At June 30, 2019 the murder rate was 30.

At June 2020 the murder rate is 22.

Although simple analysis support a conclusion the 2020 murder rate will not hit the unprecedented number of 49 achieved in 2019, Barbadians must continue to be concerned we have been unable to influence the landscape to positively impact violent crime.

The blogmaster is concerned we have permitted the usual political rhetoric to overwhelm the national conversation. Why is the government not doting this. Why is Dale Marshall not being held accountable. Adriel Brathwaite was right. Obviously there is an important role for policymakers. Obvious;y there is an important role for the Police to efficiently enforce the laws. Obviously there is an important role for the Courts to deliver justice.

The role of parents in this blogmaster’s view has not been given sufficient focus. As a society how are we able to favourably influence delinquent households. What about households where parents do not exist? In other words – how do we strategise to tackle the problem of deviance at the root by adopting a holistic approach to the problem.

We may feel comfortable writing off 2019 as an aberration but realistically we know the causal factors have not changed. We have a problem that needs to be solved.

62 responses to “Stemming the Murder Rate – June 2019 Versus June 2020”

1. “A black and a white Barbadian are told to do community service for illegally dumping a truckload of coconut shells on a beach”

Who imposed the sentence ?

2. William Skinner Avatar

@ Sargeant
    My advice:
    When illegally dumping entrails kindly mek sure you got a proper co- dumper.
    In the meantime if you’re caught black of course , outside of the COVID-19 curfew yuh arse in jail the next morning.
    Things get curiouser and curiouser.
    ( Alice in Wonderland)
    Another crime:
    I would politely inform @ PLT that the next time he come up with an idea to mek sure he copyright um first. Ah notice he ideas all over the press and I ain’t see he getting any credit yet. Maybe he did privately but …………
    We got copyright laws too.
    @ Sarge : One time a white Bajan shot a black Bajan and said he thought the man was a monkey. A prominent black lawyer took that defense to the courts and the white Bajan got off.
    Of course the black lawyer went on to great political heights ………..
    Maybe that might be just folklore and never happened. Maybe , maybe not.

3. @ William

Spot on. I noticed that @PLT is left out of the loop. But I am not surprised. This is very Barbadian. It is one of the reasons why I could not engage with a bunch of dishonest politicians and academics.
    Like most things, we have dealt with this on BU before. It is not unusual to have your ideas coming back at you without the slightest recognition. It is off-putting.

4. @Hants

Good intervention. This latest matter has not reached the court.

5. @Tron

“wildness of the environment”

The environment is NOT WILD, its the supposed intelligent various government economic/planning management throughout this socialistic leaning world.

Wily’s glad he’s OLD and not in the dating game NOW, as he’d find it very confusing as a MALE and FEMALE with established attributes were easily identifiable in his day, today not so easily ascertained.

6. Do not make this dumping case about black and white. Hundreds of dumpers have been caught red handed and gone away after cleaning up.

7. 34% crime drop, says top cop
    Commissioner of Police Tyrone Griffith is reporting that major crime declined by 34 per cent over the past six months compared with the same period last year.
    Though not giving a breakdown in a press release Friday, he lauded his officers for their efforts but urged them not to become complacent even as they faced new challenges with the COVID-19 pandemic.
    “To each and every police officer across all uniform and plain-clothes sections of the force, I say thanks for a job well done so far. Special mention must

be made of those members of the police band who set aside their instruments to join hands with their colleagues in the regular force during this rather challenging period. That being said, it would be remiss of me if I did not mention that corps of civilian members of staff, who must be commended for their supporting roles as well,” Griffith said.
    The commissioner told his officers not to lose sight of the challenges presented as they continued their work with strategic partners to create an environment where all felt safe.
    “We are indeed grateful to those non-governmental

organisations which demonstrated their care and concern for us by contributing significantly towards the provision of personal protective equipment and sanitising materials,” he said.
    He commended Barbadians for adhering to the curfews that were in place, wearing their masks and adhering to social distancing protocols.
    “Let us all hold each other’s hands, if only virtually at this time, and work together as we strive to become better individuals, a more efficient police force and ultimately to ensure a greater Barbados.”
    (RA/PR)
    Source: Nation Newspaper

