Reproduced from caribbeansignal.com

Based on data collected at the time of this post, February 2020 saw at least two murders taking place in Barbados. The victims were Shakeem Holder and Keron Howell, ages 22 and 26 respectively. Holder was stabbed in the parish of St. Michael while Howell was shot in St. John. The total murder count for the year thus far is five persons.

Information was collected during the month of February and compiled based on the following online sources: Nation News, Barbados Today and Loop Barbados.

Barbados Murder Map Jan to Feb 2020
Heat Map of Murders in Barbados – January to February 2020
Barbados Murders February 2020 Table

Read full stats @caribbeansignal.com

144 responses to “Barbados Murder Statistics February 2020”

1. The stock market is an indicator of how the economy is doing.

2. DISHONEST Bajans Avatar
    DISHONEST Bajans

@ Hal

You are doing something right when local Bajans attack you.

They live in a warped world.

If you agree with them you are their friends once you disagree frequently they seek to discredit and malign.

Watch the ones who criticises you most they do the same things they want to pull you down for.

Crabs in the bucket mentality and very untrustworthy people.

3. Police confirm the body of a man was found in the bushy area off Welches Road, St Michael, not far from the service station

Police are probing the circumstances that led to the shooting death of a man at Golden Rock, The Pine St Michael last night around 11:20.

Commissioner of Police Tyrone Griffith is back on the job after a long absence

4. Two more as i indicated the criminals did not packed and leave the island
    The were strategizing for new undetectable methods to hide their dastardly crimes
    I am not expecting to hear any further details of the body found in Welches
    Anyhow i have a right to speculate and that i would do until officials come to a righteous understanding that they are being paid by the people and their job is to present clear and irrefutable evidence no matter where it leads
    Dead bodies being found in stategically locations is not happenstance

5. Latest told by news media on the body in Welches stated that residence said they heard gun shots in the area where the body was found
    Hopefully authorities would release information as to the state of the body when it was found

6. The oil dip is important to us All around and even more so if a few tourust stop coming. If the virus dies down when it warms up ( like the flu) then even better

How could 2 ‘sentences’ have so much wrong?

7. There are reports reaching Nation News that a body was discovered in a well at Chelston Park, Culloden Road, St Michael.

Three fire tenders and scores of police officers are on the scene.

https://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/244302/body-chelston

8. Bodies showing up in strategically placed areas
    Not good
    The facts surrounding these bodies needs to be told

9. Enough!

We have too many important issues for some of you to be focused on attacking anonymous people:

10. “Bodies showing up in strategically placed areas. Not good.”

@ Mariposa

At the risk of offending your fan base…….. Police said at approximately 11:20 am yesterday, they responded to reports of gunshots in the areas of Martinique Road, Ivy and the general vicinity of Welches, Flint Hall and Licorish Village. While combing a bushy area known as the old train line, which connects Licorish Village and Flint Hall, they found the body of 39-year-old well-digger, Kendrick King.

You reminded us you “have a right to speculate,” which is true. But intelligent, reasonable people, would do so rationally.

Why couldn’t you have speculated that the victim was shot, ran and fell where he was found, rather than suggesting he was “strategically placed” in the area?

It’s clear you’re not pretending………… you are definitely……….

11. David,

You like you put ya mout pon we! In cricket it is known as “The commentator’s curse”.

12. Welcome back, Commissioner!

13. Sir Mariposa makes observation as according to what sources told the police
    and where the bodies were found
    You are free to speculate in which ever way pleases your rationale
    But please dont tell me how to go about with my observations

14. How do Donna? I

15. “Sir Mariposa makes observation as according to what sources told the police and where the bodies were found.accusing the former administration of ‘hiding up’ crime.

My friend, there wasn’t anything sources told the police and where the body was found that would remotely suggest what you’re attempting to imply.

What are the significant differences in this case, when compared with, for example, the case where, when sometime during the early morning hours of Friday, September 1, 2017, as a result of information received, police were led to the discovery of a male, Caucasian body in a remote area at Hillside Garden, the Mount, St. George?

What are the significant differences in the media reporting crime or how the police progressively disseminates information on crimes, to the public, prior and post May 24, 2018?

