The following was submitted to traditional media and Barbados Underground by Khaleel – David, Blogmaster

Like most Barbadians, I have not been tempted to engage with the debacle surrounding the statue of Lord Nelson. Many of us realize that, instead, now is the time to look toward meaningful change for people and address burning problems in this country. 

The inequitable distribution of economic power and social privilege is chief among theseWe must together discuss how we might solve that. How can government accelerate its manifesto commitment for a Sovereign Wealth Fund,  to assist in creating generational wealth for Barbadians? How can this Government can expand and institutionalise its existing policy of reserving a certain portion of work done on behalf of government to small enterprises, such as small contractors, artisans and joiners, to ensure economic opportunity for there persons. How can the credit union movement finally reach its goal of a credit union bank to be able to more fulsomely secure the financial interests of its members, most of whom are “ordinary Bajans”? How can we get another push in housing and land to ensure that the most disadvantaged have the opportunity to own their homes? How can we go about reforming education, beyond engineering a new transition from primary to secondary? How can we build upon recently started programmes in robotics as well as increase focus in technical and vocational areas to maximize the economic and indeed personal potential of our nation’s students? How does Barbados lead the charge regionally as we boldly step into the knowledge-based economy? How can we develop competitive advantage in this respect? Can we combine a renewed push in agriculture through the incentivisation of farming for young people with a drive towards leading the region in AgriTech, and do so in a way which brings on board the marginalized, through the creation of educational opportunity? How do we reconfigure our tourism product to be more nimble in these perilous times while also ensuring that the industry remains a source of wealth creation for “ordinary individuals”? How do we ensure we achieve these and more to create economic opportunity as well as social aggrandizement, and in so doing hopefully lessen the allure of organized criminal activity? How do we go about fixing families and communities to solve the same? How do we set about a comprehensive programme for the reintegration of ex-convicts into society, not only to reduce recidivism but also to ensure we don’t waste the potential of those individuals? How do we ensure that each and every one of us walk the talk of fundamental change in our own private lives, rather than simply clamoring for others or for institutions to change? Most pressingly, how do we move forward in the uncertain post-COVID environment?

These are all questions in desperate need of discussion. All of that is not only about economic survival. It is about the continued viability of the “Idea of Barbados” as posited by Ralph Gonsalves. In concluding his treatise on the subject he wisely counselled, “we must have faith that the idea of Barbados will endure, but faith is made complete or perfect with deeds.” We should use our collective energies to complete that faith and to perfect the Idea of Barbados. Let us not squander this moment by paralyzing the country in needless division. To mix the speeches of two American presidents, now is the time for choosing, for our rendezvous with destiny awaits.

136 responses to “A Time for Choosing”

1. William Skinner Avatar

@ PLT
    I think that Mr. Kothdiwala needs no baby sitting. I listened to him on Brasstacks and he is no different from many of us , who in our youth found ourselves perhaps idolizing a Barrow or Grantley Adams. What I find strange is that we often ask the youth to be engaged but we seem to want them to do so on our terms. Once he is confident enough to come in the kitchen, I figure he is good enough to take and give heat.
    Quite frankly I don’t agree with about 90 % of what he says because he is obviously seeing things from his party’s position and may I add that if he were a Dee my position would be the same.
    I was also mildly amused when I read a comment or two that he must pay homage to his elders on BU. I also read where he was being given some advice on how to grow. The irony of it is that so far , he has demonstrated a lot more maturity than some of the elders on this blog who come here to defend the BLP or DLP at all costs. He has certainly exposed their limitations and that is why they are trying to godfather him , in order to make themselves appear to be architects.
    So, I look forward to engaging him like all others that I engage on BU.
    At least the party loyalists from both sides can now boast that at last George Street and Roebuck Street have at least one voice on BU that can put a party position intelligently.

2. An ardent supporter of the Gov’t with a 30-0 majority in parliament poses a series of questions on BU, notorious by their absence is any mention of FOI and Integrity legislation which the leader of the party he supports pledged to enact. Also, he doesn’t want to discuss the current hot button “divisive” issue of Nelson’ removal, he only wants to debate what he believes is important to him although the many issues he references have been raised in one form or another over the years on BU. Perhaps he can advance these issues in his private tête-à-tête with the PM and her advisors.

As to the current inequity on wealth distribution the Gov’t is making headway on that issue with its Oprahesque give away of Ministries (who wants a Ministry?) and familial employment.

Many hands make light work.

The above is a work of fiction any references to individuals living or dead, school ties, addresses, connections and events are purely coincidental and products of the writer’s imagination.

3. @Tron
    I think replacing Nelson with Mia might be a wedge issue. For a start Waru, Pacha et al wouldn’t be happy and nor would the Dees. In the interest of national unity, I suggest we go with Nanny Grigg and the unknown Bajan woman. We don’t have a single public monument honouring the Bajan woman who has been pivotal in our people’s progress. Mao Tse Dung famously declared that women hold up half of the sky. I suspect that with the Bajan woman, it’s more like three quarters. Let’s recognise and honour that contribution.

4. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

“Over the past 187 years the legal domination has been substantially eliminated bit by bit, but the economic domination and social domination survive in very large part. This is why the “inequitable distribution of economic power and social privilege” are so difficult to dislodge, they are rooted in deeply entrenched White supremacist ideology that is 400 years deep.”

bit by bit is a private joke, if you have access to certain circles you can ask the likes of Herbert..

