Submitted by Charles Knights

When I was a little boy, about five or six years old in Barbados, to be precise in Brittons Hill. My mother took me to Bridgetown for window shopping at Christmas.

In a shop window at Cave Shepherd I saw a small wooden flute priced at just a couple dollars and was much taken to it.

As my mother and I boarded the bus (the old style open ones) on our way home I continued to pester my mother about how much I wanted the flute.

I kept annoying her and went on and on. Later in the evening with no respite. She grabbed me by the wrist and took me out the back door.

She angrily pointed to the moon and said: “young man that is the moon and if I could give it to you I would but there a some things I just cannot afford.”

I never mentioned that flute again.

I knew my mother was angry because she had gripped my wrist so tightly. There was a lesson I learned at a tender age in Barbados and it has served me well throughout my life.

In life there are some things you cannot “afford” despite the temptations forget them and move on.

If you can be anything be kind.

197 responses to “The Little Boy And The Flute”

1. @NO

Was only a casual fan but Venice was king in Trinidad, while Chally ruled in Barbados (where he had better horses)

2. William Skinner Avatar

Jones did not “ win” any spotlight. Their fans were even and the rivalry was one of the greatest of all local and perhaps regional sports. Far from stealing the spotlight , most race fans will tell you that Chally ruled until Venice came on the scene. Venice came at the right time and attracted many youngsters who looked like him to the sport of kings. Your comment is absolutely wrong!
    Obviously you are no race fan. They were equally good at their craft . Venice brought both charisma and skills.
    You may have the last word.

3. @ William

Was there a jockey called Holder and another called Joy Whitaker?

4. NorthernObserver Avatar

@HA
    there were several Holders over time and yes Whittaker was a jockey. Sonny Holder was likely of your vintage, while Stephen and others came after

5. Sonny Holder was the man. There was another jockey called Wilkinson, and one called Warner. I also remember some of the horses: Leroy was a champion, were was the man.

6. @William

You realize it is an opinion to which all are entitled?

7. Pray tell how does a story about a flute turn into a story of jockeys and horses
    What am i missing here

8. William Skinner Avatar

@ Hal
    Sonny Holder was considered one of the best jockeys of his era. His son (Steven) followed and was also pretty good until he gave up riding. Yes, Joy Whittaker was also a very popular jockey and we also had Johnny Bell. All of them had their followers and to this day horse racing fans still talk about them. Venice came along and it went to a new level. The rivalry between Chally Jones and Venice is the stuff made of legend. Venice influenced the next few generations of jockeys. Chally also had his followers and these two sportsmen were incredible to watch.
    Very few events captured the essence of our country like horse racing did back then.

9. NorthernObserver Avatar

@Sarge
    Chally was stable jockey for the Chandlers, hence he ruled as long as the Chandlers ruled. VR was well supported by Colt Durant and Joe Hadeed, hence why he did well in T&T. The numbers suggest they were on par in both places, a solid and entertaining rivalry. And the two were used interchangeably by many others.

10. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

LOL @David the Blogmaster… your “opinion” as @Skinner quite nicely explained is akin to a Kallicharan-Rowe boondoggle.. two master craftsmen who competed head to head often and were quite equally awesome at their craft… who stole that cricket spotlight (the Kensington innings exempted) is an endless non-debate really, as any Richard-Jones one is!

I was a mere casual fan but like most youth of that day it was a stirring race day on Saturday when Venice and Chally were up… that Jones supposedly stole the light in Bdos is indeed but one opinion 🙃 !

May the maestro rest peacefully with his Lord!

11. I remember a chap named Goddard who was a big racing fan don’t know if he is the same Mike Goddard who subsequently covered it for one of the daily papers if so could he could probably give a definitive story of the Jones/Richards rivalry.

12. William Skinner Avatar

@ de pedantic Dribbler

I was a mere casual fan but like most youth of that day it was a stirring race day on Saturday when Venice and Chally were up… that Jones supposedly stole the light in Bdos is indeed but one opinion 🙃 !”
    Well put.

13. @Dee Word

It is why Messi has his fans and CR7 has his fans which does not question both being great. The blogmaster was a Chally Jones fan.

14. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@Skinner, re “Very few events captured the essence of our country like horse racing did back then.”

That may be quite accurate (for lots of generational era reasons) but I’ll say this … there was a period back there were cycling at the stadium’s relatively new velodrome with guys outta France like Daniel Morlon(?) and others were as stirring as a Garrison Saturday race day!

