grenville-phillips
Submitted by Grenville Phillips II

During the COVID-19 press briefings, the Government refused to divulge any information on where positive cases had contracted the virus. We were not allowed to know the village, district or parish. We were not allowed to know whether they visited a business, or the type of business.

The reason for this secrecy, was to avoid any type of stigma and discrimination. We were to accept that: Barbados was one country, we were all in this together, and there was no room for division during this COVID-19 crisis.

Last Sunday (17 May 2020), the Government decided to throw one organisation to the wolves of social media. The Government claimed that three members of a small Church, in Bridgetown, with a membership of about 30, had tested positive. Well, that excluded the large Anglican, Methodist and Moravian churches in Bridgetown.

As if that were not enough, the Government threw fuel on the fire by publicly speculating that they were not sure, but that they were trying to find out whether members of that church were meeting during the lockdown.

To put the final nail in the coffin, the Government directed that this church was ordered closed until further notice.

On Tuesday 19 May 2020, the Government revealed that they had tested 27 members of the 28-member church, and four persons were positive. Our Acting Chief Medical Officer admitted that there was no evidence to support the allegation, that members of the church had met during the lock-down.

Why allow this irresponsible public speculation? Why did the Government make the reckless public allegation in the first place, that we now know was dangerous fake news?

Has the Government changed the way it reports on positive cases? Is this new protocol to be retroactive? Are we to expect the Government to now publicise the type, size and location of establishments that the other positive cases were in contact, or is this new exposure to only target churches?

The Other Shoe.

Just when we thought that things could not get any worse, they dropped the other shoe. The Government exposed the actual name of the next positive case. What would possess them to do that? What about the stigma that they were so insistent of avoiding?

Why also reveal that the lady tested positive for COVID-19, but was allowed to delay the mandatory isolation that the rest of us must endure, to see her ailing mother?

What about those Government skits, where people were pleading to see their elderly parents, but were denied for the greater good of all Barbadians? They must have known that everyone would see the blatant double standard.

Why throw the lady under the bus, to be ravaged by the wolves of social media? Does the Government think that their new strategy of exposing individuals, will encourage people who think that they may have the virus, from coming forward? Do they think that this new strategy will encourage persons to cooperate with those doing contact tracing?

To be charitable, it seems that the current set of persons managing this crisis are now exhausted. They are consistently making lunatic level mistakes, that cannot be rationally explained.

Further, their mistakes have consequences that can harm us all. Their recent actions are foreseen to force positive cases both underground, and from cooperating with those doing contact tracing.

Solutions Barbados suggests that the current managers be given a two-week vacation, to rest. They can then resume their duties recharged, for the benefit of us all.

Grenville Phillips II is a Chartered Structural Engineer and President of Solutions Barbados. He can be reached at NextParty246@gmail.com

145 responses to “And a Time To Rest”

1. Cuhdear Bajan Avatar

@de pedantic Dribbler May 20, 2020 10:55 PM “that’s what Ambassadors get.. fuss as much as we like but they do get treated specially!”

An Ambassador only becomes an Ambassador when they have arrived at their diplomatic post and their credentials have been accepted by the receiving country or international entity such as the U.N., Before that time the person is a nomine, or an Ambassador designate.

So while in Barbados Ms. Thompson is not an ambassador.

It may seem like a technicality, but for verification please read the Vienna Convention on Diplomatic Relations.

Liken it to the difference between being engaged and being married.

Who is willing to say that marriage is just a technicality?

or to bring it closer to home is like the difference between being Commissioner of Police, and being Acting Commissioner of Police.

