Acting Prime Minister Santia Bradshaw just declared in a national address that 45 positive cases have been identified infected with COVID 19.

407 responses to “Barbados NOW on LOCKDOWN”

1. BUT HOW can Barbados challenge trini on constitunal grounds?

2. What we really need now is a scapegoat, somebody responsible. It is possible that the Chinese brought the virus to the island last December.

All Barbadians should therefore be reminded that the DLP government has signed numerous agreements with China from 2008 on, for example a visa agreement. The DLP has also opened an embassy in China. Sandyman was its first ambassador.

So the people have a lot of questions to ask the DLP. Is Sandyman now in quarantine or is he still walking around freely on the island?

3. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@John A April 2, 2020 11:18 AM
    Tourism is dead. Kaput. Fini. It’s pushing up daisies. Of course remnants of it will hang about for decades; after all there are still people who make their living rearing horses, but the horse based economy is long gone.

Technology means that the post covid economy can still cater to the global market, but our products then should be biased toward intellectual property.

4. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@NorthernObserver April 2, 2020 11:23 AM
    I do include myself among those inclined to be traitors to their generation. The change in pronoun was because I expect to find more fellow travellers among the traitors to generation than I do among traitors to class.

5. @ peterlawrencethompson April 2, 2020 11:51 AM

Your analysis on tourism is certainly correct for the next few years. I’m sure you agree with me that Barbadians must prepare themselves for a massive loss of prosperity. We need donkey carts, not SUVs.We should be happy if in 2030 we reach the level of the Sinckler years, which were already not rosy. Also bear in mind that we are currently in an IMF programme and have no more reserves.

My questions are this:
    1) Who is selling this message to the public?
    2) Who should bear the responsibility?

6. ohn2April 2, 2020 11:49 AM

BUT HOW can Barbados challenge trini on constitunal grounds?

Just stepout of the debate
    and stop using your feelings to drive the issue
    Stupid question

7. @PLT

I would say yes and also concentrate on the needs of the domestic market more in terms of import substitution.

On tourism I would say that although some tourism will return in the medium term, the levels of occupancy we are accustom to will not be there. The one horse economy therefore needs to be urgently addressed.

8. that you cannot answer

here is you chance to teach BU family some constitutional law.

or avoid answer because it the height of stupidity coming from your finget tips

9. @ PLT
    @John A

If tourism is dead, what are we going to do about the hotel corridor t hat underpins BERT? Is that dead too?

10. More than 1,000 in US die in a single day from coronavirus, doubling the worst daily death toll of the flu

The U.S. topped 1,000 coronavirus deaths in a single day for the first time Wednesday, a daily death toll more than double that of two of America’s most deadly illnesses – lung cancer and the flu.

Death counts from the virus are difficult to keep up to date, but the Johns Hopkins coronavirus database – whose sources include the World Health Organization, the U.S. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, the European CDC and the National Health Commission of China – shows that the U.S. hit 1,040 cases Wednesday at 10:25 p.m. ET. Since the virus’ first appearance in the U.S. in late January, 5,116 people have died and more than 215,000 have been infected.

The previous high mark for a single day in the U.S. was Tuesday, with 504 deaths.

https://www.yahoo.com/news/more-1-000-u-die-023618568.html

11. @John2
    Here is an easy assignment
    Go tell Mia that the people in ST . John had dry taps for many weeks and the people need the water to wash their hands so not to spread the virus
    .cant waste any more time trying to schooled u on basic constitutional law

12. Yikes….Prohibition hits Barbados!!! The sale of alcohol prohibited!!!
    How I gine sterilize muh hands, lol?? Can’t even now enjoy my ‘nightcap’ to get relaxed & fall sleep!
    Beaches closed…… where will I get my early morning exercise to build up muh immune system to fight-off the Virus when I catch it? Yes… sooner or later, we all will ‘get it’… like the flu…. so we gotta build-up the body to fight it off until a vaccine is found.

