roland clarke
Submitted by Dr. Roland R. Clarke Energy Consultant
Edited 4 April 2020 (2.02PM)

Dear David King:

I would like to signal my intention to take future action that may be construed as an attempt to break the Barbados curfew law on Wednesday 08 April 2020.

I respectfully request that the arresting officers wear protective masks. I do not wish to be infected by them.

My point, is that the officers of the Government of Barbados do not practice social distancing.

Why do I intend to attempt to break the law?

I have no choice. Here is my story.

I am a citizen and resident of Barbados who visited the USA for three weeks in recent times. I returned to Barbados on Tuesday 17 March. I immediately placed myself in social distancing at a local hotel for one week. This was followed by a second week at another hotel.

My intent was to do the recommended 14 days of distancing as I live with my elderly 89 y.o. mother who is prone to severe respiratory conditions. Further, I have several underlying medical conditions that put me at high risk to an unfavourable outcome from the COVID-19 virus.

About two hours after checking into the second hotel, their management sent me an email indicating that there was a recent case of COVID-19 at their hotel. My heart fell.

I subsequently gathered that the incident happened about 5 or 6 days prior to my arrival at the second hotel.

Given that I had booked my stay 24 hours in advance, it means that the hotel knew full well what their recent experience had been, and they did not give me the option to refuse. Even further, the hotel also indicated that the Government of Barbados was fully involved in the matter. They too did not share the information with the general public. In my view, this is a breech of public trust by the Government of Barbados.

Indeed at a later date, the Barbados COVID-19 Czar confirmed in a press meeting that the public does not need to know the places where COVID-19 has been found in Barbados. I strenuously disagree. Believe me, had I known, I would not have checked into the second hotel. I would have found an alternative temporary residence to continue my 14 day sojourn.

Given my experience, I made a decision to extend my period of social distancing for another week. That is, to count 14 days from my check-in to the second hotel.

So here I am in a third temporary accommodation until next Wednesday 08 April 2020. None of this is free for me.

Today, I am faced with the prospect of being arrested for doing the right thing of socially distancing myself after short term international travel to the USA.

Therefore I stand by my request above. I respectfully request that the arresting officers wear personal protective apparatus, and that I be placed in a detention facility that is medically appropriate for someone with my pre-existing conditions. Even further, should the arresting officers choose to release me, I respectfully request police escort to my home so that I will not be arrested again.

132 responses to “COVID 19 Dilemma!”

1. Col Bostic and those giving vital updates need to protect themselves a little bit more.

2. @Wura
    Was looking for the charity that recently starte, but cannot find it online.
    Did you donate? 🙂

3. Theo…the people involved in that Beggar’s Charity are all well known handpicked crooks, all self-serving. stay away from them, find another way to help if ya can but don’t put any of your hardearned money in their hands.

4. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

I was trying to find somewhere to put this, it is such a hot topic.

So here is your drug war, it is not Covid alone you have to worry about..

ah know the “small” man on the street the police chase everywhere don’t have anything to worry about, they are not millionaire and billionaire drug runners.

“MIAMI — President Donald Trump announced Wednesday that Navy ships are being moved toward Venezuela as his administration beefs up counter-narcotics operations in the Caribbean following a U.S. drug indictment against Nicolás Maduro.

The announcement came at the start of the daily White House press briefing to discuss the coronavirus pandemic, which has left much of the country in lock-down and which the government warns could cause 100,000 to 240,000 deaths.

“The Venezuelan people continue to suffer tremendously due to Maduro and his criminal control over the country, and drug traffickers are seizing on this lawlessness,” Defense Secretary Mark Esper said after the president’s announcement.

The deployment is one of the largest U.S. military operations in the region since the 1989 invasion of Panama to remove Gen. Manuel Noriega from power and bring him to the U.S. to face drug charges. It involves assets like Navy warships, AWACS surveillance aircraft and on-ground special forces seldom seen before in the region.”