Or rather let me say that as I sit here now and reflect on that electrifying atmosphere at the stadium then it still seems as thick and exciting!

An era and life never to be replicated but in every sense our top talent (jockeys and cyclists) have surpassed what those stars achieved back then.

15. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

For accuracy…Daniel Morelon!

16. William Skinner Avatar

@ Sargeant
    You are correct. I think Mike was from the Dayrells Road area, very close to the Garrison Savannah. He was a huge race fan.This opened some doors for him and he started to call the races.He then had a very successful career at VOB.
    Chally was the more rugged of the two and this contrasted beautifully to the more suave Venice. There are very few images that can compete with Venice astride a race horse. It’s like Sir Garry’s walk to the wicket.
    What captivated Venice’s fans was his quiet presence. His elegance and skills were fascinating and the entire Tweeside Road race fans found in him a local hero.
    It was a wonderful rivalry to witness.

17. NorthernObserver Avatar

@DIW
    on cycling true, but they were largely international stars. There was Vasco Welsh, a Roett, Leslie King from T&T, a sprinter whose name I forget…..Pederson and Fredborg, VandeVelde and Portalatin, Lovell, Nicholson the aussie, your Morelon the champion in the match sprint. All international. A very high level of cyclists.

18. NorthernObserver Avatar

“What am i missing here”?
    April Fools? or Covid relief.

19. William Skinner Avatar

“@ de pedantic Dribbler That may be quite accurate (for lots of generational era reasons) but I’ll say this … there was a period back there were cycling at the stadium’s relatively new velodrome with guys outta France like Daniel Morlon(?) and others were as stirring as a Garrison Saturday race day!”

You are absolutely correct. We recall local cycling icons such as Kingsley Reece and Hector Edwards as well. Like you said an era that was”stirring”.

20. Barbados had a good stable of cyclists who competed well with the international stars, Orlando Bates, Hector Edwards, Stanley Smith et al. The glory years.

21. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@Northern, I wasn’t sure is @Mari was serious in his query… or his was indeed an April Fools query.

A blog which starts with “When I was a little boy, about five or six years old in Barbados, to be precise in Brittons Hill. My mother took me to Bridgetown for window shopping at Christmas….”… surely should easily conjure thoughts of nostalgic musings …. and the Barbadiana recollectiins were just that!.

So you are being suitably kind to Messrs Mariposa as indeed the author implored with “If you can be anything be kind.” 🤣!

Thanks to both you and @Skinner for your great memory for names.

22. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

And David the cawmerian Charlie Pile… who lived over there off Pine Road.

23. @Dee Word

You Combermerians!

After the coup in Grenada Barbados benefited from Edward Julian coming over.

24. No one wants to remember Winston Walton always winning on that grey mare Bouncing in Bavaria.

But Venice was the ‘black king’ Richard of the riding stables.

RIP, Pappy V!

25. @NO

The fact that you could rattle off the names of those cyclists tell me that you were more than a casual fan. Leslie King was great in the individual pursuit but like you I can’t remember the name of the Trinidad sprinter think it was Roger. Jocelyn Lovell (who was later paralyzed in a road accident) from Canada was also among the foreign cyclists. Local guys were Kingsley Reece and Hector Edwards. Colin (Tossels) Forde whose son was far more successful was also among the riders.

A common complaint was that the track wasn’t steep enough for some riders who were more accustomed to steep velodromes but it was exciting viewing- a popular race was “Devil take the hindmost” where the last rider in a lap had to drop out.

26. These nostolgic espisodes of oole time jockeys gave me the answer of which i searched
    One which convinces me that all you men are as old as barbados plantations
    Take that as a compliment cause wisdom has some form of value
    Just as much wisdom as in the words God is a bajan
    I aint lying

27. NorthernObserver Avatar

@MTA
    who was the grey mare ‘bouncing in Bavaria’?
    @WS
    Thank you, Kingsley Reece was the name I couldn’t recall.

28. If you do not have anything constructive to add why not go and count your masks and gloves?

29. NorthernObserver Avatar

@Sarge
    Roger? would be Roger Gibbons but methinks he was a little before those mentioned.
    And yes, announcer Stoute repeating that ‘Bulldog Edgehill you are out’ in the Devil race, echoes in my ears. Don’t even know who Bulldog was.

30. William Skinner Avatar

@ Miller
    Yes Sir! Winston Walton was another popular rider as well.
    Thanks for remembering originated from St George, I think.

Old joke:
    Groom from St George, took horse for a sea bath. Groom got in difficulties and the horse saved him from drowning.

