grenville-phillips
Submitted by Grenville Phillips II,

Well, I have finally gotten the message – the threats are now too personal to ignore. To balance the safety of my family, and my duty to Barbados, these will be my final recommendations on COVID-19. They are to cover Stages 2 and 3.

The accusations are, of course, baseless. Asking basic questions is not breaking rank. Questioning is normal when the four steps to develop national plans are not followed.

Step 1 is to develop a draft plan. Step 2 is to present that plan for rigorous public scrutiny (since the public are stakeholders). Step 3 is to analyse the feedback and finalise the plan. Step 4 is to implement the plan.

Both administrations typically only do Steps 1 and 4. There is rarely critical review. This results in either stubbornly staying with a failing plan, or making band-aids under pressure to a weak plan.

The media should be asking pertinent questions, but they seem to have gotten the message a long time ago. They make press conferences as meaningless as a soap-opera. How about asking some of these questions.

The Government claimed that they will be spend $30M to build quarantine sites and respond to this virus. How is the Government procuring the $30M in goods and services?

No-bid contracts normally cost the public two to five times what the contract is actually worth. Is the Government using the same corrupting no-bid contracts for contractors, consultants and supplies? What qualifications are needed to share in the $30M to be disbursed?

The Government promised to appoint a contractor general to put an end to these corrupting no-bid contracts. How is that progressing? Why not start prequalifying Barbadian business right now, instead of automatically disqualifying most of them with the sorry excuse of urgency?

The hurricane season is approaching. We should not be constructing sub-standard buildings in Barbados, especially after turning the six-storey NIS building into rubble. So, to what category of hurricane are the buildings being built? Also, to what magnitude of earthquake? How durable are they?

I dare our established media to ask just one of these questions. Once they realise that the sky has not fallen, perhaps they will be less terrified – and ask another.

RECOMMENDATIONS

In preparation for Stage 2, we should assume that at least one person in our household will get the virus, and plan accordingly.

1. Supplement Diet

If I got the virus, then I would strengthen my body so that it can fight for me – as it has always successfully done. I would add to my daily diet: 1,000 mg of Vitamin C, at least one table-spoon of Blackstrap molasses, and at least five table-spoons of Apple Cider Vinegar.

You can purchase one gallon of blackstrap molasses from the sugar bond area of the port for $2, but carry a clean wide-mouth container. You only need a quarter of that, so distribute the remainder to others.

2. Sunshine

Ultra-violet sunlight is an effective disinfectant. Therefore, everyday, I would open every window curtain and let the sun shine in. I would also open the windows (with insect screens) to ventilate the house. Therefore, maintain some insect mesh and duct tape to keep out flies and mosquitoes.

If I got the virus, I would spend my days near a window where I can get natural light, and breathe clean air.

3. Flush Closed Toilets

COVID-19 RNA has been confirmed in blood and stool samples of some infected persons. Droplets from the toilet have been found on bathroom ceilings after flushing. Therefore, droplets can reach the bathroom’s sink (and any exposed toothbrushes) and towel rack. I would insist that everyone in my household close the lid when flushing the toilet.

Many infected persons have had diarrhea. You are likely to go through toilet paper more rapidly in that condition. Therefore, I would try to maintain 12 rolls of toilet paper for each member of my household.

4. Disinfect Shoes

Not everyone will stop their habitual spitting. The COVID-19 can exist for hours in the air and days on surfaces. You may step on someone’s spit, especially after it rains. Therefore, spray disinfectant on the bottom of your shoes before entering your house, and on your car mats when you get home.

5. Clean Pet Trays

If you feed pets outside, then clean their trays. Uneaten food attracts birds. Birds can step in the same spit and bring the virus to you, so do not attract them.

6. Invest in Yourself

If you are quarantined, then do not squander this opportunity. Take maximum advantage of our double taxation agreements with various countries, especially the US, and grow your Internet based business.

Between managing your business and your household, learn something new. There are many free on-line courses that Universities offer. Take one that can improve your productivity and increase your earnings, then take another.

Please do not waste this time with only entertainment (watching movies and reading fiction). Instead, recharge.

Accept that you may likely get infected, and perhaps more than once. Therefore, maintain your household supplies, and use this opportunity to cultivate a closer relationship with your Creator.

Parting Comments

I have been asked how I know so much. I have worked in disaster areas over the past 2 decades, where the economy came to a halt. In those situations, there is normally no economic activity, nothing to purchase, and no reliable government services.

