The Upper House is currently debating the Estimates 2020 – 2021. Debating is a strange word given the fact the Barbados Labour Party won all the seats in parliament 30 to 0. A wart of the government system.

The 2020 -2021 Draft Estimates document

2020 Estimates Draft

Follow the debate from 10AM of Parliament TV.

http://www.youtube.com/c/BarbadosParliamentChannel

222 responses to “2020 – 2021 Estimates Debate”

1. @ Miller understands the principle. In more sophisticated societies that would be an issue for trading standards. Why not advertise at $10 and charge $40, and blame a shortage of notes or the printers?
    Or advertise a product as made of mahogany then provide one made of plywood and blame the shortage of mahogany? @ John A, the method of payment should not matter.
    Until recently BA (British Airways) used to charge travellers paying by credit or debit card more than the advertised price until the regulator clamped down on them. It was dishonest..

2. (Quote):
    “Fellows if you were paying by cheque or credit card you would in fact write the cheque for $39.99. It therefore is priced legally, however for a cash sale it is rounded up or down to the closet 5 cents.”

WELL SIMPLY INFORM THE CUSTOMER BY STATING that on the Price tag or simply have the price of $40.00 displayed for all customers to avoid doubt or confusion which can lead to delays and inefficiencies at the checkout especially involving visitors to the little island of yesteryear trading standards.

That is what any enlightened business jurisdiction would do.

But what you expect from a jurisdiction which still insists on the requirement of some Neanderthal Justice of the Piece or Priest or Bank Manager signing some simple document(s) involving identification for passport renewal and other simple straightforward business transactions when there is a National Identification system in place already in the form of a National ID card issued by the State?

Get with the programme Barbados, or you are going to go the way of the dodo bird where doing business is concerned.

If Barbados can’t get those simple things sorted out how on earth can it expect to get BERT singing its praises (especially the ‘T’ for ‘Transformation’ and not Tenor?

3. Let us now return to frying bigger fish like the estimates. Let’s not get distracted over a cent at Massy
    Xxxxxxxxx

YOU SEEM TO BE MISSING THE REAL POINT.

THERE IS NO BIG PICTURE IN BARBADOS UNLESS IT IS INVOLVING DECEPTION OF TAXPAYERS AND VOTERS AND ANYONE ELSE WHO FALLS INTO LOCAL TRAP OF DISHONESTY AND DISENFRANCHISE MENT.

ONE CAN DISCUSS AND TALK FOREVER BUT IF THE FOUNDATION IS BAD THE HOUSE WILL CRASH AND BURN.

GARBAGE IN GARBAGE OUT.

4. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ Miller.
    There is no doubt or confusion. The CBB did an excellent Public Education series on the rounding due to the withdrawal of the 1 cent from circulation. This is nothing new. Some people like to play stupid ,childish games and need to grow up. The principle is not new in the British commonwealth. Nor is the method of marketing new in the English speaking countries, That style of marketing using psychology has been in vogue for three decades. So Hal stop playing the%$#@& .

5. @ Miller.
    There is no doubt or confusion. The CBB did an excellent Public Education series on the rounding due to the withdrawal of the 1 cent from circulation.
    Xxxxxxxxx

THEN THE BUSINESS INVOLVED USED DECEPTIVE PRICING TO FOOL THE PUBLIC THAT AN ITEM IS CHEAPER USING MENTAL TACTICS INTO THINKING THAT AN ITEM IS IN THE THIRTY SOMETHING NOT $40 TO INCREASE CHANCE OF SALE.

SOMETHING WHICH IS USED BY MANY RETAILERS OVERSEAS.

WHY ESPECIALLY DECEPTIVE SINCE FROM 2014 CENTS HAVE BEEN OUTLAWED.

THE PRICE SHOULD HAVE BEEN $39.95 OR $40.

IF A CONGLOMERATE COMPANY LIKE MASSEY SELLING GROCERIES AND MANY OTHER ITEMS DOES COLLECTIVELY A MILLION TRANSACTIONS IN ONE YEAR WITH LOCAL CUSTOMERS USING SAME STRATEGY IS 1000000X .01 = $10,000 OF STOLEN MONEY.

