Search BU Archives for ‘Auditor General Report‘ and page after page of results will be the result. Again in 2020 the blogmaster will do his bounden duty and post the 2019 Auditor General Report.

A scan of the 110 page report immediately caused the blogmaster to yawn. The yawn was not intended to be disrespectful of the Auditor General’s report, his is an office that appears to be diligent in carrying out its assignments.  The yawn was triggered by the sense of a same old same old feeling, here we go again. We have an office of the Crown continually exposing blatant flouting of government’s financial rules and government after government do nothing to right the wrongs. Whether Barbados Labour Party (BLP) or Democratic Labour Party (DLP) it continues.

Fact: Parliament and its several Working Committees do not function as intended in the governance system we practice. What are the people to do except to rebel at some stage? Our dysfunctional governance system brings into play what is unfolding in several USA cities. At some point Barbadians will be moved to do the same when we reach the tipping point. At this point the blogmaster opened his eyes from having a dream that promised so much.

AG
Click on image to view 2019 Auditor General Report

93 responses to “2019 Auditor General Report Provokes a Yawn”

1. @Groslyn

Don’t get me wrong annual financial data is always preferred for any businesses as it presents a continual flow of facts. Problem here is that when you are this far behind and according to the auditors, ” they are massive holes in the data”, a fresh open end audit is the only way forward. This will also allow us to value the assets now at market value, as opposed to what they are booked at. Don’t forget in the case of places like The Grotto, the massive cost overruns there would have that property booked probably at twice market value. Also the Sinkyuh paper needs to be valued based on our post restructuring reality. As we say here ” dem is nuff in there that want sorting out”. Only then will we really know what the NIS fund is TRULY worth.

Then again maybe the fear is that we may be frighten at what we find so it’s better left alone?

2. NIS and its historically bad management aside, has anyone ever produced a public-sector wide balance sheet, listing all publicly owned assets, from land to shares such as LIAT, to the Transport Board, schools, hospital, clinics, etc. and its liabilities, loans, debt underwriting, promises, obligations?

3. David
    You should start keeping a tab of all government tenders published. We would then get an idea about what was tendered, what wasn’t, why etc.

4. Where is the cut and paste artist from Canada?Oh i forgot, this is about his dem party.Where is Greene, Dames Bajan, Baje, Gazzerts and Donna among others?I heard the trini dem, Alvin and Straker;s Tenantry trying to spin this on Brasstacks with Mr Ellis.While on Brasstacks can anyone tell me why Mr Johnson os hosting 2 shows per week while the more popular Mr Wickham had none this week. Who would most persons prefer to hear ? I would say Mr Wickham hands down. The Mason and guest show also needs sn overhaul hearing the same Roberts, Lloyds etc and excluding local callers who built that show is unacceptable in my view.

5. you think this is the first time the Auditor General has been critical of a political party? look at all the reports stretching back to 1994 and beyond?

@David,

the Auditor General himself or his department dont need investigative powers.

having done some works in this area i can tell you much of what they state as issues are really lack of accounting from a paper trail standpoint. some of it on further investigation can be fraud tho. and that is where an independent office made up of accountants, lawyers and fraud investigator could assist.

in addition to this work such an office can tackle all the dodgy stuff that goes on in various ministries where the real fraud and stealing from the public purse occur. doesnt have to be a big office but should be independent reporting directly to the GG and or nominee, well resourced and well supported in form and function

6. @Greene

Neither BLP or DLP have demonstrated the will to use the AG reports to fix problems. All we have is talk and recurring instances of graft, mismanagement and contravention of financial rules. As a so-called educated people what next to counter the embarrassment we should be feeling?

7. if the AG wants to starts cleaning up the mess he could implement the Financial Crime Bureau and give this and the Donville Inniss matter etc to it to investigate. with all the powers i mentioned above.

that would be a start

8. We have heard this drum beat before haven’t we. We wish for it but we know it.

https://barbadosunderground.files.wordpress.com/2020/06/agreport.png

9. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

So what is that NEW SCAM Abrams bringing to the people…THEY ALL ROBBED THE BWA OVER DECADES….so which one will he actually hold accountable, people on FB are asking WHERE IS MIA’S BIG RED BAG OF EVIDENCE….of DBLP thefts of billions of dollars taxpayer’s and pensioner’s money OVER DECADES..

