During the last decade the BU blogmaster has not had the opportunity to highlight our prime ministers performing on the world stage/media. The election of Prime Minister Mia Mottley has corrected the problem.

Today (2020-04-29) many Barbadians took pause at 2PM EST to watch Mottley with her usual oratory and unrestrained flair participate an interview with the world renown journalist  Christian Amanpour.

283 responses to “Barbadians Take Pause to Watch Prime Minister Mia Mottley’s CNN Interview”

1. @Piece the Prophet

Dictatorship is only fiction:

“That was when they suspended the Constitution. They said it would be temporary. There wasn’t even any rioting in the streets. People stayed home at night, watching television, looking for some direction. There wasn’t even an enemy you could put your finger on.”

Margaret Atwood, The Handmaid’s Tale

Democracy is reality. Believe in Mia Mottley. It is not too late.

2. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

My Sweet Piece

I am too big a cat to be f….k by a kitten. Lorenzo may speculate what he wants to speculate, I have been around people of all sorts to know when to be reticent, to know when to divulge, and to know how much information to give. However, I do not think Lorenzo deliberately throw out a sprat in the hope of catching a big fish with his US comment. Remember, I am Miss EU MM. But, piece, I thought our pivotal role on this blog was about exposing the wrongs and injustices in Barbados because we want to see a progressive Barbados operating under a system of governance that is streamlined by implementations that keep politicians transparent and accountable. I thought that we want to see sensible decisions made on policy matters that advantage all of Barbados’ people and not the accustom circle. We know what Mottley has done during the first few months as PM in office. That behaviour has not slipped me because she was bold with her nepotism, and bold with her larger than life cabinet that has not yet proven that many hands do make like work.
    In spite of all of those damning things she sought to convince Barbadians of, she has given Barbados a rear opportunity to be upfront on the international stage. If you are good at something, you are good at it. If it attracts positive interest, then it cannot be all wrong. I know you believe Mottley to be a very dishonest person, and who is rogue enough to stage this interview to keep Bajans sheeple and believing, but I beg to differ. Staged or not staged, or an opportunity to beg, (and have we not been begging for years hence our high indebted state?) Barbados has been placed in a position to be recognised, more, by the worldwide international community as a place for consideration and potential new investment, etc etc. That is how I am looking at it.

Mariposa

Why would you seek to spin top in mud by using a statement I made to push your stupid narrative. My Sweet Piece is not thin skin like you. Piece knows me better than most of you and knows that I would cuss him, tell him off or put him in his place if he goes beyond the boundary of sound reasoning. I call him out on this one because we cannot always look at the bad without acknowledging some good. You would do well to understand this and not always be pushing your DLP agenda to the point that you must constantly be in an opposing view of whatever the BLP has done. Woman, get a grip, please. The BLP are no friends of mine, but anything they do to benefit and progress Barbados, the SSS will credit it with praise as much as she will damn well condemn them for their purulent discharges of shite doing. Example, Mottley is praised for being able to speak well and getting a short stint on CNN to promote Barbados. Kudos to Prime Minister Mia Amor Mottley. On the other hand, Mottley must be condemned for her shite role in keeping borders open, allowing tourist and Bajans returning home from Corona hotspots without isolating them and testing, condemned for the part their play in promoting panic at the Supermarkets, and condemned for thinking that they made the right calls and the Bajans are at fault for their lack of discipline.

3. The CNN interview had nothing to do with global governance. It was all about the president’s ego and her fantasy of being world class.
    The CNN interview was a job application for a global position with the United Nations, or even the Commonwealth Secretariat. The president’s horizon is beyond Barbados and CARICOM. She has achieved both.

4. As a former reporter your position is supported by evidence. Nothing wrong with having an opinion however,

5. Piece the jackass you are one crazy dumbass old man who got lucky with a foregone election result which went to your head. {Quote}

@ Lorenzo

Don’t mind Piece talking bout how one he was PROPHETIC and PREDICTED the 30-0 2018 general elections results. He GOT JUST AS LUCKY as the 20 PEOPLE that WON the Nation Newspaper competition bout who would uh win the elections. And yuh know what the best thing is?

