It was recently announced, by the Government Information Service, that the Protective Service Commission has approved the appointment of Mr. Oral Williams on promotion to the post of Deputy Commissioner of Police in the Royal Barbados Police Force, with effect from May 1, 2020.

I really don’t know if I should congratulate or offer commiserations to Mr. Williams. This has nothing to do with his fitness for the post. I do not know of his work or performance as a senior police officer and cannot speak to his fitness. My concern is that he has been appointed to a non-existent post, since someone is already substantively appointed Deputy Commissioner.

The Police Act, Chapter 167 of the Laws of Barbados, states at section 6:

The Force shall consist of a Commissioner, a Deputy Commissioner and such number of Assistant Commissioners, Superintendents, Inspectors, subordinate police officers and constables respectively as does not exceed the number provided by any order made under section 2 of the Civil Establishments Act: but the members of the Force at 16th October 1961, shall continue to be members of the Force and shall be subject to this Act.

The number of persons appointed to the post of Commissioner and Deputy Commissioner is subject to primary legislation, in this case the Police Act, and can only be changed by an amendment to that Act done in Parliament. On the other hand, the Police Act goes on to give the Minister responsible for Civil Establishments the power, by subsidiary legislation, to determine the number of Assistant Commissioners, Superintendents, Inspectors, subordinate police officers and constables.

For completeness, the Civil Establishments Act was repealed and replaced by the Public Service Act on December 31, 2007. The power to determine the number of posts in the Public Service is now found at section 13.(1) of the Public Service Act.

The power to make appointments to public offices and to remove and to exercise disciplinary control over persons holding or acting in the Public Service is vested in the Governor-General, acting in accordance with the advice of service commissions, in this case the Protective Service Commission. That service commission, like all others in Barbados, can only recommend the appointment of persons to post that are available. There is only one post of Deputy Commissioner available and that is already filled.

Who is responsible for this cock-up? Is this yet another example of this Government not getting anything right the first?

1,036 responses to “Senator Caswell Franklyn Speaks – Mock Police”

1. quote] The modern politicization of the RBPF started in 2003 and has plagued the force ever since. [unquote

Wade better be careful, the Koolaid Kid is going to post a diatribe about the youngest QC and most successful AG. or that Wade cant be trusted.

special note should be taken of that date 2003, what occurred around that period in the RBPF and who was AG

2. @ David May 19, 2020 7:56 AM

Yes we can! Providing the now exposed hypocrite Enuff stop referring to people as “liars”.
    WURA et al have any much entitlement to talk BS as Enuff does.

3. @David
    Can we move on?
    +++++++++++++++
    Why? I love when people research other people’s statements to see whether their positions have changed from day to day. It would be especially worthy to see their stances on Maloney and how he has gone from pariah to saint. Maybe that isn’t such a stretch Chris has been rehabilitated and all his missteps are history.

Politics too sweet.

4. @Sargeant

All sides have had their say, it is time to move on to the more substantive issue posted by Senator Franklyn.

5. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

Miller….what is of more importance instead of the Fowl Enuff petty side show that went BUST….is the movement being started by THE BLACK MAJORITY….to take back their country, treasury and pension fund…,from the minority thieves and their black face fellow parasites and sell outs in the parliament….

,,.there has never and may never again be a better opportunity….everyone is being encouraged to GET ON BOARD.

…sell out fowls NEED NOT APPLY, there is a reason why ya are labelled sellouts….NO ONE TRUSTS YOU…not even ya lowlife political masters who know ya are beneath them, but still useable….cause ya two stupid and memory too short for anything else….if you were of better use to them other than fowl material…you would know just as much as i do….BUT YA DONT….and never will…lol …suck on those eggs..