YET YOU IDIOTS IN BARBADOS WANT TO PUT YOUR OWN PEOPLE IN DODDS PRISON FOR STEALING SALT BREAD AND OTHER PETTY ITEMS.

BLACK PEOPLE CONTINUE TO LIVE IN MENTAL SLAVERY.

6. @ Vincent Codrington February 26, 2020 6:09 PM

So why does the grandmother of the British Commonwealth still have its 1 p and 2 p coins in circulation?

You can bet your last Bajan cent that as soon as that 1 p coin is taken out of circulation every single item on display for all buyers by which ever method of payment will show a selling price rounded to the nearest 5 p.; or whatever.

You are living in a backward world if you believe that stupid Bajan buyers (shopping at Amazon) are easily induced to buy an item because its display price is $39.99 instead of $40.00.

Barrow’s experiment has genuinely failed the test of freeness (FOC) if that is the kind of consumer trap Bajans can easily fall into.

Hal is 99.99 % spot on and the miller- with his old school tie(s) on show- is on all-fours with the ‘English’ wannabe on this one.

Are you prepared to give him a passing grade on this one?

You dye-in-the-wool Bajans are, sometimes, really to blind to see.

Travel and living overseas can at times broaden your mind.
    But, it can also make you so passionately and overly patriotic for simlly just wanting to bring change to your little image of being at the centre of the world.

‘Go ahead small England, Little Britain is behind you’!

7. @Miller

You are arguing a non point.

8. The problem with some of you is that a minor point must generate 50 comments because of inflated egos and god knows what else.

9. The customer should have call the police if she thought she was being robbed.
    OR
    put the item back and go and find a place where it was properly priced and buy it there
    OR
    find some place where it was prices at $40.02, that way she would be saving 2c by robbing the business

high class foolishness

10. @ David February 26, 2020 7:12 PM

Guess you would say the same about Hal Austin.

The “Bajan condition” at work indeed!

What’s so difficult about quoting the price as $40.00?

Name one other place in the properly regulated commercial WORLD where such duplicity in pricing exists unless the difference is one of a discount?

11. Name one other place in the properly regulated commercial WORLD where such duplicity in pricing exists unless the difference is one of a discount.
    Xxxxxxxx

It goes from DLP/BLP, overseas vs locals and an additional twist now referring to EGOS.

IN ANOTHER LIFE I WOULD LIKE TO COME BACK AS A BAJAN POLITICIAN.

THESE FOOLS ARE LIKE SHEEP TO A SLAUGHTER.

12. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ Miller

It is interesting that you should mention Amazon. Recently they sold me books at $1.99 at $6.99. and $97.83. Figure out why they did not round them up to the nearest dollar.

@John2

OR find and bring the correct change of $39 .99 cents for the rum. If i were the cashier I would hold the rum until she brought the correct amount of money.

13. It is interesting that you should mention Amazon. Recently they sold me books at $1.99 at $6.99. and $97.83. Figure out why they did not round them up to the nearest dollar.
    Xxxxxxxxx

I SEE YOU WANT TO BRING OUT INFORMATION THAT HAS NOTHING TO DO WITH THE FACTS.

AMAZON DIDN’T TAKE $2 OR $7 FROM YOU.

THEY TOOK FROM YOU THE EXACT ADVERTISED AMOUNT.

THEN YOU WANT TO SWIPE AT HAL BECAUSE HE DOESN’T ACCEPT YOUR NONSENSICAL ARGUMENT.

14. Where ignorance is bliss ‘‘tis folly to be wise….

15. @John A February 26, 2020 11:53 AM “I better rethink that 4 beers for $10 I offering come to think of it! lol”

Advertise and sell the 4 beers fr $9.99 and remember to give back the one cent change do.

16. @ Vincent Codrington February 26, 2020 8:32 PM

Were those prices quoted in US currency which still makes provision for the legal tendering of pennies?

Were you given the option in paying in Cash denominated in the US of A currency?

