The following comment was posted by local microbiologist Dr. Robert Lucas to another blog – Bajans Jettison Social Distancing for Cheek by Jowl. The blogmaster regards it as one of the most important points shared on Barbados Underground since the status of COVID 19 was elevated by Prime Minister Mia Mottley.

David, Barbados Underground

Let me repeat what I have stated elsewhere on the Blog.

The curfew has to rigorously enforced. Once this is done, there is no need for contact tracing. I will explain.

Those who manifest symptoms are easily managed. It is person Z who comes into contact with a person (asymptomatic or beginning to show signs) and is unaware of the fact, who poses the immediate threat. By having the curfew and rigidly enforcing it, means that person Z is localized to a fixed area.

There will be more than one person who qualifies for the nomenclature Z. Since the curfew is rigidly enforced when the Zs become ill and use the hotline, hot spots are known. There will be a number of these hot spots. There should be isolated and all persons in the vicinity of the Z’ screened and placed into mandatory quarantine. No crap about voluntary quarantine.

For this method to work, it means that very tough enforcement it needed. None of this crap about human rights and individual liberty. Human rights and so on can be dealt with after the situation is under control…

Elsewhere on the Blog, I said that a twenty-eight day curfew was needed. I explain my reasoning as follows: there would be different viral incubation times for different individuals. Twenty-eight days would appear to be time for all individuals to show manifestations of the infection.

688 responses to “Local Microbiologist Calls for Curfew to be Extended to 28 Days”

1. Silly Woman you might be on to something with Bajeposa since he seems to be Mariposa,s twin.Bajeposa came on this blog just after the 2018 election like one T or was it D Inniss who has since disappeared with this anti government tirade.Bajeposa may very well have been one of the Dem contractors some of whom did not know a nail from a hammer who were vetting these sweetheart contracts , living high on the hog and now bitter because his sweet life has come to and end.This big business drug lord talk is straight out of george street. Therefore Silly Woman you moght very well be right about bajeposa.

xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

NICE TRY BUTTHEAD.

WE WILL SEE IN THE UPCOMING MONTHS THE TRUTH FROM THE FICTION.

I AM CONVINCED THAT BARBADOS IS PUNCHING ABOVE ITS WEIGHT AS THE SPIN CAPITAL OF THE WORLD.

2. @Simple Simon

Note you did not buy okra? The blogmaster noted this week the street vendors selling at $5 per pound.

3. To compare the price of eggs in the USA and Barbados is dumb.

The USA is a major exporter of eggs. this means that their supply outstrip their demand

Barbados is an importer of eggs. our demand outstrips our supply.

demand vs supply determines the price of any commodity. Plus for Barbados there will be a shipping cost.

check the difference in the prices of gas at the pump.

The person that buy two chicken legs for the price of a whole chicken would probably be rich and don’t mind the price of these “premium” legs.
    or
    Is dumb as mari and baje not to shop somewhere else

4. Artax

he problem with Barbadians is they don’t ‘shop around.’ If anyone believes 85¢ is too much to pay for an egg, they could either check which establishment has them cheaper, or they could buy and complain.

Xxxxcxcxccccccccc

Not everyone has the ease of shopping around
    Not everyone has there own mean of transportation
    The off the collar remark about “shop around speaks of a similar mentality by which govt implements measures
    Measures that are closed off and distant from the mind and far remove from realities that people encounter daily

5. Silly WomanApril 10, 2020 2:41 PM

@Baje April 10, 2020 2:00 PM “@ Hal DON’T LET THESE SMALL MINDED BIGOTED INDIVIDUALS WHO SEEK TO BELITTLE.”

Methinks that our brother Hal is the Belittler in Chief.

And you are his Deputy.

Sincerely

Small minded old woman from a small island.

Spot on!

xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

I MUST SAY I AM HAPPY TO BE PLACED IN THE SAME COMPANY AS HAL WHO I FIND TO BE OBJECTIVE AND NOT TIED UP IN THE TYPE OF THINKING WHICH PRIMARILY EXISTS ON THE ISLAND.

NEITHER ONE OF US IS SEEKING FRIENDS OR ASSOCIATES IN CYBERSPACE.

THIS BLOGS ALLOWS US TO CONTRIBUTE AND EXPRESS OURSELVES SINCE WE HAVE A CLEAR UNDERSTANDING SHAPED BY EXTERNAL EXPOSURE.

