector or black people will choose where to spend their dollar.

Reparations

I watched a recording of the online discussion From Apology to Action – CARICOM’s call for Reparatory Justice on June 6th, 2020. It was stated that the commission has spent 20 years pursuing reparations from Great Britain. Sadly their 10 point plan is missing its most important element; economic enfranchisement. It contains:

1. An apology 6. Eradicating Illiteracy

2. Repatriation 7. Debt Cancellation

3. Indigenous Peoples Programs 8. Psychological Rehabilitation

4. Creation of Cultural Institutions 9. Technology Transfer

5. Public Health 10. African Knowledge

What struck me for the very first time is that CARICOM has recognized the ills of slavery to the extent that it has created a body to pursue reparations for unpaid labour yet at home they have done nothing to create opportunities for economic enfranchisement and black generational wealth. How can they be so cognizant of the fact that it was the lack of compensation to the ex- slaves at emancipation which led to generational poverty and yet do nothing (I am not speaking about the removal of pit toilets) to halt the vicious cycle of poverty?

It is as though Black lives of the distant past matter for reparations, for advocacy to external governments, corporations and universities but the governments turn a blind eye on present oppression. No advocacy, no body or commission has ever been set up to focus on economic enfranchisement or creating generational wealth that has been missing for so long in the lives of the masses of Barbados. 20 years ago if a body had been set up to deal with these issues, I am sure that it would have reaped some measure of success by now.

There is no guarantee that there will be reparations or the form in which they may be given. It is time for our government and the governments in all the territories that made up the British West Indies to make the black lives of the present a priority.

The Statue of Lord Nelson

I was having these should he stay; should he go moments about Admiral Nelson. My resolve now is that any obstacle, feature, relic or law from the colonial era must be removed as it inhibits the economic and social growth of Barbados and infringes on its politics. Admiral Nelson’s statue is a relic of a by gone era that was to have ended in 1966. It is beyond comprehension why he is still standing in National Heroes Square. In leaving the statue up, we will only be passing on this psychological problem to the next generation of black children. If the presence of his statue is still too much for black people to bear, why would we wish to pass this trauma onto the next generation? Black lives in the future must matter too, so Nelson has got to go.

Some Solutions

Black people must recognize their economic value not only to others but to themselves. I wonder if it is the deprivation of slavery that makes us do things in excess. Constant feting, buying a new outfit each week or changing a phone whenever there is an upgrade are just a few things that we do that are not necessary. Why have we adopted the philosophy of a fool buying things that we do not need? If we squander away our earnings, how do we expect to leave an inheritance for our children?

We must buy from each other, save for rainy days, to start businesses, invest in property, to visit the motherland (it will be good for our souls) and for our children’s inheritance.

128 responses to “Another Heather Cole Column – BLACK LIVES MATTER!”

1. Missing negative tests do not reduce the number of positive tests. Missing negative tests do not reduce the number of hospitalizations. Missing negative tests do not reduce the number of ICU patients.

AND NEGATIVE TESTS DO NOT REDUCE THE NUMBER OF DEAD BODIES.

We are way past looking at infection rates.

Is that all you got? Weak!

2. WURA-War-on-UJuly 17, 2020 7:03 AM

Wuhloss. So much wrong in that, I would not know where to start. But, one only one point, can a piece of land be sold without the title deed? Wuhlossssssssss. Nuff money too, somebody did get.

3. Philip Nicholls was a litigant in the proceedings in court …. no family as far as I know.

4. Freedom Crier Avatar

Grenville Phillips
    Nelson, the Supporter of Slavery – Part 3.

We shall now address the evidence for Neslon’s support of slavery. There is probably more information recorded about Nelson than any other person. From this volume of evidence, one private letter is all that has been used to condemn him as supporting slavery.

There are two versions of this letter. One was published in Cobbett’s Weekly Political Register two years after Nelson’s death, in 1807. This was an independent newspaper founded by William Cobbett in 1802. The part of the letter used to claim that Nelson supported slavery, follows.

“I have ever been and shall die a firm friend to our present colonial system. I was bred, as you know, in the good old school, and taught to appreciate the value of our West India possessions; and neither in the field or in the senate shall their interest be infringed whilst I have an arm to fight in their defence, or a tongue to launch my voice against the damnable and cursed doctrine of **** and his hypocritical allies,

“and I hope my birth in heaven will be as exhalted as his, who would certainly cause the murder of all our friends and fellow subjects in the colonies; however, I did not intend to go so far; but the sentiments are full in my heart, and the pen would write them. I have as soon as I have done with this fleet go to England for a few months, and if you have time and inclination I shall be glad to hear from you – we are near thirty years acquainted, and I am as ever, &c. – Neslon and Bronte.” [1]

The other version was published in the formal collection of dispatches and letters of Nelson. The same part of the letter follows.