You remember that he say he get a vision from God and predicted that 6 men gine resign from the BLP in January 2019 and join Atherley? He must be did mean 2021.

He is a PROPHET, wuh ——– he ent even uh PROFIT to a fella.

Then he gine come here calling people rented jackasses, when he is one a dem RENTED MULES that name RUTH that Festus uses to take care of, pun that old cowboy picture name “Gunsmoke.”

Lorenzo, watch how he gine blister blind and wash muh RH in cuss. Yuh know how it is on BU, if you don’t agree with everything the critics say and sing in their choir, they call you a BLP and Mugabe pooch licker.

6. The CNN interview had nothing to do with global governance. It was all about the president’s ego and her fantasy of being world class. The CNN interview was a job application for a global position with the United Nations, or even the Commonwealth Secretariat. The president’s horizon is beyond Barbados and CARICOM. She has achieved both. {Quote}

@ Hal Austin

When somebody makes an assumption about you or something you said, you always ask them if they are reading your mind and that they should ask you questions.

WHERE IS THE EVIDENCE THAT ALLOWED YOU TO COME TO THAT CONCLUSION?

Did you ask Mottley or somebody close to her?

IF YOU HAVE NO EVIDENCE OR DID NOT ASK NOBODY——– THAT MEANS YOU ARE MAKING BASELESS, SILLY ASSUMPTIONS.

THAT MEANS YOU ARE READING MOTTLEY’S MIND, WHICH IS SOMETHING YOU ALWAYS WARN PEOPLE AGAINST DOING.

OR, IS IT THAT YOU ARE DRIVEN BY DELUSIONS OF AN ALL KNOWING BEING AND HAS ELEVATED YOURSELF FROM THE VILLAGE IDIOT TO THE STATUS OF DEITY?

7. Like all others i have an opinion i do not see Mia placing Barbados in any spotlight on International stage
    However i see Mia doing what she does best Placing herself at the highest level inside the international arena to do what is in the best interest of Mottley
    As others have said Barbados PM’s in the past has garnished international press placing barbados in the world spotlight
    But now lets take a lot at where the praises are being applied and the name Barbados seems to missing in all the praises
    BTW what did Mia say that was so appealing in the minds of those listening that would shine the spotlight of compassion towards barbados or small island nations
    All the comments revolve solely around one name presently and that name is Mia
    Go figure

8. What a masterful speech from our first female Prime Minister at the Oxford Union in September 2019. A speech that even her critics on BU cannot criticise. She argued for the need of citizens to engage their voice; to educate themselves and to agitate for change within both the nation state and the global world.

Mia stated that Barbados must “defend the gains of the pass” and stressed that she wanted Barbadian citizens to be committed, confident, curious, creative and caring and not to be contented with the minimum in life.

Mia has the potential to be a great Prime Minister. Her problem is that she lacks the moral and spiritual back bone to drive through the necessary paradigm changes to bring revolutionary changes to our nation state. She is reluctant to devolve power to individuals, communities and parishes.

My advice to our dear Prime Minister would be to detach herself from her privilege family back ground and connections. And to reach out to the majority and under represented masses. She should also take a leaf out of the brilliant social activist and politician – Julius Malena. A man who is consistent in his voice. A man who is not a chameleon. A man who does not alter his message to suit his audience.

In answering a question from a member of the audience Mia stated that her favourite part of the island is Bathsheba; yet recently – she boasted of her desire to build a hotel corridor along our west coast!

9. The problem with Mia speeches (all of them) lacks the sincerity of her words not matching her actions
    As the old folks would said it is not what u say but what u do
    Time and time again over the ten years Mia rolled out plenty words with great effect to convince the masses that the role of good government was to create an atmosphere that was beneficial for all
    At present none of those words have bear fruit towards the masses who voted for Mia
    So her glibe and sweet sounding tones has fallen on deaf ears to many expect those who might have forgotten the many things she made promised and the naught she has so far delivered to them
    A good piece of gamesmanship to caress the non observer but one can rest assured that to the observer who have heard Mia many speeches from the past her words in the interview are stark reminders of what she does best that of tickling the fanatical minds of her followers while dropping sweet sounding words to those who might opposed her
    Buyer beware

10. @ Mariposa May 3, 2020 6:17 AM

Do you see any difference between your current bête noir Mia and your Sweet skin bucky David T. other than one is above (for the time being) and the other below?

