Submitted by Nathan ‘Jolly’ Green

We have all heard of the saying “history always repeats itself.” Well the COVID 19 virus is a pandemic, just like the Spanish Flu of 1918 was a pandemic.

sick bedsLike today, in Britain, temporary hospitals were equipped; every bed in the picture has someone in it. Many in the country wore face masks, and social distancing was observed. But like today there were the unbelievers, who thought it was all a hoax, and they would never get ill, least of all die. But they could, and they did, they died by the millions.

The Spanish Flu lasted about 36months, and during that time, 500 million fell ill in the world, and between 50 to 100 million died. All those who were going to die, all those who could die, died. There were no more whom it could kill. Fit people had probably developed herd immunity, over a 3 to 5 year period. There was one significant difference between this and the Corona Virus, it killed the elderly and weak first, but it also killed people of all other ages. Some stragglers were ill for several years after that. But the susceptible had died, the old, the sick, the infirm, they all died. The fit eventually stopped being ill from it and it ultimately fizzled out. Like today there were no known potions, medicines, or vaccines.

At the time, Churches were locked down, all places where people gathered were closed, assembly was banned, and stay at home periods observed, even curfews enforced.

When the Spanish Flu first appeared in the U.S. in early March 1918, it had all the hallmarks of the seasonal Flu, albeit a highly contagious and virulent strain. One of the first registered cases was Albert Gitchell, a U.S. Army cook at Camp Funston in Kansas, who was hospitalized with a 104-degree fever. The virus spread quickly through the Army installation, home to 54,000 troops. By the end of the month, 1,100 soldiers had been hospitalized, and 38 [3%] had died after developing pneumonia.

As U.S. troops deployed en masse for the war effort in Europe [WW1], they carried the Spanish Flu with them. Throughout April and May of 1918, the virus spread like wildfire through England, France, Spain and Italy. An estimated three-quarters of the French military was infected in the spring of 1918 and as many as half of British troops. Yet the first wave of the virus didn’t appear to be particularly deadly, with symptoms like high fever and malaise usually lasting only three days. According to limited public health data from the time, mortality rates were similar to seasonal Flu.

The death rate was about 3%, the same as today’s COVID 19. People in those days died a lot easier, and they considered 3% pretty acceptable and in-line with most other infectious disease mortality rates.

Reported cases of Spanish Flu dropped off over the summer of 1918, and there was hope at the beginning of August that the virus had run its course. People were fed up with being locked down and could not wait to get out, down to the pub, down to the chip shop. So by mid-summer, thinking it was all but over the people flocked everywhere, like never before.

What they did not know was viruses tend to come in waves, there was a second wave of infection following closely on the heels of the first infection. About 3.5 million people had been killed worldwide with the first strike by the virus, but it was only the calm before the storm. Somewhere in Europe, a mutated strain of the Spanish flu virus had emerged that had the power to kill a perfectly healthy young man or woman within 24 hours of showing the first signs of infection.

In late August 1918, military ships departed the English port city of Plymouth carrying troops unknowingly infected with this new, far deadlier strain of Spanish Flu. As these ships arrived in towns and cities like Brest in France, Boston in the United States, and Freetown in West Africa, the second wave of the global pandemic began. This second wave went on to kill 10-20% of those inflicted, and now a further 45 to 100 million were to die, and die they did.

From September through November of 1918, the death rate from the Spanish Flu skyrocketed. In the United States alone, 195,000 Americans died from the Spanish Flu in just a month of October 1918. The first wave of the virus had killed all the worlds’ old folk and those with pre-existing illnesses. This newly mutated strain killed anyone, any age, it was unstoppable. Then it got even worse, if that was possible, a massive spike in the middle of the second wave composed of otherwise healthy 25- to 35-year-olds in the prime of their life. They died like flies; no family was spared.

Not only was it shocking that healthy young men and women were dying by the millions worldwide, but it was also how they were dying. Struck with blistering fevers, nasal haemorrhaging, and pneumonia, the patients would drown in their fluid-filled lungs.

If that sounds familiar, it should. Because those dying with COVID 19 also drown on the fluid in their lungs produced by pneumonia.

