One of the questions the blogmaster use to be unable to answer based on observations displayed on the blog – is why individuals sacrifice a dispassionate mindset and instead exhibit partisanship DESPITE being highly educated. It should be logical to assume that acquiring an above average level of education was the best counter to irrational and bias decision making. Over time the blogmaster learned the condition is not restricted to members of the BU community. It is a global condition.

What made the blogmaster offer an opinion at this time?

Several examples of irrational responses can be found in the interactions of commenters on the blog in recent hours whether about BOSS, appointment of a second Deputy Commissioner of Police, the current racial unrest in the USA and a few others.

The following video of 5 minutes and 15 seconds duration is highly recommended by the blogmaster for viewing by the BU community.

91 responses to “Why Intelligent People Demonstrate Partisanship”

1. Cuhdear Bajan Avatar

Yes David politics can make us irrational.

Religion can make us irrational

Misogyny can make us irrational

The belief that we are superior to others can make us irrational.

Take a look at this mostly highly regarded nerosurgeon who murdered his physician wife in late 2016. Largely because she was planning to leave after years of mistreatment. And his mistreatment of her originated in his belief that women are inferior, and that the daughter of labourers was not good enough for him the son f one of Canada’s most eminent heart surgeons:

https://www.macleans.ca/society/the-biggest-lessons-from-dr-elana-frics-life-and-tragic-murder/

David when people show you by their works or by their actions who they are you MUST BELIEVE them.

2. RE their is thought process we must disrupt to avoid a bias.
    REALLY? TELL US HOW EXACTLY THIS IS DONE, SIR.

3. @Simple Simon

Your point is taken but are they outlier examples?

4. You must challenge yourself to reach out of your comfort zone.

You must be honest with yourself to work 25/7 at trying to sync ‘mind body and soul’.

Ways to Reduce Cognitive Dissonance
    When there are conflicts between cognitions (thoughts, beliefs, opinions), people will take steps to reduce the dissonance and feelings of discomfort. They can go about doing this a few different ways:

Add more supportive beliefs that outweigh dissonant beliefs. People who learn that greenhouse emissions result in global warming might experience feelings of dissonance if they drive a gas-guzzling vehicle. In order to reduce this dissonance, they may seek out new information that overrides the belief that greenhouse gasses contribute to global warming.
    Reduce the importance of the conflicting belief. A man who cares about his health might be disturbed to learn that sitting for long periods of time during the day is linked to a shortened lifespan. Since he has to work all day in an office and spends a great deal of time sitting, it is difficult to change his behavior. To deal with the feelings of discomfort, he might instead find some way of rationalizing the conflicting cognition. He might justify his sedentary behavior by saying that his other healthy behaviors—like eating sensibly and occasionally exercising—make up for his largely sedentary lifestyle.
    Change your belief. Changing the conflicting cognition is one of the most effective ways of dealing with dissonance, but it is also one of the most difficult, particularly in the case of deeply held values and beliefs, such as religious or political leanings.

https://www.verywellmind.com/what-is-cognitive-dissonance-2795012

5. Cuhdear Bajan Avatar

@David June 8, 2020 3:13 PM @Simple Simon. “Your point is taken but are they outlier examples?”

Since murder is not the norm. Most human beings NEVER murder. Can we then look at all murderers as outliers?

Isn’t that the argument that John is trying to advance about the Minnessota policeman?

I don’t see these people as outliers.

i see tham as people whose dangerous biases whether racial, religious, political, economic, gender lead them to devalur other HUMAN BEINGS, and whose biases lead them to kill.

None of then get a pass from me.

We ALL have the opportunity to call ourselves back.

But some people love their biases better that they love another HUMAN BEING.

First comes the denigration, eventually comes the killings.

It is part of a continuum.

