While a handful of hotels on Barbados have been very proactive in reaching out to locals and residents for Staycation options at attractive rates, despite some recent discussion, there appears no national initiative driving this important tactic to help the path of tourism recovery.

Perhaps equally discouraging is that our banks and financial institutions seem to be unaware of the potential to grow credit and debit card usage by offering enhanced cash back incentives to promote local tourism, which in themselves are self-funding.

What is abundantly obvious is that many would-be overseas visitors are delaying future booking, until some sort of normality returns to definite flight possibilities, rather than again risk going through the prolonged refund process that thousands are still trying to extract for previously confirmed flights and holidays.

Obviously, it is largely out of our control to secure airlift in the current ever changing circumstances from traditional markets, until infection rates are significantly reduced or eliminated, and the general public has the confidence to travel again.

The LIAT debacle has virtually ruled out welcoming back any possible early return of significant numbers of intra Caribbean visitors, despite the relatively low risk of Covid-19 spread within the region.

Many also find it difficult to understand how Governments, over decades, have ploughed hundreds of millions of taxpayer dollars into supporting the airline, only now to see it liquidated with all the consequences that brings to those involved.

Therefore simply put, perhaps the only meaningful source of business which presently remains, is the domestic market. It is not just about our accommodation providers, but across the entire sector.

From my feedback, people are questioning if Government sincerely wishes to avoid further closures of tourism partners and enable these businesses to re-open and protect employment, that the administration has to play their part in removing room levies and VAT (value added tax), at least in the short term.

The British Government obviously considered this policy was critical to aiding the hospitality industry recovery in the United Kingdom by announcing days ago the lowering of the VAT rate from 20 to 5 per cent until January 2021on restaurants, pubs and other leisure outlets and introduction of specially priced meals, rather like our 19 year old re-DISCOVER initiative.

Ultimately there are so many ways Government can wrest taxes and if those businesses remain closed and unable to meet their financial obligations, then clearly, they cannot contribute to national recovery.

While, thankfully, one closed restaurant was recently re-opened, under new ownership, no mention has been made of several others that have already been forced to close their doors ‘indefinitely’, resulting in the loss of dozens of jobs. This closure trend will inevitably continue unless some corrective measures are put into place urgently.

Over the last years ‘we’ have spent a fortune rightly boasting we are the culinary Capital of the Caribbean.  Let us now, not lose this hard earned reputation, simply by failing to respond to the immediate needs of those who have made it possible.

176 responses to “Adrian Loveridge Column – 911 Response”

1. PLT;
    Let me express my heartfelt commendations, FWLIW, to you for the work that you have done and continue to do re. the fleshing out of the big Idea. However, I understand that I am also dealing in semantics re. your insistence that Tourism as we know it is now dead in Barbados even though the Government and many of the people who worked in the tourism sector (both in Barbados and its client countries) are still holding on to a possibility that Tourism can arise like a phoenix from the ashes in an indeterminate time frame.

Do you realise that it makes no sense whatsoever for Government or the Private Sector entities that are heavily involved and invested in various aspects of Tourism to accept the proposition that Tourism is dead and already buried and there is no hope for its resuscitation?

I know very little of the Tourism sector but I would be very surprised if you could find any one in that sector, or in Government, who could accept your implicit proposition that Tourism is already dead and that therefore no effort or money should be put into it

2. William Skinner Avatar

@ PLT
    They certainly don’t want bagels; they don’t want to wake up to country and western music; they don’t want concocted local dishes with spanish names;they don’t want garbage being collected on St Lawrence Gap in the afternoons.
    What about authentic Bajan dinner and then a local production at the Daphney Hackett theatre? What about an early morning radio show for young adult tourists at some hotels; how about some cooking classes on how we season meats and fish. Years ago goat racing was a big draw at the Hilton.
    The only way to save tourism is to market Barbados and not try to market what the tourist already have.
    We cannot pretend it’s business as usual. You are absolutely correct. The tourism industry as we we knew it is now dead. The economy has to be rebuilt and common sense tells me that there is not enough talent in either the DLP or the BLP that can really do it. I hope that they prove me wrong.

