Submitted by a Concerned Party (updated 1/07/2020 7:33PM)

In the High Court of Judicature CV#333 of 2019 – When losing is winning big

The law.
A dear elderly friend mentioned to me some difficulties he was experiencing at the hands of his children together with their mother, his ex-wife, I realised it was elder abuse immediately but especially flagrant abuses of his civil liberties.
He wanted to get his attorney to conduct or change some business but was being prevented from so doing.  Since I was well known to the household I told him I will inquire for him but would need his permission. I however made an appointment with my attorney and called him saying I’ll pick him up the next day to take him to the attorney.  When I arrived the next day his daughter was there with him and asked what the mission was about. I ignored the question. This was 2017.
I visited the Welfare/Probation Department and complained. They said he has to make the complaint himself. I went to the Police but they said the same thing. Called the US Embassy they said the same thing. They further said that they have to respect the laws in the host country and there were none that empowered them to intervene.
Bound and in disbelief I consulted an attorney who said there were no elder abuse laws in Barbados but I could bring the case under Neglect or  such but advised that unless they get instructions directly or a written authorization they couldn’t take the case.  No attorney would take the case or bring a case unless the elderly give direct instructions.
I continued to monitor the situation. But subsequent visits the daughter was always very in the midst of us so that no personal or private conversation could be conducted. It is unacceptable that there is not one authority in Barbados that can move in and protect the elderly that are being abused either physically or financially or civilly or sexually or psychologically except the elder makes that complaint themselves.
So what was very peculiar in this instance was the hostage effect. The elder was barred from using the telephone he pays for or visiting or being visited by anyone outside those who bought the talk that he is senile or suffers (incurable) from Alzheimer’s. Everyone is warned that he doesn’t know what he is saying so they let sleeping dogs lie.
There is apathy when dealing with the elderly too. Its as though they have passed their “use by date”. While visiting the Probation Department I collected literature on Elder Abuse under the UN Human Rights Convention. I decided that I would bite the bullet and get some action on this elderly’s behalf using this Law.
I filed a case in the High court in March of 2019 with an emergency application seeking among other orders, primarily a Protection Order and Partial-Custodianship.  I was given April 19th (Good Friday) then that was postponed to July 25 which was postponed again and then to year end, 2019. After some outside intervention I finally got a Judge and date: February 27 2020.
1. On that first appearance January 27, 2020
The Judge said she studied the file and is aufait with the case contents and orders sought. She asked if anyone helped me with the Application and I said no but I did speak with an attorney.  She knew it was flawed. But before sharing this with me and giving me the leave to correct it she continued with it as is. She told me that I will get some of the orders but not all. She adjourned for two weeks  to invite the Probation department to guide her, saying that this matter was new to the courts.  I was relieved that I could then leave this burden to the professionals.
2 Second Appearance: February 13, 2020
On that date I appeared and there was no Officer from the Probation Department (PD). Instead the judge told me that she had decided to deal with the matter under the Mental Health Act (MHA) because the PD doesn’t have power under their Act to deal with such aspects of this matter but only economic assistance. She did not consider any other act. She instructed me to serve all the Defendants. I resisted because I requested an Ex Parte Application for a Protection Order on this action and that wasn’t given. She said that is for Magistrates’ courts. She said serve the defendants.  I tried to explain the dangers in these cases (and trafficking) of alerting the perpetrators/defendants of what is happening while the victim/elderly remained in the dwelling and in a vulnerable state. She said,“that’s a chance we will have to take”.  Distressed and overwhelmed I began canvassing the various agencies that are or should be dealing with elderly abuse or care of the elderly or human rights to try to avoid serving and alerting the defendants of the pending actions while the victim remained in the same space.  No one could do anything but the Ministry of People Empowerment advised that there were many legislations that could have been used that authorize the ance of a Protection Order.  They couldn’t do anything since the matter was already occupying the courts’ attention. At a dead-end and with the deadline for minimum service time nearing I went against my better judgment and decided to go ‘like a lamb for the slaughter.  I served the documents.  No time was I told that the case before the court was procedurally wrong.
3 Appearance February 25, 2020

The Defendants appeared with an Attorney who said that I had no grounds for bringing a case on behalf of the elderly since I did not seek and obtain the courts’ permission. He moved to strike out my case in place for an application for Custodianship of the elderly by the very Defendants who the elder asked to be protected from the Mental Health Act. claiming I did not have the court’s permission. ​I asked for immunity for any possible damages for bringing the case​ and the Judge seemed shocked at the request. The Attorney ventured that I was asking for immunity only because I didn’t want to pay cost. I said I wasn’t bothered about cost. That went over his head. I informed that there was another child from another relationship. The Judge cautioned that the defendants must be transparent and that all relevant parties must be included in the application. The attorney indicated that the Act allows the patient to say who he wants to be involved in his care. To my mind that is under normal circumstances when the elder is in agreement to and part of that decision but not part of the Claim. The Judge then said if by the adjourned date she does not have the MHA application before her “the issue will have to be kept alive” . that is the case on file. The same case with all the ‘not procedurally sound’ issues.

