In her recent address to the nation Prime Minister Mia Mottley indicated a real discussion will take place next week between the government and social partnership as it pertains to how the country will have to support workers displaced in a post COVID period. The idea of pandemic bonds has been floated.

Commonsense Barbadians understand the pandemic will force a change to the way WE have to do business today, tomorrow and in the future. It is important to define WE – it means all actors operating in civil society INCLUDING the government.

Leadership is about leading by example. There is no better time than to illustrate the idea of leading from the front than for the Prime Minister and her very large Cabinet to take a salary cut.

The blogmaster joins with many looking forward to participate in a sensible national discussion about the best way forward in a COVID world. It makes no sense ordinary people asked to make a sacrifice and OTHERS are allowed to operate business as usual.

Cutting salaries will not result in a significant savings in the context of the national budget BUT it is not about that is it.

Forced savings discussion could help save jobs

In an effort to keep job losses to a minimum, Prime Minister Mia Amor Mottley will next week start a dialogue with her financial advisors regarding the possibility of introducing forced savings for public officers.

The Prime Minister said the new measure, through which some public officers would have part of their salary kept in the form of bonds, would play a significant role in helping provide Government with more fiscal space as it continued to deal with the debilitating economic effects of the COVID-19 pandemic.

Speaking on Thursday night after consultations with the Social Partnership at the Lloyd Erskine Sandiford Centre, Mottley said forced savings could lead to hundreds of public servants keeping their jobs, even though there was no plan to start sending home any.
“If we have to look to avoid forced layoffs in Government, then we can look at a form of forced savings. We will have that conversation next week, as we want to give everyone an opportunity. We have to cut expenditure, even in spite of the fiscal space we have. We are in a comfortable position, but we want to ensure we have safe work for safe people.”
Mottley said the International Monetary Fund had recommended to its board in early June that Barbados be allowed to move from a six per cent primary surplus to one per cent.

“It will give us at least $550 million in elbow room,” she told the media.
She said Government’s main aim was to slowly get the country back to a state of normalcy. (BA)

180 responses to “Time to CUT Salaries Prime Minister!”

1. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

Oh David, my King David
    The SSS likes the article but wonders if the article is really serious about what it is purporting. We observe during the DLP reign of shite leadership that in spite of the suffering bought on by their ”want all program” economic hardship did not stop them from getting back their 10%. I mean it sounds like a reasonable plea to a government that cannot do any wrong for so many, but when wrong is presented, it is defended with a passion that one is left to wonder if the intent is to convince thinking or simple minds that what is or what was done, was done in the name of Mr. Greater Good. The BLP convinced Barbadians that giving them the mantle was for the greater good. The good that we have seen so far from her larger than life cabinet is nothing to shout about yet. She should lighten that particular load in the name of sacrifice making.

2. During this time of unprecedented suffer- there is news unemployment is now 40% and rising- leadership must be visibly demonstrated if ordinary folks are to be encouraged to believe.

3. Add a possible 80,000 to that 40%
    Where de jobs

4. Cuhdear Bajan Avatar

@Tron May 16, 2020 11:49 AM “We are already completely overpopulated because the islanders produced too many children between the 1950s and 1970s… Chinese-style birth control.”

Barbados has long had a lower birth rate than China.

Cuh dear, what do you plan to do?

Push the elderly and middled aged men and women born in the 1950’s to 1970’s back up into the pokeys of their dead mothers?

Stupssseee!!!

5. Cuhdear Bajan Avatar

@Dullard May 16, 2020 1:02 PM “Only when the tide goes out do you discover who’s been swimming naked
    — Warren E. Buffett”

Actually swimming naked in the sea feels orgasmically good.

if you and Buffet have never tried it you really, really should.

6. Cuhdear Bajan Avatar

Re: USG stimulus checks

See the link from the American Association of Retired People (AARP)
    https://www.aarp.org/politics-society/advocacy/info-2020/coronavirus-stimulus-checks.html
    Stimulus Checks: Who Is Eligible and How Much Will They Be?

7. @ Pachamama

Yes we well remember your predictions. Bang on! Capitalism as currently practiced in the West is on its last legs.