Didn’t DT commit to a similar litany of promises to clean up the mess of corruption and maladministration left by OSA?

They are both graduates- like your former whipping boy OSA- from the sweet-talking full-of-promises professional school of pork barrel politics.

These power-hungry egotists are not into politics for any long suffering self-sacrificial altruistic commitment to ensuring the ordinary man and woman has a fair crack at the whip of partaking in the national economic pie and access to justice.

Why don’t you do your ‘yellowed’ party a much needed duty by replacing (as the caretaker) Astor B. Watts, that good and faithful servant of the Barrow DLP? May both rest in peace!

That former great party is in dire need of a bedside nurse to help with its resuscitation as it ‘lies’ on a very sick bed.

You do have the necessary enthusiasm for such a job.

And while you are at it, please move a resolution to have both Sinliar and Fumble struck off the register of membership similar to what befell OSA and his former witch in white and ‘enemies in Red’.

As the Mighty Gabby would say: ‘Dem politicians mekking mock sport at you!’

11. Man miller u still.chewing on the skeleton remains of DT
    The guy as sickly and he never had a chance to fulfill promises made
    Yet u and other blp foot soldiers can still dig beneath the earth to filter out as many promises that he made and throw them in the political landscape for good political measure
    Next time you make a visit to him in the Parish of St. John were he now lay in eternal rest proposed those questions to Him
    Cant wait to hear the answers

12. @ Mariposa May 3, 2020 7:44 AM

The naked Truth hurts so sweet, doesn’t it? But it can also be rather cathartic for people who are constipated with political sh**it like you.

So you are going to follow the miller’s suggestion and take up the job of the caretaker of DLP that became known as the deceitful lying party under DT?

You could always ask the miller next time he visits the duppy hole in St. John to ‘read up’ the ghost of DT and get a reference on your behalf.

You could use the wannabe priest the Stink Liar as your second reference.

13. WURA-War-on-U Avatar
    WURA-War-on-U

While the Covidiots are plotting and planning despite having NO CONTROL OVER INTERNATIONAL TRAVEL nor the ability to create prevention, this is the REALITY…people who actually have working brains and intelligence already saw the BIG PICTURE and are already set to IMPLEMENT..

https://www.facebook.com/100001286198207/posts/3227783953941113/

“These include between one and two-metre distancing at all times (excluding people who live together), hand sanitisers distributed throughout the airport and efforts to spread passengers more evenly across terminals.

In the US, the Transport Security Administration (TSA) says travellers should wash their hands for 20 seconds – in accordance with official guidelines – before and after the security screening process.

But, at Hong Kong International Airport, testing is under way on a full-body disinfectant device. This, the airport says, can sanitise users within 40 seconds, using sprays that kill bacteria and viruses on skin and clothing.

Image copyrightEPA
    Image caption
    Hong Kong International Airport is testing a “full-body disinfection” device
    The airport is also trialling autonomous cleaning robots that move around killing microbes by zapping them with ultraviolet light. Similar robots have been tested in makeshift hospital rooms.

Airports that have electronic check-in kiosks are encouraging passengers to use them where possible to avoid unnecessary interaction.

Most will display posters that explain guidance measures and instructions throughout their buildings.

James Thornton, chief executive of Intrepid travel group, says the process of passing through airports is likely to take longer because of stricter checks.

“Just as taking out liquids and devices before going through machines has become the norm, so too will new social distancing guidelines,” he says, adding: “It’s possible we’ll see the introduction of an immunity passport.”

Earlier this year, several airports announced they were introducing “thermal detection screening” in efforts to prevent the further spread of the virus overseas.”

14. .Miller @Mariposa

You could use the wannabe priest the Stink Liar as your second reference.

