grenville-phillips
Submitted by Grenville Phillips II

People may be tempted to negatively pre-judge persons.  Before Jesus gave His followers His commandments, He seemed to address what others saw, as opposed to what He saw.

“Blessed are the poor in spirit, for theirs is the kingdom of heaven.
Blessed are those who mourn, for they shall be comforted.
Blessed are the meek, for they shall inherit the earth.
Blessed are those who hunger and thirst for righteousness, for they shall be filled.
Blessed are the merciful, for they shall obtain mercy.
Blessed are the pure in heart, for they shall see God.
Blessed are the peacemakers, for they shall be called sons of God.
Blessed are those who are persecuted for righteousness’ sake, for theirs is the kingdom of heaven.”  (Matthew 5:3-10)

He then explained what they would likely experience if they followed Him.

“Blessed are you when they revile and persecute you, and say all kinds of evil against you falsely for My sake.  Rejoice and be exceedingly glad, for great is your reward in heaven, for so they persecuted the prophets who were before you.”  (Matthew 5:11-12)

Jesus then called His followers to be visible, so that God may be glorified by their responsible behaviour.

“You are the salt of the earth; but if the salt loses its flavour, how shall it be seasoned?  It is then good for nothing but to be thrown out and trampled underfoot by men.”

“You are the light of the world. A city that is set on a hill cannot be hidden.  Nor do they light a lamp and put it under a basket, but on a lampstand, and it gives light to all who are in the house.  Let your light so shine before men, that they may see your good works and glorify your Father in heaven.”  (Matthew 13-16)

Jesus then explained the importance of His commandments.

“Do not think that I came to destroy the Law or the Prophets. I did not come to destroy but to fulfill.  For assuredly, I say to you, till heaven and earth pass away, one jot or one tittle will by no means pass from the law till all is fulfilled.

Whoever therefore breaks one of the least of these commandments, and teaches men so, shall be called least in the kingdom of heaven; but whoever does and teaches them, he shall be called great in the kingdom of heaven.  For I say to you, that unless your righteousness exceeds the righteousness of the scribes and Pharisees, you will by no means enter the kingdom of heaven.”  (Matthew 5:17-20)

The scribes and the pharisees knew the scriptures.  Jesus explained to His followers that they should be better than those who knew, but did not obey the scriptures.  Hear Jesus.

“Then Jesus spoke to the multitudes and to His disciples, saying: “The scribes and the Pharisees sit in Moses’ seat.  Therefore whatever they tell you to observe, that observe and do, but do not do according to their works; for they say, and do not do.”  (Matthew 23:1-3)

Jesus then explained His challenge with those who have knowledge, but lead others away from God because of their bad behaviour.  Hear Jesus.

“But woe to you, scribes and Pharisees, hypocrites! For you shut up the kingdom of heaven against men; for you neither go in yourselves, nor do you allow those who are entering to go in.   Woe to you, scribes and Pharisees, hypocrites! For you devour widows’ houses, and for a pretense make long prayers. Therefore you will receive greater condemnation.

“Woe to you, scribes and Pharisees, hypocrites! For you travel land and sea to win one proselyte [convert], and when he is won, you make him twice as much a son of hell as yourselves.”  (Matthew 23:13-15)

It is very dangerous for knowledgeable persons to practise behaving badly.  Soon, they are simply unable to change course.  Hear Jesus speak of their likely end.

“Fill up, then, the measure of your fathers’ guilt. Serpents, brood of vipers! How can you escape the condemnation of hell?”  (Matthew 23:32-33)

Since Jesus will judge us at the end of the age, it is much better to choose the sure path of following Jesus’ commandments, and bear the reviling that Jesus said to expect.

Grenville Phillips II is a Chartered Structural Engineer.  He can be reached at NextParty246@gmail.com

81 responses to “Monday Sermon – Count The Cost”

1. @ GP February 11, 2020 8:03 AM
    “NOW YOU CAN NOT EVEN READ A SENTENCE AND INTERPRET IT PROPERLY
    WHERE DID I SAY THAT I BELIEVE THAT he earth is just over 2 thousand years old,?”
    +++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

Since you are Yahweh’s chief biographer on BU knowing that Jesus existed from the dawn of Creation, even before Adam, why not tell us how old is the planet Earth?

If you are not allowed to speak on behalf of the god of the Jews why not tell us where we BU Bible illiterates can go to read the book of Jewish truth in order to be enlightened about the ‘true’ age of earth.

After we have found out that ‘truth’ we should then stop paying taxes to fund the spreading of lies in our schools by teaching geography, biology and other science subjects.

We should also close down the surfeit of faculties of medicine since the only way to good health is by following the Word of your God as enunciated in your book of public and personal health call Leviticus.

2. SHOW ME WHERE MY TEACHING IS FALSE BEFORE TALKING RUBBISH. {Quote}

I’ll admit I can’t show you where your teaching is false. But, I’m putting it to you that YOU CAN’T PROVE or SHOW where your teachings are TRUE, either.