I have had over 12 deployments to Haiti, when cholera had infected about 800,000 people and killed about 10,000. One member of my team actually had cholera while I was there.

I am also doing doctoral research, and the doctoral research community is rich in cutting edge knowledge. I critically review others’ research and they critically review mine. Why? Because we want to do research that will benefit humanity. Critical review is the most effective method of achieving that aim.

446 responses to “Recharge – COVID-19 @Stage 2 and 3”

1. How do you know Bajans are not taking it seriously?

-supermarkets, banks etc have implemented restricted access -Remote working has been implemented and is being encouraged -senior citizens are being received first hour of the day – gloves and hand sanitizers sold out or hard to find – companies receiving payments are pushing customers to online or have setup payment trays – we have employees striking in those companies slow to get on board – etc etc

2. Pea brain

Kerry right to boast!
    1. He is not the MP for St Lucy
    2. He is not the minister responsible for water distribution.

He was giving a report for the ministry he leads.

I remember three pot guts blind mice taking off their suit and tie and dipping their toes in (shitty)Worthing beach to impress the tourist (catching at the $s) that the south coast sewage problem was fixed – which was a big lie. Meanwhile the people in the same st lucy, st peter, st andews, st joseph, john and Thomas could not get any water.

That departing gesture from the ship is invaluable. Something your pea brain will not understand

3. @ Mariposa March 23, 2020 9:13 AM
    “So what is gonna happen to the 35 Trinis arriving in bdos today coming from England
    Media reports state that trinidad closed its borders and not letting arrivals in the country”
    +++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

Why don’t you stop spreading virally your viciously dangerous propaganda more deadly than the Covid itself?

The T& T government has not closed its ports to retuning citizens; only to non-nationals.

You ought to be more ‘measured ‘with your criticisms and stop being so ignorantly evil and misleadingly overly partisan.

What else do you want the MAM administration to do?
    Resign and make way for the return of the somnambulatory giant to oversee the burial of Barbados which has been suffering from the virus of economic and social decay arising from 8 years of ‘Fumblitis’ and Stuart stasis culminating with the Sewer-gate disaster on the South coast?

4. Barbados – Trinidad = all CARICOM nationals. We took care of the visitors and will turn our back on our neighbors?

Barbados belong to Trinidad any how 🙂

5. MAIN STORIESNEWS
    TT Borders Closed: 35 Elderly Trinis Land in Barbados on Monday

http://www.azpnews.com/tt-borders-closed-35-elderly-trinis-land-in-barbados-on-monday/

Dont blame me
    Your govt continues to control the news
    After all cant blame them

6. @ Mariposa

Whatever you say the keyboard warriors will be out to get you. I am sure you have noticed they do not want to discuss anything with you, they just want to be abusive, encouraged by the chairman.
    I am sure you do not need me to tell you not to give up. Keep on saying what you want. You have a human right to express your views. Tell them to attack @Lance and the others who use foul, nasty language almost every day. I am not keen on the anonymity, but that is life.

7. Hal my learning mostly have been attained by observation
    Not expecting my critics to understand my thought process
    My observation solely relies on a mechanism that helps to decipher and pin point issues in a moral and ethical manner
    Reason why many here are so pissed off when i put the people interest above economic interest
    Barbados has a PM with all the educational knowledge most learnt by book and repetition but cannot decipher the reality of the virus and its impact on the peoples health
    I expect to be laughed at because i might lacked the intelligence of being schooled by book
    But i am confident in all i say and have no reason to back down

8. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@ The Blogmater and @TheMiller where did either of you get your foundation to suggest that this pandemic has signaled to consumers generally that they have to “take stock and heed the message of ‘consumption restraint’ encoded in Covid-19” or that there is a forced “… weaning from conspicuous consumption behaviour”?!

Quite lovely sentiments but there is nothing I have seen thus far that even cursorily suggests any such modification.

Let me agree however with the unstated but valid context that life will change dramatically – in fits and starts – going forward. But lets also understand that coming off the 2008 crisis that the term ‘new normal’ was heavily channeled by many and it surely was valid then too!

*Will economic theory of production of goods/services in lowest cost locale be structurally upended? In part yes but that started before COVID19 with the Brexit anger, the MAGA election and subsequent trade wars … so yes that will continue

*Will there be a faster move to automation and overall job loss to technology? Possibly and very likely. But again the question is how much will COVID19 accelerate that shift and too the move to remote work from home with most admin style roles….accordingly will online life be exponentially more ubiquitous … not only at work but for online college and so on for voting and all else… and

*How about the impact of vastly increased hacking possibilities due to these many nodes from home based work/study environments?

