One of the saddest days in the few decades this blogmaster has lived in Barbados was yesterday. For close to five months Barbadians from the village to the heights have viewed on smart TVs and cellphone screens the havoc being wreaked on developed countries. Italy, UK, Canada, France, Japan and the USA are listed as G7 countries with significantly greater resources than Barbados. Despite a superior economic status the healthcare and capacity to apply meaningful logistics by these countries continue to be challenged by COVID 19.

On a related note the blogmaster followed a robust conversation making the rounds in Trinidad this week where Commissioner of Police Gary Griffith posted a video of a crowd outside Republic Bank standing cheek by jowl (thanks to Dr. Lucas for reminding of this old expression).  Given the no nonsense approach Gary Griffith has taken to doing his job, there is wide speculation he will use his authority to shutdown businesses not observing established protocols designed to protect the health of the public.

The sights and scenes observed around Barbados yesterday although understandable was disappointing. If we accept the government have made errors, how does one explain the behaviour exhibited by a significant segment of the population BEFORE the decision by government to extend lockdown by not practising social distancing? The colossal ignorance of  a few church leaders stating the church should be included as an essential service? Should the government have continued in a business as usual mode? Given the population density and the opportunity for aggressive community spread of COVID 19 infections it behoves the authorities to make decisions quickly in order to blunt the rate of infections in Barbados.

The urge at this time to engage in political opportunism must be set aside. The time for a post mortem of COVID 19 will come and a price paid if the electorate is so minded. If there is an opportunity to improve decision making, we have been told the government has an open door policy. Leaders of political parties should avail themselves of the offer and resist the urge to accrue cheap political points by retreating to social and traditional media with destructive positions. In case the memo was not received, COVID 19 is a pandemic responsible for the over 1.1. million people infected and 50 thousand dead across the globe at recent count. Is there good reason Barbados boast of being a highly literate country? The cheek by jowl behaviour exhibited yesterday by Barbadians outside supermarkets  has buried that view.

The expectation by government Barbadians would have committed to a behaviour undergirded by self discipline is where it all went wrong. There is a reason why ‘totalitarian’ regimes have been reported to be doing a better job of combatting COVID 19. An assessment of the so called minibus/ZR culture, our propensity to litter, scant regard for road traffic laws, increasing crime etc etc etc supports the blogmaster’s view government was simplistic by expecting some Barbabaians would self quarantine or observe social distancing in the prevailing stressful climate.

Barbadians have to take pause after yesterday to reflect –  assume personal responsibility and if after doing so we are unable to apply good sense to our actions then suffer the consequences.

What are the consequences?

All business owners caught serving the public if there is rowdyism outside the doors, must be told to close with immediate effect for a defined period of time until such time order is established.

If the Police observe same rowdyism, order the business to close for a defined period until such time order is establihed.

All business owners must be responsible for securing and managing crowd traffic to ensure compliance, failing to do so a fine and or a cease and desist order issued.

This is no time to allow ignorance to flourish to endanger the lives of the majority of Barbadians. The time for mollycoddling must come to an end now.

COVID CZAR Richard Carter informed the public yesterday that UWI modelling of the trajectory of the virus projects 100s of deaths if behaviours are not arrested NOW.

Hard ears wunna wont hear, own way wunna gine feel!

242 responses to “Bajans Jettison Social Distancing for Cheek by Jowl”

1. john2April 5, 2020 6:32 PM

MARI

wha mia do you that you so much against her that you would spread lies lies to try to try to turn people agains her? she bite you? or refused you and broke you heart.

No tourist coming to Barbados now drop it.
    Xxxcccccccccccccvvvvg
    So why the airport open
    And why a schedule for planes to arrive and dept
    Why crticism of Mia policies means hating Mia
    I bet she could slam dominoes play cards
    Drink hard liquor and act like one yuh we
    I think she must have qualities that anyone would like.
    So this nonsense about hating Mia speaks of the way u think

2. LIAT is doing cargo runs, also charters to take home people arranged by home countries.

Other charters are arranged to fly out non residents. For example, ROSS students flew out on charters yesterday.

3. only human traffic/ tourist does come in at the airport?

4. […] following comment was posted by local microbiologist Dr. Robert Lucas to another blog – Bajans Jettison Social Distancing for Cheek by Jowl. The blogmaster regards it as one of the most important points shared on Barbados Underground since […]

5. BARBADOS

before I forget

We are going through a health crisis now but don’t forget the hurricane season is a couple months away.

One forecast is for a more active hurricane season with a few more MAJOR storms than usual

BE PREPARED !

6. So, because the airport is opened and a schedule indicating aircraft departures and arrivals, means tourists are coming into Barbados by droves to spread and infect Barbadians with COVID-19?

For the past few days you’ve been on BU spewing this nonsense.

Several countries have closed their borders and are on ‘lock-down,’ while airlines have either closed operations or significantly reduced their flights.

Barbados is also on ‘lock-down,’ which has seen the obvious closure of several businesses, including those from the hospitality, wholesale and retail sectors.

Why would anyone ‘in their right mind,’ leave their country to travel to another country that has recorded cases of COVID-19 and is on ‘lock-down’ as a result?

