It has been reported the Trinidad and Tobago government through National Security Minister, Stuart Young has again refused to receive 33 CITIZENS stranded in Barbados since the week of March 23, 2020 back into the country.

The Barbados government attempted to piggyback on an arrangement with the European Union who sent a plane this week to collect Europeans stranded in the Caribbean. Barbados was the hub for the operation with the plane scheduled to pickup passengers in Tobago. It was an opportunity for the 33 stranded Trinidadians to bum a ride to Tobago which is a hop skip and a jump from Trinidad.

We are the only nationals in the world who are denied entry into our country. He said his countrymen who were mainly people over 65 all broke down in tears –Nationnews.com

What is the reason for the Trinidad government exercising this level of intransigence towards its citizens? There is no logical explanation if the consideration was taken that the stranded Trinidadians have been in quarantine in Barbados since April 8, 2020. It also puzzles why the Trinidad government would have sent COVID 19 test kits to Barbados this week costing USD2500.00 after the group was quarantined with the expectation existing protocol in Trinidad requires the group enter quarantine again IF they eventually are allowed to return to the land of birth. All rather strange.

The blogmaster is of the view the Rowley government is ‘pissed’ at the group for engaging in non essential travel. Rowley should expect to see this issue when he checks the rear view mirror come general election time.

The Trinidad government owns a regional airline for crissakes.

173 responses to “Trinidad Slams Door Shut on Trinis Stranded in Barbados”

1. DEAREST DARLING DONNA

RE I actually think that children need more exercise and not necessarily less sugary drinks provided that they rinse their mouths afterwards to protect their teeth. The children nowadays are sedentary. That is not good for their physical development. That is what is making them fat,

YOU ARE 100% CORRECT!
    ITS MAKING THE ADULTS FAT TOO
    WHEN I USED TO WORK IN CLINIC AND ALSO WORK ON MY BUILDING PROJECTS THAT WAS MY EXERCISE AND IT KEPT THE WEIGHT DOWN

IN DAYS OF YOUR WHEN THE JU-C FOR LUNCH WAS THE THING——–IT WAS ONE OF OUR PRIMARY SOURCES OF THE ALL IMPORTANT ACETYLCoA – the bodies precursor to the generation of ATP i.e the energy currency that the body uses to function in every way.

2. Re: de pedantic Dribbler (April 9, 2020 10:37 AM )

Thanks for throwing a bit of humour into the mix during these difficult times….. here are a few when ‘Insults Had Class’, from an era before the English language got boiled down to 4-letter words.

The exchange between Churchill & Lady Astor:
    She said, “If you were my husband I’d give you poison.”
    He said, “If you were my wife, I’d drink it.”

A member of Parliament to Disraeli: “Sir, you will either die on the gallows or of some unspeakable disease.”
    “That depends, Sir,” said Disraeli, “whether I embrace your policies or your mistress.”

“He had delusions of adequacy.” – Walter Kerr

“He has all the virtues I dislike and none of the vices I admire.” – Winston Churchill

“I have never killed a man, but I have read many obituaries with great pleasure.” Clarence Darrow

“He has never been known to use a word that might send a reader to the dictionary.” – William Faulkner (about Ernest Hemingway).

“Thank you for sending me a copy of your book; I’ll waste no time reading it.” – Moses Hadas

“I didn’t attend the funeral, but I sent a nice letter saying I approved of it.” – Mark Twain

“He has no enemies, but is intensely disliked by his friends.” – Oscar Wilde

“I am enclosing two tickets to the first night of my new play; bring a friend… if you have one.” – George Bernard Shaw to Winston Churchill
    “Cannot possibly attend first night, will attend second… if there is one.” – (Churchill, in response.)

