At the outset of the Coronavirus crisis in this country, the Hon. Prime Minister, Mia Mottley, hosted a consultation with members of the Social Partnership and me at the Lloyd Erskine Sandiford Centre, to plan strategy for fighting this threat. I was impressed and congratulated her on the approach. I then went on to say to her that this was not a time for political controversy and that all sides must come together to defeat this scourge.

Rather than busy itself with measures to protect the people of this country, some twelve days after the consultation, Government rushed to Parliament and passed legislation that was already on the books, to manage the ensuing crisis. In essence, that legislation amended the Emergency Management Act by re-enacting certain provisions that already existed at section 28 of the same act; also at sections 2 and 3 of the 1939 Emergency Powers Act; and at section 25 of the Constitution. The amendment also went on to give powers to the Chief Medical Officer that he already had since 1969.

Needless to say, those initial steps did not give me any confidence that Government was capable of handling the situation, however I remained quiet hoping that somehow that they would get it right. I’ve tried to hold my peace but the situation has now reached a stage that I am compelled to speak-up before these bunglers unintentionally kill us all.

The handling of this crisis has been plagued with the bungling that is now characteristic of anything that this administration touches. So far, were are told that there is no evidence of any community spread of the virus. But it would seem that the end result of the Government’s initiatives would lead to what we fear most. What did the Government think would happen when it gave one day’s notice of a 24-hour curfew? As was reasonably foreseeable, people rushed to supermarkets in their thousands, ignoring any suggestion of physical or social distancing. Take some sobering time to imagine what could have happened if there were any carriers of the Coronavirus in those lines?

As if Government fails to learn from its mistakes, post offices were opened for a limited period in order to allow pensioners to cash their National Insurance pension cheques. The foreseeable result happened: hundreds of vulnerable persons throng the post offices thereby creating an incubator for the spread of the Coronavirus.

This virus is deadly and Government must come up with a series of measures that would protect the people of this country. These hit or miss initiatives just will not do.

1,745 responses to “Senator Caswell Franklyn Speaks – Government Bungling Response to Coronavirus Crisis”

1. @Greene

Relax!

Kothiwala is known to be a BLP card carrying member and his remembered for when he spoke on the DLP platform as a 14 year old.

#context

2. David

that is that kid? ok. i read about that. the submission as i said was cogent. i disagree but he must be encouraged nevertheless

i hope they are not sending a kid to do a man’s job

3. @ Greene

The test is what new ideas can Sinckler bring to the table, post losing the government?

4. @Hal

or OSA for that matter

5. @ Khaleel Kothdiwala April 13, 2020 11:36 AM
    “Personally,I would be most comfortable if the PM was to ignore any advice to be proffered by Catastrophe Chris, but at this time of contagion and death we should put our partisan natures aside and work together. What we need now is as many persons to contribute to policy so that we can create the most airtight strategy to confront this crisis. We don’t have to take all the advice, but when making decisions all opinions (even those from complete failures) ought to contend.”

+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

And how can the inclusion of the “Catastrophe Chris” contribute in any technically positive way to the economic survival and future upgrade of the Barbados economy?

Are you looking for another talk shop or an action-oriented group?

Why not refocus or even beef up the existing BERT task force?

We are tired of the lies and nonsense especially those coming from proven incompetents like the certified liar sinkler.

What about Dr. Worrell and other retired technocrats who really know their economic decimal onions and percentage financial fishcakes.

If political buy-in is what is required why not ask Verla to nominate a candidate even if it is the Jester ‘physical deficit’ Ince who, effectively, was the DLP de facto MoF who trained the same Catastrophic Chris while on the job and earned the unenviable reputation as the Two Bunglers & Comedians in the art of State Finance.

6. The PM statements offered everyone a birds eye view of The Grand Politicals of
    Illusions
    SMH to see How a economic dunce Simckler as described by Blp supporters is now being positioned to be an economic genius
    Lawd come fuh yuh world
    Enough deception to make dig stomach sick

7. Miss Marple says that when persons appear out of nowhere for the sole purpose of admonishing Bajans who feel they have been slapped in the face their motives are very suspect.

The prime minister has resurrected her friend from the dead. A friend we the people buried and wish to remain so.