8. In the dark!
    Abrahams wants answers on soldier’s death
    THE DEATH of soldier Pablo Kinch is getting the attention of Minister of Home Affairs Wilfred Abrahams.
    Yesterday, two days after Kinch was buried following his shooting in April, Abrahams said he was not impressed with the state of the investigation into the death of the lance corporal.
    Police launched an investigation into the death of 26-year-old Kinch while he was on the compound of the District “A” Police Station on April 6 with three colleagues from the Barbados Defence Force after returning from a joint patrol.
    He was buried on Friday.
    During the annual general meeting of the Barbados Labour Party’s Christ Church East branch yesterday, Abrahams said he was going to do everything in his power to expedite the investigation and bring closure to Kinch’s family.
    “Pablo lost his life in circumstances yet to be explained. I don’t want to prejudice the investigation but at some point an investigation needs to come to an end and a family needs to have answers.
    “This investigation needs to close and the family needs to know what happened. Justice has to mean justice; there must be no one beyond reproach,” he said.
    Abrahams said he attended the former top recruit’s funeral and was impressed by the tributes, marvelling at the depths of the young man’s heart. He said it had been months since Kinch was killed and yet no one was any closer to an answer.
    “There are a lot more questions than answers and that must not be the way things are done in Barbados. Months later and we do not know what happened. That cannot be the standard we hold ourselves to. I am going to do what I can to bring

closure to Pablo’s family.
    “I do not know what evidence the police has. I cannot tell them if charges should be brought against anybody. I don’t know; I was not there. But what I can say is, this needs to be brought to a close and the family needs to get a report of what transpired. Until that happens, what happened to Pablo is an open wound which will not close,” he said.
    On the day Kinch died, the soldiers were awaiting transportation back to their base when he was shot in the right sternum, dying despite efforts to resuscitate him.
    Assistant Superintendent of Police David Wiltshire, of the Criminal Investigations Division, was assigned to investigate the matter.
    Commissioner of Police Tyrone Griffith was quoted in the July 21 edition of the DAILY NATION as saying that the investigation was at “an extremely delicate stage” and lawmen were still actively investigating the death.(CA)

9. @David
    Wuh Abrahams isn’t just an ordinary backbencher mekking noise he is a Minister. If I wuz at that meeting I would ask him how come he can’t pick up de phone and ask his friend the AG what is going on with this investigation. Insteadh e at a Branch meeting pretending that he looking fuh answers.
    One thing I notice is dat whenever there is an investigation involving possible wrong doing by de Police de facts take a lot of time to come out, in that they are like their brothers all ovuh de world.

10. @Sargeant

It is optics. A 101 tactic by a politician to feed off public concern and at the same time attempt to choke the newsfeed post Denis Kellman announcement.

11. Murder accused sent up till November
    THE MAN ACCUSED of murdering 41-year-old optometrist Tanya Greenidge has been remanded to HMP Dodds until November 2.
    Corey Orlando Gill, 36, of No. 36 Croton Drive, Husbands, St James, appeared in the District “C” Magistrates’ Court, St Matthias, Christ Church, before Magistrate Elwood Watts yesterday. He was not required to plead to the capital charge, that on August 28 he murdered Greenidge, the mother of a six-year-old.
    The accused businessman consented to the extended remand rather than the usual 28 days before another court appearance is required.
    Gill was represented by attorney Martie Garnes.
    Greenidge, daughter of Barbados’ Consul General in Miami, Neval Greenidge, and pastor Wendy Greenidge of the Holy Ghost Power Anointed Church in St George, was found dead at her Green Point, St Philip home.
    Gill was also found unresponsive at the residence after he allegedly ingested a substance. ( RA)

Leave a Reply to HantsCancel reply