Ta ken in order presented –

Water trucks should be coming around. Try easy listening music. Try dancing to invigorating music.
    And finally I have not ‘caught the flu’ or a cold for nearly forty years and my son is sixteen and I cannot remember ever having that problem. Come to think of it, can’t remember seeing my mother or father with such either and my brother says he has a cold but his symptoms are more like allergies left untreated.

A little late for early morning exercise but try this –

https://youtu.be/9EcjWd-O4jI?list=RD9EcjWd-O4jI

13. @ Hal

For something to be dead it would of had to been alive first. The only evidence I have of a hotel corridor being a reality, is a duty free $300,000 Mercedes a fellow driving around as the marketing manager of a hotel that don’t exist.

The financial position cruise ships and hotels are in now does not put them in the eyes of bankers as being safe investments.

14. Pick your level of difficulty!

https://youtu.be/K8ufGekeQks

15. NorthernObserver Avatar

@plt
    your words were timely…..in these days of self isolation, we have a daily video conference with my three children. On Sunday, the topic became how I was dealing with tenants at my rental properties. The two who rent themselves, being the most interested. The conversation transitioned to those two, accusing their other sibling of being a traitor to their generation. The difference being money, that sibling is the rebel, who sold his operation to a FANG outfit. I appreciate your use of ‘their’ was different, but the concept was timely. And it carried me back, to as a younger boy, listening to my father admonish my grandfather, for certain decisions taken. And in some cases, later life discussions I would have with my father.
    What is common to all, is the underlying issue of financial resources, and how they are earned, spent and distributed within society.

16. Here’s some help for you!

https://youtu.be/bgOybXkJpdU

17. john2 April 2 2020 10:47 AM #: “Walk me through the process because I am totally lost. which court were we supposed to file the original claim? Barbados, Trinidad or CCJ and how long do you think it would take for the case to be heard and completed?”

@ john2

Her comments aroused my curiosity as well. That’s why I asked similar questions and for her to explain the process to which she’s referring.

The level of hypocrisy exhibited on BU is, more often than not, ‘mind boggling.’ On one hand, we have some people who are keen on seeing Caribbean integration become a reality….. a united Caribbean, one currency, one central bank….. a single market economy, how we can’t face global issues as a divided region, etc.

Then. on the other hand, the same wise people are condemning the ‘government’ for providing refuge to citizens of a fellow CARICOM state that were denied entry into their country, due to unfortunate circumstances.

We can argue about the legality or illegality of the T&T government’s decision; if it was unconstitutional or infringed the 35 Trini’s constitutional rights. But, in the meantime, if the issue is taken to a local Court, CCJ or CARICOM, what would have been the fate of these 35 Trinis. Where would they be residing while this “fight” is going on?

The resident pantomath suggested ‘government’ “should have returned them to the previous port of embarkation and on the plane they arrived on.” Instead, as usual, we started playing social workers to the world.”

My question is, are the UK authorities OBLIGATED to ACCEPT them?

If so, perhaps he may want to refer the forum to any laws that obligates them to do so. If not, then, contributors could likewise opine he made “an unsubstantiated statement, and expect people to follow it as truth.” However, it’s just a matter of his opinion, which he has a right to express. But, contributors also have a right to dismiss those opinions and offer reasons why……. if they choose to do so.

Additionally, in my opinion, saying Barbados is “playing social workers to the world” is perhaps an unfortunate statement. And, I ‘say’ this from the point of view that, in the event of Barbados being confronted by an unfortunate situation, whether it be natural, man made or other wise, we would similarly desire some level of assistance from our Caribbean neighbours.

If they refuse, would he ADMONISH them for NOT RENDERING any ASSISTANCE to us in out time of need?

If I were to follow that logic, then, is he implying the Barbados ‘government’ and private sector rendering assistance, for example, to the hurricane ravished Bahamian Abaco Islands, is “playing social worker to the world?”

