Submitted by Alicia Bárcena Ibarra – Executive Secretary of ECLAC (United Nations’ Economic Commission for Latin America and the Caribbean)

Everything seems to be one gigantic mistake. We console ourselves by saying that everything has happened as it should not have happened. But it is we who are mistaken, not history. We must learn to look reality in the face; if necessary, we must invent new words and new ideas for these new realities that are challenging us. Thinking is the first obligation of the intelligentsia, and in certain cases it is the only one.

It is true that history recounts the devastating impact of past pandemics, but none of them broke out in such a populated world (with more than 7.7 billion people) or such an interconnected one, and with a planet that is ailing environmentally. This is the biggest human and health crisis we have ever faced. That assertion must serve as our guiding principle if we are to approach it effectively. It has, of course, profound economic implications, but the center of attention, the focus of public policy decisions, must be on safeguarding one of the most valuable global public goods in existence: people’s health and well-being.

With this in mind, it is fitting to mention that Latin America and the Caribbean will be impacted via five main external channels: the decline of economic activity in our principal trading partners, especially China; the fall in prices for our commodities; the interruption of global and regional value chains; the steep drop in demand for tourism services, which primarily affects the Caribbean; and an increase in risk aversion and the worsening of global financial conditions and capital outflows from the region, with the consequent devaluation of our currencies.

The onslaught of COVID-19 came at a bad time. Worldwide, 2019 marked the worst performance in the last decade (2.5% growth in GDP). In the case of Latin America and the Caribbean, this performance was even more dramatic. To find worse growth levels than what the region recorded in the last seven years, one must look back as far as seven decades.

Just a few months ago, and after ending 2019 with poor regional growth of just 0.1%, ECLAC estimated that 2020 would witness a modest rebound and the growth rate would reach 1.3% of GDP. Today, a conservative estimate – based on data that is still in the process of stabilizing – tells us that Latin America and the Caribbean will record negative growth of -1.8% this year, with a probable downward bias.

The effects of this crisis on our main trading partners portend a decline in the value of our region’s exports that could reach a magnitude of -10.7%. This scenario entails a significant increase in unemployment along with heightened labor market informality.

The consequent effects of negative growth and higher unemployment translate into an increase in poverty and extreme poverty. If the base data is confirmed, in 2020 the number of poor people would rise from 186 million currently to 220 million, and the quantity of Latin American and Caribbean inhabitants who live in conditions of extreme poverty would rise from 67.5 million to 90.8 million.

This crisis finds us with fragmented health care systems and without universal coverage, where more than 47% of the population currently has no access to social security. A crisis that is particularly vicious for the 58 million people over 65 years of age in our region.

The challenge is enormous, and it demands that we renew our toolbox. Each country will have to creatively explore and expand the framework of its possible responses, recognizing that there are no known formulas, while also recognizing that there are some imperative steps to be taken.

In the current situation, it cannot be overlooked that massive fiscal stimulus is needed to bolster health services and protect income and jobs, among the numerous challenges at hand. The provision of essential goods (medication, food, energy) cannot be disrupted today, and universal access to testing for COVID-19 must be guaranteed along with medical care for all those who need it. Providing our health care systems with the necessary funds is an unavoidable imperative.

When we talk about massive fiscal stimulus, we are also talking about financing the social protection systems that care for the most vulnerable sectors. We are talking about rolling out non-contributory programs such as direct cash transfers, financing for unemployment insurance, and benefits for the underemployed and self-employed.

Likewise, central banks have to ensure liquidity so the production apparatus can guarantee its continued functioning. These efforts must translate into support for companies with zero-interest loans for paying wages. In addition, companies and households must be aided by the postponement of loan, mortgage and rent payments. Many interventions will be needed to ensure that the chain of payments is not interrupted. Development banks should play a significant role in this.

And, certainly, multilateral financing bodies will have to consider new policies on low-interest loans and offer relief and deferments on current debt servicing to create fiscal space.

