While a handful of hotels on Barbados have been very proactive in reaching out to locals and residents for Staycation options at attractive rates, despite some recent discussion, there appears no national initiative driving this important tactic to help the path of tourism recovery.

Perhaps equally discouraging is that our banks and financial institutions seem to be unaware of the potential to grow credit and debit card usage by offering enhanced cash back incentives to promote local tourism, which in themselves are self-funding.

What is abundantly obvious is that many would-be overseas visitors are delaying future booking, until some sort of normality returns to definite flight possibilities, rather than again risk going through the prolonged refund process that thousands are still trying to extract for previously confirmed flights and holidays.

Obviously, it is largely out of our control to secure airlift in the current ever changing circumstances from traditional markets, until infection rates are significantly reduced or eliminated, and the general public has the confidence to travel again.

The LIAT debacle has virtually ruled out welcoming back any possible early return of significant numbers of intra Caribbean visitors, despite the relatively low risk of Covid-19 spread within the region.

Many also find it difficult to understand how Governments, over decades, have ploughed hundreds of millions of taxpayer dollars into supporting the airline, only now to see it liquidated with all the consequences that brings to those involved.

Therefore simply put, perhaps the only meaningful source of business which presently remains, is the domestic market. It is not just about our accommodation providers, but across the entire sector.

From my feedback, people are questioning if Government sincerely wishes to avoid further closures of tourism partners and enable these businesses to re-open and protect employment, that the administration has to play their part in removing room levies and VAT (value added tax), at least in the short term.

The British Government obviously considered this policy was critical to aiding the hospitality industry recovery in the United Kingdom by announcing days ago the lowering of the VAT rate from 20 to 5 per cent until January 2021on restaurants, pubs and other leisure outlets and introduction of specially priced meals, rather like our 19 year old re-DISCOVER initiative.

Ultimately there are so many ways Government can wrest taxes and if those businesses remain closed and unable to meet their financial obligations, then clearly, they cannot contribute to national recovery.

While, thankfully, one closed restaurant was recently re-opened, under new ownership, no mention has been made of several others that have already been forced to close their doors ‘indefinitely’, resulting in the loss of dozens of jobs. This closure trend will inevitably continue unless some corrective measures are put into place urgently.

Over the last years ‘we’ have spent a fortune rightly boasting we are the culinary Capital of the Caribbean.  Let us now, not lose this hard earned reputation, simply by failing to respond to the immediate needs of those who have made it possible.

176 responses to “Adrian Loveridge Column – 911 Response”

1. @ peterlawrencethompson July 14, 2020 2:21 PM
    @ Hal Austin July 14, 2020 2:56 PM

Why are you two making such a fuss? The man has his roots in Guyana, that explains it. A typical Guyanese racist. Anyone who – like the Guyanese – cannot count to 65 (“majority of 65 is 34”) and changes the election result 5 times within 5 months (sic!) is insane or something else.

The man is simply jealous because Barbados is so successful and peaceful, while he comes from a hellhole that his British countrymen despise. Of course, his British business partners don’t tell him this to his face because of political correctness. But it’s a fact that the British love the paradise Barbados and laugh about the hellhole Guyana.

2. The case of Trevor Phillips clearly shows that there are also migrant haters who agitate against peaceful peoples such as Barbados because they do not cultivate the same racial hatred as the Indian and black Guyanese, but are concerned about harmony and peace.

Time for the British to indict Trevor Phillips for racial hatred and discrimination against Barbadians.

Barbadians live matters!

3. More to be done, says lecturer

Government is being warned that the success of its widely publicised 12-month remote visa programme could be placed in jeopardy if steps are not taken to improve the country’s telecommunications infrastructure, “island backwardness” and overall standard of living in time for an influx of remote workers from Western countries.

Director of the Sir Arthur Lewis Institute of Social and Economic Studies (SALISES), Dr Don Marshall was responding to the open invitation being extended by Prime Minister Mia Mottley for persons from across the world to live and work remotely in Barbados for a year.