“I ever have been, and shall die, a firm friend to our present Colonial system. I was bred, as you know, in the good, old school, and taught to appreciate the value of our West India possessions; and neither in the field, nor in the senate, shall their just rights be infringed, whilst I have an arm to fight in their defence, or a tongue to launch my voice. We are nearly, my dear Mr. Taylor, thirty years’ acquaintance; and I am, as ever, your faithful and obliged friend, Nelson and Bronte.” [2]

QUESTIONABLE CREDIBILITY.

Taylor died in 1813, six years after the letter was published. The collection of his approximately 2,000 letters is stored at the University of London. That letter from Nelson, which is perhaps the most important Taylor would have received from him, is notably absent from his collection. It is not even referenced.

The Slave Trade Abolition Bill was introduced into the House of Lords on 2 January 1807. It passed 41 votes in favour and 20 against. It was scheduled to be debated in the House of Commons on 23 February 1807.

Cowbett, who supported the slave trade, published the private letter on 21 February 1807. It did not appear to affect the outcome, since the Bill passed by an overwhelming margin of 283 in favour, and 16 against. It was passed into Law on 25 March 1807.

Despite the questionable credibility of the letter, let us make the unverifiable assumption that the most damning version of the letter is authentic. In that version, the most damaging part to Nelson’s reputation, is his intention to use his “voice against the damnable and cursed doctrine of [Wilberforce] and his hypocritical allies” in the “senate”.

Nelson never referred to the House of Lords as the Senate in any of his dispatches. However, Simon Taylor, who was born in Jamaica, and was a representative of the Assembly of Jamaica, may have referred to it in that manner. Nevertheless, the main question is: what is the cursed doctrine of Wilberforce?

CURSED DOCTRINE OF WILBERFORCE.

There appear to be two likely explanations. The first is the doctrine of appeasement, since Wilberforce advocated peace with France in Parliament during the war. This was a very unpopular doctrine, and much disliked by Nelson, who did not trust the French, given their behaviour during the war.

This view is supported by the comment that the doctrine would “cause the murder of all our friends and fellow subjects”. Nelson understood the magnitude of France’s deceit during the war. The French had earlier slaughtered 4,400 persons after pretending to offer them peace [3]. The evidence from Nelson’s letters and actions, showed that he vigorously opposed peace with France.

The other likely explanation, is the abolition of the slave trade. This could also result in the murder previously described, given the genocide that occurred in Haiti following the Haitian revolution.

The problem with this explanation, is that there is no record of Nelson supporting the slave trade in parliament. Rather, as shown in the evidence in Part 2, he vigorously opposed the slave trade, including to representatives in Parliament.

CREDIBLE EVIDENCE.

There is one piece of credible evidence that supports the view that Nelson may have supported the slave trade. To my knowledge, his accusers have never used this evidence. However, honest research demands that all evidence must be unbiasedly examined.

It was a letter Nelson wrote to Locker in 1796. Nelson wrote: “I hope our West India Islands will not suffer more than they have done; but I see Wilberforce is meddling again with the slave-trade. I feel very much obliged by Simon Taylor’s remembrances; pray do not forget me to him when you write [4].

Nelson’s ‘meddling’ comment about Wilberforce seems more aimed at ridicule than active opposition. Nevertheless, his comment suggests that he did not oppose the slave trade in 1796, but was more likely to support it if questioned.

It should be noted that this letter was written two years before the Mediterranean campaign of 1798. It was then that he would have seen the horrors of slavery for himself. It was then that his letters opposing slavery were written, where his “blood boils” and his “heart bleeds” [5].

For some, like surgeon Thomas Trotter who served on a slave ship, it took observing the horrors of slavery up-close to get them off the fence and embrace a side. For others, like ther hardened slave ship captain John Newton (who later wrote the hymn, Amazing Grace), it took the power of God.

By his dispatches and actions after 1798, Nelson saw something that made him oppose all forms of slavery, and place himself on the right side of history. From the evidence in Part 2, it seems that it was the horrors of the north-African slave trade that changed his mind.

There remains one final part of this series – Part 4. It is to address the accusations made by Trevor Marshall and David Comissiong during our appearance on The People’s Business on 21 July 2020. I was not given the opportunity to respond to them on the broadcast. However, the accusation that Nelson was a mass murderer of Barbadians, which the media has uncritically promoted, deserves to be investigated.