31. David u got to be a joker
    Charles wrote an article in which he defines his mother teaching him of the importance between wants and needs and the principle of accepting that everything a person want it is not always possible to get
    Then you are others shows little disregard and no respect for the author input and take it upon selves to position your input jockey style right on the top of the writers words
    Then u have nerve to tell me to count mask
    Dont mek me laff
    Such disrepect and u telling me to count mask that is stuck in yuh throat
    What a belly laugh

32. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@David, you obviously mistake me for someone else 🤣… but that apart…and not that I want to take the blog even further away from @Mari’s moorings.. I recall Julian coming to Bim yes, and causing lots of fellas to get horn by their women and playing for Wanderers (and then Bim) and all that … but in truth did he go to school at Waterford as you are suggesting?

I don’t remember that atall!

33. My neighbour was a boat maker his craft was astounding
    Many a day my friends and i would enjoy the luxury of hopping in and out of those boys on dry dock
    After many years of life on the island he went to England to reside
    I take heart to those days as being nostalgic and richly rewarding as time goes by
    Yes at times i yearned for those yesteryears when people were very accommodating and thinking one was poor was an after thought as long as the village spirit was alive and well
    Come to think of present hard to find the same kind of community spirit in todays modern world
    Technolgy and a sense of being independent is commonly known and accepted as the new norm
    Discipline a long forgotten word replaced with what Johnny or Mary wants they must gey no matter how much disrespect is shown

34. @ NorthernObserver April 1, 2020 6:15 PM

“Bouncing in Bavaria” (if the old memory is still intact) was the name of the grey horse (or equine albino lol!!) which W W used to mount, like a regular riding ‘john’, as his favourite lady in the last outing on the racing-day card.

35. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@Mariposa, seize snd settle… this is a musing discussion like ALL others on BU and like any chatter among ‘friends’: it goes where the chatters take it… cut the false BS.

And more to the point @Northern RESPECTFULLY spoke of the desth of a famous Barbaian Venice Richards and the remarks then again respectfully gave that man a moment of our reflection…are you really so dense NOT to understand the simple humility of that.

Come on bro..show some Bajan courtesy at some time nah!

36. Dee Word

Some people on the blog feel insulted if they are unable to constrinute, so large is theor online ego.

37. Amm not too intelligent so my ego is the size of a mustard seed
    But yuh got to hand it to you David after yesterday buschwacking by Mariposa on govt uh have seized an opportunity to hide under the book covers of an article which was directed and guided with moral and ethical positions
    Could it be any port for a storm for u even if it means rearranging the deck chairs to fit your style

38. Do remember my mother being a stickler for church and Sunday school both a must
    Missing church on Sunday and 3o’clock sunday school in the afternoon was a No no
    A must whether it rain or sun i remember a couple times when the down pours were very heavy and having to miss Sunday School.and the Rev when next he saw me asked if i was salt and my answer was No i was never married to Lot
    In my usual style i thought the remarked was funny but he thought different when i got home i told my mother and silly me thinking she would laugh was in for the surprise of my life
    Needless to say when i saw that Rev following week i simply humble myself and show respect
    Respect in todays society is badly missing in the youth as well as amongst the adults
    Sometimes it is hard to differentiate adult from youth and to tell who is in charge of the household
    Take for example on this page today a group of gran paps took upon themselves to squeeze their two cents worth of horse raising into an article defined with moral and ethical principles
    Then all wonder why the youth “so”
    Well the answer is as easy as abc no respect

39. “Jones did not “ win” any spotlight. Their fans were even and the rivalry was one of the greatest of all local and perhaps regional sports.”

“The rivalry between Chally Jones and Venice is the stuff made of legend. Venice influenced the next few generations of jockeys. Chally also had his followers and these two sportsmen were incredible to watch.”

@ Mr. Skinner

Excellent comments!!!

As a avid horse racing fan from school days and having heard about and seen the rivalry between Jones and Richards, even in Trinidad, I have to agree with you. Both men were ‘top jockeys’ and had their followers.

However, I could agree “Chally” won the spotlight here, not because of his complexion, but because “Pappy” spent more time in Trinidad during that island’s racing season….. coming here occasionally for the ‘big races.’

I remember during the late 1970s, early 1980s, the race seasons of both Barbados and Trinidad used to clash, with racing being held either ‘every other’ or on the same Saturday.

