The blogmaster thought long and hard about posting the following incident which occurred on the weekend at the Charles Rowe Bridge gas station in St. George. In a nutshell two youngsters got into an argument inside the gas station and the video captures the the decision to resolve.

Again the shooting incidents in recent months by our young men expose our society on many fronts. As a society we have failed to inculcate the right values in some of our young people. Whatever the reason we can theorize, we have reached the tipping point. A short term strategy must be put in place to deal with the situation. Obviously the youngsters have no regard for lives. No regard for collateral damage caused by an ability to shoot straight. No capacity to exercise reasonableness.

The blogmaster with reluctance recommends uncompromising enforcement measures. The government MUST impose an emergency plan to arrest increasing gun violence on the island. The youngsters committing these crimes have passed the point of no return, fire power must be met with fire power. The namby pamby approach currently be adopted will not work.

As a society we must fight back. NOW.

The bad boys must be taken out!

181 responses to “Shooting Advisory – A Time to ACT”

1. NorthernObserver Avatar

@SS
    glad to see your bank account once had in more than $5.67.
    but ‘water based water varnish’? Guessing it was a urethane or similar.

2. The creativity and innovation do man to be able to create the technology to view the surface of the Sun yet we allow man made behaviour that does not add value to our lifes mushroom.

Is this matter as important as we make out?

3. @ Vincent

You are wrong about the so-called judgement call being that of the loan officer. Banks and other lending institutions have objective lending criteria; if a would-be borrow meets those criteria then the bank is obliged to lend to that person and the key criterion is affordability. Failure amounts to a breach of regulations. (plse re-read the history of the sub-prime mortgage fiasco).
    Loan officers cannot pick and choose who to offer residential mortgages to; they may do so with business loans, but not residential mortgages. They are ring-fenced in most jurisdictions.
    Having said this, I am as aware as anyone that things are different in Barbados.

4. Nonsense.

Lending criteria is first determined by the regulatory framework in play and the risk perception of the financial institutions. Affordability or so called 5 Cs of credit is a consequence.

https://www.bis.org/publ/work297.pdf

5. What a perfect world they live in…..
    In the real world, one word refutes all that is said…

Discrimination

6. Piece the Legend Avatar

Somehow some of you lot seem to be caught up in a world of make believe!

My buddy has made the observation that, IF MY RADICAL 30 in 30 nights, is employed that it would lead to Mugabe’s Night of the Long Knoves!

Little does he know that THE NIGHT OF THE LONG KNIVES began when the same bad boys were sent to scare the Shy$e out of Caswell Franklyn

If wunna ever reared dogs YOU WOULD APPRECIATE what we are dealing with THEN THE PROPOSED CULLING OF THE ANIMAL KILLERS is the only way to stop this bedlam

7. @ Piece the Legend January 30, 2020 8:26 A

Piece, you are an ‘ascended’ Master of the twin Art(s) of Perspicacity
    & Perspicuity.

A legend of a man who could dig below the surface of superficiality and PR fluff (aka mind-altering propaganda) to find the real substance and intent of power-hungry man (and woman) unjustness against those stolen children of West Africa who have been given that rare gift to enlist voluntarily in the army fighting for Truth & Justice.

Sometimes ‘social’ culling is the only means available to keep the species fit for its own survival.

8. @January 30, 2020 4:54 AM @SS glad to see your bank account once had in more than $5.67.”

Ahhh!!! yes the good old days.

Lolll!!!

But as our old people used to say “you can’t have it in the bottle and the cup too” so my cash went into the house and into the children’s heads.

No regrets. If we don’t give the young people a push ahead while we are young enough and healthy enough to do so, then we are wasting everybody’s time.

9. @Piece the Legend January 30, 2020 8:26 AM “If wunna ever reared dogs YOU WOULD APPRECIATE what we are dealing with THEN THE PROPOSED CULLING OF THE ANIMAL KILLERS is the only way to stop this bedlam.”

Human beings are not dogs, they may be murderous human beings, but they are not dogs.

We do not cull human beings.

If you want to cull something why don’t you come and cull the monkeys annoying my fields?