What we should all fear is when they blow the whistle and call the all-clear, tell us it’s OK to go out again, that a second wave will come and catch us all unawares. Because there is a great probability of that happening, virus pandemics tend to behave like that.

For those of you that have failed to grasp why you have all been asked to use social distancing, to wear face masks, voluntary and forced self and family isolation. It’s not because they are trying to stop the illness and stop the prevailing deaths, because that is impossible.

It’s much more straightforward than that. If we all go out and about and we all get ill at the same time, they would never be able to control the rate of which we fall sick and the rate that some of us die. We will all be ill at the same time. They have to slow it down so as hospitals, funeral parlors, and undertakers can cope. If we all get sick at once, the whole system will collapse, and we will all end up dying in our beds, in the street, park benches, everywhere.

As for all the silly people who think if they go out and get the virus will then get better and will, from then on, have immunity from the disease for the future. Well, I am sorry to inform you it does not quite work like that.

Some of you will get well again, some will fully recover, but those that rapidly die will not ever get the immunity because they will be dead.

For me, when they blow the whistle and call the all clear, I am staying under lockdown. I will watch what happens first for a few weeks. Those of you that cannot wait to get out and risk becoming ill and dying, farewell, have an awesome trip.

For anyone over 60, pray that they will produce an effective vaccine by the years’ end as promised. Or they find an existing chemical antiviral drug that works on COVID 19. If they do not, it may be lockdown for some time to come.

For those of you who think I have overstated the case, take a look at this article.

https://www.history.com/news/spanish-flu-second-wave-resurgence

276 responses to “A Cautionary Tale: Understanding the Second and Perhaps the Third Wave”

1. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@LyallS…. I am seeing your remark only now after that earlier post to you… but as much as I get your insinuation re covid19 and AIDS (very, very conspiratorial it is too) I am perplexed by comment that “[my] revelation this morning seems to be closing the circle re. a very strong relationship between Covid-19 and AIDS.”

Which of my remarks was that.. You sure it was me?

2. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

OK don’t bother… @LyallS…. I get it.

I got tricked by my own very thinly veiled ‘ice-cream’ references… (I assume that is what you are referring to)… that was a personal innuendo really… if you actually picked that so easily then it wasn’t as finely framed as I thought!

But to be clear also, I was also referring to an actual case of an ice-cream business opening a few days ago and then its owner closing it again because patrons were not following distancing protocols!

3. Cuhdear Bajan Avatar

@lyallsmall May 11, 2020 10:55 AM DpD. lyallsmall May 11, 2020 10:55 AM “DpD. I saw a report yesterday that viable Covid-19 particles were found in semen weeks after they were shed from all other parts of the body. Your revelation this morning seems to be closing the circle re. a very strong relationship between Covid-19 and AIDS.”

Cuhdear, ss in the days of HIV/AIDS, now is the time if you have a good steady lady in your life, keep her, even if from time to time to have to spend a little time sitting on the rooftop, to get away from the talk.

If you have a good steady gentleman in your life, keep him, even if sometimes you have to go to online church to escape his “foolishness”

Keep loving.

Safely.

4. Cuhdear Bajan Avatar

as NOT ss

5. Vincent CodringtonMay 11, 2020 9:32 AM

Wuh Loss !!

That was a good Monday morning cuss out at the standpipe !! Was it cathartic? Several Cautionary Tales ,no doubt.

Never had one of those but I have heard about them.

“I woke up dis morning’ an seh my Lord’s prayer.

It en me, it is you

Yuh confuse!”

GP was due for a cussing. We all have our flaws and GP’s require that he is peridically cussed into his place BY A WOMAN. I bear him no ill will because yes it was cathartic.

But if he is looking for Trouble (that’s me) today I will leave this Barbados scholar who studied big word brain stuff and thinks he can mock this “moron” with two words –

GANGLION CYSTS!

He knows what I mean!

Wuhlaus!

Piece,

XXX rated movies! Investigated them too. In typical fashion I walked right into the video store (dat was long ago) and picked them out myself. Some of it could tickle the fancy if you let it but some was quite revolting.

After the investigation I concluded that they were monotonous and dehumanizing and no substitute for real spicy intimacy with someone you love. And not what God intended.