3. Translation
    Tourism industry (WS) – the whole shebang – dead
    Tourism (PLT) – inflow of customers – dead
    Tourist sector (lyall) -hotel owners/government – not seeing tourism or the tourist industry as dead

Kind reminder: Lazarus was raised from the dead

4. William Skinner Avatar

@ TheOGazerts
    We need to be realists. From where I stand there seems to be no new thinking. No wonder they stole @ PLT project.
    However, we must give the administration a fair chance because it is governing in very difficult times and the opposition ,both inside and outside , are not offering any new ideas . That is also cause for concern. Just critiquing government policy is not enough. They should have formulated alternative ideas at this time. My conclusion: Jokers in and jokers out.

5. How can you steal an idea that was deposited in the public space by a Barbadian who wanted it to be adopted? The discussion is about the best design of the initiative to achieve bang for buck.

6. Avinash Persaud
    News that Barbados was going to launch a 12 month “remote working” visa spread like wildfire around the world and produced the kind of marketing of Barbados for free that would typically cost millions of dollars. Yet, those who like to say “no” to everything have already tried to fill social media with a bunch of spurious criticisms. I shall try to correct a few here, in the order of most ridiculous to least:
    Some say that before we launched such a policy, we should have organised where they were going to stay. One of the policy’s essential purposes is to help fill the spare rooms in hotels, villas, condominiums, and even the shared accommodation sector. The 1300 students at Ross had the same economic impact as 11,000 tourists because they stay for nine months of the year. The twelve-month remote work visa turbocharges our efforts to safely get the sector back and not only brings in almost ten times more dollars than a seven-day visitor. It allows us to deal with safety more robustly than having ten times the number of 1-week visitors than 12-month visitors.
    Second, some have said that we will get fingered again by the OECD for supporting tax avoidance. I and others have spent much time dealing with the ‘blacklistings’ by the EU on the back of OECD lists – I am deputy chair of a national committee of all the relevant agencies that meet weekly. The OECD, the rich-country club that has become the global arbiter of fair tax regimes, is against people choosing to be tax resident here rather than at home where they would pay more tax. But we are explicitly saying they cannot be part of our tax regime and must continue to pay their taxes at home, and we have a tax information agreement with their tax authorities to ensure they are not claiming to have moved and are paying taxes here. So, this is exactly what the OECD wants. No risk there. Third, some say we are making it too hard to come and others that we are making it so easy that we would get fingered for supporting money laundering. But we will be doing the standard Interpol searches, and the visitors will be continuing to use their overseas bank accounts and credit cards for which they have had to pass international AML standards. We have this covered.
    Living with Covid for a tourism-based economy will not be easy. There are no silver bullets, and it will take a multi-pronged approach. This is just one of several initiatives trying to support a green, inclusive, more diversified recovery, from the new self-employed ‘Business Interruption Benefit’ which the NIS has already paid out to over 1,000 who would not otherwise qualify for unemployment benefit, the $62 million transferred to the 29,000 NIS contributors who do qualify for UB and the millions transferred by the household mitigation unit to non-NIS contributors in need, the refocused NTI skills training program for all, the tourism refurbishment funds, to diversifying into renewable energies and electric vehicles and the $100m capital works program. This idea benefited from our public-private Tourism recovery committee and the Jobs and Investment Council. We are open to other ideas that make good economic sense. Please keep them coming.

7. The initiative of PLT is a good start but we need more. Above all, we need many more expats who build villas and stay with us for more than a year.

As this group is much more important for Barbados than all politicians, advisors, public servants and judges combined (they only consume but do not bring foreign currency into the country), it would be only fair to exempt this group from the land tax and any other taxes.

8. @ peterlawrencethompson July 19, 2020 10:54 AM

PLT,

you’ve obviously been in countries with compliance policies too long. In the Caribbean it works like this: You offer your consulting services for an official 600 USD per hour and pay your client 200 USD per hour as a kick-back.

That is why there are more consultants than ants in Barbados.

9. NorthernObserver Avatar

Oh what a nasty word…kick back…finder’s fee, success fee (the white oak verbage) or rebate sounds so much more sanitary

10. WS
    Boss over the past 2months I have been privy to discussions about 4 hotels–2 budget and 2 high end. I don’t have time to waste with you. I am staying in my lane.

