Submitted by Grenville Phillips II

Black persons in the US can be sorted into three main groups. Caribbean immigrants, African immigrants, and the American descendants of enslaved people.

While all of them can claim to be victims of colour discrimination, only the American descendants of enslaved people, are owed reparations from the US government. It is that group that is normally pushed aside by other groups, as those groups clamour for the attention of US politicians.

Are Caribbean descendants of enslaved people owed reparations. Of course, and we received those reparations at our Independence. What we chose to do with them is our responsibility.

We received entire islands, including their infrastructure and institutions. But our leaders betrayed our trust and burdened us with unnecessarily high taxes and debt.

Our leaders taxed us to live on our own land, which was already paid for by the blood of our enslaved fore parents. They also instituted corrupting no-bid contracts, where taxpayers may pay between two to five times what a contract is actually worth. But these problems can be solved by voting for better persons.

Black Americans have yet to receive their reparations. Instead, they get to see other people redefine their issues to benefit themselves. They get to see Caribbean and African immigrants claim the US slavery existence as their own, as they lobby US politicians to give them reparations, to which they are not entitled.

They get to see Caribbean and African immigrants displace them in affirmative action places at schools and jobs. They get to see their community leaders receiving trinkets, to keep them voting for the Democratic Party.

Democratic Party governors and mayors have been implementing Democratic policies, without resistance, for decades. Yet, black Americans in those cities have remained at the bottom for generations – poor and hopeful.

Democratic policies have been proven not to work for black Americans. Yet, Caribbean and African immigrants are trying to shame black Americans, into continuing to support a party that has consistently failed them.

There is finally some momentum to getting the US to pay the debt owed to black Americans. Not with talk, but with permanent action. By some cosmic comedy, Trump appears to be the President who has done more for black Americans than any other president since Lincon – by any relevant measure (see Part 1 for details).

There will be a reckoning for Caribbean and African immigrants, whose activism on behalf of the Democratic Party, has held back most of their black American cousins, from prospering in the US economy.

If they trapped generations of black Americans in poverty in ignorance, then they need to repent. If they promoted proven failed Democratic policies, to selfishly take what rightfully belongs to their American cousins, then the only black lives that seem to matter to them, are their own.

Grenville Phillips II is a Chartered Structural Engineer and President of Solutions Barbados. He can be reached at NextParty246@gmail.com

86 responses to “Black Lives Matter – Part 2”

1. There should be a competition for Barbadians to design patterns for scarves so the PM can add them to her wardrobe.

Scarf wearing could become a trend starting with the women of the BLP.

2. WURA-War-on-UJune 17, 2020 1:52 AM

“He gambled and won as did the other coloured family that bought the 185 acres in 1928.

His family ultimately were able to own upwards of 1600 acres and provided employment for many people of all colours.

How many people did you and your family employ?”

Isn’t it ironic that the Black faces in the corrupt judiciary and bar association are now suing your family for even saying that they owned land stolen by toxic governments…

Life has its ups and downs.

3. Sarge

this JB video is good for a dancing lesson

4. @ John June 16, 2020 10:47 PM
    “In 1939 WWII broke out.
    Most of the world’s sugar producing lands were laid waste and factories destroyed.
    The price of sugar went up.”
    +++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

Why do you like to make such outlandishly misleading statements designed to fit into your narrow ‘political’ agenda?

Which “sugar producing lands” are you referring to? The lands which cultivated sugar beets in Europe which was a major theatre of fighting and destruction during WW11?

Were the main sugarcane producers like Brasil and India (or even Cuba) occupied by German or Japanese troops and their sugar factories destroyed by bombs from the luftwaffe and panzers and kamikaze dive bombers which destroyed Pearl Harbour?

You would have made sense and a more informed statement if you had said it was the German U-boats which significantly ‘interrupted’ the production and flow of ‘refined sugarcane’ to Europe, especially the formerly ‘Great’ Britain.

5. @ Piece the Prophet June 17, 2020 1:18 AM

Oh Piece You Great Prophet!

GP2 and John have certainly become best friends with this article. Not even I would have dared to provoke with such stark theses! And that says a lot…

The ISO Taliban and the quackering slave owner who wants to rewrite history. A so-called “duo infernale”. Like Morgoth and Sauron. Or Stalin and Mao. Or Sinckler and Inniss.