*Will this reacquaint folks with their faith based beliefs? … If its destined every 100 years or so then why the too great angst… and do we now go full blast with social media church worship a la a Kanye West!…And does THAT work for us??

*And bluntly asked, WTF happened here? Are we not supposed to be kept out of these horrific scenarios by a thinking govt who have all these massive super computers that can model even a gnat’s sex life to all four or more stages of life to infinite accuracy… how did THIS slip by them all?

So…

*Will we see another round of Patriot Act style infringement of privacy rights being enacted (and then repealed) ? or do you get more concerned about the role of the military in democratic societies to coerce us to the will of the govt and are we in fact confident that they have the best interest of the people at hand… after all, do consider the stock market shenanigans alleged by lawmakers in the US and some VIPs ALLEGEDLY talking about letting old seniors not have needed ventilators as a practical option of a ‘best practice’ ?

*I am not going to touch the more altruistic issues like changes to personal interaction and collegiality in relationships but…

*Will we reduce security about discussing health matters … consider that it was publicly stated exactly who had COVID19 because it was necessary for overall health… how does that style of reporting of a person’s very private health charts factor into life going forward? and the positive, does it explode the concept of ‘on-line medical’ analysis/diagnosis. Certainly will NOT hurt that movement!

Just a hodge-podge of the MANY matters we will be chewing on…and thus to come back to the consumerism how much that REALLY changes is left to be seen!

9. (Quote).
    I am sure you do not need me to tell you not to give up. Keep on saying what you want. You have a human right to express your views. Tell them to attack @Lance and the others who use foul, nasty language almost every day. I am not keen on the anonymity, but that is life. (Unquote).
    +++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

Are you that mind-numbing stupid that you can’t get it through your senile brain that Mariposa in her many BU incarnations is nothing more than a very senior and long-standing member of the Anonymous Brigade of keyboard warriors of which you have on numerous occasion express in the most vile manner your utmost abomination?

Why then do you back her to peddle lies ad nauseam on BU unless you are indeed her soul brother in blatant hypocrisy?

Why not treat her (with or without the weave) just like the other anonymous bloggers like Artax who also has his “human rights” to express his views?

‘Those who live in glass houses should not throw stones’!

10. According to the media report it appears that the Travel Agent was aware of the flight ban and approached the Gov’t for an exception for the T&T citizens but the T & T Gov’t decided against any exceptions even if those folks are T & T citizens. How can a Gov’t bar its citizens?

Whatever happened to “Home is the place where, when you have to go there, They have to take you in.” (Robert Frost)

The question is when the flight lands in Bim what will the authorities do?

Over to you Ms Chair of Caricom.

11. @Sargeant

It will be interesting to observe how Mottley as Chair of Caricom proceeds with this matter. What T&T has done is reprehensible.

12. @ Hal March 23, 2020 10:39 AM
    I went into town for a stroll to observe what is what. There are some supermarkets with crowds lined up on the side walks. I met of my former students. I mentioned that he was in the front line of the containment. he said he was . He was approached by a member of staff who did not mentioned what he was to do ,it was only when he was approached by another staff member who wanted to join up to track down the infected people, that he realized what it was all about. He declined to do so. I informed him that it was only a matter of time before it was made mandatory and that he would have do as ordered. He declined to do so since he has a three-year old daughter. He said that the equipment being used to contain and so on was old and inadequate.

13. The leaders have more information than us and they are very afraid.

Ask Miss Fighting imperialism, literally shitting themselves.,,some git freaked out early, many were slower

Don’t think Canada is taking anymore if their people either. The shutdown is inevitable until the virus slows down.

They all have to hunker down and the leaders have to work it out.

“Spain’s death toll from Covid-19 has topped 2,000 after the country reported 462 more deaths in the past 24 hours. The news comes just as shocking footage emerged showing patients lying on the floor of

Read more: https://metro.co.uk/2020/03/23/spains-coronavirus-death-toll-tops-2000-462-die-12441908/?ito=social?ito=cbshare.”

Twitter: https://twitter.com/MetroUK | Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/MetroUK/

14. @ Hal
    It came over the local news that Cuba has sent fifty doctors to Jamaica.