“I feel so miserable without you; it’s almost like having you here.” – Stephen Bishop

“He is a self-made man and worships his creator.” – John Bright

“I’ve just learned about his illness. Let’s hope it’s nothing trivial.” – Irvin S. Cobb

“He is not only dull himself; he is the cause of dullness in others.” – Samuel Johnson

“He is simply a shiver looking for a spine to run up.” – Paul Keating

“In order to avoid being called a flirt, she always yielded easily.” – Charles, Count Talleyrand

“He loves nature in spite of what it did to him.” – Forrest Tucker

“Why do you sit there looking like an envelope without any address on it?” – Mark Twain

“Some cause happiness wherever they go; others, whenever they go.” – Oscar Wilde

“He uses statistics as a drunken man uses lamp-posts… for support rather than illumination.” – Andrew Lang

“He has Van Gogh’s ear for music.” – Billy Wilder

3. Thanks, KS! I’m ALWAYS up for a laugh and those brought tears to my eyes. Didn’t you hear the one about Churchill and the lady who called him drunk?

PS. Watched a Murdoch Mysteries episode yesterday featuring Churchill. He seems to have grown in stature by almost a foot. And he was quite handsome. At least he was still drunk. SMH.

4. The EU states have CLOSED their borders.
    Yes they have!

But what does this have to do with conditional border closures in the early days of the pandemic in Europe? In the early days, the borders were conditionally open. They were closed to non-native EU citizens coming from certain areas. E.g. Germany, Austria, Switzerland closed their border to those coming from Italy.

5. RE The EU states have CLOSED their borders.
    Yes they have!

THEY HAVE EMPLOYED THE TRUMP MANOUVER AND FIRST RULE OF PUBLIC HEALTH IN A PANDEMIC

THIS RULE WAS APPARENTLY NOT KNOWN TO DR FAULTY AND DR BURP

6. @GP

You think you are so smart. Continue and suffer the result.

7. The abusing which this govt gonna get is not because of a humanatarian goodwill
    But failing to give good thought and rationale to the consequences
    Trinidad has shown that there best interest is one that serves a purpose to protect their social and economical well being( which )has no interest in serving a few at the expense of the majority
    On the other side of the coin govt of barbados committed to serving a few at the expense of a majority

8. Stop comparing apples and dunce. The Trinis entered Bdos with our borders open. They are not a burden to the state. They are Bajans and other Trinis stranded in other countries.
    +++++++++++++++
    Talk about apples to bananas, are those Bajans and Trini’s stranded in countries that were originally visited or are they stranded in countries because their country of citizenship refused to take them?

Just for curiosity if a Bajan took a Caribbean Airlines flight to Barbados from North America and was routed through Trinidad at which point the Barbados Gov’t notified T&T “sorry our borders are closed they can’t land in Bim”. What do you think the T&T Gov’t would do?

9. @Sargeant

Let us deal with the issue as it unfolded. The Barbados government had the option to send the Trinis back to the UK or extend the humanitarian gesture that was offered. It is as simple as that.

10. RE @GP You think you are so smart.

NO SIR I DONT THINK THAT I AM SMART

I KNOW THAT I AM VERY SMART I HAVE ALWAYS BEEN SO
    IT IS A GIFT FROM GOD
    IT HAS BEEN MY UNDOING AS I HAVE OFTEN BEEN ENVIED THEREFOR

RE Continue and suffer the result.

I CANNOT SUFFER MORE THAN I HAVE SUFFERED ALL MY LIFE SIR
    MY GOD HAS NEVERTHELESS PROVIDED AND PROTECTED ME ALL MY LIFE AND I REALLY DONT FEAR WHAT MAN CAN DO TO ME

IT IS WRITTEN IN MATHEW 10:28 And fear not them which kill the body, but are not able to kill the soul: but rather fear him which is able to destroy both soul and body in hell.

11. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@Sargeant, we are all aware that as Caricom citizens our fellow nations under treaty CANNOT turn us back (funny enough, unless due to national emergency in that country)… we can travel to our neighbor’s without a visa and stay there for several months (6 I believe) unfettered. We can look for work there under CSME guidelines and can also seek residency.

