grenville-phillips
Submitted by Grenville Phillips II, Leader Solutions Barbados

It seems that one of the easiest things to do in Barbados is to order the demolition of important buildings.  This is because we are not strict guardians of our heritage – we are not even loose guardians.

Our level of guardianship is like that of a renter, who has no property to pass on.  Paying tax on land already paid for in blood, by our slave fore-parents, reinforces the attitude that we are renters.  The government can evict us from ‘their’ property if we accumulate ‘rent’ arrears.

Most people are too distracted meeting their monthly expenses, to focus on being any type of guardians of our built heritage.  Therefore, this responsibility must be led by our building professionals.

As a structural engineer, I support development, but with common sense and skill.  A mediocre designer will always insist that everything be demolished.  Their limited skill only allows them to work on text-book virgin sites.

The old Barbados Hilton was an internationally recognised architecturally significant building.  It was demolished and replaced with a larger capacity hotel, but with none of the character of the old.

A skilled architectural planner could have incorporated the old building in the new development.  However, no such skills are needed when designing for a nation that does not value its heritage.

Sometimes structurally sound buildings need to be demolished to make way for better developments.  The demolition of the old Kensington Oval is a prime example.

I support a developer who wants to demolish a non-heritage building, and replace it with a modern building.  The planned demolition of the Liquidation Centre, to make way for the Hyatt Hotel, may be an example of this.

I do not support a developer who wants to demolish the architecturally significant Empire Theatre.  I did not support the BWA’s unnecessary and unconscionable demolition of the most important coral stone masonry underground building on this planet, at Fort George.

This structurally sound heritage building was likely built by our slave fore-parents, under the supervision, not of the plantation slave owners, but the disciplined British military.  The almost perfect design was crudely copied in other parts of Barbados, and used as water cisterns.  But the original building at Fort George was a rare example of extremely high-quality workmanship.

We also demolish slave huts, which show the quality of workmanship our slave fore-parents used when building houses for their families.  We have lost the art of stone masonry in Barbados.  Those wonderful quality buildings should have been preserved for the education, appreciation and marvel of our children.

To order the demolition of our heritage buildings is to do our children a grave disservice.  Are we not hypocrites to tell the next generation to care about what we build, when we disdainfully destroy what our fore-parents built?

The planned demolition of the Liquidation Centre revealed a glaring missing link in the demolition decision making process.  We were informed that the Environmental Protection Department condemned the building for rat droppings, and the Fire Department did the same for inadequate access.

After a government regulator condemns a building from being occupied, the conditions under which the building can be reoccupied should be provided.  For example, sanitise the building and install a new door.

How did we get from temporarily condemning a building from being occupied, to ordering its demolition?  That is the glaring missing link.  It seems that someone mistakenly thought that condemned from being occupied, meant condemned to be demolished.  This government policy needs to change immediately.

A public building should be demolished for one of three reasons.  One, if it is structurally unstable, and is prohibitively expensive to stabilize.  Two, if it has become unaffordable to maintain.  Three, to give way to a higher-capacity development.  The latter reason may be used to justify the demolition of the Liquidation Centre, not rat droppings.

Solutions Barbados recommends that all reports that are used to justify demolishing a public building should be made public.  We should never demolish an important public building on the advice of only one person or agency.

We should value our limbs enough to seek a second opinion, before allowing a doctor to amputate.  Similarly, guardians of our heritage should insist on a second opinion, before agreeing to the demolition of an important six-storey public building.

Regarding the old National Insurance Building, the valuable structure should not be wasted.  Consideration should be given to reuse the ground floor as a naturally ventilated open market, the first floor as shops and a food court, and the remaining four upper floors as naturally ventilated residences.

Grenville Phillips II is a Chartered Structural Engineer and President of Solutions Barbados.  He can be reached at NextParty246@gmail.com

131 responses to “Unnecessary Amputations”

1. @ William.

The buildings fell into disrepair as a result of a lack of trade. I don’t think many have any idea the amount of buildings in the city that are now semi tenanted or empty.

Property owners can not implement road improvements or traffic changes. They have no control over public sidewalk maintenance or general upkeep of public spaces. Were in not for a lighting project financed by the said private sector, most of the city would at night be in total darkness.