@ Tron
    You know not of what you speak. Your Malthusian thinking is devoid of any empirical or scientific basis. There are more than enough resources to support the current global population, and more, Barbados included. The size of the pie is and has never been the issue. It is how it is divided.I will say no more on this lest the BLP get ideas. lol. But I agree with you, leave Barbados small and charming.

8. Cuhdear Bajan Avatar

We missed you Fractured BLP. I am feeling that if you had not been in Wuhan, it is you, rather than Chris who would have got the big-big adviser pick.

Anyway, welcome back you trouble maker you.

9. @ Baje
    “POPPING OUT THE SHADOWS QUICKLY TO DEFEND YOUR BULLSHIT BLP GOVERNMENT WHOSE CLAIM TO FAME IS LOCKING UP POOR BLACK BARBADIANS AND FINING THEM BD$3500+ FOR BREAKING A PANDEMIC CURFEW IS I GUESS ANOTHER WAY OF “STIMULATING THE BIM ECONOMY ON THE BACKS OF POOR BAJANS”.

Reasoning like that is what the young people would call “next level delusional”. COVID-19 is an illness whatever you think about it, killing hundreds of thousands, with the highest death rate in the United States where persons did not take seriously lockdowns, held anti-lockdown protests, reopening states that haven’t flattened their curve. Go figure then why the US caseload is rising daily, and Barbados with its awful dictatorial, regime locking up poor people so far it looks is experiencing a sustained decline in rate of infection.

10. Reasoning like that is what the young people would call “next level delusional”. COVID-19 is an illness whatever you think about it, killing hundreds of thousands, with the highest death rate in the United States where persons did not take seriously lockdowns, held anti-lockdown protests, reopening states that haven’t flattened their curve. Go figure then why the US caseload is rising daily, and Barbados with its awful dictatorial, regime locking up poor people so far it looks is experiencing a sustained decline in rate of infection.

xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

CAN A GENIE-ASS LIKE YOU EXPLAIN WHY THE FOLLOWING CARIBBEAN ISLANDS WHO HAVE NOT HAD TO FINED ANYONE OF THEIR BLACK CITIZENS $2500/$3500/$7000 OR FOUR/SIX MONTHS PRISON FOR BREAKING SIMILAR CURFEW IN THEIR RESPECTIVE ISLANDS BUT HAS FAR FAR FEWER CASES THAN BARBADOS?

ST LUCIA
    GRENADA
    ST KITTS
    ANTIGUA
    ST VINCENT

LITTLE BOY NOT EVERYONE DRINKS RED KOOLAID.

11. There are enough COVID blogs take this comment there, some of you have hard heads.

12. @ Baje

You misunderstand several things, that might get lost in translation to all caps. Have you looked at the proportion of tests being conducted in those islands against their populations and compared that to Barbados’ much more aggressive testing. It goes without saying that if you don’t test, you won’t have the same rate. Also not sure those chosen territories are all beacons of protecting the poor from unjust imprisonment (St LUcia, and Vincent as examples).

I’ll leave it there and apologise to David for bringing it up. It simply was a matter that really needed clarification. It was so nonsensical.

13. @Khaleel

Did you read the blogmaster’s comment? Further comments about COVID will be deleted.

14. @ David May 16, 2020 3:56 PM

36.5 percent, to be exact. However, we can also easily reach 50 percent.

@ Dear all

My fair and balanced opinion: The unemployment rate is not the government’s fault! Mia Mottley is totally exonerated.

The unemployment rate is only so high because people are not willing to start a business themselves and work hard. Barbadians are just as dependent on the welfare state as drug addicts are on heroin. Therefore, the distribution of unemployment benefits is counterproductive because it keeps people dependent on wages like slaves on the plantation. It would be better to give unemployed people a starting credit for their business.

All joking aside, I’m taking off the mask of the red death, uh, red jester: Do you still think that with 50% unemployment (we reach this mark very soon) you can prevent a dollar devaluation? Then you also believe in the virgin conception of the Virgin Mary.

15. @ Freedom Croaker,

You ole sand viper you!