10. @Silly Woman January 30, 2020 2:16 PM

Your proposal to castrate the young boys seems to have lost its effectively ‘humane’ appeal.

At least with culling some of the behavioural traits in males you admire would still exist.

Rest assured the culling would not apply to your Anglican priest whom you see as God’s gift to cougars like you.

So what will it be, the once rich Simple Simon(e) but now the poor “Silly Woman”?

Castration of young boys to turn them into loving caring eunuchs to bring an end to the earlier than expected nuclear family?

Or the culling of the bad boys leaving your priestly studs in tact to become like bulls on dairy farms?

11. Piece the Legend Avatar

@ Simple Simon

“…If you want to cull something why don’t you come and cull the monkeys annoying my fields?…”

Respectfully Simple Simon I must decline that “offer” because de ole man has been warned by the Sage Annunaki that your “practices” and interpretation of that word “cull” may hide a multiplicity of “actions” that bode the old man no good.

In fact, de old man has heard “it” called many things but never “fields”

Why you use the plural though?

Is it that, because of the “acreage” and immensity of the “thing” that singular IS NOT ENOUGH?

I will pass this honour onto men of “bigger stature”

If I recall your remarks from times afore times, you had a hankering for Justice Jeff Cumberbatch so I beg you you to align your eyes towards Whitepark road where he is domiciled.

Simple Simon IF WUNNA DONT KILL THESE THUGS, they will kill you, mark my words

12. We need to give serious consideration to the Singapore model of governance . Constituency Councils and referenda may prove to be invaluable tools in our struggle for true democracy, and a more egalitarian and, hopefully,peaceful society..Let the opinions of the people dictate methodology with respect to the worsening issue of crime and punishment. VOX POPULI VOX DEI

13. @Piece the Legend January 30, 2020 11:33 PM “Respectfully Simple Simon I must decline that “offer” because de ole man has been warned by the Sage Annunaki that your “practices” and interpretation of that word “cull” may hide a multiplicity of “actions” that bode the old man no good.”

Nah.

Love the ole man; and miller too (although I seldom agree with you) Would NEVER do you guys any harm.

14. Silly Woman
    January 30, 2020 2:16 PM

@Piece the Legend January 30, 2020 8:26 AM “If wunna ever reared dogs YOU WOULD APPRECIATE what we are dealing with THEN THE PROPOSED CULLING OF THE ANIMAL KILLERS is the only way to stop this bedlam.”
    Human beings are not dogs, they may be murderous human beings, but they are not dogs.
    We do not cull human beings.
    If you want to cull something why don’t you come and cull the monkeys annoying my fields?

These work.

https://www.amazon.com/s?k=mannequin+inflatable&ref=nb_sb_noss_2

15. @NorthernObserver January 30, 2020 4:54 AM “but ‘water based water varnish’? Guessing it was a urethane or similar.”

Probably. The brushes was clan with water, and the smell is not the strong paint like smell of regular varnish.

I am no expert on construction materials. But I can follow simple clear instructions given by experts. I got the job done on the fixer upper. The fixer upper was NOT in Sandy Lane. Lolll!!!

16. The secret is to outthink the boar monkey, …. if you can!!

17. Piece the Legend Avatar

The issue of these senseless killings by these young men is not peculiarly a Mugabe Mottley problem

Do wunna remember

http://imgur.com/xdvLp3R

So, now that de ole man has SILENCED the DLP apologist(s) ManyPussy I would like to suggest that THE ISSUE AT POINT is one which neither party to the Duopoly can or has dealt with!

And why is this?

They have gone with “dog treats” to woo a rabid set of dogs back to the front house TO PLAY WITH THE BABIES, in the crib!

While de ole man is similarly hopeful that “the puppies” in the house MIGHT, WITH PROPER NURTURING, be raised in harmony with the chilrun, to be well adjusted citizens of Barbados, THERE ARE SOME CITIZENS WHO CANNOT BE SAVED!

I know, it sound harsh BUT SOME OF THESE YOUTH are lost fodder and funerals WHICH NEED TO HAPPEN!

And the sooner the better!

These coffin hunters are just delaying the inevitable and in the interim, they are making lawbiding citizens nervous.

