Our main problem is not finance, it is the availability of markets for what we produce. It is the closing of these markets that caused the decline in jobs,foreign exchange and income. Just in case we are losing focus. Is stimulus money a medium or long-term solution? It is a short term inadequate remedy. It buys time for the economic agents to regroup and re-calibrate – Vincent Carrington

This blogmaster was hopeful the COVID 19 global disease would have served as the great disrupter many of us have been waiting for.  That is, to force behavioural change necessary to efficiently manage our little economy to support a decent standard of living for our children and those to follow.

Last weekend Larry Summers a former US Treasury Secretary was asked to comment on COVID 19 impact on the economies of emerging and developing countries. He responded (in summary) that these countries will need significant financial assistance from international financial institutions. High debt burden carried by developing countries does not leave fiscal space to adequately finance policy development. He elaborated that emerging and developing countries will have to cooperate to create the perfect lobby in order to attract assistance. It brought to the blogmaster’s mind that some good may  come out of the investment by Prime Minister in raising the international profile of the country and region.

Countries have had to react quickly to a global economy forced to come to a screeching halt because of COVID 19. Finance ministers everywhere have had to reallocate scarce resources to fight the pandemic. What is scary for the developing world is that CHINA, USA and Europe responsible for fuelling the global economy have been significantly affected by the novel coronavirus. Unlike developing countries these three countries have access to financial resources to combat fallout from the pandemic.

The interdependent nature of the global economy – to Summer’s point – makes it a priority for the developed word to assist developing countries by suspending debt payments AND to consider debt forgiveness. The usual criteria of per capita income used by international agencies to ‘graduate’ needs to be jettisoned and replaced by more realistic economic performance indicators. How can a country like Barbados not qualify for significant debt forgiveness given the vulnerability of our small open economy? The global economy will not recover if markets in emerging and developing countries are left to flounder.

One does not have to be  a sage to know Barbadians will have to be sensitized by our leadership to the unprecedented challenges facing countries like Barbados because of the pandemic. The lack of financial intelligence and economic planning currently being demonstrated by local actors continues to be a big disappointment.   Almost every intervention and commentary seem to be crafted to be political or anchored in the same old same old rhetoric. Frankly it has been a struggle for this blogmaster of late to feel motivated to blog.

Does anyone besides a few – understand the implications of a country like Barbados already suffering from a decade of economic fatigue – the implication of depleting reserves or drawing down on hard to source lines of credit to fight COVID 19?

175 responses to “We in Potta”

1. @ Piece the MOCK Profit (NOT Prophet)

So wuh you call VISION is coming here everyday with some long ass posts talking shyte bout Mugabe Mottley, some stupid ass cartoons and far fetch conspiracy theories?

You call dat VISION?

Um is a VISION that tell you the government get some men to rob Caswell Franklyn? Wey de proof is?

I remember you vision tell we that in January 2019 6 men gine cross and join Atherley. Um is either dat dum crossing from very far or duh khan find Atherley. Causen um is almost 2021 and dem ent get there yet.

Um is uh next VISION mek you write in capital letters to tell we that THERE WILL BE 75 MURDERS IN 2020? Wuh happen?

Stupse……. you is a mock visionary.

But I dun know that you gine tell me I does rape nuff women and does get off all the time. You WAS THERE when I was supposedly raping these women or you see it in a VISION, like the one that tell you it was men that the government send to rob Caswell or firebomb you house or that Charles Jong put spyware pun you cvntputer.

2. @Dee Word

A country with a greater diversification – and capacity to expand on those fundamentals – will be able to navigate the challenges confronting us today and in the future better than another with less diversification?

3. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@Khaleel Kothdiwala May 12, 2020 11:36 AM
    I am disappointed that a young person like yourself has fallen under the sway of such tired and worn out ideas. You take it for granted that the investment in the Sam Lords Wyndham and the Carlisle Bay Hyatt will actually produce completed structures. On the contrary, there is a huge likelihood that they will produce only half built white elephants which will blight our coastline much as the Four Seasons at Paradise Beach and the Harlequin in Hastings already do. Even if the hotels do manage to open they will not be able to operate at a profit and so will be abandoned again shortly thereafter. The Bank of England says that the UK economy could fall by 14 per cent this year, the deepest depression since 1706. North America and our other tourism source markets will not fare any better. The pandemic is not going to suddenly disappear… who is going to go on holiday for three weeks when two of those weeks must be spent in medical isolation?

The type of tourism that these hotels are designed for is dead. It is unforgivable that my generation is saddling your generation with the debt that we incur for building these useless monstrosities which will simply stand as empty, crumbling, ugly monuments to our shortsightedness and greed.