2. Disgusting Lies and Propaganda TV Avatar
    Disgusting Lies and Propaganda TV

@David the ports are not completely closed or not the 33 Trinidadians would not be allowed to return home. Only today 330 people left Barbados to return to UK via British Airways. AFAIK Barbadians can return here but are automatically subject to a 14 day quarantine

@ John A to use Bajan parlance you sound so foolish….Using the example of the Emergency Management Directive (EMD) which is LAW, it states that no one can be outside their premises between 8PM and 5PM EXCEPT essential workers…you know who makes up essential workers??? the gas station worker, the merchandiser that packs shelves, the lowly security guard….Is that a law that supporting two Barbados???? Is it not a law that state what one set of persons can do and what another set are allow to do? is that division based on race, class or wealth??? It allows “privileges” to one set of people and denies it to another set. You know in this case the irony is that the EMD was created to prevent the spread of COVID-19 but does it mean that essential workers can’t spread COVID-19?. Even in parliament don’t MPs have parliamentary privilege???. Privileges vary for different people…it doesn’t mean that they were intended to divide or destabilize a society.

3. Disgusting Lies and Propaganda TV Avatar

@Donks, Gripe and Josh describe the mistake exactly???

@Cudear at the risk of sounding condescending, an Ambassadorship isn’t exactly given to the “average” person you know, that person is usually one that has achieved some sort of “status” before the appointment i.e. being a former, MP, senator, lawyer, professor. .the immunity is not total in the host country and loses it in the home country. Miss Thompson was allowed to RETURN to her home country. She would have gone into quarantine\isolation irregardless of if she tested positive for Covid-19.

4. Cuh dear. Ms.Thompson clearly came in to be at her (as reported) severely ill mothers bedside. Have some kind of heart.

She likely disclosed her name willingly, for transparency. That is honourable.

Just like the transparency that Dr.Waldron is attempting to show, publicly asking for help for the QEH.

The reported attempt to admonish him is despicable, laughable and contemptuous of all citizens.

The authorities do not own the QEH, the public does. What gives anyone the right to try to hinder full disclosure of events there?

Everyone already knows that it is and has been a mess for the last twenty years. Especially the A&E. Guh dey and sit for twelve hours, some in pain? Stupse.

Now that a doctor is apparently at his wits end and trying to assist, he gets admonished? Oh, GROW UP people.

Think this is primary school? Stupse.

Management is like commonsense. Not all have it.

Well done Dr.Waldron. Bravo!!!

5. As for the church thing, the government did not release any specific name. They named an institution, because it clearly flouted the lockdown rules and thereby exposed the population. This is why they were highlighted and rightly so.

”But cuh deay, dem is part ah a church. Dem din mean tuh spread it”. Stupse.

Again, grow up people and accept some responsibility for your actions.

6. NorthernObserver Avatar

@DIW
    you on fire today.
    Tell me tho, how long does it take to get test results from a Covid test in Barbados?
    Now draw us a timeline.

7. @Dee Word

After reading your usual prolix the blogmaster will be brief. New York is described as a COVID hot spot by Americans. The majority of indexed cases registered by Barbados originated in New York. At this time the blogmaster has zero tolerance for the needs of one over the many. How many stories have we heard from family in the same NY barred from being with love ones in their last moments?

8. The post is a good one. The authorities are reacting as I have predicted. Hiding data from the public is so embedded in the psyche of Barbadian governing elites that, it has become par for the course. The citizenry should be made aware of where the hot spots are. In Jamaica, the public was made aware of the hotspot and government acted decisively and quarantined the entire area. In my article of February 2020 on the BU, I wondered about the logistical capability of Barbados being able to handle community spread. It appears that that nightmare has now come. I haven’t of late been following the news locally, but from this article by GP the second, it appears that there is almost daily an increase in the numbers of those detected with the infection. This is no surprise as there has been increased testing, which has shown that there is widespread infiltration of the virus at the community level. This outcome is the result of mistakes made between 15-22 of March 2020 when persons suspected of being asymptomatic were allowed to mingle freely among the populace (the only mitigating fact was the lack of testing kits). The ex-minister being allowed entry is an example of slackness of the highest order. One factor that I am wondering about is the source of payment for the use of the private jet. Government should declare that it has not used tax payers money to pay for the flight.

9. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

“Just like the transparency that Dr.Waldron is attempting to show, publicly asking for help for the QEH.

The reported attempt to admonish him is despicable, laughable and contemptuous of all citizens.”

another big scandal there, the doctors need to CLOSE RANKS on this, they are out there RISKING THEIR LIVES…to save people, and some clown with a new title and on a power trip during such dangerous times, is seeking to DISRUPT the flow of frontline workers, the idiot herself may end up being treated by them, after all it’s a plague…

contract or not, this shite government and their taxpayer paid pimp should not be allowed to get away with riding ROUGH SHOD over any doctor trying to save lives while the incompetent government who cares nothing about the people who they deem beneath them, yes the same people who elected them, and whom they are working overtime to EXPOSE ALL TO DEATH, during a plague..

..and actually got a bunch of selfish, wicked clowns with villas and access to private jets in and out of Barbados and also those who are staying at hotels, yes, they let in some of them too…loosing a plague bomb on the people, i thought those hotels were shut down, one or two are advertising specials outside for next month i think, but one already stated they had infections earlier that was taken care of…

from ya hear Kerrie the Fool talking about a safe place to rest and recover from the plague about 2 months ago, we knew it was just a matter of time before they fcuked things up and they certainly delivered..

no one can trust this government…..as we have always known….they probably could not find a consultant to hire at taxpayer’s expense to tell them how to do that one…steupppss.

10. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

How many young BLACK men and women got time in prison or heavy fines they cannot pay for breaking curfew? and someone should believe some fowl trying to clean up another government COCKUP that is filled with such danger to the people… is somehow credible…look get off the blog with ya misinformation and lies, you are the one spreading propaganda…

…. some goat with an ambassador title, who is PAID A SALARY BY TAXPAYERS……and don’t have the commonsense to know that she was being reckless….and fools on here still trying to big her up, she is a WALKING FULLY LOADED PLAGUE CARRIER at this time, titles and achievements mean absolutely nothing if she ends up creating a one woman hotspot, like that lawyer did in New Rochelle, NY MONTHS AGO…..he infected, killed and nearly wiped out most of the jewish population in that area….but he is still alive..

they had to send in new fowls for this thread, Kahleel could not handle this one, too hot….and Kerrie out there trying to convince everyone how tightly they have now locked down the ports, now that LOADED Liz came in…

11. Liz’s special request

Bostic responds to public criticism of Thompson’s visit

by BARRY ALLEYNE barryalleyne@nationnews.com

AMBASSADOR ELIZABETH THOMPSON was allowed to return home from New York after making a special request to Government on humanitarian grounds.

This was revealed to the

DAILY NATION by Minister of Health and Wellness Jeffrey Bostic yesterday.

He said the decision to allow Thompson to fly in and be at her mother Pauline Thompson’s bedside, was a move away from the recognised protocol but was granted because it was an “extenuating circumstance”.

Bostic’s explanation followed public criticism about Thompson’s name being released to the public as a COVID-19 patient, from the epicentre of the outbreak in the United States, along with questions about whether ordinary Barbadians could seek similar special access to return home.

Decision

“That decision to make her name public was as a result of a request from Ambassador Thompson. She felt it necessary to let family, friends and her staff back in New York be aware of her condition under the circumstances. Any Barbadian can come home if they want. No one has to make a request. They will not be denied entry, but public health protocols will be followed,” he said.

“Ambassador Thompson is an official representative of the country and Government therefore granted her request to come home to see her ailing mother because it was considered an extenuating circumstance. An official request was placed by Ambassador Thompson to the Ministry of Health and it was granted.”

Bostic said the chance to see her 95-year-old mother was Thompson’s only reason for returning and public health officials made sure no one was placed at risk of infection. She was wearing a mask from the moment she got off the plane and also practised physical distancing while visiting her mother, he said.