Our problem is ALL past governments neglected the city except for land tax time and the vote. Money goes where money sees return. Had the city been properly improved today the warrens and Sheraton areas would be seen as satellite retail malls, with the city still seen as the main shopping area. It however is too far gone now to try and turn back the clock, so those is the city will continue to pick out an existence while more retail stores there close over the years. I personally feel in a few years business there will be made up of Swan Street and Broad Street only. After all half of Baxters Road and other areas are already partially closed as we speak.

Without vision the people perish

2. GP A FAKE UNQUALIFIED DOCTOR. Avatar
    GP A FAKE UNQUALIFIED DOCTOR.

BAJE MA BOY

YOU EVER HEARD ABOUT JAMAICA BROILERS?
    WAS RUN BY ONE OF THE FIRST UWI MEDICAL GRADUATES

I HAVE A CLASSMATE IN TRINIDAD WHO WAS ALWAYS A BUSYNESS MAN WHO HAS NEVER PRACTICED AS FAR AS IKNOW

I PLAN TO COPY HIM
    THIS IS WHAT I PLAN TO GET INTO
    THE THINGS THAT COME INTO MY INBOX

https://outlook.live.com/mail/0/inbox/id/AQMkADAwATExADk3NwAtNGMzNC05ZjU5LTAwAi0wMAoARgAAA7HGfiyUz5hJt8n7WGzwwBYHAM%2BnjvtBOhRBuK7hE2Wv3AAAAwEMAAAAz6eO%2B0E6FEG4ruETZa%2FcAAAAA7a0koUAAAA%3D

3. @ Vincent

Like you I am confused and don’t see any clear plan for the city. It now appears we will turn our interest to the new city, which will stop at the beach behind Mannings Pierhead.

To me it seems to be a case of let’s try this and if it don’t work we will try that.

I invite some to go and Visit Curacao where a city has maintained its splendour while still embracing progress.

4. @John A

This is the point the professional made on Sunday. We need a plan that has stood the test of public debate. A 15 or 20 year plan. What we have is successive political parties rolling out plans.

5. @ David

It also concerns me when ANY GOVERNMENT can say we demolishing a state asset because we deem it a sick building.

That is not good enough and we the owners of these assets need to be given the cost of cleaning up such an asset and retrofitting it, as well as the cost of demolition and removal along with redevelopment. We also need to have a clear and publically stated criteria for what a sick building is. If it’s a case of it being structurally unsafe, well then I understand that. To say it sick because we never cleaned it though, requires only 2 thing. First those responsible for maintenance need firing and secondly a professional independent environmental cleaning company needs to be called it. If we don’t have one here they are several in Florida who are only 4 hrs away.

My mother did not raise a sheep hence I will never follow anyone just because the say ” I right so follow me.”

6. @John A

Let us not beat about the bush, the NIS demolition is a Hyatt inspired decision.

7. re I invite some to go and Visit Curacao where a city has maintained its splendour while still embracing progress.
    INDEED! THE BRIGHTLY COLOURED BUILDINGS ARE A SIGHT
    WHEN I WAS THERE IN 2004 -2005 THEY PAVED ALL THE STREETS WITH COBBLED STONES

8. @ David.

Your are probably correct and it will be used at visitors car park etc. They will of course plant a tree or 2 so as to be able to say they greening the city. LOL

I tell politicians must really think Bajans now crawl out from under a rock!

9. RE CURACAO
    MY UNDERSTANDING IS THAT THE BUILDINGS USED TO BE ALL PAINTED WHITE
    BUT THAT AT SOMETIME A GOVERNOR –WHO OWNED A PAINT COMPANY- ORDERED THAT THE BUILDINGS BEPAINTED AS THEY ARE TODAY

10. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ David BU

You would have heard me say several times on this blog brainstorming sessions are not Strategic Planning meetings. They generally end in development by trial and error. It cannot work. Use the relevant professionals. Planning is not about common sense what ever that is.