4. @ Peter L Thompson

I agree that it is a bold assumption that these two projects will be finished. Indeed Sam Lord’s Wyndham has thus far had a rather chequered history. However, there seems to be little point in abandoning them presently, particularly Wydham, because to do so would be to make certain that they become eye sores, which is a concern of us both.

More to the point, while we have learnt (as really we have learnt time and again over the years) that building an economy almost completely reliant on an industry so prone to exogenous shocks is foolhardy; it is equally foolhardy to pivot entirely away from the hospitality industry. There are still gains to be made, perhaps not in the immediate short-term but they will still be there for the reaping. That is why we must diversify the tourist product to enter forcefully into much talked about but little action seen market segments of sports, heritage, medical, palliative (I think we ought to become seriously engaged in palliative tourism as we have the perfect conditions) etc etc tourism. But this is no time to abandon the industry. As I said by all mean we must diversify but equally we mustn’t dump tourism entirely.

5. Possibly, Carlisle Bay Hyatt is designed to easily convert to Condos if Tourism fails .

6. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@David, your 11:49 AM, again on its face, is a solid mantra… but go deeper and its becomes a sweet cliche! Let me be clear, I get your position but I am stressing the point (as others have made) that this is the type seismic event which guys like Doc GP would say was long in prophecy and others less faith-based would simply note as a once-in-a-century shift that confounds our best laid plans.

Consider the US, @David.. 50 different states which are very diverse … some built on agriculture/fishing/and related, some on oil n big manufacturing, some on financial and other services, some on a very comprehensive combination of all that, some big exporters and others net importers and ALL together the biggest and baddest economy in the world…. YET they ALL together are also the worst devastated by this pandemic (and forget POTUS for this debate)…

…. so how do you square your diversification circle with that !

Someone said above that covid is NOT an opportunity but absolutely it is…. because it is offered that ‘when one door closes another one essentially HAS to open’ …. The problem is understanding how the eff that blank wall in front of us in the closed-up room can be a freaking opportunity. And that is the eternal challenge between success and failure!

Lots of successful folks here who saw how to ‘open’ their new door after staring at ‘that wall’ … so surely lots of opportunities will abound around the world and too lots of dramatic failings!

7. Piece the Legend Avatar

Robert aka Raper of women while dry working as staff.

Why you dont lef de ole man doah?

You not only vex wid me cause I expose you as de employee of Mugabe who always in court for rapes

But cause I getting people to follow the writings of de PdP the next government of Barbados

Heheheheheheheheheheheheh

You tink dat you kin goad de ole man to respond to your little remarks? Whu dem is as small as you likkle organ dat de wumen you rape reported you have!

I got you wukking overtime yeah pun BU.

Here is the Vision de ole man does use so fluently and frequently here pun BU

“…1.a. The faculty of sight; eyesight: poor vision. b. Something that is or has been seen. I does dat all de time! The PdP will win 18 seats in the coming election.

2.Unusual competence in discernment or perception; intelligent foresight: a leader of vision. I does dat too as in seeing dat wunna vex with Senator Caswell Franklyn and how he winning public support

3.The manner in which one sees or conceives of something. Dat is obviously my known skill!

4.A mental image produced by the imagination. Goes without saying I bright as shy$e

5.The mystical experience of seeing something that is not in fact present to the eye or is supernatural. As you have confirmed with my vision of 30 to 0 as well as 50 murders in 2019

6.A person or thing of extraordinary beauty. Fearfully and wondrously made.

8. I wouldn’t say stop the hotel projects ONCE they are ONLY financed by the private sector. What I don’t want to hear is talk about the NIS funds being used to finance any such projects under the pretence of a bond issue as a ” safe” investment for the fund.

What I have not see is any diversification of our economy being discussed or implemented at government level. The idea that tourism and hotel construction will be our saving virtue post covid, is a pipe dream based on pre covid thinking. Understand you are creating products that there is no demand for in the short to medium term. The international carriers have all said they do not see a return to 2019 levels of travel for another 3 years. They have made it clear that with or without government assistance, they will be reducing their fleets during this period. Also remember over the last decade we have been unable to maintain an annual occupancy in excess of 60% of our previous room stock. So based on this how post covid wunna going fill these new rooms?

I am tired saying this but we have to focus on FX saving or FX generating activities not in the tourism sector. Two that come to mind are agriculture and alternative energy. We all need to eat and we all need electricity to live off of. I would like to see this government review all of our FX demands yearly using the motto A USD SAVED IS A USD EARNED.

Post covid we know their will be reduced travel. We can bicker over what Percentage that would be but to me that is irrelevant now. What is relevant however is that we must direct our stimulus funds at areas that will give us the beat bang for the buck and where demand is guaranteed. Sadly for all the pre covid thinkers that does not include tourism based activities.

