On the 22 June 2020 the Nation newspaper published a story with the headline $35m ICBL deal in works.

#donvilleinniss

On the 24 June the media reported that former Chairman of CLICO Holdings was being questioned by police.  He has since been charged with fraud and released on bail.

While some people love to do crossword puzzles, the BU blogmaster enjoys connecting dots!

307 responses to “Leroy Parris Arrested”

1. The average person hanging around business knows that Parris did a lot of nonsense. The only reason he got away with it is because he had the politicians – local and regional – in his pocket.

2. @ Enuff June 25, 2020 2:14 PM

Neither Greene nor Artax is your band of MAM’s pooch-lickers.

They are the ones who have been arguing, previously, that there were no legally convincing grounds for the charging of both Donville and Greenverbs given the weak legislation and lack of complainants.

What has changed since then not to merit their ‘legal’ condemnation of recent events?

Are you going to try to buy fair weather friends instead of sticking with those steadfast to the mast of Justice and good governance?

“Time is longer than twine!”

3. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

“has stuff in the red bag she promised to share dont forget.”

and we are all waiting with bated breath, not holding it though and am sure so is EU…

4. Cuhdear Bajan Avatar

@Hal Austin June 25, 2020 5:16 AM “It is like driving a car at a traffic junction and both sets of lights are green at the same time. Any traffic accident cannot be the fault of either driver. Claims of speeding and awareness would be ridiculous.”

Hal used this analogy, but i prefer this one “It is like driving a car at a traffic junction and both sets of lights are RED at the same time.”

What does a wise driver do in this circumstance.

Does she barrel through at 100 km per hour because the regulator [the traffic light/trafficcop] is not there? or does she like the wise person she is slow down, look all ways and ease through the junction very, very, carefully?

5. @ WURA-War-on-U June 25, 2020 3:04 PM

Little Barbados no longer has a nanny called Mother Britain to protect her from the regulatory tigers in the EU.

She (Bim) is on her own in the EU sea of sharks protecting their own tax havens.

The Donville gate affair was like throwing human blood in the sea.

‘Poor’ Parris just happens to be the local sacrificial lamb.

Is this a mere attempt to smear the uppity dude and denude the ‘broken’ man of his immoral earnings by way of saddling him with large legal bills?

Doesn’t the “moral principle” encrypted in statute of limitations also called ‘Forgive and Forget’ apply in this case?

No wonder the Teacher called Jesus warned you honest Christians about lawyers, the devils advocates:

“Woe to you lawyers also! For you load people with burdens hard to bear, and you yourselves do not touch the burdens with one of your fingers.

6. Cuhdear Bajan Avatar

@Miller June 25, 2020 8:11 AM “…the ascendancy of the MAM administration of all angels and no demons?”

How do you know that there are no demons?

Does anybody on their honeymoon realize that their spouse is a demon?

And yet divorce lawyers are never, never out of work, as sensible people seek to excise the demons from their lives.

We are still on our political honeymoon. Lolll!!!

Wait until the political horns, the political lies, the political dishonesty, the political drunkenness, the political lashes, starts.

WATCH.

7. Cuhdear Bajan Avatar

@David June 25, 2020 7:29 AM “What about the 5 million dollars lodged with the Central Bank? The PM is in a position to have the matter clarified for the public.”

I am kinda hoping that the Central Bank’s staff is not as honest as we pay them to be.

I am kinda hoping that if 5 million dollars was indeed lodged at the Central Bank that some of the staff had the good sense to carry it way.

You know the saying, an [alleged] thief,from an [alleged] thief makes God laugh.

God deserves a laugh, seeing so how so many of his children down here suffering real-real bad from this COVID19 thingy.

8. Cuhdear Bajan Avatar

@David June 25, 2020 8:30 AM “By the way, is there a country in the world where the rich, the elite are not able to manipulate things to their benefit?”

Sadly David.

No.

9. Cuhdear Bajan Avatar

@Miller June 25, 2020 8:35 AM “If Greenverbs can be humiliated why not those two now that Donville might be ready any day for Sing Sing?”

i don’t see Mr. Parris’ arrest as a humiliation. And I trust that he does not see it as such either.

The man is presumed innocent…So he can take his presumably innocent backside home and play with his children or his grandchildren.

Just like me.

10. Cuhdear Bajan Avatar

@Sargeant June 25, 2020 8:43 AM “How convenient the timing, isn’t this a welcome detour from Nelson?”

We can walk and chew gum.

We can Nelson AND Parris.

11. @ Cuhdear Bajan June 25, 2020 3:36 PM
    “How do you know that there are no demons?”