Miller and Piece….stay tuned for more on the aforementioned…that is of more use than arguing with LYING FOWLS…

6. Amazing that this post has generated 1000 comments. Very interesting to observe. On several levels, this blog post demonstrates wonderfully all that is wrong with Barbados. From gloriously missing the point, to cheap politics, to blatant lies.
    It is disturbing to the Dullard that Party talking points rather than independent interrogation of the facts would capture someone so young. Where are the comment by the young man on financial matters or on matters of science?
    Yet these are the archetypes that get promoted in the island.
    Sad!

7. @Dullard

We seldom agree but this time is one exception. We often say that BU reflects wider society. Be sure to wear your filter, always.

8. “special note should be taken of that date 2003, what occurred around that period in the RBPF and who was AG.”

Hmmmm…….

Mr. Greene, you’ve asked BU to take “special note” of the year, what occurred and who was AG at the time when the “modern politicization of the RBPF started.” No problem.

However, you PURPOSELY or CONVENIENTLY refused to “take special note” of the ‘SECOND PART’ of Mr. Gibbons’ comments re:

…………..”and it has PLAGUED the force EVER SINCE.”

Under the circumstances, that comment can be ‘REASONABLY INTERPRETED’ as ‘since 2003, the politicization of the RBPF has CONTINUED under SUCCESSIVE BLP and DLP administrations.

As Mr. Skinner always ‘say,’ “the duopoly rules.”

9. Miller
    Show me the lies! I am waiting.

10. Sargeant
    LMAO from pariah to saint for whom? Here are some post 2008 comments by me:

Enuff
    December 14, 2019 4:34 PM

PLT
    Totally agree with the need for a relationship to be established between the street and building. It is not good placemaking as the frontages are inactive and lack human scale. I made the same comments about the Hyatt Centric design. Mitigating against storm surge does not mean retail etc cannot be accommodated at ground floor, just take all sleeping areas on the upper floors.

EnuffJuly 21, 2019 6:09 PM
    I am no fan of MAM#2, never was and don’t think I will ever be. I however believe in being pragmatic, lawful and transparent.

11. @Artax,

arent you the one who when i mentioned this (Dottin and the AG circa 2003) questioned it?

it would have been almost impossible to recover from modern political interference since then as DLP would be duty bound to correct the wrongs stemming therefrom.

12. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

It was indeed ugly to watch such a young growing adult who has a keen mind and is willing to learn being MISLED….by evil minded useless adults…aka fowls….in that repulsive manner….i thought of all the things and different ways i would destroy these social blights and curses who are a danger to the population and even more danger to the public, especially the young…….were he my son.

.. And they felt proud to be polluting his young mind with their political POISON….that is the level of their intelligence…..we now see why the young black people on the island can never progress sufficiently unless they leave….the stinking politics that the no good leaders spent decades reducing and degrading.. to the lowest denomination…..just like they did the society..

Being obsessed with me is one thing, it serves my purpose just fine for times like these and what has always been my goal…….but using a 16 year old who is still very gullible especially to lowlifes and those with bad intent to spout such utter useless shit instead of guiding and shaping him to be a more productive, progressive mind and later, adult….i will never forgive that….

And alyuh done know how i can get..

13. “Pretty much all the honest truth telling there is in the world is done by children.”
    – Oliver Wendell Holmes

14. @ Mr. Greene

RE: “arent you the one who when i mentioned this (Dottin and the AG circa 2003) questioned it?”

My friend, perhaps you may want to INDICATE to me WHERE in any of my contributions I QUESTIONED anything you mentioned about “Dottin and the AG circa 2003.”

RE: “it would have been almost impossible to recover from modern political interference since then as DLP would be duty bound to correct the wrongs stemming therefrom.”

I believe your above comment is a ‘cop out’ (no pun intended). Or, are you suggesting the events you alleged to have occurred in 2003, significantly affected the RBPF to the extent the DLP was unable to “correct the wrongs stemming therefrom?”

If what their methods of “correcting the wrongs” is what occurred during the tenures of the abysmal failures, AGs Freundel Stuart and Adriel Brathwaite and DLP goon Guyson Mayers as chairman of the PSC……. then, it clearly indicates they are a bunch of a bungling amateurs.