But as is usual with him, if one does not bow down to him and accept whatever he ‘say’ is right and challenge his positions, rather than discuss, he immediately takes offence and unleashes a tirade of pejorative remarks, while accusing them of Googling and learning by rote.

18. @ Tron April 2, 2020 1:02 AM
    “The closure of Cin-Cin was a genius move. The owners obviously anticipated the Chinese bioattack.”
    ++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

How about the constant call made by you for the ‘cutting-down-to-size’ of the Bajan Civil Service overgrown with the highly-paid unproductive mandarins behaving like parasites sucking on the mangy dog called the Bajan economy?

Should we now describe you as the BU seer predicting the restructuring of the Bajan economy without divine interference?

Would you agree that Covid is about to do what you have been preaching- like the prophet Jeremiah of old- needed to be performed through radical but life-saving invasive surgery?

We shall soon see, DV, if your beloved leader is that dictatorially progressive enough as to impose a 30% reduction on all emoluments and benefits (including pensions and transfers) paid from the Treasury aka taxpayers’ pockets?

For there is absolutely no way- while looking through any prism of foresight and wisdom- that Barbados can continue with the current welfare state especially the lavish feeding of the thousands of public sector hangers-on (and the supernumerary of managerial misfits) while those in the contracting productive private sector and the main source of taxation have to cut and contrive to barely survive with many having to suck salt as a result of losing their livelihood.

The public sector is now faced with the most nationalistic of questions of this Covid time and its aftermath:

‘Ask not what the emaciated taxpayers can give you to maintain your sweet life of an overly-fattened pig but how much cutting back in your opulent lifestyle are you prepared to make to avoid the full effects of the Passover called Covid’.

Would Bim be forced to make the Hobson’s choice of a ‘voluntary’ cutback to reflect the pending times or be forced to live within its means by way of a visit by the other dreaded imported virus called ‘Devaluation’?

Why can’t the political class for once show an iota of leadership skills by setting the example of sacrifice to save the nation called Barbados by turning those statesmanship words of survival into a motto of reality to reflect real ‘Pride & Industry’?

Are you, Tron, prepared to ascribe the following clarion call to arms to fight for national salvation of goddess Bim to your Bajan Joan of Ark the heroine MAM?

“Never in the {Bajan} field of human conflict was so much owed by so many to so few!”

19. Shenzhen becomes first Chinese city to ban eating cats and dogs

Shenzhen has become the first Chinese city to ban the sale and consumption of dog and cat meat.

It comes after the coronavirus outbreak was linked to wildlife meat, prompting Chinese authorities to ban the trade and consumption of wild animals.

Shenzhen went a step further, extending the ban to dogs and cats. The new law will come into force on 1 May.

Thirty million dogs a year are killed across Asia for meat, says Humane Society International (HSI).

https://www.yahoo.com/news/shenzhen-becomes-first-chinese-city-080241333.html

20. @ac

The AG admitted that the Barbados government could have sent the Trinis back to London their last port of board. Barbados accepted the group on humanitarian considerations. You may disagree with the decision, next.

All across the world and the service based economies of the Caribbean conversations are being had regarding the need to recalibrate economies. This is a time to have relevant discussions about new economic policy. The ignorance of the past is just that, the past.

21. DavidApril 2, 2020 1:02 PM

The AG admitted that the Barbados government could have sent the Trinis back to London their last port of board. Barbados accepted the group on humanitarian considerations. You may disagree with the decision, next
    ccccccccccc cccc

Why would the AG choose to send the 35 back to london instead of their place of birth
    Is the AG insinuating that the Triinis had no constitutional rights to their homeland
    Kinda of twisted logic on choosing to send them back to another place other than their homeland
    As i said govt took the easy way and less confrontational decision
    A decision which sets precedent for countries to deny citizens entry into their homeland in times of crisis
    Mark my word such decision would bite barbados in the arse

22. Individuals, companies and governments make humanitarian decisions every day. These types of decisions will be criticized or supported based on a perspective.