“…There aren’t enough jobs, homes, or land for Bajans, so where is she putting these people, Do these people really think we’re stupid enough not to notice the contradiction? We need to concentrate on growing our own food, not importing more mouths to feed.

She talks about the implications of our standard of life, our stability of revenue, stability of society and social security system. Well, look how that panned out for Europe. Where, More people are living on the social security, not paying tax, a burden on the health/education/infrastructure system.

She’ll be importing crime, poverty, cultures that don’t assimilate, and less resources for Bajans…”

Girl doan mind dat you ent got much use for those in the suasion of our skin, that was a great observation for a normally Looney Tundes blogger!

Why, in a time when it is necessary to be observing austerity measures at the level of the Mugabe regime IS MUGABE THINKING OF IMPORTING 80,000 people?

Votes!

She realizes that Senator Franklyn will win 18 to 12 and her strategy is not focused on cutting down the excesses of her 30 to 0 government BUT ON ENSURING VICTORY at the ballot box.

A broken clock is right 2 times a day and you have croaked the correct hour, you sand viper you!

16. These proposals are a continuation of the government’s anti-worker, IMF backed BERT austerity programme. As Caswell pointed out it’s also a green light for the private sector to attack workers’ meagre salaries.

The principle must be that those with the deep pockets must carry the heavy burden. That $8 billion in private sector savings that they were boasting about a couple of years ago needs to be gone after. The billionaires and multi-millionaires have to be forced to put their hands in their pockets before there is any talk about paying hard pressed public sector workers in government IOUs. An emergency Covid19 tax on wealth in excess of a set number is a good starting point.

For your info:

Kyffin Donald Simpson – Estimated worth: $400 million
    Sir Charles “COW” Williams – Estimated worth: $600 million

There are others too.

17. @ Tea White May 16, 2020 8:48 PM

Our positions are usually very far apart. But here, for once, I agree with you.

We need a special levy for the rich. Hiwever, in my opinion, the rich already include civil servants of grade S. It’s not acceptable that only white businessmen are charged. The native masses are mainly responsible for the disaster caused by their childish voting behaviour since 1966 and must finally face reality.

The socialist land of milk and honey is the past. Time to work hard again, like before 1966.

18. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

King David said that ~~

During this time of unprecedented suffer- there is news unemployment is now 40% and rising- leadership must be visibly demonstrated if ordinary folks are to be encouraged to believe.~~~~

That is the problem right there King David, leadership in Barbados has been lacking that decisive visibility, that greater than normal sacrifice that is needed for Bajans to replace their scepticism, doubt, and negative feelings brought on by the ”Me First” politics of the DEEBEE-DEEBEE club in the last three decades. I have said that Mottley is in the best position to push a type of politics that can set her apart from all her predecessors. After all, she being the first female and the most articulative of the lot should foster for herself a style that would put to rest her most ardent adversaries. She knows what are the concerns of Bajans regarding all that has been done in the name of DLP and BLP leadership. Unfortunately, she started her tenure with a bit of ”Me First” and troubleshooting moves meant to alleviate the fears prominent defaulters. She should realise by now that to whom much is given much is expected. A percentage sacrifice of their salaries is a start, but charting new territory in passing legislation that encourages every single household to PLANT IT UP; Compost it, Separate it; instead of placing further burdens on land tax defaulters for not paying their dues, fine these persons by using their lands to experiment or propagate soil types to grow non-conventional crops under control environments. This is. the type of leadership I would like to see, but Mottley looking at that way is another thing

19. Franklyn against ‘forced savings’

By Colville Mounsey

Opposition Senator Caswell Franklyn is opposed to Government’s proposed option of forced savings, which is designed to mitigate the economic fallout from COVID-19.

Franklyn said the idea, which, in principle, requires giving public servants a percentage of their salaries in bonds or some other instrument, would result in workers carrying a disproportionate share of the economic burden.

After Thursday’s meeting of the Social Partnership, Prime Minister Mia Amor Mottley announced that this option was being explored as an alternative to job cuts in the public sector.