Reminds me of when “In the Name of Common Sense” appeared out of nowhere solely to try to shame me for criticising the prime minister’s immediate knighting of her father.

With every slap out comes some moniker trying to lecture us on how we should feel.

Good luck with that!

You guys are so TRANSPARENT it is quite hilarious!

8. So far the criticism of Sinckler has come from the BLP in torrents. It has been pointed out the invitation was made to former Ministers of a Finance. However you feel emboldened to comment the opposite. You are entitled to your out of tune opinion. Like the blogmaster stated in another comment, you have zero credibility as a serious commenter.

9. The representative from the BLP used an interesting choice of words to describe the comments made by the majority of BU bloggers as having a “…..disconnect from reality.”

When the majority of Airline companies announced that a suspension of flights to Barbados was imminent our Minister of Tourism encouraged Barbadians to support the local hoteliers. It was evident to most Barbadians that the tourist industry would be decimated. Somehow the incumbent party still believes that there remains hope for this industry if not at present than sometime in the near future.

The BLP are disconnected from reality. Their leader stated that the country would have to evolve a new paradigm; a new way of doing business in Barbados. What we got was a resurrection (it’s Easter after all!) of Chris “outside expert” Sinckler and a fragile ancient Prime Minister.

Mia should devolve power to the parishes and create a base that would allow the majority population to become more entrepreneurial and self sufficient; and stop financially supporting the usual suspects. The world of tomorrow will be a more selfish place where individual countries will look after themselves and their citizens first. I hope that Mia is taking note and will not auction the country to the highest bidders

10. NorthernObserver Avatar

@Blogmaster
    I see there is DPA (Deferred Prosecution Agreement) legislation before the House? Whom do you think the intended recipient is?

11. The grumbling among the BLP rank and file must be so widespread that someone felt it necessary to send this Kothiwalda chap to “spin doctor” their way out of this situation. Expect the message that Chris is only “window dressing” and the PM is not obligated to take his advice to be amplified over the next few days.

12. @Northern Observer

Trust you to pick that up!

Hopefully Senator Caswell will help us out by sharing a view.

13. Northern,

is this DPA new legislation or is this a matter before the court

14. Khaleel Kothdiwala Avatar
    Khaleel Kothdiwala

In the last three years I have always found it amusing to read things said about myself and perhaps the most common thing I hear is that I am a “card-carrying member of the BLP”. I often have to point out that Khaleel Kothdiwala is not presently a member of the League of Young Socialists nor a paid-up voting member of the Barbados Labour Party. It is ridiculous to suggest that even if I was a member of either organisation that that immediately precludes me from any independent, well reasoned thought, and certainly insulting to suggest that I’ve been sent here with an agenda like an messenger boy. While many persons on this blog may be vessels of different agendas, you need not deflect your own sordid state onto me. That is a sad commentary on our political reality.

The mistake that the PM made in an otherwise cogent address was that she neglected to mention the other members of this proposed council (which is in keeping with her suggestion while in Opposition to appoint an Eminent Persons Group). Many commentators here appear to believe that this is a council of two, when it clearly is not. Sinckler is one member of an entire council, whose inclusion I reiterate is not as Christopher P Sinckler, but as a former Minister of Finance, to demonstrate the government’s willingness to accept broad based feedback. Indeed of the three living MoFs, two are Dems who were both invited. Had the PM omitted Chris it would have been seen as incredibly churlish and reflective of a type of thinking that is for business as usual and not for times such as these.

On a humorous closing note, I never would have believed that I would be defending Chris Sinckler’s inclusion in anything other than a penitentiary. Strange times we live in indeed! But seriously, I do not support Chris’ inclusion in this Council. What i do support is a magnanimous Prime Minister demonstrating her ability to take counsel from all corners irrespective of political affiliation or anything else. It was a fantastic move and certainly no one can deride a person for trying to get as much advice as possible when handling a gargantuan problem.