23. Some things do defy logic
    Words like ” if barbados was in a similar situation”
    Duh all countries are in the same boat
    No one says that under humantarian grounds barbados was not to let them in
    The focus goes beyond humanity and whether barbados could have pursue another choice by way of challenging Trinidad constitution where its law provides a right to entry for its citizens
    Nothing in Trinidad law states with exceptions

24. DavidApril 2, 2020 1:26 PM

Individuals, companies and governments make humanitarian decisions every day. These types of decisions will be criticized or supported based on a perspective.

Sometimes a little crticism is better than towing the line

Just observing

25. @ Northern

The wealth of the world will be hit hard and no one owning any asset will escape.

For instance let’s say you own a home now with a land tax value of say $1million. If you had to put it on the market today what would you get for it if indeed you could even get it sold? So if that house is your main asset what are you truly worth today?

My question is where companies and people have their worth tied up in what they see as tangible what truly is their worth? For those retired or retiring who incidentally make up a large part of our tourist base.

This situation is way deeper than many realise.

26. @ Baje

While we are at it, let us also ban eating pig meat.

27. NorthernObserver Avatar

all one need know is….. if anything relates to the BLP or anyone you believe is associated with it, you criticize…..if anything relates to the DLP or anyone you believe is associated with it, you tow the line.

here endeth today’s lesson.

28. you mean not even you can explain the shite that does come out you head and through your finger tips.

poor excuse keep switching and trying to divert.

29. RE: “The focus goes beyond humanity and whether barbados could have pursue another choice by way of challenging Trinidad constitution where its law provides a right to entry for its citizens.”

Some statements “defy logic” as well, as is evidenced by the above comment.

Wouldn’t it the right of the Trinis to challenge their country’s constitution or are you suggesting Barbados should have done so on their (Trinis) behalf?

If it is the latter, perhaps you may want to explain to the forum, how Barbados could challenge Trinidad’s constitution of behalf of Trinidadians?

What would be Barbados’ legal arguments?

Since you implied you’re versed in constitutional law, could you please refer the forum to cases similar in nature that were filed in any Court?

You’ve also been arguing about the Trinis being allowed entry into Barbados would incur a cost at the expense to Bajan taxpayer.

Let’s assume, for argument’s sake, Barbados could challenge TT constitution. Are you aware what legal expenses taxpayers would incur as a result of the Court case, including upkeep of the Trinis for the duration of the trial?

Am I the only contributor that believe you’re making up things as you go, just to make things interesting?

30. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

“Tourism is dead. Kaput. Fini. It’s pushing up daisies.”

long may it STAY DEAD……there are many, many better ways to be founs…sin corruption…

……let the shite leaders use their few brain cells for a change, there are those willing to help them…FOR FREE…without all the yardfowlism…..and their hangerson.

31. Northern April 2, 2020 1:48 PM

all one need know is….. if anything relates to the BLP or anyone you believe is associated with it, you criticize…..if anything relates to the DLP or anyone you believe is associated with it, you tow the line.

here endeth today’s lesson.

xxxccc_xccccccccv

Ammm the dlp is not the captain of barbados ship so there is nothing wherby to critize the dlp
    Why u feeling sad or hurt by my criticism of present govt
    Do blame me cause present govt has given enough to be criticised

32. Wait I hear what the acting PM say correct? 24 hour curfew including all supermarkets closed to the 14th. That is not a good move. No where in the world have people been blocked from accessing food from supermarkets!

33. Look i done with the back and forth
    I have clearly stated what i belive barbados position should have been foremost
    I stand by my comments not gonna change previous or present comments

Let’s assume, for argument’s sake, Barbados could challenge TT constitution. Are you aware what legal expenses taxpayers would incur as a result of the Court case, including upkeep of the Trinis for the duration of the trial?