I PREFER TO HAVE TWO WELL ARGUED AND PRESENTED RESPONSES THAN 5O STUPID QUESTIONS AND STATEMENTS AND AD HOMINEMS {Quote}

Saying the questions are silly is cop out and an admission that you CAN’T prove or show where your teachings are TRUE.

HERE YOU ARE SEEKING TO CUSS ME FOR RIGHTLY DIVIDING THE WORD OF TRUTH AND PROVIDING ME WITH A SOURCE OF MIRTH {Quote}

How is asking you a few simple questions that don’t have in no cuss words, is seeking to cuss you?

How do you KNOW you are RIGHTLY dividing the word of God? WHERE IS THE PROOF?

YOU ARE BEING VICIOUS AND I AM LAUGHING AND ROCKING AND MOCKING YOUR VERY POOR ATTEMPT AT DEBATE AND REBUTTAL {Quote}

How is asking a few simple questions being vicious and a poor attempt at debate and rebuttal, when you and I did not have no previous discussion or debate about anything you said?

NOW YOU CAN NOT EVEN READ A SENTENCE AND INTERPRET IT PROPERLY {Quote}

I’m actually laughing and mocking too, because you are talking about yourself. None of my questions were vicious, did not have in no cuss words, you DID NOT PROVE if your teachings are true, in fact, you do not know if they are TRUE, yet you READ and INTERPRETED my simple questions as being vicious and cussing you.

HOW DO YOU GET LONELY IN A VIRTUAL SPACE? {Quote}

Childish, silly nit picking from a mature elderly man, who knows the comment was only a metaphor.

TALKING ABOUT PLAYING THE MAN RATHER THAN THE BALL LOL LOL {Quote}

That is exactly what you did. Instead of answering the questions, scrolling past or admitting you can’t answer them, you attacked me by telling lies.

The thing is, YOU or me or anybody for that matter, CANNOT PROVE if anything in the Bible is actually TRUE or NOT and appointing yourself as the official Bible literate, being able to recite Bible verses by heart or LASHING out at and insulting people who question you or have an opposing opinion, DOES NOT MAKE IT TRUE EITHER.

GP is a doctor and self-appointed Bible expert. I find it funny that medicine brings out a rational humane side of him and the Bible brings out another side of him that can only be described as vicious

3. 3 A whip for the horse, a bridle for the ass, and a rod for the fool’s back.

4 Answer not a fool according to his folly, lest thou also be like unto him.

5 Answer a fool according to his folly, lest he be wise in his own conceit.

4. I do not see anything vicious here. I see a man who knows what he is talking about frustrated at the hard headedness and stubbornness of a man who does not know what he is talking about and does not want to know.

And the problem with you guys is that you do not know either. Grenville does take passages out of context and string them together in a slap dash, hodge podge, willy nilly manner. But you guys would not know that.

It leads to serious distortions in the message that the writers were trying to convey. There must be a systematic method and order. Grenville has none.

5. Dear Readers:

It is typical when not wanting to discuss a Bible passage, to claim that it is taken out of context. A simple reading of the article will show that nothing is taken out of context. I simple gave brief introductions to Jesus’ words. For example.

Matthew 5:3 to 10, then
    Matthew 5:11 to 12, then
    Matthew 5:13 to 16, then
    Matthew 5:17 to 20.

The options are either to engage in discussion, scroll past, or make the false accusation of: “passages out of context and string them together in a slap dash, hodge podge, willy nilly manner”.

6. RE It is typical when not wanting to discuss a Bible passage, to claim that it is taken out of context.
    WHO CAN DISCUSS a Bible passage WITH YOU.
    YOU DO NOT KNOW WHAT CONTEXT MEANS IF YOUR LIFE DEPENDED ON IT

RE A simple reading of the article will show that nothing is taken out of context. I simple gave brief introductions to Jesus’ words. For example.
    Matthew 5:3 to 10, then
    Matthew 5:11 to 12, then
    Matthew 5:13 to 16, then
    Matthew 5:17 to 20.

BUT YOU GAVE NO EXPLANATIONS OF NONE OF THE PASSAGES

YOU JUST strUng them together in a slap dash, hodge podge, willy nilly manner”.

DUMB DUMB
    GO BACK TO GP February 10, 2020 9:28 PM & February 10, 2020 9:33 PM
    AND READ AND LEARN HOW IT IS DONE PROPERLY BY AN EXPERT
    I COPIED THE SHORTEST DISCUSSION THAT I THOUGHT YOUR LITTLE BRAIN COULD HANDLE

READERS
    i was looking for a short word on the beatitudes
    below is the shortest I have found by ANY one of the stalwarts, BECAUSE ONLY A MADMAN IN A SO CALLED SERMON CITES THE BEATITUDES AND THEN MOVES ON.LIKE GRENVILLE DID

lIKKLE WOULD BE PREACHER BOYS DONT TACKLE THE BEATITUDES
    THIS PREACHER IS SKIMMING BUT LOOK HOW MUCH HE HAS TO SAY COMPARED TO THE NOTHING GRENVILLE SAID LEAVING THE DPD, WHO KNOWS NOTHING TO TRY TO PUT WORDS IN HIS MOUTH