5. @Wura
    Americans have an expression “wag the dog”… The incompetence of Donald Trump is so real and apparent that he has to resorted to “wag the dog” as a solution for his problems. Iran’s Gen. Soleimani was one example and we now has his focus on drugs from Venezuela as a second example..

More wagging can be expected.

‘wag the dog’ means to purposely divert attention from what would otherwise be of greater importance, to something else of lesser significance. … The expression comes from the saying that ‘a dog is smarter than its tail’, but if the tail were smarter, then the tail would ‘wag the dog

6. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

Prince Donald has lots of energy, nearly double my age, remember am still 35 and he has they large storage unit somewhere, whether it’s plugged in i dont know. I dont have that amount of energy, barely pulling myself out of bed on mornings..

What i am watching is the way Jamaica allows its people to be creative and show their innovation….Covid,, no problem, here is a Covid shield for your face, no sweat, protects both cashier and customer…

https://www.facebook.com/groups/sohee/permalink/2850632111696010/

7. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

This one is too big for moi, I really don’t have the energy, i will watch all of you have ya say on this, after 8 years of ya ministers and their fowls…all muh energy gone..

what is the saying again, not my party…no pun intended.

8. Boris in hospital.

9. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

Someone need to tell politicians that they are not invincible.

10. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

Anyhoo….Dr. GP, here is another doctor.

https://youtu.be/xf-qv9o8nq8

11. fortyacresandamule Avatar
    fortyacresandamule

By now we should have assembled our best engineers ( especially mechanical, electrical ) machinist, fabricators along with a 3D printer to put together a working prototype ventilator. If push come to shove, we will have to improvise. Do FOR SELF is the clarion call in times like these. Also, the production of mask and gown should be on the table. Get people with knowlege of textile and sowing to start this ball rolling.

12. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

Not them…the only thing they know how to create and design are LAWS to STIFLE THE PEOPLE…every second there is a new law, a law for this and a law for that and none of it ever works except against the population..

13. fortyacresandamule Avatar
    fortyacresandamule

@WARU. A very truthful and profound statement. All this free education and nothing of substance to show.

14. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

They refuse to allow the geniuses, creatives and naturally gifted people in the MAJORITY BLACK POPULATION to shine, they prefer promote a bunch of halfassed minoirities who only know to pretend they are superior to the people and to TIEF….that is why Barbados will always be A FAIL…

…..anything to do with the general population they manipulate it along political party lines, their only intent is to raise yardfowls, the island will never go anywhere with that backward, ignorant, visionless mentality coming from MEDIOCRE LEADERS…

15. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

Prince Donald to the rescue, everyone is trying to pitch in, using TEAM WORK and TEAM EFFORT but the crooks in Barbados are still running scams on the people….if it isn’t trying to trick the gullible into staycationing in Covid infected hotel rooms, it’s deliberately and maliciously causing chaos at the supermarkets to shut them down to revive their FAILURE of an M-Money Scam…..to DENYING THE PEOPLE WATER…the most vulnerable on the island…

https://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-8198351/Donald-Trump-sends-200-ventilators-UK-London-called-say-needed-desperately.html

16. 40 acres

Out political leaders are trapped like a rabbit in oncoming lights. One minute we have Dr George, he is gone without explanation; then we had Dr Best, now we have Dr Forde. We need a single medical voice. We also have to realise that doctors are not research scientists. The we have a sociologist as so-called Czar, using modelling provided by a UWI epidemiologist, who not draft in this lady (if it is a lady) on the team. Then we have the health minister, the president (until her medical procedure), the acting prime minister.
    Here is a suggestion: let Santia be the rational voice (no flaring hands, no shouting, no waffle) of our fight against coronavirus; next to her should be a doctor Forde, Bet or George), and on the other side an epidemiologist. In the front line should be the Czar, the commissioner of police and a scientist, such as @ Robert Lucas.
    Consistency is key. What you ar e selling is confidence, which means people will not panic. Stop the Czar from speaking on medical issues, something he is not qualified to speak about; allow the commissioner to speak on law and order. Keep the bumbling AG out of it.
    Most important of all, I know it is not part of our political culture, but plan in detail before making public announcements. In that case you will not have to change plans every 24 hours.