6. Piece the Prophet Avatar
    Piece the Prophet

@ Tron ye olde Jester

“…The ISO Taliban and the quackering slave owner who wants to rewrite history. A so-called “duo infernale”. Like Morgoth and Sauron. Or Stalin and Mao. Or Sinckler and Inniss…”

It is a union most unholy

De ole man is brought to envision scenes where humans are cohabiting with animals, man and a sheep though, truth be told, in thus combination, I dont know which one would be man, AND WHUCH THE SHEEP.

Both are real RH stoopid!

Maybe I would do better to envision them as interspecies cohabitation?

A jackass coupling with a goat?

Retract that use of jackass that would put the Rented Pair whom we shall beat unmercifully because dem rented, out of a job!

7. GP2 is smarter than we all thought so far. Having achieved nothing with the black masses, he now appeals to the minorities with his twisting of history. So he gets at least 5 percent (because basically everybody in this group sees it the same way as he does, but doesn’t have the guts to say it) plus half of all mulatto voices, making a total of 10 percent.

He will also be drawing the big sponsors (Baron Kyffin, Sir Baloney and the Williams brothers) to his side in the next election, provided he continues with his narrative. If he plays his cards wisely and limits himself to a few constituencies where the BLP is traditionally weak, he could also draw many clerical, Taliban-like blacks to his side and march into parliament with 2 or 3 people.

So some kind of southern strategy for Barbadians.

8. William Skinner Avatar

You wrote:

“ Barbados must change or die.”

Thank you!

9. Cuhdear Bajan Avatar

@Hants June 17, 2020 7:02 AM “There should be a competition for Barbadians to design patterns for scarves so the PM can add them to her wardrobe. Scarf wearing could become a trend starting with the women of the BLP.”

Please don’t make me wear a scarf.

I think that they are silly in the tropical heat.

I don’t wear scarves.

I don’t wear wigs.

I don’t wear anything with sleeves.

I rarely wear pants.

I hate being hot and uncomfortable

10. Will you stop undressing in the lobby…

11. Piece the Prophet Avatar
    Piece the Prophet

She sounds like a stripper to me

She ent to be pun Barbados Underground she should be pun naked Departure!!!

But it had to come out some time all did Cuh Dear talk, late at night, every night, when men sleeping.

All dem holes she digging in she “garden”, I knew she was gine expose sheself finally!!!

All dem tings she dont wear, she practically nekid!!

Only tempting de Honourable Blogmaster and one Tron!

Cause dem alone pun guard pun de site and she cavorting here

12. MillerJune 17, 2020 10:05 AM

I am posting this video for the third time so hopefully you will learn what you obviously do not know about world sugar supply 1939-46.

13. I will now quiz you on the contents of the video to see if you were able to learn anything.

What was the world sugar output in 1939, prior to WWII beginning?

By how much did sugar output fall at the end of WWII.

…. special bonus question!!

What is world sugar output today?

14. I who was Born a PAGAN and a SLAVE
    Now Sweetly Sleep a CHRISTIAN in my Grave
    What tho my hue was dark my SAVIORS sight
    Shall Change this darkness into radiant light
    Such grace to me my Lord on earth has given
    To recommend me to my Lord in heaven
    Whose glorious second coming here I wait
    With saints and Angels Him to celebrate

15. Scipio Africanus was born a pagan and a slave.

He accepted Christ in his life and was freed.

He is described as a servant not a slave.

He died in 1721 at the age of 18.

His last testament of faith is detailed on his gravestone in Bristol where he died.

Was his grave vandalised because he was born a pagan and a slave or because he died a Christian?

https://www.9news.com.au/world/black-lives-matter-protests-scipio-africanus-grave-vandalised-in-bristol-apparent-retaliation-edward-colston-statue/b281deba-5415-40dc-8490-2141e9347104

16. I understand Functional America is considering sending Christian Missionaries to Dysfunctional America.

17. Correction, Scipio Africanus died in 1720.

I am confusing the year with the year my ancestors were given their freedom and land by Quaker, Thomas Cuffley who lived in St. Philip.

Negro woman Jenney Cuffley, Negro woman Elizabeth Cuffley, Negro man John Cuffley, Negro man Roger Cuffley and Negro man Jeffrey Cuffley gained their freedom and 4 acres of land in the will to Thomas Cuffley, probated in 1721.

18. Nelson, and the Fake Outrage.

Whether the statue of Nelson stays, is demolished, is moved into a museum, is dumped in the river, or is auctioned off, is a matter for the people of Barbados to decide.