.. the only people RESPONSIBLE for the holding up of wealth distribution in Barbados, wealth that BELONGS to the majority population…are the BLACK LEADERS IN THE PARLIAMENT….

…..they were hired to distribute the wealthy fairly and equitably and both governments in the last 50 YEARS…have ABSOLUTELY REFUSED, and continue to act as though the minorities own the country, own the government and are the only ones entitled to the people’s wealth, so they, the jokers in the parliament continue to be the PROBLEM, the ROOT CAUSE and not the solution on why it has never happened and with that ugly mindset never will under this government….and it has been made even more visible and compounded since the 2018 election, the continuation of the same wicked practices against the majority, when this government can trigger a 40 million dollar “loan” of the people’s catastrophy fund to the same exploitative parasites..just like the ripping off of the pension fund and treasury, which is NEVER REPAID..

.but, check the link below…

we can expound all day on their reasons why, but it can all be summed up in one word……..CORRUPTION.

no amount of verbal gymnastics can change that reality.

Tron…why not, and the inscription should read, here stands a reminder of the enabler of explotiation of the African descended in Barbados decades after independence, a reminder of the enabler of racism and THEFTS practiced against her own people..

….am all for that one or any other sell out from DBLP who dare want to put their statue in a public space as a reminder that they sell out their own even when there is no need to..

https://barbadostoday.bb/2020/06/27/dlp-wants-answers-about-small-business-wage-fund/

“Following a tour of approximately nine small businesses in St Michael West, today, DLP spokesperson on business and entrepreneurship, Ryan Walters told members of the media that from interacting with the owners of the enterprises, they seem not to be aware that they can access the grant funding.

In April, Prime Minister Mia Mottley announced that the Fund will contribute $500 per month per employee up to five employees, where the employer is registered both at the Small Business Association (SBA), the Barbados Revenue Authority (BRA), and the National Insurance Scheme (NIS).

Walter said in his opinion, the same way officials get on the ground to feel the pulse of the people, individuals should have been placed in the field to educate small businesses about the special Fund and the requirements they would need to benefit from it.

“I get the impression that the whole wait and see is to really benefit the Government and not to benefit the scheme. If the scheme is to reach the persons that need the assistance, they should try more to get on the ground, especially now at the time where restrictions have been relaxed, where there is less protocols, and people can move a little more freely.”

5. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

PLT…..make no mistake, les traitres de parliament are responsible for all of that..

6. My Dear Koochie Koo,
    I was a bit harsh and short in my initial review of your effort.mAfter considerable thought and seeing PLT’s attempt to salvage your effort, I have decided to give you a more detailed critique. It may overlap with some of what has already been said

(1) Please do not follow Lorenzo’s style of writing. Use paragraphs
    (2) You may be on your way to university. You must be careful of how you collect and present your ideas and give credit to
    the originators of ideas. Plagiarism will be a tough charge to beat.
    (3) These questions have already been asked and some have attempted to deal with some of them already. I cannot give credit for just assembling questions in one place.
    (4) Since you assembled these questions, it would be interesting to see you attempt to tackle and answer a few them in subsequent posts. If you make this attempt, you will find that I will be one of your strongest defenders. I like to see the youngsters making bold efforts and trying to break free from old thinking.

Looking forward to additional post from you.

My charge to you is to “stay onboard the ship, but abandon the safety of the harbor. Be sensible in what you say, but make bold steps.

“A ship in harbor is safe — but that is not what ships are built for.” — John A. Shedd.

A critic and friend
    Theo

7. There is nothing wrong with Khaleel displaying curiosity by asking questions, itis a style this blogmaster uses to be provocative or solicit other views. All writers have style, respect it. Also, he has a right to cherry-pick the issues he wants to focus. At his tender age he has done more than most.

8. David
    Pleeeease. The gang is interested in persons not points. They therefore read to respond, often with a bariffle of strawman arguments and cherry picking. Simply uninformed retirees and near retired grown men bent on savaging a teenager just because he is pro-BLP and anti-government plays well on BU. Impressively, he remains unfazed.

9. Modern Slavery and Woke Hypocrisy

They waste time debating whether people who were never themselves slaves, should receive reparations from people who never owned a slave.

To engage in all this posturing, while ignoring the staggering 40 million current victims of actual slavery, not only represents the immeasurable depths of woke hypocrisy, but constitutes an extreme insult to those who are suffering their slavery in silence, while slowly dying from the physical, sexual and emotional abuse that they are being forced to endure. If anything is “offensive,” it is that.

• There are an estimated 136,000 people living in modern slavery just in Britain. Slavery in the UK takes the form of forced labor, and domestic and sexual exploitation. Albanians and Vietnamese are among the groups that constitute the majority of slaves. — Global Slavery Index, 2018.
    • There are currently an estimated 9.2 million black slaves in Africa. Slavery, according to the index, includes forced labor, forced sexual exploitation and forced marriage. — Global Slavery Index, 2018.
    • “According to the U.N.’s International Labor Organization (ILO), there are more than three times as many people in forced servitude today as were captured and sold during the 350-year span of the transatlantic slave trade”, Time Magazine March 14, 2019.
    • Modern slavery earns criminal networks an estimated $150 billion a year, just slightly less than drug smuggling and weapons trafficking.
    • “G-20 countries import some $354 billion worth of products at risk of being produced by modern slavery every year”. — Global Slavery Index, 2018.
    • One Malian slave, Raichatou, told the Guardian in 2013 that she became a slave at the age of seven when her mother, also a slave, died. “My father could only watch on helplessly as my mother’s master came to claim me and my brothers,” she said. She worked as a servant for the family without pay for nearly 20 years, and was forced into a marriage with another slave whom she didn’t know, so that she could supply her master with more slaves.

