grenville-phillips
Submitted by Grenville Phillips II

The main reason given for demolishing the structurally sound 6-storey old NIS building, is that it is not compatible with the “sacred ground” of the proposed Clement Payne park.

The Government did not properly maintain the building, and several workers got ill. We are told to believe that the building is a reminder of people getting ill, which is not compatible with what Clement Payne advocated.

We are told to believe that the building is beyond maintenance, having been abandoned for so long. It may be beyond maintenance, but it is clearly not beyond repair, and it is certainly very far away from needing to be demolished. But such thoughts are considered heretical.

To oppose the demolition is to be accused of being against workers’ right to a healthy work environment. To question why a building, with the most expensive foundation system in Barbados (piled), and no apparent structural cracks, should be demolished, is to attract the wrath of political operatives.

The public relations on this matter reminds me of George Orwell’s masterpiece, ‘1984’. It was written in 1949, and shows what happens to a society when the Government does not tolerate independent thought. I will extract part of it for your interest.

‘It is impossible to see reality except by looking through the eyes of the Party. That is the fact that you have got to relearn, Winston. It needs an act of self-destruction, an effort of the will. You must humble yourself before you can become sane.’

He paused for a few moments, as though to allow what he had been saying to sink in.

‘Do you remember,’ he went on, ‘writing in your diary, “Freedom is the freedom to say that two plus two make four”?’

‘Yes,’ said Winston.

O’Brien held up his left hand, its back towards Winston, with the thumb hidden and the four fingers extended.

‘How many fingers am I holding up, Winston?’

‘Four.’

‘And if the party says that it is not four but five – then how many?’

‘Four.’

The word ended in a gasp of pain. The needle of the dial had shot up to fifty-five. The sweat had sprung out all over Winston’s body. The air tore into his lungs and issued again in deep groans which even by clenching his teeth he could not stop. O’Brien watched him, the four fingers still extended. He drew back the lever. This time the pain was only slightly eased.

‘How many fingers, Winston?’

‘Four! Four! What else can I say? Four!’

The needle must have risen again, but he did not look at it. The heavy, stern face and the four fingers filled his vision. The fingers stood up before his eyes like pillars, enormous, blurry, and seeming to vibrate, but unmistakably four.

‘Five! Five! Five!’

‘No, Winston, that is no use. You are lying. You still think there are four. How many fingers, please?’

‘Four! five! Four! Anything you like. Only stop it, stop the pain!’

‘You are a slow learner, Winston,’ said O’Brien gently.

‘How can I help it?’ he blubbered. ‘How can I help seeing what is in front of my eyes? Two and two are four.’

‘Sometimes, Winston. Sometimes they are five. Sometimes they are three. Sometimes they are all of them at once. You must try harder. It is not easy to become sane.’

‘Again,’ said O’Brien.

‘Four. I suppose there are four. I would see five if I could. I am trying to see five.’

‘Which do you wish: to persuade me that you see five, or really to see them?’

‘Really to see them.’

‘Again,’ said O’Brien.

Perhaps the needle was eighty–ninety.

‘How many fingers am I holding up, Winston?’

‘I don’t know. I don’t know. You will kill me if you do that again. Four, five, six–in all honesty I don’t know.’

‘Better,’ said O’Brien.

Fellow Barbadians, it is time to evaluate your progress. If you did not know your party’s position on the demolition of the old NIS building, would your response when questioned have been, “I do not know”?

If you know your party’s position, would you automatically agree with it? Do you enjoy when your party’s political operatives try to damage the reputations of those who do not similarly agree? If so, then you have been adequately trained to actively support a totalitarian state. Wise up.

Grenville Phillips II is a Chartered Structural Engineer and President of Solutions Barbados. He can be reached at NextParty246@gmail.com

109 responses to “Becoming Sane”

1. “Given the fact that Owen Arthur’s brother was caught with illegal guns and some medical excuse was given AND THE CASE NOW SEEMS TO BE “LOST WAY”, de ole man wonders what would be your personal and political response to this scenario.”

Piece the Legend (and Miller)

Let me try to explain myself again.

Two directorship flow charts were posted to BU on separate occasions, to insinuate Grenville Phillips II and Caswell Franklyn have offshore bank accounts and are involved, according to Jacky Stewart, “corrupt crap.” However, as it relates to Grenville Jr., we subsequently realized it was a reference to Grenville Sr.

Assuming you used the flow chart as the basis to ask Grenville a hypothetical question about his father….. I believe since Caswell was also mentioned under similar circumstances, you should also ask Atherley a similar question about him.