15. Miller i posted the link
    Dont blame me if your govt suppressing the news

http://www.azpnews.com/tt-borders-closed-35-elderly-trinis-land-in-barbados-on-monday/

16. @ Robert

The Cubans are one again showing leadership. Has Barbados ask for assistance? We will need nurses and medics, protection equipment, medicines, ventilators, etc.
    We also have to think about contagion and the fist approach in to contain the virus by banning group meetings, closing the borders to new risks, protecting the vulnerable, and very importantly, start planning for a food shortage. It is coming down the line.
    We can free up hospital beds by allowing pregnant women to give birth at home (remember those days?), postponing non-urgent surgery, etc.
    And, finally, call in all experts: mathematicians, microbiologists such as @Robert Lucas,, recently retired doctors and nurses. Put the nation on a war footing. This is not a hurricane. Occupy empty hotel rooms.
    In the meantime, stop talking nonsense about tourism.

17. @ Miller March 23, 2020 8:51 AM

Charity begins at home.

18. The govt also states
    that all arrivals would be quarantined for 14days
    Makes for wonder what accommodation govt has for housing them

19. @ Hal March 23, 2020 11:30 AM
    The former student wanted my take on how third pan out for Barbados. Told him that it was going to get a lot worse.

20. Would not not be surprised if govt says the story about the 35 Trinis is fake news
    I guess Jong cant keep up with social media ability to have eyes all over the world
    One can expect as the virus reeks havoc on the people in Bim
    Govt would step up all efforts to control and shutdown freedom of speech on social media platforms

21. What would you have the authority do regarding the matter? Leave the elderly group on the tarmac?

22. @ Robert

It is going to get worse, and the ships bringing in food will stop coming. The will be a food crisis. I have mentioned before, the young crooks in the UK are not stealing money, or jewels, but groceries. Police are now warning people to be on the look out.

23. Trini gov is heartless

The people could be isolated for the requested period

24. Donna, I’ve checked with my gardening buddy and neither of us can remember the variety of lettuce which we used to plant. However is was an open leaf lettuce, not a lettuce with a head such as romaine. Jf i were you I would buy a couple of packages of seeds whatever is available right now. plant both or some of both and see what works for you. Lettuce seems to prefer the slightly cooler weather which we get towards the end of the year. But if you are in a slighter higher and cooler area you may not have towait until then, or maybe you have a shade house, or at least some shaded garden beds

25. @John March 22, 2020 11:19 PM “Quaker thinking!!”

Maybe West African. Maybe pre-Christian thinking.

I grew up in a time and place where people were still nicknamed “Guinea Man” and first named Mdouya.

The people forced across the Middle Passage fought to remember and retain and use whatever was good and useful. They did not permit it all to be taken from them.

Nowadays we talk about micro financing, but long before the first world “thinkers” discovered micro-financing in our villages we had meeting turns, sou-sou’s/esusu, box-hands, however they were called, tools my people used to survive and sometimes to prosper in very, very hard times.

26. DavidMarch 23, 2020 11:56 AM

What would you have the authority do regarding the matter? Leave the elderly group on the tarmac?

What if barbados airport was closed
    Would Trinidad deny its citizens entry
    Seems like this govt aim is to create more fear and panic for the barbadian people
    My best bet would be that Trinidad would have allowed them in
    Barbados govt is digging itself further in quick sand
    How long would those sick boats be allowed to dock
    In meanwhile all their unsanitary disposal is being dumped in carlisle Bay
    This govt never seems to think through its policies
    All this humanitarian talk will come with long term negative consequences
    Again i asked where are these ships dumping there garbage and other unsanitary disposals

27. Can some big brain give an idea of how much tons of raw sewage would be dumped in Carlisle bay all coming from those sick Cruise liners

28. @ Mariposa

When the US and UK deport citizens who have lived in those countries for decades, the home countries are forced to accept them back. Can Trinidad, or any other nation, refuse to accept their citizens, even if they are suffering rom a highly contagious disease? This is a CARICOM issue and one that should be discussed in the media.
    What is the power of the state is an individual refuses to self-isolate? Is that a criminal offence? Can that person be legally detained? If so, under what law?

29. Trinidad can only be forced if PIARCO is opened for air traffic business.

30. David,

Providing that this is true, what would u have done as PM were this to occur? would you accept them? why Bim? why not another Caribbean destination where BA or whichever plane they are coming in on, flies?

was Bim asked and accepted? why are we not hearing from moutta MAM?

31. Air Canada is having problems at Grantley Adams.

32. @Greene

You must learn to identify nonsense when it is said. Trinidad has a legal obligation to accept its own citizens. Citizenship was not withdrawn from them.
    That aside, the issue should be discussed by CARICOM.

