grenville-phillips
Submitted by Grenville Phillips II

During the COVID-19 press briefings, the Government refused to divulge any information on where positive cases had contracted the virus. We were not allowed to know the village, district or parish. We were not allowed to know whether they visited a business, or the type of business.

The reason for this secrecy, was to avoid any type of stigma and discrimination. We were to accept that: Barbados was one country, we were all in this together, and there was no room for division during this COVID-19 crisis.

Last Sunday (17 May 2020), the Government decided to throw one organisation to the wolves of social media. The Government claimed that three members of a small Church, in Bridgetown, with a membership of about 30, had tested positive. Well, that excluded the large Anglican, Methodist and Moravian churches in Bridgetown.

As if that were not enough, the Government threw fuel on the fire by publicly speculating that they were not sure, but that they were trying to find out whether members of that church were meeting during the lockdown.

To put the final nail in the coffin, the Government directed that this church was ordered closed until further notice.

On Tuesday 19 May 2020, the Government revealed that they had tested 27 members of the 28-member church, and four persons were positive. Our Acting Chief Medical Officer admitted that there was no evidence to support the allegation, that members of the church had met during the lock-down.

Why allow this irresponsible public speculation? Why did the Government make the reckless public allegation in the first place, that we now know was dangerous fake news?

Has the Government changed the way it reports on positive cases? Is this new protocol to be retroactive? Are we to expect the Government to now publicise the type, size and location of establishments that the other positive cases were in contact, or is this new exposure to only target churches?

The Other Shoe.

Just when we thought that things could not get any worse, they dropped the other shoe. The Government exposed the actual name of the next positive case. What would possess them to do that? What about the stigma that they were so insistent of avoiding?

Why also reveal that the lady tested positive for COVID-19, but was allowed to delay the mandatory isolation that the rest of us must endure, to see her ailing mother?

What about those Government skits, where people were pleading to see their elderly parents, but were denied for the greater good of all Barbadians? They must have known that everyone would see the blatant double standard.

Why throw the lady under the bus, to be ravaged by the wolves of social media? Does the Government think that their new strategy of exposing individuals, will encourage people who think that they may have the virus, from coming forward? Do they think that this new strategy will encourage persons to cooperate with those doing contact tracing?

To be charitable, it seems that the current set of persons managing this crisis are now exhausted. They are consistently making lunatic level mistakes, that cannot be rationally explained.

Further, their mistakes have consequences that can harm us all. Their recent actions are foreseen to force positive cases both underground, and from cooperating with those doing contact tracing.

Solutions Barbados suggests that the current managers be given a two-week vacation, to rest. They can then resume their duties recharged, for the benefit of us all.

Grenville Phillips II is a Chartered Structural Engineer and President of Solutions Barbados. He can be reached at NextParty246@gmail.com

145 responses to “And a Time To Rest”

1. de ole man has an item here for John2 that needs your assistance Honourable One

2. @ NorthernObserver May 21, 2020 5:39 PM

We can still appoint C.F. if the previous holder does not survive the epidemic. Wait two weeks and see.

If this is not the case, a change of roles is a good idea: The senator to New York, the former ambassador to the COVID19 council as special envoy for pensioners.

3. ” The number of new daily cases continues to trend upward. The five-day rolling average — a statistic that helps smooth spikes and dips in data to provide a clearer picture of trends — bottomed out at 328 on May 12, after three weeks of steady decline. It has been rising since then, and currently sits at 410.”

https://www.cbc.ca/news/canada/toronto/covid-19-coronavirus-ontario-may-21-testing-target-1.5578391

4. @ Tron ye olde Sexton,

You are truly missing your calling Tron

You does talk superlative, concentrated piffle!!!

“…We can still appoint C.F. if the previous holder does not ……… Wait two weeks and see.

If this is not the case, a change of roles is a good idea: The senator to New York, the former ambassador to the COVID19 council as special envoy for pensioners…”

De ole man will not repeat any ill towards Liz cause already Man-Chile Koolaid Kid going round saying that we dissenters are promoting “Death to Mugabe”

All a person has said is that she must not be allowed to get in the HoA a second time cause her first time has shown that she is a despot.

But de boy “special” and has some “enlightened moments” dat de ole man thought only came with old age and the ubiquitous dementia.

I still calling for you to be banned on the grounds of “Homicide by Laughter”

You were always a jovial person in real life Tron.