You’re only trying to make a case for usual political nonsense that the present ‘government,’ for some untoward, political reason you imagined or fabricated, is with-holding information about crime, when you KNOW the RESPONSIBILITY of giving the public details on crime lies with the RBPF…… and NOT the PM, AG or any other member of parliament.

As such, you’re going about your observations dishonestly. But that your role on BU.

And, it’s this type of silly political grandstanding and politicizing every issue that’s ‘watering down’ the blog.

16. Sir there were two bodies found
    Do u know which one of the bodies i reference my observation to what sources said

17. Come on…… don’t be silly.

The police gave information on the identity of the body found at Welches and there hasn’t been any updates from them, so far, as it relates to the report that a body was discovered in a well at Chelston Park, Culloden Road, St Michael.

Anyhow, carry on smartly.

18. How come some one knew the body was in the well so late in the night

19. In any case or order eye witness provides evidence that can clearly indicate malice or wrong doing
    Firstly in my earlier comments my reference of sources was to what witness said they heard in Welches
    Not being any where in proximity of the incident
    I rely on media reports and sources
    The facts at this time suggest that witness said they heard gunshots coming from that area where the body in Welches was found
    Hence i am expecting officials to give a clear and define corroboration of what was said in the media
    Along with a clear explanation as to the condition of the body when it was found

20. RE: “Not being any where in proximity of the incident, I rely on media reports and sources
    The facts at this time suggest that witness said they heard gunshots coming from that area where the body in Welches was found.”

Okay. But bearing your above comments in mind, could you please refer us to the reports or facts from the media, sources and witnesses that SUGGESTED led you SPECULATE the body found at Welches, was “strategically placed (in that) area?”

RE: “Hence i am expecting officials to give a clear and define corroboration of what was said in the media.”

And, what else was REPORTED in the media OTHER than people saying they heard gunshots and called the RBPF and Police saying at approximately 11:20 am yesterday, they RESPONDED to REPORTS of gunshots in the areas of Martinique Road, Ivy and the general vicinity of Welches, Flint Hall and Licorish Village. While combing a bushy area known as the old train line, which connects Licorish Village and Flint Hall, they found the body of 39-year-old well-digger, Kendrick King?

Wuh part you really come from?

You could really stop now, because the more you go on about this and ‘twisting yuh mout,’ it shows how silly you think.

21. The police released in their report on the matter that they are holding persons of interest who pointed them to the well. You need to stop, really.

22. Artax
    Why do you waste time responding to AC?
    dO YOU TALK TO JACKASSES AND OTHER ANIMALS WHEN YOU TRAVERSE THE STREETS?
    MIND YOU SUCH CREATURES ARE MORE LOGICAL

23. Bearing in mind that i never made mention of the body in the well being placed there by any one
    However common sense dictates that a dead body could not have been placed in the well all by itself
    Sir i might be stupid but not stupid enough not to observe when certain factors does not add up
    However i still call on officials to be diligent in their findings and release all necessary information to the public

24. GP who call on you for advice
    Btw if anyone responds it is none of your god dam business
    Never knew you were appointed the Blog Police
    Why dont u go back to your Sunday Sermon where the interest from others is nothing to non-existent
    Whether any one response or not to my comments should not be of interest to you
    You have your own battles to fight like getting some one any one to respond to those boring Sunday Sermon Articles
    Beast of Prey be gone jac.ass

25. Dishonest Bajans Avatar
    Dishonest Bajans

GP who call on you for advice
    Btw if anyone responds it is none of your god dam business
    Never knew you were appointed the Blog Police
    Why dont u go back to your Sunday Sermon where the interest from others is nothing to non-existent
    Whether any one response or not to my comments should not be of interest to you
    You have your own battles to fight like getting some one any one to respond to those boring Sunday Sermon Articles
    Beast of Prey be gone jac.ass
    xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

Well said,

26. re You have your own battles to fight like getting some one any one to respond to those boring Sunday Sermon Articles
    NOT AT ALL! I HAVE NO BATTLE AT ALL!

