The following Letter to the Editor appears in today’s (28/04/2020) Nation newspaper in a response to Chief Justice for judge-only trials in criminal cases.

Judge-only trials a concern

I REFER to the suggestion by the Hon. Chief Justice for judge-only trials in criminal cases.

An examination of the reading on this matter indicates that such trials may be only appropriate in circumstances where (1) there is a large amount of forensic material as in the case of white-collar crimes; (2) there is conflicting expert and scientific evidence; and (3) there is an overwhelming amount of media coverage and attention prior to the trial which would raise the concern as to whether the jury could remain unbiased and impartial such as in cases arising from terrorism.

A consideration of the first and third circumstances have been at the heart of the ongoing criminal trial by a judge sitting alone in the Turks and Caicos of its former Premier Michael Misick and four former ministers of government.

Apart from the circumstances outlined above, there is little justification for judge-only trials. Section 41 of Juries Act Cap.115B provides that a jury shall not be kept in deliberation for longer than three hours unless in a civil matter the jury unanimously concur to apply to the trial judge for further time, which application must be granted by the Court.

In the context of Barbados, the question arises as to how many multiples of three hours will be required before the judge determines the matter if the law in Barbados was changed.

– CHRISTOPHER BLACKMAN QC

66 responses to “Retired Justice Questions Judge Only Trials”

1. Repurchase the operation. Take the vital stats, births, marriages and death records out of the building and make it a separate agency. Relocate the court of appeals into the renovated building where the Supreme Court sat before. Easier to enforce the division of labor. No court held up because counsel before another court. The ideal would also be to move either the criminal or civil division of the high Court to its own space. Require plain English in all pleadings. Require online filing of all papers. Empower the clerks to reject defects and to enforce penalties for clear procedural deficiency. It should not take a judicial officer to act on a clear default.Decisions should be delivered in 60 days. 120 days in complex matters. Legally complex as opposed to having serious impact on the losing litigant. Reorganize the building so that each judge’s staff works in their chambers and for that judge. Adequate staff to get the job done. All that is left is for the master or presiding judge in each division to make the calendar work. Incentives for counsel to resolve matters should be made clear. Also some matters that are now reaching the courts really should be resolved before some lesser lay tribunal. The objective should be the development of a Barbados/Caribbean jurisprudence.

2. Piece the Legend Avatar

@ Brother Hants

De ole man responsponses being censored by the Honourable Blogmaster so I cant answer as I would like.

The article yoy referred to in the news said

“…“We, therefore, must ask if our democracy is in peril, where the fundamental freedoms of civic engagement and institutions representative of people’s participation in the process are not seen to be safeguarded. This question is a legitimate one.

A large parliamentary majority should never be used to open the door to what appears to be the authoritarian rule of this administration,” the PdP spokeswoman declared…”

De ole man been talking bout Mugabe Mottley regularly

Finally more people waking up GOOD

3. You continue to post lies. Carry on having a conversations on the blog with your alter self. . Not all of us are so dumb not to be aware.

#steuspe

4. @ Piece

What do you call a one-party state without a free press?

5. The many faces of BU

They silenced GP2, but the replacement bus never arrived.

Some could not separate a coronavirus response from party politics.

We severely criticize some who make comments on areas they are not qualified in and at the same time give the ‘disinfectant idiot’ a free pass on his medical pronouncements.

Some put forward possible solutions to some of the problems confronting the island.

We back at the qualifications of Mia. Put that on the circular burner for 2023.

Some would now try to make war on the reputation/rating of the LSE.

6. Miller
    The point of my post was to show that a large backlog of court cases is not only a problem in a “failed state” like Bdos. Nowhere in my post I made an excuse for the backlog or sought to justify it. If that were my intent, I would have stated that St.Lucia has a backlog of about 680 after being at 2,000 in 2016; in 2019 Trinidad & Tobago had over 700 murder cases alone with accused awaiting trial (between 5-10 years); regarding Jamaica, there were just under 18,300 criminal cases in 2019. In Barbados, at the start of 2020 there were 84 murder cases pending a trial and 54 awaiting sentencing, with a total backlog of just over 1,000 cases. Now you and your new sidekick’s attempt to portray me as a propagandist and idiot. Firstly those stats represent England and Wales, not the UK, so the population is about 56 million. With a 327,000 backlog that works out at 0.6% per capita, while in Bim it is about 0.4%. For St.Lucia it is a similar 0.4% down from 1% in 2016. The wait times vary but the definition of backlog remains and inefficiency is inefficiency. I come back to my original question and the essence of my initial post–are we a failed state as often alluded to by the Brit who shops at the corner store in Brent?

7. Enuff coming in hot!

8. WURA-War-on-U Avatar
    WURA-War-on-U

Hot fowl can’t change the corruption in the supreme court or incompetence in the overall judiciary though, unless something is actually DONE ABOUT IT..

