wayne-cadogan
Submitted by Wayne Cadogan, Retired Garment Manufacturer, Trainer, Consultant

As a designer this has got to be the dumbest law on the statute books in Barbados and I have been addressing this issue since the “90s. Although locals are harassed in every sense for wearing anything camouflage, tourist can be seen wearing camouflage clothing here in Barbados at will and allowed to do so.

Every time that I address this issue in the media or on Facebook it is taken with a negative attitude by Barbadians. As I have all respect for the law and abide by all rules but from a point of view as a garment designer of clothes this is a bad law. Camouflage was first designed to help soldiers fight in the jungle hence the green colours for the jungle and the brown colours for the desert.

Camouflage garments are worn all over the world and there is no reason why Barbados had to go to the extreme when they first thought about implementing this law and I hope that before I die that I will see this one law changed or amendments made to it.

I have always maintained that camouflage clothing is high profile and that anyone wearing it to commit a robbery would stick out like a sore thumb and would be easily recognized and fingered and that Khaki is the universal uniform for armies and anyone could easily use this form of clothing to commit a robbery passing as a soldier.

I have always maintained that anyone, could easily pose as a Muslim and commit a robbery here in Barbados and if they are allowed to hide their face and go into any business establishment then I really do not see anything wrong in the wearing camouflage of clothing as it also an expression of fashion and style.

What really is so ridiculous about this law is that it is not only the wearing of clothes but shoes, belts or anything that they consider to be camouflage. You mean to say that someone will wear just a camouflage belt, a pair of shoes or even a cap to a lesser extent and go into a place and rob it? This is why I have always maintained and stated that it is the dumbest and most stupid law that the government of Barbados ever legislated.

40 responses to “ Amend Camouflage Garment Laws”

1. The law regarding the wearing of this material is not only dumb, but the knuckleheads living under it as well. To allowed that Tom fool to dictate such shit on a people speaks loudly to the docility of the people. @ Piece the legend, you see what I mean about there being too many pussies about not under a skirt. The other law passed recently is the restrictions on Drones, what are they so afraid about, a drone flying overhead might spy some politician getting bull or whick?

2. Critical Analyzer Avatar

This law is one of the most sensible laws on the books. Camouflage was made for war and hunting. Why would any sensible designer want to use camouflage fabric to make clothing. Let who want to wear camouflage join the army. Maybe they should change the penalty to a day of boot camp training at the BDF for each piece they wearing.

Barbados has many bushy and wooded areas. You would not be singing this tune if you out for a stroll taking in the beautiful scenery and get robbed by a man you can’t see because he hiding in the bushes wearing camouflage.

Spend your time creating a unique fabric design instead of trying to push camouflage.

3. Camouflage comes in all colours yellow, pink, blue, grey, blue… you get the drift.

4. A related point has been made on BU and elsewhere many times and it concerns dwindling numbers applying to enter the police force and BDF. Some of it can be tracked to applicants bearing tattoos on visible body parts.

5. (Quote):
    This law is one of the most sensible laws on the books. Camouflage was made for war and hunting. (Unquote).
    ++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

What should be done to those ‘pale skin’ visitors who bought their camouflage clothing and accessories from one of the upscale stores on Knightsbridge and proud to show them off in sunny Barbados?

Would the wearing of a camouflage bikini on the beach as if dressed in ‘coloured breeches’ be a breach of this silly law?

What should be done to those people who turn up in Bermuda-length trousers (pants), even with no earrings, to conduct business with government agencies in tropical Barbados but are refused entry by a squadron of idiots because some other higher brand of idiots dressed like sweltering monkeys in ‘woolly’ business suits have mandated the stupid enforcement of these silly backward plantation slave rules?

6. @Miller, now that is what I would call critical analyzing, of course the one calling by that name or similar can only see men crawling from the bushes to rob and do whatever.

7. Critical Analyzer Avatar

@Miller

What should be done to those ‘pale skin’ visitors who bought their camouflage clothing and accessories from one of the upscale stores on Knightsbridge and proud to show them off in sunny Barbados?