There is a part of your spirit that is gentle like the touch of a butterfly

5. Your assistance please Honourable One

6. @ Piece the Prophet May 21, 2020 6:53 PM

Oh You Great Legend, Our Prophet!

Once again, you misunderstand me TOTALLY. OF COURSE I wish her a speedy recovery and a long life! And no new infections. – All my hollow words are but an echo of secret thoughts of power. On this stage I bluntly present things as the puppeteers actually think. Only children and the court jester may recite these secret sayings.

However, the trouble with the senator has become excessive and very painful for our leader. The senator is mutating into the number one rebel in the state of Barbados. A one-man army, so to speak, replacing a hundred opposition members. A walking reminder against power.

Solution: People who know too much and are dangerous are promoted to such high positions that they can’t do any more harm. That’s why we have so many incompetent managers at state companies and other entities. We therefore urgently need a suitable office for the senator, where he can no longer speak freely. Like Jeff 😉 (whereby I do not imply any incapacity in the sense mentioned here).

How about a new embassy somewhere overseas where it’s nice? Paris, Berlin or Vienna, for instance? 🙂 Or president of a newly created Labour Court of Appeal? 🙂 As a judge, he must remain neutral. Like Jeff.

7. Eastern Caribbean COVID-19 Status as of 21 May 2020

Country-Specific Information

Barbados has ninety confirmed cases of COVID-19 within its borders and has confirmed one case aboard a cruise ship in Barbadian waters.

8. On March 14, 2020, the Department of State authorized the departure from any diplomatic or consular post in the world of U.S. personnel and family members who have been medically determined to be at higher risk of a poor outcome if exposed to COVID-19.

Please note that in some instances current information may not be available for some countries in the list below. For example, in cases where dates have expired government sources have not provided an update.

Anguilla
    Antigua & Barbuda
    Barbados
    Country-Specific Information

Barbados has ninety confirmed cases of COVID-19 within its borders and has confirmed one case aboard a cruise ship in Barbadian waters.
    Barbados upgrades to Stage 3 of the national response plan.
    Curfew is 8 pm to 5 am each day and has been extended until May 31, 2020.
    Beginning May 18, visits to the beach will be allowed from 6 am to 9 am and 4 pm to 6:30 pm.
    Effective Wednesday April 15, 2020 – Residents and Citizens will be allowed to conduct essential business two days per week according to their surname
    Barbados has established a COVID-19 information hotline that can be reached at 246-536-4500.
    The Grantley Adams International Airport is closed to commercial flights until June 30, 2020.
    U.S. citizens who are considering returning to the United States are urged to contact their airlines for flight availability and to make travel arrangements.
    Entry and Exit Requirements:

A mandatory 14-day quarantine in a Government facility for allpersons entering Barbados
    Anyone arriving with a travel history from China, Iran, and South Korea are also subjected to a fourteen (14) day quarantine.
    Citizens and residents of Barbados will be subject to a home-quarantine.
    The Government of Barbados is conducting thermal screening at airports and seaports.
    Other links:

Travel.state.gov Country Information and Travel Advisory pages
    Travel.State.gov information for cruise ship passengers
    COVID-19 crisis page on travel.state.gov
    CDC page on COVID-19
    Caribbean Public Health Agency (CARPHA)

9. David
    When; or where and how should be the question?

10. Cuhdear Bajan Avatar

@Critical Analyzer May 20, 2020 6:40 PM “COVID is not the boogeyman. Fear and Stupidity is the real boogeyman.”

5,102,573 sick people

332,994 DEAD BODIES.

I hope that you are not joining these people anytime soon

11. Cuhdear Bajan Avatar

@Disgusting Lies and Propaganda TV May 20, 2020 11:49 PM “@Cudear at the risk of sounding condescending, an Ambassadorship isn’t exactly given to the “average” person you know, that person is usually one that has achieved some sort of “status” before the appointment i.e. being a former, MP, senator, lawyer, professor.”

I have met more than an Ambassador or two or three in my time and I put it to you that a lot of them are as ordinary as tap water.

Who you think you fooling that the world is filled with these extraordinary ambassadors?

I put it to you that not 1 in 1,000 is extra-ordinary.

Most get their pick principally for political reasons, that political reason is that they donate time or money to their favorite political party. The bigger the donation, the bigger the ambassadorial pick. No extra ordinary talent required.

You think that I born yesterday?

12. Cuhdear Bajan Avatar

@Disgusting Lies and Propaganda TV May 20, 2020 11:49 PM “…being a former, MP, senator, lawyer, professor.”