Under their watch, for example, several officers recommended by both CoP Dottin and Griffith were ignored in favour of officers selected by DLP goon Guyson Mayers, which resulted in an unprecedented number of lawsuits. Surely, those awful politically motivated events did not have anything to do with what you’re alleging occurred in 2003.

I’m sure many officers were among the electorate that helped you to receive the 30-0 drubbing.

Mr Greene, it seems as though Astor left his recipe for who’s now serving the ‘strong rum punch’ at George Street…… and apparently you had a bit too much this morning.

I don’t know you, but based on your sound contributions to issues other than politics, you’re a guy I respect. But, I don’t believe you’re cut out to a politician…… you come over as being a ‘yard-fowl.’

15. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

Children tend to speak unvarnished truth, but not when their too young mind is polluted by politics which in and of itself is corrupt…and corrupts many adult minds, so it is fair to say that children wont stand a chance debating politics especially when they dont even know that they are being led around by their nose in the most ugly fashion.

We need new quotations FROM LIVING PEOPLE…in this era…this is the 21st century…Holmes 20th century…, were he alive today would not even understand it fully……young brains tend to be somewhat developed at age 25 and it may be debateable….but the human brain may only be fully developed at age 40 or 50.

Many of us on here already have fully developed brains…those of us who dont have the lower intellect of a fowl.

16. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

So now that we know that both Mia and Dale were LYING and they will continue to use the fact that Williams should have been promoted 20 years ago, to keep their illegal act of appointing him in place…we all wait for their NEXT ILLEGAL ACT..

The upside, everyone is watching their next moves and no one trusts any of them.

Fowls may as well go into hiding, you are being worked on as you read my posts….no one wants you around, ya got too obsessed with me and have rendered ya own selves successfully NEUTRALIZED..

17. Miller
    You can’t find the lies and hypocrisy?

18. (Quote).
    RE: “it would have been almost impossible to recover from modern political interference since then as DLP would be duty bound to correct the wrongs stemming therefrom.” (Unquote).

Now we know why the ‘Donvillegate Affair’ remains a political hot potato since the RBPF is forced to ‘serve and protect’ two political masters in different ‘colour’ uniforms.

Thank God for Uncle Sam who had no skin in the political game in the banana republic to skid on!

Justice has been served; albeit at the political level.

Amen to that!

19. @ Enuff May 19, 2020 11:11 AM

You have been charged, found guilty, reprimanded and dismissed.

Are you trying to be a repeat offender and let your antecedents be your downfall of imprisonment?

20. @Artax,

i really dont know why you veered off our discussion down a path of Alice in Wonderland. i will ignore your attempt at condescension. it doesnt register with me. stick to the topic.

you did poopah or appeared to have make light of my statement re Dottin and MAM.

21. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

Ah trying to find work for the fowls, since they are now unemployed, the no good employers in Barbados who fancy themselves superior over the majority black population without whom, all their greedy minority asses would starve, will need workers to help them work the land, when their businesses close down, and close they will, we will make sure of it, so who better then fowls who are always promoting them robbing the treasury and pension fund and creating poverty in the black population….to go help them do some honest work on the land for a change…no one else wants you…

everyone noticed that the dishonest employers ILLEGALLY cut the salary of workers and the government is yet to do or say anything, because they have been doing illegal things too….

all of them HAVE TO BE REMOVED……yes both corrupt government and corrupt employers…and it’s only the people can do it..

22. @ Greene

RE:”i really dont know why you veered off our discussion down a path of Alice in Wonderland.”

You ‘get too hot under the collar’ when it comes to politics…. and more so whenever your DLP comes under serious scrutiny.

As you know, I’m not as educated as you guys, so, perhaps you may want to explain what you meant by “veering down the path of Alice in Wonderland.”

RE: “i will ignore your attempt at condescension. it doesnt register with me. stick to the topic.”