On what legals grounds therefore would TnT have to deny a Bajan citizen entry re your scenario?

In normal circumstances or in one where maybe a riot erupted in Bim and we closed our borders to all flights?

We are twisting this TNT issue into a weird pretzet!

As Caricom citizens the Trinis were as entitled to stay here (as far as I understand the law) as they were to enter their own country…our “humanitarian” act was likely also a legally prudent one as otherwise we would be contra our treaty protocols.

TnT HAD decreed a national emergency security threat and again as far I understand the statute that OVERRODE other legal protocols ….not saying they were RIGHT…. just saying Bdos was likely obligated to take in the Trinis whereas TnT’s decrees gave them the legal rider to refuse!

12. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@David is that truly accurate re “The Barbados government had the option to send the Trinis back to the UK or extend the humanitarian gesture that was offered. It is as simple as that.”

Where is the Dean when you need legal advice or where are the other lawyers to put this to ‘rest’ as best as possible.

Did Bdos truly have an OPTION in a non emergency situation , terrorist threat or other security concern to refuse entry to a Caricom national?

Under Caricom treaties the answer appears to be: NO.

This may sound weird but had we sent them back to England it seems to me that the Trinis would have a better case to sue Bdis for refusal to enter than their country of birth…echoes of the Myrie case.

To quote the CCJ : In making its ruling, the Court held that Caribbean Community (CARICOM) nationals “are entitled to enter CARICOM Member States, without harassment or the imposition of impediment, and stay for up to six months.”

That’s the law.

13. @ Miller April 9, 2020 8:32 AM

In retaliation, our government should finally confiscate Trinidadian property: Republic Bank, Massa Market, etc. At least the Barbadians should boycott all business from Trinidad in the future.

14. @Dee Word

If you have a problem with the statement ask AG Marshall. This is what he is reported to have said.

15. @DPD

QUOTE ] In an interview on a Barbadian news channel, Barbados Attorney General Dale Marshall said the decision to take in the Trinis was an easy one, for humanitarian reasons.

He pointed out that Barbados had no legal obligation to take them in.

“We could have denied them landing rights into Barbados. (But) we had no idea what the situation would be for them in England.

“We felt we were in a position to adequately receive these individuals, so long as they were put into mandatory quarantine.”[UNQUOTE

https://newsday.co.tt/2020/03/25/trinis-stuck-in-bdos-we-may-have-to-hop-on-a-shark/

16. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

Politicians say a lot of bunga-bunga. Myrie was awarded $75,000 in what I presume can be called “puntitive” damages for the stripe search indignity I imagine.

The indignity of denying fellow Caricom nationals succor of life and limb due no fault (well not 100%) of their own seems more significant that a body cavity search.

So I surmise that AG Marshall easily contemplated the possibility of eventually dealing with some variance of that award times 35… he can say whatever sounds pretty but I would find it astonishing that he would contravene such a clear and unequivocal recent CCJ ruling of inter island travel vis Caricom citizens and not expect to have lawyers lining up to sue the govt!

17. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@Greene, you are the lawyer not me. The CCJ ruling says Marshall’s remarks were NOT grounded in the reality of THAT Myrie precedent.

If he had actual legal grounds to make his statement then I suspect we will never find out now, will we…. I can only go by what the law stipulates NOT sweets sounds from a lawyer’s mouth…

Did you hear about the lawyer….

ATTORNEY: Doctor, before you performed the autopsy, did you check for a pulse?
    WITNESS: No.
    ATTORNEY: Did you check for blood pressure?
    ATTORNEY: Did you check for breathing?
    WITNESS: No..
    ATTORNEY: So, then it is possible that the patient was alive when you began the autopsy?
    ATTORNEY: How can you be so sure, Doctor?
    WITNESS: Because his brain was sitting on my desk in a jar.
    ATTORNEY: I see, but could the patient have still been alive, nevertheless?
    WITNESS: Yes, it is possible that he could have been alive and practicing law.🤣