Has the USA officially abolished its ‘cent’ as a coin of legal tender?

The motto “E Pluribus Unum” still reigns supreme on the’basic’ ‘US’ coin called the “Penny”.

Barbados no longer has its coin bearing its Coat of Arms and Trident in circulation.

There is absolutely nothing misleading in asking people to pay whatever quantum is demanded by cheque / check, credit/debit card or electronic transfer.

But settlement by paper currency and metal coins requires the flexibility to pay the exact amount but with access to the currency denominations needed to make the transaction binding.

Just get rid of cash (paper and coins) and, Eureka, the rounding problem of embarrassment disappears!

17. @Baje February 26, 2020 1:03 PM “GRASS CUTTER ETC.”

Actually most people i know pay the grass cutters about $80 to $100 BDS per session. The customer will get about 3 or 4 hours work for that.

If you try to pay the grass cutting guy $6.25 per hour, please don’t act surprised when he does not show up.

Domestic helpers get paid around $80 per session of about 6 hours. I did a paid domestic job this week. a 1 bedroom apartment. Cleaned the oven, took down the curtains, washed and rehung them, cleaned the windows and screens, the cushion covers had been previously washed, so I re-stuffed 4 cushions, swept and mopped the steps, locked up, sorted the garbage into garbage and recyclables, put the garbage out. Will take the recyclables to the recycling center next time I pass that way. 4 hours work, I got paid $100. I would not do it for $25, not even for a family member.

18. @Baje February 26, 2020 2:51 PM “NOT ONCE GIVES A PERSONAL EXPERIENCE IN US OR UK.”

A year or two ago a charge of $100 USD appeared on my credit card for Amazon Prime. I did not rder nor ask for Amazon Prime so why was this little old lady in the tropics being charged $100 USD out of her li’l pension?

Well you know I couldn’t tek dat lying down.

Went to the bank. Was told that multiple customers had complained. It seems as though Amazon was simply adding Amazon Prime to customers accounts and leaving it up to the customers to notice the charge and have it removed.

I mean Amazon can’t does not do free fast shipping to Barbados so why would I pay them $100.

Anyway I had the charge removed.

Some old ladies on small islands still know that they have to watch any and all merchants

19. And we continue down the rabbit hole.

20. @David February 26, 2020 7:14 PM “The problem with some of you is that a minor point must generate 50 comments because of inflated egos and god knows what else.”

David nothing else of them fellas is inflated.

Methinks that because all other parts are deflated that the fellas miserable so.

21. Let me put my two cents in,
    Oops. If you round that down.
    I have nothing to add.

22. I HAVE SPOKEN MANY TIMES ON BU ON THE OPPORTUNITIES OUTSIDE OF BARBADOS FOR YOUNG PEOPLE AND CASTIGATED BY THE USUAL SUSPECTS WHO SPEW BULLSHIT REGULARLY ON BU.

NOW IT IS SPOKEN DURING THE ESTIMATES BY THE SAME BLP MINISTERS THE FOOLS ELECT NOW BEGGING THE US EMBASSY ASSISTANCE WITH FINDING EMPLOYMENT IN THE USA FOR UNEMPLOYED BAJANS.

WELL WELL WELL.

xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

Labour Ministry urged to help more Bajans find employment in the big three

Citing rising unemployment, which Government legislator Gline Clarke said is above nine per cent, the Deputy Speaker on Tuesday called on the Ministry of Labour to help more Barbadians find jobs overseas.

During debate on the 2020/2021 Estimates, Clarke pointed to countries like Jamaica, Mexico, and the Philippines, where he said their labour department has been proactive in finding employment for a number of people.

Noting that in 2014 several people were laid off by the previous administration, many of whom he said still have not been able to find employment, Clarke said the Labour Department must live up to its mandate of being the flagship in helping Barbadians find gainful employment.

“My view is that your department has to be at the forefront in finding employment for those persons who have been laid off,” Clarke said.

“I must tell you that your Caribbean neighbor, Jamaica, is spending this financial year, more than a million U.S. dollars in soliciting help from across the Caribbean, because they believe in remittances, which form a large part of their revenue.”