Would the wearing of a camouflage bikini on the beach as if dressed in ‘coloured breeches’ be a breach of this silly law?
    +++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

They can ask the BDF personnel to take pictures and videos to proudly post on their Facebook and Instagram pages about their free boot camp training day experience in Barbados. BDF is on the beach so I am sure some beach drills can be arranged to show off the bikini.

8. I for one agree with the laws against camo….its hard enough picking some of you guys yelling ” you whoo gimma somma dat ” out of the bushes when my daughters pass by as it is.

9. The law regarding the wearing of this material is not only dumb, but the knuckleheads living under it as well. To allowed that Tom fool to dictate such shit on a people speaks loudly to the docility of the people. @ Piece the legend, you see what I mean about there being too many pussies about not under a skirt. The other law passed recently is the restrictions on Drones, what are they so afraid about, a drone flying overhead might spy some politician getting bull or whick?

xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

JUST LIKE CLOSING SUPERMARKETS/PHARMACIES AND BEING DEPRIVED OF ONES FREEDOM FOR 6 MONTHS FOR BREAKING A 24HR CURFEW.

BARBADOS HAS TO BE TRULY ONE OF THE MOST SILLIEST PLACES IN THE WORLD IMAGE PUNISHING PEOPLE IN COURT FOR CLOTHES WORN DAILY BY MANY PEOPLE IN THE WORLD WHO ARE NON MILITARY WITHOUT HARASSMENT AND THREAT OF PUNISHMENT.,

TO BE PENALISED FOR WEARING CAMOUFLAGE OR KNOWN AS BDUs IN MILITARY CIRCLES IS A REINFORCEMENT OF SUPPRESSION OF ITS PEOPLE.

THERE IS ALSO NO NEED FOR DEFENCE FORCE IN BARBADOS WHICH SUCKS TAXPAYERS FUNDS AND SHOULD BE ABOLISHED.

10. PoorPeacefulandPolite Avatar
    PoorPeacefulandPolite

I like it that Barbados is DIFFERENT. Copying America cheapens us. Let them sell their military surplus stock to their own children,

11. Although locals are harassed in every sense for wearing anything camouflage, tourist can be seen wearing camouflage clothing here in Barbados at will and allowed to do so. Every time that I address this issue in the media or on Facebook it is taken with a negative attitude by Barbadians

What a bunch of slaves.

12. Here is a lesson in democracy. There are nearly 200 independent members of the United Nations. Of the 18 listed countries that outlaw camouflage uniforms, 15 are African or Caribbean (is the Bahamas in the Caribbean?), the remaining three are the Philippines, Oman and Saudi Arabia.
    Doesn’t this tell you something. There are shops in the UK that sell old army gear, uniforms, belts, boots, caps, etc. The US army sells its old gear. That is why we got SWAT teams, using second-hand army gear. There has not been a coup in the UK recently, and only Trump in the US..

13. Countries where camouflage wear is banned.

A fine group of progressive forward thinking states, aren’t they?

14. BARBADOS HAS TO BE TRULY ONE OF THE MOST SILLIEST PLACES IN THE WORLD IMAGE PUNISHING PEOPLE IN COURT FOR CLOTHES WORN DAILY BY MANY PEOPLE IN THE WORLD WHO ARE NON MILITARY WITHOUT HARASSMENT AND THREAT OF PUNISHMENT. {Quote}

????????????????????????????????

That is the same man who said that Barbadians like to compare Barbados with other countries?

I can’t believe it.

15. It could be Barbados is protecting against a repeat of Bussa rebellion.

So Why Do Countries Ban Camouflage?

So, back to the “why” part. Camouflage laws are generally centered around a fear of confusion, rebellion or support of terrorist organizations. In Barbados it’s said that the rules are framed upon a desire for civilians not to be confused with members of the military on patrol. In other countries, historical uprisings or crime waves by camouflage wearing assailants are to blame. One thing is for certain: you don’t want to do a naked airport walk, especially if you’re expecting paparazzi on the other side! Does leopard print count?