While commending the PM for grabbing hold of “low hanging fruit”, Marshall is worried that the demographic to which the Government is appealing will not be satisfied with the “poor” internet facilities and inefficient services which Barbadians have grown accustomed to over the years.

“We have had a number of discussions via webinars within the intellectual community about immediate solutions to the tourism challenges and the need to have people who work remotely in these North American countries and Western spaces come to the Caribbean, and do so,” Dr Marshall told Barbados TODAY.

“But this business of calls dropping out and static when you go on the web is ‘dinosaurial’. That is backward, and while we in Barbados have grown accustomed to it, Barbadians who have travelled and see how their handheld phones operate marvel at the speed, the ease of communication and so on. Then they come back home to see that the only thing that greets them are dropouts and buffering,” the academic lamented.

Last week, Cabinet approved the Barbados 12-month Welcome Stamp in an effort to enhance the country’s tourism product, and according to recent reports, the initiative has gone viral among members of the international community, who have been learning about it on CNN, Business Insider, BBC and the Telegraph among others.

Efforts to reach Minister of Innovation, Science and Smart Technology Senator Kay McConney for further details on the initiative have been unsuccessful.

In the meantime, Dr Marshall suggests that the Government should start by demanding improved standards from local telecommunications companies as well to compete with the 4G and soon-to-be 5G networks that exist in the developed world.

“So improving our telecommunications environment is going to be absolutely critical, and the service providers here will have to shape up and the state will have to use its influence to ensure that visitors are getting value for money and that the service is very reliable. But I applaud the Government on that initiative. It’s one of those low hanging fruits and we should seize the opportunity,” Dr Marshall stressed.

In addition to upgraded telecommunications, the SALISES Director believes remote workers will demand an overall first-world experience from transportation services to recreational activities.

“People don’t want to work remotely from home and then step out into decrepit spaces. A digital native does not want to experience a certain kind of island backwardness. It doesn’t make sense. We must first conceive what a first-world island looks like,” he declared, before adding that the administration ought to be doing more to develop ‘smart’ cities.

“You will get to experience greater levels of foreign exchange accumulation and international business if you have your smart city that also features efficiencies in your transport systems, telecommunications provisioning and access to services that are reliable,” Dr Marshall suggested.

He admitted that financing for such “regeneration” was unlikely to come from organisations like the World Bank and International Monetary Fund who have so far supported Government’s digitization drive, and suggests that Government pursue more progressive lenders.

“We need to have a plan. We can’t be simply creating rhetoric around initiatives that the [International Monetary] Fund and the World Bank are sponsoring.

https://barbadostoday.bb/2020/07/15/more-to-be-done-says-lecturer/

4. William Skinner Avatar

@ PLT
    I find it very interesting that your idea has gained such currency and you have not , as far as I am aware, made any fuss about it publicly. Why are you so silent?This entire idea , in the international press, is being thought of as Prime Minister Mottley’s “ brilliant” idea.
    Why are you so silent?

5. @PLT
    @William

What is the surprise? The president has no ideas of her own, she does not like details so likes readymade packages and is a lawyer in more ways than just her professional training. It is her mindset: you take a brief, then go out and speak to it as if you were an eye witness.
    This is the modus operandi of the Barbadian decision makers. Yet, for some unknown reason, it is thought to be normal. In the UK (I know we do not like these overseas countries) the first question that would have been asked of @PLT would have been “what is in it for you? What do you want?”
    This is barbarism.

6. PLT, Hal!

Why spending thousand of dollars for such poor permission?

The globalists have their villas in Barbados anyway or can rent from other globalists. Just book a return ticket for three months and rebook it later to 12 months or buy a new ticket.

The authorities issue visitors’ driving licences for 12 months anyway.

The saving is 2000 USD – price for rebooking return flight.

So why register officially? For what?