With this conditionality and know it would take some time to get in touch with the other child, ​and knowing that I did not use the MHA but was guided by the Human Rights Act/Principles for Older Persons resolution 46/91 of December 1991 of which Barbados is a signatory I decided to prepare and file my Submissions.

The 2nd Claimant did not appear because although the Court served Take Notices on all parties, he did not receive his service. The defendants purposely and maliciously withheld all this information from him. The matter was adjourned for March 20. ​The Attorney indicated to me after the hearing that he has never met the 2nd Claimant.

The case was further postponed to March 26 then along came Coronavirus.

4 Appearance Friday 26, June
The Judge indicated that she did have the application under the Mental Health Act in her hands and therefore she will dismiss the original case. I asked why and indicated that I filed submissions for my case which stated the law under which a party could bring a case on behalf of another and gives immunity. The Attorney interjected that I went ahead and filed submissions although I was advised that the application for the MHA would be soon coming. He further stated that I did not have the court’s permission to act as the elder’s friend.  I was shocked.  Only then did the judge say to me that my matter is not procedurally sound. He also stated that the Judge should not even have been entertaining me since I was not a legal party. Four sessions. I asked for leave to get permission.

I asked for leave to get permission but the Judge indicated that she had the MHA application in her hands (as if to say the one overrides the other).​ Not being an Attorney they distracted me. The Judge never reviewed my Submissions, it seems, as she clearly had decided to go with only what she knew and what the defendants’

Attorney proposed: the MHA regardless of my response to the defendants that I did have grounds to bring a case under the Human Rights Act as outlined in the submissions before her (filed before the defendants’ MHA) and ​which​ ​is interpreted to state that I did not need the court’s permission in this instance. The Elder was a part of the Claim.

My application was faulty, yes, covering what could be deemed many cases/issues. The remedy therefore could have been to strike out that part of the case which was in conflict with the Law and retain and ventilate those which were covered by the law as per my submissions.

The Deputy Permanent Secretary of the Ministry of People Empowerment and Elder Affairs did say that there were several legislations that could have been used to issue a Protection Order. This is mind-boggling. I bowed out. I however asked for the elder to be allowed his independent attorney as in the first instance it was a violation of his civil liberties;that he was held hostage in his own home and secondly denied access to his attorney and appropriate medical care and attention.

The big irony is that the Attorney asked for cost which I instructed that the 2nd Claimant will have to pay since it was his case I was joined with. ​He has to pay the cost for attempting to bring a case against the defendants who used his money to mount the defence against his case. T​ he very defendants who are again now using his money to bring a MHA application without his knowledge or consent to suggest/ inquire into his capacity to manage his own affairs and for them to do so if he is found to be incompetent.

Stephen Lashley missed it all along…that the elder was also listed as Claimant. LMAO

The Law is an Ass. Or the people that work it.

Nothing in my Statement of Case suggests that I intended to be the party applying for Custodianship of the elder.

MISCARRIAGE  OF JUSTICE

223 responses to “The Law and Protecting the Elderly – Managing by Default”

1. NorthernObserver Avatar

@HA
    you realize there is some interesting family history there? The wife was married to a brother/cousin (not sure which) first. I ‘believe’ it is the daughter who has more business acumen. The son of which you speak, I ‘believe’ is involved in religious matters.

@SS
    the simple answer is the non-payments are factored into the rates. The easier it is to obtain credit, the higher the base rates. Many retailers today, make more from their store/chain cards, than from net sales margins. Try buying a used car for cash? Most dealers are not interested, they want the financing package, that is where the profit lies. My graduate thesis of the early 80’s was titled “DEBT: Incarceration Without Walls”. I had the right end game, but the path to get there was very wrong.