6. William Skinner Avatar

My very alert Grandson follows BU almost hourly. He just called and told me some character had only quoted half of what I wrote earlier today. For the record here is exactly what I said:
    June 8, 2020 7:13 AM

“I am a firm believer in setting minimum standards. I am no perfectionist or believe that anybody must follow my ” 60 year old worn out ” philosophy. However, the truth must be spoken. Just around 2016, I witnessed what Bajans call “pure wutlessness” seeping into BU. There were a series of lenghty articles almost daily but certainly weekly, accusing public officials of everything from teefing being involded in murder to being involved in pushing drugs and corrupt real estate deals. I thought they should not have been published without serious editing.“

Thank you!

7. We should distinguish between opinions and factual claims. Surely it is legitimate to criticize one or the other policy or to comment on the behavior of X or Y with mockery and derision. These are expressions of personal opinions.

But it is quite another matter to suspect X or Y of involvement in unproven murder or breach of trust without presenting even the slightest evidence. I am thinking here of Chris Sinckler and the Honourable Attorney General. In both cases, certain people launched a full-scale witch-hunt on the basis of mere speculation or deliberate misinterpretation of facts. In my opinion, this goes far beyond the limits of what is legitimate and legal.

8. Your grandson doan seem to be as alert as you claiming yuh! 🤣🤣🤣

9. William Skinner Avatar

@ Enuff
    Man you got a government to run. Y r u wasting time on a man who lost his deposit? 😊😊😊

10. I does give jack he jacket tho. So that’s why I supported your position as I have on previous occasions. But even in agreement yuh came for me. Sigh.

11. I would also like to take this opportunity to counter the panic about the coronavirus spread by the opposition on BU in March and April. According to the latest research, 57% of the population in the world’s worst-affected region, Bergamo in Italy, has antibodies. In other words, the virus can hardly spread again there due to herd immunity.

If we put this in relation to the number of deaths, we get a mortality rate of only 0.37 percent! This is the same as for new, aggressive variants of the flu for which no vaccine is available.

I applaud our Prime Minister, all her ministers and all the staff at the local health authorities not only for the way they have brought the virus down. I also congratulate them all for dealing with the pandemic in such a professional, transparent and calm manner. Quite unlike the opposition, i.e. the DLP and the outspoken Senator’s party. There was and is no room for panic.

So once again: Dear Mia Mottley, we thank you! I therefore wish and pray that this government will remain with us for a long time to come.

12. Cuhdear Bajan
    June 8, 2020 3:50 PM

@David June 8, 2020 3:13 PM @Simple Simon. “Your point is taken but are they outlier examples?”
    Since murder is not the norm. Most human beings NEVER murder. Can we then look at all murderers as outliers?
    Isn’t that the argument that John is trying to advance about the Minnessota policeman?

Here is the error you are making.

This wasn’t a murder, it was an execution.

Check the caller to Rush Limbaugh on 28th May I posted on the George Floyd blog.

He is a 25 year Police veteran.

On 29th May my contribution was based on what he had said.

As more video evidence became available it became clearer and clearer this was far more than a murder.

It also became clearer and clearer the 3 other police officers were unwitting accessories.

Any one of them could have stopped it.

I doubt if skin colour even entered into Chauvin’s thinking.

13. Trump is the greatest show on earth.

Those who can’t appreciate his skill are blind.

The Democrats are a failed party.

Their policies just don’t work.

The evidence is clear as day.

Quite apart from the enjoyment watching Trump gives me, logic and reason directs my contributions about his exploits.

When a man good he good!!

And when his opposition is rubbish he is even better!!

No bias involved, just cold dispassionate analysis of the evidence in front of me.

Plus of course I discovered long ago when I figured it out that it drives berserk those who can’t think logically yet insist they believe in freedom of speech.

… which I enjoy, they deserve it.

14. JOHN K
    I AGREE WITH YOU IOO%
    I LOVE TO SEE HIM BEATING UP PUN THE STUPID ANTAGONISTIC REPORTERS AND THE DUMBOCRATS
    I SEE IT LIKE A GOOD BATSMAN BEATING UP BAD BOWLING AT THE OVAL
    I LOVE TO BEAT UP BAD BOWLING PUN BU TOO
    WHEN I KNOW THAT I AM CORRECT, AND A MORON CONTRADICTS ME WITHOUT FACTS OR LOGIC.I GWINE TELL HIM THAT HE IS RIGHT IN BEAUTIFUL PROSE——-WITH DELIGHT AND WITHOUT APOLOGY. AND WITHOUT GETTING ANGRY.