10. @ David

if in the following weeks you hear Abrams et al talk about forensic accountants and or other professionals from the UK will be engaged to look into the matter, i can tell you that in itself is a scam

11. We are a little tired of the glossy pr stuff aren’t we. Time to deliver on the things that support good governance.

12. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

And that is only when the skunks of DBLP are not TIEFING the WATER, selling it out to the crooked, corrupt wannabe slavemaster wannabr minorities like Ram et al …and then pocketing the money for themselves for DECADES.

So exactly who does Abrams thinks he is fooling now..

13. Public Finance Management Bill 2019

14. Act actually.

15. @ David,

$ 1.4 billion ? Abrams about to get busy.

16. @Hants

In the face of it the AG report has deposited Abrahams in the centre stage of public opinion, he felt he had to respond. We will see in the coming weeks if this represents a departure from the norm.

17. BWA problems continue.

” The Barbados Water Authority wishes to advise residents and businesses in parts of St Michael and Christ Church, that this morning, it was revealed that the Reservoir at Fort George is currently empty.

Investigations are underway to determine the cause.”

18. The question for me is this. Will Abrams hold the awarder and the recipient of the contracts equally responsible as is usually requiered in law ?

19. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ Hants

This must be fake news. A superintendent is always on the job. Did he not monitor the drop in levels? Why should this be a surprise?

20. @ Vincent Codrington,

You are correct. A Reservoir should be monitored 24 hours a day.

https://barbadostoday.bb/2020/06/07/bwa-investigating-supply-to-reservoir-at-fort-george/

21. Side note
    https://barbadostoday.bb/2020/06/06/public-advised-to-continue-taking-metformin-medication/

This was a good first attempt, but it should have contained the brand name of all four diabetes medication found to contain impurities in 2020. Some patients have their medications bought at Costco and sent to them by relatives in the US.

In addition, they should have provided the doses with impurities, if the tablets were scored, and the if the tablets were inprinted…
    as an example Apotex Corp / Scoree: no score/ Imprint APO;500;MET

Other brand names with the presence of ‘N-Nitrosodimethylamine'(NDMA)’ detected are
    Amneal/Time-Cap Labs, Inc./Actavis

I was very glad when a BU blogger first mentioned this problem. We should expect a little more from the newspapers and GIS than what was provided from a BU blogger

22. This matter was updated to the Medical Corner blog.

https://barbadosunderground.net/medical-corner/

23. @TheoG
    Some patients have their medications bought at Costco and sent to them by relatives in the US.
    When pharmacies dispense medication aren’t they supposed to have a prescription? Unable to understand how folks in the US could buy medication that is not over the counter to send to relatives in Barbados.

Please clarify

24. @Sarge

Since the opioid crisis the FDA does not allow the sale of medications for export without the prescription of a doctor registered in the USA. Since the crisis if you recall even several flu and sinus medicines were legislated to be moved behind the pharmacy counter now. All pseudoephedrine based items was one from memory. OTC preparations were not however included in this restructuring.

25. Some people have relatives who are licensed physicians in the US and can write prescriptions. I was informed that the physician must have a license and liability insurance that is current. If it is a regulated substance the physician must also have a DEA number and a CDS (controlled dangerous substance number).

All the pharmacy want (in my home town) is a valid prescription from a licensed doctor, a name, a date of birth and an address (local).

26. I trust our honourable Minister Abrams as much as I trust the equally honourable Attorney General. Both have the nation’s best interests at heart. I thank our dear government for finally getting its act together and bringing the blue slave drivers to justice.

Some are now wondering why it took so long to get the investigation underway. People must understand that we have in the administration, police and judiciary a lot of members of the blue syndicate who want to enslave all black Barbadians forever. So our government first had to clean up the place to see the full extent of the injustice. I think the crimes between 2008 and 2018 can only be compared with the worst human acts in history, for example Mugabe in Africa or Burnham in South America.

However, whoever compares our Most Honourable Prime Minister with M., on the other hand, mocks not only Mia Mottley herself, but also the numerous victims of the real Mugabe.

27. NorthernObserver Avatar

I congratulate the Auditor General for actually publishing a report. In these dysfunctional times that in itself is a noteworthy achievement. And something a majority of those entities he is tasked with reporting on, cannot do.
    For a supposedly educated people we set the bar lower and lower. And tolerate more deviations with a ‘cuh Dear’, give them an ease/pass.

28. Good to hear Edward Clarke calling for government to chase the findings of the AG report. Let us hope there is no about turn when roads lead to certain private sector people.

29. Vincent Codrington Avatar

NorthernObserver. at 9:02 AM

The Auditor Generals report is laid in Parliament every year. There is no exception. This year’s (2019) probably tickled the fancy of more commenters and perhaps the press. He is discharging his responsibility in accordance with the law. The important development would be a follow through by those whose responsibility it is to correct the infelicities unearthed in these reports. I am sure similar infelicities were unearthed but not adequately addressed in the past.