But Minister of Labour and Social Partnership Colin Jordan said while there are no Barbadians on work programmes in the United States at this time, his ministry is working to change that.

“We have a new liaison officer who has had quite some experience in that area. We have faced some challenges of immigration restrictions and approaches to immigration in the United States,” Jordan said.

“But as we engage in discussions – we have another one in about two weeks with personnel from the United States Embassy here – we’re pretty certain that there are opportunities in the United States to be had and we are vigorously pursuing those opportunities.”

Just last week, the Donald Trump administration listed Barbados and four other Caribbean countries among 84 worldwide that are eligible for H-2A and H-2B visa programmes that allow US employers to bring foreign nationals to the US to fill temporary agricultural and nonagricultural jobs.

The other Caribbean countries are Dominican Republic, Grenada, Jamaica and St Vincent and the Grenadines.

While there are currently no Barbadians on work programmes in the U.S., Jordan said the news was much better for the United Kingdom and Canada.

“The UK opportunity is one that we are currently working on. The interviews have been concluded; the persons from the United Kingdom would have left Barbados last week and that pilot programme is intended to employ 50 persons in agriculture in the United Kingdom,” Jordan explained.

“On the same day that we held a press briefing to notify the country of that opportunity, the Home Office in the United Kingdom made an announcement indicating that that pilot programme, the numbers have increased. So, we believe that Barbados will have the opportunity to add to the 50 who we have already committed to having as part of that pilot programme.

“That came about, we believe, as a result of Brexit and the slow-down of workers from Europe … into the United Kingdom and the continued development of the agricultural sector in the United Kingdom. So, we believe there are additional opportunities to be had in the United Kingdom market,” he added.

In Canada, which Jordan said remains the flagship for Barbadian workers, there are approximately 185 people employed.

On the seasonal agricultural workers programme there are 165 Barbadians, while another 30 are employed in hotels.

“Next week, a hotel that we met with while we were in Canada last year, personnel from that hotel will be coming in to interview persons. They recognize that there is value in workers from Barbados and they are coming in on March 2 to interview workers to be employed in their establishment in Ontario,” the Minister said.

“So, we are maintaining that programme and being aggressive in expanding that programme. We have indicated, to those who we consider our partners, that we have good workers to offer and they can benefit just as our workers can benefit.”

Clarke had also expressed concerns about not seeing funds set aside in the estimates for the Minister and labour personnel to travel abroad to solicit help from foreign employers.

Jordan assured however, that there is a plan in place to connect Barbadian job seekers with employers overseas.

“I, like most other members who have the privilege of leading ministries, continue to be cognizant of where we are as a country in terms of financial resources, so we have to be very strategic in terms of our outreach. But we have included sums there that will allow us to go out and solicit opportunities for our people,” he said.

“I come out of a background where to do business you have to be in people’s faces and you have to build relationships and we’re taking that approach. We also agree that you have to creep before you walk, especially when funding is not plentiful.”

Jordan said his ministry has decided to take an approach where countries would be targeted on a rotating basis.
    emmanueljoseph@barbadostoday.bb

https://barbadostoday.bb/2020/02/27/labour-ministry-urged-to-help-more-bajans-find-employment-in-the-big-three/

23. @ Vincent

Had it been me I would have put the rum back on the shelf and walk out. The advertised price is the price charged. Not a cent more. We need consumer education in Barbados. This has nothing to do with the central bank; it is all about dishonest marketing.

24. Hmmmmmmm……..

Someone ‘said’ while in Barbados they have to speak with a ‘Bajan accent’ in fear of being ripped off. In response, I ‘spoke’ of a similar experience I had in another island with someone who heard my Bajan accent.

And, this is INTERPRETED as “BULLSHIT” and trying “TO JUSTIFY THE FLEECING AND DISHONESTY HAPPENING IN BIM?”

And, is “PESONAL LIMITED EXPOSURE” because “NOT ONCE (I GAVE) A PERSONAL EXPERIENCE IN US OR UK?”

Shiite!!! Hahahahahahahahahaha!!!