Nothing wrong with sex or frank discussion about sex. My son and I are quite comfortable with the subject, within reason and with appropriate decorum of course.

But back to the real subject which was?????

Oh lordie! Soon time for Murdoch mysteries. Time to get myself a tasty snack and loiter in front of the TV. So lazy this morning I even missed my walk around the beautiful cliffs.

Later!

6. Cuhdear Bajan Avatar

Dear David:

I haven’t seen our friend Baje, the man who loves to go walk-a-’bout, recently.

Is he o.k.?

7. Cuhdear Bajan Avatar

Today for countries with fewwer than 100 Covid-19 cases, the following countries are reporting that zero peole are now in isolation”

Western Sahara: 6 cases, 6 recoveries, 0 deaths
    Papau New Guinea: 8 cases, 8 recoveries, zero deaths
    Suriname: 10 cases, 9 recoveries, 1 death
    St. Lucia: 18 cases, 18 recoveries, 0 deaths
    Belize: 18 cases, 16 recoveries, 2 deaths

8. Cuhdear Bajan Avatar

Western Sahara: 27°9′13″N 13°12′12″W
    Papau New Guinea: 09°28′44″S 147°08′58″E
    Suriname: 5°50′N 55°10′W
    St. Lucia: 14°1′N 60°59′W
    Belize: 17°15′N 88°46′W

All less than 28 degrees north or south of the equator. All of Europe, all of Canada, and most of the United States falls outside of these parallels. Most of Africa falls within these parallels. It may mean nothing but not enough sunshine +a nasty virus may make more people sicker quicker, and longer. So maybe we need to stay in our yards, if we can do so while physically distancing from our neighbors, rather than in our houses.

Maybe we humans need sunshine as much as plants do.

9. Cuhdear Bajan Avatar

Maybe that is why unlike animals we have essentially naked bodies [no hair, no fur, well not much] maybe our skins have evolved, were designed to let the life sustaining light in.

10. Cuhdear Bajan Avatar

Also Seychelles: 11 cases, 10 recoveries, 0 deaths, 1 person in isolation [4°37′S 55°27′E]
    St. Kitts: 15 cases, 14 recoveries, 0 deaths, 1 person in isolation [17°15′N 62°40′W]
    Dominica: 16 cases, 15 recoveries, 0 deaths, 1 person in isolation [15°18′N 61°23′W]
    Eritrea: 39 cases, 38 recoveries, 0 deaths, 1 person in isolation [15°20′N 38°55′E]
    Trinidad & Tobago: 116 cases, 107 recoveries, 8 deaths, 1 person in isolation [10°27′38″N 61°14′55″W]

11. Cuhdear Bajan

Yuh beginning to get it! Congrats.

12. @ Cuhdear Bajan May 13, 2020 9:35 PM
    “Maybe that is why unlike animals we have essentially naked bodies [no hair, no fur, well not much] maybe our skins have evolved, were designed to let the life sustaining light in.”
    ++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

Cuh dear, the former Silly woman” ya waxing lyrically about you new-found mine of wisdom!

Not even the simplest of Simons could have transmogrified in such a short time to become a messenger of the Light radiating the ancient knowledge and understanding from the Star above.

Thank you, my dearest sunshine! Even your new found boyfriend from the white Hill would welcome you with open arms minus the serpent in his bush.

“A sunbeam, a sunbeam,
    Jesus wants me for a sunbeam.
    A sunbeam, a sunbeam,
    I’ll be a sunbeam for him.”

13. Cuhdear Bajan Avatar

Wait miller etc. i din know you used to be a Sunday school boy.

14. Cuhdear Bajan Avatar

Also Mauritius, 332 cases, 322 recoveries, 0 people in isolation [20.2°S 57.5°E]

And Cambodia 122 cases, 121 recoveries, 0 deaths, 1 person in isolation [1°33′N 104°55′E]

So yes the virus is real, and deadly. But it is not that black people won’t get it. It seems that the virus is less deadly near to the Equator. And it does not matter if that closeness to the Equator in in Africa, or Asia, or the Caribbean, or the Pacific.