Arthur’s brother’s case, “double standards,” Bjerkhamn’s son and Abijah’s deaths…… are totally IRRELEVANT to the DIRECTORATE FLOW CHARTS…… and asking a hypothetical question about what G or A would do if G or C were involved in money laundering.

In other words, what does Richard Arthur’s case, double standards, Bjerkhamn, Abijah have to do with someone posting, to BU, comments and charts from Jackie Stewart’s Facebook page, to insinuate people who are listed as directors of various companies, have offshore bank accounts and are involved in “corrupt crap?”

The issues you and Miller raised are TOPICS for entirely DIFFERENT discussions.

The only “double standards” I’m seeing here is Piece asking Grenville a question and, under similar circumstances, refusing to ask Caswell a similar question.

What should be discussing is how people could Google information, and without knowing what it is, make assumptions and then post it to insinuate people are involved in corruption.

However, since you and Miller raised about Arthur’s brother’s case, my personal response, since I don’t have one that is politically motivated….. would express my disgust, similarly to how I did with Leroy Parris and CLICO; Michael Carrington and John Griffiths; lawyer Joseph Serrant stealing $12,000 from a friend of mine; the lawyer that stole over $1M from his crippled client and the list can go on and on and on.

But, you can also use Arthur’s case to cite double standards as well. Arthur was charged, tried, found guilty and remanded pending a report. for having 102 rounds of ammunition in his possession on January 31, 2012 without a valid licence.

On September 25, 2017, then Acting Superintendent of Police John Annel was charged with engaging in willful misconduct when as an officer in the force he joined the Barbados Rifle and Pistol Association and on August 3, 2017 bought 150 bullets, August 31, September 3, 9 and 20, 100 bullets to be expended on those dates, but removed the ammunition from the Waterford range without expending it.

On October 17, 2019, former Station Sergeant Ashford Athelbert “Rap Brown” Jones, was arrested and charged for having 100 bullets without a permit, after members of then Anti-gun Unit intercepted his car, on October 13 and found 100 rounds of .40 ammunition.

Do you and Miller believe Annel and Jones will suffer a fate similar to that of Arthur……….. or Michael from the Pine; “Wild Geese” from Silver Hill or Trevor from the “Erleans?”

2. RE “The only “double standards” I’m seeing here is Piece asking Grenville a question and, under similar circumstances, refusing to ask Caswell a similar question.”

GOOD FOR YOU ARTAX YOU HAVE RECOGNISED THE TWISTED TACTICS OF PIECE THE LEGIONS THAT NEEDS EXPOSING THE FOR THE INTIMIDATING WARPED BULLY THAT HE IS.

https://i0.wp.com/usa-memes.com/wp-content/uploads/2019/11/144.jpg?fit=1543%2C764&ssl=1

3. @ Artax January 24, 2020 2:58 PM
    “The only “double standards” I’m seeing here is Piece asking Grenville a question and, under similar circumstances, refusing to ask Caswell a similar question.”
    +++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

GP No.2 is a man of double standards too. He pontificates on the so-called teachings of Jesus but refuses to adopt the life of impecuniosity as lived by Jesus and exemplified by Saint Francis of Assisi.

He is nothing but an ardent follower of the ‘prosperity gospel’ as preached by many modern televangelist.

To get back to your flow-chart involvement of the GPs in many offshore trading activities, we shall soon see if GP jr. is prepared to give to the fast growing poor his ‘well-endowed’ inheritance gained from being a super corporate undertaker when the well-aged GP senior is called by Yahweh to ‘higher service’ and Andrew is sent to accompany him on that journey.

PS:
    We still want to know (from you) why was Abijah’s mum treated differently to Luke’s dad Johan.

Or should we ask the same Caswell Franklyn who has a rather ‘clear’ view of the matter?

4. I would like to see all third parties get a lane in the race.

I cannot support removing Grenville even before the race starts.

It would seem as if some 3rd parties supporters want GP2 to be a non-starter.

5. Miller

RE: “We still want to know (from you) why was Abijah’s mum treated differently to Luke’s dad Johan.”

Why do you want to know that from me? As I mentioned previously, it is an entirely different issue that could be the topic of another discussion.

However, I’ll be happy to respond if you explain what is its RELEVANCE to the SUBSTANTIVE ISSUE re the directorship flowcharts in which Grenville Phillips Sr. and Caswell Franklyn are shown as being directors of certain companies and that is being presented as PROOF both gentlemen have offshore bank accounts and are involved in, according to Jackie Steward, “corrupt crap,” ………

……… and the HYPOTHETICAL questions raised as a result?