“The Social Partnership, therefore, discussed as well, the option that I raised on the last occasion on which I spoke, which is how do we best share the burden and do we not need to look at some level of adjustment on the part of those who are working, in the form, not of wage cuts in the public sector, but what we call forced savings; in other words, to allow Government to be able to spend money on other things, particularly capital projects, to be able to get more people working,” said Mottley.

However, Franklyn, said that if this prospect materialises, some civil servants would be left with no disposable income.

“I believe that this is why I was not invitedto the [Social Partnership] meeting because they only want compliant voicesin the room . . . . This thing does not make a lot of sense because if you go back to 1991 when there was the eight per cent cut on salaries, it turned out that many people ended up with zero dollars in their pocket. As it was then, civilservants are right on

the edge,” said Franklyn.

He added: “The public workers did not have an increase for ten years; they just got a five per cent increase in 2018 which did not do much for them because the Government took back most of that increase in taxes. So these workers are no better off than they were under the last administration when it comes to disposable income and any cut to their money is going to put them in trouble. Forced savings is just a fancy way of saying that you are going to cut people’s salary and promise to pay it back later.”

The outspoken Senator argued that the pain would not stop at public workers, as he believed the mere mention of such alternatives to address the economic fallout from the COVID-19 pandemic, was going to green light the slashing of “already low” salaries in the private sector.

He said already he was seeing cases of private companies forcing workers to take massive salary cuts under threat of being put on the breadline.

Noting that this administration seemed to be coming up with policies “on the trot”, he added: “There are people in the private sector that are taking advantage of workers. Yesterday alone, I had calls from two different people because their workplace told them that they had to take a 20 per cent cut or else they would be made redundant.”

The veteran trade unionist, who heads the Unity Workers’ Union, said he was fearful that workers do not have adequate representation in this fight, as he believed that the National Union of Public Workers (NUPW) has been “tamed” by the Mottley administration.

When contacted, NUPW president Akanni McDowall

gave the assurance that nothing had been cast in stone, and the union would now take the proposal to members, from whom the mandate would be given.

“We now have to continue this discussion with our members and those discussions could begin as early as next week. It is only at that point that the union can give its position on the issue. We still have to see,” he said.

Source: Nation News

20. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

Always the taxpayersand the vulnerable expected to bear the brunt of government cockups….during a plague, it’s the CORPORATE THIEVES WHO STOLE A BILLION DOLLARS IN VAT…should be bearing that financial brunt and burden.., including those who allowed them to steal that large amount of money from the people…aka…both wicked governments…

21. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

“For your info:

Kyffin Donald Simpson – Estimated worth: $400 million
    Sir Charles “COW” Williams – Estimated worth: $600 million

There are others too.”

well Simpson did try to huff the oil terminal so he could sell it to Canadians for a billion dollars flat out, now he is stuck with 25% of his company but he still got his 2 billion, can’t get that oil terminal now, unless the fools in parliament give it away, but in saying that, his 400 million was more or less acquired through LEGAL business…..except for the part where is ilk is known to control and bully the black faces in the parliament, fund election campaigns so they can dictate financial outcomes and bribe them too…

Cow on the other hand…EVERYONE KNOWS… acquired his by for over 40 years through living off the backs of taxpayers and pensioners because of WEAK governance, both of them….and that is only when they were not outright stealing estates from the elderly, dying, dead and unborn, generations of young people were robbed of their futures helped by the same toxic lawyers……so Karma and Retribution being the strong ladies that they are…that 600 million has to be RETURNED TO THE VICTIMS…one way or another…..but it is guarantee that the crook will lose it all…

all the others are mostly low crawling thieves…who deserve to LOSE EVERYTHING as well…..don’t know how it’s going to be avoided when REAL MILLIONAIRES and BILLIONAIRES are losing by the hundreds of millions in the real world, the best thing for the small time thieves in Barbados to do is to give it back voluntarily and don’t pretend they are helping black beggars, whom everyone knows they stole most of it from initially.

22. @ Hants May 17, 2020 12:28 AM

What are these “experts” ruminating on which has not been discussed early on here on BU?