Before we got too carried away, and wanted to demolish everything built in Barbados prior to 1966, I thought that we should pause. It would be useful to develop some criteria for deciding what is to be taken down and what is to remain.

To avoid being hypocritical and discriminatory, I suggested that the criteria should be applied to all monuments. If we are unwilling to apply the same criteria to all of them, then we should apply it to none.

For that suggestion, I have, for the first time in my life, been subjected to racial slurs. I did not even know what the words meant, and had to research them.

I have participated in heated discussions on a wide range of topics, from people from many cultures. Some of them during my studies at university, some via the Internet, and some during my travels around this planet.

During these discussions, people have gotten angry, upset, and/or offended since we had vastly different starting points. But I believe that pursuing truth can benefit everyone, and we may converge to what is true through honest discussion.

I expect to be insulted, and more, by choosing this path of pursuing truth. I have even been threatened with death by supporters of Islamic terror. However, through painful discussion, we eventually converged to a common understanding on what the Qu’ran actually stated – and I gained the respect of those who previously wanted me dead.

Among the many insults and threats I have received over the past 5 decades, I have never experienced a racial slur, until now. It did not come from any white supremacists. It came from black Barbadian activists. Imagine that.

I have no authority to take down Nelson’s statue, or to keep it up. But others had.

PM Errol Barrow did not demolish Nelson’s statue, even though he could have. But these activists are silent. PMs Tom Adams, Bernard St John, Erskine Sandiford, Owen Arthur, David Thompson, and Freundel Stuart could have taken it down, but chose not to. The activists did not target them with racial slurs.

PM Mia Mottley can take it down. She has not. Are those cowards prepared to throw the same insults and racial slurs at her? The Minister of Culture, John King, stated that he is not in favour of discarding Nelson’s statue. Where is all the fake outrage now?

When I learnt what the racial slurs meant, I was hurt, but only momentarily. I was encouraged by the words of Jesus, and am now hardened to receive as many racial slurs that they can muster.

“The student is not above the teacher, nor a servant above his master. It is enough for students to be like their teachers, and servants like their masters. If the head of the house has been called Beelzebul, how much more the members of his household!

“So do not be afraid of them, for there is nothing concealed that will not be disclosed, or hidden that will not be made known. What I tell you in the dark, speak in the daylight; what is whispered in your ear, proclaim from the roofs.

Do not be afraid of those who kill the body but cannot kill the soul. Rather, be afraid of the One who can destroy both soul and body in hell.” Jesus, the Messiah. (Matthew 10:24-28)

Grenville Phillips II is a Chartered Structural Engineer and President of Solutions Barbados. He can be reached at NextParty246@gmail.com

19. @ John June 19, 2020 1:42 AM
    “Scipio Africanus was born a pagan and a slave.
    He accepted Christ in his life and was freed.
    He is described as a servant not a slave.
    He died in 1721 at the age of 18.
    His last testament of faith is detailed on his gravestone in Bristol where he died.
    Was his grave vandalised because he was born a pagan and a slave or because he died a Christian?”

Why don’t you and your ilk on BU like the two GPs and Freedom Croaker stop desecrating that philosophy of morality called Christianity?

How can a person be born a “pagan and a slave” but died a “Christian” still carrying the Pagan name of “Scipio Africanus”?

Isn’t this the ‘blackened’ hallmark of the white man’s ‘tarnished’ version of Christianity whose genuine message is one of Loving thy neighbour as thyself?

Why was the slave boy not given, at his ‘Christening’, the name of either Matthew, Mark, Luke or John?

Even Martin Luther or John Hawkins would have been much more suitable than the one of racist insult adopted from Roman military invader who died long before the astrological birth of the eponymous Jesus.

When the desecration of the grave of a long-dead black slave becomes the technique of retaliation by the white supremacists in the UK, then it provides clear and indisputable evidence that the end of the age of the Two Fishes is nigh.

Why desecrate the grave of a long-dead black slave alienated from his African roots and given the eponymous name of the ‘Black Scipio’ in retaliation for the pulling down of idolatrous artefacts representing the pale-skin agents of evil which Yahweh- the Jewish representation of the god of the Age of the Ram- commanded (as per the pale skin man’s printed book) NOT to bow down to and worship?

If you John were that ‘informed’ about the ‘doctored’ history recorded in your ‘whitewashed’ Bible you would have been able to ‘figure out’ what the golden calf in the Book of Exodus at Ch. 32 represented to the physically-free but still mentally and spiritually enslaved Israelites just like the black people in the Diaspora of today.