LOL!! Ask Dan Brown!

Forget there is one now!

According to the Koochie Kid and his godfathers Lorenzo and Enuff, the Bishop is now the demon hiding behind the chair of Loo with his elf Caswell steering the wheel of Opposition.

Of course, we who have been in the balcony for the longest time- watching the political drama acted out by the duopoly in the Bajan political class- know full well that the pièce de résistance on the monopoly political board chessboard is the voting pawns like you.

12. Cuhdear Bajan Avatar

@William Skinner June 25, 2020 8:46 AM “BTW before he was a Member if Parliament and when he was head of the Barbados Economic Council , the current Minister in the Ministry of Finance , the Hon Ryan Straughn said he would not give the CLICO policy holders one penny.”

The thing is, the truth is, the Honorable Mr. Straughn did not give the Clico policy holders one penny.

It was we the taxpayers whose money went to the CLICO policy holders.

And we still vex as hell ’bout dat.

We will remember this action in 2023.

13. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

https://barbadostoday.bb/2020/06/25/senator-franklyn-bus-fare-hike-invalid-under-law/

So we can safely say that this government lives to do wicked, illegal, unfair things to the majimority population and have told themselves for over 50 years that the people gotta take it every generation.

14. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

BTW…..for the government ministers lacking analytical skills….that evil shit of commiting multiple crimes against your own people for decades is CALLED A TREND…a Revolution is not a trend you would be lucky to get one every hundred years. now you know.

15. Cuhdear Bajan Avatar

@Enuff June 25, 2020 9:22 AM “Why was the invoice made out to the QC for legal services, which the QC denied ever doing?”

Maybe somebody wanted to give the QC $3.3 million as a love offering.

You know like how I give my church money every payday or pension day.

Just as love ting.

But it seems that the QC did not reciprocate the CLICO love, or its financial offering.

Oh well.

BU is real-real sport in truth.

16. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

Miller….ya might smell some burning fowls or at least one.lol

17. Miller
    Ignore!!

18. @ Miller June 25, 2020 3:04 PM
    you said and i quote

” @ Enuff June 25, 2020 2:14 PM

Neither Greene nor Artax is your band of MAM’s pooch-lickers.

They are the ones who have been arguing, previously, that there were no legally convincing grounds for the charging of both Donville and Greenverbs given the weak legislation and lack of complainants. ”

i made no such comments and i am sure Artax didnt.

i said that there was no such ML in Bim with regard to the time line of Donville’s charges for which he was convicted in the US, since the BIM laws at that time spoke to drug offences as the predicate for ML. The present AG said as much and the laws were amended.

i spoke about Parris to the extent that i averred that the report did not contend that he was not entitled to compensation from CLICO to the amount mentioned. i made no comment about his guilt or innocence since the topic of the thread was Thompson’s collusion in the matter.

to that end i pointed out that the report never said that Thompson himself oked or endorsed any requisition for payment on Parris’s behalf only that such endorsement came from his former law firm from which he had resigned some years earlier.

i know this will no doubt fall on deaf ears but please quote me accurately. i have no problems defending my positions, once they are mine

19. Greene
    Why you don’t ignore the verbosed one? See my comment at 5:11..ignore!

20. Mr Skinner you would have to done because you and Austin think bajans suffering from amnesia.There is nothing i said earlier that you or anyone of the naysayers can refute.You are a Dem spin bowler trying to implicate Mr Arthur in this shady dealing and omitting the number 1 person involved Mr Thompson why is that Skinner? Let me repeat MR THOMPSON WAS CLICO, S LAWYER FOR YEARS BEFORE BECOMING PM.Therefore would have known of it, s operations inside out.ON BECOMING PM MR THOMPSON TOOK UP 10 MILLION DOLLARS NOT HIS MONEY BUT THE TAXPAYERS AND PUMPED INTO CLICO.Question is why?On top of that we heard an invoice for 3.3 million was placed through Mr Thompson, s legal firm for Mr Parris.I leave persons to draw their own conclusions.On top of this Mr Parris was allowed to place his deposit on the central bank, unheard of before and you omit Mr Thompson in matters relating to Mr Parris..Skinner you are both disingenious and dishonest as far as this matter is concerned and i will not let you get away with your fancy footwork.

21. @ Greene June 25, 2020 5:15 PM

This is all that’s needed to put this matter in its right perspective.

Are you suggesting that the CoP has made a huge mistake in charging Greenverbs for ML and that the prosecutors are relying on legislation which cannot stand the test of application in a properly convene court of law in Bim where the likes of Hal G will rule supreme for an easy payday ending in a massive law suit against the State?

