Submitted by Dr. GP

Attached is a word study on The unsearchable riches of Christ.

Ephesians 3:8 KJV

• Unto me, who am less than the least of all saints, is this grace given , that I should preach among the Gentiles the unsearchable riches of Christ;
  • The word rendered “unsearchable,” anexichniaston, occurs only once elsewhere in the New Testament Romans 11:33, where it is rendered “past finding out;”

Romans 11:33 KJV

• O the depth of the riches both of the wisdom and knowledge of God! how unsearchable are his judgments, and his ways past finding out!
  • What does Paul mean by the “unsearchable riches of Christ”? (v. 8)
  • The heart of the apostle was so full of admiration of the riches, sufficiency and glory that was in the Saviour; that he choose this most emphatic expression in the New Testament, to express  his thoughts and to remind us that our experiences of the riches of Christ have frequently been 
  • overwhelming,
  • and virtually incomprehensible
  • difficult to contemplate,
  • literally stunning.
  • Anexichniastos
  • “Unsearchable” in these passages means unable to track or unable to map, as in the sense of mapping out a territory.
  • The Greek word means  literally not traceable by footprints”. We cannot trace exactly why or how great God loves us   WE   CAN NOT MAP IT OUT
  • It means that which cannot be “traced out,” or explored; which is inscrutable, or incomprehensible.
  • The meaning here is, that there was a “sufficiency” in Christ which could not be traced out or explored. It was wholly incomprehensible.
  • God is so infinite and the things that He does is so vast that we are unable to completely map out all that He has done and plans to accomplish.
  • This term tells us that God is not completely “knowable” or that we are not able to fully figure God out.
  • Because of Godʼs infinite nature He is by definition “unsearchable”.
  • It is “unsearchable”just as a mine is inexhaustible, and whose treasures can never be fully explored
  • The word “unsearchable  is exceedingly well chosen here: it refers to the footsteps of God,
  • the plans he had formed,
  • the dispensations which he had published, and
  • the innumerable providences which he had combined, to prepare, mature, and bring to full effect and view
  •  his gracious designs in the salvation of a ruined world, by the incarnation, passion, death, and resurrection of his Son.
  • There were in these schemes and providences such riches –
  • such an abundance,
  •  such a variety, as could not be comprehended even by the naturally vast, and, through the Divine inspiration, unparalleledly capacious mind of the apostle.
  • Anexichniastos
  • “Unsearchable” in these passages means unable to track or unable to map, as in the sense of mapping out a territory.
  • The Greek word translated  “unsearchable” here has also been translated
  • boundless, unfathomable,
  • fathomless, unsearchable,
  • endless,
  •  unending,
  •  untraceable,
  •  unsurveyable,
  • indetectable,
  • untrackable,
  •  unexploreable, and
  • inexhaustible.
  • The Greek word means  literally not traceable by footprints”. We cannot trace exactly why or how great God loves us   WE   CAN NOT MAP IT OUT
  • It means that which cannot be “traced out,” or explored; which is inscrutable, or incomprehensible.
  • The meaning here is, that there was a “sufficiency” in Christ which could not be traced out or explored. It was wholly incomprehensible.
  • God is so infinite and the things that He does is so vast that we are unable to completely map out all that He has done and plans to accomplish.
  • This term tells us that God is not completely “knowable” or that we are not able to fully figure God out.
  • Because of Godʼs infinite nature He is by definition “unsearchable”.
  • It is “unsearchable”just as a mine is inexhaustible, and whose treasures can never be fully explored
  • We can discuss just this one subject to the end of time and not cover all the possibilities or the reasons.
  • We know what God has revealed to us and we see hints of vast things happening behind the scenes, but we aren’t able to map all of it out.
  • Although we admire and praise the wonder that Jesus should come and save us, but still we realize that what he did for us is beyond human understanding.
  • Certainly we can not fully and completely grasp the extent of God’s plans or all the things He did to accomplish his goals for us, or all the reasons why certain actions were done or even exactly how Jesus is able to save us by his death?
  • We should not however allow this to discourage us, as if we can know nothing of God.
  • Rather we should realize that God has revealed certain aspects of himself so that we can know God without fully knowing him.
  • However, we will be able to know God forever in heaven and yet never be bored by him… there will always be something new to discover about Him.
  • We understand this in human relationships which are finite – the best marriages are those in which two people spend a lifetime discovering each other.
  • In like manner every bit we learn now,  we receive as a blessing as we move closer to God, and his coming.
  • these riches inconceivable:
  • these riches, are communicable, as well as solid, satisfying, and lasting; and they are unsearchable to the natural man, and cannot be fully investigated by believers themselves; they will be telling over to all eternity: and they appear unsearchable, when it is considered what we have procured, and what blessings have been dispensed; what a large family Christ has maintained by them, and how richly and fully he has provided for us, and to what honour and grandeur he raises us all.