2. Cuhdear Bajan Avatar

@Hal AustinJuly 4, 2020 5:58 PM ” The Bims, as I have said, are generally stout fellows. As a rule they are larger and fairer than other West Indian Creoles, less delicate in their limbs, and more clumsy in their gait. The male graces are not much studied in Barbados. But it is not only by their form or voice that you may know them—not only by the voice, but by the words. No people ever praised themselves so constantly; no set of men were ever so assured that they and their occupations are the main pegs on which the world hangs. Their general law to men would be this: “Thou shalt make sugar in the sweat of thy brow, and make it as it is made in Barbados.” Any deviation from that law would be a deviation from the highest duty of man.”

So this is an opinion of a 19th century English writer, the father of a failed Australian sheep farmer. who was writing about white English descended men living in Barbados. He also wrote similarly about white English descended Australians.

Tell me again, what has this got to do with 21st century black Bajan women?

3. There are offices of Public Guardian and Trustees to assist the elderly in managing their finances and assets.
    There is an Office of Public Trustee here but they do not handle matters concerning live estates. So what happens when you are the last remaining member of your family and there are no children?
    Think about it.
    All these offices and departments and yet none can really offer any protection to the elderly. They are just cash cows. High paid practitioners achieving nothing.
    The Judge said that the NAB Act only allows them to assist in situations of economic need; food, bills payment and such things.

4. Piece the Prophet Avatar
    Piece the Prophet

@ CherFleur,

De ole man has long suggested that we, the People of Barbados, can MAKE THEM change their ways.

I know what you are saying about this misery is true!

I know that all of these organisations collude to make this worse.

De ole man knows that there are many cases dat need “interventions” but “we are weak, because we do not know how to fight these battles.

I Piece the prophet suggested an Online Citizen advocacy registry.

It would provide a universal template for information to be collected on user issues and concerns of bajans.

That was the first step to facilitate the collection of active participant data.

And move away from the emotive experiences and usual Barbados Underground narrative CherFleur.

All user data would be secure and would collate similar issues in a categorized database.

BU users would have a national online facility that would collect information on your matters.

And then one could choose how to publish them or agitate for change about them.

If another person encountered a problem with a specific officer or lawyer or Minister, the platform would be able to flag that pattern and other problems.

De ole man is however an anonymous blogger heheheheh who nobody know who I am heheheheh

So to set up de platform and account was difficult cause you ent want people to trace it back to you CherFleur.

And you got to set up a server where received data would not compromise your servers.

But the rational is that ONCE YOU GET DEM NAMES, you can start you campaign against anybody Cherfleur.

As opposed to posting an article here on Barbados Underground and only get one person see it.

De so called Honourable Blogmaster took de first pass at de idea AND KILLED IT!

Jes as a matter of interest what would you pay as a subscription fee just to have a place where you could post your information anonymously?

And show the names and addresses and faces for all these criminals?

But you would be protected?

De Prophet wanted to know

5. “No people (Barbadians), observed [Anthony] Trollope, ever praised themselves so constantly; no set of men were ever so assured that they and their occupations are the main pegs on which the world hangs.”
    ++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

Nice try. You should not ‘cherry pick’ details or leave out pertinent information to prove a point.

Perhaps you may want to enlighten the forum as to whom Anthony Trollope was referring?

Was it the slaves who lived a life of servitude, were denied education, prevented from thinking independently and taught to be subservient to their masters……… or the white plantation owners?

“But if the black people differ from their brethren of the other islands, so certainly do the WHITE PEOPLE. One soon learns to know a—BIM. That is the NAME in which THEY THEMSELVES delight, and therefore, though there is a sound of slang about it, I give it here. One certainly soon learns to know a BIM.”

“The Bims, as I have said, are generally stout fellows. As a rule they are larger and fairer than other West Indian Creoles, less delicate in their limbs, and more clumsy in their gait. The male graces are not much studied in Barbados. But it is not only by their form or voice that you may know them—not only by the voice, but by the words. No people ever praised themselves so constantly; no set of men were ever so assured that they and their occupations are the main pegs on which the world hangs. Their general law to men would be this: “Thou shalt make sugar in the sweat of thy brow, and make it as it is made in Barbados.” Any deviation from that law would be a deviation from the highest duty of man.”

6. Cuhdear Bajan Avatar

@cherfleurJuly 5, 2020 1:20 AM “So what happens when you are the last remaining member of your family and there are no children? Think about it.”

In Barbados we cherish our extended families. So when there are no children, there are nieces and nephews, great nieces and great nephews.

Some of us were raised by our childless aunties and their husbands. Some of us were raised by our childless uncles and their wives.