Judith Bergman, a columnist, lawyer and political analyst, is a Distinguished Senior Fellow at Gatestone Institute.

Read more @

https://www.gatestoneinstitute.org/16152/modern-slavery

https://www.gatestoneinstitute.org/pics/625.jpg

10. There is no harm in holding Koochie Koo to the same standards that we hold others to.

If he dons a red or blue uniform and walked out onto the battlefield then giving him a free pass is doing him a disservice. He should expect hostile and return fire from one side or the other. Some who would push him into the front-line should also expect that he would be fired on. They should have considered his age before employing him.

I consider myself as an armed observer who will fire on anyone.

11. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

Interesting article by young sexy black stud. Oh, I wish I can come here a bit more often and throw me SSS into the spin but sometimes reading a lot of the rubbish that is posted for intelligence ( Me included when I feel like writing shite) is just not worth my time at the moment. This ‘ask questions’ article is provocative. Must say some of them are food for thought but I cannot help notice how many times the writer alluded to WE. He said ‘We’ 11 times if I count write. All his questions attached a WE to it as if the We’s are at the main helm of the stirring handle of the broken rudder ship called ”Brek and almost ´Broke” or for short BAB. I am inclined to add a few more we’s to his 11 we’s so that it sounds very much like a familiar Bajan vernacular saying that a small Bajan child says when they want to carry out a number 1 body function: Wee, Wee! That is not to imply that the suggestions are not got, but simply to say that We have been WEE WEE on many times by We BLP and DLP that doan listen to We much. Therefore, WEdo chart the course in which Barbados should go in order to progress. We BLP and DLP were always the pioneers who drive Barbados in the direction they felt it should go, often ignoring the cries coming from WE, accept when the shit hit the fanand we are asked to tighten belts and make sacrifices. How is it possible now for all of WE to become the driving force behind:

-The inequitable distribution of economic power and social privilege.

-How can this Government expand and institutionalise its existing policy of reserving a certain portion of work done on behalf of government to small enterprises, such as small contractors, artisans and joiners, to ensure economic opportunity for there persons?

-And all the other things Khaleel is posting as questions?

Just Me looking at these two really got me thinking because it seems that ”We” can input in certain things while other things are definitely not for us to influence. So no referendums, no people’s say in important decisions, and certainly no peoples influence in financial and direct big money deals.

How many Barbadians have influential power barren the politicians and those who have privilege under the same said politicians to make any strides into influencing the controlling interest of those ‘wheeling’ and controlling the economic power? Very few I must say. After all, how much of our 99.9% literacy includes establishing black business and supporting that said black business to the point of progression and expansion. What we have is a structured set up to demolish or keep black business at a level so it can be controlled and orchestrated, while white establish businesses remains in the thick of things. We got to come grips someday that the vast majority of our people are penny foolish and pound stupid. Getting us to embrace a move to towards progressing in the direction of equitable distribution of economic power is going take a hell of reformation of our people to kick start their inward entrepreneurial skills far beyond the hawker and tray mentality, and certainly far beyond the other mindset that you are established when you become a lawyer, doctor, accountant or simply put, always working for someone else making the big money.

Then the second one. We know that in some form or fashion, the entire business element of the island functions under a reciprocating agreement called ”scratch me back and I will scratch yours.” I mean, this goes on throughout the business world and is a channel that has enriched many aspiring and, longstanding politicians pockets. So, if for some reason the powers that be decide to give a portion of government contracts to contractors, artisans and joiners, will they come into the loop base on the ”scratch me back” policy, or left out of the loop because of their die-hard honesty. After all, honesty is not the best policy in government operations, and a small contractor who wants to be part of the pie has to have something or willing to give something back if he is to be part of the establish loop. We got to face it, the reasons proffer for small contractors not getting business cannot always stand as the reason. Ahh wuh was dah again? Afterall, Mark Maloney started out small but had the backing and he landed some serious contracts back in the day and even now.

Thank God WE got our Prime Minister who is taking us down and honest and transparent road. Because, all the auditor general reports over the years will be addressed, and what sexy Khaleel has written here, will be looked into because Mia has embraced all of WE.
    #GodblessBarbadosandMiaMottley. SSS out.

12. (Quote):
    You correctly outline the major problem as “The inequitable distribution of economic power and social privilege is chief among these.” But then you take a leap of faith to assume that the solution is “a Sovereign Wealth Fund…” which is a BLP manifesto promise. Sadly, a Sovereign Wealth Fund with no source of sovereign wealth is just a string of words with no impact. Barbados currently has no source of sovereign wealth to capitalize a sovereign wealth fund. (Unquote).
    +++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

The closest thing to a ‘Sovereign Wealth Fund (SWF) Barbados ever had was the Sugar Levy.

Sugar is now dead as a profitable source of wealth creation and the only parody left of any SWF is the ‘Consolidated Fund’ (C F).