17. Hal
    Missing from their plans are triple doses of truth
    Their intent on hiding the truth with tones sounding like double messages are very obvious
    The people after listening to govt info then decipher individually what they believe they heard and the various question starts to unravel the glaring mistakes
    As u said the elephant in the room is inconsistency

18. Yesterday a question was asked about the 35 Trinis
    Here is what Trinidad minister of National Security has to say

Minister of National Security Stuart Young says a diplomatic note has been sent to Barbados officials concerning COVID-19 testing for Trinidad and Tobago nationals who have been in that country for the past two weeks, as a potential first step towards getting them back home.

Young also yesterday confirmed that T&T had sent testing kits to Barbados so that the 35 T&T nationals could be tested. If their tests are negative, Young said they will take advice from medical experts concerning the next step. He said even if the T&T nationals test negative in Barbados, the Government will have to be careful how they handle the situation.

“The worst thing that can happen is they then go …, if I hope they test negative coming out of their mandatory quarantine and they re-engage with persons in public or persons who may have the COVID-19 virus and then they can be contaminated all over again,” he said.

19. In yesterday press conference when questioning was asked of officials about the return of the 35 no such detail was made known by the barbados officials
    Also in a previous press conference given by barbados govt a message which was sent to the public in a questions and answer format was that the 35 was free to undertake what legal steps necessary for their return
    The govt of barbados needs to be open and honest on giving details since global networks are easily available to fact check their every word

20. @ Mariposa

That says it all. It I clear the Trinidadians do not think we can walk and chew gum. As I have said before, Barbados is a failed state. Our Executives have failed; our lawyers have failed; our administrative system has failed; even our people have failed to raise their voices in protest.
    The keyboard nationalists will emerge from their caves with voices like bears, but all that howling does is to prove the point that our major national problem is incompetence, not corruption.
    We are not as clever as a nation as we think we are and, like an addict, we must first confront our demons before we can move on. I know it is painful, but the truth hurts. An alcoholic may not like the person who sends him for treatment, but in the end that person may turn out to be his best friend.
    Aggression, obscenities, hate, anger, threats may make people feel good about themselves, but all they are doing is feeding the myths of our exceptionalism.
    We are a failed state and it will end in tears.

21. Hal what is dumfounding that barbados is asking the public to stay home and practice social distancing
    However the 35 was released from self quarantine and free to mix amongst the public
    Trinidadian officials are looking past and beyond what measures barbados govt has provided to them for the 35 and rightfully (so) sends their own testing kits to have the 35 tested again
    Would not be surprised if Trinidad asked for the 35 to be once again quarantined to avoid public contact in barbados before their return to Trinidad
    As i said when this humanity policy reared its head on behalf of the 35 it would create more problems for barbados govt than it solve
    In other words a picture of mistrust of barbados govt procedure is being sent by Trinidad govt in an official manner

22. Please tell us how should Barbados government deal with the Trinis stranded in Barbados if TT airport is on lockdown? Should the government hire a SWAT team and parachute the 35 into POS? The Trinis will have their chance to prosecute the matter when they are able to return. The Barbados government made a humanitarian decision, one that compassionate Bajans in the main support.

23. If the 35 were tested to achieve 2 negative results which is required to be released from quarantine do you think it is up to them to be personally responsible like all others living on the island to observe health protocols by observing social distancing etc? Are you aware there is a Trinidad High Commission in Barbados who one expects to come to the group’s assistance?