11. Is there any enviromental report done on the soil in that area
    I suspect that the area can be contaminated due to high levels of bacteria which could have seeped into the soil from the River and Careenage
    Anyhow this is Barbados and nuff talk adds up to plenty of nothing

12. When I was the agronomist at Soil Conservation, the area of the East Coast came under the supervision of the Soil Conservation Board(SCB). Erection of buildings on the coastal side was prohibited. On the landward side no new buildings could be erected unless sanctioned by the SCB. Any new buildings had to be of wood: this proviso was made due to the fact of frequent soil slippage. There was a particular case which comes to mind ; the owner of most of the land on the landward side was a Simmons/Simmonds who apparently had started a bank and had invested the depositors funds in purchasing the land referred to. Apparently after the investment had been made some slippage occurred and the whole scheme was placed on the back burner. Whilst I was there, an attempt was made to resuscitate the project. The idea was turned down because of the soil slippage factor. I mention this since there was an article in the news purporting the imminent development of the area. I am curious about the fact that the private landowner was not identified in the article. It would be in the public interest to verify if there is any connection between current sitting members of parliament and ownership of said land.

13. GP.

It was a bad title and a poor analogy but it is a good submission. This is what Grenville knows about.

14. I AGREE WITH YOU DONNA -A VERY BAD TITLE AND AN EVEN POOR ANALOGY BECAUSE WHEN AN ORGAN NEEDS TO BE AMPUTATED, THERE IS NO NEED FOR DISCUSSION OR A SECOND OPINION

THIS IS WHAT I KNOW ABOUT YET A PLETHORA OF BU DUMMIES WOULD CHALLENGE ME ON WHAT I KNOW ABOUT

THERE IS NO REASONABLE CONNECTION BETWEEN BUILDINGS SET FOR DEMOLITION AND BODY PARTS WHICH NEED TO BE AMPUTATED

15. @ David January 14, 2020 12:54 PM
    “Let us not beat about the bush, the NIS demolition is a Hyatt inspired decision.”
    +++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

So what is going to happen to the gutted Empire “Theatre” condemned building?

Just asking for a friend called “MAM”!

What ‘role’ is this shell of dirty limestone walls going to play in the Hyatt pantomime for the entertainment of guests not keen on the in-house casino or the Harry’s Nitery show and thingie next door?

Is it going to be ‘retained’ as a permanent backdrop to a scene involving the reenactment (Bajan version) of the fighting gladiators (the money giant Mark M. vs. the stunted David C. the sellout mouth giant) in the mini Colosseum as a tourist attraction in the heart of Bridgetown and not Rome?

16. @Miller

The last time the blogmaster passed the Empire site it was cleaned and building stripped with the exterior walls standing. From the looks of it there seems to be a plan.

17. @ David January 14, 2020 5:33 PM

That’s why it was referred to as a ‘mini coliseum’.

The question is whether the plan for the shell made of coral stone walls is in keeping with the Hyatt Lighthouse of sophisticated elegance or just a performing arts circus for political clowns with Donville the mascot.

BTW, what has become of that performing arts centre promised by the last MoF for his Brandons constituency?

Have the Chinese taken back the grant money earmarked for funding its construction since 2012?

Here is my advice to you blogmaster: Never rely on the word of a politician until you see, like Thomas, the stigmata of his or her actions.

Just look and see how the weir(d) Indar the minister of concealment of deals and not agribusiness has deceived the budding black entrepreneurs (like Ado) relying on the indigenization of the marijuana industry.

Why not let the stupid black men continue shoot one another over the imported white lady in a business suit and not over the little mary jane in the green fields of agriculture now sleeping with the lamb of politicians.

18. @David January 13, 2020 10:10 PM

That said where is the accountability in the process? It seems in Barbados the conditions that create sick/condemned buildings are created by a poor maintenance regime by government.

There is no accountability.

I have found (I am also an Environmental Engineer) that most problems with ‘sick buildings’ are due to incompatible behaviour in an air-conditioned environment, upwind activity, water leaks, rising damp, and harmful cleaning products. Many current environmental problems could have been avoided at the design stage.

19. That said gRENVILLE ARE YOU SAYING THEN THAT THESE BUILDINGS SHOULD NOT BE AMPUTATED?
    I JUST ASKING CAUSE I DONT KNOW ANYTHING ABOUT THE AMPUTATIONS OF BUILDINGS

20. @GP2
    A very good article.

When I first read the ‘headline’ I though it was about diabetes and resulting amputations in Barbados.

If it was your intention to pull readers in, then you did a great job. But perhaps you can think about some of the criticisms that came your way and see if there are any lessons you can learn

As I said, a very good article.