Barbados has no other way of accumulating wealth other than by the tried and tested method of ‘cutting and contriving’ like the households of old.

In other words, plain simple good old fiscal and financial management of the country’s scarce economic resources as it was done in the days of Grantley Adams and his early successors.

How can the ‘C F’ ever serve that purpose when it is regularly abused, assaulted and raided by the political class to appease and repay their masters hiding behind the scenes like “dark shadows” who funded the electoral campaigns?

How do you explain the recent writing off from the tax collection ledgers a few billions due to the same Sovereign Fund representing the economic blood, social sweat and financial tears of the masses and poor consumers of Barbados?

How do you explain the frequent raiding of the poor working class people’s only SWF called the NIS over the last 20 years as if it is the piggybank of the political class?

How do you explain the demolition of relatively recently constructed solid buildings to construct wealth creating concrete monsters for a few?

Shouldn’t the people’s advocates and financial watchdogs like “Enuff” be interested in finding out who or which “fund” is footing the bill for the demolition of other structures in Bridgetown on the cusp of losing its UNECSO World Heritage Site designation?

13. @ Tee White June 28, 2020 12:22 AM

A very good compromise. Agree 100 percent. We can always replace the head later… LOL.

@ Sunshine Sunny Shine June 28, 2020 10:44 AM

One of the best contributions in a long time on BU. Not the usual postcolonial whining, but a very precise analysis that offers a non-ideological, pragmatic solution. I agree that we need to strengthen the entrepreneurial spirit on the island. Otherwise the masses will remain forever in self-imposed economic slavery.

14. Comissiong can say he did not say this, but i got a copy of the 10 page report to remove that ugly nelson statue over 2 decades ago. These are his own words. And got the NERVE to talk back then about this present generation but only last week twisted his mouth into diplomatic deceit.

“THE ABOVE is an extract from the Report of the 1999 NATIONAL HEROES SQUARE AND GALLERY DEVELOPMENT COMMITTEE which had been established by the then BLP Administration of Prime Minister Owen Arthur to make recommendations about the LORD NELSON statue in Bridgetown.

The Committee declared that Lord Nelson was NOT a hero, and that his Statue should be taken down and stored in a Museum.

In other words, that the Statue should no longer be treated as a Monument, but rather, as an historical artifact that would help us to document that painful era in the life of our nation.

The Committee also declared that if there was going to be any appreciable delay in accomplishing the storing of the Statue in a Museum, it should be removed from its prominent site in Bridgetown and relocated to a much more obscure site in the Aquatic Gap area, near the old British military cemetery.

It should also be noted that the Committee was particularly insistent that the Statue be removed from its Broad Street / National Heroes Square location as a matter of urgency.

It is therefore important that the current generation of young activists who are now demanding the removal of the Nelson Statue be made aware of the said Report so that they can build upon it and bring it to fruition.

That is how we make progress — one generation building upon the foundation laid by a previous generation and taking forward the Struggle.

Kindly therefore make it a point of duty to share the above extract with our young people.

DAVID COMISSIONG”

15. Miller…but look at our crosses though, where is Piece the Legend…

Pacha, Theo, TSLN…ah calling everybody, ya see how these negros can never be trusted though, ever, ever especially not with the people’s tax dollars…..well, well.

Despite agreeing to remove the disgusting old relic…..some Jackass, some say it was Arthur took up taxpayers money, some say it was 1.5 million dollars to turn the blighted piece of stone from facing south to facing west…and they thought that was brilliant, genius…..ah wondering how much of that money they stole and pocketed.

16. So how much was this government planning to soak the taxpayers for this time around to create some stupid committee to make recommendations about removing the same statue that a commttee was paid over 20 years ago to make the same decisions…..and masking it with stupid shit about a public consultaion….so what figure do they plan to come up with now when they can just haul the statue across the road and dump it in the sea……..let it relic under the water to protect the reefs….won’t cost anything more than paying the crane operator and the men who will dismount it..

17. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

Oh by the way, I forgot to mention a little something about Lord Nelson. Here is why the stinking defender of the African Slave Trade want tearing down and pelting in the dead sea. If he is to be placed in a museum, let the inscription read as follows:

I, Horatio Nelson, have ever been and shall die a firm friend to our present colonial system.”
    I, Horatio Nelson, was bred, as you know, in the good old school, and taught to appreciate the value of our West India possessions [slaves included]; and neither in the field or in the senate [House of Lords] shall their interest be infringed whilst I have an arm to fight in their defence, or a tongue to launch my voice against the damnable and cursed doctrine of Wilberforce and his hypocritical allies.”- who believe in the abolition of slavery when I firmly endorse it and give sanction to it as a necessity for advancing British interests (added by the SSS for emphasis).

So as the British establish regime stated:

”In Nelson, we find a man in heartfelt solidarity with British slaveholders against the perceived menace of Wilberforce (the famous British abolitionist campaigner). To this end, he want throwing in the stuff bin, Mia.

18. Don’t worry, i will be more than happy to post extracts from the report of the Location of the Statue of…………ever so often as a reminder of government LIES…..it is called CIVIC DUTY…a word that would cause the fowls to trip and fall down.

i refuse to give that dead racist and enslaver sympathizer any prominence, it’s beneath me, i have a public image to uphold, just like he HAD……as a racist…

yall will never believe the stupid shit they come up with when they are wasting taxpayer’s money, but you will find out…

19. I did not say anything as strong as homage, William Skinner. I said due respect. This is an element of Barbadian culture and indeed African culture that serves any young person well.