11. @ Enuff July 19, 2020 5:23 PM
    “WS
    Boss over the past 2months I have been privy to discussions about 4 hotels–2 budget and 2 high end.”
    ++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

Are these hotels being ‘discussed’ to accommodate the digital nomads queuing up to invade the oasis called Barbados thanks to PLT and not the MAM?

Is that in Barbados (including the Four Seasons, Hyatt Lighthouse, Blue Horizon and the Harlequin relics sans Silver Sands) or in some metropolis where you are in the chair of some imaginary PR company to act of head hunter for these nomads?

Don’t you have even an iota of intellectual integrity and moral respect about you?

You need to stop with your lies if only for the sake of your ass-licking political soul.

Yes, go ahead and do your usual; cuss while sucking ya blackened teets. (Stupese!)

PS: When are you, the gaseous vent for an as***hole of the current administration, going to say “Sorry” to Caswell Franklyn on BU?

12. Poor fella. Keep clutching.🤣🤣🤣

13. Change to Welcome Stamp form
    A MAJOR ADJUSTMENT has been made to a section of the form for Barbados’ 12-month Welcome Stamp Visa, after heavy criticism from local and international members of the lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender (LGBT) community.
    On the original application forms, which were released online Monday, there was an option for people to apply individually or as a family group, which the applicant, spouse and any dependents fell under.
    A spouse was defined as “the relationship that subsists between a man and woman” who are legally married or are not married, but have cohabited continuously for five years, including the year leading up to the application.
    That definition of spouse, however, was later removed and the word partner was added, without confining the terms.
    That swift amendment has left local activist and founder of Sexuality Health and Empowerment (SHE), RoAnn Mohammed, hopeful that Government would look at other areas, including the Family Law Act, which she said had oppressive terms.
    “Barbados’ family law still defines spouses as a man and a woman. Will these people then be able to live here as an exception to that law if their marriages are recognised as valid?”
    “The most marginalised LGBTQ people who live here with legislation that criminalises their identities and fails to protect them from discrimination, deserve to be heard and met with respect from the state as well. So, I hope the way in which this language was updated quickly and easily, so can the language in policies
    and legislation which cause disenfranchisement to LGBTQ people who have to navigate Barbados every day.”
    Heated Twitter debate
    After the application went live on Monday, a heated debate on Twitter was sparked by American writer and comedian Crissle West, who is also the cohost of a popular podcast and television show The Read.
    West had previously highlighted her interest in taking up Barbados’ work abroad offer to get away from the former “COVID-19 capital” New York, and on Monday, she posted a link to the Barbados Welcome Stamp website. She tweeted the following to her more than 212 000 followers: “If you work remotely, make at least $50k, and aren’t in a gay marriage, Barbados will allow you and your family to flee this place and live there.”
    In response, some Barbadians criticised West by saying she posted click bait, while others said she was correct, and reasoned that homophobia was still prevalent.
    Political analyst Peter Wickham, who married his partner of ten years Giancarlo Cardinale last January in France, said he was appalled, and asked Government if his marriage was not worthy of consideration.
    After the changes were made, however, he commended Prime Minister Mia Amor Mottley, who said in the House of Assembly yesterday that she was against discriminating people based on race, gender or sexual orientation.
    After the stamp was first announced, chairman of the Barbados Tourism Marketing Inc, Sunil Chatrani, said they had received numerous
    queries from people interested in living in Barbados for the year.
    (TG)

Source: Nation Newspaper

14. You steal an idea when you deny the original source of that idea and try to appropriate it as your own. Acknowledging the source (even in academic writing we have references and footnotes to add legitimacy and credibility in journalism we use quotation marks), does not mean not utilising the idea.