We will never leave them nor forsake our childless elders, because our lived experience is that they did not leave us nor forsake us.

I remember my father’s words, and I remember his ACTIONS. When he was 14 his auntie whose children had grown [they subsequently all migrated] sent him to learn a skilled trade. He was forever grateful. He loved her and cared for her until the end. She lived next door to his mother in our village. She lived halfway between our school and our home. We loved her. She also made the best “pot pork” I’ve ever tasted, lol! A wonderful woman. We had little money but we did not let her suffer. She died peacefully in her own bed when she was in her 90’s.

Love, true love, genuine love, is still the greatest force for good in this world.

Thank God, that love is not yet dead.

Here endeth today’s sermon.

7. Cuhdear Bajan Avatar

@NorthernObserverJuly 4, 2020 8:23 PM “@SS. the simple answer is the non-payments are factored into the rates. The easier it is to obtain credit, the higher the base rates. Many retailers today, make more from their store/chain cards, than from net sales margins. Try buying a used car for cash? Most dealers are not interested, they want the financing package, that is where the profit lies.”

Thanks Northern. Understood.

I’ve bought 2 used cars in my life. The first time I was 20, and and foolish, just wanted to be a “hot” young gal and get get behind the wheel, so I borrowed money for that ego trip The second time I bough a 5 year old vehicle from a trusted much better off beach land owning cousin for cash. Kept it for 12 years. My first and last car loan ended in 1977. I am car less or perhaps I should say car free now. Still enjoying life.

8. Artax,

I really don’t know what it is that they are trying to prove. Barbadians were proud of their progress. Most people in most countries are proud of their progress. When we should have pivoted after such progress we stayed on the same path. We ain’t so proud nuh mo’.

BUT…

It is not just Barbados that is failing and in need of a pivot. ALMOST THE WHOLE DAMN WORLD IS IN A MESS!

Watch the damned news!

9. @Artax July 5, 2020 8:15 AM
    “Perhaps you may want to enlighten the forum as to whom Anthony Trollope was referring?
    Was it the slaves who lived a life of servitude, were denied education, prevented from thinking independently and taught to be subservient to their masters……… or the white plantation owners?”
    ++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

The man was referring to Bajans in general.

And if our own Sir John is anyone to go by, that would have included a large majority of the ‘freed’ black population who supported the erection of the statute of the racist Nelson.

Why do you think (we) blackened Bajans take the greatest pride of all the ‘mock-white- people’ in ‘wearing’ their slave-master’s badge of ownership and disgrace with their English, Scottish, Welsh and Irish badges of cultural denuding?

How come the East Indian indentured labourers in the main still have their own ancestral names?

We are aware that you have travelled across the English-speaking Caribbean and have observed that attitude and view of Bajans as being similar to what Trollope and his ilk Trollope thought of Bajans.

Even in the UK Bajans are sometimes the butt of jokes involving that same ‘Bajan Condition’ because of which both Hal Austin and Green(e) have been, most likely, ‘risible’ recipients.

BTW, you haven’t told us if the other ‘islanders’ like to boast about God being one of their kind the same way (black) Bajans like boast of their own idol.

10. Do you really think Bajans actually believed that God is a Bajan. I think what they really meant was that Barbados was very lucky to be a little bit out of the normal hurricane path. That is changing too.

I always figured it was just a saying. NEVER met anyone who took it seriously.

All nationals of all countries are the butt of jokes. Americans, French, Germans, Irish and Englishmen all can be made fun of in various ways. I could write you a script for all them. All have their negative behaviours because all are human. If they had come to me talking shite I would have traded them blow for bloody blow. Just as my mother did.

11. The man was referring to Bajans in general.

And if our own Sir John is anyone to go by, that would have included a large majority of the ‘freed’ black population who supported the erection of the statute of the racist Nelson.

Why do you think (we) blackened Bajans take the greatest pride of all the ‘mock-white- people’ in ‘wearing’ their slave-master’s badge of ownership and disgrace with their English, Scottish, Welsh and Irish badges of cultural denuding?

xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

@ Miller

KEEP PREACHING BROTHER.

YOU ARE ONE OF THE FEW WHO GETS IT.

THERE IS A SERIOUS NEED TO UNLOCK THE MENTAL SLAVERY FOR MANY BAJANS WHO LOOK DOWN AND THINK THAT THEY ARE BETTER AND SUPERIOR TO OTHER ISLANDERS A TRAIT OF THE WHITE MAN SYNDROME OF DIVIDE AND RULE DRILLED INTO DOCILE BARBADIANS.