33 responses to “Sweet Sunday Sermon – The Unsearchable Riches of Christ”

1. Here is a response from Mozambique on the thoughts above

This is very encouraging words. You always strengthen our faith. Always when you write to us your words , they come to rise us up and most of the lessons that you send through me , they become a blessing to many. You are such an inspiration . Truly , I always think what I should give you in order to appreciate your labor, but I always commit you into the hands of the Lord because He is the rewarder of His servants.

2. 1/2
    Here is a response from New York..
    I would encourage you to let your group know that you post in BU under the alias GP. Let them see the full extent of the man.

It would be tough for them to reconcile the man of Christ and the writer of nasty comments. I am certain that they would pray for the Good Lord heal your split personality.

3. Yes indeed. Telling the truth ion BU is ungodly.
    The BU Bible illiterates can not discuss the WORD, so they revert to ad hominems.
    I have been criticized on BU for 12 years. Keep it up! Your barbs will not detract me for they do not harm me.
    The response from New York is poor, pithy, puerile, pustular and primitive ………and most ineffective, and amusing!
    Now get thee behind me Satan!
    YOU ARE NOT MY JUDGE, AND YOU WILL NOT BE MY JUDGE AT THE BEMA EITHER!

4. 2/2
    Told you that I am glad I am not your judge. The Good Lord will give you what you deserve.

I dare you to invite your brothers here and let thenm see the full GP.

“Now get thee behind me Satan”.
    “Judge not, that you be not judged. For with the judgment you pronounce you will be judged, and with the measure you use it will be measured to you. Why do you see the speck that is in your brother’s eye, but do not notice the log that is in your own eye? Or how can you say to your brother, ‘Let me take the speck out of your eye,’ when there is the log in your own eye? You hypocrite, first take the log out of your own eye, and then you will see clearly to take the speck out of your brother’s eye”

It is funny that you cannot see the log.

5. SEEMS THAT YOU FOUND ONE LIKKLE VERSE FROM YOUR SUNDAY SCHOOL DAYS
    RE The Good Lord will give you what you deserve.

I CAN ASSURE YOU THAT HE WILL GIVE ME WHAT HE SEE FIT.

IT IS NOTEWORTHY THAT IN YOUR IGNORANCE OF THE WORD, THAT YOU DO NOT KNOW THAT THE LORD IN HIS GRACE DOES NOT GIVE US WHAT WE DESERVE.

Lamentations 3:22-24 REVEALS, FOR EXAMPLE THE FOLLOWING
    22 It is of the Lord’s mercies that we are not consumed, because his compassions fail not.
    23 They are new every morning: great is thy faithfulness.
    24 The Lord is my portion, saith my soul; therefore will I hope in him.

RE I dare you to invite your brothers here and let then see the full GP.

BELIEVE YOU ME, I HAVE INVITED MANY TO BU
    THEY DO NOT LIKE TO SEE THE CURSING ON BU– ALL THE BAD WORDS.
    THERE ARE UNABLE TO UNDERSTAND HOW WE ARE SUPPOSED TO BE SO EDUCATED, AND HATE THOSE SO MUCH WHO DO NOT SHARE THEIR POLITICAL VIEWS OR ACTUALLY BELIEVE THAT “ALL LIVES MATTER”– A FACT THAT GOES BACK TO GENESIS 4!

I THINK THAT YOU SHOULD STICK TO WHAT YOU ARE BEST AT.
    BUT THANKS FOR YOUR AMUSING INTERJECTION.
    NOW GO BACK TO YOUR DADDY! cf JOHN 8:44

6. About 5-6 years ago, I turned up an assembly meeting one Sunday morning and was greeted by one of the elders.One being asked how I was doing, I responded with my usual “poor polite and peaceful. He gave me a short rebuke about the riches I have in Christ.

On returning home, I got an a mail from a friend in Jamaica requesting that I explained the term “the unsearchable riches of Christ” for him.