February 10, 2020 9:33 PM

JC RYLE CONTINUES
    SEE IF THIS IS A REAL SERMON AND TELL ME IF YOU DONT LEARN MORE ABOUT THE SUBJECT THAN THE FUMES GRENVILLE ASSAYS IN WHICH HE EXPLAINS NOTHING
    A GOOD CASE OF THE HUNGRY LOOKS UP AND ARE NOT FED
    MATTHEW 5:13-20

YOUR OPTION NOW IS TO scroll past, OR GO BACK TO GO BACK TO GP February 10, 2020 9:28 PM & February 10, 2020 9:33 PM
    AND READ AND LEARN HOW IT IS DONE PROPERLY BY AN EXPERT

I COPIED THIS FOR YOUR LEARNING

I DARE YOU TO GO BACK AND READ AND LEARN

YOU ARE NOT READY YET TO DISCUSS THIS PASSAGE

7. GRENVILLE
    I INVITE YOU NOW TO READ AND SEE WHAT YOU CAN LEARN FROM ARTHUR PINK’S INTRODUCTION TO THIS PASSAGE

OBSERVE THE INSIGHTS THAT HE PROVIDES

Opinion has been much divided concerning the design, scope, and application of the Sermon on the Mount. Most commentators have seen in it an exposition of Christian ethics. Men such as the late Count Tolstoi have regarded it as the setting forth of a “golden rule” for all men to live by. Others have dwelt upon its dispensational bearings, insisting that it belongs not to the saints of the present dispensation but to believers within a future millennium.

Two inspired statements, however, reveal its true scope. In Matthew 5:1, 2, we learn that Christ was here teaching His disciples. From Matthew 7:28, 29, it is clear that He was also addressing a great multitude of the people. Thus it is evident that this address of our Lord contains instruction both for believers and unbelievers alike.

It needs to be borne in mind that this sermon was Christ’s first utterance to the general public, who had been reared in a defective Judaism. It was possibly His first discourse to the disciples, too. His design was not only to teach Christian ethics but to expose the errors of Pharisaism and to awaken the consciences of His legalistic hearers. In Matthew 5:20 He said, “Except your righteousness shall exceed the righteousness of the scribes and Pharisees, ye shall in no case enter into the Kingdom of heaven.” Then, to the end of the chapter, He expounded the spirituality of the Law so as to arouse His hearers to see their need of His own perfect righteousness. It was their ignorance of the spirituality of the Law that was the real source of Pharisaism, for its leaders claimed to fulfill the Law in the outward letter. It was therefore our Lord’s good purpose to awaken their consciences by enforcing the Law’s true inner import and requirement.

It is to be noted that this Sermon on the Mount is recorded only in Matthew’s Gospel. The differences between it and the Sermon on the Plain in Luke 6 are pronounced and numerous. While it is true that Matthew is by far the most Jewish of the four Gospels, yet we believe it is a serious mistake to limit its application to godly Jews, either of the past or the future. The opening verse of the Gospel, where Christ is presented in a twofold way, should warn us against such a restriction. There He is presented as Son of David and as Son of Abraham, “the father of all them that believe” (Rom. 4:11). Therefore, we are fully assured that this sermon enunciates spiritual principles that obtain in every age, and on this basis we shall proceed.

Christ’s first preaching seems to have been summarized in one short but crucial sentence, like that of John the Baptist before Him: “Repent ye: for the Kingdom of heaven is at hand” (Matthew 3:2; 4:17). It is not appropriate in a brief study such as this to discuss that most interesting topic, the Kingdom of heaven—what it is and what the various periods of its development are—but these Beatitudes teach us much about those who belong to that Kingdom, and upon whom Christ pronounced its highest forms of benediction.

Christ came once in the flesh, and He is coming yet again. Each advent has a special object as connected with the Kingdom of heaven. The first advent of our Lord was for the purpose of establishing an empire among men and over men, by laying the foundations of that empire within individual souls. His second coming will be for the purpose of setting up that empire in glory. It is therefore vitally important that we understand what the character of the subjects in that Kingdom is, so that we may know whether we belong to the Kingdom ourselves, and whether its privileges, immunities, and future rewards are a part of our present and future inheritance. Thus one may grasp the importance of a devout and careful study of these Beatitudes.

We must examine them as a whole; we cannot take one alone without losing a part of the lesson they jointly teach. These Beatitudes form one portrait. When an artist draws a picture, each line may be graceful and masterful, but it is the union of the lines that reveals their mutual relation; it is the combination of the various artistic delineations and minute touches that gives us the complete portrait. So here, though each separate aspect has its own peculiar beauty and grace and shows the hand of a master, it is only when we take all the lines in combination that we get the full portrait of a true subject and citizen in the Kingdom of God (Dr. A. T. Pierson paraphrased).
    God’s great salvation is free, “without money and without price” (Isa. 55:1).

This is a most merciful provision of Divine grace, for were God to offer salvation for sale no poor sinner could secure it, seeing that he has nothing with which to purchase it. But the vast majority are insensible of this; yea, all of us are until the Holy Spirit opens our sin-blinded eyes. It is only those who have passed from death to life who become conscious of their poverty, take the place of beggars, are glad to receive Divine charity, and begin to seek the true riches. Thus “the poor have the Gospel preached to them” (Matthew 11:5), preached not only to their ears, but to their hearts!