7. The officials do not check how long you stayed in Barbados anymore when you LEAVE. Right?

8. @Tron

It looks as if @PLT has allowed his nationalism to crowd out his normal common sense. The basic principle is do not trust the buggers.

9. @ Hal Austin July 15, 2020 12:41 PM

If you want to really piss off your “colleague” Phillips, send him a postcard with the number 65! You know why … LOL.

10. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

William SkinnerJuly 15, 2020 11:56 AM
    “Why are you so silent? This entire idea , in the international press, is being thought of as Prime Minister Mottley’s “ brilliant” idea.”
    +++++++++++++++
    I simply want the idea to be implemented… because if there is no short term replacement of tourism FX earnings the poverty rate in Barbados will spike from 17% to over 40%. I am fortunate to be comfortable enough that I do not have to be wondering where my own next meal is coming from.

11. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@TronJuly 15, 2020 12:34 PM
    “Why spending thousand of dollars for such poor permission?”
    You are entirely correct. The idea of charging up front fees is pure folly. I have sent memos through reliable channels explaining this in relatively polite language and I will publish a column in next Monday’s Barbados Business Authority to the same effect.

If they persist with the outrageous fees they will have killed the goose before she laid a single golden egg.

12. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@Hal Austin July 15, 2020 12:41 PM
    “It looks as if @PLT has allowed his nationalism to crowd out his normal common sense.”
    I’m not often accused of being in possession of normal common sense 😉

13. William Skinner Avatar

@ PLT
    Thanks for your response.

14. There is money to be made assisting ” Peter”s People ” in their journey from their “home” to their ” New Barbados home “.

15. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@Hants July 15, 2020 6:14 PM
    “There is money to be made assisting ” Peter”s People ” in their journey from their “home” to their ” New Barbados home “.”
    Yes there is… as long as the misguided policy and stultifying bureaucracy don’t screw it up.

16. After all the face time on the various TV networks promoting the “Work from home in Barbados” the proof of the pudding is in the eating and the fine print may put paid to the idea. No Gov’t wishing to attract an initial slew of clients would attach a fee to the application, fees if appropriate should be applied in successive years depending on the popularity of the enterprise. Fees could also be applied if the target numbers have been attained and there remains a surge of applications but no one wants to be bombarded with layers of red tape and additional costs before they set foot on the island because in this competitive environment someone is probably building a better mousetrap.

17. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

http://nationnews.brb.newsmemory.com/?publink=112a82ce4
    Hmmm, no mention of any up front fee… perhaps I’m making progress.

18. @PLT
    Question: Since passing your idea on toe Santia Bradshaw’s partner and seeing it worked its way through to the president, have you been called in for any consultations or asked for an elaborations? Or have they just taken the idea and ran with it?

19. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@Hal
    They just took the idea and ran with it for the most part. I have been talking to Invest Barbados because that agency stands a smaller chance of screwing it up that the BYMI, but those discussions do not seem to be leading anywhere quickly enough. I even have shown them how they can probably get the development funded by the IDB to the tune of US$500k, but they are still stuck in first gear.

20. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

BTMI^

21. @PLT

I asked because I did not want to jump to conclusions. But I expected that was what they did. By the way, I have had dealings with Invest Barbados. They tried to cut me out of the loop, the only problem was that the English bank director I invited to participate in one of their conferences kept me informed. He was not impressed.
    It is a cultural thing. Part of the Barbadian Condition.

22. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@Hal
    Yes, I understand the Barbadian condition. It is a direct outcome of the Plantation. I do not have enough time left in a normal life span to change that condition except by very modest increments, so I dream up strategies which will work despite the condition. That is why I am so blasé about their psychological need to claim authorship over my idea.

23. @ David July 14, 2020 2:29 PM

But Blogmaster the man Phillips (of strong Bajan ancestry) does have a point.

There are many laws on the BAJAN statute books which are ‘anathema’ to the lifestyles of many of those to whom this programme is targeted.

Wouldn’t it make sense to take these observations on board and remove those ‘offending’ Victorian era pieces of legislation in order to attract a more inclusive and open-minded clientele?

