grenville-phillips
Submitted by Grenville Phillips II,

The year 2020 was my year for playing shots – using Clyde Mascoll’s recent cricket analogy. This was to be the year of making significant investments, all of which would have benefited Barbados and Barbadians. Then Clyde got in the way.

Like so many other Barbadians, I have a mortgage. The only benefit of a mortgage is that it allows you to occupy your house about 10 years earlier. For that privilege, you get to pay the bank a lot of interest.

The amount that you borrow is called the principal. The amount that you repay is about 2.5 times the amount that you borrow. Therefore, if you borrowed $500,000, you get to repay the bank about $1.25M over 30 years.

The amount that you repay the bank, over what you borrowed, is called interest. The interest is about 1.5 times what you borrowed. So, if you borrowed $500,000, then you must repay the bank the $500,000 you borrowed, plus 1.5 times that amount, or an additional $750,000 in interest.

The amount paid to the bank during the first 10 years is almost the same as the amount you borrowed. While most of the amount you pay during the first 10 years goes towards the interest payments, some goes towards the principal.

If you had a responsible employer, then you likely have a retirement savings plan with an insurance company, or a bank. When you reach 55 years of age, the retirement funds must be paid to you. I encouraged persons to use those funds to pay the remaining principal, rather than paying interest for the next decade or two.

Over 5 years ago, I started warning people that the DLP would try to tax our retirement savings. By that time, they had taxed everything that could be taxed, and retirement savings was perhaps the only thing left. So, I tried offering economic growth proposals that did not require additional taxes.

Trying to get anyone to listen to economic growth plans 5 years ago appeared to be impossible. The national: accounting, economics, banking, and business organisations seemed to have only one aim – to get the DLP out of office, and the BLP in. The Chamber of Commerce actually passed a regulation to prevent me from sharing our economic growth plan with their members. That regulation is still in place – but only for me.

Even the DLP would not listen – they seemed to have the same agenda. So, one year later, our economic growth plan was published for public scrutiny, and Solutions Barbados was formed to contest the general election, and implement the plan for the benefit of the public.

If families could pay off their mortgages early, then everybody wins. Families would have significantly more disposable income to ‘play shots’, the government would reap the tax benefits of that additional spending, and banks would need to compete for short-term business growth loans – or go under.

During the general elections, I was on a panel with Clyde, where he told the audience that our plan was ‘voodoo economics’. So, we provided our anti-corruption, quality management, low-tax economic growth plan to individual economists and accountants, and received a very favourable report.

The independent expert confirmed that we could achieve $1B in surplus during our first year, without borrowing, laying off a single public worker, or reducing salaries. He further noted that all political parties pushing high-tax austerity needed to review our plan.

After the general elections, Prime Minister Mottley, to her credit, acknowledged that the BLP did not have all the answers, and instructed her party that all ideas must contend. But Clyde would not. The BERT leadership publicly admitted that they never looked at our economic growth plan, and dismissively noted that they would never look at it.

Last week, BERT signalled that they had failed miserably to grow the economy. All they had to show for the past 20 months is: severe austerity, high taxes, zero economic growth, and arrogant public relations to hide their gross incompetence.

Last year I reached 55 years – but it was too late for me. The clown car had rolled up the year before, and Clyde and company tumbled out – and started performing tricks. They did what I was warning that Sinckler would do – but wisely chose not to. They confiscated much of my retirement savings, and passed a lunatic law to make that theft legal.

Mercifully, they left me with just enough that I could still pay off the mortgage, and start playing shots this year. But that was too much voodoo for Clyde. So, they decided not to release all my money until 2033. They have now entered the comedy phase of their routine – telling us to ‘play shots’. With what Clyde, with what?

Grenville Phillips II is a Chartered Structural Engineer and President of Solutions Barbados. He can be reached at NextParty246@gmail.com

356 responses to “Too Much Voodoo”

1. Yes it is another expense to the small unregistered vat operations selling under $200,000. When sinkler moved the threshold to $200,000 and all of them were in there thumping the table like it was a great thing for small business, all they confirmed to Bajans is that not one of them understood how VAT really works!