I guess this is an example of how people with ‘big country mentalities,’ who TAUGHT at several universities and MANAGED several businesses THINK.

Can’t win against these guys. To do so means we’ll ‘have to punch above our weight,’ and that’s impossible for people in an “ISLAND SO FULL OF MONKEYS” with “small island mentalities.”

25. @ those brayers out there who just like to cry down Barbados but would go to another country and kiss their assess with out the slighter mummur.

https://www.cbc.ca/news/canada/canada-s-penny-withdrawal-all-you-need-to-know-1.1174547

26. then you all wonder why the local bajans don’t like winnuh with your condescending/know it all attitudes??

27. then you all wonder why the local bajans don’t like winnuh with your condescending/know it all attitudes??
    xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

THEN TELL YOUR LOCAL GOVERNMENT GIVE UP SENDING BAJANS TO USA, UK OR CANADA FOR WORK OPPORTUNITIES SINCE YOU JOKERS DOWN THERE CATCHING HELL AND CAN’T TAKE CARE OF THE SUFFERING MASSES.

OWEN WAS RIGHT POOR RAKEY.

I DON’T COME ON BU TO WIN FRIENDS.

I COME ONLY WITH FACTS AND A PROVEN TRACK RECORD HOPEFULLY TO ENLIGHTEN SOME OF THE SILENT READERS LOCALLY WHO HAVE TO WALLOW IN THE NONSENSE AROUND THEM DAILY LIKE A FEW OTHERS DID FOR ME YEARS AGO.

28. IF THIS IS WHAT IS HAPPENING IN CUBA BAJANS MUST BE LIVING IN HEAVEN AND WE WELL KNOW THAT WE NOT LIVING IN HEAVEN SO WHY DO WE LISTEN TO THOSE POLITICAL PUNDITS WHO WANT TO MAKE BARBADOS LIKE CUBA…THEY MUST WANT US NOW TO GO TO HELL…THEY ARE MANY DIFFERENT WAYS TO MAKE US LIKE CUBA…

ESTIMATE THIS…

We’re supposed to believe that it is a wonderful thing in communist countries, where the leaders care so much for their people. They teach them to read. They have free education and health care. Cubans have very strict gun control. Abortion is available on demand in Cuba, and in 2019, they raised the mandatory minimum wage. These are all things the Democrats running for president support. It looks like an ideal Democrat platform.

After 60 years of Castro Brothers control, they have raised the minimum wage to $16 (per month, not per hour). The average wage will shoot up from $24 to $42 per month. Thank goodness Cuba doesn’t have the problem with wealth and income inequality that the United States does because that would cause division and strife.

Higher education professors will now receive $56 to $68 per month, very similar to the fake Indian running for president, who wants to move toward socialism, who is worth millions and got paid $400,000 for the tough task of teaching one course. I wonder why the cost of education is so high in the U.S. and why student debt is so high when Warren got only $400,000 plus benefits for such a tough schedule.

The Cuban journalists pushing government propaganda will go from an average salary of $15.50 per month to $50 per month, which is very competitive with the millions that our talking heads receive as they push the Democrat talking points.

We need leaders like Castro, who cared so much about the common folk. He was very smart and obviously a good investor and saver. Like the common man in Cuba, he earned only an estimated $150 million per year and was worth in excess of $900 million when he died. Thank goodness he cared so much, just like the Clintons, Obama, Pelosi, and others who have lined their pockets very successfully as they claimed they cared about the poor and middle class. There never will be enough for greedy politicians. There are no moderate Democrats running. They all want more power and money. It is they who strive for a much more powerful, dictatorial government.

FREEDOM HOPES THAT THIS WOULD NOT ENCOURAGE OUR SOCIALIST LEADERS TO CARRY BAJANS FURTHER DOWN THE HELL HOLE OF CONTINUOUS BURDEN OF OVER TAXATION WHERE ONLY THE GOVERNMENT LIVES AND D PEOPLE CRYING OUT!

https://www.facebook.com/photo.php?fbid=1434794946699506&set=a.276823682496644&type=3&theater

29. Baje

My comment were on the one cent issue

But if the show fit……

30. Since u want to pull me into ur sh***

I supported u on bajan seeking employment/opportunity outside

I however hate your nasty attitude towards Barbados and the Local bajans

You have arrived !!
    No need for youR RH put downs over and over

Show off

31. @ Blogmaster:

Back to the Estimates and thank you for sharing.