At the end of this i would not be at all surprised to find that people who work outdoors even those who live in places beyond 28 degrees north or south have better outcomes if they are people who habitually work outdoors. I would not be surprised either if the disease abates in the northern and southern summers, and experience a second or a third wave beginning in the fall of 2021 and 2022, if no vaccine is found.

I would not be surprised either if it is found that the people who have become sickest and who have died are not people who habitually spend little or no time in the sun…for example the wealthy people in southern Italy, Prince Charles, Boris Johnson, the Russian Prime Minister.

because one advantage wealthy people have over poor people is that wealthy people typically have to do little or no outdoor work, have to spend little time in the sun.

it may also account for the fact that Donald Trump remains in good health. Doesn’t Donald spend lot of time on thee sunny golf courses of Florida?

So no. I don’t believe that sun alone can fix this monster [COVID19, not Donald Trump] but I believe that plentiful sunshine/Vitamin D seems to be reducing the risk.

After all human beings evolved in the tropics. Human beings perhaps could only have evolved in the tropics. The tropics, the “broiling sun” according to our Mariposa may actually be the optimum places for human habitation.

The time may also come when religious/social/cultural restrictions which demand covering from head to toe may be eased in the interest of everyone’s health. And let me make it clear, one of those cultural restrictions include the Bajan custom of demanding that women must not wear “arm holes”/sleeveless dresses when conducting business, especially when conducting business in government offices. I went to BRA to pay a tax bill last Friday. I was wearing my favorite knee length “arm hole” dress. No questions were asked. No unreasonable demands were put on me. I think that the government is so glad for the money that right now “they” wouldn’t care if I came to pay my taxes naked. So they took my money, gave me a receipt and I was outta there in about 5 minutes flat. Walked home in the lovely sunshine.

Of course I may be proven wrong.

Time will tell.

But in the tropics sunshine is plentiful and cheap. We should all make it our business to enjoy it, even while washing our hands, wearing our masks and keeping our physical distance from others.

15. Cuhdear Bajan Avatar

CORRECTION: Also Mauritius, 332 cases, 322 recoveries, 10 deaths, 0 people in isolation [20.2°S 57.5°E]

16. Cuhdear Bajan
    May 13, 2020 10:03 PM

Also Seychelles: 11 cases, 10 recoveries, 0 deaths, 1 person in isolation [4°37′S 55°27′E]
    St. Kitts: 15 cases, 14 recoveries, 0 deaths, 1 person in isolation [17°15′N 62°40′W]
    Dominica: 16 cases, 15 recoveries, 0 deaths, 1 person in isolation [15°18′N 61°23′W]
    Eritrea: 39 cases, 38 recoveries, 0 deaths, 1 person in isolation [15°20′N 38°55′E]
    Trinidad & Tobago: 116 cases, 107 recoveries, 8 deaths, 1 person in isolation [10°27′38″N 61°14′55″W]

Italy, Spain, the UK and US all celebrated Chinese New Year with parades.

Italy also went so far as to “Hug a Chinese”

https://rmx.news/article/article/fears-of-being-called-racist-harmed-italy-s-coronavirus-response-says-leading-italian-virologist

The result was an enormous pool of cases of COVID-19 cases which kicked off their meeting with the virus.

Google Milan, Madrid, London and New York with the word Chinese New Year Celebrations!!

None of the countries you listed had anything like that at the beginning of the pandemic.

Italy, Spain, the UK and the US also have an at risk population.

Italy, Spain and the UK … smokers and reformed smokers.

Also their populations are “old”, median ages were above 40 ….. 45.5, 42.7 and 40.5 years old.

New York which was the epicenter in the US has a population estimated at 400,000 who are at risk because of 9/11 and the damage done to lungs.

Two decades later, that population has spread to states like New Jersey, Connecticut, California, Florida etc.

17. My prediction for second and third waves …. even in the countries hardest hit I would expect nothing like what has happened to date to occur.

There won’t be an equivalent of mass parades to get the ball rolling with large numbers of COVID-19 cases.

… and the most of the most susceptible will be no longer with us.

More importantly, the few cases/deaths in countries listed show that in the absence of a large concentration of cases at the outset, the virus DOES NOT spread like wildfire as many are led to believe.

The world can move on from the fear and panic of COVID-19 … at least until the next plague .. pestilence perhaps.