NEITHER ONE STANDS TO BENEFIT FINANCIALLY OR SEEKING ANY POSITIONS IN BIM WHICH WOULD FORCED US TO COMPROMISE WHAT WE BELIEVE TO BE THE TRUTH,

I HAVE SEEN SEVERAL LOCALS CASWELL, COMMISSONG AND CUMBERBATCH USE BU FOR THEIR PROFESSIONAL PURPOSES AND ONCE THEY ACCEPTED TO BECOME PART OF THE STATUS QUO THEY HAVE DISAPPEARED LIKE THIEVES IN THE NIGHT.

I BELIEVE HAL & I BOTH HOLD NO SUCH BRIEFS BUT TO BE CANDID IRREGARDLESS WHOSE TOES WE STEP ON.

I WAS ATTACKED AND CURSED FROM DAY ONE WHEN I FIRST HIGHLIGHTED BLP PROMISES AND OTHER THINGS I OBSERVED WHICH WAS NOT KEEPING WITH PROMISED CHANGES IN 2018 BLP MANIFESTO.

I DON’T BELIEVE IN THE WHITE MAN GOD AND IN TURNING THE OTHER CHECK.

I WILL RESPOND AS I CHOOSE TO BULLYING AND DOWNRIGHT DISHONESTY.

VERY HAPPY LIKE HAL I CAN OBSERVE FROM OUTSIDE WITHOUT CLOUDED LENSES AND WARPED THINKING.

I CANNOT BE A PART OF TEAM BARBADOS WHEN I KNOW MOST BAJANS HAVE TO SUFFER IN SILENCE AMONGST THEMSELVES BECAUSE OF THE MANY DEMONS BOTH VISIBLE AND INVISIBLE WHOSE SOLE PURPOSE IS KEEPING IT THAT WAY IN 2020 AND BEYOND.

Unapologetic Enlightened Fraud and Hal Deputy (Proposed)

6. THEY WILL WAKE UP SHORTLY.
    9/10 PEOPLE CURRENTLY NOT WORKING IN THE US WITH NO SHORT TERM END IN SIGHT.
    WHEN RESTRICTIONS ARE LIFTED PEOPLE WILL NOT BE TRAVELLING FREELY FOR A WHILE BECAUSE OF FEARS OF SECOND AND THIRD WAVES OF THE VIRUS.
    NO ONE WILL BE COMING TO BARBADOS TO SIT ON A BEACH WEARING A MASK OR ON A VACATION DOING SO.
    MANY PEOPLE HAVE LOST INVESTMENTS OR SIGNIFICANTLY REDUCED INCOMES.
    LOCALS NEED TO WAKE-UP AND TAKE THEIR HEADS OUT FROM UP THEIR ASSES AND STOP THINKING THE WORLD OPERATES LIKE THE SMALL ISLAND,

XXXXXXXXXXXX

the above from a dishonest political fool who just a few days ago (probably less than a week) was supporting mari with her foolishness that plane load of tourist were coming into Barbados and potentially endangering the lives of bajans.

SUDDENLY THE TRUTH FINALLY SLAPED HIM IN THE FACE.

7. Think this would ever happen in barbados
    I doubt
    .too many yardfowls fighting over the same scratch grain

Three NYC stores face $101,500 in fines for alleged price gouging amid coronavirus outbreak

8. I DON’T BELIEVE IN THE WHITE MAN GOD AND IN TURNING THE OTHER CHEEK.

9. the above from a dishonest political fool who just a few days ago (probably less than a week) was supporting mari with her foolishness that plane load of tourist were coming into Barbados and potentially endangering the lives of bajans.

SUDDENLY THE TRUTH FINALLY SLAPED HIM IN THE FACE.

xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

ANOTHER ONE OF THE DISHONEST CREW REARS HIS USUAL HEAD.

I AM A POLITICAL FOOL WHO IS NOT INVOLVED IN POLITICS BUT IN HOLDING PEOPLE FEET TO THE FIRE IN BIM.

I NEVER AGREED WITH ANYONE THAT PLANE LOADS OF PEOPLE WERE COMING INTO BARBADOS A WEEK AGO WHEN I LIVE ABROAD AND KNOW FULLY WELL THAT AIRLINE TRAVEL WAS DOWN AT LEAST 90% GOING BACK SEVERAL WEEKS AS I POSTED AN ARTICLE ON BU HIGHLIGHTING THAT FACT.