You mean like that one who spent 6 hours sitting across the aisle in a plane from me begging me for a piece of pussy? Damn nuisance.

I had to spend 6 hours when i could have been sleeping saying, no, no, no, no, no, no, no, no, no, no, no.

You want me to call names?

Stupssseee!!!

13. Cuhdear Bajan Avatar

@Tron May 21, 2020 3:42 PM “… Is not the life of a 95-year-old mother of an ambassador worth more than the lives of a few insignificant Barbadian subjects who could die of COVID19?”

NOPE.

And honestly if the old lady does not hurry up and die soon people will begin to ask serious questions.

Sending my best wishes and hope that she makes it to 100 or more.

14. It would be best if our government chose an ambassador without elderly relatives on the island next time. This ensures that the ambassador does not freak out over every little trifle and run away from his/her office.

15. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

Don’t mind the fowls, people in the know posted on FB that BEFORE her POSTIVE diagnosis Liz was allowed to TOOL AROUND aka drive all over the place. she was not in any voluntary isolation…..that is what her buddies are saying…..and they are hinting that other things are not the whole truth either…

the fowls as usual are spreading their usual lies and propaganda…wuh they even talking about D-BLP Mafia family…..wuhloss….and on FB too..

..wuh wunna FAMOUS Enuff…..the whole world now knows…..

16. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

“Who you think you fooling that the world is filled with these extraordinary ambassadors?”

don’t know why they always allow these shite titles to impress them….they are not impressive and neither are the shitehounds wearing them, most of those titles are gotten through cronyism, campaign financing, nepotism, criminal syndicate membership and then to add insult to injury….the TAXPAYERS gotta pay these shitehounds while they waddle all over the place pretending they are more important than the people who pay their salaries with their double speak and utter bullshit..

tiny minds are always and easily impressed by the FRIVOLOUS…

so let them all learn to say hi to Ambassador Covid-19…brand new title..

17. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

In the meantime, the colonial slaveminded negros are working overtime to infect everyone on the island, isn’t this the same jackass claimed he could raise the dying David Thompson, well i look forward to him being just like the other colonial minded enslaved wretch in Africa for a pastor who claimed he healed the plague infected and then weeks later his ass died from the disease…..pure entertainment.

…the socially engineered SLAVEMINDED in Barbados from the parliament to the streeets will be the death of the island’s population….and let’s not talk about Atherley, he is a danger to the people all by himself..

https://barbadostoday.bb/2020/05/22/pastors-group-urges-reopening-of-churches/

A group of pastors is to appeal to Government to allow them to reopen churches for regular services, amid the gradual relaxation of social restrictions imposed by the public health emergency.”

18. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

Wuhloss…looks like the fowls RAN out of energy, Piece and Miller…

…. they had so much talk for us pre Ambassador Plague’s exposure, lawd.. they were all over the place….look how all the talk just up and died off just so…no staying power at all..

they all need to go visit THEIR ambassador…..show some camaraderie…lawd..

19. Disgusting Lies and Propaganda TV Avatar
    Disgusting Lies and Propaganda TV

@Cuddear Yuh gine really make me say “cuh dear”, as far as i’m concern no human in this world is extraordinary in the sense that you want to convey that they are more than mere mortals…but i stand by my statement that Ambassadors usually have “status” in their home country before and by being appointed as Ambassador they have gained “status” and don’t loose that “status” after they are not Ambassador anymore?…In fact they are often called former Ambassador to X when being addressed in the media
    Can you class President Trump as extraordinary? does he not have the privileges as president? didn’t he have “status” before being a President. Wasn’t Robert “Bobby” Morris a former MP and now a historian? can you class him as extraordinary? doesn’t he have status? Isn’t he seen as a person with higher “status” since his Ambassadorship to CARICOM?

20. Cuhdear Bajan Avatar

@Disgusting Lies and Propaganda TV May 22, 2020 7:55 AM “Can you class President Trump as extraordinary? ”

I THINK that Trump’s daddy who din go too far in school, who was no MP, senator, lawyer, professor. nor neffen so was a truly extraordinary man.

Rags to riches man. That ain’t easy. That takes extraordinary.

His son, who inherited daddy’s mega riches, has been a moderately successful business man, and a moderately successful “actor” on a moderately successful reality TV show, who was not even able to win the majority of the votes in the 2016 election.

If it were not for the electoral college, Trump would already be history.