Isnt this the same Stink Liar that Mia lambasted for ten years
    Now calling upon his advice for COVID economic recovery
    How about Mia -de- Liar
    In this case it might be a reflection of birds of a feather flocking together

15. Here we go, around and around the mulberry bush…isn’t this the point?

16. @ Mariposa May 3, 2020 8:44 AM

D’accord!

Or to use the UK-based president of your fan club: “Spot On”!

17. @Wura
    This highlights the difficulties of travelling.

The problem will be much greater as the state of the economy in countries where the tourist originates will be an important factor. Much of the discussion seem to assume that we will have a pre COVID-19 economy with the same volume of tourists.

18. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

Theo…they are not getting it yet, but they will, have to excuse the slow, limited intellect masquerading as brilliant…but only succeeding in being delusional..

19. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

Now this is what i give credit for, showing initiative, even if it’s after we highlighted it, i don’t give credit for people talking flowery SHITE…particularly if it’s leaders doing it, that does not impress me, it’s just hot air, basic words…..talk is cheap…and talking on and on for hours is even cheaper.

https://barbadostoday.bb/2020/05/03/covid-19-qeh-pharmacy-launches-delivery-service/.

“The Queen Elizabeth Hospital has partnered with popular local food delivery service provider Hopscotch, to establish a free home delivery service of prescriptions for its out-patient clientele.

Prescriptions will be processed, packaged and labeled to facilitate delivery within five days of receipt of the order. On delivery, patients must present their Barbados National Identification Card for verification, then print and sign their name upon receipt of the package. In the event that the patient is unavailable at the time of delivery, the recipient of the package must present the patient’s Barbados National Identification Card, then print and sign their name upon receipt of the package on the patient’s behalf.”

20. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

BTW…i absolutely dislike the MISLEADING word FREE, IT’S NOT FREE…the taxpayers are PAYING FOR THE SERVICE…stop lying, same lies they have been telling for decades about education PAID FOR BY TAXPAYERS and calling it free to promote themselves and fool the public that they are not the ones having the burden of educating asses like the tiefing lawyers, ministers, Fowl Enuff, Lorenza and the other idiot… in the trio.of hot fowls…

21. The problem with Mia speeches (all of them) lacks the sincerity of her words not matching her actions

As the old folks would said it is not what u say but what u do

Time and time again over the ten years Mia rolled out plenty words with great effect to convince the masses that the role of good government was to create an atmosphere that was beneficial for all

At present none of those words have bear fruit towards the masses who voted for Mia

xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

MIA IS A MASTERFUL CON-WOMAN PUNCHING ABOVE HER WEIGHT IN THIS REGARDS.

JUST LIKE HER RED BAG OF LIES AND DECEPTION IN A DESPERATE ATTEMPT TO BECOME PM IN 2018 SHE BAMBOOZLED BAJANS WHO WERE TIRED OF THE EQUALLY CROOKED DLP.

THIS CNN INTERVIEW WAS MIA MOTTLEY’S REALLY PUNCH ABOVE HER OVERWEIGHT TO BAMBOOZLE THE WHOLE WORLD AS USUAL GULLIBLE BAJANS FELL FOR THE SAME PLOY SHE HAS USED SUCCESSFULLY WITH THEM.

MIA MOTTLEY IS ALSO A MASTERFUL MANIPULATOR IF ALL IT TAKES FOR IDIOTS TO FORGET POOR BLACK BAJANS BEING LOCKED UP AND HEAVILY FINED FOR BREAKING MIA’S CURFEW THE WHOLE ISLAND IS A LOST COST.

I MUST SAY IF I WAS A POLITICIAN IN BARBADOS I WOULD DO THE SAME KNOWING FULL WELL NO MATTER HOW MANY DISHONEST THINGS I DO, HOW MANY LIES I TELL, HOW MUCH CRIME I DO I WILL GET A PASS BECAUSE I WILL NOT BE JUDGE BY MY ACTIONS LIKE THE COMMON MAN OR WOMAN JUST TALK PRETTY AND ALL IS WELL.