The question is whether the Private sector top cats and the Cabinet are going to lead by example and make the bigger sacrifice?

Get rid of the fat and then the country might be able to live off the lean.

23. up to this day i dont understand how workers could allow themselves to march with an opposition party or any political party and with your employers whom you have to confront in wage negotiations at some point, against a standing Govt and think it will end well.

if you have to protest a Govt’s action, do so, but do so, on your own. lambs should never lie down with wolves- you will have compromised yourself

the results are here and clear to see

24. Vincent Codrington Avatar

What is so difficult about understanding the concept of a circular flow of income.? Especially in an economy that is virtually closed down.

25. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ Greene at 8:21 AM

What are these “results”?

26. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

“if you have to protest a Govt’s action, do so, but do so, on your own. lambs should never lie down with wolves- you will have compromised yourself

the results are here and clear to see.”

it was said the day of the march that the employees were threatened by the same low crawling employers if they did not march, most of them had kids to feed and were concerned about their jobs..

…the employers wanted DLP gone only because Mia promised them all kinds of things…that is why they SHOULD ALL GO BROKE…..because DLP was neglecting their own people to give them all types of concessions, but the greedy are never satisfied…

…a new group of employers and self employed BLACK PEOPLE by the THOUSANDS…have to emerge to set things right…..seems like i have been calling for that for years, especially as it relates to more revenue stream, the same corrupt employers year in and year out every year does nothing for progress and revenue collection…especially when the pretend leaders keep writing off vat and taxes for friends and family stolen from the people..

27. Once again, it is very clear that the senator is not a patriot, but only represents selfish group interests and, with his eyes open, accepts the destruction of society.

It is time for our beloved leader to dissolve the Senate. It will save us the senator’s large salary.

28. We all know that the senator’s statement in times of highest unemployment is a huge provocation. The Senator divides society and puts his personal agenda before the good of the country.

He whines that the civil servants haven’t gotten a raise in 10 years. Why should they? If we measure civil servants by their productivity, they should actually give money to the state, not the other way around. – Then the Senator whines about the pay hike two years ago. This pay rise was a slap in the face to all investors in government bonds who had to give up a lot of money. The senator should really apologize to investors in Barbadian government bonds.

All patriots are called upon to back our government led by Mia Mottley. We have to keep the opposition in check as they try to lead the country into another bankruptcy.

29. @Vincent,

eunuched unions

30. Freedom Crier Avatar

RE… “A broken clock is right 2 times a day and you have croaked the correct hour”..

Piece ya Ole Legion

Ya Can’t bring ya self to say what Freedom said was True, you still have to say something Negative while Agreeing… One Day you will find out that FREEDOMS CLOCK WAS WORKING CORRECTLY ALL THE TIME, IT IS JUST THAT YOU LOOKED AT IT TWICE A DAY!

https://i.pinimg.com/736x/f7/f7/42/f7f74232d0805fc5fcc6cf3c183849c3.jpg

31. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ Greene at 9:52 AM

An effective method of reducing the labour force or Union membership, I believe.

32. It stands to reason that since the government need the extras ( minister in the ministry and czars ) to save the country,

they could need even more ministers and czars now that Barbados could be heading into an economic calamity.

33. @ Hants

Heading into would of been correct 8 weeks ago, we are now IN an economic calamity.

34. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

Don’t know what the ministers are needed for, just hire a management team to hire consultants directly, cut out the middle man aka ministers who always have to hire consultants anyway cause they never seem to know what the hell they are doing…

35. It is my sincere belief that Bajans have the brain power to right the good ship Barbados, but I fear that they lack the will.

Over the years, I have seen possible solutions to our problems suggested, but very few/little is implemented.
    The 30-0 victory gave us a chance to pivot and to save the country, but what do they do? The promises made to the people and the loftier ideals that were pledged to are all forgotten and abandoned. Instead of discarding the old playbook that almost brought us to the state of ruination, they continue to add the new pages to that nasty and tattered book.