Swallow the bullet accept this reality and for God’s sake move on!

9. @ John A

Generally agreed and like you I would be more comfortable with it being private sector driven. I am similarly concerned about using NIS but I recongising the extraordinary times and given appropriate grandfathering of the NIS taking place, at this time I wouldn’t say is a major concern.

But fully onboard with the need to diversify

10. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

Khaleel Kothdiwala May 12, 2020 12:14 PM
    Here is a short list of facts about our tourism industry:
    + We currently have accommodations for up to about 10,000 visitors on the island.
    + In our best years we achieve a 60% occupancy rate of that accomodation.
    + Our current airlift capacity flies from three major markets, the UK, the USA, and Canada.
    + Half of the airlines that supply our current airlift are likely to be bankrupt within 9 months.
    + Our best science has never managed to produce an effective vaccine for any human or veterinary coronavirus, despite decades of trying. Optimistic estimates hope for a COVID-19 vaccine in 18 months, but it may well take years longer.
    + The vast majority of existing accommodation companies will go out of business if their occupancy drops by half… and all the evidence suggests that occupancy will drop by over 90% and that the drop will last for years.

Here is a list of possible responses to the crisis that faces our tourism industry:
    1. Spend $200 million of public money repainting and sprucing up hotels for non-existent tourists.
    2. Expand our accomodation stock in the hope of attracting non-existent tourists.
    3. Rebuild Sam Lords even though you know that the mild 2000-2001 recession killed the previous operation.
    4. Build the Hyatt even though you know that the 2008 recession littered our shoreline with half built eyesores.
    5. Find ways to repurpose existing tourism infrastructure to new markets or new uses.
    6. Use $200 million of public money to help tourism industry workers retrain themselves.
    7. Move the Barbados tourism brand dramatically upmarket so that the 5% of tourist who do arrive spend $10k/day rather than $1k/day.

You make the assertion that “There are still gains to be made, perhaps not in the immediate short-term but they will still be there for the reaping.” Sadly for our 2019 style tourism industry, this is a grievous error without any basis in fact or evidence. It is at best wishful thinking, or at worst self delusion.

11. Blog, after blog and the same fantasies. Many on BU know WHY, many feel them know WHAT but very few know HOW. Without the HOW, the WHAT is useless and plenty of the WHAT is based on feelings void of reality. Take the oft repeated agriculture industry. Primary agricultural goods account for $160M of the $600M food import bill. Fuel imports totalled 728M last year. Tourism revenue was 1.4B? Remember you can only spend forex, if you have it. Anyone can write an article and talk pretty, even get posted in the local newspapers.🤣🤣 I prefer to see a track record of doing or an example of where it was done, why it worked and a robust justification for why it would work in Barbados. The world is crying for sea island cotton, I read on another BU blog. Ok fine, so tell the blog how the Sea Island cotton industry in Bdos can dry these many tears. Tell us what the government is doing to achieve their zero-carbon target and how could the transition be fast tracked? Talk is the easy part and maybe that’s why so many of the popular ‘solutions’ never materialise. Just unsound mouthings?

12. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@Khaleel Kothdiwala
    I am not suggesting that we dump tourism… I am simply pointing out the obvious: tourism has dumped us. The industry as we knew it is over. Finis. Kaput. Pushing up daisies. It is not coming back no matter hoe fervently we pray for it to rise again on the third day… or the third month or the third year. You can mourn its demise if you so choose, but then we must take up the hard work of inventing a forex earning industry to replace it in a sustainable manner.

13. Piece the Legend Avatar

@ John A

When you goes focus pun a topic that is other than that and de next one, you does show your scholarship and vision !!!

“…I am tired saying this but we have to focus on FX saving or FX generating activities not in the tourism sector…”

De ole man been heah talking bout dat diversification Vision all de RH time.

But to what end?

John A, you ever visit a zoo? And saw beautiful creatures there? You ever tried to talk to them?

Dat is why do ole man does talk about people, WITH WHOM YOU CAN CONVERSE and dumb ass sheeple OF WHOM OUR EXISTING COUNTRY MAKES UP 83.5627%!

And who currently constitute 91.607% of the ministers and decision makers in government @2020

That is waste foopism John A.

14. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

Enuff May 12, 2020 12:57 PM
    “I prefer to see a track record of doing or an example of where it was done, why it worked and a robust justification for why it would work in Barbados.”
    ++++++++++++++++++
    What you have eloquently stated here Enuff, is that you prefer never to innovate. You prefer to have some other people from some other place lead you by the nose. You prefer never to take risks, you prefer always be a follower and never a leader.