Thus poverty of spirit, a consciousness of one’s emptiness and need, results from the work of the Holy Spirit within the human heart. It issues from the painful discovery that all my righteousnesses are as filthy rags (Isa. 64:6). It follows my being awakened to the fact that my very best performances are unacceptable (yea, an abomination) to the thrice Holy One. Thus one who is poor in spirit realizes that he is a hell-deserving sinner.

Poverty of spirit may be viewed as the negative side of faith. It is that realization of one’s utter worthlessness that precedes a laying hold of Christ by faith, a spiritual eating of His flesh and drinking of His blood (John 6:48-58). It is the work of the Spirit emptying the heart of self, that Christ may fill it. It is a sense of need and destitution. This first Beatitude, then, is foundational, describing a fundamental trait that is found in every regenerated soul. The one who is poor in spirit is nothing in his own eyes, and feels that his proper place is in the dust before God. He may, through false teaching or worldliness, leave that place, but God knows how to bring him back. And in His faithfulness and love He will do so, for the place of humble self-abasement before God is the place of blessing for His children. How to cultivate this God-honoring spirit is revealed by the Lord Jesus in Matthew 11:29.

He who is in possession of this poverty of spirit is pronounced blessed: because he now has a disposition that is the very reverse of that which was his by nature; because he possesses the first sure evidence that a Divine work of grace has been wrought within him; because such a spirit causes him to look outside of himself for true enrichment; because he is an heir of the Kingdom of heaven.

8. NOW SEE WHAT YOU CAN LEARN FROM HIS COMMENTS ON JUST THE FIRST TWO BEATITUDES

THEN COMPARE IT TO WHAT YOU WROTE AS YOU HURRIED TO ACHIEVE YOUR OBJECTIVE OF YOUR “SERMON”

THE FIRST BEATITUDE
    “Blessed are the poor in spirit: for theirs is the Kingdom of heaven”
    Matthew 5:3

It is indeed blessed to mark how this sermon opens. Christ began not by pronouncing maledictions on the wicked, but by pronouncing benedictions on His people. How like Him was this, to whom judgment is a strange work (Isa. 28:21, 22; cf. John 1:17). But how strange is the next word: “blessed” or “happy” are the poor—”the poor in spirit.” Who, previously, had ever regarded them as the blessed ones of earth? And who, outside believers, does so today? And how these opening words strike the keynote of all Christ’s subsequent teaching: it is not what a man does but what he is that is most important.

“Blessed are the poor in spirit.” What is poverty of spirit? It is the opposite of that haughty, self-assertive, and self-sufficient disposition that the world so much admires and praises. It is the very reverse of that independent and defiant attitude that refuses to bow to God, that determines to brave things out, and that says with Pharaoh, “Who is the Lord, that I should obey His voice?” (Ex. 5:2). To be poor in spirit is to realize that I have nothing, am nothing, and can do nothing, and have need of all things. Poverty of spirit is evident in a person when he is brought into the dust before God to acknowledge his utter helplessness. It is the first experiential evidence of a Divine work of grace within the soul, and corresponds to the initial awakening of the prodigal in the far country when he “began to be in want” (Luke 15:14).

THE SECOND BEATITUDE
    “Blessed are they that mourn, for they shall be comforted”
    Matthew 5:4

Mourning is hateful and irksome to poor human nature. From suffering and sadness our spirits instinctively shrink. By nature we seek the society of the cheerful and joyous. Our text presents an anomaly to the unregenerate, yet it is sweet music to the ears of God’s elect. If “blessed,” why do they “mourn”? If they “mourn,” how can they be “blessed”? Only the child of God has the key to this paradox. The more we ponder our text the more we are constrained to exclaim, “Never man spake like this Man!” “Blessed [happy] are they that mourn is an aphorism that is at complete variance with the world’s logic. Men have in all places and in all ages regarded the prosperous and gay as the happy ones, but Christ pronounces happy those who are poor in spirit and who mourn.

Now it is obvious that it is not every species of mourning that is here referred to. There is a “sorrow of the world [that] worketh death” (2 Cor. 7:10). The mourning for which Christ promises comfort must be restricted to that which is spiritual. The mourning that is blessed is the result of a realization of God’s holiness and goodness that issues in a sense of the depravity of our natures and the enormous guilt of our conduct. The mourning for which Christ promises Divine comfort is a sorrowing over our sins with a godly sorrow.

The eight Beatitudes are arranged in four pairs. Proof of this will be furnished as we proceed. The first of the series is the blessing that Christ pronounced upon those who are poor in spirit, which we took as a description of those who have been awakened to a sense of their own nothingness and emptiness. Now the transition from such poverty to mourning is easy to follow. In fact, mourning follows so closely that it is in reality poverty’s companion.