Along came COVID-19. Even to the blind, it was obvious that our dire situation was made even more perilous. And what do they do? They introduced a youngster who if he cannot dazzle us with his brilliance will dazzle us with his BS. They dusted off and returned to the old tourism playbook with plans of continuing as if nothing happened.

But reality is a bitch. Even in their addled mind, they realized that the coffers will be emptier now, and so they will now impose further hardship and financial difficult on the masses. They now seek to promote and install “their” own police officers as they see the whirlwind that is coming.

Meanwhile good men and women, as they have done in the past, continue to off offer solutions to the problems confronting us. It is doubtful if these voices will be heard, for there is no kickback in their solutions.
    It sickens me to see administrations that play the part of a prostitute as we continue to sell our favors to the highest bidder.
    God help us all.

36. Vincent C

A cicular flow of income is anathema to neoliberal capitalism.
    In fact over the last 40 years the exact opposite has been happening.

37. Could someone please explain to me the difference between an “Outside expert” and a “Czar”. The former term was used by the DLP and the latter term is currently employed by the BLP. Are they one and the same? And why are our ministers struggling to run their own departments without requiring the services of outsiders. They (our ministers) are suppose to represent the crème de la crème of our much vaunted education system.

38. The intransigence being shown by this government is reminiscent to a similar call when the last government was in offiand provoked then minister Inniss to scream he has bills to pay too. This is the attitude!

39. @TLSN

I think the meaning has changed locally as it no longer speaks to what it originally meant before.

For instance Lea Iacoca was referred to as a Czar in the automotive industry, based on his in-depth knkwledge, achievements and years of experience in that sector. Then in the past we had great economic minds globally who were referred to as Czars of finance etc. The leading specialist in the USA on covid now, his name escapes me, short doctor with grey hair who trump muzzled recentIy, I have also heard the networks refer to similarly.

It used to mean a person steep in knowledge and experience with a professional background in the specific area, who is globally reapected for it. But alas that seems to have been changed recently.

Of course we also had the Czar of Russia which I don’t think anyone wants to be compared to. LOL

40. Freedom Crier Avatar

@ TheOgazerts May 17, 2020 12:43 PM

His Light Within Will Expose the Darkness…

When we Look to the Light within our Eyes are open and if you keep looking, we will see the Total Deception and Lies of Nearly Everything around us. The Good News is when we have begun to Recognise it and as a person we can Grow in Enlightenment.

Even though we are Surrounded by Evil, much like a Goodly Seed Buried in Soil that Struggles that Breaks Out and while yet Tender, continues struggling until it reaches the surface and Grows and only then Sprouts its Leaves, until it Matures to a Magnificent Tree and gets its Sustaining Power from the Sun and Air.

We are very much like a Seed growing in our Understanding and Wisdom and Becoming like our True Self, or who we are meant to be. We are the Seeds of Deity and will become as he is if we so Choose… Our Choices Determine our Eternal Destiny!

I am Happy and Joyous at the Thought having Embarked on this Wondrous Journey. Keep Reflecting, we are Not Alone there is Always Guidance Given!

https://www.facebook.com/photo.php?fbid=10217480414822892&set=a.10200218879935308&type=3&theater

41. @ David.

Ah I see you now coming around to what I said weeks ago and that was this government is yet to show a grasp of the post covid economy.

Don’t study the USA and the UK they can print money and deal with it later. Our hands tied with the IMF and we cant print FX. If we print more bajan dollars and let it loose behind the few USD we borrowed, then we back to the sinkyuh approach. We therefore have to restructure government to operate on at least 25% lower income than outlined in the estimates.

When I see things like that happening I will say this government is acting accordingly and this country has a chance in the post covid economy. Until then my original comments stand.

42. @ John A

Under the current economic circumstances, I cannot understand why Mia Mottley is insisting on continuing with so many Cabinet ministers and consultants. As I have mentioned in previous contributions, several of these ministers are being paid full time rates for ‘half day jobs.’

You have Wilfred Abrahams as Minister of Energy and Water Resources and Kirk Humphrey as Minister of Maritime Affairs and the Blue Economy. Both ‘half day jobs.’ Combine these two ministries and choose a fella as minister.