Some of us are mode of bolder stuff.

15. Khaleel Kothdiwala May 12, 2020 11:36 AM #: “Finally the Golden Square Freedom Park is another entry into our heritage tourist product, once more making us a more attractive destination.”

@ Khaleel Kothdiwala

Could you please explain to this forum, what “significant benefits” the “Golden Square Freedom Park” is “likely to yield in the short-, medium- and long-term?”

So, this park has now SUPERSEDED a comprehensive “Management Plan for Historic Bridgetown and its Garrison,” which, in my opinion, is much more BENEFICIAL to our heritage tourism product and making Bridgetown more attractive?

What about the Errol Barrow park or why couldn’t ‘government’ look at redeveloping Queens Park to ‘do the same thing they intend to do with GSFP?

I note with interest the old NIS building, fire service headquarters and temporary Golden Square market were demolished, leaving the ‘Clement Payne park’ in Golden Square, UNTOUCHED. I believe the ‘Golden Square Freedom Park” is basically a ‘commemorative symbol’ for David Commisiong…… a reward for his ‘yeoman service’ to the BLP, during what is now being described as the ’10 lost years.’ There aren’t any financial benefits to be derived from GSFP that could contribute to the island’s economic growth.

Then, you talk about heritage tourism, while we haven’t heard of any plans to redevelop the ‘slums’ of Nelson Street, where several derelict buildings and houses could be found, or Bay Street. Look across Bay Street and Jemmotts Lane (from its junction at Bay Street to Collymore Rock)….. you’ll see the ‘eye sores’ called the old eye hospital………the old buildings that once housed the ministries of health and education…… and old, abandoned, rusting vehicles that were once used by the ministry of health.

16. PLT
    “Move the Barbados tourism brand dramatically upmarket so that the 5% of tourist who do arrive spend $10k/day rather than $1k/day.”

There are destinations that people want to visit because it says you have arrived. Barbados is such a place. When we go further upmarket what do you think will happen? We keep going in circles, circles, circles.

17. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@Enuff May 12, 2020 1:06 PM
    “When we go further upmarket what do you think will happen?”
    ++++++++++++++++++
    We will make more money per tourist. Why? What do you think will happen?

18. RE Blog, after blog and the same fantasies. Many on BU know WHY, many feel them know WHAT but very few know HOW. Without the HOW, the WHAT is useless and plenty of the WHAT is based on feelings void of reality.
    WELL SAID ENUFF!……….ENUFF SAID! YOU NEED SAY NOTHING MORE SIR
    WE NEED TO WORK ON THE HOW!

19. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@GP May 12, 2020 1:14 PM
    “WE NEED TO WORK ON THE HOW!”
    +++++++++++++++++++
    Exactly correct. Let’s work on the how. I wrote in the Sunday Sun how to develop a US$1.5 billion per year International Resident industry that utilizes a significant fraction of our existing tourism industry accommodation infrastructure. I also have an idea which integrated solar energy generation with agricultural production to increase the efficiency of both while also reducing predial larceny by both humans and monkeys.

What are your ideas about how?

20. NorthernObserver Avatar

A HUGE number of strategies in the personal, business and public sphere are targeted at one thing, CURRENCY. Solve this, and many other things will fall into a better place.

Remember, had it not been for the FTC, BNTCL would now be foreign owned too, after the sale of SOL. The primary reason for many of the sales of local business to foreign entities is not price, it is the buyer’s ability to pay in Fx and offshore. It is what sunk DI. The second reason is poor management.

21. @Pieces

I like you want to see change. The thing that concerns me is we have been in this covid lockdown for 6 weeks now and what have we heard from our leaders on diversifying the economy?

They say to change one must first accept that change is needed. From where I sit I can’t say I have seen that acceptance from this government. All like now I expected as the Americans say ” A fireside chat”, where in the PM meets with the press on state TV and lays out the agenda she will give to the Covid finance council. Hasn’t happened yet, but we have appointed a council who we will “left to wunna” to come up with something.

No! We tell them what we want in a firm agenda that is publically known by all, so for example.

Cut food imports by 40% in 2 years.

Reduce dependence on fossil base fuel by 30% in 2 years.

Restructure economy to where tourism is no more than 30% of total economy.

Find other methods of saving FX. Outside those listed above that would reduce demand by an additional 10% yearly.

I mean Pieces if you hire a painter you don’t tell them de walls you want paint? Or you does give them the paint and brush and tell tem do what you want?

22. @ PLT

You would notice from my first comment that I acknowledged that changes have to be made in the modus operandi of our hospitality industry; without a doubt. As we seek to diversify not only the entire economy but also our tourist product we must take care not to be guilty of the sin that our German friends counsel us against, das Kind mit dem Bade ausschütten. You might be surprised to discover I support fully your suggestions 5-7 at 12:52. But multiple ideas ought to contend.