33. @ Hal March 23, 2020 1:46 PM

I tuned into the V.O.B. call-in program off and on. Glynne Murray again seems to think that he is an authority on virus. Towards the end David Ellis got hold of Corvid 19 Czar, Richard Carter .a sociologist to explain to the public what was going on.. I was tempted to call in and pose some technical he would have been able to answer. As I said microbiologists and epidemiologists should at the fore-front. A caller said that there was a revision about the spread by droplets only and it is now being said also by aerosols; Two other callers alluded to the fact that self-quarantine did not seem to be working as follows: a woman in a supermarket on her phone was boasting that she had only seven more days of self-quarantine to go. A man visiting a government office claimed that he had flown in from the USA yesterday. given the ignorance of these two perpetrators one can only wonder how wide-spread is such behavior.

34. Correction: technical questions

35. Correction; technical questions that he would not have been able to answer ( I am cooking and making this post at the same time,) That explains the corrections.

36. If what was reported in the article is true…… how could PM Mottley make such a unilateral decision to authorise the acceptance of those 35 Trinidadians, without informing Barbadians of her intentions?

Then, we have now gone from REWARDING undocumented non-nationals with $25,000 grants, loans and free land, for ILLEGALLY acquiring lands at Rock Hall, St. Philip, upon which they illegally constructed houses……..

………… to AWARDING Trinidadians who were denied entry by their government, with a ‘safe haven’ in Barbados, at the expense of our scarce medical resources.

Are we to believe there isn’t ANYONE among the 28 other members of parliament, 12 Senators, several consultants, BLP elders…. or even her friends, that can advise Mia Mottley and discuss with her whether or not she is making the correct decisions?

37. Artax March 23, 2020 2:21 PM

The virus is already here : all that has to be done is put them in a strict quarantine. The Trinidadians have done what they had to do, after warning nationals not to go on the cruise. They had no choice had to enforce their words with action. Could not do like Obama with the green line. As head of CARICOM she couldn’t just sit and do nothing.
    I am not one of her supporters but I have no problem with the action.

38. Pea Brain

It illegal for cruise ships to dump waste at sea

U think the recycle the water for toiket flushing
    And waste from holding tank can be pumped off by truck and hauled to the sewage treatment plant

Think some time nuh

Plane does dump their waste at sea or on the tarmac ?

39. @ Robert

I am not an expert, all I can do is watch how the Brits are responding and how the Bajans are responding. By comparing the two I have concluded that the Bajans are either miracle workers, or terribly dumb.
    Boris is making a speech to the nation in two hours and it is expected he will announce the nation will go in to lockdown. All our major stores, restaurants et have closed down. About 1.5m people have been ordered not to leave home; more and more people are working from home. More and more people are self-isolating. I do not go out, except to the shops. London streets are virtually empty.
    It is frightening. We are facing a disease of Biblical proportions. We must protect our frontline workers. Why does the president not call in help, or is it she knows everything. Does she consult her Cabinet colleagues? If so, do they all agree with her? This is dictatorship.

40. @ Miller March 23, 2020 10:12 AM

Miller, There are many high palms on this Royal Island to hang traitors. Years ago I already proposed the establishment of a People’s Court. Now I have arrived at the so-called Drumhead Court.

41. @ Mariposa March 23, 2020 1:11 PM

Dear Ms De Peiza,

So let’s drop the masks. I want to know from you why your DLP ministers signed the VISA AGREEMENT and the MILITARY PACT WITH CHINA.

I smell a second and a third CAHILL.

Sincerely, Tron

42. @Greene

There is not enough information about what transpired with the stranded Trinidadians. At this point with PIARCO on lockdown what should the Barbados government do? We can do all the investigating and complaining to Caricom but how does it address the immediate problem?

43. @Hal Austin March 23, 2020 6:08 AM “Already in West Sussex we have had a young teaching assistant being mugged for her groceries. And that is in modern Britain.”

You are acting a though the British were ever these ncey-nicey people. The British spent not days or weeks, nor years, but centuries doing worse than mugging to your ancestors and mine.

The British were never nice.

Not surprised that young women are being jugged for their groceries.

The British have long been some of the most savage people on earth.

Don’t know how you can bear to lie in bed with them.

44. robert lucas March 23, 2020 2:32 PM “The Trinidadians have done what they had to do, after warning nationals not to go on the cruise. They had no choice had to enforce their words with action.”