Senator Kay McConney is the Ministry of Innovation Science & Smart Technology, under whose portfolio the Data Processing Department and Office of Public Sector Reform fall, while Senator Lucille Moe is Minister of Information, Broadcasting and Public Affairs with responsibility for GIS, Printing Department and Broadcast authority. Two more ‘half day jobs.’ Both ministries could have been placed under the Ministry of the Public Service.

Ronald Toppin is Minister of International Business and Industry (where there is Barbados Investment and Development Corporation), while Dwight Sutherland is Minister of Small Business, Entrepreneurship and Commerce. Two ministries performing similar functions, overseen by two ‘half day job’ ministers.

Adrian Forde Ministry of Youth and Community Empowerment there is head 277 – Youth Affairs and Sports. But they also have John King as Minister of Creative Economy, Culture and Sports. Is Forde responsible for YOUTH sports, while King is responsible for ADULT sports?

What is the purpose of having:

….. Charles Griffith as Minister in the Ministry of Housing, Lands and Rural Development
    ….. Peter Phillips as Minister in the Ministry of Transport, Works and Maintenance
    ….. Neil Rowe as Minister in the Ministry of People Empowerment and Elder Affairs
    ….. Sandra Husbands as Minister in the Ministry of Foreign Trade

The National Assistance Board’s Housing Welfare Programme was closed to make way for the establishment of the Urban & Rural Development Commissions. Government should look at amalgamating UDC, RDC, NAB and Welfare Department, since they basically perform similar functions.

We can peruse the vote allocations in 2020-2021 Estimates of Revenue & Expenditure to determine the savings.

43. Fractured BLP Avatar

Tron @ May 17, 2020 , 9:01 A.M

” The Senator large salary …”

A review of the 2018 increased salaries for Public Officers , Parliamentarians and Senators will show in the case of Senators – their monthly pay is less than a $ 1,000.00 a month.

That sum of money is far less than the monthly salary Ministers of Government , Members of Parliament and Consultants….now receive under the Mottley Administration.

Tron , you can do the investigation and get back to us with your findings !

44. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ John A at 1 :47 PM

Is the IMF ” printing FX” for Barbados?

45. @ Artax

Lord when you list all of them we like we really living post covid with a pre covid structure.

Your point though brings home the reality perfectly. If we look at each entity of government and apply all the duplications that occur, you can see why they need so.much revenue to run on. One example is the Drainage Unit and MTW. 2 entities doing the same basic things. So 2 sets of equipment to maintain, 2 sets of staff and 2 sets of infrastructure and for what?

I said on this blog 2 weeks ago if we don’t restructure government to run on at least 25% less revenue, we are doomed post covid. All I seen so far is they dancing wrong the issues and making statements like ” the virus has affected our income badly as a government.” Wait wunna expected different?

Then they would say people like us are too focused on numbers and don’t understand government. I know that 2+2=4 not matter how much wunna want it to equal 6.

46. @Vincent

That is a good question in real terms. While we know Barbados can’t print FX, is the IMF not similar to a bond holder like the NIS is now in many ways? The difference being unfortunately is we will have to find the FX to pay the IMF in the end.

That is why I say I am disappointed in government not sharing with us their plan to conserve the demand for FX going forward, by expanding areas like tourism and alternative energy. This all hail the Hyatt starting to me is proof that they are putting their hopes on an industry once again, that we have no control over. I have to ask has covid taught us nothing?

47. @John A

Is now a good time to send home workers?

48. @ John A

There are also several SOE’s that are over-staffed. For example, with a reduction in the services offered by the NAB, there are 4 clerical officers, 1 senior clerk and an accountant in the Accounts Section.

But, I can’t blame this administration for that occurrence, because it is something they inherited.

49. @ Fractured BLP May 17, 2020 2:01 PM

You show once again as a member of the blue establishment how you have lost touch with real life.

1000 dollars is a lot of money for the unemployed, almost a fortune. With almost 40% unemployment, 1000 dollars is a huge privilege. If I were a senator, I would give up those peanuts anyway and donate them to the orphanage or the Salvation Army.

Leave a Reply to TronCancel reply