It is also urgent that unilateral sanctions and blockades, imposed in the world and in our region, be lifted, because they hamper entire populations’ access to goods and services that are indispensable for fighting this sanitary challenge. Today, humanitarian considerations come before any political differences. Health cannot be held hostage to geopolitical quarrels.

This is a complex time, and it comes as our planet is ailing. It is experiencing one of its worst phases in environmental terms, with polluted oceans and rivers, devastated forests, eroded soil, mass extinction of species, and altered climatic cycles. This must be the time to reflect on the unsustainability of the extractivist and unequal development model.

This new health crisis has exposed the fragility of this globalization and of the development model on which it was based. The breaking of supply chains, the decline in global growth, and the performance of financial markets have exposed the global vulnerability of our economies. In light of the evidence of this crisis, the global community will have to face the fact that globalization did not work as promised and it must be reformed.

The decoupling between financial markets and the real economy’s flows must be contained and regulated. International trade is not an inevitable driver of long-term growth without policies for diversifying and transforming production. Inequalities, between countries and within them, aggravate the fragility of the global system and must be rolled back.

This pandemic has the potential to transform the geopolitics of globalization, but it is also an opportunity to survey the benefits of multilateral action and make room for needed debate on a new, sustainable and egalitarian development model. Because, “if necessary, we must invent new words and new ideas for these new realities that are challenging us.”

98 responses to “Zero Hour: Our Region in the Face of the Pandemic”

1. @ robert lucas March 26, 2020 2:51 AM
    “@ Miller March 25, 2020 9:14 PM
    Your contempt for Trump know bounds. Try to be impartial in your analysis without sniping at those you dislike..”
    ++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

You ought to first look into the mirror before you launch your tirades against Muslims and other immigrants not satisfying your criteria of human.

We are just giving the man a dose of his own medicine.

Yes, the same man who referred to those economically-exploited nation states as “Shi**th*le countries” (including your beloved Barbados).

Is China now his No.1 Sh**ty country or is it Italy or Spain?

Now how would you refer to your beloved Trumpland if not as a ‘death hole’ country along with those afflicted with the dreaded virus called Covid the ‘black’ trump card of diseases?

The man was spoiling for a war (whether economic or military) and he has one on his hands, albeit on a global scale.

Let him now build a wall to keep out the Covid and its jihadists about to wreak financial and economic mayhem on the American dream of reckless consumerism as if the resources of the planet Earth are boundless.

2. In meanwhile a poll released says 53% of americans agree with the way Trump has handled the Corona virus
    Which brings truth to the saying money talks bull s..hit walks

3. “Is it possible for some of us to advance the debate instead of rehashing the same old same old?”

@ David BU

When, for example, out of 100 contributions to an article, you see 45 from the SAME INDIVIDUAL, repeatedly spewing the SAME empty rhetoric AD NAUSEAM and applying it to different situations………. or copy and pasting information from “Facebook” irrespective of its authenticity or credibility of the source………. EVERYDAY……..

…………… not only becomes MONOTONOUS, but BORING as well.

It does not add any meaningful value to the forum.

But, as the blogmaster, you have three choices:

(1). read and complain;

(2). do similarly to what I and perhaps other contributors do…… that is, use the ↓ arrow key and ‘scroll on by;’

(3). say ‘enough is enough’ and censor some of the monotonous contributions in the interest of BU.

4. @ robert lucas March 26, 2020 3:07 AM
    “The earth is finite in size. This concept of growth as projected by economists is total BS. How can one constantly talk about yearly increase in growth whilst living on a planet of finite size? There is a limit to growth. There is a limit to amount of raw materials and land on earth that can yield factors of production. This insane talk about growth shows how out of touch economists are with reality.”
    ++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

It’s amazingly paradoxical how you could make such an objectively analytical statement of Buddhist dimension like the above but still lower the value of your intellectual soul by backing a man who is diametrically opposed to such of philosophy of ‘controlled greed’ and the need to live in balance with the natural resources which Mother Earth offers up to support human life.