I always listened to my parents and elders. I did not always agree but I tried to disagree respectfully unless pushed to the limit of my endurance whereupon I occasionally failed. Looking back, I wish I had handled even those interactions better.

As for behaving more “mature”, I suggested that when I first came to BU and was told by Bush Tea that I was in a rumshop.

BU, like the rumshop, is a place where we come to mix, exchange ideas and let off some steam. Sometimes we even get to listen to some music, watch some drama and comedy and even learn something new.

But when I was young and went to the rumshop to buy my father some cigarettes, I could not disrepect even a drunken adult behaving badly because no matter how stupidly he behaved I knew that “me an’ he din nuh company”.

And when he sobered up he would have proven himself helpful in many ways.

KK is young and upcoming. Good manners are still an asset. So is respect for elders.

I have given him good advice that will serve him well. You are free to give him the other kind.

20. @Wura
    I found this link (location seem a bit strange)
    Document is incomplete
    https://barbadosunderground.files.wordpress.com/2017/11/nelson-statue.pdf

21. I can understand how we ended up with Nelson’s statue. However, I am stunned that someone agreed to the twinning of The Carolinas and Barbados.

This is so painful.

https://www.barbadoscarolinas.org/who-we-are

22. Being pro BLP or pro DLP is the biggest problem we have.

We should be for GOOD GOVERNANCE!

I don’t miss Mariposa one little bit more than I would miss Lorenzo.

That being said, I would find it impossibled to “savage” a youngster. But appropriate criticism I will offer.

PLT,

All that you have suggested I am already doing as well as using my big mouth to convince others

PS. Are there no more BLM marches? I am feeling that I missed the opportunity to be part of something big to brag about to my yet unborn grandchildren.

23. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

Theo…don’t worry ah got the whole report but am exhausted, ah gotta recharge before i post those excerpts…..they are wearing me out and ah got a lung full of the sahara dust yesterday so can only relax a little today and count our blessings since the same dust now invading our lungs is the same dust stopping killer hurricanes from coming off the African continent and demolishing us..

oh the irony..

24. @TLSN
    “This is so painful.”

Sometimes it hurts and real bad. Avoid heavy issues and some bloggers.

Funny but true.
    Personal note… Life as I know it is falling to pieces. Wife has developed some one-liners.

Saw this Bajan lady on FB with a slew of Bajan recipes. Told my wife I would get her a Bajan cookbook.
    She asked “For who?”

I was shocked. I did not think of that question. If you are recently married, enjoy it. 🙂 If you currently have the power, enjoy it. Thirty years from now, you will be asking yourself “What the hell happened? When was the power transferred? 🙂

25. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

TSLN….slaves will be slaves, have you seen the deplorable state of the Speightown area….appropriately twinned and resembling the deplorable state and education of many of the African descended both in the Carolinas and in Barbados….a legacy they all want to preserve in their slaveminded state…no progress, no improvement….and they are all proud to have racists visit and pretend to be superior….that’s the extent of their will to move on to better.

remember too that Barbados’ evil slave masters back then provided invented, designed and practiced on the slaves in Barbados the very same slaves codes that destroyed the lives of the slaves in the southern US and elsewhere……and that too the as*holes are doubly proud about..

26. @TheoG

I perused your document and If they were serious about relocating Nelson they overlooked two other places in Antigua that would be suitable in addition to Shirley Heights.
    1) The entrance to the Dockyard itself or anywhere in the area of the Dockyard
    2) The grounds of Clarence House which also overlooks the Dockyard.

27. Side Note:
    Ran into this story
    Will we face a similar problem
    https://antiguanewsroom.com/tourists-threaten-legal-action-over-testing-isolation/

Then there was a story about police being called to a disturbance in Grenada and there was no follow-up because of the colors involved. Reminded me of the woman in Barbados who had her butt grabbed.

Third class citizens in their own country.

28. NorthernObserver Avatar

@TheoG
    Consider yourself lucky you can even recall ‘having power’. If mine cooked 15% of the meals, not including when the children were young and she was afraid I might dose the meatball sauce with some rum to induce a good sleep, I was lucky.

29. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

It was made very clear in the document to remove nelson that the statue DID NOT QUALIFY for any hero status….in their National Heros Square and Gallery…that was over 20 years ago the committee am sure they paid a washpan of taxpayer’s money had decided…

Theo ..i don’t know if that is the part you said was missing, the first 4 paragraphs, i only got the end sentence of the 4th…but all the others up to page 10 are intact..i will start with the 5th and post an excerpt every day..

Suggestions for the relocation of nelson
    5.1 The Committee proceeded to proceeded to consider the suggestions received for possible new home for nelson..
    Embedded in the 81 oral and written submissions received by the committee and in the newspaper reports were 24 CONCRETE suggestions for the statue. These were as follows:

the east coast of Barbados, backing Barbados and facing England…..slaves will be slaves.

the Barbados Museum and Historical Society

the Pierhead in Bridgetown

Trevor’s Way in Bridgetown

Nelson Street in Bridgetown…scum got a street a street in his blighted name that remains dilapidated and disgusting with curse till this day and everyone still wonders why

Piccadilly Square London England

The Vicinity of the Drill Hall, Garrison, St. Michael

The Vicinity of Carlisle Car Park, Bridgetown

The Court Yard of Parliament Building, Bridgetown….which needs removing too a damn cursed building am sure with a bunch of racist, enslaver dead demons running around creating total mischief as they have for centuries.