HENCE THE NEED FOR THE STUPID SLOGAN “PUNCHING ABOVE OUR WEIGHT” WHILST WALLOWING IN BORROWED DEBT FROM US AND OTHERS.

SOME DON’T LIKE THE TRUTH OF LOOKING INWARDLY AND WOULD RATHER HURL INSULTS AND DEFLECT BY POINTING IT IS THE SAME ELSEWHERE OUTSIDE OF THE LITTLE ISLAND OF BIM.

12. @ Baje

Some time ago I made the factually correct statement that of the English-speaking Caribbean islands, Jamaicans were the most creative.
    I could not think of anything more uncontroversial in my life. But one Bajan-Canadian came out and claimed that I am always looking for ways to disrespect Barbados.
    To be fair, I do not think he meant what he actually said. But, as usual, he did not explain. But I will rest my case on popular music (blue beat, reggay, reggae, ska, rock steady, Lovers’ Rock, etc), fine arts, literature, dance, etc. In academia they are just as brilliant.
    In sport it is even more outstanding; if you do, as I do, and include the children of Jamaican parents who represent the US, Canada and the UK, in various sports, Jamaica is the outstanding Caribbean English-speaking nation.
    By the way, Jamaica has recently got a licence to launch a digital bank in the UK. For an island of three million people, it really punches above its weight. I salute them.

13. Cuhdear Bajan Avatar

@MillerJuly 5, 2020 11:32 AM “The man was referring to Bajans in general.”

Not true.

Trollope was referring to WHITE ENGLISH descended MEN who lived in Barbados the 19th century. Trollope said the same about white English descended men who lived in Australia. In any event the old rascals have all been dead, dead, dead for more than a hundred years.

I ask again what has that got to do with 21st century black Bajan women?

14. Cuhdear Bajan Avatar

@Hal AustinJuly 5, 2020 2:28 PM “Some time ago I made the factually correct statement that of the English-speaking Caribbean islands, Jamaicans were the most creative. I could not think of anything more uncontroversial in my life. But one Bajan-Canadian came out and claimed that I am always looking for ways to disrespect Barbados. To be fair, I do not think he meant what he actually said. But, as usual, he did not explain. But I will rest my case on popular music (blue beat, reggay, reggae, ska, rock steady, Lovers’ Rock, etc), fine arts, literature, dance, etc. In academia they are just as brilliant. In sport it is even more outstanding; if you do, as I do, and include the children of Jamaican parents who represent the US, Canada and the UK, in various sports, Jamaica is the outstanding Caribbean English-speaking nation. By the way, Jamaica has recently got a licence to launch a digital bank in the UK. For an island of three million people, it really punches above its weight. I salute them.”

All well and good. But another truth is that I have never seen elementary aged Bajan children begging for money to buy schools supplies at Adams airport.

I’ve seen at at Manley airport. Girl children too. Shocking and enormously belly-hurting distressing.

Punching above our weight means that we do not let our children beg from strangers.

If there is any begging to be done, we the adults will do it.

15. ll well and good. But another truth is that I have never seen elementary aged Bajan children begging for money to buy schools supplies at Adams airport.

I’ve seen at at Manley airport. Girl children too. Shocking and enormously belly-hurting distressing.

Punching above our weight means that we do not let our children beg from strangers.

If there is any begging to be done, we the adults will do it.

xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

@Cuhdear aka @sillyidiot

WHILE I MAY AGREE WITH YOU THAT I HAVE SEEN JAMAICAN CHILDREN OUTSIDE AN INTERNATIONAL BRAND NAME FAST FOOD IN KINGSTON BEGGING OUTSIDE IN KINGSTON DOWNTOWN.

ONLY IN KINGSTON I OBSERVED THIS AS NO WHERE ELSE DID I OBSERVE THIS IN MONTEGO BAY, MANCHESTER AND OTHER AREAS.

HOWEVER AS YOU PEDDLE ONE OF YOUR MANY LIES ON BU MANY CHILDREN BOTH YOUNG BOYS AND GIRLS IN BARBADOS ARE TAKING MONEY FROM BIG MEN AND TOURISTS FOR SEXUAL FAVOURS AND TO HELP SUPPORT THEIR POOR HOUSEHOLDS.

IN FACT I HAVE SEEN IN BRIDGETOWN YOUNG CHILDREN WHO HAVE ASKED ME A STRANGER FOR MONEY TO BUY THEM FOOD.