Artax
    There is no assumption the law is the law and laws can be challenged
    Laws which are written to be constituionally binding by law makers in govt should not be given a free pass under no circumstance or excuse
    Trinidad law like any other law which is binding and provides a right to its citizen cannot be changed because of a feeling or because of one circumstance or another
    Govt expense in seeking a privilege of right for a citizen should be of less importance than doing what is constituionally right for an individual

34. @ John A

Village shops are allowed to be opened, but are prohibited from selling alcoholic beverages.

Grenada implemented a similar policy a few weeks ago..

35. @ Miller April 2, 2020 12:44 PM

Frankly, I’m not happy that predictions are coming true.

However, Barbados must choose between the USA or China in the future. If we maintain the visa agreement with China, we risk catching an even deadlier virus in the future. It is possible that the virus has already landed on the island for the Chinese New Year.

When the pandemic ends, the western states will hold a court of inquiry. We cannot then pretend that none of this concerns us. Our main market is Great Britain. We should therefore opt for the Western Medical Defence Alliance, a sort of medical NATO.

36. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ John A at 2:05 PM

Be careful what you asked for,because you may get it..
    I ,however, agree with you that closing the supermarkets is a bad move ;but that is where the social distance rules were being ignored. I saw that for myself yesterday. I think that it is too drastic a decision. Some may starve and it may lead to unrest. Lets see how it unfolds.

Decisions can be reversed.

37. Notice that the epicenter in New york is Queens where there is a large jewish community who are running away from the ravages and looking for a place of refuge

Just observing

38. @ Artax

Our population is bigger than Grenada though and a large portion is in St Michael a dense parish. Also if we couldn’t control a curfew how will we manage a shut down? NO where in Europe or the USA were people denied access to food from supermarkets. Also how much inventory can a village shop carry?

Till this I thought the government were handling this issue quite well, with this decision I now give them a F- if such a grade exist. One of the fundamental aspects of a peaceful society is access to food and water.

Can you imagine the panic buying today and tomorrow now? How many will be infected as a result of this nonsensical decision which will lead to mass chaos.

It would appear it is the government that is now in full panic mode and by extension taking the population with them.

39. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

“Am I the only contributor that believe you’re making up things as you go, just to make things interesting”

No you aren’t! His/her argument on the TnT issue was simply what the Blogmaster calls posting envy: the need to write something!

The comments were devoid of reason or legal sense.

What actual standing as you asked would Bdos have to take TnT to court on a constitutional dispute between a Trini and its own govt!

Wouldn’t the CCJ dismiss such a case out of hand!

Barbados could have easily sent the plane back to England and THERE the Brits could have surely sued TnT for all costs to keep the Trinis who were refused entry into their own nation…

40. “From 6 p.m. on April 3, 2020 all government ministries, departments and statutory corporations will close until 6 a.m. on April 15, 2020. Only those public services designated as essential services will be open from 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. and only those employees deemed to be essential may go to the office. All other staff shall remain at home. The list of public services will be published by the Barbados Government Information Service.”

This kind of lockdown does not affect us at all. Since public service is already in permanent lazy mode and now goes into lockdown, it doesn’t really matter. Zero remains zero with or without lockdown.

41. two weeks?
    john a now you turning the fearmonger? man bajan can survive two week on what they got now or share from their neighbor if they run out. bake and saltfish and lemonade.
    now they have to use they skill and will start to appreciate growing their own food.

42. @ Vincent

The logistics of this has not been thought through. This is a government acting in fear and panic not a government showing control and common sense. Let’s examine the reality of this approach.

How many whole chickens you think Massy Warrens have in stock at any one time? If you take the cumulative total of all the small shops in a 1 mile radius of Massy how much you would think they have?

What portion of Massy sales are done by credit card or cheque? Can the small shops facilitate such sales? All this will now do is place a run on the ATMs island wide by those who have cash. For the majority who live pay cheque to pay cheque and get through on a credit card inbetween, well I guess they will now have to eat grass.

43. How come barbados govt still accepting flights from hot spots like Miami.. london france..spain..and closer to home Antigua which landed a few moments ago
    Also of interest is a late night flight from miami into barbados when the country curfew is already in place

44. still trying to figure this constitution thing.