Isn’t your philosophy, in the realm of dialectic materialism, at complete odds to that preached by the high priest of environmental destruction in the pursuit of making ‘America Great’ (again)?

Who is looking like a fool now? Greta or Donald?

Whom do you think your friend sweet Jesus would welcome into his kingdom?

Why not make the World a more environmentally healthier place and limit the exploitation of the fragile planet by reducing the greed of humans; especially the
    overly materialistic Americans?

We are the temporary custodians of the earth; not its abusive masters.

5. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

David, you created a lovely moot that is built on the same foundation of life which seeded our current angst …so how Mr Blogmaster can you really expect the debate to separately move to a soaring place of “Is it possible for some of us to advance the debate instead of rehashing the same old same old?”

It is IMPOSSIBLE to debate this or any world issue without fundamentally being drawn into same old, same old… and that sir is NOT being pedantic …it is just reality!

Isn’t EVERY G7 or G20 summit plagued with the same angry protests from progressives… those continuous issues are deep seated (same old, same old)!

When you so off handedly noted that “You can blame the last administration all you want but it was evident to independent commentators that the economic model inherited from Barrow and tweaked by Tom Adams had outlived its relevance.”… that opened up all types of same old, same old

Which aspects of the model was that…or was it the entire thing ?

Of necessity things outlive their effectiveness and we refit and retool! Are you and others suggesting there have been NO attempts of meaningful change in Barbados?

Why continue these inane Barrow bashing when so many other PMs were responsible for our MODERN economic woes!

And on the issue of economic models has the mighty UK not just shown that their economic model had apparently outlived its relevance with their upending Brexit decision. … that’s certainly one simple interpretation.

My point…the Barrow-Adams comment was just as simplistic !

The utopian palaver above is pure BS…no where in life can we divorce the base emotions of mankind from political leadership … at the moment the G7 (G8 – 1) CANNOT agree on a meeting communique because the US demands that the virus be labelled the Wuhan Virus…. base level emotive angst and ‘spite’!

Yet we trade in soaring rhetoric of *”One built on the setting aside of partisan politics in the national and regional interspite!

Good luck, guys. I’ll reenter the chatter when we leave the soaring, impractical rhetoric at the door!🤔

As the Secretary did say: “This is a complex time, and it comes as our planet is ailing. It is experiencing one of its worst phases in environmental terms, with polluted oceans and rivers, devastated forests, eroded soil, mass extinction of species, and altered climatic cycles. This must be the time to reflect on the unsustainability of the extractivist and unequal development model.”… all squarely centered in envy, back biting, spiteful political reality!

6. When ya ROB ya own people and country as governments the people elected and trusted, when ya did it for self gain, when ya have NO VISION and even less intelligence as governments….this is what happens in such crisis….THE INEVITABLE…..

as i have been saying all along the international community needs to take a long hard look at you common class thieves and ya sidekick fellow criminals….and what ya have done to destroy the economy and mental health/ welfare of the people in the last 40 YEARS.

“The Caribbean Development Bank’s top economist appeared to signal an impending depression is likely for the region as the global health crisis drags on…

From an increase in poverty and unemployment, to high national debt levels and low productivity are some of the far-reaching impacts from the COVID-19 pandemic facing Barbados and its neighbours, said the CDB’s director of economics Justin Ram.

In his assessment of the pandemic, Ram said it would have sweeping economic implications for individuals, businesses and countries as various industries grind to a halt or slow down and people lose jobs and governments spend more.

Calling on international financial institutions – including his own – to act to defend regional economies, the CDB official said the multilateral financial institutions such as the International Monetary Fund, the World Bank and the Inter-American Development Bank and Caribbean Development Bank must play “a coordinated and significant role”.

“Bilateral partnerships will also be necessary,” he said.

