Millar told the court that in August 2015, she attended a meeting with former chief executive officer (CEO) of ICBL Ingrid Innes and former senior vice-president with responsibility for business development and marketing Alex Tasker.

Following that meeting, she said Innes instructed her to make “an urgent payment” of a referral bonus to Inniss.

She said she was uncomfortable with the request made by Innes as he was “politically exposed” and she enquired if she Innes had cleared such a transaction with the company’s chairman John Wight, to which Innes responded, “It’s fine”.

Barbados Today

724 responses to “Donville Inniss GUILTY as Charged”

1. Glad that other social media platforms in the past few days have seen the relevancy in Mia deceptive games as she tries desperately to keep all focus an attention on herself not withstanding her futile and lame accusations of pointing a finger at the USA along with het dastardly action of trying to build her legacy off the back of the Rgt. Hon Errol Barrow
    Yes social media is ablaze with this issues while BU play the choir master in playing those tunes that well serves govt
    Where is your guts David
    Where is your guts

2. Amidst all the noise coming from Mia utterances
    PM Holiness at the meeting hosted for the USA secretary told the dignitaries in attendance.that tourism from america was one of the bigger benefits to Jamaica economy
    Need i say more
    As gran ma always never bite the hand that feed u
    A lesson in diplomacy which ought to be learned by those who called them selves intellectuals

3. To think that just the other day you were rubbishing Jamaica given its IMF experience.

4. What is there to rubbish in Holiness comments
    What do you want me to refute when there is sufficient evidence to support that Jamaica has indeed benefitted from American Tourist
    Sometimes u are truly amazing with your attacks
    I pointed out that when Mia lashes out she out to choose her battle carefully.

5. It is laughable to think that the PM of Barbados would begin a war of words with its valuable trade partner
    Fuh Christ sake what does these little tin horn dictators in this part of the Carribbean region has to offer Barbados if america decides to close their doors on Barbados
    Truly dumbfounding

6. “I was aware that the PM referred to him as “uncle Errol”; now it is “grandfather”? Wow!!”

Mr. Codrington

I was unaware of any close relationship between Barrow and Mottley, until I heard McClean mentioned it on “Brass Tacks.” And to be honest, I really don’t care.

However, I never mentioned Mottley referred to Barrow as “grandfather,” and if you’re attributing McClean’s comment to me, then, you’re being dishonest.

7. William Skinner Avatar

@ Vincent Codrington
    It’s the PM who said in the Nation a few days ago that Barrow was her grandfather and the one who was there to greet her when she came home from school etc. I think that she was just saying that her two natural grandfathers had passed and Barrow, as a close family friend filled the role.
    It’s only the cool aid drinkers and fanatical party loyalists on BU who cuss people on behalf of the Duopoly.
    As I have stated , the Duopoly has already discussed who will be sacrificed in the next election to ensure that it survives. So all those cool aid drinkers on BU who believe that the Duopoly really cares about them are sadly mistaken. The Duopoly cares only about itself .
    The Duopoly Rules

8. Mr. Skinner

RE: “It’s the PM who said in the Nation a few days ago that Barrow was her grandfather and the one who was there to greet her when she came home from school etc. I think that she was just saying that her two natural grandfathers had passed and Barrow, as a close family friend filled the role.”

I heard when McClean mentioned that to David Ellis on the Monday, January 21, 2020 edition of “Brass Tacks,”….. and it was the reason why I used the word, “adoptive.”

RE: “It’s only the cool aid drinkers and fanatical party loyalists on BU who cuss people on behalf of the Duopoly.”

You are correct. If we had not known better, reading the silly “rants and raves” of Mariposa would have given us the impression Barrow and Mottley were “natural enemies.”

However, Mr. Skinner, I hope you also noticed when the focus is on one of the duopoly’s members, “how the fanatical party loyalist” would relentlessly defend him/her….. then, they would leave the forum for a day or two to strategize, and return to raise other issues to distract from the substantive topic.

Look how successful Mariposa has been in achieving her objective of distracting from Donville Inniss and turning the focus to her favourite “hobby-horse,” Mia Mottley.

9. According to the US Department of Justice, the cases

United States v. Alex Tasker, Court Docket Number: 18-CR-00134,
    United States v. Ingrid Innes, Court Docket Number: 18-CR-00134

………. were filed on March 15, 2018, in the Eastern District of New York…… and announced on January 18, 2019.

On Monday, January 28, 2019, the Department of Justice, Office of Public Affairs, issued the following Press Release:

Former Chief Executive Officer and Senior Vice President of Barbadian Insurance Company Charged with Laundering Bribes to Former Minister of Industry of Barbados

The former chief executive officer and senior vice president of Insurance Corporation of Barbados Limited (ICBL), a Barbados-based insurance company, were charged in an indictment unsealed on Jan. 18, with laundering bribes to the former Minister of Industry of Barbados in exchange for his assistance in securing government contracts for ICBL.

Assistant Attorney General Brian A. Benczkowski of the Justice Department’s Criminal Division, U.S. Attorney Richard P. Donoghue of the Eastern District of New York and Assistant Director-in-Charge William F. Sweeney Jr. of the FBI’s New York Field Office made the announcement.

Ingrid Innes, 63, a citizen of Canada, and Alex Tasker, 58, a citizen of Barbados, were charged with one count of conspiracy to launder money and two counts of money laundering in an indictment returned in Aug. 22, 2018, by a federal grand jury sitting in Brooklyn, New York. The former Minister of Industry of Barbados, Donville Inniss, 52, a U.S. legal permanent resident who resided in Tampa, Florida, and Barbados, was charged with the same crimes in an indictment unsealed on Aug. 6, 2018, and was also charged as a co-defendant of Innes and Tasker in the superseding indictment.