Compliments BU Jokes corner…

18. so Bim is the only country in Caricom? if that was the case why could they not have gone to any other Caricom country that BA flies?

under such circumstances as the world is / was in due to COVID, any country can deny entry to whomever even its own citizens when threatened by and to protect itself against a pandemic.

i will send my bill by email

19. DPD

RE Compliments BU Jokes corner…
    I SUBMITTED THAT YEARS AGO WHEN I CALLED FOR THE START OF THE Jokes corner…LOL

IF I RECALL CORRECTLY THIS ACTUALLY HAPPENED IN A CASE IN TRINIDAD

20. Greene @Dribbler

Barbadian news channel, Barbados Attorney General Dale Marshall said the decision to take in the Trinis was an easy one, for humanitarian reasons.

He pointed out that Barbados had no legal obligation to take them in.

“We could have denied them landing rights into Barbados. (But) we had no idea what the situation would be for them in England

The last statement of the comment speaks of an insane persons trying to project their thought process on what another country policy would do if the people would return from their place of departure
    One would believe that the AG in this occasion instead of using his judgement would have make a phone to the proper authorities of the place from which they departed after they had arrived in barbados

21. @ de pedantic Dribbler April 9, 2020 12:57 PM
    “… we can travel to our neighbor’s without a visa and stay there for several months (6 I believe) unfettered. We can look for work there under CSME guidelines and can also seek residency. ”
    ++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

Are you sure there isn’t some proviso to that 6 months right to stay?

Isn’t there any requirement of proof of ability to support oneself or sponsorship by way of a place to stay at a legal resident or letter of guarantee from a potential employer during that period?

If there is no requirement of proof to demonstrate the ‘visiting’ Caricom resident has the means of support to avoid being a dependant on or a ward of the host country then we can expect a wave of migration from tourism-dependent islands like Barbados to places like Guyana and T&T in the coming months as the Covid effects take their toll on the hospitality industry.

Just hope those less tourism-dependent countries treat Bajans the way Bajans treated them in the recent past.

It seems that the Mighty Chalkdust was indeed a prophet when he penned the calypso with those prescient words:

‘All Barbados got is sea water and sand.

And the day dem tourists stop coming to de small island of the disappeared flying fish, crapaud smoke ya. pipe Ms Mottley!’

22. Dribbler

To quote the CCJ : In making its ruling, the Court held that Caribbean Community (CARICOM) nationals “are entitled to enter CARICOM Member States, without harassment or the imposition of impediment, and stay for up to six months.”

Xxxxxccccccccccccc
    Correct under certain rules and guidelines which state self sufficiency and place of abode

However the 35 did not leave their place of destination with the intent of staying in Barbados but with a preference of returning to their homeland

23. under such circumstances as the world is / was in due to COVID, any country can deny entry to whomever even its own citizens when threatened by and to protect itself against a pandemic.

Simple as… All the other fluff is just the BLP apparatchiks at work.

24. Wuhlaus! I have to return to BU jokes corner! Dat one sweet!

25. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

LOL @Greene, I can’t pay for limited advice. Need full mountie!

NO, of course Bim is NOT the only country in Caricom?… It just so happened to be the one the plane was transited through!… If they had gone to any other Caricom country who had NOT closed their borders then the same Myrie precedent would apply, in my view.

Special circumstances have to be affirmed by new ruling first OTHERWISE the regular laws still apply…not so. A country nor its people can’t become LAWLESS because a virus says so… I cannot forcibly restrain a Chinese man who just arrived from Beijin and secure him in my basement to safeguard my community I will be arrested and thrown in jail…that is lawless folly… But If my govt legislates a special decree that all Chinese are to be interred as COVID carriers then I may (?) evade any police arrest… by saying I am carrying out a citizen arrest of that decree…not so!

Bdos had at that time adopted no special decrees re COVID so can’t see the legal basis …to deny entry.