What will the media have to hype?

When we look back on COVID-19 we will realise that the effects were mostly of our own making and not due to the extreme lethality and contagious nature hyped by the media.

People will continue to be sickened (or not) by the virus, just as they are sickened by flu and the common cold.

Wonder if the mayors and leaders in highly populated centres will have learnt their lesson come next year.

Hopefully they will have been replaced in elections.

18. As for Barbados, not many smokers, no 9/11.

Plenty of grass fires in the dry season!!

Unlikely the ICU capability will be really tested.

More likely we will succumb to chronic diseases caused by lifestyle … like over eating and lack of exercise … laziness and gluttony if you like.

19. People need to be out and about, … AND …. avoid large gatherings.

https://www.rediff.com/news/report/66-per-cent-new-coronavirus-patients-in-new-york-stayed-home/20200507.htm

Staying at home was in many cases a death sentence for New Yorkers!!

A young adult out for fun and frolic will take home the virus to his/her parents and grandparents.

20. Home is potentially the most dangerous place to be!!

21. Words of wisdom and reasonable analysis from Cuhdear Bajan that we should all consider! John’s comments are also well taken and follows some prescient ones he made at an earlier stage of the Covid rampage.

Such comments did not result from rocket science. The tea leaves were there from the beginning to be read by all of us. But the panic engendered by wall-to-wall media coverage and the sheer seeming enormity of the coming scourge caused most of us to overreact to what seemed like a predictable end-of-earth scenario! That does not seem as if it will happen this year but it does’nt mean that a few more community spreaded cases will not unfold here in the next few weeks, but we are unlikely to see the 10’s of thousands of Covid-19 victims here this year that the UWI modellers predicted 2 months ago.

Absent the hysteria, Covid-19 will quite likely become a major signpost of the beginning of Bajan 21st century redevelopment, including of the repurposed modernistic touristic kind. But it also might well have been a shot across the bow by a leading horseman of the apocalypse to be followed by his 3 companions if we do’n behave weselves.

22. Cuhdear Bajan Avatar

https://www.chelseama.gov/coronavirusupdates
    Latest Announcements: May 15, 2020
    COVID-19 Status in Chelsea
    “We are encouraged to announce that the infection rate has slowed in Chelsea and the number of residents restored back to health is on the rise. As of today, there are 1,046 patients who have recovered from COVID-19 and a total of 2,424 confirmed cases. Those who have not yet recovered are strongly encouraged to self quarantine, either at home or at the Quality Inn, and to seek medical care for emergency symptoms. While most people recover from infection, the coronavirus is a serious enemy and we mourn the loss of 140 of our residents. We must continue to do all that we can to keep ourselves and our neighbors safe, through physical distancing, wearing face coverings, frequent hand washing and cleaning, and prompt medical care and quarantine for those who are sick.”

For those who think that this virus is mock sport, that is is not a highly infectious and deadly disease killing 5% to 10% of those infected please follow the link above.

Chelsea Massachusetts has a population of about 40,000. 2424 infections and 140 deaths

If Barbados had the same rate of infection and deaths we would have had 17,201 infections and 994 deaths.

So the UWI modelling was CORRECT. Our government has acted WISELY, and we the people have acted SENSIBLY and prevented more than 17,000 infections.

But we must not mess up now.

We need UWI to continue offering correct advice. We need our government to continue to act WISELY. And we the people need to continue to be SENSIBLE.

23. Massachusetts is like New York, a special case.

Look at the other states.

https://www.msn.com/en-us/money/healthcare/states-where-the-virus-is-growing-the-fastest-right-now/ss-BB13ZOkG?ocid=spartandhp

What is clear is the presence of the incompetent human hand in states like New York, New Jersey, Massachusetts etc.

Some states in their entirety have no deaths in the week ending May 10.

Why would Vermont, a New England State like Massachusetts have 1/1000’s of the deaths of Massachusetts?

The population ratio is 10:1 but even if this is factored, it is still 100 times more likely there will be a death in Massachusetts vs Vermont.

So maybe it is the population density, but even this at 10:1 still leaves Massachusetts 10 times more likely to have a death occur.

The folks in Massachusetts should replace its officials with some from another states when elections roll around .. or look at the deaths and see what possible explanations exist for the difference!!

