Our main problem is not finance, it is the availability of markets for what we produce. It is the closing of these markets that caused the decline in jobs,foreign exchange and income. Just in case we are losing focus. Is stimulus money a medium or long-term solution? It is a short term inadequate remedy. It buys time for the economic agents to regroup and re-calibrate – Vincent Carrington

This blogmaster was hopeful the COVID 19 global disease would have served as the great disrupter many of us have been waiting for.  That is, to force behavioural change necessary to efficiently manage our little economy to support a decent standard of living for our children and those to follow.

Last weekend Larry Summers a former US Treasury Secretary was asked to comment on COVID 19 impact on the economies of emerging and developing countries. He responded (in summary) that these countries will need significant financial assistance from international financial institutions. High debt burden carried by developing countries does not leave fiscal space to adequately finance policy development. He elaborated that emerging and developing countries will have to cooperate to create the perfect lobby in order to attract assistance. It brought to the blogmaster’s mind that some good may  come out of the investment by Prime Minister in raising the international profile of the country and region.

Countries have had to react quickly to a global economy forced to come to a screeching halt because of COVID 19. Finance ministers everywhere have had to reallocate scarce resources to fight the pandemic. What is scary for the developing world is that CHINA, USA and Europe responsible for fuelling the global economy have been significantly affected by the novel coronavirus. Unlike developing countries these three countries have access to financial resources to combat fallout from the pandemic.

The interdependent nature of the global economy – to Summer’s point – makes it a priority for the developed word to assist developing countries by suspending debt payments AND to consider debt forgiveness. The usual criteria of per capita income used by international agencies to ‘graduate’ needs to be jettisoned and replaced by more realistic economic performance indicators. How can a country like Barbados not qualify for significant debt forgiveness given the vulnerability of our small open economy? The global economy will not recover if markets in emerging and developing countries are left to flounder.

One does not have to be  a sage to know Barbadians will have to be sensitized by our leadership to the unprecedented challenges facing countries like Barbados because of the pandemic. The lack of financial intelligence and economic planning currently being demonstrated by local actors continues to be a big disappointment.   Almost every intervention and commentary seem to be crafted to be political or anchored in the same old same old rhetoric. Frankly it has been a struggle for this blogmaster of late to feel motivated to blog.

Does anyone besides a few – understand the implications of a country like Barbados already suffering from a decade of economic fatigue – the implication of depleting reserves or drawing down on hard to source lines of credit to fight COVID 19?

175 responses to “We in Potta”

1. @ fortyacresandamule May 13, 2020 6:06 PM

I agree with you insofar as the peg has at least stabilized the real estate prices for the upper class.

In general, I find it commendable that you openly state that we have not had any economic growth since 2008. That is the price of the peg.

I am not advocating a sliding scale of devaluation as in Guyana or Jamaica, but a basket of currencies (especially GBP and EUR in addition to USD) or alternatively a one-off devaluation to the level of local competitors, i.e. EC$.

It is also clear that our politicians will not voluntarily anticipate this. That would be an admission that the entire economic policy of the past 12 years has simply been a load of crap. OK, it was. LOL.

2. fortyacresandamule Avatar
    fortyacresandamule

@Tron. Your suggestion is a reasonable one. We cannot afford to have a free floating currency like some jurisdictions. A quick glance at the currency maket around the world shows a collapse in currencies of various emerging and developing countries. Most south american countries currencies have depreciated by over 10% year over year the since the covid pandemic. Brasil and Argentina lead the way ( over 40% depreciation for both countries ). The Icelandic krona, the only small island state with a TRUE FREE FLOATING currency, has lost 15% of its value yr\yr since the pandemic. So is Mauritius and the Seychelles. The Maldives so far is the only exception. The jamaica dollar hasn’t been spared also. It has lost 8% of its value since march and experts are predicting a 25% loss in value by the end of the year.