Thompson, Barbados Ambassador to the United Nations and a former minister of health in a previous Owen Arthur-led administration, arrived on Monday from New York, the epicentre of COVID-19.

Bostic, who said her return was at no financial cost to the Government, could not say if she was tested prior to arrival.

A release from Government on Tuesday stated Thompson was tested for COVID-19 when she arrived and those results came back positive. It added she felt fine and remained asymptomatic.

The ambassador is now in quarantine at Government’s main isolation facility at Harrison Point, St Lucy.

The release noted that Thompson’s mother was gravely ill and suffering from a heart condition not related to COVID-19. It added that given the gravity of the mother’s condition, the ambassador was allowed to go to her bedside but had no contact with members of that household.

Bostic defended the decision to allow Thompson to see her mother and the way in which it was facilitated.

“We agreed for the ambassador to be tested and that she would immediately go in self-quarantine until the results came back, and that was done. That’s why as soon as the results came back, the ambassador was immediately taken into isolation,” he said.

The DAILY NATION has also been reliably informed that the pilot of the private plane on which Thompson arrived, and one other unidentified passenger, have also been quarantined.

Government’s on Tuesday had stated that other passenger was also tested but did not have the virus.

12. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

What a COCKUP..

13. @ Waru,
    This is no cock up. It’s business as usual in the banana republic called Barbados.

14. Failed state.

15. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

TLSN…their business as usual since they got elected looks suspiciously like cockups, nothing is going right, they are so wicked and to make it even worse, look how they are all exposed with their for once ONLY truthful explanation that Liz did not use government funds cause according to people close to the family she is a multimillionaire as we have been saying for YEARS…all of them are wealthy at the people’s expense…

the people and island ARE DEAD BROKE thanks to them and their thefts and corruption…but ALL OF THEM ARE MILLIONAIRES…and can afford private jets, but Mia is running hither, tither and yon begging and borrowing…

so you have multimillionaires infesting DBLP…

and they want the international community, the EU to overlook that clear corruption..

16. From the submission by GP11
    Why throw the lady under the bus, to be ravaged by the wolves of social media?
    ++++++++++++++++++
    Do you think that the Gov’t had a choice? Do you remember which island you live on? If that information was not released it would surely be on social media before the bed sheets had been warmed, in any event the Ambassador is a public figure and public figures who test positive for the virus have been identified all over the world a quick jolt of my memory reveals Prince Charles, Boris Johnson and Sophie G-Trudeau I am sure they are many more.

As to stigma Bajans ought to relax, the days of “leper” is long gone, the facility in St. Lucy is not a new Lazaretto, many people who test positive have returned to life as normal.

17. Disgusting Lies and Propaganda TV Avatar

@WURA WOOOOOWWW sooooo much pented up vile!!!!! so much misplaced energy!!!!!!!!! WOOOOWWW……you can use all that vigor and help create the People’s Utopian Republic of Barbados!!!!!!! A place where sitting members of parliament ARE obliged to resign after being found guilty in a COURT of cahing way senior citizens money!!!!!! a place where sitting prime ministers would be jailed for fraudulently taking money out of a collapsing insurance company and giving it to their ‘bigup” buddies under the guise of legal fees!!!!!!!

in all seriousness Dr. Waldron himself would have had to know that disciplinary action was coming..if he didn’t he would be VERY naive…a “whistleblower” always have to weight the risk of being fired for the sake of divulging info and plying their case in the “court of public opinion”. The QEH could be sympathetic to the Dr’s concerns, and they are, but any institution that has an employment contract between employee and employer and the employee breaches it are well within their right to discipline the employee for BREACH OF PROTOCOL. It doesn’t automatically mean that the employee will be fired but more than likely thy will be.

18. To be charitable, it seems that the current set of persons managing this crisis are now exhausted. They are consistently making lunatic level mistakes, that cannot be rationally explained.

There is no COVID-19 crisis in Barbados!!

How can anyone managing a non-event be exhausted?