MY DUTY IS TO TEACH THE WORD IN SEASON AND OUT OF SEASON.REGARDLESS TO THE RESPONSE OR IF the interest from others is nothing to non-existent. MY DUTY IS TO RIGHTLY DIVIDE THE WORD OF TRUTH

IT IS WRITTEN IN Isaiah 55:11
    So shall my word be that goeth forth out of my mouth: it shall not return unto me void, but it shall accomplish that which I please, and it shall prosper in the thing whereto I sent it.

I PREFER TO GET NO RESPONSES AT ALL THAN GET SOME OF THOSE THAT I GET THAT INDICATE A DEARTH OF BIBLICAL KNOWLEDGE AND SPIRITUAL UNDERSTANDING

IF I POSTED FOR RESPONSES I WOULD QUIT
    ADRIAN LOVERAGE HAS POSTED FOR YEARS –MUCH LONGER THAN I HAVE- WITH SIMILAR PAUCITY OF RESPONSES, BUT HE SOLDIERS ON, BECAUSE HE IS CONFIDENT THAT HE HAS SOMETHING TO SAY, AND HE IS CONFIDENT IN WHAT HE SAYS

27. Beast of Prey ( GP)

U at mariposa again
    Go bag uh head ole fool nothing u have ever said was of interst to anyone on BU whether it be good or bad
    Now take my advice and leave Mariposa alone

28. Police are investigating a shooting incident that occurred at Kensington New Road, St Michael around 12:13 p.m.

https://barbadostoday.bb/2020/03/13/police-probe-shooting-9/

29. And the shooting goes on
    When will they stop.

30. When all the stupid black boys are dead.

31. UPDATE: Shooting death in Checker Hall

Who ever is in charge needs to find another job
    The rate of criminal activity and violent crime contiues daily and its seems that policies meant to deter crime in Barbados is not working at any level
    As one blogger suggest (maybe govt is waiting )for all.stupid black men to kill themselves for the shootings to stop
    Silly as that comment may sound
    At the rate crime is continuing in barbados govt might be thinking like wise

32. Wondering if any further updates would be given as to the cause of death of the body found in the well
    Not really expecting any updates that like the many deaths by fires would remained un-accounted
    But that is barbados
    No transparency yet govt wants all to believe the many utterances on the Corona virus
    A govt prone on secrecy cannot be trusted

33. My God woman, show some sympathy for the victims and their family. Your delight in these unfortunate incident is showing.

34. Yes, her delight in these unfortunate incidents is (definitely) showing.

When you have political operatives fabricating stories, purposely misrepresenting facts and blatantly lying to REPEATEDLY give the impression ‘government’ (NOT the POLICE) is responsible for giving the public details on murders and purposely with-holding information relative to crimes committed in Barbados, emotions such as showing sympathy for the victims and their relatives, ‘goes through the window.’

Sympathy becomes secondary to their silly political agenda.

35. Has the body in the well been identified as the postman who disappeared?

36. Jamar Small, 31, of Villa Road, Brittons Hill, St Michael, died at the Queen Elizabeth Hospital (QEH) around 12:30 a.m.

Police say Small rode a bicycle to Central Police Station, The City, around 9:10 p.m. Friday and reported he was beaten and ran by a group of men in Britton’s Hill.

https://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/244377/dies-allegedly-beaten

37. A man beaten to death
    Cuh dear
    That duppy dust not going away

38. The police is waiting on a forensic report.

39. The stock market is an indicator of how the economy is doing.(Quote)

This is the sort of financial and economic illiteracy that passes as knowledge on BU.

40. https://barbadostoday.bb/2020/07/31/10000-people-sign-online-petition-demanding-justice-for-beaten-boy/

“Chase said, “This morning I am sad to report that 10-year-old Demarco Gibbs is now brain dead. He was beaten by four boys and struck in the back of the head, suffering brain damage from the incident. There is nothing more the medical team at the Queen Elizabeth Hospital can do for him and they have done their utmost best. His mother Tricia Gibbs is totally distraught.”

Chase made an impassioned plea for the perpetrators to be held accountable for their actions. She is calling for changes to laws that protect minors from criminal prosecution”

I am speechless.

41. Could be another ewrecord breaking year unless….

The shooting occurred less than 100 metres from the Black Rock Police Station

https://barbadostoday.bb/2020/08/01/ag-on-crime-rate-as-man-slain-near-police-station/