21. Imagine a professional writes an article with substance and relevant in the environment, he attaches a headline meant to be disruptive and all some of you can do is be drawn to the headline like flies on ship. Guess what, the headline worked based on the views.

Steuspe

22. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

“Guess what, the headline worked based on the views.”

Toucheé @David as was noted this morning the objective of a headline is to grab attention or in modern speak: get clicks!

Now, only if Phillips could do the same POSITIVELY and solidly with his political messaging, den look out!

This palaver about the headline is so absolutely old school and so absolutely misses the messaging point of communication is this overcrowded, super saturated media landscape that it’s too laughable to really control.

One small step… He has many more to make!

23. THE ARTICLE SAID NOTHING ABOUT AMPUTATIONS
    HOWEVER, I GOT SIMPLE SIMON TO TEACH YOU THE BASICS ABOUT AMPUTATIONS AND I TOLD YOU SOME LOVELY ACCOUNTS OF SOME OF MY EXPERIENCES WITH AMPUTATIONS

AND I REFLECTED ABOUT GOOD OLD ANDREW SEARS FRCS, THE GUYANESE SURGEON WITH WHOM I SCRUBBED FOR AMPUTATIONS AND WHO TAUGHT ME TO DO THEM

WUNNAH COULD TALK TIL THE COWS COME HOME BUT DESTRUCTION OF BUILDINGS HAVE NOTHING TO DO WITH AMPUTATIONS

DID BIRD BRAIN NOT READ JOHN 1:47 Jesus saw Nathanael coming to him, and saith of him, Behold an Israelite indeed, in whom is no guile?

BACK TO LISTENING TO A SUCCESSFUL LEADER SPEAKING IN THE RALLY IN WISCONSIN

24. Imagine a professional writes on an article with substance and relevance on amputations, and a number of medical illiterates want to tell me about amputations.
    You guys really make me laugh.
    I had some of the best possible teachers on amputations, and I stand on my knowledge and experience on the subject

25. NorthernObserver Avatar

@GPII January 14, 2020 7:39 PM

You lost me. I am no engineer.
    You begin by “created by a poor maintenance regime by government” and finish with “Many current environmental problems could have been avoided at the design stage”

I am confused as what maintenance has to do with design? The design didn’t lend itself to proper maintenance?
    And in these older structures which were subsequently air-conditioned, the design refers to the stage at which the air flows were altered?

26. GP2

Is there anyway any of the “your” candidates that are already known/ on SB facebook can take a bite of the cherry? They cannot continue to be in the background and expect to win a seat or improve on they last showing if they wait until just before the next elections to creep out of the cave they are hiding in.

27. NorthernObserverJanuary 14, 2020 10:45 PM

@GPII January 14, 2020 7:39 PM

You lost me. I am no engineer.
    You begin by “created by a poor maintenance regime by government” and finish with “Many current environmental problems could have been avoided at the design stage”

I am confused as what maintenance has to do with design? The design didn’t lend itself to proper maintenance?
    And in these older structures which were subsequently air-conditioned, the design refers to the stage at which the air flows were altered?

At the risk of being accused of bringing poison, I must say that I too am confused by the same.

28. Northern:

I first copied David’s question, repeated below for your convenience.

“That said where is the accountability in the process? It seems in Barbados the conditions that create sick/condemned buildings are created by a poor maintenance regime by government.”

Then I put a line (———————–) but it did not show. Then I provided my response below this line.

First I noted that there is no accountability. Then I identified some common environmental problems, and noted that many can be addressed (even avoided) in the design stage. We should be designing for very low maintenance.

29. NorthernObserver Avatar

@GPII
    gotchya.
    You reference…”incompatible behaviour in an air-conditioned environment”….what would be considered incompatible behaviour?

30. ” Barbadians will get an opportunity to share their ideas with Prime Minister Mia Amor Mottley about how to transform this island.

The Ideas Forum, which is part of the We Gatherin’ 2020 initiative, will start Wednesday evening, at the St Lucy Rectory, Benthams, St Lucy, from 6 to 8 p.m

FutureBarbados: The Path to Worldclass ”

https://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/243483/meeting-prime-minister-share-ideas

31. WHY SHOULD THE PEOPLE GATHER TO GIVE THE GOVERNMENT IDEAS?
    IS IT BECAUSE THE 30 OF THE M THAT WERE ELECTED AND WHO COLLECT FAT SALARIES HAVE NO IDEAS?
    WHY ARE THEY THERE?
    WHY DID THEY COME FORWARD FOR ELECTION IF THEY HAD NO IDEAS TO BRING?