No demand for ICU beds and so far 7 deaths.

27,000 plus test kits and so far 90 cases found.

If I remember right, the CZAR had predicted the “crisis” to cause 100 deaths and still the number of actual cases is yet to reach this milestone..

We don’t have an at risk population and the virus is not as contagious as at first believed.

We haven’t had any large gatherings even though the powers that be had planned to make it so.

We didn’t even need any help from Rihanna.

A storm in a teacup.

19. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@David, your brevity is appreciated… Unlike u, my friend, I came of age at a time when the stuff I write here would never have been considered long or prolix but alas I presume in a world of 140 character expert views anything beyond that is a lengthy essay of prolix!

But your opinion still does NOT comport to facts brother.
    We all agree this is an example of privileged status in society but there is NOTHING about the episode to affirm your opinion of a whimsical usurping of “one over the many” re cov19. NOTHING.

@Northern, that’s what privilege offers… a supposed delay in process … So wha timeline u asking for! … WHY leave NY to come see mum if u know you gotta wait for a test result that could surely scuper the visit before it starts … So one has to build-in a ‘defendible’ delay into that timeline … Not so!

In standard parlance it’s CMA(ss) by the admin and according to Bostic’s verbiage they did that well.

@SimpleS, cuddear you are misrepresenting the facts …
    An ambassador absolutely has privileges and status in his/her home country … Your citing of the presentation of certification etc is quite odd as an example and has no bearing here .. so I’ll avoid THAT except to say this… This stuff can get serious real fast with your so called technicalities …

And please NOTE home country status and privilege is NOT about immunity from legal jeapordy … just simply about being a big-shot and enjoying those perks of elitism!

@John2, yours is interesting but not acceptable. If you are on govt posting externally then you certainly are entitled to get leave to return home.

I don’t work in the services but I will presume their conditions of services sets the procedures for # of return trips paid by govt during the overseas posting.

I cannot conceive however that any of those trips would be allowed and paid for via a private charter unless it’s war (curtailing commercial flights) or some other such extenuating situation !

Is cov19 and a singular visit to a sick mum your determination of such a situation… really !!!

20. @NO

Tell me tho, how long does it take to get test results from a Covid test in Barbados?
    Now draw us a timeline
    +++++++++++++++
    Hey are you dabbling in conspiracy theories? Is this what I think you are implying? Inquiring minds want to know.
    Test one day, results back the following day, could the results have been a foregone conclusion based on………

Somebody will ban you from BU…..

Wuhloss

21. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

“you can use all that vigor and help create the People’s Utopian Republic of Barbados!!!!!!!”

why would i want to do that, when i can just rack back and MAKE MONEY off all alyuh stupidity during the next 3 years……Ka-Ching…the sound of me cashing in…..and am sure alyuh aint done yet…

bettig is easy money…nontaxable..

22. @WARU May 21, 2020 4:23 AM

“How many young BLACK men and women got time in prison or heavy fines they cannot pay for breaking curfew? …

….she is a WALKING FULLY LOADED PLAGUE CARRIER at this time, titles and achievements mean absolutely nothing if she ends up creating a one woman hotspot”

This is unadulterated piffle.

In the first instance, seeking to draw a connection between curfew breakers and Amb. Thompson is revealing. Where is the connection between persons willfully breaking the law and endangering our populace and a lady being granted humanitarian leave to return to the island while following every single one of the rigorous protocols? It is truly revealing of what DLP TV spoke about at 9.13 AM

In the second instance, characterising the Amb. following all necessary protocols while here as her being “a walking plague carrier” cannot even be described as hyperbole because at least hyperbole is even marginally grounded in reality.

Fully expected WARU.

Bostic’s statement today makes this entire discussion moot. It is fully expected that persons would seek to milk this. It was “humanitarian” leave. Protocols were followed. She endangered no one. She was tested. Self-quaratined until results came back. When they did, she is now lodged at an isolation facility. Just as all other 89 cases have been. There is no perfection in life. Looking for it is truly futile.