@ Artax

The GSFP is simply another important addition to our heritage tourist product. The development of Golden Square is not mutually exclusive. There are a plethora of derelict Crown buildings that ought either to be repurposed or sold to private interests, if they are of insignificant historical value. But that fact does little to diminish GSFP’s relevance as a site hopefully of intellectual stimulation in a location of great significance for the development of our social democratic ethos which has guided successive administrations.

In practical economic terms, quite obviously the provision of short-term construction and allied jobs as well as long-term tourism value are evident.

In sum, we ought to boldly forge new industries, properly exploit existing ones, and rectify the madness that is derelict eyesores on prime property. This however does not negate the steps being taken already.

23. @ peterlawrencethompson May 12, 2020 12:52 PM

You are absolutely right with your assessment of tourism. We still have a lot of unfinished buildings from the 2008 crisis. I would add that Barbados is already far too expensive for tourists. There are simply not more or other tourists who want to pay even more. For what? For the lazy local waitresses? The mediocre food in the Cliff and Sandy Lane? Or the sandy beach that you can find elsewhere?

Those who want to build new hotels now have obviously never run a business before. But that’s the problem with Aboriginal politicians. Most of them are lawyers, so financially they can’t even count to 10 and they keep confusing credit and debit.

24. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

“You prefer never to take risks, you prefer always be a follower and never a leader.”

they prefer local crooks, foreign thieves and foreign consultants take risks with the people’s money while they sit on the side with their lazy weak selves and do nothing, they never want to see their own people with their own billions building anything progressive…. and when the money is stolen or lost by the billions of dollars, find excuses to give them more …and repeat…

the blighted plight of the fowl..

25. @peterlawrencethompson May 12, 2020 12:52 PM

Addendum:

You should not be surprised if some discussants here still hold on to the idiocy that has been cultivated for 20 years, that “one or two hotel projects” put the island back on the road to success.

You, PLT, like me, have travelled around in the big wide world. You have to know the richest countries and the biggest sh*t holes from your own experience to get a proper picture. You can’t seriously expect islanders who sit like frogs in the bottom of a glass to understand your arguments.

26. @John A

Isn’t the *Jobs and Investment council *suppose to deliver on diversification questions about the economy?

27. @Artax
    “I believe the ‘Golden Square Freedom Park” is basically a ‘commemorative symbol’ for David Commisiong……”:

Best description I’ve read for awhile……..

As much as we love our heroes for what they accomplished, they can’t help us now!

We need to move on and embrace the suggestions of PLT, & other, on how to ‘survive’ and grow in the next 3-5 years. Let us hope our decision-makers read BU!!!

28. @ khaleel

I am not supporting any use of NIS funds going forward on any investments, until such time as the true net asset base at market value can be confirmed by an audit, wherein the booked value of assets can be revised and confirmed. Ok so this is what I mean.

Let’s say the booked value of all the NIS assets including bonds are $3B dollars based on purchase value. So let’s use the below example just for reference.

Bonds book value at original cost = $2B

Real estate value based on building cost = $1B

After revaluation of assets based on market value and bond value at today’s market forces:

Bonds at saleable value based on market valuation = $1.4B

value of real estate holdings based on market value $600M

So what we as tax payers need to understand is that the booked asset value and the market value of the fund is vastly different. In other words what is the NIS fund really worth? Now add to that the cashflow shortfall from June, which will result from 30,000 unemployment claims and the said 30,000 no longer making payments to the fund and you have a perfect storm.

Until all the above can be confirmed by an external audit wunna leave the few cents in the NIS alone!

29. William Skinner Avatar

@ Artax
    You are spot on as is usual. I think the Fairchild Street terminal was wonderfully upgraded some decades ago. I agree that we need to stop the “ set up anywhere” habits of our vendors. We don’t help our brothers and sisters when we keep them in squalor. We need to stop this nonsense about “ hurting the poor black man”. These self employed persons should be paying taxes and making national insurance contributions etc
    If we decide to continue pumping money into hotels, we must think of worker ownership and redesigning the industry in order to correct the unequal playing field.
    My fear is we will continue doing the same things and expect different results.
    Excellent post.

30. @Hants

“Possibly, Carlisle Bay Hyatt is designed to easily convert to Condos if Tourism fails ”

More likely to become FREE housing for the poor unemployed civil servants that can no longer shop at PRICE SMART and fill their carts with $1000 using MICKEY MOUSE non existant dollars.

31. @ David.

That is the issue there. The council as I understand it has not been given either a mandate or an agenda by the MOF, other that to “go and see what wunna can come up with.”