3. @David
    Have you not read that Hal Austin and ac were put in moderation? If you include their names in a comment what will you think will happen?
    Wuhloss yuh mean yuh can’t even mention their names? That said it is still surprising that they haven’t even made an appearance on this topic unless their moderation means “deep six”.

4. (Unquote):
    This time around is quite different. Some say a perfect storm. With our main source of foreign currency inflows decimated and our propensity for import still intact, can the peg prevail in this greatly unbalance market even with an IMF programme running in the background? For better or worse the peg has been good to us to some extent. (Unquote).

This Covid-determined time around will make sure there will be no further ‘ifs’, ‘buts’ and delays regarding the long overdue restructuring of the public sector along with its surfeit of consultants and paid advisers.

Why would the IMF advance to the country further loans for balance of payments support when they will be used mainly to prop up the highly politicized obese public sector and a UWI campus producing graduates in law and social sciences for a world belonging to the 1990’s while 40 acres of prime agricultural remain in mothballs?

When is this administration going to disclose the recommendations contained in the Robinson Report?

Or would the report be ‘plagiarized’ and distributed as the findings of the Covid council of BS talkers edited by its original commissioner Sinliar?

To use an ole Bajan proverb: “Moon does run ‘til day cetch it.”

5. @ fortyacresandamule May 13, 2020 7:39 PM

A closer link to GBP and to EUR or a slight decrease in the exchange rate would really help us to attract more tourists from Britain and Europe. With the strong dollar, this group has to pay 30 percent more for a holiday here.

Also consider that the tourists should not only stay in the hotel, but also eat out. The high BBD exchange rate is having a big impact there.

Neither GBP nor EUR will recover quickly. If we want to maintain the dollar peg alone, we must be consistent, i.e. attract more tourists from the USA.

6. @ Miller May 14, 2020 8:01 AM

We should assume that tourists will be absent substantially for two years. With the current excessive consumption behaviour of our population, the currency reserves will then be gone. This also means, of course, that we will no longer be able to service our foreign debts. We would then have to declare default again.

In this situation we have two options:

“enhanced” exchange rate (I use this term so that the local establishment doesn’t panic again immediately, LOL)

or reduction of government spending.

Jamaica took the first path because it’s politically easier. Since our government is not even now in a position to adopt or implement substantial structural reforms with a 30-0 majority in parliament, we will go the way of Jamaica.

7. @ Tron May 14, 2020 9:22 AM

It’s amazing how the Bajan political administration can continue to live in la la land expecting the economic effects of the ongoing pandemic would just go away like a bad case of the cold or flu.

How can these public sector parasites especially those at the top of the remuneration food chain expect to continue to enjoy the same level of salaries when the taxation body called the private sector is about to be severely trimmed with many on the verge of going under?

What is the political administration waiting for before serious cutback measures are put in place?
    For the forex reserves to run down as they were in May 2018 to put the Mickey mouse dollar in ICU waiting for a knock on the door from the international monetary undertaker?

Who then are they going to blame when the fiscal shit hit the payroll fan?

Covid which every country in the region is infected with or the EU for their blackmailing threats?

The same way it will be going to Parliament to rectify the law for one why not use the same opportunity to amend the Constitution to give the government the legal right to cut public sector salaries?

8. The cabal around the police office is only a side note, nothing more.

The opposition is also shirking the question of whether we should dismiss civil servants, reduce their salaries or devalue the Barrow-Dollar. This proves once again the opposition’s dishonesty. Just look at the Senator, our union leader: he is personally partly responsible for the bloated welfare state, the low productivity, the rotten work ethic and the people’s sense of entitlement. In my opinion, the trade unions are the main evil in Barbados. They prevent public sector wages from being properly adjusted to reality.

I just remind you the blackmailing of GOV by the unions, the totally insane, excessive increase in civil servants’ salaries or the blackmailing of COW by the unions just three months ago.These union leaders have zero economic expertise and with their eyes open, they are destroying the economy.