Grenville Phillips II is a Chartered Structural Engineer and President of Solutions Barbados. He can be reached at NextParty246@gmail.com

References for Part 3 follow.

[1] Cowbett. Political Register. 1807. p.296.

[2] The Dispatches and Letters of Vice Admiral Lord Viscount Nelson, Vol 5. 1846. p.450.

[3] Lowry. Fiddlers & Whores: The Memoirs of James Lowry, a Young Surgeon in Nelson’s Mediterranean Fleet. 2013. p.90.

[4] Letters and Dispatches of Horatio Nelson – Vol 2 1895 to 1897, p.130.

[5] Letters and Dispatches of Horatio Nelson – Vol 4 1802 to 1804. p.125.

5. NorthernObserverJuly 17, 2020 3:38 PM

Your comments suggest a Special Majority, 100% of shareholders, must agree. The dissent of any is the dissent of all.

In 1982, one shareholder purported to leave his shares to a nephew, family you might say!!

He had no issue but he had a 1959 will in which he had originally left his shares to his parents and siblings.

However, the articles only permit a transfer to issue, siblings and ancestors.

Only way into the company for the nephew was by unanimous shareholder agreement.

He owned no shares.

Nothing to do with general family relationships, all to do with rules and specific family relationships – blood.

Transfer never happened.

What is family?

Depends!!

6. @ John July 17, 2020 4:50 PM
    “What is family???”

You are really revealing your true ‘colour’ here, John!

So you are ‘playing ‘ that you do not know who or ‘”what is family”?

You know about the absence of the ‘nuclear’ family among blacks, generally.

You know also about its absence being the major contribution for the perceived high incidence of crime among the black males especially in the USA.

Yet you cannot tell the BU readers why there is such a high level of ‘dysfunctionality’ in yours.

Where have all the Christian talk of love of thy brethren and Quaker values of friendship and salvation through a white Jesus disappeared to?

Sacrificed on the altar of greed and the cross for the love of money?

Or Hidden inside Nelson’s statue of white supremacy or ‘living’ with the curse from the raping of your African ancestry of the distaff side buried in unmarked graves on those stolen plantation lands?

How come you cannot practice among your own mixed-up kind what you like to preach, nauseatingly, to the blacks on BU about Christian and Quaker values which were responsible for their liberation from enslavement?

7. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

“Wuhloss. So much wrong in that, I would not know where to start. But, one only one point, can a piece of land be sold without the title deed? Wuhlossssssssss. Nuff money too, somebody did get ”

Crusoe…lol…apparently only in Barbados the thieves pick up land belonging to other people and sell it to anyone without title deeds….outright theft that vulnerable people have been complaining about for decades, thousands went to their graves without any justice, but am sure their spirits will not rest until these animals who robbed them gets introduced to KARMA…

pure entertainment…wuh we heard the name of an Ital-ian diplomat called in the last video, now we hearing an Is-raeli diplomat calling in this one and also a company out of Switzerland, i am waiting with baited breath to hear an Argentine diplomat name called soon cause i have been asking for two years and no one can tell me what the hell that racist country accused of killing off their African descended (black population) doing in majority black Barbados…no matter how many times i ask…

to make it worse people who were present at these meeting said DLP also had plans to tief the REPARATIONS of the majority population although they had nothing to tief yet 3 or 4 years ago, but they still had plans……well we done know all of them were involved in this theft of estate….so ya done know ya can’t trust BLP with land or reparations either cause ya don’t know what they will do next.

they are currently accused on FB of having plans for Guyana’s oil since 2016, it’s said they set up offshore companies and everything…and since we all know ya cannot trust sell out negros, anything is possible….

stay a safe distance away….MILES….. cause when all that shit starts FLYING AROUND, ya don’t want none of it on ya…lol

8. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

They are getting another opportunity to get the racism discussion in Barbados right, a more diverse panel in
    place this time, instead of the self-serving frauds each with personal and individual agendas they had on the panel last time, which was so useless and energy draining that no one could watch it to the end…

https://www.facebook.com/events/716480315842971/?cft[0]=AZU-DJrL04F6B0i2OfsFiL4lqPkITKIXOT2KU2OsBt6LKP4WaMQOL-WomSBeiosUB1ZleBWVKDZXL-FD_pSrP4AdIls1abO53z2OpDapmBjXYriNS3I43xaSQ4aOomrPnTlw18toxBxheIm1Jv30E_zigDnBXDzLeO7UHScxdL7c9vedgnvoDmEjrqJ9cydogQNJ4isRJ8lgqQ38f-ctESPN-y7h3z8XPWHXh9BJdOkr3TD92KEwrRMf3ZQgUnEZ9Gg0v3DqT7HtQ2bCYRERAngfu2EphVQhwAqUr1zn7YOc1w7UqF3BAj1zJzkazReOQno&tn=EH-R

9. I heard a woman say
    Don’t follow he down de hole
    Go about yuh business
    Leh me go down de hole aftuh he

Call de RhSPCA.. She gun kill that rabiit

10. No problems so far in my nuclear family!!

Challenges have been met and overcome, put to bed.