20. DavidJune 19, 2020 5:12 AM

Nelson, and the Fake Outrage.

Whether the statue of Nelson stays, is demolished, is moved into a museum, is dumped in the river, or is auctioned off, is a matter for the people of Barbados to decide.

++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

The people of Barbados decided long ago to put it there generations ago because to them he was a hero.

Go read what is on the plinth.

21. @ June 19, 2020 8:54 AM
    “The people of Barbados decided long ago to put it there generations ago because to them he was a hero.”

Did those “people of Barbados” include the blacks still enslaved, that is, still the property of the plantations whose owners used as the basis to compute
    their entitlements to future compensation from the British government?

Or are you still insisting that black chattel slavery ended when your ‘nigger ancestors were given 4 acres of rab land along with 1 mulatto mule?

Those poor black people could not even leave the orbit of the plantation without their master’s permission. How then could they have participated in any ‘referendum of consensus’ on the erection of a statue glorifying the exploits of a racist who viewed black people as animals as ordained by your god to be subservient to and serve the white man.

22. @ David June 19, 2020 5:12 AM

It is once again amusing how the writers of the press use our comments on BU.

23. How can a person be born a “pagan and a slave” but died a “Christian” still carrying the Pagan name of “Scipio Africanus”?

How can Julius (July) and Augustus (August) be routinely used today both as name of months and names, Augustine, Julius?

Has it dawned on you that Horatio Nelson may have been named Horatius who held the bridge?

Horatius was a pagan too!!

Didn’t stop Heads Marshall teaching about him in first form HC.

I was sold on Latin from that time on.

Then out spake brave Horatius,
    The Captain of the Gate:
    “To every man upon this earth
    Death cometh soon or late.
    And how can man die better
    Than facing fearful odds,
    For the ashes of his fathers,
    And the temples of his Gods.”[4]

Haul down the bridge, Sir Consul,
    With all the speed ye may;
    I, with two more to help me,
    Will hold the foe in play.
    In yon strait path a thousand
    May well be stopped by three.
    Now who will stand on either hand,
    And keep the bridge with me?

24. @ John June 19, 2020 9:47 AM
    “Horatius was a pagan too!!”

We know that most Western European names have their ‘Romance’ etymological roots in Latin.

What would have been your reaction had the African ‘pagan’ boy been “Christianized” as Muhammad or Apollo Africanus or even Krishna Africanus?

Should we call you “Iōánnēs” Africanus of BU the ‘Hellenized Christian’ Jew?

With that more than one drop of African blood in you, clearly your Yahweh has not been gracious to you!

25. Allow me to take issue with 3 points of yyour post
    (1) “To avoid being hypocritical and discriminatory, I suggested that the criteria should be applied to all monuments. If we are unwilling to apply the same criteria to all of them, then we should apply it to none.”

****I have no objection to this statement. What I object to is that your criteria may be unable to separate the racist from the freedom fighter; the flaws are in your criteria and in you.

(2) “For that suggestion, I have, for the first time in my life, been subjected to racial slurs. I did not even know what the words meant, and had to research them.

***** I wonder what racial slurs you had to look up. Are you doing creative writing again?? If you are so naive abandon the political race.

(3) “I have no authority to take down Nelson’s statue, or to keep it up. But others had.

PM Errol Barrow did not demolish Nelson’s statue, even though he could have. But these activists are silent. PMs Tom Adams, Bernard St John, Erskine Sandiford, Owen Arthur, David Thompson, and Freundel Stuart could have taken it down, but chose not to. The activists did not target them with racial slurs.”

** let’s deal with today. It must be painful after writing so much nonsense to learn you are still consider black,’

26. @ TheOgazerts June 19, 2020 4:20 PM

Thanks for the analysis. It is obvious that the rebellious opposition only wants to use the monument to harm the legitimate and democratically elected Mottley government. Any unauthorized vanadalism at the memorial must be prosecuted – unless the activists immediately erect a monument to Goddess Bim at their own expense.

I have a formidable proposal: I have in mind Goddess Bim on horseback, with an African look and an unbroken trident as her weapon. The trident points exactly towards London. The goddess cries out: Revenge. National heroine Mia Mottley rides beside her, with a statute book in one hand and a huge mace for the rebellious opposition in the other.

27. @John

You have made your point whatever it is posting this gibberish, enough.

28. LESSONS FOR SELF EMPOWERMENT AND SUCCESS FOR BLACK BAJANS

29. 14 more Black Lives that did not matter, one of them was 3 years old.