16. There are shops in the UK that sell old army gear, uniforms, belts, boots, caps, etc. The US army sells its old gear. {Quote}

The village idiot is now doing what he condemned Barbadians for doing. Comparing Barbados with the UK and USA.

With him it’s “Do as I say and not as I do.”

17. @ Miller April 28, 2020 7:52 AM

Miller,

You can enter the platinum area at the local commercial banks with shorts and short-sleeved shirts, but not in government buildings.

That’s total insanity. The government burns millions every year to make blacks dress like whites in the north when the outside temperature is 31 degrees and humidity is high. A typical relic of colonial racism. The blacks are being conditioned like monkeys.

The irony is that whites in the South today hate wearing suits.

By the way: air conditioning instead of a sea breeze is the perfect environment for the Wuhan plague.

18. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

David I am seeing this verbiage to get back to the legal blog … Is it just my PC or is it an old article posted?

Accept JSTOR’s Terms and Conditions Below…Your use of JSTOR and this content indicates your acceptance of JSTOR’s Terms and Conditions. Read the Terms and Conditions…Use your account to permanently save your acceptance.

I have no particular interest in agreeing to any terms or downloading anything… what’s the story…can you advise?

19. Why must everyone go on about whites or tourists not treated the same as blacks by the authorities/cops when wearing the same camouflage? Is it so hard to see that we are a bunch of knuckleheads for having this situation exist in a predominately black country. Stop looking at others and what they get away with, we are long past that stage in our existence. Coming away from the late 70s there was an exponential evolution occurring in Barbados; more citizens obtaining a college education, matter of fact, there are more college graduates now than there were cane cutters in the past. What the hell, was every student compelled to take docility 101 and 102 as core requirement? For Phuck sake, act like you people went somewhere other than Brumley or the pipe. We are decades past that Era when Prime ministers bull us without Vaseline.

20. @Dee Word

Do not blame the blogmaster if you are not registered one of the largest peer reviewed article databases in the world.

21. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

OK.. indeed I will not blame you! Thanks.

22. Sometimes life in Bim can be compared to a Monty Python sketch. There is a ban on civilians wearing camouflage attire because yuh never know they might impersonate someone who can legally wear the attire and confuse some unsuspecting member(s) of the public into following their instructions or obtain benefits that should only accrue to those people who can legally wear camouflage clothing; or heaven forbid a group of them could get together and overthrow the Gov’t.

Yet during the curfew Police in plain clothes driving unmarked cars were stopping civilians who were going about their business as essential workers and a Police spokesman was advising Bajans to expect more of the same.

John Cleese where are you?

23. Years ago I bought stuff in an Army surplus store on yonge street in Toronto.

New store.

https://www.bloortactical.com/product.php?id=12

24. “Countries where camouflage wear is banned.
    A fine group of progressive forward thinking states, aren’t they?”
    +++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

It is often claimed that the Bajan political monkeys like to do what some other foreigners do; like banning the wearing of camouflage, period.

So how about the Bajan authorities banning the sale and consumption of alcohol, permanently, like many with similar cultures to those on that same list who have banned the wearing of camouflage.

Ban the sale of Bajan rum but allow the sober fools to break the curfew in order to play Double Draw lotto.

Sargeant @ April 28, 2020 10:47 AM perfectly and succinctly sums up the genius mindset which epitomizes the Bajan powful-folish clowns in charge of the politically-correct and moral nuthouse performing in the Monty Python flying circus at the Hall of International Comedy.

25. i would like to know of the people complaining about this matter how many would wear camouflage and how not being able to wear camouflage has messed up their lives?

26. Question for everyone: What does “camouflage clothes” mean anyway?

Are they just camouflage patterns or also camouflage colours like beige, black, grey, olive green or earth brown? From a purely military point of view, plain-coloured clothing can also have a camouflage function.