Referencing the Estimates for the Ministry of Foreign Affairs and Foreign Trade, pp. 99 – 119, realistically, what are the specific quantifiable benefits projected/anticipated, especially concerning some of your overseas missions in an age of austerity?

Also, did your previous Foreign Minister or the Young Democrat (I assume a “Shadow Foreign Minister”) respond, or simply chose not to? I have not seen any relevant statements, but does the Previous Governing Party have any sensible, stated position on the Estimates? If not, why not?

32. @Caleb

Foreign ministry matters have always been positioned by successive governments as more complementary and administrative rather than how to add to GDP. Do you agree?

Thanks for pulling it back.

33. David February 27, 2020 12:47 PM “Thanks for pulling it back”.

The Invisible Freedom Crier February 27, 2020 12:15 PM

34. But shouldn’t a function of your FP (not foo ping) and your Foreign Trade not include boosting your GDP, and enhancing your economy and society? Just asking…

35. Foreign policy seems to be passive in this part of the world. If the Mia Mottley government is serious about transforming how we do business this ministry is ripe for placing under the microscope.

36. Can we afford to be so passive given domestic and global concerns/needs relevant to B’dos? Or, are we to be like the proverbial ostrich with its head in the sand and its backside I n the air? “Normally”, also, many interest groups should have serious input in this area, if they haven’t. I dunno.

37. @Freedom “Croaker”:

Another blogger had suggested that you had “croaked”. I see now that, like Mark Twain, those reports were greatly exaggerated and frankly wrong. Welcome back, even before DE Day, November 4, 2020.

38. “IF A CONGLOMERATE COMPANY LIKE MASSEY SELLING GROCERIES AND MANY OTHER ITEMS DOES COLLECTIVELY A MILLION TRANSACTIONS IN ONE YEAR WITH LOCAL CUSTOMERS USING SAME STRATEGY IS 1000000X .01 = $10,000 OF STOLEN MONEY. {Quote}

$10,000 of money stolen from customers???

WOW!!!! That much?? That a lot of money.

So, if Massy does collectively the same transactions in one year, using the same strategy, but rounding down from 7¢ to 5¢, then 1,000,000 x .02 = $20,000 of stolen money from Massy?

Well, “Massy giveth and Massy taketh away.”

39. @Caleb

Of course not however our reality is that prevailing culture supports ensconced structures.

40. @ “Croaky”:

I do not want to digress from the Estimates. But, 3 or 4 Decades ago, I considered Cuba’s policy re those tragically infected with HIV/AIDS. Some concluded that that Cuba’s policy – quarantine with substantial benefits for patients testing positive – was outstandingly successful such that Cuba had the lowest transmission rate in Latin America, unlike Brazil and others. Would you allow for the prudence and wisdom of such quarantine(s), as even today as with the coronation virus, and quarantine(s) in so many countries?

41. NorthernObserver Avatar

@R.G.
    come on. It works both ways?
    If a price is 39.99, the books record 39.99, but the cashier float is increased by $0.01, as the customer pays $40. If the price is $40.02, the books record 40.02, but the cashier float is now decreased by 2 cents, as the customers pays $40. At the end of most shifts, with thousands of transactions, the float is rarely off by more than a few cents.
    If it costs a country 175 cents to acquire 100 cents in coin, keeping the cent makes no sense,

42. NorthernObserver Avatar

@FREEDOM
    would you mind sharing with us the deficits run by the USA, on annual basis, from 2009-2019.
    Go look.
    You will discover that DJT ran under a GOP banner, sometimes governs like a dictator, sometimes like a Republican, but spends like a Democrat.
    There is nothing conservative in how he spends or balances.