We don’t have time to play with green papers and white papers now. It is a time for them to be given a clearly defined agenda based on what we as a country urgently need. Then again we got Sinkler there so all should go well!

32. @ Khaleel Kothdiwala May 12, 2020 11:36 AM
    “Sam Lords Wyndham Grand Resort attracts a slightly higher segment of the tourist market than other hotels. At a time with job losses across the world, the ability of many vacationers to have a luxury such as a vacation is diminished. However, Wyndham’s clientele if we can make a slight generalisation, should not be so significantly impacted that they will be unable to travel. Whenever we can reopen following the science and adopting appropriate protocols, these persons might find it refreshing to visit a wonderful oasis in a tormented world.
    Hyatt tends to be a business hotel, and in a world where businesses have forcefully explored the world of teleconferencing, there may not be a rush to resume unnecessary business travel. However, we will have to see and the Hyatt Ziva is a valuable addition to our tourist product….”
    ++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

Not a word from the mouth of the BU babe about the Blue Horizon which already has a firm but unoccupied presence on the tourism ground!

When is the Hard Rock hotel going to do its renovation and expansion thing!

And who would be the targeted clientele for a Hyatt Ziva hotel designed and built for the business traveller?

Bridgetown is no Kuala Lupur or Abu Dhabi (or even a growing Georgetown or steady-state Kingston or PoS) but a commercially dying run-down town whose rat population outnumbers the human residents.

Where would these ‘business visitors’ be coming from to spend 7 days for R&R? Pakistan?

Even Ms Ram penitentiary-like building in St. Philip has more potential as a business hotel than your imaginary mini skyscraper which would be just another magnate for rats and parros residing in a dilapidated town getting ready for delisting as a World Heritage Site by UNESCO.

Why don’t you listen, at least, to your Uncle PLT?

Here is a deal KK! Let the principal(s) behind the Lighthouse show you the foreign money needed to construct the Lighthouse and we will say 3 Hail Marys and, like the children of Fatima, see you like a beacon of hope as the Bajan Joan of Arc.

33. @ Kaleel Kothdiwala

Hmmmmm…… seems as though you’re using ‘Turbo’ brand kool-aid. Despite your ‘ambiguous rhetoric’ I believe you’re missing the point.

The GSFP is an unnecessary waste of taxpayer’s money at this time. It will not add anything to our tourism product, but only serves to provide an area where Commisiong could talk some shiite.

If the park is for the purpose you ‘say,’ then, if it is built within an environment surrounded by slums and derelict buildings, pray tell us how would it be attractive enough to attract tourists?

34. @PLT do you mind posting your newspaper article?

35. @ John A

“…I mean Pieces if you hire a painter you don’t tell them de walls you want paint?

Or you does give them the paint and brush and tell tem do what you want?…”

If it were only as simple as that woefully unwise situation John A!!

What we have is them hiring two “painters” who while painting the several “houses” that we have had over the last 25 years HAVE EFFED THEM UP ROYALLY! in the worst of ways.

One painter Owen Arthur while he was on the job went by heself and credit all the extra paint he could from all the Hardware stores locally and internationally stockpiling paint saying that “he borrowing for a rainy day” AND NEVER EVER USED THE PAINT!!

The next one get 23 black marks from the international equivalent of the local credit agency.

But Mugabe has hired Tweedledee and Tweedledum, aka Puff the Magic Dragon and Cris 0.0007 Bond Stinkliar to paint our economy again.

Here is what I expect is going to happen with them though

Mugabe is going to fire them in one of the most public scenes of Disgraceful Public Service Ever to be seen!

I now understand why Tron (their inside man?) has been hinting about Owen’s failure at everything he has had to manage!

They want to embarrass the short man for his Unbreakables!!

Machiavelli at his best!!!

36. William Skinner Avatar

@ Artax
    By now you should recognize when a newly minted apostle is given talking points. Let the gentleman have some fun! Don’t forget the search for a new Tom Adams/ David Thompson/ Mia Mottley is perennial in our political culture. Another chicken to be placed in the BU incubator before it’s placed in the senate. Watch dem closely……very closely.

37. @ John A

You raised an interesting point. Without financial statements it’s impossible to know exactly how much money is in the NIS fund. Perhaps they may be using bank reconciliations to determine the ‘cash book’ balance and then say ‘the account got on money.’

38. @ Artax
    “If the park is for the purpose you ‘say,’ then, if it is built within an environment surrounded by slums and derelict buildings, pray tell us how would it be attractive enough to attract tourists?”