HOW MANY PEOPLE IN MASSACHUSSETTS WOULD HAVE MOVED THERE FROM NEW YORK????

Here are some states from the link which further illustrate the differences between states that have problems like Massachusetts and those that don’t.

Barbados does not even register.

Copying others is a waste of resources, sit down and look at what we have going for us and craft a response that is realistic.

Montana

Population: 1.1 million
    Avg. daily new cases in 7 days ending May 10: 0.1 per 100,000 people (total avg. daily new cases: 1)
    Confirmed COVID-19 cases as of May 10: 43.1 per 100,000 people — the fewest (total: 458)
    COVID-19 related deaths in 7 days ending May 10: none
    Tests completed as of May 10: 2,043.1 per 100,000 people — 17th fewest (total: 21,704)
    Population density: 7 people per square mile — 3rd fewest
    First confirmed case: 3/13/2020

Hawaii

Population: 1.4 million
    Avg. daily new cases in 7 days ending May 10: 0.1 per 100,000 people (total avg. daily new cases: 2)
    Confirmed COVID-19 cases as of May 10: 44.5 per 100,000 people — 2nd fewest (total: 632)
    COVID-19 related deaths in 7 days ending May 10: none
    Tests completed as of May 10: 2,660.0 per 100,000 people — 19th most (total: 37,785)
    Population density: 130 people per square mile — 20th most
    First confirmed case: 3/6/2020

Vermont

Population: 626,000
    Avg. daily new cases in 7 days ending May 10: 1.1 per 100,000 people (total avg. daily new cases: 7)
    Confirmed COVID-19 cases as of May 10: 148.0 per 100,000 people — 14th fewest (total: 927)
    COVID-19 related deaths in 7 days ending May 10: 1 — tied — 5th fewest
    Tests completed as of May 10: 3,201.0 per 100,000 people — 14th most (total: 20,048)
    Population density: 65 people per square mile — 21st fewest
    First confirmed case: 3/7/2020

Oregon

Population: 4.2 million
    Avg. daily new cases in 7 days ending May 10: 1.5 per 100,000 people (total avg. daily new cases: 63)
    Confirmed COVID-19 cases as of May 10: 75.7 per 100,000 people — 5th fewest (total: 3,171)
    COVID-19 related deaths in 7 days ending May 10: 18 — 14th fewest
    Tests completed as of May 10: 1,800.4 per 100,000 people — 7th fewest (total: 75,450)
    Population density: 43 people per square mile — 13th fewest
    First confirmed case: 2/28/2020

Florida

Population: 21.3 million
    Avg. daily new cases in 7 days ending May 10: 3.1 per 100,000 people (total avg. daily new cases: 667)
    Confirmed COVID-19 cases as of May 10: 190.6 per 100,000 people — 20th fewest (total: 40,596)
    COVID-19 related deaths in 7 days ending May 10: 342 — 10th most
    Tests completed as of May 10: 2,533.6 per 100,000 people — 23rd most (total: 539,630)
    Population density: 324 people per square mile — 8th most
    First confirmed case: 3/1/2020

Texas

Population: 28.7 million
    Avg. daily new cases in 7 days ending May 10: 3.8 per 100,000 people (total avg. daily new cases: 1,086)
    Confirmed COVID-19 cases as of May 10: 135.4 per 100,000 people — 11th fewest (total: 38,869)
    COVID-19 related deaths in 7 days ending May 10: 221 — 15th most
    Tests completed as of May 10: 1,748.2 per 100,000 people — 5th fewest (total: 501,776)
    Population density: 107 people per square mile — 22nd most
    First confirmed case: 2/12/2020

California

Population: 39.6 million
    Avg. daily new cases in 7 days ending May 10: 4.2 per 100,000 people (total avg. daily new cases: 1,666)
    Confirmed COVID-19 cases as of May 10: 168.8 per 100,000 people — 18th fewest (total: 66,773)
    COVID-19 related deaths in 7 days ending May 10: 502 — 7th most
    Tests completed as of May 10: 2,415.9 per 100,000 people — 25th most (total: 955,664)
    Population density: 242 people per square mile — 11th most
    First confirmed case: 1/25/2020