The indictment alleges that in 2015 and 2016, Innes, then the chief executive officer of ICBL, and Tasker, then a senior vice president of ICBL, took part in a scheme to launder into the United States approximately $36,000 in bribes that they paid to Inniss, who at the time was a member of the Parliament of Barbados and the Minister of Industry, International Business, Commerce and Small Business Development of Barbados. In exchange for the bribes, Inniss allegedly leveraged his positon as the Minister of Industry to enable ICBL to obtain two government contracts. According to the allegations, Inniss arranged to receive the bribes through a U.S. bank account in the name of a dental company with an address in Elmont, New York, in order to conceal the scheme.

The charges in the indictment are merely allegations, and the defendants are presumed innocent until proven guilty beyond a reasonable doubt in a court of law.

ICBL voluntarily self-disclosed the case and received a declination under the FCPA Corporate Enforcement Policy. ICBL disgorged $93,940.19 in illicit profits that it earned from the scheme.

The FBI’s New York Field Office and International Corruption Squad is investigating the case. In 2015, the FBI formed International Corruption Squads across the country to address national and international implications of foreign corruption.

10. And the truth finally comes out about the BLACK CRIMINAL SYNDICATE operating out of Barbados and the Caribbean since the 1940s ….AGAINST THE MAJORITY BLACK POPULATIONS…

https://www.facebook.com/100005986451739/posts/1233023610240509/

11. William…it all had to eventually come out…IN THE WASH.

These uppity vote begging negros have been telling themselves for years that everyone was too stupid to know what they have and still are doing.

12. What i notice is a fanciful political game play of those in Mia high ranking is placing Barrow name very close to Mia
    which in most people minds is a skilful strategy of attempting to “woo”dlp supporters into believing that Mia ideas are one and the same of Barrow
    This game play reached its utmost level when Commissiong and is appearance on Brass Tacks along with a socalled supporter of the dlp all but started the job of building that political bridge

13. Wouldn’t it have been nice if the central bank had issued a gold coin to commemorate Barrow’s 100th birthday, and the Post Office issued a stamp?

14. Barrow has a commemorative Statue in the heart of Bridgetown
    All this pretentious gala by Mia was an insult to the good name of Barrow a PM who fought tooth and nail for Barbados Independence
    Her idea of a memorial to Barrow legacy in his hometown was nothing more that game play heightened by an attempt to glorified her name in history
    What a sham what a mockery
    Why is Mia name in Bold letters on the plaque above Barrow
    That is the question being asked across social media
    I dare David to post a picture of the plaque on BU
    He cant and he would not because he knows the plaque represents a distasteful and disgusting representation of Mia’s character

15. Steuspe

16. Just keep the stale piss handy, when any of DBLP vote begging snakes come to your door in 2023 …. dash it on them.

17. David i expected that response
    But truth lies in your hypocrisy and your intentions to hide Mia deceptive character away from the piercing eyes of the public
    However a picture is worth a thousand words
    Btw i am awating to see how much milk u can get out of the Donville Inniss issue
    Meanwhile barbados streets are being washed away with blood and gore and the constant sound of gun fire
    Keep up the good work David just maybe u might be awarded with a gold star medal of distinctive performance by Mia

18. Tell the backward, ignorant DBLP clowns that when you steal billions from a country…that country is reduced to POVERTY…

the evil minorities in Barbados with their useless greedy house negros from parliament, bar association and supreme court have reduced the island to poverty, decay and degradation so am sure the below sounds quite familiar..

“The winners amass vast sums while the losers face poverty, disease and eviction. Governments must act to tackle illicit finance.”

https://www.theguardian.com/commentisfree/2020/jan/23/luanda-leaks-revolution-theft-national-wealth-illicit-finance?CMP=share_btn_fb&fbclid=IwAR37vzekHZA_zk86bujFAtmA3DUKKNx5aEKXC-A4qCUkC1YBAIfRR6uW4cY

19. @ Artax
    “ However, Mr. Skinner, I hope you also noticed when the focus is on one of the duopoly’s members, “how the fanatical party loyalist” would relentlessly defend him/her….. then, they would leave the forum for a day or two to strategize, and return to raise other issues to distract from the substantive topic.”
    What amuses me to no end is that one of these cool aid drinkers was advising Mottley to discredit Barrow. Mottley probably read it and decided to put this cool aid drinker in his place by bigging up Barrow; placing a plaque in his honor and informing the nation that he was her “ grandfather”.
    In other words she was telling them to ; “ watch muh” and stop embarrassing me on BU because at the end of the day cockroach has no right at fowl cock dance.

The Duopoly Rules

20. At least there are some with influence in media (outside Barbados) who are paying close attention to Mia words
    which they described as “noisy utterances” when Mia made talk of USA diversionary tactics to divide Caricom

21. Now that i have spoken my Piece
    I am heading over to the other side of social media where the licks are flying like peas against Mia arrogance attitude
    David yuh can closed this blog now

22. A funny thing…
    More interested in what happened to the salt-bread case than to Donville Innis..
    Don’t want that poor man to fall through the cracks for 12-years.

23. […] Inniss denied Inniss’ request for acquittal on all three counts of conviction – see Donville Inniss GUILTY as Charged. As a human being AND Barbadian the blogmaster feels some sympathy for the disgraced former member […]