Where are these tourists coming from, where are they staying and what do they intend to do, other than spend 14 days in quarantine?

Can we conclude she has demonstrated a classic example of the ‘Bajan condition’ and an inability to debate rationally as a result of learning by rote?

7. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

“I would suggest that those pompous asses at UWI try to manufacture some.”

everyone is creating or designing something, can someone tell me what is being created in Barbados besides laws…

8. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

“An incompetent government they cry, but a facility is ready with more beds than cases; ”

Ya can thank US for the one at Defense Force and stop pretending that yall are the ones who did that…the politics will ruin everything, just be glad people are donating so you will not be overwhelmed.

9. ArtaxApril 5, 2020 7:51 PM

So, because the airport is opened and a schedule indicating aircraft departures and arrivals, means tourists are coming into Barbados by droves to spread and infect Barbadians with COVID-19?

Cxxccccccccccvvvvvvgggg

Where did i say tourist coming by droves
    It only takes one person to have a chain reaction of infected people

Close the airport

10. Mari

don’t you think that if tourist were coming into the island as you keep claiming that the night watchman or other spokesperson/ potential / former mp of the demorats losers party would have been all over the place crying fowl??

its only you that got this thing trapped in you pea brain.

your continuous braying and giving false info will not help you party. I will come over just like the mia lawyer license

11. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

Instead of on the blog gushing a bunch of nonsense, the fowls should be telling the government that the people of St. John and other parishes are SUFFERING FOR WATER…..pure incompetence….like if they did not know….they should have their water back PERMANENTLY and not just for a few days a week or not at all as has been happening for far too long….boast about that..

“670 Views
    The Barbados Advocatw
    4 hrs ·
    The residents of Sherbourne St. John and other areas of the parish are pleading with the government and the Barbados Water Authority to hear their cries for water. Today the community tanks ran dry and the water tankers arrived after noon. The residents would like water, which they have paid their bills for, to be restored even if for set hours for a few days a week.”

12. COVID-19: Government exploring shopping alternatives for supermarkets
    KATRINA KING CREATED : 5 APRIL 2020 CORONAVIRUS Barbados COVID-19 Czar, Richard Carter
    Barbados COVID-19 Czar, Richard Carter

Government is in discussions with supermarket retailers and the distribution sector to decide alternatives to grocery shopping in light of the 24-hour curfew.

Barbados’ COVID-19 Czar, Richard Cater stated that a system was imperative to prevent a repeat of what occurred on Friday whereby thousands flocked to the supermarkets upon the announcement of the 24-hour curfew, ignoring Government’s call to practice social distancing.

Carter said that Government is exploring the appropriate system to implement, whether it be by delivery or curbside pick-up.

http://www.loopnewsbarbados.com/content/covid-19-government-exploring-shopping-alternatives-reopening

13. True.

14. DavidApril 5, 2020 6:49 PM

LIAT is doing cargo runs, also charters to take home people arranged by home countries.

Other charters are arranged to fly out non residents. For example, ROSS students flew out on charters yesterday

Cxcccccccccccccccccccccc

Virgin is flying
    American is bringing people out of Mia
    There are private planes coming
    Two saturdays ago i know of someone who came in on business
    Also why open more quarantine centres no one is coming in

15. Nonsense!

16. DavidApril 5, 2020 8:30 PM

Nonsense!

xxxxxxxcccxxcccc

I telling what i know for a fact and u posting nonsense
    Now i know for sure u need to have yuh head exam
    Furthermore govt said that anyone coming must be quarantined
    Now why would govt make that statement of recent if no one is coming

17. Mari

a week or two ago someone told you that some airlines are flying ghost planes.

go on the airlines web site and try to by a ticket from those destinations to Barbados and see what you get.

You cant buy a ticket. so either the planes are empty or they coming down real full as you said. we all know which one id true. we all except you of course

18. why open more quartine centers
    xxxxxxx

so that when the out braek comes people like you cannot say they weren’t prepared .

19. My friend, I NEVER mentioned you ‘said’ anything about ‘droves.’ That’s my emphasis.

RE: “Also why open more quarantine centres no one is coming in?”

You have descended in the realm of stupidity by asking that silly question.

Thine ignorance is boundless.

20. ArtaxApril 5, 2020 8:53 PM

My friend, I NEVER mentioned you ‘said’ anything about ‘droves.’ That’s my emphasis.

RE: “Also why open more quarantine centres no one is coming in?”

You have descended in the realm of stupidity by asking that silly question.

Xxcccccvvvvvvvvbbbbb
    Emphasis No
    Embellishment Yes

So silly
    Your ignorance is mind boggling

21. mari

Cubans doctors coming. how you want them to get here? swim?

22. WARU
    You’re still an idiot! The defence force always had a field hospital. Whether the US helped in outfitting it to meet the needs of COVID patients is irrelevant, the fact is that the government was proactive enough to have it in place. Bdos was also ready to test too. Weren’t you stocking up on supplies even before WHO confirmed it was transmitted via human to human, oh clairvoyant one? Then again Salemites are known for seances around the fire. Too many clowns does cause the tent to collapse and spoil the circus show.🤣🤣🤣

23. From since last month, you have been spewing this nonsense.

You asked: “Also why OPEN MORE quarantine centres (if) NO ONE is COMING IN?”

