grenville-phillips
Submitted by Grenville Phillips II,

I did not know what to make of last night’s [1 April 2020] announcement. We continue to treat this COVID-19 as a political exercise. However, it seems to have finally dawned on someone that their political games will have fatal consequences.

Last night, the Government finally admitted what was obvious to everyone. They stated: “We therefore need to formulate a plan of survival for Barbados!”
We ought to remember that the Government noted that they made a plan with all political parties, unions and the merchants. However, they specifically excluded Solutions Barbados and the UPP – for purely political reasons.
After developing an ineffective political plan with their supporters, we tried to provide them with our best advice. They either rejected or ignored our advice, so we advised the public on how they could prepare for COVID-19.
We advised the Government to effectively close Barbados to normal business, and our borders to visitors. We recommended that this be done on Wednesday 25 March 2020, when the trend of exponential growth was evident. We now know that our COVID-19 cases were growing exponentially at an out-of-control rate of 3 days at that time.
The Government rejected our advice, and allowed out-of-control exponential growth for a further 4 days. But their political efforts were ineffective, since the shut-down was partial and our borders remained open. Persons entering were not tested for the virus, instead, they were given an ineffective temperature reading.
The Government continued to reject or ignore our advice, and allowed the COVID-19 cases to grow at the same exponential rate for a further 4 days, before finally appearing to be serious last night. Now that they are looking for a plan, we suggest the following.
SUGGESTIONS FOR AN EFFECTIVE SURVIVAL PLAN
First, stop the inflow of cases by closing our borders to people. The Government’s problem is that this goes against the WHO recommendation. Many critical WHO recommendations on COVID-19 have been proven wrong. We should not be guinea pigs as the WHO is learning on-the-job. Therefore, look out for the health interests of Barbadians and close our borders now.
Second, shut down Barbados for two weeks. Everyone except those working in thread-bare essential services should stay home for 2 weeks. This is what was finally announced today (9 days late).
Third, effectively enforce the shut-down. This has yet to be done. Even our youth know that it is a joke, or a game like ‘tag’.
Four, order the Abbott tester (see link below), which can give test results in 5 minutes, and start meaningful testing. Normally, this would not have been a problem – we could simply have asked the US Ambassador for a few machines. However, we have muddied the waters.
We have publicly tried to embarrass US Secretary of State, Mike Pompeo, when he visited the Caribbean. CBC-TV also tries to find the most embarrassing stories about US President Trump (including from the anti-US Islamic station, Al Jazeera), which they air, every night, during the 7:00 pm news.
These reckless actions risk harming us all, when we need to call on our proven friends for assistance. They also make requesting assistance embarrassing, given our past behaviour. However, we should swallow our pride and do what is necessary for Barbados.
After the two-week shut down, when the internal transmission rates are known and are under control, we can re-open our borders. Then we can test every visitor to Barbados – before they leave the arrivals hall.
Five, start including the many highly qualified Barbadians who are willing to help, rather than just the BLP faithful. There are so many examples I could cite, but I will include one.
Harrison Point’s buildings were built over 60 years ago. It is very easy to mistakenly use current construction materials, that can react badly with old construction. Renovating such buildings requires specialist engineering advice to avoid foreseen high maintenance issues.
We made a $30M error by demolishing the 6-storey NIS building (which we could have used now), apparently because someone did not understand construction methods in the 1970s. To prevent a similar blunder, I offered an unlimited supply of free specialist engineering advice.
A truly national plan would accept such an offer – but they rejected it. If they continue to only listen to their most partisan political supporters, then the only plan that they can develop is another political plan.
Grenville Phillips II is a Chartered Structural Engineer and President of Solutions Barbados. He can be reached at NextParty246@gmail.com

270 responses to “Solutions Barbados COVID-19 Survival Plan”

1. Barbados has recorded its first death from coronavirus. Who is leading this fight?

2. @ Hal

@ Baje

It is unusual for someone to have a degree in three different disciplines, or even three degrees in the same discipline (BSc, MSC,PhD)?

xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

I HAVE A BSc AND A MSc.

AS YOU KNOW THERE ARE A NUMBER OF INDIVIDUALS ON HERE THAT LIKE TO DISTRACT BY WHATEVER MEANS NECESSARY EVEN IF IT MEANS BEING STRANGERS TO THE TRUTH TO SERVE THEIR PURPOSES.

3. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

Now ya see how useless these small island governments are, they do not even need to be there, they are a weight on the taxpayer’s and pensioners shoulders that need removing.

“BRIDGETOWN, Barbados (CMC) — The British casualty ship RFA Argus, has set sail for the Caribbean ahead of this year’s hurricane season to assist with the response to the COVID-19 pandemic across the region.

Although the vessel’s deployment to the Caribbean had been scheduled for the hurricane season, she will now be able to play a part in ensuring the UK Government is ready to support the overseas territories during the pandemic..

As Royal Navy sailors and Royal Marines continue to stand ready to assist the United Kingdom in its efforts to defeat the pandemic at home, the support ship left Devonport on Thursday, to cross the Atlantic and head south for the Caribbean.

RFA Argus ship’s company, consisting of both Royal Fleet Auxiliary and Royal Navy personnel, will rise to this challenge. We understand that there are people in need in the UK Overseas Territories who require our support,” said commanding officer Captain Terence Barke”

4. The naive masses argue as usual on BU, led by WARU, the keyboard warrior.

You should look on the bright side of the situation: At least we’re using less foreign currency than usual these days. The tourists won’t be coming back so soon. If the plague breaks out again next winter, we will be financially ruined for good. The population now at least has the opportunity to train for the time of hardship when the foreign currency supply is completely depleted.

5. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

An unfortunate consequences of being infected during an OUTBREAK, cousin Boris has been hospitalized. UK has not even peaked yet.

And no, politicians are not immune, no one is.

https://m.facebook.com/story.php?story_fbid=10163381593130626&id=731905625

6. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

“If the plague breaks out again next winter, we will be financially ruined for good.”

More the reason to give the people a HANDUP to grow their OWN FOOD and MARIJUANA..the money belongs to them anyway…..not to minorities, all the money borrowed in the people’s name has to be paid back by the PEOPLE….

plagues come in WAVES….some last years..

nobody gotta listen to me…am not the one who WILL BE HELD ACCOUNTABLE….and ya did not have to pay me not even a dollar for that advice…

7. Something for something. Any help comes with a price tag. Could simply be to keep us in a dependency mindset.

8. And to stop us from pressing for reparations too hard.

9. Donna April 5, 2020 5:40 PM #: “Something for something. Any help comes with a price tag. Could simply be to keep us in a dependency mindset.”

Could you please explain your above comment?

10. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

Donna…ya saw what i told them, no one could say otherwise, it is there to be reviewed at anytime…these are serious times, FANTASY ISLAND IS OVER..

8 years of saying the same thing has to end sometime..

11. @ Donna April 5, 2020 5:40 PM

Look at northern Italy. Tens of thousands of Chinese work in the textile industry there. Tens of thousands have visited China for the European and Chinese New Year celebrations. Near Milan there is even an airport where these Chinese can enter illegally and without passport control.

Anyone who now wonders why the Wuhan plague has hit Italy the hardest is turning a blind eye. Or look at Iran. The Middle East country with the closest ties to China and the highest death toll.

A similar fate would befall us if Barbados continued to engage in Chinese debt bondage. We already have a visa agreement with China, so we cannot trace who is bringing the killer virus to us. Any further agreement with China will worsen the situation at our expense.

12. Death comes via the Silk Road. 1348 and 2020.

13. FOR THOSE ON THE ISLAND LIVING IN LA LA LAND.

BLACKS WHO ARE ABOUT 95% ON THE ISLAND CONTROL VERY LITTLE WEALTH.

THE WHITES AND TRINIDAD INDIANS CONTROL THE FOLLOWING:

MAJOR HOTELS
    FOOD, DISTRIBUTION AND SUPERMARKETS
    RESTAURANTS
    OFFSHORE COMPANIES
    INSURANCE COMPANIES
    CAR DEALERSHIPS
    HORSE RACING
    YACHTS
    MANSIONS
    PRIVATE JETS
    MARINAS

I CAN GO ON AND ON.

THE BLACK POLITICAL PUPPETS ARE MERE PAWNS IN THE WEALTH GAME.

MANY WHITES BOTH LOCAL AND FROM OVERSEAS ARE THE REAL POWER BROKERS IN BARBADOS BEHIND THE SCENES.

THAT IS THE REALITY ON THE GROUND WHICH HAS BEEN EMPOWERED AND BOUGHT OUT THROUGH KICKBACKS AND LOOKING THE OTHER WAY BY BLACK POLITICIAL LEADERS.

NO SUGAR COATING THIS IS REALITY ON THE GROUND IN BIM.

14. @ Donna

I realized you haven’t responded to my question, so I’ll make a comment based on the assumption your 5:40 PM comments are in response to the CMC article posted at 1:33 PM re the UK ships “heading to the Caribbean.”

I note with interest the article states:

(a). “Although the vessel’s deployment to the Caribbean had been scheduled for the hurricane season, she will now be able to play a part in ensuring the UK Government is ready to support the overseas territories during the pandemic.”

(b). “RFA Argus ship’s company, consisting of both Royal Fleet Auxiliary and Royal Navy personnel, will rise to this challenge. We understand that there are people in need in the UK Overseas Territories who require our support,” said commanding officer Captain Terence Barke.”

I’ll ‘ask’ you to pay particular attention to the term “OVERSEAS TERRITORIES” in both paragraphs above.

The UK’s overseas territories in the Caribbean are British Virgin Islands, Cayman Islands, Montserrat, Anguilla, Bermuda and Turks & Caicos. These islands are self-governing territories, with their own constitutions, but are considered to be under UK sovereignty, but not a part of the UK. Under article 73 of the United Nations Charter, the UK has an obligation to
    provide for the well being of their inhabitants.

I hope you understand ‘where I’m coming from’ and put ‘two and two together.’

15. I live in a small town in NJ (45,000)
    304 positive cases, 7 deaths

16. @TheOGazerts April 5, 2020 8:40 PM

I live in a small town in NJ (45,000)
    304 positive cases, 7 deaths

Be safe Theo…try to stay virus free.

17. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

Since yall refuse to promote ya own people, still refuse to enrich ya own people WITH THEIR OWN MONEY, but only know them when ya want to BEG FOR VOTES…since ya still have the crooks acting like if they are more important than the majority and have some right to be enriched with the people’s money…take what ya get..

https://www.facebook.com/jackie.stewart.965/videos/1291613131048223/?t=4

18. @Solutions Barbados
    Granville, you better call yuh friend at the US embassy and tell dem to gi we back we ventilators

https://barbadostoday.bb/2020/04/05/ventilators-destined-for-barbados-seized-by-u-s/