Georgia

Population: 10.5 million
    Avg. daily new cases in 7 days ending May 10: 6.7 per 100,000 people (total avg. daily new cases: 707)
    Confirmed COVID-19 cases as of May 10: 318.7 per 100,000 people — 17th most (total: 33,524)
    COVID-19 related deaths in 7 days ending May 10: 226 — 14th most
    Tests completed as of May 10: 2,323.9 per 100,000 people — 23rd fewest (total: 244,458)
    Population density: 177 people per square mile — 16th most
    First confirmed case: 3/2/2020

Connecticut

Population: 3.6 million
    Avg. daily new cases in 7 days ending May 10: 16.4 per 100,000 people (total avg. daily new cases: 585)
    Confirmed COVID-19 cases as of May 10: 939.2 per 100,000 people — 5th most (total: 33,554)
    COVID-19 related deaths in 7 days ending May 10: 531 — 6th most
    Tests completed as of May 10: 3,644.1 per 100,000 people — 10th most (total: 130,192)
    Population density: 645 people per square mile — 4th most
    First confirmed case: 3/8/2020

New York

Population: 19.5 million
    Avg. daily new cases in 7 days ending May 10: 17.4 per 100,000 people (total avg. daily new cases: 3,398)
    Confirmed COVID-19 cases as of May 10: 1,704.6 per 100,000 people — the most (total: 333,122)
    COVID-19 related deaths in 7 days ending May 10: 2,082 — the most
    Tests completed as of May 10: 5,904.0 per 100,000 people — 2nd most (total: 1,153,768)
    Population density: 358 people per square mile — 7th most
    First confirmed case: 3/1/2020

Massachusetts

Population: 6.9 million
    Avg. daily new cases in 7 days ending May 10: 23.9 per 100,000 people (total avg. daily new cases: 1,647)
    Confirmed COVID-19 cases as of May 10: 1,127.1 per 100,000 people — 3rd most (total: 77,793)
    COVID-19 related deaths in 7 days ending May 10: 975 — 4th most
    Tests completed as of May 10: 5,627.1 per 100,000 people — 4th most (total: 388,389)
    Population density: 654 people per square mile — 3rd most
    First confirmed case: 2/1/2020

New Jersey

Population: 8.9 million
    Avg. daily new cases in 7 days ending May 10: 24.4 per 100,000 people (total avg. daily new cases: 2,171)
    Confirmed COVID-19 cases as of May 10: 1,555.1 per 100,000 people — 2nd most (total: 138,532)
    COVID-19 related deaths in 7 days ending May 10: 1,384 — 2nd most
    Tests completed as of May 10: 3,145.5 per 100,000 people — 15th most (total: 280,220)
    Population density: 1021 people per square mile — the most
    First confirmed case: 3/4/2020

24. Cuhdear Bajan Avatar

Introduction

Despite multiple studies, there is currently limited agreement on the impact of weather conditions on transmission rates of COVID-19.
    We assembled one of the largest datasets of COVID-19 infection and weather and analyzed the impact of weather on the transmission of the virus across 3,739 global locations. For details on the methodology, data, and estimated statistical models, see our working paper.
    We have developed interactive figures to visualize evidence-based projections of the impact of weather on the potential transmission rate of COVID-19 from May 1, 2020 to April 30, 2021, using 2019-2020 weather data for each location.

More here:
    https://projects.iq.harvard.edu/covid19
    Weather Conditions and COVID-19 Transmission: Estimates and Projections

25. Cuhdear Bajan Avatar

Places with ZERO COVID-19 deaths so far:

Rwanda
    Vietnam
    Uganda
    Mozambique
    Mongolia
    Cambodia
    Eritrea
    Bhutan
    Timor Leste
    Grenada
    Namibia
    Laos
    Fiji
    St. Lucia
    St. Vincent
    Dominica
    St. Kitts/Nevis
    Vatican City
    Seychelles
    Papau New Guinea
    Western Sahara
    Lesotho

26. Cuhdear Bajan Avatar

Places with One COVID-19 deaths so far:

Suriname
    Gambia
    Botswana
    Burundi
    Liechtenstein
    Comoros
    Brunei
    Central African Republic