I sat then and researched the Greek, and penned the Word study, which I submitted for this week’s Sweet Sunday Sermon.

7. @ TheOGazerts June 14, 2020 3:00 PM

You are beginning to see and feel the full force of paranoia from the schizoid religious zealot; full with rage and anger and hiding behind the bible like most evil people.

He is No gentle Dr Jekyll and criminally-insane Mr Hyde. He is just a stark raving lunatic with a troubled soul badly in need of spiritual healing.

The man was certified from his days in Barbados; right Doc L W?

8. Silversleeves Avatar

Good job GP. You bring de word of God to people and I thank yuh. The Lord will reward yuh for your patience and dedication to the Word in dealing wid dese Satanists. I appreciate you and your work

9. God deals with each of us individually and alone.

None of us deserve what He gives us.

He does so out of boundless Love and Grace.

10. @ Silversleeves June 14, 2020 6:40 PM

Even though he constantly refers to your BOSS MAM as the “PRIME WICKER” OF BIM?

Why don’t you checkout his past contributions to see how often he has described your No.1 queen as the ‘blood-red’ expert in clitoral lobotomy?

Do you consider his refrain of “Obama the Bul**er” to be also the “word of God” to describe a man of outstanding achievement who will go down in the annals of history?

But what can we expect from two birds of the same dirty feathers ‘lying’ together in a nest of hypocrisy!

11. 3/3
    Did they realize that it was you doing most of the cussing. Bet you did not tell them you were GP. Probably posted one of your “stellar powerpoints” and kept your mouth shut.

“James 1:26, KJV: “If any man among you seem to be religious, and bridleth not his tongue, but deceiveth his own heart, this man’s religion is vain.”

Seems like he was talking about you, but then again, you don’t seem to be religious.

12. Silversleeves Avatar

Miller
    Get the f**k out of here. GP and I don’t agree pun politics but I still appreciate his wuk fuh de Lord. Carry your satanic self up somebody else’s ass, yuh pederast (yuh like dah nuh)

13. Grasshopper, you are out of your depth!!

14. @ John June 14, 2020 7:32 PM

How do you know that ‘God’ is a male?

Why do you refer to God as “He” and not ‘She’ or IT?

We thought you were that smart enough to be able decipher those songs of praise are dedicated to the rainbow of the beauty of Mother Nature and the adoration of the LIGHT.

15. @ John June 14, 2020 9:09 PM

You really mean to say the ‘brainwashing’ from learning by rote instead of questioning what is written down in a ‘doctored’ book no different in intent to the other reams of religious dogma describing tall tales, myths and legends.

Why don’t you taken a leaf out of the book of the Buddhist monk and the teacher of your Grasshopper who is the spiritual embodiment of the under-developed John Knox the wannabe Quaker still searching for his racial and spiritual identity in order to find that elusive peace of mind which only the recognition and acceptance of the Light can bring?

16. Learnt this by rote for a remarkable and Christian woman who worked with us.

https://www.kingjamesbibleonline.org/Proverbs-24-7/

17. As for me, a “biblical illiterate”, I take solace in “Camel Knees”, James 3. …

“But the tongue can no man tame; it is an unruly evil, full of deadly poison.

Therewith bless we God, even the Father; and therewith curse we men, which are made after the similitude of God.

Out of the same mouth proceedeth blessing and cursing. My brethren, these things ought not to be so.

Does a fountain send forth at the same place sweet water and bitter?

Can the fig tree, my brethren, bear olive berries? Either a vine, figs. So can no fountain yield both salt water and fresh.

Who is a wise man and endued with knowledge among you? Let him show out of a good conversation his works his meekness and wisdom. …”. James: 3. 8-14.

Far better, in fact, to read the relatively short chapter 3 in its entirety.

… @ Blogmaster: Dr. GP might even be encouraged to cast a few of his pearls and do a presentation on James 3 (KJV), for the edification of biblical illiterates like The Miller and meself

18. Each One Teach One
    The Doctor’s mindset is that he has come here to teach the illiterate and ignorant on BU and he has nothing to learn from them
    He is deluded on both counts

19. RE The Doctor’s mindset is that he has come here to teach the illiterate and ignorant on BU and he has nothing to learn from them
    INSTEAD OF YOUR STUPID MUSIC ENLIGHTEN US ON THE UNSEARCHABLE RICHES OF CHRIST
    INSTEAD OF THE AD HOMINEMS CAN ANY OF YOU VERY LITERATE AND WISE FOLK ADD ANYTHING ON ANY SUNDAY TO WHAT I SUBMIT OR ACCURATELY REFUTE ANYTHING I HAVE SAID?