43. @ David February 27, 2020 1:08 PM
    “Foreign policy seems to be passive in this part of the world. If the Mia Mottley government is serious about transforming how we do business this ministry is ripe for placing under the microscope.”

There is absolutely no need for such an oversized presence and personnel numbers (excess to requirements) in the ‘poor-great’ little country’s overseas missions.

The Internet and a more reliable modern air transportation system have provided ample justification for their physical and administrative downsizing.

What ought to be of additional concern is whether the plans- regarding those statutory bodies which have been recommended for serious restructuring’ merging or closure- are reflected in the current Estimates.

When is the watchdog BERT going to have enough teeth to stop barking and start biting at the root cause of the country’s fiscal obesity?

Our BU executioner, the guillotine swinging Tron, has the right prescription to get rid of this parasitic infection of bureaucratic supernumeraries feeding off the shriveled skin and drying bones of the emaciated taxpayers and forex-earning serfs.

44. @Miller

If BERT is meeting all the targets set what is there to care about SOEs?

45. NorthernObserver Avatar

@Blogmaster
    the question you need to ask, is given the estimates, and the current global issues, will BERT meet future targets? Do the estimates allow for “shocks”
    BTW…I note that given a great many of the loans are from ‘concessionary lenders’, the interest rates are higher than I pay for a mortgage!!!!

46. One of these days historians will look at this blog and wonder in amazement at how grown and supposedly intelligent adults sat before a keyboard and typed and typed, until death do us part, about a bottle of rum priced at $39.99. Is it any wonder that some choose to repeatedly call Barbados a “Failed State”? When this amount of drivel can be discussed with such passion, only a $39.99 bottle of rum could generate this level of intellect.

Failed state indeed. Maybe Barbados is guilty of having produced some outstanding failures.

47. @Northern Observer

All on the blog anticipate you know he answer. BERT targets from the start were labeled aggressive. With disruption to global supple chains there are storm clouds gatherin.

Is is it fair to compare rates in the concessionary/capital market to domestic? What is the equivalent of a base rate for concessionary?

48. Piece the Legend Avatar

Some people here downright ignore “the enabling environment issues”, or lack thereof, that obtain in all these government and good governance matters.

Baje makes a salient point when he says and de ole man quotes

“…NOW IT IS SPOKEN DURING THE ESTIMATES BY THE SAME BLP MINISTERS THE FOOLS ELECT NOW BEGGING THE US EMBASSY ASSISTANCE WITH FINDING EMPLOYMENT IN THE USA FOR UNEMPLOYED BAJANS…”

While Baje and I does lock horns on many issues, including my firebombing experience, heheheheh, there are some things he said here that bear mention.

De ole man calls it THE POTATOÉ SYNDROME!

David Thompson, a political clown, had it bad!

He knew nothing about anything but, with the deftness of a 3 card conman, he was able to tek people ideas AND MEK DEM HE OWN and even you, its author we tricked into believing that the idea was his!

For the Potatoé Strategy to work WHAT YOU HAVE TO DO Baje, is to insult and discredit its author into oblivion!

What happens next is that the scam artistes, who now number 30 to 0, then take your ideas and present them as theirs.

The problem here is that you are not dead yet and, like the RH lie Joe Biden said about being arrested in the 1970’s in Apartheid South Africa, the still living expose dem chvunt AND DEM DOAN LIKE DAT!

So suddenly so, you who was cussing Piece the Legend now find youself as part of the Dissenters in the Diaspora who hate Barbados cause you expose the people as suffering bad from YOU SAY POTATO & I DAY POTATOÉ!

Welcome to the club

49. Piece the Legend Avatar

Your assistance please

50. @ Fearplay

The discussion was not about a bottle of rum at $39.99, nor a bag of eddoes, nor was it about one cent in change. It was about a PRINCIPLE and treating customers fairly.
    Which is part of the problem. Discourse is not only about literal or binary issues, on of the outcomes of learning by rote. That is why historically philosophers are celebrated. This is about ethical theory. Future generations will thank us for it.
    By the way, since 2007/8, ethics is now the most popular subject at business schools.

Leave a Reply to MillerCancel reply