15. thanks

i know what it is now

used in the UK for serious fraud by companies once they comply with certain stipulations

good for Bim. about time

16. KK,

again cogent but no better than the previous. nothing new there, man

17. Khaleel Kothdiwala Avatar
    Khaleel Kothdiwala

The reality is that the inclusion of Catastrophe Chris on this Council is a matter of such minute importance that it is typical that persons desperate to find something about which to bellyache would latch on to it. In the grand scheme of life, can someone point out to me the long-term devastating impact on us by his inclusion? This is the usual sideshow that too many people in our country get caught up in. It is time enough that we explore things of real importance.

For example:

Clearly, Verla De Peiza is failing as the President of the DLP (which is difficult due to the low standards expected of a stopgap leader) as every comment she makes and every comment from others she is unable to stop just drives them further into the political wilderness. However, recently she raised one valid point (the first time I suspect), that related to arrangements being put in place for the collection of garbage from the homes of persons who are in home quarantine. That is not something I have previously thought of and not something which I have heard being addressed. While I don’t think it is a matter for much concern as it is most likely being handled, it hasn’t been addressed publicly, and that comment from Verla was actually one of substance and something on which I can hold hands with her on (which I can assure you is the rarest of occurrences). Clearly times like these cause us to bury our previous hatchets, as again I never thought I could point to anything substantial that she could have said. It is a shame more can’t do the same.

18. Of course you have independent thought which is weighted in BLP rhetoric and led you to publicly endorse the BLP before puberty. Card carrying member is a term used to make known your political affliction not affiliation.

Be warned, BU is a rough neighborhood operating under your name.

19. Stop talking nonsense. The president could not have agreed to appoint an Eminent Persons Group, which you now interpret as the Covid-economic council, because we did not have the coronavirus two years ago.

@Greene

DPAs are so that the prosecution authorities scan a deal with the suspect. Have a look at the Serious Fraud Office, or in the US the so-called civil prosecution of criminal acts, as a legitimate way of getting money from wealthy organisations..

20. Khaleel Kothdiwala Avatar
    Khaleel Kothdiwala

I must say that I am not unaccustomed to being condescended to by adults. It is par for the course. So I must thank David for explaining to me what a term so well-known as card-carrying member means. Much appreciated. I shall endeavour to enhance my clearly infantile lexicon by adding it to it.

I have read BU blogs for a sufficiently long time to recognise that it is not so much a rough neighbourhood as you put it David, as that would be to give it some strength, but rather often a collection of vituperative invective. I appreciate the forewarning but I am no stranger to being attacked.

Concludingly, I’ll be straight with you, clearly it is a badly-kept secret that I support many of the policies of the present Administration both now and in Opposition. However that has never meant that I sign over my life to the BLP and that my commentary is “weighted in BLP rhetoric”. I appreciate many persons cannot grasp the concept of supporting a thing but still being able to reason rationally and objectively, because it may be foreign to you. But I can assure you that I juggle both quite well.

But as I’ve said onwards to the important matters!

21. Interesting times.

“Mia should devolve power to the parishes and create a base that would allow the majority population to become more entrepreneurial and self sufficient; and stop financially supporting the usual suspects. The world of tomorrow will be a more selfish place where individual countries will look after themselves and their citizens first. I hope that Mia is taking note and will not auction the country to the highest bidders”

22. You have engaged in prolix to say little my dear boy.

The clarification of card carrying was warranted based on your reaction to its use by the blogmaster.

23. “Verla is quite right to remain silent. even if she has a viable solution keep quiet. let MAM and her army of hangers-on figure this one out.”

Really? At this time? Still a B & D thing?

24. Waaaaait, this is the Khaleel Kothdiwala? Lemme go read his contributions.

25. @NA
    I see there is DPA (Deferred Prosecution Agreement) legislation before the House? Whom do you think the intended recipient is?
    ++++++++++++++++
    Good question, thought this was used mainly for those International firms that violate the parent country’s laws in other nations to mitigate against the loss of home based jobs that a conviction might entail.

I echo your who stands to benefit in Bim?

26. Hal
    “Stop talking nonsense. The president could not have agreed to appoint an Eminent Persons Group, which you now interpret as the Covid-economic council, because we did not have the coronavirus two years ago.”