@Mari, respectfully bro you said yday you didnt come to debate.. so tell me about : “However the 35 did not leave their place of destination with the intent of staying in Barbados but with a preference of returning to their homeland”

How many times have you travelled and something affects your onward journey and requires you to stay where you are…I have had to overnight (and more) in locations through which I was only initially transitting …it happens!

Regardless, however, in this case it’s irrelevant whether they were just in transit or not as they had A RIGHT as a Caricom national to stay!

26. The more this govt humanity policy is examined the more it makes barbados govt look like headless chickens especially the AG comments

27. Dedribbler

But not 4 wks because it is the airline responsibilty to get the immigrants out of the country and take them to desired destination
    Also if the immigrant chooses to stay longer than over night
    The immigrant has to abide by the rules and regulations of that country
    Not saying that Barbados should have been stern in not allowing the 33 in
    However saying that barbados could have taken a legal and constitutional approach which would have force Trinidad to take them
    Now TrinidAd is playing hard ball and has turned the cards on barbados by way of asking barbados for the 33 to be tested

28. Why are some people using the regulation allowing entry by Caricom citizens for up to six months as a cover for the Barbados Gov’t’s action? The Trinidadians didn’t purchase a ticket to visit Barbados for recreation or business; wasn’t Barbados supposed to be an intransit stop not a final destination? Some folks will go to any length to try to save the Gov’t from having egg all over its face.

29. I doubt the Caricom six months entitlement has anything to do with this but I don’t see any egg on the Barbados government’s face.

What really is the big deal? The big deal should be between the Trinidad government and its citizens. Is the Barbados government to be faulted for doing the right thing when the Trinidad government did the wrong thing???? Do we really think that the Barbados government goes to bed at night worried about this situation????? Has the Barbados government nothing better to occupy its thoughts with at this time?????

30. The trinidad goverment is heartless
    The constitution is not just for the majority but is for the protection of an individual rights as well

If i remember correctly
    The 35 left on feb 25 when there was no bans except maybe for China

Trini carnival was feb 24-25
    Probably when the virus was brought into the island

The 35 done their 14day and can be tested or do another 14 day in trini

If anyone should be punished at this time
    It should be the trini gov having carnival

31. Dullard
    What does conditional mean? Please tell me where the government was suppose to send them and how? On your back? Imagine in a pandemic we got time to fret bout harmless seniors. Trinis seem ambivalent and we looking to skin our govt alive.🤡🎪

Miller
    The state paid or not? You should ask the government about collecting money owed, I am neither a part of nor connected.

As for the former senior editor, I have one name for him: Shamima Begum.

32. for elimination of doubt-

it is my considered opinion that the BIm Govt did the right thing.

we will get our reward

33. @ Greene

Let us assume the Barbados government did the right thing, what now? Where is the president?

34. Stupse! Where were your questions at the Town Hall? After all you went to Combermere on a scholarship.🤣🤣

35. @Hal

the legal matter i can take a position on. the political i cant. that is best answered by Enuff, Lorenzo or the other sycophants

36. Those with ears and a modicum of understanding would have heard the prime minister state the doctor had give six weeks to convalescence.

#headhard

37. Does anyone remember this
    In these when the most vulnerable are called to suffer
    Why hasn’t Mottley prescribed some form of financial suffering from her 26 member cabinet

https://www.facebook.com/100012919533597/posts/917718438668799/

38. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@Miller, re “Are you sure there isn’t some proviso to that 6 months right to stay?…Isn’t there any requirement of proof of ability to support oneself or sponsorship by way of a place to stay at a legal resident or letter of guarantee from a potential employer during that period?”

I use my experience and reading of the regs as my guide … I do not and have not studied this in detail… So in general when you come in on a “tourist” visa the queries are where are u are and how long…if your visa validates that then off you go. Tourists or business travellers (both short stay) as a general rule are not queried on support etc…at least I never was in either scenario.

So that 6 month duration is merely the guideline for authorities and passport regs etc…it technically has little to do with your immigration queries on arrival (ALL OTHER THINGS BEING IN ORDER, I add as a provisio).