He explained that with social distancing taking place globally, Caribbean goods and services supply chains will be affected significantly.”

7. @ David,

Agriculture for survival and FOOD SECURITY.

I am rehashing the same old same old. That’s all I got.

8. WURA-Warzzon-U Avatar

Of course the halfassed economsts on the island …whatever those are…will try to twist this into something that does not equal to or in anyway resembling REALITY..

Check facebook and FOREIGN NEWSPAPERS for infomation regarding what will transpire going forward…do not allow the shitehounds for leaders and their imps and pimps on the blog to change the narrative….or CONTINUE TO LIE TO U..

9. @Hants

The comment was not at you.

10. @Dee Word

At the mention of Barrow your slip is sure to show.

11. @ David

The last ten years of economic dormancy has placed businesses in an extremely week position to weather the down turn. Many will not survive this period or be around in December 2020. Others who are stronger financially who do survive, will be restructuring. For example a business with 3 outlets will go forward with 2 .

Our reality is that our government does not have billions to throw at the economy like other countries. We are in fact dependant on the other countries to get back on their feet and start travelling, so we can get a few dollars. Our recovery will for this reason run months behind our tourist markets.

These are going to be our realities going forward. It will therefore be a while before we can speak of economic growth again. Our immediate concern should now turn to economic survival.

12. @John A

Decisions taken at the G20 will be of interest to your point.

13. @ David

Yes I am waiting to see what the G20 does as this is critical to recovery.

Unfortunately we went into this virus extremely weak financially after 10 years of no real growth. For us economic recovery is going to be tough.

14. “Many will not survive this period or be around in December 2020.”

You do not want most of them “weathering any storm or surviving”…they have done more than Enuff damage to people and island with their GREED…ya want them figuratvely DYING OFF…and if that dont work, literally will do just just as well….they are toxic and dangerous and even more deadly than Covid-19….at least we can see what the virus is capable of ….these hid their destructive ways from the people for decades while padding their bank accounts at the peopke’s expense.,,..,from the trash in the parliament to the trash in the business community all were involved..

This is the RESET….let it take them all out, no one should shed a tear, of course only the uneducated and petty would..the slave mentality still exists and is still very harmful to the more enlightened in the community.

“Our reality is that our government does not have billions to throw at the economy like other countries.”

They dont have because it is lying in their offshore accounts….make no mistake about that..and forensic audits WILL BE THE REVEAL….

15. @John A

Was there growth in the last years of the BLP prior to the DLP?

16. Dis one fuh you, WURA. Be sure to listen and watch!

I got to tell ya that you’re doing fine
    walking on sunshine!

17. Barbados Medical Association never wanted Cuban educated doctors working in Barbados before without making them jump through hoops and social ostracizing, but am sure if they ask nicely and if required, Cuba will be willing to send help via their doctors..

“Cuba’s health authorities announced that new brigades of doctors and nurses with experience in handling critical situations are heading to Belize, Antigua and Barbuda, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, and Dominica on Wednesday and Thursday.

However we look at it, the island is not in the best position, especially with leaders who are really not leaders, only opportunists.

I am all for debt forgiveness for the island but not without a FORENSIC AUDIT of every government department, the treasury and pension fund…that should be the criteria for debt forgiveness….someone must be held accountable for what they all did.

18. Girl…ya don’t know the half of it.

All that is needed is the clean up, throw out la basura….and life does not get any better.

19. Make no mistake about it that financial audit should stretch back 25 YEARS…to cover everyone who went near the treasury and pension fund from then until NOW….

I am all for debt forgiveness for the island but not without a FORENSIC AUDIT of every government department, the treasury and pension fund…that should be the criteria for debt forgiveness….someone must be held accountable for what they all did.

Donna…. an example must be made to send a warning to the thieves-in-waiting.

20. @ Greene

I would say that we had growth in the pre market crash era based on easily available money and loose banking practices abroad. Real estate fuelled the growth at that time. This time we have an abundance of unsold properties and few buyers vying for them. We also have no thriving tourism market to help us either in the immediate future.

21. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@Mr Blogmaster, a hearty 🤣…re At the mention of Barrow your slip is sure to show. Really! I am not an acolyte of any politician bro, I just call a spade as black that’s all… or as the Americans would say I call ‘balls and strikes’. Funny how that works in life.

The other day I getting some exercise playing doubles of outdoor, one-wall squash (as the Brits might call it)… my partner hits a lovely cross court shot that lands just out… I called it out. The sister huffs because she thought it was good and suggests to me that as her play partner I should be agreeing with her line call… Eh!

So it’s never about right or wrong for many of us… just sticking with the partner/party line regardless… in truth @David I am not truly configured that way… but heh… we change as life around us changes right!…. I still called the next disputed line ball exactly as I saw it… partner be damned!

Same mentality with the Dipper or Tom or Mia!

Incidentally have you seen the unemployment numbers in US! A whopping colossal number of claims obviously… highest metric since 1982 they say!

So when you wonder about actions coming out of the G20 its fairly simplistic… “get the economy (in every country) back on track. We in our dependent economies will cringe and worry and suffer until and unless the western engines are working effectively.

22. @Dee Word

Actually your reply takes simplistic to another level.

Developed countries own the debt of developing countries like Barbados. They created the global market place. They export their factories to reduce cost of production by exploiting developing countries to feed conspicuous consumption behaviour that defines capitalism. Let us see if they own it and are prepared to reboot or if Trumo will have his way.

23. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

Indeed @David it surely does… but that’s just it: we are restarting at the very simplistic levels FIRST. Please understand that we are basically at level ONE if one examines this in context of Maslowe’s hierarchy of needs or the “Theory of Human Motivation” …. The world is now focused (certainly everyone of the current unemployed) on the “physiological” and “safety”!

Our economic tourism based engine is premissed on the upper levels of the Maslow pyramid, not so!

Anyhow, your comment that “Let us see if they own it and are prepared to reboot or if Trumo will have his way.” is complex and inviting!

As I noted yesterday the harangue about “They export their factories to reduce cost of production by exploiting developing countries to feed conspicuous consumption behaviour that defines capitalism” is maddeningly one sided: yes that’s clearly accurate but at the same time Idonesia, Mubai, India, cities all across China, others in Vietnam and even our ‘mall complex at Sheraton” or IDC complex at the Harbour (thus we Bajans, with Intel and CDS) benefited from that conspicuous consumption.

The billionaires in China who are now boldly challenging the same US hegemony with companies like Alibaba BENEFITED from that conspicuous consumption too.

On and in it goes so thats just a worn out trope bro … tiresome in its overuse Balls and strikes, bro… balls and strikes!

But when you invoke thus man Trump, recall he is the one who initiated trade wars to force a repatriation of factories from Asia… again as has been said the man may be insane and ridiculous but this confluence of events is his perfect narrative storm…. there is a REASON he wants it called the “Wuhan Virus”.

So to your cheeky remark re “if Trumo will have his way”…or a reboot… interestingly they are quite in concert: if he has his way the major reboot will continue!

24. @ Miller March 26, 2020 7:15 AM

‘You ought to first look into the mirror before you launch your tirades against Muslims and other immigrants not satisfying your criteria of human.”

I have always admitted that I am intolerant of Muslim terrorists and Muslims in general. I have said that when in the majority, Muslims do not show tolerance to those of other faith. I have always said that in non-Muslim countries, Muslims are a fifth column.
    Was China the place where COVID-19 was first found?. You have gone off again talking about what Trump allegedly said or did not say.You seem to be suffering from Trump Derangement Syndrome.