24. It is all about details to the public not bits and pieces drip by drip
    The press statements by Trinidad National Security outlines further details which are ongoing between govt of barbados and Trinidad which were absent in responses which should have been given to the public
    Once again what i gather from the National security officer is a mistrust of barbados procedure
    Hence the need for them to do their own testing before letting the 35 return
    As for self quarantine that also could be of concern for Trinidad officials

25. Imagine you lot complaining about transparency when under your impotent party’s tenure for 10 years there were less than five, four press conferences held by Prime Minister Stuart. All across the globe governments, developed and developing, are battling to manage the pandemic and every aching moment some of you rise from your beds in covid infected countries and believe the best you can do is to highlight every negative, every mistake instead of balancing it with constructive engagement. The blogmaster has no issue with highlighting errors so that it informs the effort to improve but there is a sense of responsibility that must be present as Barbadians who love the place. Here is a bet, many of you would love to be in Barbados now instead of New York, New Jersey, Ontario, Florida, UK etc.

26. No…the blogmaster job seems to control what comments are made
    Anything that points out govt errors are a no ..no ..comparable to picking berries off a tree and only eating the sweet ones
    All i did was to relate Trinidad opinion on their position on the 35 and u explodes in anger
    Go tek a walk cause yuh losing yuh marbles

27. David

Please tell us how should Barbados government deal with the Trinis stranded in Barbados if TT airport is on lockdown?

Xxccxxxxxxxxxc
    I never said humanatarian approach was not a good one
    However i stated govt should have been firmed and rested on the Constitution to force Trinidad to have them returned
    Now what is begining to unfold seems to be ongoing talks between Trinidad and barbados with Trinidad using a best judgement approach against Barbados before they let the people return
    Mind you barbados test says they are not positive
    Lets say that Trinidad test confirms positive then what we have will be an escalating war of words placed on truth
    A contentious war of words and divison
    All which would have been unnecessary if barbados govt had initially taken a constitutional right to protect the citizens from being barred
    Making decisions that carry the weigh of goverance requires insight of everything involved including consequences across the board

28. Small minds attack what?

All on the blog know that you will use what cognitive measure you have to project a narrow political view even if it conflicts with commonsense or supportive of a country you would have us believe you were born.

Hvae the last word with Spot on!

29. David
    The truth hurts
    Prevention is better than cure
    Saying that i pursue a path of negative conduct against govt speaks to your political belief that govt measures are appropriate at this time and patriotism should become a stronghold by all means necessary

30. “In yesterday press conference when questioning was asked of officials about the return of the 35 no such detail was made known by the barbados officials”

Hmmmmm…..

To use YOUR phrase, “you’re a bold faced liar.”

Carter said arrangements were being made to repatriate the Trinis, but not necessarily by the government of Barbados, because “they are private citizens and citizens of T&T.” As such, any arrangements would have to be made between them, ‘government’ and whatever airline is available to take them home.

31. What is coming through from observation is that the frontline at supermarkets are exposed to compare to health care workers. These are often the low income. It is all the more reason to support the Barbados effort to limit clusters at supermarkets.

32. Life may never get back to normal, says US coronavirus scientist

‘Showstopper’ to halt the global coronavirus disruption will only be an effective vaccine, says Dr Anthony Fauci.

“Normal” life around the world before the coronavirus pandemic struck may never return, the top US scientist tackling the outbreak said.

Dr Anthony Fauci said at a White House press briefing that gradually countries will again “function as a society but … if you want to get to pre-coronavirus, that might not ever happen in the sense that the threat is there”.

“If ‘back to normal’ means acting like there never was a coronavirus problem, I don’t think that’s going to happen until we do have a situation where you can completely protect the population … Ultimately, the showstopper will obviously be a vaccine,” he said.

https://www.aljazeera.com/news/2020/04/life-normal-coronavirus-scientist-200407101112133.html

33. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

Why thank you David for that impassioned plea at 8:08AM!🙃

@Mari is being ridiculous again ..incidentally @Mari check the realities of the LAW and convention between countries and STOP repeating the rather “ignorant” statement that : ‘However i stated govt should have been firmed (sic) and rested (sic) on the Constitution to force Trinidad to have them returned”

Whose constitution are you referring to? How can Bdos enforce a constitutional matter with another sovereign country on a matter related that country’s citizen? What standing do they have and what exactly are they enforcing?