I’m SURPRISED at your comment about “condescension,” especially coming from you, who openly condoned the contemptuous and condescending behaviour of your mate’s continual referring to BU contributors as ANIMALS and other pejorative, derogatory terms…….. and dismissed complaints from them.

Didn’t I stuck to the topic? You raised an issue, purposely using half of Mr. Gibbons comments and I responded by using the other half.

RE: “you did poopah or appeared to have make light of my statement re Dottin and MAM.”

My friend, if that’s your interpretation, then, so be it. Once again, you made your point and I made mine.

DONE WITH YOU AND THAT!!!!!.

23. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

“Now we know why the ‘Donvillegate Affair’ remains a political hot potato since the RBPF is forced to ‘serve and protect’ two political masters in different ‘colour’ uniforms.”

same thing at the Supreme Court, funded by taxpayers, being interferred with politically by the same rotten ministers who are PAID BY TAXPAYERS. too ..but most of the judges, also paid by taxpayers are serving wicked government ministers and allowing them to pollute the court with their corruption…..INSTEAD OF SERVING THE PEOPLE WHO PAY THEIR SALARIES……..the island can never get anywhere if this is allowed to continue…

all of it has to be brought to a permanent end…for the future of the people, generations of the young and the island as a whole….

Miller….well at least they shot their big load of pure criminality already, they can’t set up any more black people like themselves to be extradited to US, using any arm of the US government, they already did that one, set up two innocent men who looks just like them to steal 67 acres of land, a whole plantation and a multimillion dollar bank account from an innocent man.. i DARE THEM to try that one with the US again…

24. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

The common denominator in all of this are all those CORRUPT POLITICAL APPOINTMENTS…in the supreme court, in the police force and in all the varioius government departments…they all want disinfecting and then DISMANTLING..

25. Miller
    Because you said so? Up to now you can’t show me where I said what you accused me of saying. Once again you’ve been shown up by me. Keep coming at me.

26. It is sad how the opposition is arguing here about details of the civil service law. So sad, so sad.

They cleverly bypass the real problems of the country. I’m glad that Mia Mottley is our leader. She steers the country through hard times with an iron will and a firm hand.

27. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

Like there is a stuck record in here.

we have made so much progress in the last 48 hours while the focus was on me, poor souls can’t get over the I…am badass like that…lol…things that have been hidden for decades, unknown to Bajans…but known by myself and others ARE NOW OUT THERE..

.Bajan eyes are opening wider and wider, they will stay that way..

wuh i remember the days when corrupt lawyers and ministers worked day and night to SHUT DOWN THE BLOGS…and the nuisance fowls were right there helping them..but all of a sudden ya can’t get them to stay off social media…it’s a good thing they still don’t know how to use it successfully…and am not the one to teach these useless viruses anything….that is why their litte uncoordinated set ups will ALWAYS FAIL…they don’t know what the shite they are doing and never will.

28. If being a LIAR is a badass. You are one 🤣🤣🤣

29. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

Go check the other blog and see what a badass i am …lol…ya too obsessed with me, you don’t have a husband though….

we can ask the dudes on the blog if any of them are available…or i can give you one of my admirers…..or ya can always hookup with Piece, seeing ya like so much tinfoil.

ah know ah did a nasty move on alyuh, but alyuh nasty so it should balance out…

30. Liar. Yuh provide the promised information you had to prove government’s plan to cremate the lady? Yuh know the info you got from the family? 🤣🤣

31. @ Enuff May 19, 2020 5:36 PM

There you go again!

Playing the part of the cowardly bully in the playground of the kindergarten’?

Waru is a mere small fish in the big sea of liars (like your shark self).

Her innocuous ‘lies’ (like “Roleric Hinds” or whoever) are mere pork pies of white lies compared to those told on electioneering platforms.

Why don’t you try to punch above your weight and go after the real heavy weights of liars?

How about questioning the authenticity of the contents of the “Red Valise”?
    Why is it taking so long to reveal its contents?
    Is it a Pandora’s Box of reverse consequences?