25. @ Miller March 26, 2020 7:47 AM

““The earth is finite in size. This concept of growth as projected by economists is total BS. How can one constantly talk about yearly increase in growth whilst living on a planet of finite size? There is a limit to growth. There is a limit to amount of raw materials and land on earth that can yield factors of production. This insane talk about growth shows how out of touch economists are with reality.”
    In what context was the above statement made? Stop with your TDS attitude.

26. Well…it was bound to come to this, let us hear them talking nonsense about it’s cheaper to import food than to grow it while still jumping out complaining every few months about a $700,000 annual food import bill…then the greedy merchants import unhealthy, overpriced crap just to line their pockets…bunch of clowns…can’t dance around this one though, the tapping and dancing is over.

https://www.caribbeannationalweekly.com/caribbean-breaking-news-featured/caribbean-must-prepare-against-food-shortages-because-of-covid-19/?fbclid=IwAR0EqS7kRaHasVgfi_-CbLlfBByzlAeIU1JtsEKWfrQXfc-8w3mECu8o05g

“KINGSTON, Jamaica – The Director-General of the Inter-American Institute for Cooperation on Agriculture (IICA), Manuel Otero, says the coronavirus (COVID-19) pandemic provides a situation for the Caribbean to develop food security strategies and greater efforts to increase self-sufficiency.

“Approximately 20 countries in the hemisphere are net importers of food. Each year the Caribbean region alone draws a cheque for six billion US dollars to feed 44.5 million people,” Otero said, adding, “we must again reassess the role of family farmers, who, ironically, although pivotal in ensuring food self-sufficiency, are the adjustment variable in times of economic uncertainty”.

“These farmers supply close to 60 per cent of the food demand in the hemisphere. This situation requires us to focus on policies that benefit these producers, emphasizing areas such as associativity, extension services, access to technology and agricultural insurance.”

27. Here is a new word for greedy politicians who love the word DEPENDENCY…unlearn it.

…Brand NEW WORD for the lazy….so often overlooked …DIVERSIFICATION….memorizeit , learn it, get used to it..

“The first is obvious. This situation is having a greater impact on economies that are excessively dependent on one sector, such as tourism, petroleum or agricultural raw materials. The structural, long-term antidote to this is diversification.”

28. “we must again reassess the role of family farmers, who, ironically, although pivotal in ensuring food self-sufficiency, are the adjustment variable in times of economic uncertainty”.

This more or less means…PLANT YOUR OWN FOOD…no matter how small the land area…

….going to work for Ms. Fighting Imperialism’s wannbe slavemasters is not an option…let them learn how to work their own land, they and their children and grandchildren have hands and could learn how to swing a hoe and fork too..

wuh if UK could tell their own people to start farming, wuh the lazy ass minorities and their children in Barbados could do it too…don’t work for them, work for yaselves.

29. You are invited to join a conversation on the economic impacts of Coronavirus on the Caribbean and options for the region.

After registering, you will receive a confirmation email about joining the webinar.

Click here to register
    Check out our most recent publications:

30. @ robert lucas March 26, 2020 10:51 AM
    “I have always admitted that I am intolerant of Muslim terrorists and Muslims in general. I have said that when in the majority, Muslims do not show tolerance to those of other faith. I have always said that in non-Muslim countries, Muslims are a fifth column.”
    +++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

So you admit you are indeed afflicted with a similar condition called the ‘Muslim Derangement Syndrome’? How about also calling the Chinese in the USA a ‘fifth column’?

But your misplaced unchristian intolerance stretches beyond Muslims.

How about the lazy blacks and dirty clannish Indians whom you would like to expel from Guyana? And send them where? To Barbados or the UK?

Why this ethnic cleansing for some and not the others?

Why not demand similar expulsion of Europeans from North America starting with the nouveau arrivant German Trump?

BTW, Trump does not fully share your hatred of “Muslims in general”?

Who are the most intolerant of other faiths but the Wahabi in Saudi Arabia the second best friend of the Trump administration in the Middle East.

Why not pay a visit and take along your former lover called mountain dew and see what would happen to you?