The same way the legislative framework was upgraded and modernized to impress the offshore financial services (international) market, what’s so hard about removing those backward laws which clearly are in violation of people’s human rights if Barbados is going to justify it ratification of the many UN conventions?

Let the Bajan government put its legislative hand where its forex-needing mouth is.
    Just get rid of those barbaric and inhumane laws the same way the country wants to rid itself of relics which represent their ‘dark’ past of chattel slavery.

PS: We notice that Trevor P might be a follower of your BU blog since he also alludes to that special “Bajan Condition” with which your man Hal Austin appears to be in consonance.

24. @Adrian Loveridge July 13, 2020 9:18 AM
    Peter, totally agree that the 12 Month Welcome Stamp initiative was a very creative idea to gain free destination coverage, but in the real world how many people do you think will take up the offer, pay the registration fee and buy overseas medical coverage? If it is to attract online workers then there will have to be vast improvements in internet access and a reliable power supply. As an example we were unable to access emails for three days last week and that is not exceptional. Time Warp or Reality? (Unquote).
    ++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

We remember that you were right at the centre of the tourism business playing your part when this proposal was first mooted.

It was under the previous administration back in 2013/2014 when this “Initiative” was first announced.

We can agree that the previous Minister of Finance was not the sharpest tool in the macro financial management box but he and his ‘advisory’ technocrats ought to be given credit for putting this ‘invitation to work from Beautiful Barbados’ proposal on the agenda.

It’s called giving Chris and advisors their ‘initiative’ jackets; even if there is no honour among political thieves.

The real challenges will come when it comes to its implementation which has been in the Initiatives & Project proposals pipeline since 2014 awaiting execution by the relevant agencies like Invest Barbados, BTMI and Immigration.

But thanks to Covid-19 it might become a red project in 2021.
    How about fixing the problem with the Internet speed and reliability which has been known for years to be a major drawback to attracting “Internet nomads” to the oasis called Covid-under-control Barbados?

Necessity is always the mother of invention even if it involves reinventing the wheel of forex-generating ideas.

25. William Skinner Avatar

@ Miller
    Amazing. Here we have complaints about the internet connection when for donkey years the hoteliers could not even maintain a basic , proper website.
    Be wary of these so called experts and self appointed gurus of the industry.

26. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@Miller
    Can you direct me to press coverage or any documentation about the 2013/14 initiative. I was not yet back in the Caribbean at that time.

27. @ Miller who wrote ” It was under the previous administration back in 2013/2014 when this “Initiative” was first announced.”

Years ago I used to describe the fish I caught and may have added an inch or three to the length. Nowadays you have to show a photo or video to establish credibility.lol

28. Miller is right I remember that minister of finance was ahead on this initiative. actually , I heard more than one person say he will make everyone sick .

29. NorthernObserver Avatar

https://www.terracaribbean.com/_themes/TerraCaribbean/Blocks/printcontent.php?contentid=663&Lang=0

@plt
    Sorry I do not navigate well on my phone. But go to the bottom of above and it directs you to the piece on HNWI.

30. Super Saleswoman.

31. NorthernObserver Avatar

@MTA 7.54am
    Excellent points, many of which fly over the head, of Bajans’ who share widely many of these biases.
    The last time I saw this much free media local coverage for Barbados was when two young ladies ‘fled’ the island compliments of the ‘Rainbow Railroad’.

32. @ PLT

“Favourable changes were also made to non-dom immigration requirements for High Net Worth Individuals (HNWI’s) creating a more welcoming environment for persons wishing to invest, retire or reside in Barbados. Chief among these is the revised policy on Special Entry Permits for non-nationals. Prerequisites for acquiring these permits include security checks, proof of adequate health insurance coverage and submission of police certificates of character.”

33. Super Saleswoman.(Quote)

We do not need snake oil salespeople. We need dynamic leaders to take us out of this social and economic mess. PR is for showbiz. Few journalists take PR people seriously. It is called the dark side for a reason. Politics is for real policies.

34. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@Miller
    @NorthernObserver
    “But go to the bottom of above and it directs you to the piece on HNWI.”
    ++++++++++++++++++
    Yes I know about this residency for millionaire investor program. Invest Barbados runs it and it has been in place for years. The current work from Barbados initiative is quite different… although you can see them as part of the same spectrum. The market for the High Net Worth Individual (HNWI) program is quite limited, although it may expand now that COVID is here. The market of employed tech professionals who work from home is orders of magnitude larger than the HNWI market.

35. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

You will also note that the fee for a Special Entry Permit for High Net Worth Individuals is only US$150 as far as I am aware.

36. @PLT

How do you define a HNWI?

37. @PLT

How do you (Barbados) define a high net worth individual?

38. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@Hal
    I believe that Invest Barbados defines a HNWI as an individual who has a provable net worth of at least US$5m and invests at least US$2m in Barbados (either by acquiring a residential property or other investments in Barbados purchased with funds sourced outside the Island).

39. NorthernObserver Avatar

@plt
    I didn’t say the two concepts were the same. Rather what I ‘believed’ was the ChrisS proposal being mentioned.
    Very different, and obviously the one you proposed has wider reach.
    My lone disappointment thus far, is that in 20+ communications, people do NOT READ beyond a headline. People asking me “what jobs are being offered”. Steupse.
    As expected ‘health care’ is the most common query.

40. NorthernObserver Avatar

Little “birdies” all over N.America have been whispering one term “wealth tax”. Details are sketchy. But we know Governments everywhere need revenue badly. Wonder who will be the first to create a virtual country?

41. Antigua just announce a 2 year residency program?

Image may contain: 1 person, text

42. I expect that smart Bajans who own small hotels and villas are already preparing for the ” working tourists “.

They should be getting high speed internet, ups,Varidesks etc and the car rental companies should be preparing special long term leases. ok there are people who can plan this sort a thing betta than me.

I just adding some rice to depot.

43. We need to get rid off the land tax for our beloved expats (see above).

No taxation without representation! Expats are not second-class islanders.

Alternatively, we should grant our expats the right to name at least 10 cabinet ministers, 10 senators and 10 judges, since they contribute sooo much to our FX inflow.

44. @Hants
    Long term leases? They won’t be driving to Warrens daily, all they want is a room with a (beachfront) view.

45. @ PLT

Again, not surprising, Invest Barbados has a concept of super high net worth. Check out the definition of high net worth in the US, UK and other developed economies and the level of disposable incomes that come within the bracket.
    What has formed the mindset that makes policymakers in Barbados think that we are top of the tree in whatever we engage in? It is boring. These are collectively what I call the Barbadian Condition. Reality seems to pass us by.
    Let common sense rule. How many people with a disposable (that is the measure and not net worth) income of US$5m, will be prepared to invest $2m in Barbados? In what? Property? That west coast market is already dominated by the super rich money-launderers.
    Where are the businesses for rich, investors to invest in? People do not get rich because they are stupid, unless they inherited their wealth.
    @PLT I have a number of workable and simple suggestions I can put forward, but I won’t because there are dishonest people in control and I am not a Bajan nationalist. We are not all in this together. Some of us are, and some just sit back and reap the benefits.

46. NorthernObserver Avatar

@Crusoe
    Sadly this has become ‘standard’ behaviour. The Board, who are supposed to be representing the owners (shareholders) are frequently bonused too. And this is for compensation in firms which are on the edge of total failure. A failure bonus?
    Don’t politicians do likewise? As they know they are exiting soon, the appointments, contract extensions, contracts, honours and clemencies flow freely.
    All the “ME” generation. They are all looking out for #1, strong supporters and confidants next, all others can find their own lifeboat.

47. @ Sargeant who wrote “all they want is a room with a (beachfront) view.”

I disagree,

Leave a Reply to HantsCancel reply