15. Take the “Defund the Police” rubbish going on now in Dysfunctional America.

It is even to the level where the Minneapolis City Council has decided to disband the Police.

Lets take Minneapolis and their intention to disband the Police and create some weird and wonderful community policing.

By listening to a caller on Rush Limbaugh today, an attorney, I found out that a city is a part of a county and a county is a part of a state and a state is a part of the country, the United States of America.

If Minneapolis disbands its police force the Sheriff of Hennepin County assumes responsibility for policing.

The State Troopers can go anywhere in a state, that includes policing Minneapolis.

And if by some weird and wonderful arrangement the State disbands the State Troopers and the county the Sheriffs, then the Feds will take over policing with the Army.

The Democrats not only do not realise how inept their policies and thinking are they also think their opposition is dumb.

Unless Trump really screws up logic suggests he and the Republicans will win by a landslide in November.

Not only is their opposition a failure but it underestimates them, a recipe for disaster for the Democrats.

Still, with 5 months to go, who knows what will happen.

16. Cuhdear Bajan Avatar

@David the blogmaster “why individuals sacrifice a dispassionate mindset and instead exhibit partisanship DESPITE being highly educated”

Dear David:

Some people will ALWAYS put power over principle. There’s your answer.

17. Agree with you, we see it every day in this forum. A good waste of an education.

18. Look at these Democrats in New York!!

They are now going to ban choke holds.

All they need to do is listen to Rush Limbaugh on 28th May 2020 and hear the 25 year veteran on chokeholds.

Maybe they haven’t heard about tasers!!

The New York Democrats are scrambling for reelection in November and they think they are giving the electorate what they want.

COVID-19 has already exposed them as incompetent inept managers.

https://www.msn.com/en-us/news/us/defying-police-unions-new-york-lawmakers-ban-chokeholds/ar-BB15d801?ocid=spartandhp

19. @John

You have made your points many times here even though this is not the blog. What did we say about being intelligent again?

20. RE A good waste of an education.

IT IS NOT A WASTE OF EDUCATION IF MEN DONT TOW THE BU LINE
    I FOR EXAMPLE CONTRIBUTED CONSIDERABLY IN MY SHORT STINT IN THE PUBLIC SERVICE AND AT ST JOSEPH’S WHEN FEW WOULD HELP TO DEVELOP AN EMERGENCY ROOM IN THE NORTH
    DR LUCAS HAS CONTRIBUTED SIGNIFICANTLY AND SO HAS JOHN
    THE CONTRIBUTION TO MANY WHO TOW THE BU LINE PALES IN SIGNIFICANCE

WUH WASTE OF EDUCATION WUH?
    THAT JOHN IS INTELLIGENT CAN NOT BE REFUTED
    HE DOES NOT PUT HALF THE RUBBISH ON BU THAN A MULTITUDE WHO COME HERE
    AND THAT CAN NOT BE REFUTED

21. @ GP June 8, 2020 3:10 PM

As I said, the person who posted the contents of the blog above ,does not know anything about science methodology and has displayed gross ignorance of the topic. Those exposed to science are taught to be objective. Presenting papers at scientific conferences is not an ordeal for the faint-hearted. The attacks are un-relenting if findings are incorrect; if the experimental design is faulty. One is made to look like an idiot if sloppy work is presented and asked to withdraw the paper in public before one’s peers.

22. There are many reviews about how that process can be compromised at times. It does not mean it will not correct.

23. John Knox’s MO is to produce white noise to kill debate by distracting

24. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ Robert Lucas

The process of validation which both of you want to claim for the Natural Sciences are required by the BU Household. Your counter usually is: we did Natural Science so we are right you others do not know what you are talking about. Pure Intellectual arrogance.
    Bona fide scientists keep open minds and are humble.
    The amusing part about your approaches are that you are very often behind in the latest findings by those who have access to your professional journals on the Internet. So can we expect some more humility from you both ?

25. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ David BU

Your moot under discussion is timely.It needed ventilation for a long time.Events prove that there are lazy educated people in our society,whose aim is to use their diplomas and their connections for upward social mobility. They contribute little, talk nuff and do not keep up with developments in their professions. They have only collected a body of knowledge whose sell by dates have passed

26. Cuhdear Bajan Avatar

@June 9, 2020 1:03 AM @ GP June 8, 2020 3:10 PM “As I said, the person who posted the contents of the blog above ,does not know anything about science methodology and has displayed gross ignorance of the topic. Those exposed to science are taught to be objective. Presenting papers at scientific conferences is not an ordeal for the faint-hearted. The attacks are un-relenting if findings are incorrect; if the experimental design is faulty. One is made to look like an idiot if sloppy work is presented and asked to withdraw the paper in public before one’s peers.”

I am not disputing your science.

I am disputing your politics. If your BU “papers” were presented at a scientific conference would you be not be faint hearted? Would the attacks not be unrelenting? Would not your political findings be found to be incorrect? Your understanding faulty? Would you not be made to look like an idiot? Would you not be made to withdraw your papers in public before your peers?

A person can be absolutely correct about a narrow scientific field.

And absolutely wrong about many, many things outside of his or her narrow field.

Take my correction and move forward as a better man.

27. Cuhdear Bajan Avatar

GP’s medicine =8.5%
    His politics=0%
    His theology=1%

The 1% for theology, is because he learnt as a child and still sees value in good music.

28. Murdaaaaaaa!🤣🤣🤣

29. Some time ago we had a great discussion on BU about the bold claim by @Pilgrim that the London School of Economics was the greatest university in the world. Some Google expert jumped in and gave support to this obvious fabrication.
    The latest World University Rankings are now out and LSE comes 49th overall, compared with Oxford 5th, Cambridge 7th, Imperial 8th, University College 10th (remember I said LSE was not even the best university in London?), King’s College 31st.
    In the wider scheme of things, such as the murder of George Floyd, this is really unimportant, but we must stop Googling idiots from making bogus claims on the blog.

30. RE Your moot under discussion is timely.It needed ventilation for a long time.Events prove that there are lazy educated people in our society,whose aim is to use their diplomas and their connections for upward social mobility. They contribute little, talk nuff and do not keep up with developments in their professions. They have only collected a body of knowledge whose sell by dates have passed

Murdaaaaaaa IN TRUTE !
    I DIDNT GET ANY upward social mobility WITH MY diplomas BUT IM CONTENT AND RUNNING WITH PATIENCE THE RACE THAT IS SET BEFORE ME

IN BARBADOS YOU GET UPWARD MOBILITY BY LICKING ADIPOSE TISSUE OVERLAYING PEOPLES GLUTEI.
    SOME LIE DOWN TO GET UP
    SOME JUST LIE

I contributeD MUCH IN MY TIME AND EVERY WEEK I KEEP UP with developments in MY professions. IT COMES IN MY EMAIL. THIS INFO IS FRESH SO I AM NOT COLLECTING a body of knowledge whose sell by dates have passed
    I JUST REFUSE TO SHARE IT AND WISELY SO IT IS NOT WORTH MUCH TO WUNNAH
    NB GP’s medicine =8.5% Murdaaaaaaa IN TRUTE !

IM AMUSED BECAUSE THE SAME FOLK THAT CUSS DR LUCAS DAILY SITTING WAITING FOR THE NUGGETS OF TRUTH FROM HIS body of knowledge whose sell by dates have passed TO HELP THEIR GARDENING UH LIE?