Obviously family and nuclear family are very different.

11. NorthernObserver Avatar

All a lotta ;!:?&. I always felt many of those old time contracts were designed to create problems. Controlling from the grave.
    I was involved in one where, the inheritor had to relinquish ownership if they married for a second time, by passing them down early to the offspring of union #1. If none, to be split among living siblings.

12. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

It’s damn frightening that Bajans do not communicate more with each other, it has cost them, now they know..

even worse it is wicked and malicious that although this was documented Caribbean leaders, all these rotating ministers in increments of 5 years to 10 years for the last 50+ years, mentally enslaved that they did not think it necessary to teach this historical information in the schools across the Caribbean..then they call themselves highly educated…steuppss..

https://scontent.fbgi3-1.fna.fbcdn.net/v/t1.0-9/110042772_3542152239130390_5565122441968809342_n.jpg?_nc_cat=106&_nc_sid=825194&_nc_ohc=jn7VVA0VHVoAX8qYGFO&_nc_ht=scontent.fbgi3-1.fna&oh=a673b4d025c72d53e41fbe4d926369ca&oe=5F382CBB

13. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

Theo, Donna…am just utterly disgusted now…these goddamn idiots…

i have never even heard about any of that UFO sighting on the island nor anywhere else in the Caribbean……am sure except for those who saw it and kept it to themselves and went to their graves with the information….not that many people outside of the deceitful government knows anything about this…disrespectful…oh, they will tell us UK and US told them not to say anything, then they call themselves leaders of the people…utter frauds…

14. TheO,

Just a little Friday fun! It is becoming too easy though!

15. NorthernObserverJuly 17, 2020 8:19 PM

All a lotta ;!:?&. I always felt many of those old time contracts were designed to create problems. Controlling from the grave.
    I was involved in one where, the inheritor had to relinquish ownership if they married for a second time, by passing them down early to the offspring of union #1. If none, to be split among living siblings.

In the case of Kingsland Estates Limited, a male or female shareholder could also transfer to his/her spouse as well.

The simple clause which went like this.

“Any share may be transferred by a member to any ancestor, child or other issue, wife or husband; brother or sister,
    of such member, and any share of a deceased member may be transferred by his executors or administrators to any ancestor, child, or other issue, widow or widower, brother or sister. of such deceased member, to whom such deceased member may have specifically bequeathed the same, and shares standing in the name of the trustees of the Will of any deceased member may be transferred upon any change of trustees to the trustees for the time being of such will, and the restrictions. 26 hereof shall not apply to any transfer authorised by this clause.”

Two of the original 9 shareholders never married and had no child or other issue (grandchild/great grandchild) so by this clause they were limited to transfer in life or death to parents or siblings … or other shareholders (members).

The nephew got creative with the uncle’s will in 1982 not realising that there were restrictions!!

His nuclear family was dysfunctional and his siblings would not allow their father to transfer a single share to their own brother so he could inherit his uncle’s shares.

The father was weak.

They even caused their father to change his will in 1997 to cut out their own brother.

So the nephew could never get the uncle’s shares transferred to him.

His only option as executor of the estate of his uncle (he made sure he was named executor in the will) was to first offer the shares to existing shareholders at what was deemed the fair value.

It was only if the other shareholders did not avail themselves of the offer that he as executor could transfer the shares to himself.

The correct procedure would have been for the nephew’s attorney at law to recommend to him that he have the will interpreted by the court but both knew it would not stand up.

There was an informal unanimous shareholder and director agreement allowing the transfer but the nephew never risked initiating the process for fear that one or more of the shareholders would huff the shares he considered to be his own.

16. The nephew used to be always on BU in various forms.

He passed in 2016, December 18.

David wrote the obituary.

17. pssst….. Leh we go quietly wid de UFO thing.
    Now, if you could link it to the duopoly, then sign me on.

18. The courts have the powers to amend wills. It happens often in the UK – too often.

19. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

Theo…this may be easier on the brain for some to process, tiefing lawyers, a common place thing on the island, easier to digest and believe than UFO visits…..tiefing lawyers are expected…

https://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/246732/lawyer-admits-stealing-usd302

“Seven years after making her last payment, attorney Cheraine Nicole Parris paid up another $10 000 yesterday, moments after she admitted stealing $302 000 from a former horse trainer ten years ago.