MY OPINION HAS ALWAYS BEEN THAT BARBADOS AIR AND SEAPORTS SHOULD HAVE BEEN CLOSED DOWN MANY WEEKS AGO.

HOWEVER YOU HAVE SHOWN THAT FACTS AND TRUTH ARE NOT AMONG YOUR SPIN.

10. Even UK knows that no low paid Black slaves are coming from the Caribbean or anywhere else so they all have to bend those backs and do their own farming….ah wonder what Ms. Fighting Imperialism thinks about that now…

thousands are signing up to pick and grow food, it’s only the lazy ass descendants of indentured servants in Barbados believe they are to important and special to work in the fields and believe the majoirty population should do it for them for little or nothing, get off ya lazy asses and grow ya own food…miracles are happening in the 21st century…

https://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-8207817/Travel-company-exec-swaps-Apple-asparagus.html

‘Like many others, I need to have an income and applied to work on a farm.

‘It wasn’t a hard decision to make and although it’s not something I’ve done before, I am really looking forward to it.’

Mr Traver, who is self employed, answered the call from farmers for help in making sure crops are not wasted due to a shortage of seasonal labour caused by the pandemic.

More than 30,000 people have already inquired about farm jobs, with the British Growers Association saying a total of 70,000 will be needed for the entire picking season, which lasts until the end of October.

The majority of farms across Britain producing seasonal fruit and vegetables have long relied on workers from eastern Europe.”

11. @David April 10, 2020 4:41 PM “Simple Simon. Note you did not buy okra? The blogmaster noted this week the street vendors selling at $5 per pound.”

I had a whole lot of frozen one left over from last growing season, but at Christmastime I sent them to an old boyfriend who lives in the great white north. Lolll!!!

I planted some on March 20. I expect to start harvesting by May 15, so I can wait. Tobesides i am mindful to try making cou-cou with spinach later this week. Spinach is also green and slimy. I will tell you by Wednesday how that experiment goes.

12. @Baje April 10, 2020 5:02 PM “NEITHER ONE OF US IS SEEKING FRIENDS OR ASSOCIATES IN CYBERSPACE…
    WE HAVE A CLEAR UNDERSTANDING SHAPED BY EXTERNAL EXPOSURE. NEITHER ONE STANDS TO BENEFIT FINANCIALLY OR SEEKING ANY POSITIONS IN BIM WHICH WOULD FORCED US TO COMPROMISE WHAT WE BELIEVE TO BE THE TRUTH,”

Neither am I seeking friends or associates. Many of us on this blog have been shaped by external exposure as well. The Seawell/Adams airport/Deep Water Harbour did not close when you left. Some of us have migrated, re-migrated, migrated again, sometimes to more than one place. We have traveled for work and for recreation. The planes did not stop flying when you left. I’ve NEVER had a government job nor contract, nor board pick. Don’t expect to get any now. Happily retired. Don’t want no board pick either. Don’t want no BLP nor DLP contract nor board pick. I am an independent thinker so I don’t do well with committee work. Don’t have to compromise what i say.

13. David in the prime growing season I wholesale okras for $1 or $2 per pound, so you know that there is no way I am buying them for $5. a poundin the midst of the very, very dry season.

I will wait until the Lord sends his rain to grow some more.

Note that I said the Lord, not Hal nor Baje.

That same God who created all of the water on this earth.

That is my God.

14. RE: “Not everyone has the ease of shopping around. Not everyone has there (their) own mean of transportation.”

@ Mariposa

I beg to differ.

You can’t deny the fact, FOR EXAMPLE, several people shop in Bridgetown, where several different supermarkets, convenience stores and mini-marts are located, all in close proximity to each other and the bus terminals……….. and some with shuttle service.

Consumers’ choices vary from Jordan’s, Cherish, Lionel C. Hill, 2 Savings Plus, 3 Popular Discounts in Spry Street, ShopSmart, Scotty’s, Buy-Rite, Chickmont, French and a few more I can’t recall at this time.

Then there are vendors on the ‘way side’ all over town, as well as in the Marhill Street, Palmetto Square, Cheapside and Harbour Road markets.

Based on the above, if I were to follow your logic, I won’t have “the ease of shopping around” between Savings Plus on St. Michael’s Row and a ‘stone’s throw away’ at Popular Discounts in Spry Street, because I don’t have my “own means of transportation.”