2. @John A

The reason the VAT threshold was moved had to do with improving VAT admin?

3. Yes.
    Now we have a whole Minister of Small Business, Entrepreneurship and Commerce…

4. @ David.

Yes Sinkler said the amount he was collecting from so many small accounts wasn’t worth it. He did not stop to think how this would affect the SBA as he deemed them “nuisance accounts” as the bank called them too. Then look at what happened we ended up forgiving $400M in VAT from these so-called “worthy accounts”.

Also how do these small businesses get to grow to bigger business with such a hurdle in front them, or are they destined to stay small by the state?

5. “I would say worry about it if and when it ever materializes. It is a waste of time anyhow as they are so many ways around it that it’s laughable.”

got that right, only a fool would pay VAT to Amazon when the same government wrote off 1 BILLION DOLLARS in VAT that their tiefing business friends stole from Bajans…steuppss…people already know how to get around that..let them and Amazon wait for that money…lol

6. Amazon Tax not affecting regular online consumers
    Daveny Ellis Created : 18 February 2020
    Barbados News
    Amazon retail

One Senator is striving to put to bed fears about the supposed new Amaxon Tax, as local Amazon shoppers got up in arms on social media especially Twitter.

First of all, the ‘W’ in Amazon W Service stands for Web not World as portrayed in another section of the media today.

Many Barbadians were and still are puzzled by the rumors surrounding the government’s proposed “Amazon Tax” even hours after some persons in economics have tried right the wrong.

Bajans had already been informed of the impending legislation which sought to collect Value Added Tax (VAT) on purchases made from online international retailers such as Amazon and Ali Baba.

Some Barbadians were unsure as to if the legislation would affect regular online customers of Amazon in the coming days.

Meanwhile, it was reported earlier in another section of the media that the retail giant Amazon had supposedly informed its customers that effective March 1, 2020, “Amazon World Service (AWS)” would begin to charge Value Added Tax (VAT) at a rate of 17.5% to Barbadian customers.

This was supposedly conveyed in an email correspondence showcasing that Amazon’s new policies for Bajan customers were actively following the Barbadian legislation.

The particular medium also reported that tax-compliant invoices were set to be issued to Barbadian customers from April 1 of this year and customers whose records indicate that their Billing Address or contact address is in Barbados are the ones who had received this email notification.

In the hours since the story dropped, many Barbadians took to criticizing the move as another undue tax on the public by this new administration. Some immediately questioned the validity of the claim that the coming policy would affect Barbadians who are regular online shoppers of Amazon.

However, on further investigation, it was noted that the reported story claimed that “Amazon World Service” had sent out the notice but in contacting Amazon’s tech response team, customers were told that the legislation was specific to users of “Amazon Web Services” and not on consumer products.
    Attempts to get direct clarification from members of the Ministry of Finance for comment came to no avail up to news time.

But, Senator Dr Crystal Haynes took to the social media site Facebook to attempt to clear up any misinformation that may have been spread to the public. In response to a direct question on the matter on her post, she emphatically stated that what was posted by the media house which “broke the story” was “not consistent with the policy or legislation.”

She went on answering many questions as well as attempting to reassure others by detailing how in fact overseas purchases are taxed for customers who intend to use them on Barbadian soil or ship them to Barbados and are taxed via customs.
    “To be clear, VAT is ONLY applied on goods and services consumed or accessed locally…Additionally, once VAT is paid upfront for your online purchase you will have an electronic copy of your receipt which reflects that your payment has already been made. You will not be charged VAT again on arrival of the goods unless a charge is due in relation to shipping cost or something unrelated to the actual transaction made for the purchase.” – Senator Dr Crystal Haynes.

http://www.loopnewsbarbados.com/content/amazon-tax-not-affecting-regular-online-consumers

I really doan noh wuh fuh seh!