For there is nothing in the forensic report to link the poor Greenverbs fella with dealings in illegal drugs.

On what grounds would a competent police force bring ML charges (on the advice of lawyers) against the guy and under which piece of legislation prevailing at the time of the alleged offence?

22. This last post seems well above your standard. Do we now have several Lorenzos?
    I like your divining rod for sniffing out dems.
    Wait a minute, only WS on the enemies list today?
    Perhaps you need a new rod.

23. Cuhdear Bajan Avatar

@Lorenzo June 25, 2020 5:37 PM “….ON BECOMING PM MR THOMPSON TOOK UP 10 MILLION DOLLARS NOT HIS MONEY BUT THE TAXPAYERS AND PUMPED INTO CLICO.”

Since all ‘o wunna here brighter than me. seeing as how I din go to Harsun, Cawmere nor nothing so.

Can one ‘o wunna please tell me if the taxpayers ever got back the $10 million referenced above?

And if not, why not?

I remember that “letter of comfort” It was not clear to me, it still isn’t clear to me exactly what is a “letter of comfort”

Can anybody explain to me exactly what is a “letter of comfort” since I had NEVER heard the term befor David Thompson used it.

But my uncertainty is what led me NOT to vote for the DLP in 2008, and 2013.

If I don’t understand the language I stay far from the big shots who are speaking with a “foreign”/forked? tongue.

24. @ Enuff June 25, 2020 5:27 PM

Seems that your second-hand man Lorenzo below is singing from a different hymn sheet from you in MAM’s choir?

So what is it going to be, Enuff?

Continue to try to score cheap vindictive points through futile retaliatory remarks or stick on the side of Justice like your real red brother in bottie licking.

BTW, you ought to take a leaf out of Hal Austin’s book of consistent criticism.

He, Hal, has always contended the Barbados is a failed state as far as its judicial system is concerned?

What do you think is going to happen with this Parris No.2 case except the State being faced with a massively expensive lawsuit to put more money in the pockets of lawyers; if we are to rely upon the jurisprudential advice of the BU replacement of our learned but dead friend “Amused”.

Poor Greenie must be envious he cannot be part of the bounty.

25. NorthernObserver Avatar

@Pacha
    How long you been waiting to bait that hook? Lol.
    A single sentence, the intent of which was to poohoo the current issue in light of larger looming issues.
    I know nothing about this case. Hence I do not comment.
    On the other matter, I would like to see it concluded. In court.
    And fyi…I don’t know CH he is your buddy. My connection is to Rogers, via a sibling.

26. Gazzerts i know you try hard to be funny but trust me you are not.That is all you have to contribute to the topic? How about trying to refute what i have said funny guy?

27. The average person hanging around business knows that Parris did a lot of nonsense. The only reason he got away with it is because he had the politicians – local and regional – in his pocket.

xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

THIS SAME CAN BE SAID ABOUT MARK MALONEY AND CHARLES HERBERT

28. @ Hal

Sorry for the delay In getting back to you.

Yes the auditors reports will no doubt form part of the case, especially if they have in the notes their concerns. Normally if there was something they were uncomfortable with this should be stated in the notes to the audit.

To a large extent though the auditors rely on the clients accountants to furnish them with the facts. As you know that is why the finish financials then usually come to the chairman and another officer of the company to sign off on.

So in this mix we could have the auditors, the companies bankers, the company officers and the shareholders voicing their concerns. I was never a shareholder in this company so don’t know if or who documented their concerns in the notes, the minutes or any other format.

My point is that if all involved allowed things to go on even if they were aware of malfices, then there is enough blame to go around. Now having said that the buck still stops at the chairman, CEO and financial controller in the end.

What will be of interest after this case is to see if the policy holders will then bring a civil case against Paris for damages. That is where the real bassa bassa will come.

29. @John A

Why would the bank question the cheque if it was signed by Parris and Thornhill, authorized to approve the cheque?

30. The recent arrest clearly shows that Barbados is a modern constitutional state. Many people also admire our health system. I estimate that it will be at most another term for our great CARICOM leader before we call ourselves a developed country and look down on Americans and British with pity.

Who made this glorious turn possible? Right, our beloved leader. She rules our Royal Island with an iron fist, turning savages into human beings and leading globalization. Thank you so much, dear Mia!

31. Cuhdear Bajan Avatar

@Tron June 25, 2020 7:14 PM “look down on Americans and British with pity.”

We won’t be looking down on anybody. That is not who we are.

@Tron June 25, 2020 7:14 PM “turning savages into human beings.”