15. Tobesides i am mindful to try making cou-cou with spinach later this week. ”

cou cou and okras with stew saltfish and yellow meat breadfruit…lawd, had some last week.

today rocked fried curried saltfish and okras with rice and green bananas boiled in the skin…yum…life is good.

16. I NEVER AGREED WITH ANYONE THAT PLANE LOADS OF PEOPLE WERE COMING INTO BARBADOS A WEEK AGO WHEN I LIVE ABROAD AND KNOW FULLY WELL THAT AIRLINE TRAVEL WAS DOWN AT LEAST 90% GOING BACK SEVERAL WEEKS AS I POSTED AN ARTICLE ON BU HIGHLIGHTING THAT FACT.
    MY OPINION HAS ALWAYS BEEN THAT BARBADOS AIR AND SEAPORTS SHOULD HAVE BEEN CLOSED DOWN MANY WEEKS AGO.
    HOWEVER YOU HAVE SHOWN THAT FACTS AND TRUTH ARE NOT AMONG YOUR SPIN.

xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

yOUR DISHONESTY KNOW NO BOUNDS

never one did you tell mari she was wrong.
    when me and david where exposing her lies YOU and no one else was in the background encouraging / supporting her on her.
    NEVER ONCE DID YOU TELL MARI SHE WAS WRONG OR TO BACK OFF BUT ENCOURAGE/SUPPORTED HER IN HE JOBBY.

its all here on BU

now go talk bout fact truth and spin to your political buddies.

If you going hold politician/blp feet to the fire. you can do that without your lies, support of shite, deceit and spin

EX…. the promise about raising minimum wages. no one can fault you on that.
    but you destroyed your own credibility and proved that you ass is no better than the same politician you criticizing.

17. now if you know or support the idea that no tourist are coming to the island..then what is your rational/commonsence idea for closing the ports??

18. “Many of us on this blog have been shaped by external exposure as well. The Seawell/Adams airport/Deep Water Harbour did not close when you left. Some of us have migrated, re-migrated, migrated again, sometimes to more than one place. We have traveled for work and for recreation. The planes did not stop flying when you left.”

@ Simple Simon

As Bush Tea used to ‘say,’

“Wuh loss, uh gine kill ‘e”

19. That should be:

“Wuh loss, yuh gine kill ‘e?”

20. Unfortunately he will just come back as a duppy.

21. SW

You saying Hal and baje is same?

22. yOUR DISHONESTY KNOW NO BOUNDS

never one did you tell mari she was wrong.
    when me and david where exposing her lies YOU and no one else was in the background encouraging / supporting her on her.
    NEVER ONCE DID YOU TELL MARI SHE WAS WRONG OR TO BACK OFF BUT ENCOURAGE/SUPPORTED HER IN HE JOBBY.

xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

@ Mariposa IS A GROWN MAN OR WOMAN IF YOU, DAVID AND HIM/HER GOT INTO AN ARGUMENT IS NOT MY JOB TO JUMP IN.

YOU THRASHED IT OUT ONE WAY OR THE OTHER.

SINCE I DIDN’T COMMENT OR JUMP IN I AM IN THE WRONG.

I WASN’T AWARE I WAS BEING PAID TO DEFEND @MARIPOSA.

YOUR FOOLISH LOGIC KNOWS NO BOUNDS.

I ALSO DIDN’T COMMENT WHEN DAVID SAID THAT CALIFORNIA HAD MADE IT THAT EVERYONE WHO ENTER A SUPERMARKETS HAS TO WEAR A MASK.

THAT WAS APPLICABLE TO LA A CITY IN CALIFORNIA WHOSE MAYOR ENACTED THAT AND NOT THE GOVERNOR OF CALIFORNIA.

I WAS IN A DIFFERENT CALIFORNIA CITY HAVING ARRIVED THAT DAY AND WENT INTO HOME DEPOT AND FOOD FOR LESS (SUPERMARKET didn’t have to wear a mask even though about 70% had one on) SO KNOW THIS WAS NOT FACT FOR THE WHOLE OF CALIFORNIA.

HOWEVER I IGNORED NOT HERE TO NICK PICK TO PROVE MY POINTS.

23. SW

You saying Hal and baje is same?

xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

YES.