Our government should therefore ban the unions for a while until the COVID19 crisis is over. Radical times require radical decisions.

9. Waaaaait Senior Editor and the Butterfly get quarantined? Murdaaaaaaaaa!🤣🤣

10. This is what happens when you live in some white s***hole instead of living on the platinum coast of Barbados. Those who cannot afford to live with us simply have to bear the medical consequences.

11. fortyacresandamule Avatar
    fortyacresandamule

@Miller. So you are saying without deep public sector adjustment, the Barbadian mickey mouse dollar is going down? I would add that the longer this pandemic drags on, maybe even those reforms might not be enough.

12. NorthernObserver Avatar

“we should dismiss civil servants, reduce their salaries or devalue the Barrow-Dollar.” [quote]

Your most honourable and supreme leader says there will be NO dismissals, salaries will not be reduced, but part of them will be paid in IOU’s, a.k.a GoB Bonds, and this deferment will ease pressure on the dollar. All civil servants will be taken on a tour of the NIS, where their vault is full of similar IOU’s, so they can see first hand what they look like.
    No similar promises were made to the SOE’s, which financially are a far greater concern than the civil servants. They will be merged into 6 entities.

13. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

“Who then are they going to blame when the fiscal shit hit the payroll fan?”

even more importantly, who are they going to blame when the BROKE ASS TOURISTS they are so determined to keep the majority population so DEPENDENT ON for generations to come ……are too broke to even travel….most of the elderly, wealthy ones will be DEAD from the plague anyway, so too will those who saved for years just to take one trip…..and the younger ones living day to day on credit cards WHO ARE ALL NOW UNEMPLOYED BY THE TENS OF MILLIONS will need over a decade to recover from their current BROKE STATE, since they cannot even now pay their credit card bills….

……the good news is ya wont find any of that riffraff in Barbados telling the local people how they would starve if they broke selves do not come into the island as tourists, most of their uppity tails are starving now in their own countries…they are so broke…could not happen to a better bunch of useless jokers…

what will these dumbass leaders in Barbados and the Caribbean do when all they know or want to do is sit their lazy selves down and depend on tourism only…and fully expect the population to accept their backwardness and LACK OF BRAIN POWER that will never lead to progress, growth, development or wealth creation in the Black majority populations… ..since all the nuisance leaders think about is what they can get for themselves.

14. @ NorthernObserver May 15, 2020 4:16 AM

It is wonderful to see our Most Honourable Prime Minister de facto cutting salaries.

For the notary: We had the discussion on BU even before the announcement. It’s good to see the government taking on board our austerity proposals. – I will send my bill to our Prime Minister today, at the usual rates in London. Good advice costs money.

15. @ NorthernObserver May 15, 2020 4:16 AM

“burden sharing”, “forced savings”

Our Prime Minister uses the same terms or at least very similar ones.

It is really good to know that our Prime Minister relies on her truly loyal advisers in times of dire need. She finds them on BU 🙂

16. @ Tron May 15, 2020 7:55 AM

Where is the miller’s ‘cut’?

I will send you under separate cover an invoice for copyright fees equivalent to 30% of the first month’s payroll cost saving which you ought to pass on to your Majesty.

17. Have you not read that Hal Austin and ac were put in moderation?
    What for? They do no worse than most here. Hal has been in Blighty too long.
    Mariposa is just Enuff. Two sides of the same poultry.

18. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

Wait Miller…have they CUT the salaries of the BLOATED, OBESE cabinet, the hangerson and parasitic consultants yet….where is their sacrifice, they think everyone should sacrifice except for them, when they do not even give VALUE FOR TAXPAYER’S MONEY…

19. It is only logical that the government only wants to make de facto cuts in civil servants’ salaries. For in the private sector almost all employees have been sacked.

If you don’t earn anything, the government can’t take anything away from you.