SO I JOIN IN CONGRATULATING MIA MOTTLEY IN CONTINUING TO PULL THE WOOL OVER BAJANS WHO DESERVES WHAT ALL THEY GET.

MIA MOTTLEY I ENCOURAGE YOU TO CONTINUE YOUR PRETTY TALKS AND RIDE ALL GULLIBLE BAJANS LIKE THE FOOLS THEY HAVE CONTINUED TO SHOW THAT THEY ARE.

22. Baje your retort makes for a great speech which summarize Mia well
    Applause

23. It is easy to be a judge of Mia doings
    Her last blast came from the past which now attaches itself to Chris Sinckler
    Fool.me once u cant fool me ever again
    Let that sink in

24. heheheheheheheh

I, Piece the Legend, having be promoted to Prophet recently by Tron ye olde Sexton, am being accused of many spurious things by rented Jackasses enjoined by a feller called Robert.

Robert, de man who de ole man believes to be none other that the RAPIST fellow now turned press relations official!!!

Dem is gathering, not like the now defunct gathering 2020 BECAUSE dem fears what de ole man has prophesied!

De destruction of the Mugabe Regime that has been prophesied by Piece the Prophet UNDERSTANDABLY has many of the Philistines unsettled.

As well it MUST.

Jes look at it in terms of what a post by de prophet does do and you will understand why dem doan like de ole man to post here.

De ole man prophesy what de ole man see, and dem assemble and jumping gleefully when a day or a month pass and dem ent see what de ole man see.

And in dem hearts dem delighteth causing whu de ole man been told, ent happen yet.

heheheheheheheh

1.I tell wunna dat 6 of wunna BLP gine cross de floor and wunna has not believed me, but dat is ok

2.I tell wunna dat Mugabe only gine be a 5 year government AND WUNNA HAS NOT BELIEVED ME

3.I tell wunna dat Caswell Franklyn gine be de next Prime Minister of Barbados AND WUNNA HAS NOT BELIEVED ME

AND DESE TINGS DE OLE MAN SAY got all of wunna heah in a frenzy.

Why, why is dat?

4.30 to 0 gine soon be 18 to 12 with Senator Franklyn as Prime Minister

25. Freedom Crier Avatar
    Freedom Crier

CNN’S FAKE NEWS ABOUT HUNGARY LEADS TO EMBARRASSING MOMENT FOR CHRISTINE AMANPOUR

The idea that parliament is suspended in Hungary is simply untrue, Hungarian FM Péter Szijjártó tells CNN’s Christine Amanpour

April 27, 2020

After CNN’s Christiane Amanpour asked Hungarian Minister of Foreign Affairs and Trade Péter Szijjártó why parliament is closed during the coronavirus outbreak, he calmly told her that he had spoken to parliament five times in that very week alone.
    Apparently believing CNN’s own inaccurate news about Hungary’s state of emergency, Amanpour could only say, “Ok, that’s news to us.”

Szijjártó noted during the interview that many of the claims about Hungary’s state of emergency are simply not true, including the idea that parliament is suspended.

“I read these reports and I have to tell you that these reports never speak about the truth… given the fact that there are four countries in the European Union applying a similar kind of solution: Poland, Malta, Croatia, and us,” Szijjártó said in the interview. “And there are four other [European] countries in which the government can go along with the state of emergency or state of danger without any kind of decision made by the parliament.”

Global media outlets have been accused of misrepresenting the new state of emergency law in Hungary to fight the coronavirus, with many claiming Orbán has been granted unlimited powers for an indefinite period of time. These outlets have failed to mention that parliament can vote to end the state of emergency at any time and that Orbán’s decrees must be narrowly tailored towards fighting the coronavirus crisis.

Furthermore, the law does not dissolve parliament but instead requires the government to remain in constant consultation with parliament members, which means parliament continues to meet in-person and work with the government in the fight against the coronavirus. Many other countries have also enacted similar measures to help governments respond quickly to the crisis.

Amanpour also asked whether it is conceivable that parliament, in which the ruling conservative Fidesz party has a two-thirds majority, would ever go against its own government and end the state of emergency.