30. Black Lives Matter, Part 3 – The Sabotage

Caribbean and black Americans have had similar slavery and post-slavery economic struggles until the 1960s. In 1964, the Civil Right Act gave black Americans the equal right to participate in the US economy. In the 1960s and 1970s, most Caribbean states negotiated their Independence, which opened their national economies to all citizens.

In Barbados, our tax-payer funded education and healthcare helped lift many out of poverty. An impoverished adult could escape poverty within one year. A child in an impoverished family, could escape poverty within five years after graduating from secondary school.

Our Constitution protected our right to property, and gave people the confidence to plan for the future. Many people negotiated loans, built houses, and made investments.

In the US, many black Americans were delayed from equally participating in the US economy. They were held back due to the colour prejudices of many of the non-black population. Due to the courageous efforts of civil rights organisations, employers learnt that they would pay a high penalty for colour discrimination.

In the Caribbean and the US, the path from poverty, to self-reliance, to prosperity, was finally available to anyone who made the effort. Then the path was sabotaged.

THE SABOTAGE.

In the Caribbean, the main tool used to oppress citizens was no-bid contracts, where contracts are given to political supporters, without competitive tendering. This automatically disqualified the most productive companies, and their competent staff, from participating in the economy.

Since competence and productivity are not required for receiving no-bid contracts, the public paid between 2 to 5 times the normal cost of the contract. They also paid excessive maintenance costs for substandard work. Therefore, Caribbean countries got into unsustainable debts.

The public paid these excessive costs through punishing taxes. This prevented the majority from prospering, by trapping them in a barely self-reliant state of house-poor and/or working poor.

Black American descendants of enslaved persons were economically oppressed in a different manner. Many were trapped in a political ideology of welfare dependence, which may prevent destitution, but it is not a path to prosperity.

While dependence is a normal and healthy condition for infants, it damages the self-esteem of adults. Once families are dependent on welfare, they may only afford the worst housing in economically depressed areas. This forces their children to attend the worst performing schools, which normally disqualifies them from university, and jobs with advancement potential.

Most black persons are prevented from prospering, so that they can be controlled for political reasons. If black Americans prospered, they would likely not support the political policies that encouraged a self-esteem suffocating economic dependency. Black activists became the new overseers, who are well-paid to kept their fellow blacks in line – with racial slurs.

If Caribbean persons understood the link between corrupting no-bid contracts and their barely self-reliant existence, they would demand change. The media have become the new overseers, to mislead the public into believing that they are held back by their colonial past.

In Barbados, we are supposed to believe that Nelson’s statue prevents us from progressing. Not the corrupting no-bid contract. Not the gross mismanagement of our economy and public services. But Nelson. Imagine that.

Psychological phobias are real. The media has successfully made some of our population very afraid. That should concern us, and we should help them. There are normally two phobia solutions. If the object of their fear is unmoveable, like a fear of the sea, then the fearful can learn to be productive with coping skills. If the object is small, it can be removed.

We cannot afford to have people unproductive for their entire lives, because of one statue. It is small enough that it can be moved to a new maritime museum, where those who fear it can avoid it – and get on with their lives. Perhaps then, they will finally focus on what oppresses everyone else.

31. Another Trumpian move – blame the media!

The media had nothing to do with my opinion. And who the hell thinks that it is Nelson’s statue keeping us back???? The calls for its removal are based on symbolism and its effect. It is a call for an awakening and a new beginning.

PS. Who exactly is it that gets these huge no bid contracts? STEUPSE!
    This man seems incapable of connecting simple dot to dots.

There is more than enough blame to go around. The black majority also carries a share. We cannot, however, ignore the effect of our colonial history that robbed us of a sense of self that the Jews never suffered. Where we failed is that we tried to move forward without reclaiming that sense of self. We tried to move forward as somebody inherently foreign to our self.

The removal of Nelson should only signal a symbolic reimagining and reinventing of our self. It is only the beginning of the journey. After that we must set about rewriting our colonial history from our perspective, researching our pre-colonisation history and charting our future with our full identity restored.

If we skip that step we are doomed to fail again. All battles are fought and won in the mind first!

We must find a way to put together a mosaic that values the fulness of who we are.

No more Little England or Wannabe America but a little island proud to be itself.

32. Good comment.

33. Tyre Nichols Say His Name Avatar
    Tyre Nichols Say His Name

Black Live Matter Part Infinity ♾️
    Tyre Nichols
    Say His Name