Again talking nonsense! I have said already on this thread that I see no need for the magnanimous behaviour by the PM and I am sticking to that opinion. However, the Eminent Persons group was to deal with the then economic storm. We are now faced with a category 10 economic hurricane. What does COVID not being around then gotta do with anything? It is about the ECONOMY stupid! I feel you’re going senile, never read or ignore facts. The young gentleman is correct in his statement regarding the Eminent group proposal while in Opposition.

27. See….now ya have to wait for BLOCKADE TO BE LIFTED TOO..

Serious times….FREE THE PEOPLE so they can survive……you are not a super power and NEVER WILL BE …sit your ass down..

https://www.facebook.com/groups/thepeacefulcaribbean/permalink/2557319644374712/

28. BTW……ah told someone else that recently too, had to be UK…even maybe the cousins in the Palace…so don’t think ya special…am not impressed..

29. Khaleel Kothdiwala

It took THIS particular focus on the trivial to make you magically appear????? Steupse! You have been spotted from far and you shall be no more successful than In the Name of Common Sense was. You will serve only to prolong our discussion and keep it fresh in our minds.

Now let me explain something to your condescending self!

Chris Sinckler is a symbol of a dark time in the lives of the electorate. A very dark and recent time. He is the symbol of oppression and despair. We know that the PM, by virtue of her privileged position felt neither oppression nor despair but If you and your leader had any imagination or empathy you would understand that we would rather forget him and move on.

We don’t want him all up in our face or in our business!

The very last thing that you should be doing is telling us how we should feel, trivializing our feelings, insulting our intelligence and disparaging us.

There is still time for a viable new party to be formed. These are unusual times and necessity is very often the mother of invention.

A word to the wise. Let us see if you are as smart as you THINK you are!

PS. We also cannot trust a prime minister who calls a man incompetent and them hires him as her adviser.

NOTHING TRIVIAL ABOUT THAT!

Now, back in your hole!

30. NorthernObserver Avatar

@Sarge
    Federal is taking bets, and ICBL is 6/5. Sagicor is 3-1, and GEL at 5-1. Other entrants are TBA.
    A way to convert a criminal offence into a fine with ‘no admission of guilt’.

31. @Northern

it is a bit more than that to say the least

man you treated the youngster too ruff lol

@KK

i like u, fella. you have fight but um ruff in dey so

@Hal,

yeah i thought it was something different but it has a few tweaks- dressed differently so to speak

32. This is what happens when you sell out your people and country to savages . They take advantage. This can no longer be tolerated by African descended populations and neither will mentally weak greedy leaders.

https://www.facebook.com/100002853191105/posts/2820350734736672/?sfnsn=scwspwa&d=w&vh=i&extid=pZa69UudkwPBePie&d=w&vh=i

33. Lest we forget Avatar

I was reading a comment from Donna and I got my name lest we forget. Like many Barbadian politicians of old, Chris Sinckler will be back in politics after having suffered many devastating defeats in time to come.
    It is said that Barbadians have short memories, but the present Prime Minister was called all sorts of names in her political career and today she is in charge.
    Chris Sinckler was not a catastrophe for me, as he came in and met very difficult world economic situations and because political parties never want to make hard decisions due to the five year cycle of being reelected, he pandered to the Barbadian population with their whisky mouths and mauby pockets.
    In the lost decade Barbadians bought more cars, cruise more and all kinds of luxurious living using up scarce foreign exchange. The government instead of taking hard decisions, printed more money to keep civil servants working who eventually vote them out.
    My advice to Chris is to hold your head up and contribute to the national cause.

34. “There is still time for a viable new party to be formed. These are unusual times and necessity is very often the mother of invention.

A word to the wise. Let us see if you are as smart as you THINK you are!

PS. We also cannot trust a prime minister who calls a man incompetent and them hires him as her adviser.”

Galloping youth still requires DECADES OF EXPERIENCE….to see the deceitful for who and what they really are…then there will be…an AH HA!!!! moment..

35. Lest we forget Avatar

The young man has a point, I find that the Prime Minister is not petty like some persons on the blog.Chris Sinckler will not be the chairman, so how will he be in your face. We do not know the committee make up yet

36. @ Donna April 13, 2020 4:17 PM

Donna, Sorry for provoking you in the past … One last comment.