She will, however, remain on bail pending sentencing as members of her family rally to repay the remainder of the money.”

20. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

“The nephew used to be always on BU in various forms.”

don’t tell me the nephew in various forms was another outright racist who used to haunt the blog without fail….the blog was infested with them i remember until they mostly disappeared, some had to run from the island..

21. Some of you continue to disrespect the blog by turning every blog to squeeze into your narrow agendas.

It is no surprise your issue buffet from pillar to post. It will for the next generation of your family also if you continue along the same path.

22. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

The African descended should not have to fight for any civil or judicial rights that are already guaranteed under various constitutions and none of which should be continually violated every generation.More importantly, the majority Black population should not have their civil rights violated as a matter of course, should not have their judicial rights made a mockery of by corrupt governments and dangerous lawyers who use human rights violations as a sport to enrich themselves, to degrade and demean their own people and continually drive them into generational poverty.

▼Article XXXI 1. States shall ensure the full enjoyment of civil, political, economic, social, and cultural rights by indigenous peoples; their right to maintain their cultural and spiritual identity, religious traditions, cosmovision, and values; the protection of their sacred sites and places of worship, and all the human rights contained in this Declaration. 2. States shall promote, with the full and effective participation of indigenous peoples, the adoption of such legislative and other measures as may be necessary to give effect to the rights recognized in this Declaration.
    ▼Article XXXII All the rights and freedoms recognized in the present Declaration are guaranteed equally to indigenous women and men.
    ▼Article XXXIII Indigenous peoples and individuals have the right to effective and suitable remedies, including prompt judicial remedies, for the reparation of any violation of their collective and individual rights. States, with the full and effective participation of indigenous peoples, shall provide the necessary mechanisms for the exercise of this right.

23. @Mariposa was sent for moderation (ie banned) for posting under the wrong blog. Now we know that it is a frequent occurrence, but none of the offenders are moderated (banned).
    Bring back @Mariposa. She was really banned for challenging the chairman and opposing the president, whose incompetent government is making an awful job by the Stuart government much worse.

24. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

The real disrespect to the blog is for a BLACK BLOGGER for years pretending to be a rabid white racist, when in actuality he is a wannabe white, black racist… to consistently torment, disrespect and demean our BLACK ANCESTORS who were physically destroyed and violated for centuries….even his water carrier GP abandoned him when it finally sunk into his mind that he is black, no more immoral support for some black racist……lol

….it will be interesting to see what happens next…and happen it will…lol…

25. Backdoor to The Sea by Heather Cole

Introduction to Novel

The novel vividly narrates the life of the author as a child in Barbados. She takes you on a roller-coaster ride of emotions as she slowly unravels details about her hardships, learnings, and losses. Throughout the author’s path, she witnessed many ups and downs. All the disastrous things that happened to the author were blamed on her arch-enemy, the sea. Nevertheless, “Backdoor to the Sea” is a breath of fresh air. It analyses the close relation of the sea and the Africans brought into captivity. As she progresses, she cleverly binds her opinions of slavery with the old Barbadian saying, “The sea ain’t got nuh backdoor”. The author enchants the readers by her Barbadian style of writing. She teleports the readers into the wonderland of her memories and captivates them with her stories that she is impatient to tell.

Summary of the Novel

This novel uncovers all that happens to the leading lady Heather Cole through the molding years of her life. Heather doesn’t fall flat to mention all her beautiful memories with her family and friends. There were a few highs and lows along the way, but this only adds to her experience. She cherished the simple pleasures in life like going on strolls, singing with her family, life before progress as she called it.

https://filmyloop.com/backdoor-to-the-sea-by-heather-cole/

26. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

Hey Heather, congratulations on your novel, only just noticed it, i will take a read.

27. The first Black woman to lead the Philadelphia Police Department, Police Commissioner Danielle Outlaw authorized tear gas on peaceful Black Lives Matter protesters. Outlaw must go because she is doing the Black community no good, but the larger issue is, what exactly should be the role of the Black police officer, and what is their responsibility to the community?

Outlaw took the helm only months before the Black Lives Matter protests that erupted last spring and summer following the murder of George Floyd by Minneapolis police. Hopes were high that she would clean up a department infested with corruption, racism and sexual assault.

Those hopes were dashed when Outlaw’s riot police rolled out with tear gas and rubber bullets against peaceful Black Lives Matter protesters in West Philly and on I-676….(Quote)