However after he is dead, history not me, will decide if Trump is extraordinary.

21. Cuhdear Bajan Avatar

@Disgusting Lies and Propaganda TV May 22, 2020 7:55 AM “@Cuddear Yuh gine really make me say “cuh dear”, as far as i’m concern no human in this world is extraordinary in the sense that you want to convey that they are more than mere mortals.”

Lemme agree with you that ALL humans are mere mortals. Naked we came into this world, and naked we will leave it.

We are fully agreed on that.

22. Cuhdear Bajan Avatar

@WURA-War-on-U May 22, 2020 5:26 AM “isn’t this the same jackass claimed he could raise the dying David Thompson.”

The same.

Lolll!!!

The last time I went to St. John, David Thompson is still dead, dead, dead, as a door-nail.

Waiting to be raised up on the last day, like all those who went before him and all who have since gone that way.

Just like I will.

Just like you will.

No pastor has the power to stop us from dying…none can raise us up when we are dead.

23. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

Cuhdear…it’s shameful that not one of them can think about using the churches as food pantries or homeless shelters, but they are hot and sweaty to reopen them to pass around collection plates…

they love to be in the newspapers but I am yet to hear of any of these pretend god people doing these things that would help the most vulnerable people whose money they have been collecting generation after generation for decades….this dude calling himself raiser of the dying, only in his mind, needs to get with the program….him and all the other parasites in the churches

24. WURA-War-on-U May 22, 2020 5:26 AM

In the meantime, the colonial slaveminded negros are working overtime to infect everyone on the island, isn’t this the same jackass claimed he could raise the dying David Thompson, well i look forward to him being just like the other colonial minded enslaved wretch in Africa for a pastor who claimed he healed the plague infected and then weeks later his ass died from the disease…..pure entertainment.

…the socially engineered SLAVEMINDED in Barbados from the parliament to the streeets will be the death of the island’s population….and let’s not talk about Atherley, he is a danger to the people all by himself..

https://barbadostoday.bb/2020/05/22/pastors-group-urges-reopening-of-churches/

xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

Lack of symptoms does not mean you’re not contagious

Dr. Willam Schaffner, an infectious disease expert and professor at the Vanderbilt School of Medicine, says he believes 35 percent seems like a “reasonable estimate” for the number of asymptomatic individuals, given what we know about other viruses. But he adds that it’s important to understand what asymptomatic means. “With influenza, you can be without symptoms or have only mild symptoms and still put out an awful lot of virus,” says Schaffner. “So just because you have less disease or no symptoms, doesn’t mean that you’re not contagious.”

It’s for this reason that large gatherings are still considered dangerous
    “With asymptomatic people, they could spread it to everyone who gathers in a group if they do it casually and not carefully,” says Schaffner. “That’s why the continuing recommendations are to be cautious.” He notes that individuals, especially those who are at high risk, should remain far apart and wearing masks. The CDC continues to recommend that individuals think twice about coming together in large groups, particularly for religious services, concerts, sporting events or weddings. Although it’s unclear exactly how easily the virus spreads from person to person, a recent study found that 2,600 respiratory droplets were released in a single second of people talking.

Asymptomatic spread may be one reason why COVID-19 has been difficult to control
    Adalja notes that more testing is required in order to determine how many people are shedding the virus unknowingly, but that in the past, a disease that can spread silently proves extremely tricky to contain. “When infectious diseases have a high proportion of asymptomatic individuals who are contagious, that becomes very hard to control,” says Adalja. “And that’s probably part of the reason why this has been so hard to control. But what force does it have in the general public is an important question that I think needs to be fully more fully answered.

https://www.yahoo.com/lifestyle/cdc-estimates-35-percent-with-coronavirus-may-be-asymptomatic-which-highlights-need-for-social-distancing-say-experts-184310015.html

25. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

…”says he believes 35 percent seems like a “reasonable estimate” for the number of asymptomatic individuals, given what we know about other viruses.”

while the reckless government allow in diseased people from hotspots across Europe and North America, just because they are wealthy and have access to private jets, so they can infect the whole island with the plague…..bringing their lazy asses into the island and expect the black population to serve and please them.

…BLP government is useless to the population, are a danger to the people and everyone else who comes in contact with them and have to be REMOVED in 2023…no mistake about it, they can never be trusted.

while some other islands don’t have anymore cases and no deaths, are now preparing to open for business, Barbados is still seeing new cases, because they allowed the plague to come in on private jets…

26. Freedom Crier Avatar

To All the Nay Sayers that Only See Money First as the Objective of Churches Reopening, your Life Truly must be Miserable and Lacking in Meaning!