Unless you can speak to a lawyer and provide ANY validity for your remarks then please shut up…you told @David recently that he was showing his slip…you sir are displaying an appalling lack of knowledge…and its definitely more unsightly than a bit of slip!

34. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

I think every person that can think logically and clearly knows already what Dr. Fauci has said. Without a vaccine (or the efficacy of Hydroxocholoquine) we will forever be going into fits and starts of infection and everywhere in the world we will be accessorizing with lovely face masks.

There will be no or limited handshaking, kissing on cheeks or hugging at that simple basic level and much more!

Yes David its crystal clear: life as we know will drastically never be the same unless we find a cure!

35. Artax
    To use YOUR phrase, “you’re a bold faced liar.”

Carter said arrangements were being made to repatriate the Trinis, but not necessarily by the government of Barbados, because “they are private citizens and citizens of T&T.” As such, any arrangements would have to be made between them, ‘government’ and whatever airline is available to take them home.

The problem with u attackers is that you decipher what u want to make your point

In my last comments i said that govt was not open in giving relevant details in the ongoing discussion between The trinidad govt and barbados
    I then posted the details of what Trinidad govt said
    With explanation in my comments as to what details the govt had shared to the people of barbados
    The lies are being laid with your attempt to excuse govt errors and use my comments in a nefarious method to prove me wrong
    Yuh now what! facts are facts sorry if facts make you angry or infuse in your mind ammunition against me
    I will not be distracted
    Reel and come again

36. Attackers what!!!!

You are being dishonest as usual.

You know my comments were in response SPECIFICALLY to your comments re: “In yesterday press conference when questioning was asked of officials about the return of the 35 no such detail was made known by the barbados officials,”…… as quoted above my contribution.

And,as such, based on those comments, I still maintain “you’re a bold faced liar.”

37. @ David who wrote ” Here is a bet, many of you would love to be in Barbados now instead of New York, New Jersey, Ontario, Florida, UK etc.”

The only place I would love to be is Amsterdam.

38. Here is what we know, until a vaccine is found all of use will probably contract COVID 19, just like the flu.

39. Dribbler
    What is your problem and what is your point
    There is nothing hard in understanding the Constitution facts are facts and the Constitution lays out a right of every citizen to freely return to their country no ands if or buts
    Govt of barbados has displayed that effort in its many statements for not closing its borders ( i used this point as reference to Constitutional law)
    Closure does not give any govt a right of refusal to its citizens based on the Constitution
    However govt can choose non entry to vistors if deemed necessary to do so

40. Yes, the Constitution of Trinidad. The stranded Trinis will have to take that up when they return.

41. Here are some stats that should give worry instead than worrying about my comments
    Barbados and Jamaica now tied as having the highest cases
    Jamaica 63 with a pop of 3,000,00
    Barbados 63 with a pop. of287,000
    Go figure

42. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@Mari, my point is that you make absolutely no sense as evidenced by your OWN writings. … I do not question your ability or freedom to opine but rather to stop talking utter STUPIDNESS!

Case in point and these are YOUR own words. “There is nothing hard in understanding the Constitution facts are facts and the Constitution lays out a right of every citizen to freely return to their country no ands if or buts”

Ok, that makes basic sense. But then this unintelligible, nonsequitar of no value or related sense whatever: “Govt of barbados has displayed that effort in its many statements for not closing its borders ( i used this point as reference to Constitutional law)”

WHAT does the closing of borders have to do with Bdos forcing TnT to recognize its citizens constitutional right !

Explain that total nonsense of logic. STOP. Breathe … Explain it…Don’t call names, talk stripe or spew BS …in a logical, clear and rational way, citing some relevant details and facts…EXPLAIN IT. How does that work?