Chris Sinckler will certainly get a diplomatic passport now. He is now part of the Barbadian deep state again. With it he can travel safely to Canada, UK and the USA again and is safe from prosecution. The black establishment is thus correcting its “mistake” of having let Pornville Inniss down.

We will see many more new so-called advisors in the future. For example, “King Kong” Lashley, “Mr 10 %” Lowe and “Mr Audi” Eastwitch. They all need diplomatic protection so that they can once again enjoy their possessions in North America and Europe.

Madam Prime Minister must choose between her personal friendships with the Sinckler and Innisse families on the one hand and her country on the other. She obviously prefers friendly bonds.

Remember Animal Farm. Remember.

Tron *** End of communication ***

37. “Chris Sinckler was not a catastrophe for me, as he came in and met very difficult world economic situations and because political parties never want to make hard decisions due to the five year cycle of being reelected, he pandered to the Barbadian population with their whisky mouths and mauby pockets.”

And so he FOLLOWED rather than LED!

He was paid to lead.

38. Here comes another one! Lest we forget, forget it!

39. And did Chris Sinckler join in the foreign exchange draining conspicuous consumption or did he set an example for Barbadians?

40. But David so i have zero credibility yuh say
    But barbados has a PM whose credibility has been questioned by the public and even OSA
    So u keep repeating the.same ole bull sh.it means nothing to me
    Firstly i have never been accused of those illegalities that OSA pointed directly at Mia namely embezzelment of party funds
    Nor can u or any one on this blog say that my name has been bandied around in any form of illegal allegations
    Like those sitting in Mia cabinet
    You need to bag yuh head before pointing fingers at any one and talking about credibility espcially when u support people in govt whose lack of credibilty is below zero
    Xxxcccccccvvvvvvvvvv

On another note the word on the street says that if Mia does not remove Chris she can kiss the next election good bye
    Now go do yuh homework and while doing so maybe u will find a list of names that yuh so find yuh self cuddle and being supportive having moorings and dealings to those things not credible
    You need to mind yuhself and yuh business
    Lol look who is pointing fingers and talking about credibility
    Dont mek me laugh

Ha ha ha ha ha
    David yuh laughing at you
    Hypocrite
    Stay out my lane cause yuh might get ran over
    Still.waiting fuh yuh to show a pic of me in a weave
    Liar

41. Khaleel Kothdiwala Avatar
    Khaleel Kothdiwala

I really have no intention of continuing an activity that I feel is akin to straining at gnats as the late Frances Chandler would say except to make this final comment.

When it comes to Chris’ demerits and what he represents, you are preaching to the converted. My dear lady, I cannot identify an iota of brotherly love in my heart for that man who so callously destroyed our economy and consequently exacerbated our already existing social problems. You and I are for the first time perhaps at one on that point.

However, to say that him serving as one member on an advisory panel is him being “all up in our face or in our business”, is a flagrant mischaracterization of the facts which I have repeated time and again. The facts are:
    1. Barbados and the world faces an economic challenge the precedent for which can only be found if you reach back to the 1930s
    2. This crisis, particularly acute for service-oriented SIDS, requires as broad-based an approach as possible.
    3. No one Cabinet, PM, or Parliament can have all the answers, particularly facing a challenge such as this.
    4. Consequently, she has decided to establish this council, which I assume takes in a range of persons. I cannot speak to specifics as I only know as much as you do, but I assume again it will take in the business community, the trade unions, economists, civil society etc as well as ex Ministers of Finance
    5. ex MoFs are keenly placed to advise as they would understand the terrain that a Minister of Finance operates on. Ask any American President who has called a predecessor, or a Secretary of State, the advice can prove invaluable.
    6. Therefore, she invited all former MoFs, of which there are only three still alive. One had to decline for medical reasons. Therefore the other two are left.
    7. Those left being PM Arthur and Sinckler, both picks demonstrating her ability to bridge divides, much needed at this time.

I do not like Chris Sinckler any more than the next person. I do not believe, having seen his own work, that he has much that to offer. But the fact remains that he is an ex MoF, and the PM couldn’t not invite him as I have said it would be incredibly churlish. And in doing so, she appears magnanimous. But appointing an individual to be one member of an advisory council (as a matter of fact, inviting a person not on personal merit, but by virtue of their former position, a kind of ex officio position if you will) in no way takes a way from the pain and suffering of many Barbadians, and indeed residual economic and financial PTSD, if you will, that so many endured, and to which I, too, have been personally privy.