23. @ Sargeant,

” In a statement, the Ministry of Health said the “asymptomatic” ambassador tested positive a day after she arrived home from the epicentre of the coronavirus pandemic in the United States, becoming the 89th coronavirus patient.”

Just beyond your imagination. lol

24. What could be important is that persons who had recent close contact with Ambassador Elizabeth Thompson in New York are tested for Covid 19.

Barbados seems to be doing an effective job testing and contact tracing.

25. NorthernObserver Avatar

@Sarge
    implied?? conspiracy?
    @Hants posed a question related to testing.
    I merely sought @DIW to help us with the sequential timeline. His response seems to discount/ignore the possibility of testing in NY prior to departure.
    Like Hants, I went to Kolij but I really ent that bright. But I know @DIW is a bright fella.

26. NO

It was a private flight / she probably left in a hurry and as far as I know airport/airlines are not doing testing on passengers as yet.

DPD.

Agreed. at that time I surely wasn’t thinking about the cost of the private flight.

I was thinking more that it could have been budget for as part of or total allowance.

changed my view to she should pay for the flight.

27. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

LOLLL @Northern re “I merely sought @DIW to help us with the sequential timeline. His response seems to discount/ignore the possibility of testing in NY prior to departure.[…] Like Hants, I went to Kolij but I really ent that bright. But I know @DIW is a bright fella.”

Not me and wanna Kolig boys … I am a standpipe fella.. had a brother, few cousins and ting so that went school wid you boys (probably played soccer and hockey wid yah too)… I am merely an inquisitive fella on natural justice and reason … so if that qualifies as ‘bright’ then yah got me!

But, anyhow yah see that statement about ” [he] seems to discount/ignore the possibility of testing in NY prior to departure” I did a USS Eisenhower on that one… a SLOWWW and necessary deliberate veering away from controversy. It was IGNORE … because to consider that scenario in the slightest would take us into the ‘dark-net world’ of deliberate, calculated subterfuge by Thompson/Mottley’s admin … and I am NOT gong there!

28. @NO

Wunnah Kolig fellows real bright and I admit to overlooking “Hants” query which is a very compelling question to ask which makes the following relevant

“could the results have been a foregone conclusion based on (prior knowledge)………?”

29. We aren trying to show empathy for Ms. Thompson and we could revisit the topic later…maybe.

This is not as much about the Ambassador as it is about those in charge making a concerted effort to help those people in New York and Barbados who were exposed to her.

30. NorthernObserver Avatar

@Sarge
    see @Hants is a very skilled race car driver. He accelerates swiftly, gets aggressive, but is very careful when cornering. No need to take out himself or a competitor, patience is a virtue. His primary concern is for those in the stands. He’ll try again to pass…..maybe

31. The minister’s statement featured in the Nation confirmed the cost of her trip was not at government.

32. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

“In the second instance, characterising the Amb. following all necessary protocols while here as her being “a walking plague carrier” cannot even be described as hyperbole because at least hyperbole is even marginally grounded in reality.”

why don’t you go hug and kiss her and guarantee you will more than likely go meet your maker…..i dare you…

33. David
    Isn’t and hasn’t the protocol been for a while now that:

“All travellers arriving in Barbados will be placed in a Barbadian government quarantine facility for 14 days.”

What privilege was afforded to Liz besides seeing her gravely ill mum?

34. @enuff

When did the Ambassador see her mother?

35. Piece the Prophet Avatar
    Piece the Prophet

You requoted the and I quote

“…Bostic, who said her return was at no financial cost to the Government, could not say if she was tested prior to arrival…”

Wunna can believe this Rs**hole but not de ole man. Could not say if she was tested prior to arrival?

Wunna really gots to read more dough “…Crew members with high-risk exposures to COVID-19 may also need to be excluded from work until no longer at risk for becoming infectious. A person is considered high-risk if exposed to a sick household member or intimate partner, or providing care in a household to a person with a confirmed case of COVID-19…”

But I gine show wunna dat Bostic is a RH liar.