In this scenario, as usual, Grenville Jr. ends up being the “whipping boy,” while Franklyn goes free because he is a BU favourite.

But, yuh see me……I don’t “play” favourites.

6. @ Artaxerxes January 26, 2020 6:24 AM
    “In this scenario, as usual, Grenville Jr. ends up being the “whipping boy,” while Franklyn goes free because he is a BU favourite.”
    ++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

Because, simply because, Caswell does not come on BU ‘pompasetting’ to be the brightest student in the class of morality taught by his greatest master Jesus.

The overall moral of the story in this ongoing saga is that Barbados is a hellhole ‘Christian’ of hypocrisy interbred with a political bitch of incestuous corruption and a den of lawbreakers of the white collar pedigree; with the laws governing criminal behaviours applied only to those who cannot ‘buy’ justice from the one-eyed Justina (unless Uncle Sam is ‘forced’ to intercede and put a patch on the openly biased one).

Just look what is happening, on the local scene, in the ICBL heist despite all the ‘forensically-acquired and written evidence’ in the public square.

We are quite aware that you, the great archivist, know full well that the BIDC is a statutory corporation heavily dependent on subventions from the Treasury (the taxpayers’ joint bank account) for its very survival far less able to pay the ‘excess’ 5% premium only to end funding the opulent lifestyle of the minister working for the Crown.

Doesn’t that give you some skin in the game to ensure you find yourself on the side of good governance and financial propriety?

Do us a great favour by retrieving from the archives the Bribery & Corruption Act (1929) which has not yet been repealed, quite conveniently, and let us see if we can scrutinize it to find any ‘beneficial’ loopholes through which we can point the local investigators to initiate some sort formal enquiry to bring Justice to this shameful saga in the which the reputation of Barbados is suffering immensely.

7. Miller

FOR THE FINAL TIME.

For reasons known only to you, you have been CONSISTENTLY DEVIATING from the ORIGINAL DISCUSSION of the directorship flow charts, showing Grenville Phillips Sr and Caswell Franklyn as directors of companies, which are being used as evidence to suggest both gentlemen have offshore banks accounts and are involved in “corrupt crap,”………

………. and the hypothetical questions asked as a result.

Please EXPLAIN to me what is the correlation between the original discussion……… and the Bribery & Corruption Act (1929), ICBL. BIDC, Abijah, Bjerkham, archives and all the other irrelevant issues you raised?

Aren’t these issues you raised TOPICS for OTHER discussions?

8. @ Artax January 26, 2020 8:06 AM

Look at the bigger picture instead of focusing on the misunderstanding of ‘direction-less’ diagrammatic flow charts.

Maybe the ‘mad’ lady’s understanding is that the charts depict a scenario in which those offshore bank accounts are held without the necessary CBB approval and reporting requirements to consider the holdings part of the country’s forex reserves.

Maybe then you might find the connection between directors of companies and “corrupt crap” which can be found right through the corporate world of little Barbados.

Can you remember the CLICO orgy in which innocent and simple-minded policyholders were made by the same genre of directors (and the policyholders’ security guards, the external auditors) into sacrifices to the god of greed?

There is nothing called ‘conflict of interests’ when it comes to holding directorships in Bim.

Why not try to pry into MAM’s elections valise of ‘tricky’ evidence to confirm whether there is widespread white-collar wrongdoings and corruption in Bim, including the claims being made by the mad English-speaking black witch?

If MAM can make such ‘un-provable’ outlandish claims why not the mad woman of Bajan ancestry?

Stop being a run-of-the-mill bean counter and stickler for detail so that you can be promoted to a real colonel of forensic auditing in the fight against corruption in Barbados even if only for the sake of future generations to make them ISO 9001 compliant as far as matters of governance and accountability are concerned?

9. Miller

Okay. I’ll “look at the bigger picture.”

RE: “Maybe the ‘mad’ lady’s understanding is that the charts depict a scenario in which those offshore bank accounts are held without the necessary CBB approval and reporting requirements to consider the holdings part of the country’s forex reserves.”

The charts do not provide any proof the directors have offshore accounts.

RE: “Maybe then you might find the connection between directors of companies and “corrupt crap” which can be found right through the corporate world of little Barbados.”

Since there’s a chart with Caswell Franklyn listed as a director of a company, are you essentially admitting there could be a connection between him “and “corrupt crap” which can be found right through the corporate world of little Barbados?”