The deranged trumpeter is about to create another diversion from the economic storms about to descend upon America.

Are you going to back him in this Mad Max red-herring enterprise by invading Venezuela to ‘capture’ Maduro like an Al Capone trumped-up tax evasion scheme or an Escobar take out?

You would be nothing but another ‘damned’ sucker to believe Trump is some nice guy out to make America great (again) by assassinating the Muslims and putting the immigrants in offshore concentration camps.

“Capitalism is the legitimate racket of the ruling class.”

“A crook is a crook, and there’s something healthy about his frankness in the matter. But any guy who pretends he is enforcing the law and steals on his authority is a swell snake.
    The worst type of these punks is the big politician. You can only get a little of his time because he spends so much time covering up that no one will know that he is a thief. A hard-working crook will and can get those birds by the dozen, but right down in his heart he won’t depend on them-hates the sight of them.”

~ Al Capone.

31. @ Miller March 26, 2020 4:26 PM
    Regarding the expulsion of people from Guyana ,my dad was part Amerindian and I have no qualms of advocating such a policy. Else where on this Blog I have said that despite my age if the Amerindians took up arms I would be one of the first to volunteer. My concern is strictly with Guyana. As for not labeling the Chinese as fifth columns; I suggest you check through my postings on Islam on this Blog . When you do so you might learn why I have said what I have said. . I have no intention of repeating what I am sure you must have seen, since you know where I stand vis-a-vis Islam. Maybe you have read and not comprehend what was stated(which I doubt).
    I have always said that Trump was boorish and tell lies ( he has admitted that he tries his best to tell the truth but at times he lies)so I am not viewing him through rose-tinted glasses. Let me repeat, one should never allows one’s animus against an individual to cloud one’s judgement. based on the utterances attributed to you above ,you appear to be guilty in that regard.

32. Correction: should read “allow one’s. I am signing off for a while.

33. Talk bout platitudes and rehashed rhetoric! In the real world, businesses are pressing ahead with engaging consultancies and incorporating Covid/pandemics planning in their ToRs. Working from home is focused on consultancy work in all forms as businesses prepare for a post-Covid world. I saw some ranting about building/investing in a hotel. How long does it take to build a hotel and how long will it be before people start travelling again? Back to my sanity🖐🏾.

34. sounds as if Enuff took a page out of Tump misinformed handbook

35. @ Mariposa March 26, 2020 6:14 PM

Dear Verla De Peiza, president of DLP,

We, the people, want to know what links exist between the DLP and the Chinese Communist Party.

Why did your party sign a visa waiver agreement with China some years ago?

36. fortyacresandamule Avatar
    fortyacresandamule

@Tron. The IMF is also a facility of last resort. During the 2008 collapse, the IMF increase the allocation of SDRs to all countries. The IMF has the ability like a central bank to ”print” SDRs. Only problem,they need consensus from members to ”print” SDRs.

Loans and bonds raised by the government technically does not qualify as part of the reserve. Normally, the government would have exchanged/sold those foreign currencies to the central bank for bajan dollars. Only IMF draw downs, IMF SDR holdings, daily inflows from dealers and cambios, and US$ investment securities or instruments (eg. CDs) on deposit at the central bank are counted when calculating total reserve. This is called the gross reserve, and it is this quantity that is used to calculte import coverage.

37. @fortyacres

What about reserves in the system help by authorized dealers. Can the Central Bank dip in to these funds?

38. fortyacresandamule Avatar
    fortyacresandamule

The IMF should consider allocating new SDRs ( free reserve) to tourism-dependent small island nations and other vulnerable developing states to shore up their reserve holdings. Along with emergency and precautionary standby agreements in the mix.

39. fortyacresandamule Avatar
    fortyacresandamule

@David. Remember, authorize dealers ( banks and cambios) have to surrender a portion of their daily receipts to the central bank. What is left over after selling a portion to the central bank… is foreign currencies on deposit in the banking system. This deposit of foreign currencies in the banking system doesn’t belong to the central bank, therefore doesn’t count as part of the national reserve.This is private money.