“…All aircraft, including those operated for private and commercial purposes, are governed by 14 CFR 91 – General Operating and Flight Rules. 14 CFR 119 specifies additional regulations that govern certain types of aircraft and operations.

All pilots are subject to strict medical requirements. If an aircraft has to divert due to a mechanical problem, it must be reported to the FAA if being operated commercially. We can most assuredly believe that these pilots will have to file a report when they get back to the US and will be subject to more RH quarantine.

We also know that ALL RH Passengers must be screened and must be checked against government maintained no-fly lists for commercial flights.”

So here you have 4 RH issues that have to be addressed (a) FAA regulations, (b) Covid Medical Issues for all passengers on that plane (c) the possible issue of the Ambassador not declaring to the American Authorities her Covid Status prior to embarking and most egregiously (d) the procedures that the Barbados Government is practicing with exemptions for its Diplomatic Staff, and WHICH SUBVERT AMERICAN RULES & REGULATIONS.

read https://bb.usembassy.gov/u-s-citizen-services/covid-19-information/

Now that newspaper article continues

“…A release from Government on Tuesday stated Thompson was tested for COVID-19 when she arrived and those results came back positive. It added she felt fine and remained asymptomatic…”

So it is either that she developed the Covid while aboard the plane of the she had it before embarking which means “that she did not give one shy$e who got um, cause she had um”

36. your assistance please Honourable blogmaster with an item for you

37. So the excuse is she went to see her gravely ill mother suffering from Covid 19 then? Lord this gets better by the day.

Ok so she left NY feeling perfect and by the time she land here she had covid. Well that is simple she catch it in the people plane! Let we carry court the plane people then.

Wunna ever hear the saying ” it is better to keep quiet and be thought a fool than open you mouth and remove all doubt.”

I think it is better for some of the defender’s to shut dem mout now, unless the plan is to give LAFF IT OFF material for the next show.

38. @ Piece the Prophet May 21, 2020 2:24 PM

I think the Minister is right. The visit to the sick justifies the danger to innocent bystanders, of course. Is not the life of a 95-year-old mother of an ambassador worth more than the lives of a few insignificant Barbadian subjects who could die of COVID19?

In your insolence you overlook that equality does not mean ABSOLUTE equality. An ambassador should not be measured by normal standards. Our government must clearly demonstrate this difference to the people. I would urge that in the next few days we take tough action against lawbreakers at the lockdown: throw them into prison for even the slightest offence.

39. According to the last link by Piece, citizens and residents of Barbados are subjected to Home quarantine

So what is the issue here????

Was She not at Home after she arrived and intill she got a positive result and was the. placed in isolation?

What Law or protocols were broken?

40. A mandatory 14-day quarantine in a Government facility for allpersons entering Barbados

Anyone arriving with a travel history from China, Iran, and South Korea are also subjected to a fourteen (14) day quarantine.

Citizens and residents of Barbados will be subject to a home-quarantine.

The Government of Barbados is conducting thermal screening at airports and seaports.
    Other

41. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

One thing for sure, hope Liz said her goodbyes in NYC because she is NOT going back there any time soon…..when they have a shite title and elevate themselves in their minds to something not even recognizable as human anymore, and they get cut down to size, they should not even be noticed.

42. As I see the location constrained chickens rush to support any policy of this administration, I can see why a scratch grain supplier can believe he could shoot a man in the middle of Fifth Avenue in New York City and not lose any political support.

The loyalty of location constrained chickens is admirable.