HOWEVER IT IS NOT AS BLATANTLY OBVIOUS AS I HAVE SEEN IN KINGSTON JAMAICA.

@ Hal IS RIGHT WHEN HE HAS DESCRIBED JAMAICANS AS A WHOLE WHO HAS FAR OUTSTRIPPED BAJANS EXCEPT IN THE AREA OF INTERNATIONAL CRICKET.

16. @ Donna

Miller was probably trying to be provocative as usual.

I find it extremely difficult to believe anyone in their ‘right mind’ would think Barbadians actually believe ‘God is a Bajan’ or that it’s the general opinion of the population……. and then use it as an example to define the ‘Bajan Condition.’

But, as you may realize, Miller has this uncanny ability to complicate simple issues.

However, I’ve never heard that sentiment being expressed in circumstances other than when Barbados has been ‘miraculously’ spared from being ravished by hurricanes, tropical storms or depressions….. which meteorologists predicted to directly target the island.

We have somehow drifted from the substantive topic of elder abuse…… to opposing or defending the ‘Bajan Condition’ and discussing the exploits of Jamaicans.

17. @ Cuhdear Bajan July 5, 2020 3:04 PM
    “@MillerJuly 5, 2020 11:32 AM “The man was referring to Bajans in general.”
    Not true.
    Trollope was referring to WHITE ENGLISH descended MEN who lived in Barbados the 19th century.”
    +++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

And who determined the norms and attitudes of the Bajan society in those times?

Do you think it was the black politicians, priests and educators or even the ‘banjo’ singers?

Those ‘standards’ of social behaviour were copied and followed in the most ape-like fashion by the black population.

Just take a look at any old photographs of Victorian Barbados and you will see how the blacks sought to look just like their white bosses by wearing discarded ‘holey woollen’ suits and walking barefooted in Bridgetown.

Wasn’t Sir Redvers Don Donald Dyall (aka ‘Hog-food’) the archetypical Mickey mouse black English gentleman of his time?

Didn’t the blacks take over lock, stock and barrel the ‘white-portrayed’ trappings of those institutions once dominated by the white people like the Anglican Church, schools, the Judiciary and Police Force?

Didn’t those social phenomena give rise to that ole Bajan saying: ‘whatever me do, me monkey do too’?

Many of those rituals of that same Victorian period can still be found in those societal shaping bodies in Barbados and which the Mother Country has long rejected and discarded as irrelevant to a modern society.

There is nothing right or wrong with the Bajan society but the people with their conservatively English imitation must be prepared to accept both criticism and change for its own survival and adaptation to the future and not always be the butt of the ‘don’t-bend-down’ and other ‘stuffy’ old jokes in the region.

18. Artax,

As I said, that is the only time I have heard it used as well.

Some of these people seem to get their jollys making out that Bajans are the worst people in the world and Barbados is a hell hole.

And I am wondering how come I wake up and go to bed smiling most days.

Of course, their answer would be that I am too stupid to know that I should be unhappy.

The real answer is that I am realistic enough to know that all countries have problems and all people are imperfect. And I accept that there is a constant battle that must be fought between good and evil.

Let them stay where they are with the wonderful people and fret themselves! It is becoming quite ridiculous. They would make an interesting study.

The Overseas Bajan Condition.

19. @Donna

If you read the comments these people post on other social media platforms daily you understand it is about fulfilling agendas, at all cost.

20. Oh shirt! Jamaica is also topping the Caribbean in violence much of it politically instigated. If we are talking about drug lords, politicians and corruption Jamaica led the way for Barbados to follow.

With all of their brilliance and greater resources they were still in the doldrums for decades. If they are coming out of it I am happy for them.

This is our time to dig ourselves out of the hole.

The pendulum swings back and
    forth.

Once it was Britannia who ruled the waves.

I see again that instinctive disparaging of all things Bajan.

The Overseas Bajan Condition at work.

21. David,

Barbados bashing on BU is already more that I can take. I don’t do other social media.

I mean, these people are insufferable!

22. @Donna

If you read the comments these people post on other social media platforms daily you understand it is about fulfilling agendas, at all cost.

xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

THIS IS A VERY DISHONEST COMMENT IF MAKING ANY REFERENCE TO ME.

CAN’T SPEAK FOR OTHERS.

I POST SOLELY ON BU.

SOME OF YOU CAN’T FACE THE TRUTH.