@Sargeant..the 6 months is the CARICOM TREATY PROTOCOL… it’s the law the islands agreed to live by…its NOT a “cover for the govt”. Its a binding OBLIGATION plain and simple… .the CCJ reaffirmed that and made a big able country pay money to a Jamaican who was refused entry for no good reason….. It’s the LAW!

Now @Mari…yes you are right that in the scenario I described it likely was an airline issue and thus the burden is on them. What I was also highlighting is that of necessity I would have had a relevant tourist visa for that location. No need to prolix but those issues can be ticklish and as a business traveller you need to check carefully when you have to transit countries to get to a destination…. think of the preBrexit Schengen Area visa. Getting to Italy sent me through England …i didnt need a visa to transit or stop there but as I also detoured via Spain I needed a visa for that place too…because of the EU I didnt need a separate visa for Spain!

A Trini has his built in Schengen visa too for Barbaods at al its his ‘caricom citizenship’ passport!

Anyhow, then you go back into shady territory with … “However saying that barbados could have taken a legal and constitutional approach which would have force Trinidad to take them”

I await still EXACTLY what that forecful approach could have been… As sands flow through the hour glass…so we await in vain Mari in our lives the real old folks would get that stupid riff, I hope 🤣…please enlighten and stop just saying the Bdos govt could…tell us in your view HOW!

39. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

…where are u staying…that should be.

40. The Trinis will return to their country at some point. “The president” is where she ought to be. Santia is acting in her place. We who live here are satisfied with that. What does it help us to know any more.

Why would we search around for something, ANYTHING to be bothered about????????

41. @ Mariposa April 9, 2020 3:34 PM
    “The more this govt humanity policy is examined the more it makes barbados govt look like headless chickens especially the AG comments..”
    ++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

No it doesn’t!

Far from that, it makes the GoB look like a caring government with its show of grace and compassion required of any human(e) ‘body’ whether individual or in the form of the State.

That’s the whole moral principle behind the tale of the Good Samaritan as told in the good book which the likes of you like to hide behind in your glass house of hypocrisy.

42. Miller alright agree in principal
    but it is not about what i think but what Trinidad belives is right morally for the majority of its people

43. Say what?

44. Steupse! Whitehill come work yuh magic!

45. Ahhhhhhhhh…………. I feel much more comfortable now Mr. Greene is ‘on the job,’

46. “Why would we search around for something, ANYTHING to be bothered about????????”

SPOT ON! Ignore the mob.

47. Everyone has a right to express his or her opinion on this issue. We could agree or disagree.

But, in my opinion, I believe ‘government’ did what was morally correct.

On April 29, 2006, a 20ft yacht carrying the bodies of 11 young men from Senegal, Guinea Bissau and Gambia, was discovered drifting off the coast of Barbados. Evidence revealed the men were on their way to the Canary Islands, when the yacht developed engine problems and was cut adrift in the Atlantic Ocean. They drifted for about 4 months and died from starvation and dehydration.

Ten of victims were BURIED in Barbados in a joint Muslim – Christian ceremony.

I know the circumstances with the Trinis and these men aren’t similar.

But, if we did what could only be described as ‘morally correct,’ with our unfortunate Africans brothers……..

………. ‘cud dear,’ yuh mean all uh this ‘hullabuloo’ for assisting our ALIVE Trini brothers in CARICOM?

48. Spot on!

49. Now here you come twisting people thoughts around using an example that is in no way similar to the 33 Trinis
    Have yet to hear anyone say that the humanity was not a goodwill done by govt
    What is being said is that govt used an easy way out in avoidance of having to tassle with the govt of Trini

50. @Donna, I;m standing down this episode, I’m exhausted from my last experience. Only if Silly woman begs me, then I may work magic, miracles even; turn water into Mauby and definitely raise up Lazarus.

Leave a Reply to DavidCancel reply