30. @Vincent

What is the process with a moribund Public Accounts Committee (PAC)?

31. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

Just saw a clip with DaSilva from Innotech boasting how he …as someone else puts it is funding some kinda corruption in St. Kitts, he was called PM Harris’ bagman,….then those who know says he is Mia’s best buddy….same Innotech that the same Abrams and the Bat at BWA pretended they were enemies post election, with the Bat calling them thieves and they telling her that she is a bigger thief than them, because they got proof…. and then informaion coming out that they had a big filing cabinet with all the thievery and corruption the ministers from both political parties perform so of course they got them by their corrupt shorthairs, am sure they got recordings too., same Innotech accused of helping DLP rip off taxpayers of over 200 million dollars…..same Innotech got a taxpayer funded contract months later from their BLP accusers..when they thought everyone had forgotten their corrupt little game…

they all want prison time.

32. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

“Let us hope there is no about turn when roads lead to certain private sector people..”

did not see that one before i posted…lol

33. @ David June 8, 2020 12:59 PM

The man is ‘seized’ with the reasons behind the alibi the EU is using for its blacklisting of Bim.

The man is crestfallen with embarrassment when he has to explain what is happening in Barbados to the ‘legitimate’ international financial community.

You just cannot have that kind of piss-poor record of performance in the financial management of public sector entities (and on an ongoing basis, year after year) and expect people to assess you as capable of ‘regulating’ international money launderers and tax dodgers.

Barbados must first look into the mirror and clean up its own dirty reflection before trying to sell itself as a ‘competent and clean’ jurisdiction to the international financial community and regulators.

34. @Miller

The betting window is open.

Will the incumbent BLP with control of the lower house and a bevy of finance ministers and consultants be the government to wrestle the lack of actioning the AG report to he ground?

35. @ David June 8, 2020 4:36 PM

They say a promise is a comfort to a fool.

The previous administration made similar ironclad promises with their slogan of “Good Governance”.

When we see the FOIA and ITAL up and running for the average Bajan to see then there will be a glimmer of hope of feeling the winds of change.

Why would the current administration follow through with similar promises made from the same pattern of electoral chicanery knowing full well that would be analogous to plucking the red feathers from a bird of prey?

But we must always be aware of that old watchdog for democracy:

“Quis custodiet ipsos custodes?”

36. LorenzoJune 6, 2020 3:55 PM

Where is the cut and paste artist from Canada?Oh i forgot, this is about his dem party.Where is Greene, Dames Bajan, Baje, Gazzerts and Donna among others?

The question is not where I am now. The question is where I was at 5.45 pm on May 24th, 2018.

And the answer is that I was at a polling station voting out the DLP for actions such as those detailed in the auditor general’s report.

Ms. Mottley told me to give her the vote and watch her clean up these corrupt acts and hold those who perpetrated them accountable. Obediently I voted and now I am watching and waiting.

37. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

Is that not the same BLP that had a SHAM of a PAC meeting to discuss the stolen money in the Auditor General’s report regarding i think it was the thefts of taxpayer’s money at NHC or Transport Board or both…and none of the crooked ministers from DLP turned up….so wah happen now that BLP is in government with their BIG RED BAG OF EVIDENCE DLP CORRUPTION…

what about NHC…thefts

what about Transport BOARD…thefts…

what about all the other…thefts..

they are trying to distract us with BWA…thefts…which they know they are not taking anywhere, not with Innotech and their filing cabinet of EVIDENCE…

red bag of evidence vs filing cabinet of evidence…..lawd..

when they know that they and all the thieves are business partners…wuh they ACCUSED EACH OTHER IN THE MEDIA OF BEING CORRUPT THIEVES…both sides, they know the fowls forgot that long time, but they think everyone else did too…

38. @ Donna June 8, 2020 5:19 PM
    “The question is not where I am now. The question is where I was at 5.45 pm on May 24th, 2018.
    And the answer is that I was at a polling station voting out the DLP for actions such as those detailed in the auditor general’s report.
    Ms. Mottley told me to give her the vote and watch her clean up these corrupt acts and hold those who perpetrated them accountable. Obediently I voted and now I am watching and waiting.”
    +++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

And that is the exact position most intelligent (even if naïve) politically non-partisan Bajans who went to the polls now find themselves in.