‘Every other’ Saturday, Bajan jockeys, including “Chally,” used to travel to TT……. vice versa…… and the rivalry continued there. We would follow the races at Federal Bookmakers. If races were held on the same Saturday, we would take a radio to the Garrison to tune into TT, because as soon as a race ended here, one began there. When TT was on season break, “Pappy” and several other TT jockeys would come here. Obviously, as a top jockey, “Pappy” would ‘get the good horses.”

40. William Skinner Avatar

@ Artax
    I remember the older guys going down to Trinidad for Boxing Day as well .They used to return with nothing but praise for the Trini hospitality.
    Many may not understand but the Garrison provided employment for a fairly big catchment area. Also, many grooms lived on the premises and this would have given a little ease from over crowding in some homes.
    Being a groom was quite interesting and they used to be relied upon by the pundits. A top groom was as important as a top trainer or jockey.
    Race horses are quite stately animals. On a lighter note: a friend of mine when seeing an attractive lady will refer to her as Blueprint. One of the most beautiful horses ever.
    As for jockeys, who can forget Byron Clarke hand riding Blue Sails…..,,not to mention Chally and Volata and then came Venice and Benthom and the rest is history.

You are right on target with that fascinating Trini/Bajan connection.

41. Sunday afternoon was a favourite my friends and i took bicycle rides along bay street to the garrison
    It was during a time when bicycles were popular and if you were lucky enough to own one well of course you were called “rich” never mind it took a very long time before i had one
    Be that as it may i felt rich and lucky and very appreciative
    Sunday afternoon was the one day allowed for me and my friends to ride the bikes since the streets were much quiter
    Those bikes felt special as they gave me the time and freedom to do whatever my little heart desire with duty and respect to my mother
    Anyhow our sunday ride would take us to the garrison where we delight in sliding up and down the backs of the cannons and going for short walks close by the horses paddocks to get a glimpse of the horses and if a grommer was around to get to pat the horse on the head or rub the nose
    My memories of those Sundays are etched freshly in my mind and i often think of those times as refreshing and clean and filled with innocent a word very much missing in the lives of children today

42. Seems like the horses threw wunna jockeys backside to the ground
    Wunna got very quite

43. PERSPECTIVES

I don’t have the time or energy to reat through all the comments on this topic, which do tend to mature over time, but it is frustrating to me to perceive the total ignorance some contributors have of the lives others live.

“Lord, what am I going to give these children to eat tonight,” I heard the wife of a school-teacher say once, standing in the kitchen of OUR “board and shingles,” dwelling in Green Hill. One early contributor, denounced a mother’s inability to gift her son with a two-dollar flute as “abuse.” That almost got me angry, until I realized that he was obliquely actually BOASTING of his ability to provide for his own, possibly in a different time, a different economic era.

I was TEN years old before my father brought home his first MONTHLY salary of $100 in NINETEEN FIFTY-TWO. That money was all that HER MAJESTY’S GOVERNMENT provided this father of six with to feed his children FOR A MONTH!! $100 divided by 30 days works out to $3.33 per diem. How then could a child of that era ask his mother to purchase a $2.00 flute for him? How could I, hearing that, have asked my mother even for a shilling to buy a bread and two fish cakes from Mary, at lunchtime in Harrison College?

By the time I reached Sixth Form at Harrison College, I had had TWO, nay THREE similar experiences as did the boy with his flute. The third longing was never gratified, as far as I can remember. ONE, was for a model airplalnle being displayed in a Bridgetown store window. I made the mistake of accompanying three more well off boys into town, when they went to buy theirs, for $30, and $32 I recall. “Here, King, there’s one for a dollar, you can buy that,” the youngest Fields boy told me, KINDLY, not recognizing the humiliation his remark was causing. Even $1.00 was way beyong my pay grade, since I was carrying only the sixpence that would take me home in the bus.

TWO: A few years later, however, I was able with my first pay check, after leaving school, to purchase my real heart’s desire. Something I had longed for for most of my school years. It was a glistening Raleigh bicycle, price $100.00, prominently displayed in the showroom of Cave Shepherd on Broad Street. 10 years earlier, that was the totality of my father’s earnings for a month.

THREE: Five years earlier, as a Fourth Former at HC, I was able however, to make another critical purchase, with my saved up earnings as a member of the Barbados Regiment, which met one day a week at the Garrison. I was able to pay for an eye exam, and purchase the spectacles I needed to see the blackboard, which enabled me to pass the exam for Fifth Form, so I could take my GCEs.