The mourning that is here referred to is manifestly more than that of bereavement, affliction, or loss. It is mourning for sin.
    It is mourning over the felt destitution of our spiritual state, and over the iniquities that have separated us and God; mourning over the very morality in which we have boasted, and the self-righteousness in which we have trusted; sorrow for rebellion against God, and hostility to His will; and such mourning always goes side by side with conscious poverty of spirit (Dr. Pierson).

A striking illustration and exemplification of the spirit upon which the Savior here pronounced His benediction is to be found in Luke 18:9-14. There a vivid contrast is presented to our view. First, we are shown a self-righteous Pharisee looking up toward God and saying, “God, I thank Thee that I am not as other men are, extortioners, unjust, adulterers, or even as this publican. I fast twice in the week, I give tithes of all that I possess. This may all have been true as he looked at it, yet this man went down to his house in a state of condemnation. His fine garments were rags, his white robes were filthy, though he knew it not. Then we are shown the publican, standing afar off, who, in the language of the Psalmist, was so troubled by his iniquities that he was not able to look up (Ps. 40:12). He dared not so much as lift up his eyes to heaven, but smote upon his breast. Conscious of the fountain of corruption within, he cried, “God be merciful to me a sinner.” That man went down to his house justified, because he was poor in spirit and mourned for sin.

Here, then, are the first birthmarks of the children of God. He who has never come to be poor in spirit and has never known what it is to really mourn for sin, though he belong to a church or be an office-bearer in it, has neither seen nor entered the Kingdom of God. How thankful the Christian reader ought to be that the great God condescends to dwell in the humble and contrite heart! This is the wonderful promise made by God even in the Old Testament (by Him in whose sight the heavens are not clean, who cannot find in any temple that man has ever built for Him, however magnificent, a proper dwelling place—see Isa. 57:15 and 66:2)!

“Blessed are they that mourn.” Though the primary reference is to that initial mourning commonly called conviction of sin, it is by no means to be limited to that. Mourning is ever a characteristic of the normal Christian state. There is much that the believer has to mourn over. The plague of his own heart makes him cry, “O wretched man that I am” (Rom. 7:24). The unbelief that “doth so easily beset us” (Heb. 12:1) and sins that we commit, which are more in number than the hairs of our head, are a continual grief to us. The barrenness and unprofitable-ness of our lives make us sigh and cry. Our propensity to wander from Christ, our lack of communion with Him, and the shallowness of our love for Him cause us to hang our harps upon the willows. But there are many other causes for mourning that assail Christian hearts: on every hand hypocritical religion that has a form of godliness while denying the power thereof (2 Tim. 3:5); the awful dishonor done to the truth of God by the false doctrines taught in countless pulpits; the divisions among the Lord’s people; and strife between brethren. The combination of these provides occasion for continual sorrow of heart. The awful wickedness in the world, the despising of Christ, and untold human sufferings make us groan within ourselves. The closer the Christian lives to God, the more he will mourn over all that dishonors Him. This is the common experience of God’s true people (Ps. 119:53; Jer. 13:17; 14:17; Ezek. 9:4).

“They shall be comforted.” By these words Christ refers primarily to the removal of the guilt that burdens the conscience. This is accomplished by the Spirit’s application of the Gospel of God’s grace to one whom He has convicted of his dire need of a Savior. The result is a sense of free and full forgiveness through the merits of the atoning blood of Christ. This Divine comfort is “the peace of God, which passeth all understanding” (Phil. 4:7), filling the heart of the one who is now assured that he is “accepted in the Beloved” (Eph. 1:6). God wounds before healing, and abases before He exalts. First there is a revelation of His justice and holiness, then the making known of His mercy and grace.

The words “they shall be comforted” also receive a constant fulfillment in the experience of the Christian. Though he mourns his excuseless failures and confesses them to God, yet he is comforted by the assurance that the blood of Jesus Christ, God’s Son, cleanses him from all sin (1 John 1:7). Though he groans over the dishonor done to God on every side, yet is he comforted by the knowledge that the day is rapidly approaching when Satan shall be cast into hell forever and when the saints shall reign with the Lord Jesus in “new heavens and a new earth, wherein dwelleth righteousness” (2 Peter 3:13).

Though the chastening hand of the Lord is often laid upon him and though “no chastening for the present seemeth to be joyous, but grievous” (Heb. 12:11), nevertheless, he is consoled by the realization that this is all working out for him “a far more exceeding and eternal weight of glory” (2 Cor. 4:17). Like the Apostle Paul, the believer who is in communion with his Lord can say, “As sorrowful, yet alway rejoicing” (2 Cor. 6:10). He may often be called upon to drink of the bitter waters of Marah, but God has planted nearby a tree to sweeten them. Yes, mourning Christians are comforted even now by the Divine Comforter: by the ministrations of His servants, by encouraging words from fellow Christians, and (when these are not to hand) by the precious promises of the Word being brought home in power by the Spirit to their hearts out of the storehouse of their memories.