And it is a no brainer when you have to decide IF YOU GOING LIVE TO 3 SCORE AND 10, or get dead off by gun crazy yutes WHO DONT GIVE ONE SHY$E BOUT WUNNA!!!

Self Preservation Peeple!

And, for all uh we to live, dese coffin hunters GOTS TO DEAD!!!

There IS NO OTHER SOLUTION FOR THIS MALIGNANT CANCER!

The challenge for Mugabe IS GOING TO BE, how to get the Bajan public to endorse this national program to rid us of these Murderers!

Now, had the Caswell Franklyn “outreach” where he was robbed at gunpoint, GONE AS PLANNED, it would have created the public sentiment that would have made bajans endorse the Military eradication of these criminals

BUT IT WOULD HAVE BEEN EVIDENT THAT MUGABE MOTTLEY WAS DESTROYING HER COMPETITION!

How come only Caswell get rob at a nondescript domino venue where only poor people does go?

How come de teives did not go to the big up place where Joseph Atherley does hang out?

Wunna sight?

So this year, with 75 pending, UNLESS MUGABE DO WHAT DE OLE MAN ADVISING, buff more “nobody” chilren gine get kill off!

18. Barbados has a big problem.

“Four injured in shooting incidents last night”

https://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/243716/injured-shooting-incidents-night

Toronto also has a big problem.

AIRBNB BLOODBATH: 3 killed, 2 injured in shooting at downtown condo party

https://torontosun.com/news/local-news/airbnb-bloodbath-3-killed-2-injured-in-shooting-at-downtown-condo-party

19. 4 days ago lotta long talk. Let’s see if there will be action.

https://toronto.citynews.ca/2020/01/28/toronto-mayor-police-chiefs-gun-violence/

20. @ Hants
    Interesting reporting on the situation in T&T. Commissioner Griffith’s observations and comments are’spot on’.’Let the Truth be told though the Heavens Fall !’.His honesty and bluntness are appreciated by the people of T&T.! There can be no doubt that he has the people’s interest at heart as is evidenced by his willingness to OPENLY criticize “the justice system and politicians who continue to give criminal gangs state contracts (thereby) contributing to the country’s growing murder rate”.. 46 murders in 31 days !, Also, he is unafraid “to get down into the trenches” with those on the front line in their battle against ever-increasing crime so that his observations and conclusions are personal… and can, no doubt, be documented.As he correctly opines “It is impossible to win the war on crime when criminals have scales of justice tilted toward them…. . the futility of apprehending enemies of the State and told ‘they must get bail !”.Such topics/news should not be relegated to the back pages of any newspaper,avoided by television journalists, or mentioned on radio only if buried in the lyrics of some inane calypso providing comic relief … reductio ad absurdum. Only by knowing the cause of the problem can there be a cure of the problem. While there must be a ‘right to privacy’,’ it must always be weighed against ‘the public’s right to safety’.inter alia..

21. While it is imperative that the history of the Caribbean be taught in the early years of formal education,,it must not be to the exclusion of the history of American ( North, Central, and South),, African,Asian, South Asian,and European countries from which some of our ancestors arrived.From the standpoint of political,social and economic development going forward,we must hitch our wagon, philosophically speaking,to a philosophy of development conceived, tried,tested and proven to be, not only in the best interest of any individual country, but of humanity as a whole.In this regard, it may be worthwhile to have our youth exposed to Lee Kuan Yew’s ideas/philosophy as may be found in his writings.e.g..’From Third World to First’,’The Singapore Story : Memoirs of Lee Kuan Yew’,’Lee Kuan Yew: The Grandmaster’s Insights on China,The United States and The World’,(with all due respect being given to Sir Arthur Lewis’ writings on ‘The Theory and Experience of Economic Development’.).Singapore’s development is largely due to the orderliness evident in all things political,social.and economic. (For example,upon arrival at the airport one must dispose of chewing gum since it is illegal in Singapore ! Vandalism is punishable by a fine of $!500 USD, 3 years in jail,and 3 to 8 strokes by a rattan cane on the bare buttocks.Not a pleasant thought nevermind experience ! Juvenile delinquency earns swift retribution).Little wonder Singapore has been transformed from a poor country with little if any natural resources to being considered a ‘developed’ country with peace and tranquility and a high standard of living ! Seems worthy of serious consideration !