And who ae the savages?

Your people?

32. Cuhdear Bajan Avatar

Most of us on this blog were fully human long before Mia was conceived.

Remember that.

We were never savages.

33. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

▼Article III.
    Indigenous peoples have the right to self-determination.
    By virtue of that right, they freely determine their political
    status and freely pursue their economic, social, and
    cultural development.”

It says nothing about enriching minority crooks, Syrian Cartel or foreign thieves at the expense of the indigenous majority population….except for ya sell out selves, none of the above are indigenous to the Americans, ya know why because they were never enslaved, go check it out yourselves, you have a copy…. this document says nothing about enriching yaselves, the bar association, nor the crooks in the supreme court…..

34. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

none of the above are indigenous to the AMERICAS..

35. @Miller

since i am up working on a project. havent been up this late in a long time. reminds me of my days of lucubration. to answer your questions i dont know.

i would have to see the particulars of the charges to see what is being alleged. i dont the date of the fraud and whether it would have been outside the period the ML laws were changed.

my guess would be the Tax Evasion charges since i assume no taxes were or have been paid on the income / compenstaion of 3 mil, that that is still ongoing and therefore would be captured by the change in the ML law. the ML charges can flow from that i believe but i dont enough of the Bim Tax Evasion laws to declare that is so

36. @ David.

No I didn’t mean the cheque in question, I was referring to when the company sends a copy of the audited financials to the bank, in the event they had bank facilities such as overdrafts or loans. At that point if the bank had concerns, they could of raised them with the company. For example if they had concerns that the assets were overstated and their security was questionable, they could of questioned the values then based on the audited financials.

In other words many could of raised the alarm if they were uncomfortable with their exposure. From the banks to the policy holders all had a voice that should have been heard prior to the final implosion of the company. Not saying that Paris shouldn’t feel the law book, but it did not have to reach that point if others had stood up including the supervisor of insurance.

37. Northern
    You should instead feel honoured. For you are one of the few this writer is motivated to read. Don’t always agree but you generally have something sensible to say.
    Can you blame this writer for having the memory of an elephant.

38. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

So is it true what they are saying on another blog…that Leroy Leper has a Dominica diplomatic passport..

Pacha…things just got real, real interesting….lawd

39. Silversleeves Avatar

Some a wunna want a mental examination! Wunna walk up and down all day shouting bout how nuhbody get arrest and Mia had all de information in de red bag. Now de first salvo get fire, yuh got unadulterated cunts like Pacha talking about persecuting political opponents and jackasses like Baje gone on to talk bout Mark Maloney. Wunna doan get tired? Mia cuh never do nuttin good fuh wunna because de goalposts always Rh shifting. A good ting she doan depend pun nun a wunna assholes because most Bajans got sort kinda sense. A real pity bout wunna doh. I does wondah if yuh cahn get a refund pun yuh birth if yuh born such foolish.

40. @Silversleeves June 25, 2020 9:39 PM

I believe this state of mind is called schizophrenia.

41. TheO,

That particular Lorenzo persona surfaces in matters such as these and contributes a little more than cockadoodledodos.

That being said, I have nothing to say about this arrest. I await the outcome of the case.

Who’s next?

42. Correction – cockadoodledoodoos

43. NorthernObserver Avatar

@Pacha
    I would go back and check your memory, and what I wrote.
    I never claimed CH was ‘innocent as a virgin’ or similar. You will find I questioned, and gave info I had, on the sequence of events. I also supported the decision to charge all 3. And I had several exchanges on the role chairman, Board etc in light of CH stepping down as Chair of GEL. Don’t confuse me with @plt.
    Admittedly I did not convict CH as the court of public opinion had. And I had info which, if true, did free them of most charges. It cannot be denied they were on the vessel and it had drugs as part of its cargo.
    But it was you who has issue with CH? Specifically his hiring/promotion choices at BMLAS? Again I have no knowledge, so you could be correct.
    Bottom line is I would like to hear under oath from the various players what actually transpired on, and after, that fateful voyage.

44. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

These charters should have been consistently and rigorously adherred to once ratified and the majority population granted full access to these rights as the indigenous, but black leaders decided that it was not important for their own people to be free or happy or wealthy with.their own land and money. Minorities should not have been enjoying these rights while the majority who fund the island oppressed, robbed and abused.

WURA-War-on-UJune 26, 2020 3:09 AM

▼Article V.
    Full effect and observance of human rights
    Indigenous peoples and individuals have the right to the full
    enjoyment of all human rights and fundamental freedoms,
    as recognized in the Charter of the United Nations, the
    Charter of the Organization of American States, and
    international human rights law.