20. Looks like the exorbitant profit margins that the local merchants charge is going to be hard to keep up. Imagine paying three times the equivalent price for something from developed countries.

Along with wage cuts, will the guv’ment have price controls on necessities and investigations into prices of most goods.

A profit margin of twenty per cent is to be expected , but two hundred percent?

Barbadians have been making millionaires of a few for decades.

Remember when a certain special price retailers started and after a few weeks their prices jumped?

Them learnt that they was causing de peoplesses to ask questions. Cant have that. Gotta make money.

21. @ Crusoe May 15, 2020 11:04 AM

The high prices have the following factors addtional factors:

First, small quantities ordered from abroad;
    Secondly, transport costs on a small container ship;
    Third, VERY high customs duties and taxes.

Profit is therefore only one factor among others.

When the government introduces price controls, as in Venezuela, all the shelves are empty within a month.

You should simply accept that the declaration of independence and the duties required by the “peg” (1:2) have a high price. Surely you don’t seriously expect the indigenous people in an unproductive banana republic to have the same purchasing power as those in the North? You should be more prepared for a decreasing purchasing power like in South America or Africa. That’s where our path leads.

The level of consumption in Barbados must adapt to low productivity and a weak work ethic.

22. fortyacresandamule Avatar
    fortyacresandamule

The Bahamas, just a few days, have instituted foreign capital controls to reduce the pressure on its foreign reserve.They have ordered foreign banks ( all canadians) not to remit dividend payments to home country. Plus all overseas investments by residents and local citizens are to be put on hold until the economy returns to sustainable level.

The Bahamas is the most tourism-dependent economy in CARICOM. They have reserve of US$2 billion, mostly borrowed money, equivalent of 8 months of import. If this pandemic drags on to year-end, they too will have a fight on their hand to maintain the 1:1 exchange regime.

23. Tron
    May 15, 2020 12:32 PM

@ Crusoe May 15, 2020 11:04 AM First, small quantities ordered from abroad;
    Secondly, transport costs on a small container ship;
    Third, VERY high customs duties and taxes.
    Profit is therefore only one factor among others.

All of those, and a few more things thereto related to profit, ha. Which I will not go into here, but many know. Hence the reason for not twice the price, but three or four times. That is just ridiculous.

24. William Skinner Avatar

@ Tron

“It is really good to know that our Prime Minister relies on her truly loyal advisers in times of dire need. She finds them on BU 🙂“

Whether you write in jest is unimportant but your statement quoted above rings true.
    It’s time we declare this prolonged honeymoon of the current government over. I note with utter amazement that the Prime Minister is being treated with kid gloves when it comes to the embarrassing spectacle of the current Attorney General who is a complete failure and who has never distinguished himself in that office. In any other country, he would have been dismissed from the cabinet.
    This brings me to the consultants in the Ministry of Finance. If they were brought on to guide the Prime Minister through the now destroyed BERT program, we the taxpayers should want to know what purpose they are serving. Unless they have been assigned to create a replacement, their assault on the Treasury, can no longer be justified. Certainly, I believe that Mottley has the skills and the support of the country in guiding us through this unfortunate calamity that is not of her making but she should not be allowed to get away with sophisticated squandermania. There is now no excuse for a bloated cabinet that even without COVID was perhaps the most blatant nonsense that we have ever allowed a Prime Minister to get away with in the first place.
    We have too many ministers who are basically just trying to pretend that getting photo ops is being ministerial.
    While I will continue to support the efforts to ensure that the country does its best to fight COVID -19 and I maintain, she has demonstrated excellent leadership in that regard; I think that this administration now needs to be put under the microscope . The honeymoon has been way too long. The Prime Minister must now tell the country in clear terms what are her administration’s plans to guide the country in the post COVID – 19. She is almost or certainly guaranteed a second term and has the political capital. We need to hear her more as Minister of Finance. I did not go in any polling booth to vote for Dr. Mascoll or Dr. Persuad.