I had hidden my developing myopia from my father for more than a year, because I couldn’t see how he could do anything about it. I go into this kind of detail, not to feed my narcissism, since I stll feel a tinge of embarrassment at the telling, but to paint a true picture of the conditions under which some of us labored, and often only made it, through the kindness of strangers, and NOT in spite of our parents’ abuse!! SIR.
    I go int

44. A shilling for a bread and two? Ms Sealy used to charge about 5cents and 10cents for a flour pone. I got 25 cents a day: three cents for the school bus; 10c for a pone and I was rich.
    A boy in my class, Drakes, whose uncle owned the Cosmopolitan bakery in Roebuck St, used to get a 20pound bag of cakes etc every day which he shared out. I got a free lunch and walked home after school. I felt rich.

45. Charles Well said and brought home memories of my childhood
    Even in adulthood there are things which we like but can’t afford but because of our early years of nurturing we learned how to adopt and adjust our feelings of wants vs needs
    Presently being under stay at home orders i came across Flight videos which give you a sense of being on board an airplane and travelling to different parts of the world
    By all accounts i might not be able to travel to most of them
    However the virtual feeling is sufficient to compensate in the past 24hrs
    I have travelled to places like
    Honolulu
    Alaska
    Los angeles
    Is it want i would prefer ?no!
    However a model already built through nurturing have gave me the sense to appreciate

46. @ Hal April 4, 2020 2:28 PM

When I was nine in 1956,I remember walking up Bay St. to the Drill Hall. Miss Sealy used to sell just before one reached the arsenal with the tower. Corned beef cutters were eight cents. She also sold souse cutters, pear cutters and ham cutters. The going rate was eight cents. She also sold egg cutters. I cannot remember anyone getting ill from her wares. She also sold a steamed pudding cutter. Today, the Public Health people would scream blue murder at the fact that time/temperature conditions were being violated. Children of my era had a better developed immune system. We played a lot more and ate all sorts of suspect foods that built up the immune system.. When the school moved to Waterford ,like you, I got twenty five cents for lunch money.. I would buy three currant slices (three cents each and a Russ- something like a big turn-over that had red food dye: that food dye was Red dye#2 which was banned over claims of causing cancer-for four cents) . Every thing was chased down with pipe water. Saved the money to go 9.30 movies on Saturdays or to buy western novels which cost fifty-five cents.

47. @ Charles King April 4, 2020 10:21 AM

Beautiful.

48. @ Robert

I remember well. Miss Sealy, from Carrington Village, should have been made a dame. And she was very Barbadian, in that if the little boys tried to be clever she would tell them off.
    I qualified for free lunch; I cannot remember the woman who was in charge, very elegant and sophisticated (I think it was Ms Maloney), but her number two was Ms Brathwaite. Bust yes, I liked her souse cutters.
    Like you I had never heard of food poisoning. Ms Sealy was as much part of the school as the teachers.

49. William Skinner Avatar

@ Hal
    A boy in my class, Drakes, whose uncle owned the Cosmopolitan bakery in Roebuck St, used to get a 20pound bag of cakes etc every day which he shared out. I got a free lunch and walked home after school. I felt rich.“

I too remember the Cosmopolitan Bakery on Roebuck Street. As Modern boys , we frequented that bakery and were often given free bread. Thanks for bringing back a fond memory.

50. I recalled the many instances when parents would tell their children ” Guh frum muh, wunna want me to tief, wunna want me to go to Nelson street,” The children then went to school and were beaten worst than a run away slave because of their lack of not having the requisite materials to participate at school. In many instances the parent, more so the fathers had money to give to his outside woman for pussy, I’m not about a $2 rass hole tin flute, unfortunately you knuckle heads want to make believe that all was rosy in that Era, it was not. Look here schmucks, Maybe once in my children’s life did I administered ” blows” as was the case in that Era, am I BOASTING as well? On other occasions I went to their school to address some issues with their teachers, no one did it for me, am I BOASTING? I was beating within an inch of my life for riding a home made wooden scooter on the road, I got several bikes for my children so they can enjoy the feel of a bike ride, am I BOASTING? Many summers and springs I dedicated time to take my children to the park, no one did it for me, instead many of us were told “guh frum muh, guh look for something to do.” Am I BOASTING? So, If I said I got my daughters a Trombone and a Trumpet, who the fuck are you little Island people to tell me shit. All of you know the shit we and the generation before us went through, now you schmucks want to make believe we lived in some Utopian Era. I’ve noticed everyone has ignored what i wrote previously about being beating like fools at home and school.What do I expect from little people who handed one party a total majority—no opposition. I shall now like to invite whomever to come kiss my ass. @David the chairman, you can do what you want to do.

Leave a Reply to MariposaCancel reply