9. Stupse! Another capitulation characterised by shifting! I tell wunna see me and doan see me, yuh.🤣🤣🤣

10. @ Enuff May 2, 2020 12:17 PM

To ease the burden on the Caribbean courts, we should draw particular attention to the highly criminal environment. Crime in the Caribbean, particularly in the area of murder, is much more pronounced than in the First World. I would even say that murder and rape are part of the cultural DNA of this region.

Look at the statistics for Singapore and Jamaica in comparison. Up until independence, the murder rate was largely synchronized. After independence, the superior Asian civilization with a low murder rate prevailed in Singapore, while Jamaica without the colonial masters fell back into the darkest jungle with the highest murder rate in the world.

A judge in the Caribbean must therefore decide many more cases than in the First World. Responsible for the backlog is therefore not our government or the judges, but the people in their desire to kill and to commit other crimes.

#do-not-blame-gov-but-the-people

11. @ Enuff May 2, 2020 12:17 PM
    “With a 327,000 backlog that works out at 0.6% per capita, while in Bim it is about 0.4%. For St.Lucia it is a similar 0.4% down from 1% in 2016. The wait times vary but the definition of backlog remains and inefficiency is inefficiency.”
    ++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

Ok, “Enuff” of you trying to play the role of the Stats man of BU.

At least you have done a better job of handling yourself than your former whipping boy Sinckler now turned a choirboy in red singing robes.

Your attempt at the abuse of statistics will not pass the objective test of comparative efficiency between the Bajan judicial system and that of the UK (excluding Scotland & N.I, etc).

How about being a bit less disingenuous in your massaging of the numbers and let us know how many of those murder cases in that 327,000 backlog in the courts in England & Wales have been languishing for years compared to Barbados where men (mainly from the lower socio-economic brackets) are either on remand or on bail for murder for years without having their day in court to demonstrate their guilt or innocence.

Not even a black bobby in Britain charged with the serious crime of murder by the unlawful discharge of a firearm would find himself waiting for over 3 years for a ‘fair and timely’ trial rather much unlike him Bajan counterpart still park in his bed at the Queen Mary asylum in Bank Hall.

Now that would be a better measuring stick or acid test for comparative efficiency and indeed effectiveness of the administration of justice in all three jurisdictions which you have used in your analysis.

What about those who were found guilty and sentenced to capital punishment but are still ‘hanging around’ in breach of the Pratt & Morgan ruling?

BTW, the miller has no sidekick. He is more in the vein of El Zorro, the fox without the mask; not a lone ranger with a side kick.

12. Piece the Legend Avatar

@ de Honourable Blogmaster

“… David April 30, 2020 5:32 AM

You continue to post lies. Carry on having a conversations on the blog with your alter self. . Not all of us are so dumb not to be aware…”

You and de ole man both know that there are 4 of you!!!

That means that you alone carry on 8 conversations, 50% here and the rest in your 4 alter identities!

You would NEVER HAVE KNOWN were it not for one slip up!

You are not smart enough to determine these things. None of you is!!!

It took the direction of *** to SSH to that machine.

But even with that tunnelled access to resources THAT ARE NOT YOUR look at where you are 2 years later!

What do you think of “He, who shall NOT suffer my foot to be moved, He, that keepeth Israel, shall neither slumber nor sleep”

Try wunna big foot moves pun He now!

See how it is working out for wunna?

13. Miller
    Stupse, once again you’re engaging in sophistry and seeking to paint my posts in your own colour–green, which doesn’t suit you. Bermuda is experiencing some backlog too by the way, something about a sick building and lack of judges. Meanwhile in Singapore the latest annual performance for case completion was 105%; all cases in Singapore are judge only. Note I am not promoting judges’ only cases in Bdos. All yuh like to play the person rather than de ball. You may continue to swipe.

14. TinFoil are you admitting you post under multi-pseudonyms? LMBAO!

15. @ the 1st of the Rented Jackasses

No heheheheheheh de Blogmaster taking bout sumting else heheheheh

De ole man saying dat de Blogmaster and your buddy the 2nd of the Rented Jackasses is posting using more than one identity though.

I thought dat you was did promise to never post here pun BU again doah?

What happen dat Mugabe call you back to the job? Senator Franklyn? heheheheheheh

But while you heah doah I want you opinion bout dis cartoon below

Explain it in the context of why Mugabe rehired Stinkliar?

https://imgur.com/gallery/cFgYk

16. Now the silly argument has been settled, at least in England and Wales. Justice minister Chris Philp has told parliament that under no circumstance will judge-only courts be introduced. Victory for Magna Carta.
    The Diplock courts were the gravest injustice to the Northern Irish people during the Troubles and to visit it upon Barbadians will be an injustice.
    Let the principle remain that an accused (wo)man should be judged by a jury of his/her own peers.

Leave a Reply to MillerCancel reply