That is a point which is indeed a sensible concern. One would hope that the Hyatt Ziva project being in such close proximity, one can see the level of CSR from say Sandals in its adoption of St Lawrence School or EY adopting West Terrace and QC, and many other corporate entities undertaking similar “adoption” projects. I would certainly hope the developers and after that the owners go beyond the mere tokenism of hiring a resident of London Bourne as a liaison (tokenism at its finest and a brilliant PR move, even if rather transparent). Government need not do everything itself. Barbados is not a planned economy. It is mixed. Let’s hope Government’s first step will incentivise increased expenditure on the private sector side to contribute to the rejuvenation of the surrounding area and indeed various other places. Just on the outskirts of my home in Atlantic Shores/Enterprise, Barney Gibbs and TDC embarked on a minor project to provide an almost mini-park with seating etc overlooking the ocean at Freight’s Bay. That is the kind of private sector investment we need particularly post-COVID. And the Government’s steps to stimulate confidence in the economy is receiving from what I hear the correct noises from the private sector who are on board. It seems the whole country is except for BU.

39. @ Skinner

As though I enjoy a position to have the ear of the country’s leadership and receive talking points lol. You all really give me more of an exalted position than I am entitled to or enjoy.

40. @Artax

My friend in all seriousness i believe that is exactly what they are doing. In other words ” look in the cheque book there see what in dey cause we got cheques to write Friday.”

To play with Nis funds now is suicide for the fund. We are in no position to recapitalise it either now or in the medium term. We also don’t know how many more layoffs are coming, as the private sector has not fully reopened to its reality yet. But as we both know they are many who look in their cheque book and say ” I got money”, totally forgetting the payables due at month end.

41. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@Dullard May 12, 2020 2:19 PM, From May 10th Sunday Sun

Barbados tourism industry foreign exchange earnings have dropped almost to zero because of COVID-19. Tourism used to earn about US$1 billion each year, much more than the offshore financial sector, rum exports, and every other export put together. Many tourism industry leaders are forecasting a quick restart to visitor arrivals, but their optimism is turning into self-delusion. We need to restructure the tourism industry so that it can earn again.

Our old mass market tourism industry will not recover for several years because North America and Europe will be in a deep economic depression, many of the airlines which used to bring visitors will have gone bankrupt, airline tickets will be much more expensive because of reduced passenger volume, and we will have to quarantine arriving visitors to avoid importing the virus again.

We cannot pretend that this economic turbulence will disappear in a few months like a bad dream; we must give up yesterday’s logic and plan rationally to prosper in the new economic environment created by the pandemic.

Everyone agrees that we need to diversify the Barbados economy. We need to grow more of our own food and develop our renewable energy resources, but while these will lower our foreign exchange expenditures, we still need foreign exchange earnings.

To earn foreign exchange we need to exploit whatever natural competitive advantages that Barbados has. For our sugar industry the competitive advantages were our climate and Jewish refugees with sugar cane know-how. For our tourism industry our competitive advantages were our delightful climate and our cultural history which made us hospitable. There is a common element. Our primary competitive advantage has always been our delightful climate, and in order for the Barbados economy to compete successfully it must leverage this competitive advantage.

Any new foreign exchange earning sector must also exploit the emerging opportunities exposed by the ways COVID-19 is changing global economies. One of the most profound social changes is that many millions of people, particularly technology professionals, in Europe and North America now work from home. So why should these recently untethered employees continue to suffer the bleak climate of Montreal or Chicago or Manchester when they can relocate to Barbados and continue to work from home?… just that now their home is a much nicer place to live. This is an opportunity to pivot significant segments of our tourism industry to serve a rapidly growing market that capitalizes on this exploding global work from home phenomenon.

Let us build a globally competitive industry around this opportunity. Let us build an International Resident economic sector to meet this need. Let us adapt hotel suites into condominium residences that we sell to technology professionals From Canada, the UK, USA, and elsewhere so that they can come live full time in Barbados and work remotely from here (we structure their residency visa so that their whole salary must go into a foreign currency account right here in Barbados).

The future of foreign exchange earnings in Barbados is not fly-by-night visitors, but a smaller number of tech professionals who continue to work at their big city jobs but come and make their homes here, bringing their foreign exchange incomes with them. We should not be recruiting visitors, we should be inviting neighbours.

What I am proposing is a brain drain… just in the opposite direction from what we have suffered in the past. We can get 10,000 households of working tech professionals, each bringing on average their US$150,000 incomes to Barbados. That is US$1.5 billion per year in foreign exchange. That is more than enough to replace our entire tourism industry and then some.