People can Choose of their Own Will to Do Something if they have a Chance of Dying…Then No One would work in Hospitals because of all the Diseases coming to One Location. Alternatively, No One would Take Care of you if you have a Disease.

People Die of Accidents when they Leave their home, but they Still Leave their home…

To Continue to Exert Undue Burdens on People is Tyranny. You are Exposing Yourselves to be a Mini Tyrants!

https://pics.me.me/hebrews-10-25-not-forsaking-the-assembling-of-ourselves-together-as-47126615.png

27. @Disgusting Lies and Propaganda TV
    @Better Disgusting Lies and Propaganda TV
    @Better Lies and Propaganda TV
    DLP/BDLP/DLP

I am interested in your value system. It appears that you have less respect for the medical profession than for political appointments. How does one arrive at such a state?

Please tell me.

28. Just ordered up my private jet and 20 buddies.
    Don’t wanna hear from no fuddy duddies
    Cause I am a natural ambassador
    Some also call me the love doctor

No! No! I am not Dr Walrond
    I am the doctor of love, sex and rum
    I heading Barbados to have some fun
    soon, soon – me plane touching down

What is dat I see out dey
    OMG, it is GIA
    Me plane now on the runway
    Mia tell these people to get out my way

Some fool miscount and talking abut CoVID-19
    Can’t the fool see I travelling with 20
    Quarantine the island and leave me alone
    Don’t you know I am a big boy whe I home
    Man get to hell out of my way
    The love ambassador is here to play

Note to self. Man , I iz boss. I linked Walrond an Thompson.You saw dat.

29. @ TheOGazerts,

Soca monarch 2022 ? lol Get Nicholas Brancker to write the music.

30. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

So alyuh got community spread…ya going great….for all the brain damaged dummies calling for churches to reopen, go right ahead, we will see it as natural selection..

https://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/245718/women-added-positive-covid

“Two women, aged 57 and 56, are the latest COVID-19 positive patients in Barbados, bringing the number of confirmed cases to 92.

The 56-year-old is the fifth member of a Bridgetown church to test positive.”

31. Disgusting Lies and Propaganda TV Avatar

@TheOG “It appears to be”. That is the problem with people, they deal with APPEARANCES and ASSUMPTIONS….they only look at the cover and think they have read the whole book. I think i already said that MOST PEOPLE are motivated by status. I have no disdain for doctors WHATSOEVER, that would be asinine.
    A poor boy growing up in poverty decides to study to get a Doctorate (In Medicine, Business, Economics whatever) gains a managerial job, acquires some house, land and a pretty car, he has gained STATUS. People will assume that he “doan mix wid de poor and duz only eat at restaurants” when that poor boy turn manager does crave pudding and souse because that is what he grew up eating. That same boy turn manager hires some supervisors with Bachelor’s degrees. These supervisors grew with a silver spoon and don’t need the money but the manager employs them based on their CV. Those supervisors bring up a grievance, the manager hears them but doesn’t not act immediately. The supervisors go on the radio and state the manager didn’t do such and such….the poor boy turned manager didn’t tell the supervisors that it is the Directors that are throwing interference but cant go public because he wants to protect his job, the Directors and the name of the company. But it the manager that immediately feels the backlash from the supervisors going public. I have been alive too long to KNOW that my STORY of that poor boy can be the REALITY for some manager out there. People need to read the book and not be dazzled by a pretty cover designed by someone that ain’t even read the table of contents of the same book.
    Managers, Doctors, MPs Supervisors ALL born with nothing. People ASSUME that ALL people with STATUS are the modern day HOUSE NEGRO or MASSA that they gained preference off the “blood and sweat” of someone beneath them.
    But you know what EVERYONE were born from mothers, most people have an inseparable bond with their mothers, what is so WRONG with someone “TRYING” use their STATUS especially if that status has be LEGITIMATELY earned to see their dying relatives.

32. Cuhdear Bajan Avatar

@Disgusting Lies and Propaganda TV May 23, 2020 6:19 PM “what is so WRONG with someone “TRYING” use their STATUS.”

Is that the same argument as someone using “status” to try to get their Little Johnnie into Harrison College, even though he only got 32 C in the 11+?

Educate me on the use of “status”?

Lolll!!!