SAME MINDSET NOT GOING TO STAND FOR BULLSHIT AND INNUENDO

24. No, but would like other people to stand for yours.

25. “Unfortunately he will just come back as a duppy.”

…….. “or a gun man?”

26. BAJE

now if you know or support the idea that no tourist are coming to the island..then what is your rational/commonsence idea for closing the ports??

you going pretend that you miss that question ?

27. baje

« Older Comments
    Newer Comments »
    Baje
    April 8, 2020 12:15 AM

Guyanese cricketers stuck in Trinidad & Tobago
    With airports across the world shut down due to the Novel Coronavirus (Covid-19) pandemic, several Guyanese cricketers are left stranded in Trinidad and Tobago.
    The list includes discarded West Indies Test opener Rajindra Chandrika, Demetri Cameron, Steve Ramdass, Kandasammy Surujnarine, Paul Wintz, Garfield Benjamin, Samuel Kishnasammy and Dion Ferrier who were all playing in the Trinidad and Tobago Cricket Board National League.
    Stabroek Sport reached out to a few of those players who shared their views on the situation.
    Their biggest concern, they said was the uncertainty of when they will be able to return home.
    https://www.stabroeknews.com/2020/03/30/sports/guyanese-cricketers-stuck-in-tt/
    xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
    SAFETY OF MASSES VS CHASING THE $$$$$

XXXXXXXXXXXXXXX

correct me if I am wrong!

The implication here is that trini closed it borders to protect the masses while BARBADOS IS KEEP IT BORDERS OPEN CHAISING THE TOURIST DOLLARS.

did someone say a liar should have a good memory?

keep wriggling

28. Senior Apostle Lynroy Scantlebury wants to reopen the church to his faithful. It is obvious that the opposition is deliberately trying to harm the people of Barbados.

The government should seriously consider reintroducing corporal punishment in public places for such lawbreakers.

29. @john2 April 10, 2020 7:35 PM “SW. You saying Hal and baje is same?”

Not the same, but of one mind.

30. Stupssseee!!!

Back in the days of my “mis-spent youth” when Laker Airways was doing Trans-Atlantic flights for $199 USD return I had a boyfriend in England [not Hal nor Baje] you have no idea how many times I crossed the Atlantic to see my [then] sweet man.

I was young and life was sweet.

Lolll!!!

31. @Artax April 10, 2020 6:59 PM “Wuh loss, yuh gine kill ‘e?”

Only metaphorically Artax, only metaphorically. Lolll!!!

In fact I wish him and you and all the BU people good health and happiness and safety, and for the believers, a blessed Easter.

32. @Tron April 10, 2020 9:01 PM

There have ever only been 12 Apostles, and they have all been dead, dead, dead these past 2,000 or more years.

Maybe the god pastor and his congregation are in a hurry to join them?

33. I wish people wont talk bout food an mek a body mout water. specially when dis be not a food blog.

34. BAJE

now if you know or support the idea that no tourist are coming to the island..then what is your rational/commonsence idea for closing the ports??

you going pretend that you miss that question ?

xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

I AM NOT @MARIPOSA SO I DON’T INTENT TO PERSIST WITH ANY PETTY BACK AND FORTH.

MY STANCE IS THE BORDERS SHOULD HAVE BEEN CLOSED AT LEAST BY MARCH 15TH WHEN IT WAS PRETTY EVIDENT THE CORONAVIRUS WAS BEING SPREAD WORLDWIDE BY TRAVELERS.

US HAD ALREADY BANNED CHINA AND A NUMBER OF EUROPEAN COUNTRIES,

CANADA DID THE SAME,

WHETHER PEOPLE ARE COMING IN NOW OR NOT IS OF NO CONCERN SINCE THE HORSE HAS ALREADY BOLTED THE STABLE.

https://www.bbc.com/news/world-us-canada-51883728

35. The video was a complete demonstration how China is dealing with the virus now it has closed its borders to foreigners
    If govts are really serious about fighting the virus this video was an excellent demonstration to be observed

36. Mariposa,

On another blog I just posted that the Chinese systematically discriminate against Africans in China because of the Wuhan plague. The Chinese claim that Africans are to blame for the outbreak of the Wuhan plague.

Stop selling China as our savior. You obviously want us to drink rat and bat blood from monkey skulls like in China and infect ourselves with cruel animal diseases.

Or do you want to bring the Chinese racism against blacks to Barbados?