As I said I do NOT deny your opinion to mouth off but I certainly get upset at the level of stupidness you spew ….so get serious and explain your potpourri of words!

And while you are at it explain this – as the doc often says – word salad : “Closure does not give any govt a right of refusal to its citizens based on the Constitution…However govt can choose non entry to vistors if deemed necessary to do so”

Govt’s can ‘trample’ constitutional rights under the decree of “national emergencies/nat security threats” …they can restrict their citizens right to congregate, freedom of expression or in this case return to their country of birth!

I am NOT saying its just or right …but on its face its the freaking LAW as decreed….. do you READ and understand the LAW fella. Do you UNDERSTAND what a decree citing A NATIONAL SECURITY threat even implies! As i said ASK a constitutional lawyer friend before you just talk BS…I’m sure you have lots of them around and about you!

If I am wrong I will apologize and STFU if I’m not..maybe you can!

You do yourself an injustice with your stupid statements… you make yourself look very, very UNINFORMED!

43. Dribbler as usual u pontificate with your own reasoning i follow law or facts
    However cant say any more to u when u continue to force your points against Dr GP comments a person knowledgeable in the medical field
    Even yesterday you put your two cents worth of arguments when u did not listen to the press conference
    The constitution does not hinge on feelings but rights
    That is a point where u must first start before banging your head against a political wall
    Not Really listening to much of what u say
    Just scroll by

44. Now govt trying to play catch up after dropping the ball

Just heard on the radio:

The Ministry of Health is asking persons who have arrived from the USA or UK between March 15 and March 22 to contact them at 832-6171.

45. Day 1 on line orders

Good day,

Channell and Trimart Supermarkets has received close to 3000 queries, comments and orders. At this time orders are closed until further notice.

We ask that you cease contacting our 280-FOOD line so that we may process those of our society who are most vulnerable. As communicated directly to you, our individual stores will be in contact with you regarding specific pick-up dates and times for orders already submitted.

Please note that a number of supermarkets are still accepting orders.

Thank you!

Sincerely,
    The Team at Channell and Trimart Supermarkets

46. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@Mari, this is my last remarks to you because I am trending to call you a “blasted liar” as others have and I absolutely will not allow a charlatan like you to inflame me.

What am I pontificating about. I asked YOU to validate your inaccurate post on the constitutional law. YOU CANNOT!

Steeupse..Doc GP has nothing to do with this ..it is not about any medicine or scientific dispute.. my reference to him was simply to a phrase he uses i.e. word salad!

You said: “…yesterday you put your two cents worth of arguments when u did not listen to the press conference” …

…this is where that anger to call you a liar erupted.. I SPECIFICALLY said yday that I choose NOT to listen to the presser but choose instead to get the details AFTERWARDS which I did. I was FULLY AWARE of what was proposed and my remarks reflected that. WHY DO YOU NEED DELIBERATELY LIE to make your disingenuous points.

Do you train your minor relatives in that modus too!…Lies, disinformation, and BS. SMH!

Look guy your behaviour here shows me that if you are an example of the future of the DLP that they are freaking doomed.

You can’t explain simple aspects of law and governance nor take time to write intelligible sentences but on here all day talking loads of blasted stripe! Folly.

47. @ Mariposa

Are you an expert on constitutional law? Many of our lawyers are not even familiar with constitutionalism. You must not allow people to close you down. You have a right to a point of view. It is bullying. They do not have to agree with you, but just look at the adjectives used to described your contributions; these can only come from some deep, dark, bitter place. This is the language of Fascism.
    I call it the Bajan Condition. It is cultural. If you were a black smith, or a seamstress, or nurse, and came on BU talking about your trade, the predators will still jump at you. Look @GP and @Robert Lucas. It is a Bajan spectator sport.

48. Already the online orders have read maximum
    Another point which might have been over look by govt
    Day 1 might send home the point that putting paper to pen is not reality but theories which must involve human way of thinking

Leave a Reply to GPCancel reply