33. Cuhdear Bajan Avatar

So 17% of the church members have become infected.

So according to the 2010 census about 80% of Barbados’ population professes some kind of religion.

My math isn’t too good, but 80% of 278,000 is 222,400 believers.

So if this Covid thing is allowed to “get way” in the religious buildings and 17% get infected is that 37,808?

And if 8% of those infected people die [Barbados’ current mortality rate is 7.8%] does that mean that we can expect 3,024 deaths?

Yup. I am a Christian too, but I say keep the church buildings closed for a little while more.

Keep the mosques and synagogues and temples closed too.

But keep our loving hearts and pocket books open.

34. Cuhdear Bajan Avatar

@TheOGazerts May 23, 2020 10:15 AM

Just ordered up my private jet and 20 buddies.
    Don’t wanna hear from no fuddy duddies
    Cause I am a natural ambassador
    Some also call me the love doctor

Ollll!!!

Looking forward to your visit.

But only after Covid-19 please.

Right now we don’t care how high flying and “loving” you are.

STAY HOME.

35. @Cuhdear
    I’ve got my eyes on you
    You are doing a fine job of combating some of the sillynes that comes to BU.
    Keep up the good work.
    Have a great day.

36. Disgusting Lies and Propaganda TV Avatar

@Cuddear people work hard, get money and acquire tools….some use those tools the right way to help themselves and other people…some people use the tools the wrong way but get the right results, some people use those tools for completely the opposite purpose intended, including criminal reasons. That don’t stop the fact that tools were built for good reasons to do a particular job. as Depeche Mode sang “People are People”… 7 Billion people on the planet, how many of them are saints? Zero.

37. Have a heart. Her mum is/was gravely ill. She should have been allowed to see her whilst not putting her nor others in danger.

38. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

Elderly Mom notwithstanding am sure there is now some reflection that she has successfully jetted herself into quarantine.

Hope her Mom is ok..

39. Cuhdear Bajan Avatar

Achieved status is a concept developed by the anthropologist Ralph Linton denoting a social position that a person can acquire on the basis of merit; it is a position that is earned or chosen. It is the opposite of Ascribed status. It reflects personal skills, abilities, and efforts. Examples of achieved status are being an Olympic athlete, being a criminal, or being a college professor.

So Usain Bolt has achieved status.

Ascribed status is the social status a person is assigned at birth or assumed involuntarily later in life. It is a position that is neither earned nor chosen but assigned. These positions are occupied regardless of efforts or desire.These rigid social designators remain fixed throughout an individual’s life and are inseparable from the positive or negative stereotypes that are linked with one’s ascribed statuses. The practice of assigning such statuses to individuals exists cross-culturally within all societies and is based on gender, race, family origins, and ethnic backgrounds. For example, a person born into a wealthy family has a high ascribed status based solely on the social networks and economic advantages that one gains from being born into a family with more resources than others.

So Queen Elizabeth has ascribed status.

Where do our political class fit in? It looks like ascribed status to me, because last election the people took away the status of the DLP politicians.

The people can do the same to the BLP politicians.

Now tell me who can take away Bolt’s status?

The British can decide tomorrow, like the French have done in the past, “off with her head”

Status gone.

40. Disgusting Lies and Propaganda TV Avatar

@Cuhdear … cuhdear, for fear of beating this issue to death and seeming that i support political favoritism which i really DONT with the Ms. Thompson issue.The textbook definition of status is the “RELATIVE social, professional, or other standing of someone or something” So a QUALIFIED mechanic, carpenter, chef have some sort of status….a corporal may not have the same standing as a captain but it is higher than a private in both the military and society.

MOST MPs were lawyers, doctors, technocrats BEFORE being elected, they had "achieved status". They went trough an election campaign competed against other political aspirants gained the support of many people and got in the House. If they compete in a subsequent election and lost, they only lose the title of MP but by virtue of being a former MP they are still seen as having "achieved status". So by your very definition, an MP wasn't born or just assigned with that title, they just lose some of that status after their political career has ended.
    For example Natalie if, by some act of God, had won a seat in last election she would have had the ascribed title and status of MP, even if she doesn't compete in the subsequent election she would still be seen, by SOME, as having "achieved status". Mr. Inniss had "achieved status" as a lawyer, gained the ascribed title and status of MP, but by performing criminal acts as convicted in a law court, is seen as having lost much of that status.

41. Cuhdear Bajan Avatar

Clearly we have read different text books.