RE @ Blogmaster: Dr. GP might even be encouraged to cast a few of his pearls and do a presentation on James 3 (KJV), for the edification of biblical illiterates like The Miller and meself

MR PILGRIM, I AM SURE THERE IS A LOT TO BE FOUND ON THE INTERNET ABOUT THE BOOK OF JAMES
    THERE IS NO GOOD REASON WHY HE CAN NOT AVAIL HIMSELF OF THE BUFFET OF EXEGESES ON JAMES CHAPTER 3 AVAILABLE THERE TO EDIFY AND ENTERTAIN ” biblical illiterates like The Miller and HIMSELF

I HAVE THAT MR PILGRIM IS A SAINT WHO IS FAIRLY PURE AND SPOTLESS AND HAS READ AND UNDERSTOOD James 2:10 ► For whosoever shall keep the whole law, and yet offend in one point, he is guilty of all.

I REST MY CASE

20. The ability to create music is one of god’s gift to man. It is referred to as a universal language. However one must be able to appreciate the humanities.

21. “INSTEAD OF YOUR STUPID MUSIC ENLIGHTEN US ON THE UNSEARCHABLE RICHES OF CHRIST”

It has been explained to you religion and spirituality does not begin and end with Christ
    you should learn some of the eastern philosophies that taught Christ his own philosophies about religion
    you may think you are well ahead of others in enlightenment but they are actually catching you up to lap you again
    you need to learn that spirituality is effortless self realisation in the real sense you old sulky cry baby

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fmU7KWYaxtQ

22. RE The ability to create music is one of god’s gift to man. It is referred to as a universal language.

THIS IS DESCRIBED IN GENESIS FOUR V 21 And his brother’s name was Jubal: he was the father of all such as handle the harp and organ.

RE However one must be able to appreciate the humanities.
    WHAT EVER THAT MEANS

THE ORIGIN OF THE HUMANITIES ARE DESCRIBED IN GENESIS FOUR THUS
    20 And Adah bare Jabal: he was the father of such as dwell in tents, and of such as have cattle.
    21 And his brother’s name was Jubal: he was the father of all such as handle the harp and organ.
    22 And Zillah, she also bare Tubalcain, an instructer of every artificer in brass and iron:

WHEN LAMECH BOASTED TO HIS WIFE ABOUT KILLING A MAN HE PROVED BY HIS WORDS TO BE THE FIRST POET AND AN EXCELLENT ONE TOO
    23 And Lamech said unto his wives, Adah and Zillah, Hear my voice; ye wives of Lamech, hearken unto my speech: for I have slain a man to my wounding, and a young man to my hurt.

EXPERTS ON HEBREW POETRY DECLARE THESE FEW LINES TO BE VERY EXCELLENT POETRY

SOME OF HUMANITIES SO CALLED HAVE BEEN A BENEFIT TO MAN
    OFTEN TIMES THE SAME HUMANITIES HAVE BEEN A DETRIMENT……THIS CAN NOT BE REFUTED
    LAMECH WAS A BRILLIANT POET AND A VERY EVIL MAN

ONE HAS THE RIGHT TO CLASSIFY MUSIC ACCORDING TO THEIR TASTE
    SOME LOVE MUSICAL DIARRHOEA
    SOME PREFER CLASSICAL AND CHURCH MUSIC AND APPRECIATE A LITTLE BIT OF OTHER GENRES

SOME OF US ONLY SEEM TO KNOW ONE SET AND SEEM IGNORANT IN DISCERNING WHAT IS APPROPRIATE AND WHEN AND WHERE

AS PREDICTED AND WELL ILLUSTRATED IN GENESIS FOUR MANKIND DEVOLVED RAPIDLY AFTER THE FALL IN GENESIS THREE AND HAS CONTINUED SUCH DEVOLUTION INTO DESPAIR AND DESTRUCTION

UNDOUBTEDLY THE HUMANITY THAT IS ROOTING AND HOOTING AND LOOTING AND SOOTING IN THE USA IN RECENT WEEKS KNOW A GREAT DEAL ABOUT THE HUMANITIES!

SO MUCH FOR HUMANITY AND THE HUMANITIES!
    MARANATHA!