Szijjártó rssponed by saying, “First of all, the composition of the Parliament is not an outcome of a lottery, but elections. So, I think it is kind of natural that in a parliament there is majority and there is a minority, and the majority is definitely for the government… Many media outlets have spread lies and fake news around this law,” Szijjártó said, adding that the additional powers of the government are not unlimited.

“One of these fake news items is that it says that the government has an uncontrolled and unlimited possibility to make decrees, which is not true,” Szijjártó said. “The law says very clearly that we can make decrees only in accordance with protecting the people, the country and the economy from the challenges related to the virus.”

Szíjjártó – Amanpour (CNN) full interview with Hungarian subtitles

26. Piece the jackass you are no prophet you arre are a attention seeking madman.Hear you in 2023 the PDP will win 18 seats to 12. YOU EVER HEARD SUCH RUBBISH? On top of that Mr Caswell Franklyn will be PM.As Bush Tea would say oh ma shirt this idiot is a real real comedian.Tell us what political credentials Mr Franklyn has? Have you bought those twenty toilet seats yet? You will need them.You got lucky with tje 2018 election but i hope to be alive in 2023 when hopefully we will see the end of Rev Atherley and his sidekick Mr Franklyn with his melodrama in the senate and you.Therefore do not be under any illusions that ANYBODY FEAR YOU EXCEPT IN YOUR CRAZY MIND. YOU ARE UNIMPORTANT.One finally how come you are always on here biggimg up Mr Franklyn but when you getting liclks on here Mr Franklyn never comes to your assistance? This tells me you think a lot more of him than he thinks of you or you and he are the same person.I know ypu are pimping around here so you can answer the question.

27. Piece the Legend Avatar

Dear Minister of Disinformation who is on duty now, your assistance please

28. Piece You Prophet,

Once again, Lorenzo is absolutely right. If the Senator becomes the new Prime Minister, Barbados will be transformed into a socialist island without a market economy. We will then see price controls and perhaps even famine.

Besides, the distribution of power will not change anyway. COW, Bizzy, Baloney, Jerkham and Kyffin are still there, so the new prime minister would have to do their bidding, as everyone else has done before him.

29. @ Tron ye olde Sexton (and Jester without equal)

Have you been able to see the lineup of the PdP?

Look and the people in their party!!!

One thing that Reverend Atherley has been able to draw to him has been men and women of consummate skill!

EVEN ,THROUGH NO DESIGN OF HIS OWN, he is surrounded by a bounty of good people

Unlike the Mugabe Band Wagon of Misfits, the PdP has truly competent men and women.

So Tron, de ole man, would ask you to comment on the calibre of the persons in the party of the the Next Government of Barbados

30. @ Piece the Legend,

The People’s Party for Democracy and Development (PdP) is telling Government that it cannot use the Emergency Management COVID-19 Order, as a way to circumvent democracy in this country.

https://www.barbadosadvocate.com/news/b%E2%80%99dos-still-democracy

31. @ Piece the Legend May 3, 2020 9:57 PM

Your new party is an artificial construction, invented at the Prime Minister’s desk. A party whose website clearly indicates that it does not wish to communicate with the public at all.

We only need the new party to destroy the DLP once and for all. There are still some incorrigible fugitives from the plantation, prowlers and windrushers who are members of the DLP.

32. @ Tron ye olde Sexton (and jester extraordinaire)

Here is what the PdP spokesman on Law and governance about this travesty and constitutional abrogation and illegality.

“…“We have to be the watchdogs for democracy in this country. We have to ensure that civic Barbados understands that they have a role to play while this Government has a majority role in Parliament.

We have to realise that the media has a role to play while this Government has a majority,” she maintained…”

Mugabe Mottley is changing the laws in this country every week Tron.

She doing as she like!!

33. […] Unlike her predecessor Freundel Stuart who preferred to hideaway on the hilltop of Mount Olympus and descend to talk to the people only if poked and cajoled- Mottley in stark contrast has commanded regional and international attention in her short tenure as prime minister – see Barbadians Take Pause to Watch Prime Minister Mia Mottley’s CNN Interview. […]