And once asked very carefully: What about skin shades that might have a camouflage effect? That as argumentum ad absurdum.

27. Some spearfishermen wear camouflage diving / wetsuits.

Wonder if they would be legal in Barbados.

28. Read what frequent BU contributor Sen CF thinks
    https://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/91522/black-white-folly-camouflage-law

29. These are the type of nuisance laws that turn law-abiding citizens into criminals. We are just a country of a bunch of fanciful talkers behaving like mindless spineless sheep who accept crap once it does not impact us. Imagine a person getting scolded about a belt, mug, bandana, kerchief, bathing suit, panty, scarf, pencil painted in a disruptive pattern.

Any police officer who would waste the courts time with such a frivolous complaint needs dismissing after remand to Jenkins. I am reminded of the defense of Hitler’s foot soldiers to the courts and I quote ” we were just public servants following instructions.” Stupidity has never absolved a human being of having the right to a social conscience that espouses, fairness, justice, and equality.

I wonder if I paint my mailbox in a disruptive pattern if a police officer would be so silly or overzealous to report me. Silly is defined as: having or showing a lack of common sense or judgment; absurd and foolish. RBPF needs to understand EQ determines the enforcement of such a nuisance law will not lend to greater cooperation and trust from its civilian arm, the public.

The citizenry needs to challenge such obscenely stupid laws and the taxpayer’s educated lawyers need to represent pro bono.

30. Truth is it doesn’t matter to me either way, but in this day and age there are few people respected anymore, not teachers not cops not clergy and certainly not politicians . Soldiers are…. when I see one I am not remiss in thanking them for their service. What comes along with that respect is access, people are not put off by a soldier with a rifle. I doubt anyone would think twice of being near one , probably feeling safer than usual no panic no running and easy prey. What brings this to mind is a fella up here that just killed around 22 people looking like an RCMP officer complete with car. These are strange times were in I would be more worried about getting burkas off than camo on.

31. @ Lawson April 29, 2020 6:48 AM

Dirty Harry Kalihan, as a former detective and sharpshooter from the lips, which scene do you think is more frighteningly dangerous in Bim?

A transvestite walking down the ‘Broad’ street in broad daylight wearing designer headgear and carrying a handbag of camouflage material made by Louis Vuitton and bought from a local department store or a young fundamentalist Muslim terrorist dressed in full female Islamic outfit, burka and all, and carrying a ‘fully loaded’ rucksack on his back while entering the same store?

32. now why would a tranny be walking down a street for broads in daylight meant for broads seems very suspicious. I give up which one are you

33. This law is totally idiotic and for so-called parliamentary representatives to have spent time in parliament even discussing what clothes people are allowed to wear, never mind passing such a law, just goes to show that they had nothing better to do. A complete and total waste of time and space.

34. De ole man was amazed that Tron has not spoken out against the use of camouflage.

Tron, it would appear that the Honourable Blogmaster has blocked de ole man heheheheh

35. @Tee White

How is this law different from many others that were enacted for a different time? Under the former AG there was a project started to modernize our laws with Canadian funding.

36. @ Piece the Legend April 29, 2020 10:34 PM

Absolute loyalty does not mean never to be of a different opinion.

If I recall, Roger Khan of the Phantom Squad and President Bharrat Jagdeo sometimes crossed paths as to who they should kill next.

37. Those of you having the urge to wear military camouflage. Join the BDS Salvation Army, St. John’s Ambulance Brigades or the Land Ship Navy. The Judge would understand….

38. What should be done is to stop police and military using it in Barbados unless they are hiding in the sugar cane fields for good purpose, we are being attacked by some alien force.

Walking in towns and cities wearing jungle camouflage is ridiculous and provocative to the citizens. Why not dress them in snow camouflage uniforms and let them walk around in them, makes more sense they would not get so hot. Then all the ladies walking in white dresses can be ordered to remove them.

Ridiculous.