40. fortyacresandamule Avatar
    fortyacresandamule

@David. When times are good and there is an excess inflow of forex into the system, the central bank would normally buy the excess to prevent the domestic currency from appreciating. When times are bad they do the opposite… the central bank sells reserve to the banks to avoid currency depreciation. At times, they also borrow foreign currencies from the banking system by issuing CDs. These dynamic open market operations are part of the central bank function.

41. NOTE….The United Nations and its related agencies – WHO & IPCC – are worthless and even harmful. They have agendas that work against US interests. If it weren’t for the fact that our membership allows us to monitor their self-dealing, we should end our involvement and the $ we give it.

Top WHO Official Tedros Adhanom Ghebreyesus Won Election With China’s Help. Now He’s Running Interference For China On Coronavirus… “He’s an Ethiopian Marxist Terrorist”.

https://dailycaller.com/2020/03/22/who-director-general-tedros-adhanom-ghebreyesus-china-coronavirus-pandemic-cover-up/?utm_source&utm_medium=email&utm_campaign=12342&fbclid=IwAR1lsgzax1TPqB6kClfTp60mo1F49r5_QVbJu8kLDlo0GF8DOkSU35YqS5M

42. WHAT THE POLITICAL SCENE IN CHINA SAYS ABOUT THE CORONAVIRUS

In order to understand the logic of the Chinese authorities, you need to know what China is. In modern China, there is not a traditional nation-state, but a party-state. They have no separation of powers as in Western countries. Nevertheless, there is still a particular division of power in China.

Power in China is divided among several opposing communist groups.

The most famous are the Communist Youth League (CYL) faction and the Shanghai faction. The CYL faction was significantly weakened in 2016 by the secretary-general of the Chinese Communist Party (CCP), Xi Jinping. Former CCP secretary-general Hu Jintao and current prime minister Li Keqiang belong to the CYL faction. Another former secretary-general of the CCP, Jiang Zemin, belongs to the Shanghai faction.

Hubei Province, with its capital in Wuhan, has always been “problematic” for the Chinese communists. The relationship between Beijing and Wuhan is somewhat reminiscent of the relationship between Washington and New York, Moscow and St. Petersburg, Madrid and Barcelona. The parallels here are unambiguous – this is not just a conflict between the current and previous capital of the country (Wuhan was the capital under Chiang Kai-shek). Wuhan has always been a rebellious city that triggered the events that led to the tragedy in Tiananmen Square in 1989.

When the epidemic of the new coronavirus started, Beijing faced the challenge — to ensure that the party authorities of the rebellious and freethinking Wuhan made mistakes, and to deal with them under this pretext.

THE CRISIS INFLATED BY THE BEIJING ELITE WAS THE RESULT OF AN IDEOLOGICAL CONFRONTATION AMONG THE CHINESE FACTIONS, WHICH CLASHED OVER SOME OF THE NUANCES OF MARXIST DOGMA.

(Excerpt) Read more at …
    https://www.americanthinker.com/articles/2020/03/what_the_political_scene_in_china_says_about_the_coronavirus.html

https://images.slideplayer.com/47/11705015/slides/slide_2.jpg

43. @Freedom Crier March 27, 2020 8:27 AM

He actively did China;s biddings.

44. Dr.Lucas Freedom knows that you are on the Ball…Not many are as Astute as you are!

45. @ TLSN March 31, 2020 6:52 PM

As the saying goes a little bit of knowledge is a dangerous thing. There is nothing new about what he has so-called invented. UV radiation has been used to control pathogens for years. The drawback is that ultra violent radiation has a small penetration capacity and does not destroy microbes that are found deep inside an organism.. As for Baroness Scotland she would clutch at any straw to get re-elected to the post she currently holds. It appears that some infelicities where funds are concerned occurred on her watch.