Nonsense.

45. Cousin Boris cannot play anymore games, he is about to get a mutiny if he continues.

yall better have at least 2 months of food in your hourse…for a worse case scenario.

“Boris Johnson will make a televised speech tonight amid fury that many people are still flouting government guidance, with parks and Tube trains in London – regarded as the engine of the UK outbreak – still busy. The government’s Cobra emergency committee is due to meet at 5pm, and Mr Johnson is expected to make a significant announcement later. The move comes after the number of fatalities went up by 54 in a single day – the second biggest rise yet. Health Secretary Matt Hancock has underlined that a decision on toughening measures is expected ‘very soon’, hitting out at ‘selfish’ behaviour and saying ‘nothing is off the table’.

He pointed to measures in Italy and France – where shops have been closed, forms have to be filled out to leave the house, and police are on patrol handing out fines. The backlash has been mounting against Mr Johnson’s ‘relaxed’ style today, with warnings of a ‘full-scale mutiny’ among Cabinet if the lockdown is not extended, and Labour claiming his ‘mixed messages will cost lives’.”

46. Coronavirus is just the start: Scientists warn there will be more diseases like this in the future and the next pandemic is a case of ‘when not if’
    Researchers say our encroachment on wild habitats will lead to more viruses
    Deforestation and using wild animals as pets, food and medicine are to blame
    Experts say there’s no sustainable human health without a healthy ecosystem
    Coronavirus symptoms: what are they and should you see a doctor?
    By RYAN MORRISON FOR MAILONLINE

PUBLISHED: 17:15 GMT, 23 March 2020 | UPDATED: 17:15 GMT, 23 March 2020

47. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@Mr Blogmaster, you are stretching the boundaries of international travel BEST PRACTICES well entrenched since 9-11 to opine “What would you have the authority do regarding the matter? Leave the elderly group on the tarmac?”

Based on what has become travel SOPs it is expected that BEFORE flights depart an originating airport the destination country can access full flight manifest as needed or as agreed between the nations… thus, Bdos would have made the decision not at tarmac wheels-down but at point of departure in London. Anyhow, I think that’s moot!

The PM, right or wrong, has a 14 day quarantine in place so at worst it’s a drag on local resources but at best the lady will HAVE lots of callable chips with Dr. Rowley…

2.You say that TnT’s action “is reprehensible” but is that just bold talk or as the TnT bard would say because ‘tanti Merle, say so’!

All nationals of the twin island state were WARNED that travel should be limited to essential and emergency travel only unfortunately for these folks that ‘draconian’ ruling came long after they had locked in their expensive (supposedly] African vacation and cruise. But by the time they started their trip in late February this pandendemic had long made an impact that should have SERIOUSLY cautioned them about cancelling (and bite the bullet on their paid up funds) … this trip started on Feb 23 it seems.

So now it’s into the law and constitution and despite all the awesome talk about a citizen having a right to to be domiciled and not be refused entry in the land of their birth I believe its ALSO valid that the dictates of national security can supercede otherwise valid rights.

And that takes me back to the Tanti Merle reference…. if those seniors have the conviction of your words one or other will sue their nation for the outrage of refusing them entry… We shall see…. they likely LOSE anyhow one suspects.

The long and short will likely be some nice nation to nation interface with Bim as a thank you for this awesome gesture (like eventually picking up tab of quarantine services or more) and the seniors having a better appreciation of risk reward opportunity cost of what accountants call ‘sunk costs’… if its spent already and problems arise, then cry and move on… dont sink more… as now surely they will be more out of pocket due to this extended stay in Bdos.

48. @ Hal March 23, 2020 2:36 PM

As I said he has not been a very good at leading in this case. If necessary a few bones might have to be broken. Hopefully there maybe a depression: would teach these pompous self-absorbed young people what life is all about. That generation that fought WW2 was a great generation considering the deprivation that they endure in the great depression and then were called upon to fight .Have you noticed that a lot of them lived until the reached ninety or more.?

49. @Hal Austin March 23, 2020 8:38 AM “There is a pervasive view that this will blow over like a hurricane and things will go back to normal.”

This is a dangerously silly view of hurricanes. Hurricanes do not just blow over. Typically a takes a place even a place like new Orleans, in a country as the USA, typically it takes about 10 years for a place to recover from a hurricane.

A hurricane is not a light harmless afternoon breeze which simply blows over.

Only silly old men think so.

Leave a Reply to Hal AustinCancel reply