Unlike the mysterious evidence paraded in a red bag just prior to May 24th 2018,
    the ‘necessary’ prosecutor’s evidence is now there in plain sight and in black and white to legally proceed from here.

Time is now up for the ‘Festina Lente’ given to one AG. Now it’s time for the other AG to act as the complainant on behalf of the consumers, taxpayers and the people of Barbados who have been raped financially of their dignity and pockets.

39. NorthernObserver Avatar

#VC
    My truth is I have been busy, and haven’t read the report.
    I could highlight several other reports which were once laid before the Houses with ‘no exception’.
    Those expecting ‘follow through’ have fond memories of days of yore. Hence my admiration for the AG and his team’s work, given most ‘infelicities’ will die with his annual report. Glad to see at least one part of the ‘systems in place’ still functions.

40. @Cuhdear Bajan, I’m sitting here having breakfast and going through the many responses on the various blogs, I couldn’t take another bite after reading that you had me in thoughts some five days ago. I almost after so many years was gonna be invited out by a bajan woman. Fret not yourself, the very next time you should get such a high water bill, I’ll pay it for you. Better yet, why not come over to my place and take your showers, you will save and i will gain.

41. Barbados Revenue Authority Selects Newgen to Automate Tax Compliance Process

News provided by

Newgen Software Inc.

Jun 04, 2020, 07:09 ET

MCLEAN, Virginia, June 4, 2020 /PRNewswire/ — Newgen Software Inc., a global provider of low code digital automation platform managing content, processes, and communication, today announced that it has successfully deployed Automatic Exchange of Information (AEOI) platform at Barbados Revenue Authority for automating its country by country (CbC) reporting process.

The solution aimed at automating the end-to-end CbC reporting process and increasing organizational efficiency, was implemented within the stipulated time frame.

“The Newgen CbC solution is agile and cost-effective. It has integrated various touch points to enable comprehensive reporting. With this solution in place, we would be able to leverage industry best practices and stay on top of a rapidly changing regulatory environment,” Anthony Gittens, Senior Manager, Policy, Planning and Governance, Barbados Revenue Authority.

“Newgen’s solutions aim to deliver customer-centric services at optimized cost. We are glad that the Barbados Revenue Authority chose us for this strategic initiative, and we look forward to our partnership with them. Using our CbC solution, the authority can deliver better services and achieve greater transparency,” Diwakar Nigam, MD and Chairman, Newgen Software.

Built on a low-code application platform, Newgen’s CbC solution features easy to deploy process templates, self-registration capabilities, and highly descriptive reports. The solution offers flexibility to enable the Barbados Revenue Authority to adapt to any regulatory changes and remain compliant. Additionally, Newgen’s COE team continuously scans and checks updates for regulatory guidelines and evolving best practices to ensure that current and future compliance requirements are met.

Newgen’s compliance and reporting solutions ensure that organizations stay compliant with regulations. Using these solutions, organization scan simplify regulatory compliance and mitigate risks through complete reporting and documentation.

About Barbados Revenue Authority:

Barbados Revenue Authority is the main revenue collecting agency in Barbados, responsible for effective and efficient tax administration. The institution is also recognised as the Competent Authority for the country in relation to exchange of information compliance. In this role, the Barbados Revenue Authority is responsible for the transmission of data related to the Common Reporting Standard (CRS), the Foreign Account Tax Compliance Act (FATCA) and country by country compliance in accordance with the guidelines of the Internal Revenue Service (IRS) and the Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD).

About Newgen Software Inc.:

Newgen Software Inc. is a global provider in banking process automation with more than 200+ banks and financial services institutions as its clients. Newgen’s banking process management framework automates critical business processes for banking institutions across commercial lending, consumer lending, customer on-boarding, online account opening, trade finance, digital and mobile customer service request. Newgen offers flexible on-premise and cloud-based solutions to financial institutions.

To learn more about how Newgen is connecting enterprises and transforming experiences, visit: http://www.newgensoft.com/

Connect with us:

Media Contact:
    Asif Khan
    asif.khan@newgensoft.com

SOURCE Newgen Software Inc.

42. […] In 2019 there was a debated issue in Antigua around a flawed procedure followed in the acquisition of 6000 e-books for $9 million used in secondary schools. The supplier in the matter was an Indian firm, FortunaPix. At issue was a license fee per user in the amount of $5 million not brought to the attention of the Cabinet of Antigua when the matter was considered for approval. This issue reminded the blogmaster about an issue raised by the Auditor General of Barbados regarding the inability of the Barbados Water Authority (BWA) to have meters read wirelessly – 2019 Auditor General Report Provokes a Yawn. […]