“They shall be comforted.” The best wine is reserved for the last. “Weeping may endure for a night, but joy cometh in the morning” (Ps. 30:5). During the long night of His absence, believers have been called to fellowship with Him who was the Man of Sorrows. But it is written, “If… we suffer with Him.., we [shall] be also glorified together” (Rom. 8:17). What comfort and joy will be ours when shall dawn the morning without clouds! Then “sorrow and sighing shall flee away” (Isa. 35:10). Then shall be fulfilled the words of the great heavenly voice in Revelation 21:3, 4: Behold, the tabernacle of God is with men, and He will dwell with them, and they shall be His people, and God Himself shall be with them, and be their God. And God shall wipe away all tears from their eyes; and there shall be no more death, neither sorrow, nor crying, neither shall there be any more pain: for the former things are passed away.

9. I posted what context means and how important it is for him last week It is not just important for Bible study but for EVERY bit of communication. Grenville NEVER takes into account the setting. He behaves as though all words spoken in the Bible were meant for all people. It is not that simple. That is why he seems to have taken to heart, “Touch not the Lord’s anointed!” and places himself as one who should not be touched. Therefore he is forever telling us “what will be our fate” if he is touched.

And he ends it with a self-righteous “Be guided accordingly!”

GP,

I was thinking earlier today that Grenville does not read what either of us post except for what he considers the criticism. His head cannot possibly be so hard to read what I “cut and pasted” about context last week and still not understand its importance and where he is going wrong.

You are right to dare him to read your post. Really read with an open mind that is not contaminated by hurt pride.

10. A man cannot be wrong every week on everything .
    If I felt he was so seriously flawed, I would ignore him and move on.

Let us for the sake of argument agree that Grenville is the most stupid man on earth, then we should keep the following in mind.
    Never Argue With a Fool, Onlookers May Not Be Able To Tell the Difference

11. Dear Readers:

If I simply wrote one phrase, namely: “God is Love”, the BU bullies would respond as expected. Piece would launch into a hate-filled tirade, Porgie would throw together scores of Bible verses irrelevant to the central message, and Donna would claim that I took the phrase out of context. All so predictable.

12. I have never said that he is wrong every week on EVERYTHING. And, if you feel that he is seriously flawed then it is your right to ignore him. It is also my right NOT to ignore him as he is offering himself as a candidate in the country in which I, not you, reside.

When you argue with Lorenzo what would you call that? You should also bear that in mind.

We are here to discuss. What other reason is there for the existence of BU?

13. @ De Pedantic Dribbler

I understand that, as each day passes, we are getting old and stupid but ….

You asked and i quote

“…Clarify for me how a sermon as above heard by persons familiar with the Word but not versed or indeed familiar with WHAT the Beatitudes mean as per YOUR explanation are MISLED by his commentary? ….

Aren’t the words from the Mount taken as Christians moral standards for all to aspire towards!…”

You seem unwilling or unable to read with understanding so de ole man will help you today, at least!

The passage reads as follows

“…Before Jesus gave His followers His commandments, He seemed to address WHAT OTHERS SAW, as opposed to what He saw…”

That is immediately followed by the Beatitudes

This is concatenation and for those who have either (a) a modicum of common sense or (b) “…heard by persons WHO ARE NOT familiar with the Word …” they will understand it to mean that the 9 observations that follow are in fact “WHAT OTHERS SAW!

The clown continues

“…He then explained what they would likely experience if they followed Him.

“Blessed are you when they revile..."

You need to stop reading this type of material though BECAUSE YOU ARE FINDING YOURSELF STRETCHING to explain the idiocy of the author of these articles.

The structure of his article IS WRONG and you my friend are even MORE WRONG TO SUPPORT THIS CLOWN because, unlike the Blogmaster, who has an agenda, you know better!

Every week he, Granville comes to the Blog and writes a beriffle of jobby and misquotes or wrongly interprets the Bible.

And you and many others rush to say that he has done well AND ANYONE WHO SHOWS THAT HE IS A CLOWN either hates him of is grudgeful of his articles.

This is the crux of my remark about this article. IT STARTS WRONG!

The clown seeks to get votes based on it being the common sentiment that he is a man of the word (purposely lower cased)

My screed is very simple, he is an incompetent politician ASA WELL AS BEING A PRETEND LAYPREACHER.

Furthermore while one might allow him the latitude to mek fowl ups politically, HE CANNOT BE ALLOWED TO DO SO WITH THE WORD!

14. Nope. If all you said was that God is Love I would have agreed with you. But then if you tried to expound on what is love and how He shows that love then I would demand that you put together a coherent and well researched and grounded sermon that demonstrates that, instead of stringing verses together in a hodge podge, slap dash, willy nilly manner.

Stop clutching at TheO’s straw! It will not save you.

15. What is predictable is that next week you will come here and string verses together in a slap dash, hodge podge, willy nilly manner because you are hard headed, and pig headed and resistant to learning.