23. @ Dr. GP:

Know that I declined any form of “sainthood” a very, very long time ago.

STILL WAITING FOR YOUR EXEGISIS ON JAMES 3, ITS RELEVANCE TO, AND ITS APPLICATION BY YOU IN YOUR OTHER ARGUMENTS ON THE BU “RUMSHOP” AS YOU PUT IT. (Now, your inferior arguments have caused me to shout – unnecessarily using upper case).

Surely, you must be familiar with James 3, unlike biblical illiterates like myself, Miller, DPD and others. When can we expect a serious (every fool can access and spout off on the internet) exegesis from you on the particular text?

24. But he answered, “It is written,
    ‘Man shall not live by bread alone,
    but by every word that proceeds
    out of the mouth of God.’”

And man will be judged not only by the words of his mouth but the meditation of his heart

Words Re-Vision

25. re your inferior arguments have caused me to shout – unnecessarily using upper case
    1- I was not arguing with you or a soul– I usually just try to put my point of view).
    2- I dont view your using upper case as shouting, for when I do the same, I am not shouting, for I dont shout…i have not had the need to for the last 30 years.

re When can we expect a serious exegesis from you on the particular text? I DO NOT KNOW.
    Whereas it is true that every fool can access and spout off on the internet, as is evident from reading BU, ALOT OF GOOD EXPOSITORS HAVE POSTED ON THE INTERNET, SO AS I HAVE PREVIOUSLY STATED, MR PILGRIM, I AM SURE THERE IS A LOT TO BE FOUND ON THE INTERNET ABOUT THE BOOK OF JAMES THAT THERE IS NO GOOD REASON WHY YOU CAN NOT AVAIL YOURSELF OF THE BUFFET OF EXEGESES ON JAMES CHAPTER 3 AVAILABLE THERE TO EDIFY AND ENTERTAIN

I HAVE PERSONALLY PREFERED JUDE, AND THE PETRINE AND JOHANNINE EPISTLES
    ALTHOUGH 20 YEARS AGO I HEARD MY FIRST TEACH ON JAMES AND I SAT AND WROTE A DO’S AND DONT’S FROM THE BOOK OF JAMES.

THAT IS THE MOST YOU WILL GET FROM ME ON JAMES

26. Dr. GP:

Duly noted, but will you not kindly share your list of “Dos and Donts” emanating from your teacher’s exposition on James?

Specifically, regarding James’s particular admonitions on don’ts!

27. Mr Pilgrim Sir
    I heard my first son preach his first and second messages one Sunday in 1998
    The first was entitled ALMOST OBEYED & ALMOST BELIEVED.
    The second one in the evening was on James and was entitled JUST DO IT!
    This inspired me to jot down my list of “Dos and Donts” in James.
    I seem to have one message on James from a few years ago when I was asked to give the final talk in a series on James.
    Let me submit them both for Sunday.coming

28. Piece the Prophet Avatar
    Piece the Prophet

My fellow myope and apostate Dr. GP

Salutations

De ole man gives you thanks for your interpretation of this article on the Unsearchable Nature of Triune God whether we seek to discover The Father Jehovah Jireh, The Son Jesus the Christ or The Holy Spirit

Or what other schools of thought use temporal words and calls THE CAUSELESS CAUSE.

The perpetual inability of the finite to describe The Infinite

I offer ask people if, in all the notes played since Jubal Cain et al, in all the music written has any man caught a sound? and held a C Sharp?

Yet our God can do that, He can do and has done, that impossibility which we humans cannot!

Let me pause from that thought since that was not meant to be my contribution here today.

Matthew 21:12

“And Jesus went into the temple of God, and cast out all them that sold and bought in the temple, and overthrew the tables of the moneychangers, and the seats of them that sold doves,”

Few can understand how in such perfect peace, such action and power and might could have resided.

In fact many here conveniently forget this verse because it does not comply with their image of Jesus the Christ.

And, by extension, you, Dr GP, are supposed to be a wimp and talk nice words and thing.

But of one thing de ole man is sure, none of us gine get judged by a man and, ALL THAT WE DO IN OUR HEARTS will be judged by HE WHO SEES HEARTS and is not deceived by our words!

Keep The Faith until Our Lord Comes and expect Judgement from Him Who Alone Can, and Will, Judge

29. HI PIECE
    NICE TO SEE YOU
    HAVE NOT SEEN YOU FOR A WHILE
    BEST WISHES