22. Breaking UK news for some.

“A man has been shot dead by armed officers in Streatham, south London, in a terrorist-related incident, London’s Metropolitan Police said on Sunday.

“At this stage it is believed a number of people have been stabbed. The circumstances are being assessed; the incident has been declared as terrorist-related,” the Met said shortly after 3 p.m. local time (10 a.m. ET).
    Police said it did not believe there were other suspects.”

23. Another murder in Barbados. 3rd for the year.

24. An interesting article in today’s press. It explains why crime has taken firm root.

Silence of the people!

Residents silent over stabbing
    RESIDENTS of Promenade Road, Bush Hall, St Michael, remain tight- lipped following the stabbing death of 22-year-old Shakeem Holder.
    The Station Hill, St Michael resident met his death on the front step of a woman’s home on Sunday evening following an altercation with another man.
    At Holder’s grandmother’s home, the elderly woman said she was not in a position to talk to reporters, while other residents were mum on the matter.
    Last night, police public relations officer, Acting Inspector Rodney Inniss, said investigations were ongoing.
    Meanwhile, two people shot last Friday night have since been released from the Queen Elizabeth Hospital (QEH), while another two were still detained.
    Virgil Glenroy Harewood, alias Glen, of Sargeant Street, St John, was found lying on the ground with multiple gunshot injuries at Cotton House Club, Church Village, St Philip at about 9:25 p.m.. He was transported to the QEH by ambulance.
    A second victim, Jamal Ricardo Barrow, 33, of Cox Hill, St Philip, suffered gunshot wounds to the left knee. He was transported to the QEH by private vehicle.
    At Barrow’s house yesterday, an elderly woman said he was at the hospital “for dressing”. Inniss later confirmed Barrow had been discharged, but Harewood was still hospitalised.
    Over in Paddock Road, St Michael, at about 9 p.m. that same day, Adolphus Boyce, 89, was shot in the left leg. Inniss said he was released earlier yesterday.
    According to police reports, some men were liming in the area and reportedly playing with a firearm when it accidentally went off. Boyce was walking by and was shot. He was transported to the QEH by police.
    Additionally, Rolston Dawson, 33, of St Jude’s, St George, was also shot on January 31. Police reported he was at home eating when he heard loud explosions and realised he had been shot multiple times about the body. He was taken to the QEH by private car.
    He remains in hospital. (RA)

25. The people silence bodes well to say that they will not put they lives at risk
    Meanwhile the AG on whose shoulders this responsibility falls for finding better solution has taken the approach that he is doing all that can be done to stop the ongoing upsurge in crime and asked barbadians to hold strain
    Therefore if that is all AG has to offer then why would people go to an extreme of assisting local authorities when govt has not put in place measures of protecting any one with information on crime

26. A useful link for the rabidly political who would push the view that the issue of violent crime took root last month. The society has turned a blind eye while the weeds were sprouting on the lawn, now it is out of hand.

Hard ears wunna political people will not hear.

https://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/100193/anti-gang-laws

27. @ David February 4, 2020 6:43 AM
    “Hard ears wunna political people will not hear.”

Give the results of the post mortem to those who sent out VIP invitations to those underworld barons to attend the special inauguration of the opening of the country’s Pandora’s box of violent crimes which not even Eliot Ness would want to touch.

Karma has two faces. One of Lady Justice and the other of Nemesis.

Which one do you think Barbado(e)s is showing right now?

28. The District A Magistrates Court just committed Christopher Rogers and sailor Walter Prescod to stand trial at the High Court.

The two are accused of possession, trafficking, possession with intent to supply and importation of 267.4 pounds of marijuana on July 23, 2018.

https://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/243778/rogers-prescod-stand-trial

29. Is Charles Herbert going to be a prosecution witness?

30. This will be an interesting case. Lots of material for a “True Crime ” novel.

http://www.loopnewsbarbados.com/content/lawyer-argues-captain-behalf-500-000-drug-case