16. We get it

Georgie Porgie is all that and a bag of chips in his own little mind and bedroom

Donna must be his old lady in the MC gang

Is it possible to have a conversation with the old goat where he all leaves his preconceptions at the door before he enters the room

all his thoughts about the past

all he has learnt up to now

all his ideas

all the baggage is dumped outside

would GP be the same person without the crap in his head

fundamentally he would be same person nothing would be different

17. The Lorenzo remark really hurts.
    I no lo longer reply to him,,
    Didn’t the two of you also have exchanges?

18. RE If I simply wrote one phrase, namely: “God is Love”, the BU bullies would respond as expected. Piece would launch into a hate-filled tirade, Porgie would throw together scores of Bible verses irrelevant to the central message,

WELL I WOULD FIRST CITE TWO VERSES THAT SAY THAT GOD IS LOVE

1 John 4:8 – He that loveth not knoweth not God; for God is love.

1 John 4:16 – And we have known and believed the love that God hath to us. God is love; and he that dwelleth in love dwelleth in God, and God in him.

THEN I WOULD SEARCH THE SCRIPTURES FOR WHAT YOU CALL ” scores of Bible verses irrelevant to the central message,?

I WOULD STUDY THEM AND GROUP VERSES WITH RELATED THOUGHTS ON THE SUBJECT WHICH WOULD GIVE BODY AND SCRIPTURAL SUPPORT TO THE ASSERTION THAT GOD IS LOVE AND COME UP WITH A SERMON OUTLINE

I WOULD THEN EXPLAIN EACH VERSE WITHOUT FLITTING FROM ONE TO THE NEXT

HERE ARE SOME OF THESE “irrelevant” VERSES YOU SHOULD CONSIDER

John 3:16 – For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life.

1 John 4:19 – We love him, because he first loved us.

1 John 4:9-10 – In this was manifested the love of God toward us, because that God sent his only begotten Son into the world, that we might live through him.

Romans 5:8 – But God commendeth his love toward us, in that, while we were yet sinners, Christ died for us.

1 John 4:7 – Beloved, let us love one another: for love is of God; and every one that loveth is born of God, and knoweth God.

John 13:34 – A new commandment I give unto you, That ye love one another; as I have loved you, that ye also love one another.

1 John 4:10 – Herein is love, not that we loved God, but that he loved us, and sent his Son [to be] the propitiation for our sins.

Ephesians 2:4 – But God, who is rich in mercy, for his great love wherewith he loved us,

GRENVILLE YOU ARE A NOVICE

19. That was a good post said the nonbeliever.
    I once indicated that GP2 could learn something from GP1.
    But GP1 needs to add honey to his messages and end on a positive note.

20. @ Donna

I actually was going to write and say that you were right about Granville the Clown and the fact that many men here do not have a clue about what Dr. GP is saying but i stopped and am taking this tangent instead

“PRIME MINISTER SAYS SORRY!

“…Prime Minister Kevin Rudd opened a new chapter in Australia’s tortured relations with its indigenous peoples with a comprehensive and moving apology for past wrongs. … we say sorry.,,”

or

“…President Obama apologizes to the country after people have lost their health care plans because of Obamacare,,,”

Every badword time this Clown Granville Phillips makes a mistake AND IS SHOWN TO BE MAKING A MISTAKE and is corrected, EVERY TIME THE OPPORTUNITY PRESENTS ITSELF fot the clown TO SAY “I am not Jesus, I made a mistake and i am sorry” the Clown holds fast to every single mistake or lie

In fact he doubles down on his incompetence like the 2 weeks to live of whatever that lie about fat AND BUY YOUR OWN COFFIN!

People ask why, every single day, would it be necessary to comment on his incompetence AND THE ANSWER THAT COMES BACK IS that every single day THIS IMPOSTER has learnt nothing.

Few here might know this but De Pedantic Dribbler is a man who reads the Bible almost daily.

And if Granville can hoodwink him with that misquote then you can see the dangers he poses to other unsuspecting voters.

He is a clown AND WHILE DE OLE MAN ENT GINE RUN HE DOWN TO SHOW HID IDIOCY I cannot leh he get a footing either cause he is a liar and a dissembler and unapologetic in his actions!

21. 555dubstreetFebruary 11, 2020 7:35 PM

We get it

Georgie Porgie is all that and a bag of chips in his own little mind and bedroom

Donna must be his old lady in the MC gang

No, fool! I have studied the Bible at diploma level at Codrington College and know that GP is far more competent than Grenville in that area. What I say is what I know to be true. GP and i have our differences on many other issues and argue heatedly on them. The evidence is all over BU’s blogs.

Some shit is wrong with you people! No logic whatsoever and you choose to ignore the evidence that is all over BU. It is there recorded, you know. It has not been deleted.

22. No! GP2 does not need to add honey. He needs to learn the subject matter. He needs substance. Not honey.

23. PRIDE AFFECTING THE BU TORMENTORS SENSE OF DECENCY, WHICH CAUSES THEIR MALIGNANCY, ANOTHER WAY TO DESCRIBE PRIDE, IS THE DISORDER OF NARCISSISM…A QUALITY POSSESSED BY PHARISEES AND SCRIBES…

NARCISSIST THEY DON’T SEE OTHERS AS THEIR EQUALS

Narcissists believe they are on top of the world – they don’t believe anyone is on the same level as them. They have a horizontal view of other people as compared to themselves.