If the PM is to take in the future positive action toward Sinckler after this crisis, I would like many of you be remarkably displeased, because that would be like rewarding bad behaviour (and his is some of the worst). But at this time and given these facts (saliently, he gets it because of his former job), those things must for now at least subside and let us get on with the important work.

I have no intention of telling persons how to feel nor disparaging individuals (I shall leave that to the many able BU commentators) , that is certainly not my place. I simply call the facts as I see them and the proverbial chips can fall where they may, and as CNN’s Chris Cilliza would say, that is the point!

42. @ Donna April 13, 2020 4:17 PM
    “PS. We also cannot trust a prime minister who calls a man incompetent and them hires him as her adviser.
    NOTHING TRIVIAL ABOUT THAT!
    Now, back in your hole!”
    ++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

You are firing on all cylinders today, Donna.
    We must expose liars (the most dangerous type in public life) of any hue political or otherwise.

My great-grandmother always said a liar is much more dangerous than a thief to have around you.

For a thief can only steal if there is something to steal; whereas a liar would even steal in order to lie to say it was you who did the thieving.

Not only did she call the man “incompetent” but also prosecuted him in public to prove him to be a bold-faced perennial liar.

How quickly is forgotten the case in which he denied any knowledge or involvement in the decision to significantly increase the remuneration paid to the Chairman of Board of the NIS during a period of austerity and pretend sacrifice by the political class.
    Wasn’t he forced to admit that he was a liar?

How about the 24,000 stuffed envelopes containing refunds due low-income taxpayers struggling with the regular increases in the cost of living even for basic food items with the convincing commitment of a speedy postal delivery, shortly, even to those opting for direct credit payment to their bank or credit union accounts?

When were these envelopes delivered by the postal workers if not some time in late 2018 and 2019?

This is the same liar who got up on the bully pulpit in that house of hypocrisy and shouted to the top of his misogynist voice to the then female LoO:

‘Why don’t you take your clothes off (strip naked) and walk down Broad Street?’ (In broad daylight).

43. Lest we forgetApril 13, 2020 4:43 PM

I was reading a comment from Donna and I got my name lest we forget. Like many Barbadian politicians of old, Chris Sinckler will be back in politics after having suffered many devastating defeats in time to come.
    It is said that Barbadians have short memories, but the present Prime Minister was called all sorts of names in her political career and today she is in charge.

But wait! I now catch muhself!

Isn’t this PRECISELY what Caswell accused the PM of trying to do for her friend? Resurrect his political career and propel him into the role of leader of the DLP?

Wuhlaus!

44. …………………………..My dear lady, I cannot identify an iota of brotherly love in my heart for that man who so callously destroyed our economy and consequently exacerbated our already existing social problems….(Quote)

Historical misrepresentation. The DLP came to power in 2008, the year of the biggest banking crisis in history which keft an impact on the global economy compared to the Great Depression.
    The real damage was done in the 14 years prior to this, when the country was on a lifestyle based on debt. It was under Arthur’s stewardship that the great ship Barbados crashed on the rocks.
    Sinckler should have been sacked when Stuart won his own mandate. Stuart was a poor prime minister. He was blinded by Sinckler’s MA in International Trade.

45. Incredible credibilty

In Mia own words

46. More lies as usual. Did you do a poll? Who are these people talking, they reside in the USA and UK?

Steuspe, you need to stop. One cannot go below 0.

47. Note the date of the article.

48. NorthernObserver Avatar

@KK
    tummuch prolix.
    “she neglected to mention the other members of this proposed council”
    THAT is your salient point.
    Now ask yourself WHY?
    In fear you take another 600 characters……to stir the pot and create a distraction from current events. In that, she has succeeded.

49. ALL THE TIME…playing a bunch of BULLSHIT GAMES at the expense of the people…

Well now the REAL GAMES HAVE BEGUN…..let’s see yall slither and slide around..

Leave a Reply to RobertCancel reply