RE The 1% for theology I learnt as a child I LEARNED IN THE ANGLICAN CHURCH
    THE REST I LEARNED BY DILIGENT STUDY AND NONE OF WUNNAH CANT REFUTE ANYTHING I SAY ABOUT THE WORD OF GOD
    IN THE WORDS OF HIM WHO CAN ONLY CONTRIBUTE THESE WORDS I SAY “GOOD MORNING TO ALL IN BARBADOS, AND HAVE A GOOD DAY.
    I HAVE TO DO SOME RESEARCH IN GENESIS FOUR TODAY

I WILL LOOK IN FROM TIME TO TIME FOR SOME AMUSEMENT

31. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ GP at 8:59 AM
    Look my crosses though! Who called your name ,Boazee? Are you denying that there are lazy educated persons in Barbados and the world? And why are you including Robert Lucas among them?

32. Mr Codrington Sir
    I gave you a specific answer about me to your generic question.
    I have not said that Dr Lucas is a lazy educated persons in Barbados and the world. I said in perfect English that IM AMUSED BECAUSE THE SAME FOLK THAT CUSS DR LUCAS DAILY SITTING WAITING FOR THE NUGGETS OF TRUTH FROM HIS body of knowledge whose sell by dates have passed TO HELP THEIR GARDENING.
    And that can not be refuted!

re Look my crosses though! Please see that you only embrace one cross–that of Christ!
    Now run off and be be a good boy, and as my long departed granny would say DONT FOLLOW THE MULTITUDE TO DO EVIL.

33. Steuspe

34. Steuspe INDEED!
    THAT WAS A BRILLIANT ANSWER AS THE ENGLISH WOULD SAY! UH LIE?

35. Once a man twice a child.

36. Once a man twice a child IS ACTUALLY VERY VERY NORMAL FROM MY QUIET SIMPLE AND INTELLIGENT OBSERVATION .

37. Hal Austin
    June 10, 2020 8:56 AM

The latest World University Rankings are now out and LSE comes 49th overall, compared with Oxford 5th, Cambridge 7th, Imperial 8th, University College 10th (remember I said LSE was not even the best university in London?), King’s College 31st.

Nyall Fergusson of Imperial 8th recently delivered a paper predicting outcomes for COVID-19.

He was way way way out.

It was peer reviewed by the Media (and BU) and spread far and wide.

“A person can be absolutely correct about a narrow scientific field. And absolutely wrong about many, many things outside of his or her narrow field.”

A person can also be a fraud and when peer reviewed by an bunch of other frauds can cause havoc which is illustrated in the case of Nyall Fergusson and his group of esteemed peers who reviewed his paper..

Depends on intent.

38. GP IN BARBADOS YOU GET UPWARD MOBILITY BY LICKING ADIPOSE TISSUE OVERLAYING PEOPLES GLUTEI.
    SOME LIE DOWN TO GET UP
    SOME JUST LIE

That is right though. A lot of jokers get through by that and more. I think a bit more than licking. I have come across people who made me wonder how they got where they got and not a race thing either, was all types.

Some of the most capable people do not get through because they will not lie down nor lie. While incompetents and some nincompoops do. Barbados has also been a place to ‘not rock the boat’. That is a remnant of the colonial past.

Sad but there it is. That, along with corruption are Barbados two most significant hindrances to development. The two go hand in hand.

39. Hal Austin is a real piece of work. In addition to the QS rankings, the Complete Guide (www.TheCompleteUniversityGuide.co.uk) was also released. It shows LSE 4th after Cambridge, Oxford and St.Andrews, which are all outside of London. If one looks at Times World Rankings, LSE is 2nd in London, 5th in the UK and 27th in the world. 49th/1,000 and 27th/1,397. Different assessors, different tables. But you can continue with your anti-LSE tirade simply because you detest the Adams fella and Mottley, and need to discredit them at all costs.
    In closing, I don’t need to Google; info with the link is sent to my inbox. I get a newsletter and whenever the rankings come out there is some mention. So Chrome, Firefox, Edge or Safari are needed but not Google. In any event only Hal Austin has access to sites outside of Google? The vertically challenged nuffernarian takes himself too seriously.

40. ” Nation News understands it is in connection with a multi-million dollar payment which is now part of a fraud investigation by the Royal Barbados Police Force.

More details as they come.”

41. @Hants

Leroy Parris arrested.