We will not put Barbados passports up for sale. This is just residency, not a passport. We want upper middle class tech professionals earning over US$150k per year to be able to qualify for a Special Entry and Residency Permit (SERP) in Barbados, by depositing all their paychecks in a Barbadian foreign currency account. This is a simple extension of the way that foreign investors who invest in excess of US$2 Million in Barbados already automatically qualify to apply for a SERP.

We can build a new US$1.5 billion International Resident economic sector which not only leverages our global competitive advantage, but also utilizes much of our existing tourism plant in terms of apartment hotels, condominiums, and AirBNB accommodation. We can do this right now without waiting for foreign investors or development loans. All we need is for the private sector to work with Immigration Office and the BTMI in a collaborative way.

All we need, in these times of turbulence, is to stop acting with yesterday’s logic.

42. NorthernObserver Avatar

@PLT
    Are they required to convert their paychecks to $BDS? If they leave, will all their savings be automatically converted back into another currency? Since Barbados has no investments to speak of, will they be allowed to invest a portion of their earnings in foreign investment vehicles?

43. @ peterlawrencethompson May 12, 2020 2:50 PM

Your plan with the expats raises many questions. Let me give you an example: Where do they pay income tax? As you know, you basically remain liable to pay tax in the USA even if you live abroad.

Furthermore, as a Barbadian nationalist, you want to deny the expats local citizenship. This also raises questions. The expats then have to take out expensive private health insurance. This alone costs at least 15K-20K USD per year. Land tax costs another 5K. If I add this to the local cost of living and the construction costs (you will not get a decent house under 1 million USD), 150K USD per year is really not enough. Not to mention the excessive costs for electricity, electrical appliances and cars.

In my opinion you can only live reasonably in Barbados if one person or a couple earns at least a quarter of a million USD per year (provided you pay local taxes and customs). Everything else is vegitating like the local masses at the lowest level.

So your plan will only work if the expats are exempt from all taxes (especially VAT, land tax and customs).

44. My words ain’t hit the ground yet and bruggadung the same rhetoric. At least PLT has put forward a HOW, even if highly questionable.

PLT
    A destination known for the upmarket attracts the wannabe upmarketers. St.Lawrence Gap, Blue Horizon etc are examples of this.

Artax
    The contribution of GSFP to that part of Bridgetown can’t be reproduced from Queens Park or Errol Barrow Park. Financial benefits are not always direct. By the way, isn’t there a new policy where a legally binding payment of 5% of the cost of the development must be provided in cash or infrastructure?

45. @John A

Is something wrong with giving the Council an open brief?

46. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@NorthernObserver May 12, 2020 3:11 PM
    There is no need to make them convert their paychecks to Bd$. Every time they by a salt bread or pay ther babysitter or their mortgage they are putting forex into the local economy.

47. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@Tron
    Barbados has an existing tax agreement with the USA and IRS to avoid double taxation. This means that taxes paid on income in Barbados is not taxed again in the USA. Americans still have to file with the IRS even if they owe no money.

48. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

Cayman Islands shut down their borders until Sept 1..

this is not going away anytime soon, so those who are rushing in a hurry to reopen…ha!!!

49. @ peterlawrencethompson May 12, 2020 3:39 PM

Thank you. However, something in your plan is missing … the political gifts for the Great Five (Lord Kyffin, Baron Baloney, Sir Charles, Dr. h.c. Bizzy and Honourable h.c. Jerkham).

50. @ Mr. Skinner

Thank you, sir.

The problem in Barbados is that many entrepreneurs REFUSE to pay taxes or contribute to the NI scheme. At retirement age they’re annoyed when they can’t receive pension and at times such as this, when COVID-19 has significantly impacted on their earnings, they would want ‘government’ to ‘bail them out’ at the expense of taxpayers.

Someday last week, I heard Morris Lee on ‘Brass Tacks’ with a flimsy argument that ‘government’ should give them ‘bail out money,’ because, according to him, they pay thousands of dollars in VAT and can’t claim refunds. This clearly shows Lee is ignorant of the VAT filing process. Some taxi operators were also complaining they ‘can’t get any work,’ so ‘government’ should assist them in paying insurance and road tax.

What is the purpose of the various taxi and PSV associations and co-operatives? The pandemic shows PSV operators should be self sufficient.

@ Enuff

I REPEAT, building the GSFP is a waste of taxpayers money. It’s a ‘commemorative symbol’ to Commisiong for his yeoman service to the BLP during the ‘lost decade.’ He may even be the person who cuts the ribbon at the official opening ceremony.

That site should have been used to build an ultra modern market facility.

The former DLP administration left a comprehensive plan entitled “Management Plan for Historic Bridgetown and its Garrison,” which the Mottley administration should have utilized, if they were actually SERIOUS about the redevelopment of Bridgetown and heritage tourism.

Leave a Reply to SargeantCancel reply