RED FLAGS: A LOOK AT HOW NARCISSIST USES LANGUAGE TO MANIPULATE

NAME CALLING, ACCUSATIONS AND INTIMIDATION…

GEORGIE PORGIE FEBRUARY 11, 2020 6:06 PM “DUMB DUMB… LIKKLE WOULD BE PREACHER BOYS DONT TACKLE THE BEATITUDES”

PIECE THE LEGION FEBRUARY 11, 2020 7:25 PM …“WRITES A BERIFFLE OF JOBBY”…

DONNA THE SELF PROCLAIMED CYBER BULLY FEBRUARY 11, 2020 7:29 PM …“YOU ARE HARD HEADED, AND PIG HEADED AND RESISTANT TO LEARNING.”

INTIMIDATION’S

GEORGIE PORGIE FEBRUARY 11, 2020 6:06 PM…“I DARE YOU…”

DONNA THE SELF PROCLAIMED CYBER BULLY February 11, 2020 6:37 PM… “You are right to dare him to read your post.”

PIECE THE LEGION FEBRUARY 11, 2020 7:25 PM…“ INCOMPETENT POLITICIAN ASA WELL AS BEING A PRETEND LAYPREACHER”.

PIECE THE LEGION February 11, 2020 7:58 PM “I cannot leh he get a footing either cause he is a liar and a dissembler and unapologetic in his actions!”

A NARCISSIST IS DISRESPECTFUL, INSENSITIVE, CONTROLLING, A PERSECUTOR, who uses Treats and Intimidation’s, who Disregards others Feelings, Minimizes and Trivialises, Rages is NEVER ACCOUNTABLE, WHO IS A HYPOCRITE, WHO PROJECTS ON YOU.

EXACTLY WHAT THEY ACCUSE GP11, IS THAT WHICH THEY ARE GUILTY OF!!!

This is obviously a below the belt move, but it is not beneath a narcissist who risks losing the superior image they believe everyone should have about them. This will often come with criticisms of your personality and beliefs to make them feel better about themselves

NARCISSISTS HAVE NO INTEREST IN COMING TO A RESOLUTION THAT BENEFITS BOTH PEOPLE, BECAUSE:

It would be giving up superiority and control to admit a wrong.

They can’t openly admit their cruel behavior was executed without any thoughts about how it would hurt or even that it was intentionally done to hurt because it doesn’t benefit them to show us their remorselessness. Like WHAT TheOGazerts DESCRIBES February 11, 2020 7:35 PM “The Lorenzo remark really hurts”.

THEIR REVERBERATION IS LIKE A TOXIC CESSPOOL THAT CANKERS THE SOUL…

IT IS REALLY PITIFUL TO SEE THESE CHARACTERS ON FULL DISPLAY…IF THE COULD ONLY SEE WHAT OTHERS ARE OBSERVING BY THEIR WRETCHED PERFORMANCE!! PROBLEM IS THEY ARE SHAMELESS!!

THE SCRIPTURE MEME SPEAKS OF THE OUTCOME OF SUCH WHO MISUSE THEIR AGENCY WITH PRIDEFUL INTENT WHO SEEK TO DESTROY OTHERS.

https://www.kingjamesbibleonline.org/Inspirational-Images/large/Proverbs_16-18.jpg

24. “No, fool! I have studied the Bible at diploma level at Codrington College”
    Everyone is different in their DNA and wiring in their brain.
    GP is scum he calls others and a bitch is a bitch.
    Everything you do bounces back to you.

25. But GP1 needs to add honey to his messages and end on a positive note.

Enjoy the night.

26. Oops! Got my numbers mixed up. You were criticising our criticism and so i thought it was a continuation of same. Also yes, I did have interaction with Lorenzo but I was not the one who said we shouldn’t argue with fools. You were.

And whether you wish me an enjoyable night or not has no bearing on whether or not i enjoy my night. When i get off BU, I get off BU. Has no bearing on the rest of my life.

27. 555dubstreetFebruary 11, 2020 8:27 PM

“No, fool! I have studied the Bible at diploma level at Codrington College”
    Everyone is different in their DNA and wiring in their brain.
    GP is scum he calls others and a bitch is a bitch.
    Everything you do bounces back to you.

What does that even MEAN????????

28. Dear Readers:

I see BU’s resident bullies are up to their old tricks again. A truly pathetic bunch. Ah well.

Carry on bullies.

29. RE Dear Readers:

I see BU’s resident bullies are up to their old tricks again. A truly pathetic bunch. Ah well. Carry on bullies.

WE WILL CONTINUE TO RUN YOU RAGGED UNTIL YOU IMPROVE AND SHOW US THAT SOLUTIONS BARBADOS REALLY REALLY HAVE SOLUTIONS FOR BARBADOS

AS IT STANDS CURRENTLY
    SOLUTIONS BARBADOS DONT REALLY HAVE ANY REAL SOLUTIONS FOR BARBADOS

30. Telling the truth is not bullying but who cares about “semantics” ? Wuhlaus. Why don’t you go and take your licks on the other stupid Voodoo/David Copperfield blog?
    Meet you there in a minute?

31. We are “Counting the Cost” on the next blog. See the amazing voodoo priest perform impossible financial and fiscal feats!

Murdah! Bare mock sport in the rumshop!