Glenburnie, St. John

The “backwoods” of St. George

A platform in the sea off Port Charles. St. Peter…yes the as*holes stuck their mouths in still trying to give a racist prominence on the island while they rob the treasury, pension fund and the people of all their land.

Millenium Heights, St. Thomas…

Glenburnie, St.John

Shirley Heights, overlooking Nelson’s Dockyard, Antigue…Shirley Heights was where the colonials who still kept shrunken heads of African slaves who were murdered lived, am still sensing that they shrunk the heads of African Antiguans right in that dockyard..

The old Naval Dockyard, Mobil Park , near Pebbles Beach, St. Michael

A platform out to sea at Carlisle Bay

A platform out to see off Speightstown…every decision was designed to promote this stinking murderer and genocidal maniac who killed African slaves in slaves in the Caribbean with his poisonous hatred, every decision meant to give this savage animal prominence over the descendants of African slaves and their descendants.

The Ermie Bourne highway, off St. Andrew

The Area of land south of the Main Guard, Garrison, St. Michael

The site of the Harbor Police Station, Bridgetown, St. Michael, is that not the site where they grabbed the land to build another blighted protrusion in the form of another racist hotel..

The proposed site of the Maritime Museum planned for the Port Willoughby site, Bridgetown , is that one another racist and killer of slaves, was the maritime museum ever built or was the money stolen and sitting in one off those offshore accounts in US, the other islands or in Switzerland…

The courtyard of the british high commission…

The “Queen’s Park” Bridgetown, so how did cousin Elizabeth still get ownership of that park, does she send money to maintain it or is it not maintained by Black Bajan taxpayer’s…..yall useless goddamn slaves…

So what does Mia need any consultation for again,why does she need to spend taxpayer’s money again, why is she still acting as though they do not know what to do with that statue as the Johnnie of the parliament said when it is clearly outlined in the report where it should go including to Nelson’s Dockyard in Antigua and overlooking Shirley Heights and back to UK where they piece of shit belongs… …to be cont’d

30. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

Everywhere that nelson name i,s it brings…blight.

“Did you know: When the Spanish Governor, Don Pedro de la Moneda, moved to the town of Puerto de los Hispanoles (later called Port d’Espagne or Port of Spain) in 1757, the village consisted only of two streets “Calle Principe” (Nelson Street) and Calle de Infante (Duncan Street)? There was a small population of Spanish-Indigenous fishermen and farmers who lived in the area in wooden buildings and mud huts. By 1786, the fishing village had evolved from mud huts into wooden houses. The eleven streets at that time were as wide as they are today and paved with limestone from the Laventille Hills

31. Ordinary Black Man Avatar
    Ordinary Black Man

Ignoramus, aka wura

Nelson Street ain’t name after Lord Nelson. It name after a Mrs Nelson who was a popular shopkeeper and landowner a century oR more ago. See why wunna cahn be trusted. Yuh cahn even get de places right. Next ting yuh know wunna gine be coming an licking down my house too, saying dat I is a bad colonist, nevuh min I Black as tar as we Bajans wuh say. Wunna bes rename de parishes. Lick down de parish churches. Ban Christianity. Blow up Parliament. Get rid uh piped water an de electric company. Tek down de gun hill lion. Abolish queens college Harrison college Alleyne lodge and all dem schools so. Turn codrington into a housing estate. Stupseeeee!

Bajans ain’t gine stand fuh dis shyte. Richard hoad referred to it in de paper and I know it to dat We ordinary people absolutely do not support dis kinda foolishness. Dese half baked intellectuals we got walking bout in de Caribbean always cussing de British fuh imposing colonialism pun we but dem luv to impose dem shyte pun we ordinary people. Hoad talk about de Zr man Reds and Dey got nuff mo who will not stan fuh dis. If dese perverted intellectuals get dem way and Nelson get tek down widout full consultation wid de people o dis country (not only de intelligentsia) it might be de last straw and ordinary people might got to rise up and say once and fuh all we dun wid wunna and wunna shyte. Mark my words, if de guvment do anything foolish or some radical terrorists dat was pun dem marches tek it pun demself to tek it down, we could very well see serious violence and strife in dis country. We ordinary people will not tek it nuhmo!

32. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

Ignorant Black man…so where you think the Nelson name comes from….does it sound African to you, so because someone from 100 years ago carried the name, it is still A EUROPEAN slave master name…as*hole…did you create the name…

it is not me you are supposed to trust…..it’s the THIEVES AND SELL OUTS IN THE PARLIAMENT..

the Nelson street in Trinidad is just as old AND WAS NAMED AFTER MILITARY racists and enslaver sympathizers like Nelson…i did not include that part…

so take ya delusional fantasy story and shove it…

33. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

BTW…..the nelson street in Trinidad, looks just as dilapadated and repulsive as the one in Barbados…THE NAME IS BLIGHTED..

that is what i have been saying since this started, if you look closer ya might even find the blighted name swimming around in your bloodline.

34. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

Theo…another miseducated clown for you to dissect…they never have the facts, the only intent is to prove you wrong…and still can’t tell that the names they are so proud to defend are mostly slave master names…..ah bet ya they can’t name not one African freedom fighter outside of Mandela…

am yet to see one of them defending an African name, whether they are pretending to be black or not…all of them want to distance themselves from the Continent while pretending they care about Africa and still defending european names synonymous with the enslavement , murder, robbery and brutality against the African descended..

ya only come out to attack when ya have information…not when ya that ignorant and miseducated…in that case you come out to learn…

35. Ordinary Black Man Avatar
    Ordinary Black Man

Wura

Yu maiden name is African. If yu tek yu white husband name, is dat one African? Wuh look uh much crosses doh nuh

36. Ordinary Black Man Avatar
    Ordinary Black Man

Wura
    “that is what i have been saying since this started, if you look closer ya might even find the blighted name swimming around in your bloodline.“

Exactly. Me and yu both cuh got dat in we bloodline (doh being related to you wuh be real unfortunate). So yuh gine chuck yu and me into de Wharf too?

37. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

All these frauds want is to continue the charade for the tourists, weakening the position of the African descended to free themselves FROM COLONIAL SYMBOLS, LIES AND BLIGHTS…

Another excerpt from the Committee on Removing nelson…..dated over 20 years ago..

6.Basis of the Committee’s recommendation..

6.2 In view of nelson’s proslavery proclivities and activities….the location of the statue must NOT be such as to suggest that nelson is a hero of the Barbadian people……… (aka murdering black slaves in the easter Caribbean by dumping their food supplies in the sea and causing them to starve to death, but the shitehounds will never mention that in the report.)

It is in the best interests of Barbados that the nelson statue be moved expeditiously (over 20 years ago) from National Heroes Square..

The Decision
    7.1 Based on the foregoing considerations the committee AGREED that the most appropriate place for the nelson statue is the PROPOSED maritime museum or maritime heritage centre planned for the fort willoughby area, Bridgetown….the dry dock is NOT IN SERVICE (so wuh happen to that 20 year old plan, an African leader built a whole country with a population of over 12 million people and with an area of 10,169 mi 2 in less than 20 years, he built beautiful CITIES…after a bloody civil war that lasted 4 years and cost over 1 million lives….so what is yall excuse in a 2×3 island 14W X 21W with a population of less than 300,000 and only one town, one hospital one this one that)
    That government would arrange for the TAKING DOWN, storing, restoration and preservation in the short term, in preparation for its relocation in the Museum or in the Heritage Centre. The Committee felt that when once A DECISION TO MOVE THE nelson statue HAS BEEN TAKEN IT WOULD BE COUNTER-PRODUCTIVE TO ALLOW THE STATUE TO REMAIN IN National Heroes Square FOR ANY SUBSTANTIAL PERIOD OF TIME SINCE THIS STATE OF AFFAIRS MAY UNNECESSARILY FUEL PUBLIC CONTROVERSY…..(well it’s been over 20 YEARS, the decision was made, so say hello to public controversy).

ah wonder who will be fighting in ya civil war…there are less than 8,000 reject minorities on the island, half of whom already see where the wind is blowing..the other half don’t care and it’s only the few raggedly old ass thieves and parasites who can’t take a good slap from a black woman or young teenager….so who are all these clowns willing to fight a civl war with a Black majority of over 260,000 that yall used to pretend dont exist, calling yaselves the majority and trying to flip the script while robbing the majority of their birthrighs……ya must tell us what ya been smoking it must be really good…

38. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

And since ya provoke me when i should be resting, ah will make alyuh shite…..just give me a couple…

39. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

You are too stupid to carry on any useful conversation with, so you may have a slavemaster bloodline and don’t even know how to use it, so what will happen to you if the colonials unhitch themselves from all this fraud tomorrow as they are trying to do now….ya will be just as rudderless as ya are now and no one should look at ya dumb ass….because it’s very clear that ya are clueless.

40. Ordinary Black Man Avatar
    Ordinary Black Man

Wunna keep doing that. Keep snubbing and underestimating we ordinary Black people. De results gine be disastrous. Wunna blacks who feel wunna got little intelligence and little jobs much much worse to we dan de colonists. At least dem did mek clear dem wasn’t too hot bout we. But wunna pretend to care bout we etc and den oppress we.

41. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

Fraud…the oppression is coming from the parliament in collusion with the minority thieves who believe they own the island and have black human property thanks to ya black face sellouts for leaders…..am sure you know them either by kissing their asses to get a lowpaying slave job and selling out ya own people on the side to keep that slave job…or ya are one of the same trailer park minority trash and feeling ya can fool someone on here..

when am done just be thankful if the likes of you and them can walk the streets…

42. Oh dear! When Richard Hoad speaks for you as an ordinary black man you are in serious trouble. He is neither black nor ordinary.

Am I to understand that your breaking point for committing acts of violence on live black Barbadian citizens is not the continued misappropriation of taxpayer’s money by the awarding of unjustifiable contracts by say the BWA but instead is the removal of a bronze statue of a dead white man who supported the enslavement of your ancestors??????