You are essentially suggesting (in Bajan parlance) “nuff people got to be coming in, dat duh opening more centres.”

Nuff people: a large number of people.

Droves: a large number of people.

My point remains, by asking that silly question, you have descended into the realm of ignorance.

Dun wid you and dat.

24. @ Mariposa April 5, 2020 8:28 PM

We already had the biggest plague on the island from 2008 to 2018, this plague is very fat, has a washy voice, a sluggish gait, a flat forehead like a Neanderthal, no manners and does not even know decimal places.

25. robert lucas
    April 5, 2020 5:30 PM

@ Baje April 5, 2020 4:57 PM
    Elsewhere on the Blog, I said that a twenty-eight day curfew was needed.

I think that longer is needed. If there is community spread, which is likely, despite being unreported so far, when you add the domino effect of that to a group, some will only be coming down with symptoms near the end of the 28 days.

So, two months is probably a more appropriate time frame. This can only work is people adhere to isolation and social distancing principles. Genuinely adhere, not a person going for a little visit somewhere.

26. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

“Whether the US helped in outfitting it to meet the needs of COVID patients is irrelevant, the fact is that the government was proactive enough to have it in place. Bdos was also ready to test too. ”

ya should be glad US helped ya with that too….or yall would still be boasting about tourists numbers while hiding the body bags.

27. @Artax,

quote] “On Saturday 4th April, 2020, there was a situation where a suspect in custody at the station had exhibited symptoms, that given the current pandemic situation, it became necessary to have a medical examination by members of the COVID-19 medical team. As a precautionary measure, all police personnel who had come into contact with this individual whilst in custody remained self-isolated at the station. The results subsequently came back negative for COVID-19. Both the suspect and all police personnel were cleared. At no point during this ordeal was a decision made to close the station,” the statement said. [unquote

https://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/244832/inniss-police-stations

28. @ Greene

Okay, I heard that on last night’s CBC TV8 News.

So, I’ll ‘say’ you won 1 and loss 2.

But, I’ll remind you “best to believe everything i post whether tongue in cheek or not is inaccurate. i would not hold that against you.”

29. @Artax

i will indicate when i am serious and when i am tongue in cheek, if it is not implicit in the topic or tone and composition of the words used.

you are forgiven this time. go and sin no more lol

30. Was this listening to David Ellis and people have been calling in saying guys still liming on the all around like no laws been passed. Why are we surprised?

Motorcycles on one wheel with no insurance out every Sunday, ZRs stopping where they want and going through red lights like they are green etc. We have laws that have been suffering from poor enforcement for years why are we surprised the same approach will be used by many for the Curfew?

My question is what will the authorities do about enforcing the laws seeing that some would argue this could be a life and death issue?

Finally what are we doing about food supply from the supermarkets seeing that many of the small shops are now sold out?

31. @John A

This is why the government will have to go totalitarian because we do not have the time to wait on the deviants.

32. @John A

From reports the government is discussing with the supermarkets. One suspect a decision will not be made before Good Friday.

33. @ David.

We have to find a workable solution and going to online shopping is not going to work either and for the same reason the small shops failed
    And that’s logistics.

Think about this, let’s say in 1 hour 10 cash stations in a super market can handle 300 customers and each customer has 40 items, that is 12000 items per hour!

Now imagine trying to have say 10 pickers and packers trying to prepare and deliver just one hours worth of trade from 1 supermarket. How many vans will you need? How many printers and computers would you need? Yet another non solution. If you order you may well get it after the curfew seeing that nothing has been put in place yet other than talk which has been going on since Wednesday last week.

David logistics again will cause this to fail. MASSY is no Amazon my friend.

34. @John A

Agree it will be an issue.

35. Aren’t food distributors essential businesses? Who supplies village shops and minimarts?

36. A.

Georgia is to be in a stay in place posture / you suppose to only be out for essential services. I went out to do some work I cannot believe the amount of traffic on the highways.

not much difference in traffic from last Monday compared to today.

37. John 2

Lack of enforcement. If we could of enforced the personal space we wouldn’t of needed the lockdown. Now we can’t enforce the lock down what will we introduce next, that we again would not be able to enforce?

I was listening to David Ellis today and people were calling in and saying how the Guys were out liming on corners etc like nothing was new. This virus has brought much to light in terms of enforcement and respect for the law sadly.

38. IF/ WHEN 1 or 2 of the guys on the block kick the bucket you will be see how fast the other comply

39. Dullard April 5, 2020 9:48 AM

Santiago mentioned the government was working with the supermarkets to put a plan in place for delivery using e-commerce etc.

Do you know how ridiculous this sounds?
    For goodness sakes man we are talking about getting a few thousand households to purchase the essentials while limiting personal contact. This is not rocket science.

Next we will have the apparatchiks complaining that there are not enough code developers or there is limited bandwidth or some such nonsense.

40. Steuspe