What is holding up the legislative process of putting both muscle and teeth to FOIA and ITAL?

Or is it just a matter of cutting off your ‘red’ nose to increase you chances of smelling your own air of corruption?

32. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

Miller…poor fowl got lost and now can’t find a way out, still can’t see how very useful she has been and continues to want to be even more useful and all voluntarily…..lonely existence..

now if she wasn’t such a fowl…

knocked on their asses again, what a bunch of losers, but don’t worry, the best is yet to come, ya know they can’t go a week without some wicked scandal…

33. @ Bajan Ass in NY

@BAJE the Major league Asshole who professed to have 3 degrees, then professed to have 2 after being challenged.

MY US$1200 (BD$2400) SPENT WELL AND EXPECTING MORE LIKE HUNDREDS OF MILLIONS OF AMERICANS WHO HAVE RECEIVED.
    WHAT IS MIA AND HER BLOATED CABINET DOING TO STIMULATE THE BARBADOS ECONOMY FOR BLACK BAJANS BESIDES FINING THEM $$THOUSANDS FOR HER DRACION CURFEW WHILST TAKING AWAY THEIR FREEDOMS?

Trump and his buddies love folks like you. Used wunna up in the Armed Forces, left wunna to languish in VA hospitals which are overrun by COVID-19, if wunna not sleeping under bridges, guh wunna $1,200 which cyan pay a month’s rent in a proper apartment and have wunna singing the Star Spangle Banner.
    If you were not such a degree-less MLA you would be questioning why you only got measly $1,200 while corporations got billions. It would not surprised me if you are in a miles long food bank line when the day comes. After all, you are a proven liar who came and professed to have 3 degrees. Once a certified liar, always a liar.

xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

I HAVE CORRECTED YOU SEVERAL TIMES INCLUDING HAL ASKING THE QUESTION ABOUT ISSUE WITH HAVING 3 DEGREES.

HOWEVER YOU ALONG WITH YOUR BRAIN DEAD BLP POSSE WOULD LIKE TO COME ON THE BU BLOG TO BLATANTLY LIE TO DEFLECT FROM YOUR RED PARTY BAG OF DECEPTIONS AND LIES.

I HAVE BOTH A BACHELORS AND MASTERS DEGREE WHICH MAKES 2 AS I DON’T HAVE A DOCTORATE SO YOU COULD CONTINUE WITH YOUR DISHONESTY AS IT IS PAR FOR THE COURSE WITH YOU LOT.

YOU THINK EVERYONE HAS TO LIE TO MAKE THEIR POINTS AS THE BLP IDIOTS ON BU DO DAILY TO DEFLECT.

@ enuff I AM WELL WITHIN MY RIGHT TO HAVE RECEIVED A FEDERAL STIMULUS CHECK AND COULD APPLY FOR PAYROLL PROTECTION LOAN PROGRAM IF I CHOOSE TO DO SO SINCE I HAVE A BUSINESS WITH EMPLOYEES.

WHAT SHOULD BE OF MORE CONCERN IS WHAT MIA CARES IS DOING TO GIVE BACK TO THE BLACK MASSES INSTEAD OF THE BRAIN DEAD WHITE BOYS IN THE TOURISM INDUSTRY.

34. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

Wait…wuh happened to the Fowl Enuff….must be still sleeping, the poor thing had to leave the blog empty handed.

Dont worry, there is always FB…ya can always make an appointment to meet me there…..ya will get all the atttention that ya so desperately seeking out there, i aim to please..

… dont know if ya other 14 fellow fowls got the confidence and courage to join ya on FB though, things never go very well for them in that billion plus forum…..so ah guess ya may be stuck on BU since ya aint flexible…but ya shouldn’t be lonely….am here too.

35. Shite Milluh still here trying to come fuh me? Gosh I have been busy preparing to chair the first of my four meetings with the white people. Wait we talking bout 38 storeys, that’s nearly 2.5 times Hyatt right #deliarandblufferaccordingtotheSalemites.