So it a usa citizen right to bare arms. ok
    so he come to Barbados and get a gun. he got legal right to carry it in Barbados?

or it is a bajan constitution rights to join any union of their choice. can the Barbados government challenge the usa government on behalf of a bajan to alow the bajan to join a specific union?

the bajan government cant challenge another country on behalf of a bajan whose (Barbados) constitutional rights are being trampled.
    But it can challenge another country (trini) because it is trampling the 35 trini in Barbados constitution rights

SPOT ON !!

45. @ John 2

No look at the reality. Many people have lost their jobs or at home. Many small businesses have not been paid because their customers have closed as they were not in the approved list. As a result cash is in short supply with these people and the small shops work on cash only. How many small shops say in black rock you think it would take to handle the closure of Carlton supply wise? Answer is more than they have. All This is going to do is create panic and exposure to the same virus they are trying to avoid.

We have a defence force why couldn’t we use them to ensure personal space is maintained outside the supermarkets? If that was done and the amount allowed inside limited all would of been well.

The way this was handled is poor. We had a release last night from the acting PM saying supermarkets and drug stores will remain open and then less then 12 hours later all are to be closed for 14 days.

Does the acting PM know that even before the virus many people could not buy a week’s groceries at a time? How will some of these said people without a job now therefore be able to buy 2 weeks of groceries?

Sorry dem getting a big F- from me. In Venezuela they had open supermarkets and no food. Here we got full supermarkets and the doors close. End result is the same wunna blocking people’s access to food!

46. Dribbler if u do not understand Constituional law u ought to remain silent instead of allowing your feelings to draw some kind of attention to your nonsensical criticism of my comments
    Bottom line i stated my comments on Constitutional grounds which gave barbados a right to challenge Trinidad crisis/ immigration policy of denying its citizens a right of entry
    A right given to them under Trinidad Constitution
    But u wanting to be heard chimes in with your two cents worth of noithingness to support people who might have never read Trinidad constitution
    Steupse

47. The logistics of this has not been thought through. This is a government acting in fear and panic not a government showing control and common sense. Let’s examine the reality of this approach.

How many whole chickens you think Massy Warrens have in stock at any one time? If you take the cumulative total of all the small shops in a 1 mile radius of Massy how much you would think they have?

What portion of Massy sales are done by credit card or cheque? Can the small shops facilitate such sales? All this will now do is place a run on the ATMs island wide by those who have cash. For the majority who live pay cheque to pay cheque and get through on a credit card inbetween, well I guess they will now have to eat grass.

xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

MIA CARES

WATCH MUH AND GIVE ME THE VOTE

48. @John A

We are operating in unprecedented times. The Prime Minster (ag) said the supermarket thing will be reviewed if and when required. We all canagree that supermarkets probably represent the biggest risk spot for covid 19 based on observations, based on Barbadians unwilling to stay the f*@K from the supermarket. Let us give the thing a chance to work. Eat some bakes and drink some swank, let us arrest the Rh virus!

49. @ John A

You got to be careful that under the guise of the pandemic you do not kill off small shops. The pandemic must not be used as a weapon in the battle for capitalism any more than it is. We already have a massive fiscal deficit on the public balance sheet. When this crisis is over, and it will, there will be a huge demand, and the drive will be for it to be funded by the public sector, as in Japan, the UK and the US. We must keep our eyes on the ball.
    By the way we hear a lot about the UWI mathematical model that government is working to. Why can’t they publish the model In the US and UK the models are public property. In the UK we have a dominant model from Imperial College, and a competing one from Oxford.; both are in the public domain.
    The president told us a similar story in her three-hour long waffle, about modelling for a fall in tourism; we are yet to see that model.
    But secret Barbados is different. Nonsense.
    It is easier to shout abuse than it is to discuss reality.

Leave a Reply to de pedantic DribblerCancel reply