Well I am yet to see any of the two governments whose colonial practices have been so destructive to the majority Black population.. observing or practicing any of these fundamental and international human rights as outlined in this documemt or in the UNs 30 Articles of Human Rights ratified since 1948 on their people.

Both governments in their arrogance and absolute backwardness, pretend that these documents dont exist, the people were never made aware of them until recently and that can be attributed to social media; ministers continue to act as though these charters that they are all signatory to and love to be seen signing does not apply to the majority population who elected them; that they only apply to minorities who they make sure have access to and enjoy these fundamental rights along with enriching themselves at the expense of the same majority, these people whom they prefer to have a relationship with for corrupt reasons while cutting out generationally the very people these international laws were created and meant to PROTECT completely out of the equation.

Some charters that once adherred to would help to alleviate poverty and oppression, they outright refuse to ratify so that the people remain helpless and vulnerable..

They boldfacedly allow the practice of racism and apartheid to be practiced on the majority population in direct violation of international law and then insultingly and disrespectfully call themselves leaders and got the absolute nerve to return to the same victimized population begging for votes every election cycle.

45. @ John A

You are right. There are numerous checks and balances in the management of the finances of a public company – all over seen by the regulator. But, by now you have realised, that even sensible Barbadians want blood. They are uncomfortable discussing anything, ANYTHING, unless it is politicised and a working class guy from St John, who did not go to Harrison College and got a Barbados Scholarship, and, Heavens forbid, is not a lawyer, is a good would-be victim. Even if proved innocent in a court of law, in the court of public opinion, Barbadian opinion, he will always be guilty.
    They do not understand (even the regulator) that taking taking the process step by step is long and boring. By the way, I wonder if the accounts/auditors regulators are going to carry out an investigation in to the firm(s) that annual audited the accounts of Clico?

46. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

Donna…they can crow until the cows come home, they cannot get out of any of this, all their crimes against the people are very well documented…let them sit on that.

47. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

Miller….all of the lawyers in the parliament who used it as a revolving door to enrich themselves and minorities…… know about these Charters, every one of them, every minister who crawled into the parliament have known about them and despite knowing about the existence of these fundamental human rights their people are entilted to, everyone of them pretended they did not exist and violated all the Charters to which they were signatory….did not want to see their own people enjoy any of these freedoms and rights….with their disrespectful, distateful, sell out selves they reserved these rights and freedoms for minorities only….sell outs of the criminal class..

… i can’t even remember Comissiong even one time mention any of these charters or tried in any way try to trigger their ENFORCEMENT……all in a bid to protect the criminal class

But there is hope, i now have nearly 3 years to keep posting them over and over to every website across the earth and to every island, every Continent where the African descended can be found and make sure that EVERY BLACK BAJAN IS EDUCATED ABOUT THEIR FUNDAMENTAL HUMAN RIGHTS to freedom…….how bout that….am sure the sell outs will be happy to get that load off their shoulders….and am more than happy to assist.

so how is the Leroy Leper case going now, i noticed that the Gollop god horse is already prancing around with excuses that he would have to contort himself to turn into reality, trying to get the case thrown out because CLICO had a name change…..which am sure was just another scam…

48. Prime minister mugabe should lead by example by subjecting herself to an investigation around allegations made during the last election that she illegally reduced or eliminated taxes or other payments owed by her father or his interests to the central government. Immediately after she has charges of treason lodged against both Freundel Stuart and Christopher Sinckler for the crimes committed against barbados.

Poor Leroy Parris is too much of a political lightweight to balance the scales of justice.

This is our answer to those who believe that Parris could be a cipher for society”s ills.

49. William Skinner Avatar

@Northern Observer
    I would like to see the day when three black men were on yacht and it was discovered by law enforcement that there were millions of dollars if illegal drugs on the yacht and their assess were free to walk about Barbados and continue to be chairmen and ceos of corporations. I waiting to see dah day my friend.
    I waiting to see the day when police find millions of dollars of drugs in some little board house in any ordinary district or fishing boat with three black men and they ain’t get loss in jail.
    I waiting to see de day.
    You trying to tell me that three men on a yacht with illegal drugs and one just get off just so without a trial?
    And the one that get off just so was up and down Barbados calling for a change of government almost every day…………

50. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

“And the one that get off just so was up and down Barbados calling for a change of government almost every day”

just compounds and exposes the level of corruption on the island that favors only ministers, lawyers and the most corrupt of minorities.

Leave a Reply to LorenzoCancel reply