An ambassadorship is primarily of value if the person is in a foreign land. Don’t confuse the right and priviliges of a person in their domicile as being related to their job overseas. As an example, a claim of diplomatic immunity if arrested in Barbados would be absurd. At present, she is nothing more than a well connected Bajan in Barbados

43. ‘The minister’s statement featured in the Nation confirmed the cost of her trip was not at government’

Confirmed? stated; said;; hinted; indicated; suggested….. different levels of confirmation, receipt

44. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

“She endangered no one. ”

your intelligence level is waning, it specifically said, I think Bostic, that the pilot and the person she traveled with are now isolated….so what nonsense are talking about she endangered no one, she ENDANGERED THE WHOLE DAMN ISLAND…that is what super spreaders do if they are allowed to run loose…

so since she is so safe, why is she NOW QUARANTINED……and why don’t you go visit her and give me the results…steupppss…

these dumb defenders need to shut up, they are only making her look worse, you want to do something for her….shut the hell up…

45. WARU-WURA,

Accept that amabassadors have lots of privileges here and abroad. I hope that she will retain her ambassadorial salary during her long stay in Barbados. The tax slaves owe it to her.

46. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

Was Mia not running down to West Africa all hot and sweaty the other day with what was described as her bag of duppy dust, well things are looking up and if she wants to help Liz maybe she should pull out her little address book of phone numbers and give Africa a call..

am sure the colonial minded negros have forgotten all about Africa by now, but, it’s still there…

Apparently bribery did not work, Madagascar accused them of trying to bribe them, so now they are playing nice…as usual, they have no shame..

“The World Health Organisation (WHO) has revealed it is considering Madagascar’s COVID Organics for a clinical observation process.

This was made known by the President of Madagascar, Andry Rajoelina in a tweet on Wednesday.

Rajoelina after a meeting with Director-General of WHO, Tedros Ghebreyesus, said WHO had congratulated Madagascar for the discovery of its COVID Organics, adding that it had accepted to support the clinical observation process in Africa

Recall that the Rajoelina had over the weekend claimed that the WHO offered his country the sum of $20m as a bribe to poison COVID-19 alleged cure.

He also stated that the only reason the rest of the world had refused to take the herbal cure seriously and with respect was because it came from Africa.”

47. @ John2

Please, we are encouraged to read WITH UNDERSTANDING!!!

A careful read of the US Government website will show you that their website is dated

In fact you will see that they reference 1 death in their comments so the US Embassy in Barbados has not updated the site

Secondly the requirements there noted for the compulsory quarantine CLEARLY STATE THE GoB’s upgrade to compulsory QUARANTINE FOR 14 DAYS and not any self administered quarantine like what was afforded Liz Thompson

Thirdly EVEN THE HONOURABLE BLOGMASTER, part of the BU BORG that is not, NOT THE MINISTER OF DISINFORMATION, commented in language, as colourful as that of de ole man, that New York is the RH EPICENTER OF THE CORONA VIRUS in the United States!

And I would add that, given that the RH number of infected people in that state alone IS RH EQUAL TO THE POPULATION OF BARBADOS, it would be a RH Johnny (not you of course cause you name John2) or a RH Jeffrey (Bostic), to tek de RH chance to let a body come into Barbados and leh she go home and RH self quarantine till she test come back!

I put it to you again that Liz knew that she was RH infected before she get back here

No body who was previously the RH minister of Health, could be so RH stoopid as to tek a chance like dat

By the way, have you been hearing the rumour about Mugabe i.e. that instead of a “procedure” that is was ****? caught on de **** dat she leh in de island

But doan ask de ole man bout dat cause um is a state secret and, ole menses like me, is not supposed to know dese sorts of tings

heheheheheeheheheeheheheheeheheeheh

48. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

That is their busiess to continue getting robbed, she can’t get a dime of mine, I owe her nothing, i will give her free advice, only on humanitarian grounds, just to show that some of us regardless, never lose our humanity…

49. NorthernObserver Avatar

@Tron
    I thought you wrote you were recommending Sen CF for that ambassador posting?
    I see from the printed media anybody who speaks and is not in an elected position, is now “outspoken”.

Leave a Reply to Cuhdear BajanCancel reply