15. No discrimination here, says PM
    PRIME MINISTER MIA AMOR MOTTLEY has strongly rejected the notion of discrimination in any form in Barbados.
    Speaking in the House of Assembly yesterday, she railed against discrimination on all grounds, whether “race, age, colour, gender and sexual orientation”.
    Her remarks followed criticism from local and international members of the lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender (LGBT) community over a section of the application form for Barbados’ 12-month Welcome Stamp Visa released online on Monday, giving an option for people to apply individually or as a family group under which the applicant, spouse and any dependents fell.
    In that form, a spouse was defined as “the relationship that subsists between a man and woman” who are legally married, or are not married but have cohabited continuously for five years, including the year leading up to the application.
    Leading off debate on the Remote Employment Bill, 2020, Mottley declared: “I am not going to be part of any communication that suggests that Barbados is trying to be half of who or what it is, or that we are sponsoring discrimination or phobias on any type.
    “I say that people who know what it is to feel the tinge of discrimination, cannot in any other way now be the sponsors of discrimination.”
    Difficult moments
    The Prime Minister added: “There are going to be difficult moments and of one of those difficult moments has presented itself today with this matter. There is an issue as to who Barbados will welcome and who it will not welcome, but I want to say that as long as I am Prime Minister of this nation, we welcome all and that this country that has been forged in the bowels of discrimination cannot now want to discriminate against anybody for this reason.
    “All must breathe in this world and all must breathe in this country . . . . The people who want to put us in a box that
    would allow people to be discriminated against for any reason, that is not who we are.”
    Mottley explained that the bill in question was in response to “an intervening act of a pandemic in the affairs of the global community that has left bare almost all aspects of human and economic endeavour across the global community”.
    The measure also sets out the legal framework for the initiative in which Government is inviting visitors to come and work here for 12 months, while capitalising on the island’s reputation for safety and biosecurity amidst the pandemic.
    The Prime Minister said the Welcome Stamp “formalises” the practice whereby some visitors had already chosen to sit out the pandemic, remaining in an almost COVID-free Barbados while continuing to conduct their business via “telework”. She added it was already garnering a flood of interest. (GC)

16. NorthernObserver Avatar

When @plt began his ideas, apart from health care, my other big concern was attitudes and laws relating to the LGBTQ groups.
    Because Barbadians are largely homophobic, and actual enforcement of laws rare, you get the ‘yeah, yeah, yeah’ responses.
    I have become convinced over time, Barbadians have no idea how odious some of these laws are in 2020. All they do is cite persons publicly known to fall within LGBTQ, and how they exist “well”. Totally oblivious to the many who research Barbados, and discover the negative press it receives from LGBTQ friendly sites. “steupse…we don’t need dem”?
    I know a couple who visited multiple times annually for 15+ years. Then a child “came out” and encouraged them to go elsewhere because of these oppressive laws. The net spreads far and wide.

17. Legalise marijuana for recreational use.

Change the buggery law to make it legal for consenting adults to engage in such activity.

18. Starting to like how Trudeau makes you feel eh Hants

19. Northern,

It would be best if we marketed Barbados as an ideal holiday destination for Taliban, Wahabis and clerical-fascist American evangelicals. These three groups do not differ very much and fit to the native, backward population on the island.

What does PLT think about the problem?

20. NorthernObserver Avatar

Repeal the law. No mention = legal. Fear is a wild motivator. Remove all potential obstacles which serve no purpose.

21. NorthernObserver Avatar

@Trong
    I cannot recall he had an opinion. He is very capable of expressing himself.

22. Because Barbadians are largely homophobic, and actual enforcement of laws rare, you get the ‘yeah, yeah, yeah’ responses.
    I have become convinced over time, Barbadians have no idea how odious some of these laws are in 2020…..(Quote)

The Bajan Condition – ie predictable behaviour?

23. Is there discrimination against gays in Bim? It depends on who you ask but in the Barbados I grew up in there were always gays both male and female who lived their lives largely without fear from their neighbours. They were gays in every echelon of society and the laws against homosexuality were more honored in the breach than the observance after all this is a country that had a contest “Queen of the Bees” back in the days before anyone ever heard of “gay rights”.

This is a country of many faces, whether it is opposition to nude beaches, casino gambling, camouflage clothing the list goes on…….
    BTW has anyone in the cabinet voiced opposition to gay marriage, just as some voiced opposition to legalization of marijuana?

No reason for the song……..

24. NorthernObserver Avatar

I don’t know, is there discrimination? What I do know, is the archaic laws create a perception in certain groups. And perception, has a nasty habit of becoming their reality. And there are enough stories in the public domain to support these perceptions.
    Get rid of the laws, and you get rid of bad press and concerns which can have nothing but a negative impact.

25. @ Sargeant July 22, 2020 3:14 PM

“opposition to nude beaches, casino gambling, camouflage clothing the list goes on…”

Our unemployment rate is 40 percent, but our archaic Taliban still live in the 1950s. It is almost a miracle that in Barbados women are allowed to drive a car themselves.