🤷🏽‍♂️🤷🏽‍♂️🤷🏽‍♂️🤷🏽‍♂️🤷🏽‍♂️🤷🏽‍♂️🤷🏽‍♂️🤷🏽‍♂️🤷🏽‍♂️🤷🏽‍♂️

43. Ordinary Black Man Avatar
    Ordinary Black Man

Donna, I gine leave yu tuh de young boy. Because yu cahn be wurth my time. Dis en only bout Lord Nelson and a bronze statue. Dis is about how de black intellectual elite treat dere black ordinary brothers generally. Dis is but one example of a decades old problem. I doan know if yu constitute de black intellectual elite. Yu might be an ordinary person like me. Stop selling yu self to dem and step back and think rationally. No need to get emotional.

PS I sorry if yu cahn do it, but when a white fella or a Indian fella or a chinaman mek a good point I man enough to agree. So sorry if yu cahn fin it widin yu self to do de same.

44. Did you think he made a good point when he identified more with George Zimmerman than Trayvon Martin?

To understand a man’s point you have to understand where he is coming from. I don’t think Richard Hoad is deliberately racist. He just sees with white man eyes.

You have labelled people here as your oppressors without any evidence to support it. It is true that certain black elements have joined in the oppression but just because people here went to certain schools and have achieved a certain level of success does not mean they have trampled on you to get there.

And as for my being ordinary, I have access to many people you would call the elite. I have actually been to the homes of two of our prime ministers before they became prime minister. One of them was Mia. Been to her PS’S home too long ago. But I have always prefered the ordinary life and ordinary people. Who’s Who events are just not my style. I tend to greet the so called big shots when I happen to run into them and that’s all.

And so I have never sold any part of myself to anybody. I think as much for myself as I did when the queen visited here in 1975 or 6 and one Hoad girl berated me for turning my back to the queen in protest for having to stand in the hot sun to wave like a little native.

You think she was Richard Hoad family?

45. Not that many Hoads around. I bet she is.

46. But by the way, you say I can’t be worth your time, why is that? Only got time for the so-called “intelligensia” ?

You sound just as dismissive as you accuse them of being.

And without the substance to back it up.

47. Edward Clarke, The Barbados Private Sector Association, calls out for “one Barbados”.

https://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/246402/barbados-private-sector-association-moving-forward

48. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

Donna…don’t mind the idiot…nelson will be taken and down and the slave society they are trying to keep Black Bajans trapped in for another generation will be DISMANTLED…come hell or high water…

this fool knows he/she is not even making sense to himself/herself…and can never be making sense to anyone else..

TSLN….don’t mind that bloated private sector clown, they want to continue to live off the majority population FOR FREE…they will never want the slave society to be dismantled..but it will be…

“The statement said there is a need to “reconstruct and rebuild” nationally, a process which must “include discussion on racial division and economic enfranchisement”.

that topic would never have been allowed to see the light of day in Barbados in a thousand years if the crooked, greedy minorities did not see their slave society and parasitic practices of robbing the Black majority generationally …NOW AT RISK of being TAKEN AWAY..

…he got the nerve to believe after they have all robbed generations of the people, their children and grandchilden, someone is going to just sit by and allow them to continue to rob future generations into the distant future…they all want shutting down…IT’S BLACK BUSINESSES should be springing up on the island at least by next year, it’s Black people’s money has funded and taken care of the people for centuries…while those parasites and racists who do not number enuff to generate the amount of taxes needed to fund anything, all they know to do is pretend their are superior, and HELP THE TWO TRASH FOR GOVERNMENTS victimize and tief from the people… …on a large scale annually..

the only moving forward to together is to shut the racists and thieves down….permanently..

49. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

Just imagine it’s these 3 Articles on human rights are the only weapons needed to take these wicked sell out governments and the thieves for minority racosts and parasites right down and out of the Black population’s lives permanently…..let them all go and look for honest employment….along with the ignorant who support them ……bunch of frauds and thieves.

3 articles that speak for themselves, the Black majority, the original people of the earth have the right to practice their African spiritual culture, no government or country has the right to victimize or criminalize the indigenous populations on the earth for their ANCESTRAL BELIEFS and PRACTICES as they have done for centuries. No government or minority population have any right to set laws to rob them and keep them in generational poverty…so where is your civil war now ya ignorant piece of shit..

No indigenous populaton on the earth should be put in a position to defend their right to exist or should any plans be developed by any government or state to exterminate them from the earth in mass genocide, the indigenouis have the right to FIGHT BACK against their own mass murder and against any form of racism since we know that the states will not develop the measures necessary to protect the targeted because of the capitalist mentality embedded for centuries in enabling these crimes FOR PROFIT, greed, so the African descended will have to develop those measures themselves for self preservation. This what your corrupt government dont want you to know,

▼Article X.
    Rejection of assimilation
    1. Indigenous peoples have the right to maintain,
    express, and freely develop their cultural identity
    in all respects, free from any external attempt at
    assimilation.

States shall not carry out, adopt, support, or favor
    any policy of assimilation of indigenous peoples or of
    destruction of their cultures.

▼Article XI.
    Protection against genocide
    Indigenous peoples have the right not to be the object of
    any form of genocide or attempts to exterminate them.

▼Article XII.
    Guarantees against racism, racial discrimination,
    xenophobia, and related intolerance
    Indigenous peoples have the right not to be the object
    of racism, racial discrimination, xenophobia, or related
    intolerance. States shall adopt the preventive and
    corrective measures necessary for the full and effective
    protection of that right.

Leave a Reply to WURA-War-on-UCancel reply