NOW WE HAVE A MAN SEEKING ELECTION POSTULATING BY A VERY POOR ANALOGY SAYING IN EFFECT IF YOU HAVE A DISEASE CONDITION FOR WHICH AMPUTATION OR ERADICATION IS THE ONLY LIFE SAVING AND EMERGENCY SOLUTION, YOU SHOULD SEEK A SECOND OPINION?
    FROM WHOM? WHY?

HILARIOUS
    FutureBarbados: The Path to Worldclass ” INDEED!

HILARIOUS!

THE WRITING IS ON THE WALL. IT WONT BE ERASED
    WUNNAH HATE TO HEAR THE TRUTH

32. “A public building should be demolished for one of three reasons. One, if it is structurally unstable, and is prohibitively expensive to stabilize. Two, if it has become unaffordable to maintain. Three, to give way to a higher-capacity development.”

This comment encapsulates the myopia and ignorance displayed by the panel on Brasstacks Sunday. The demolition of a building is also necessary to create better cities through the provision of squares, parks, improved views, safety etc. Like buildings and roads, these are legitimate elements of cities. Establishing a park at Golden Square has the potential to create a far more interesting Bridgetown, creating, among other things, a transition point between the high-rise nature of Bay Street and the low-rise residential-led aesthetic of Nelson Street. The Sony building in Tokyo was demolished to make a temporary park. In London the Grade II* listed Richmond House is being demolished to make way for a temporary House of Commons, while Palace of Westminster is being repaired. Isn’t it funny how we keep so much noise about building a lil beach bar on the marl at Accra yet oppose the demolition of a longtime vacant building with a large park? All yuh continue to let the “experts” fool all yuh.

33. @enuff

The central issue here is the rigour the country has attached to public buildings through the years. We can do as you say in the prevailing culture and we will get to the same result. In theory what you say makes sense but we have to confront the underlying issues that always derail our setup.

If the NIS was a well maintained building what would be the alternative approach in this instance?

The panel also admitted the government has not robustly socialized a long term plan for Bridgetown therefore the plans they put forward did not include.

34. Barbados is in dire need of a “people advocate organizations separate and apart from politicians but an organization that can look out for the country and peoples best interest …breaking the strongholds chains and barriers that govt applies to the mentality of the people which in long term works against the country and people best interest
    How is it that a building being called sick …govt has not forward to the people irrefutable evidence as to why but have people guessing as to what are the reasons for demolition
    Where is the media to ask pertinent questions
    Why hasnt govt release said information as to reason by way of reports which should have been docked in Parliament and placed in the public domain for observation
    No govt in a democracy governed by Democratic process has a right to override laws and regulations absent of populace input to do as they pleases
    Why were not town hall meetings held to address this issue

35. Piece the Legend Avatar

@ Dr. GP.

My fellow myope and apostate

Like you, de ole man finds the topic ABSOLUTELY DISCONNECTED FROM THE DUBJECT MATTER!

But of late I have come to realize that idiocy and idiots abound.

“…Laugh tracks are commonly used in variety shows for comic effect. Examples include Super Sunday, Kangxi Lai Le, Variety Big Brother and Home Run. Latin America.

Several Latin American countries like Argentina replace the laugh track with a crew of off-screen people paid specifically to laugh on command whenever the comedic situation merits a laugh..”

Why has de ole man inserted that “laugh tracks” article there Dr. GP?

We are, for the most part, a people that is primarily composed of sheeple and non thinkers.

These are the paid “laugh on command” crew that, having been fed a shy$e title with a reasonable article, proceed to say that anyone commenting that the Weiners Hotdog, COVERED IN SOFT JOBBY, is enemy to the state!

We must realise that the tide is turning and the idioteratti are on the increase exponentially

THE TITLE IS A SHY$E ONE!

36. WE TOO LOVE TO LICK DOWN AND BUILD BACK BUILDINGS — NOW WE CALLING IT AMPUTATIONS!

37. Piece the Legend Avatar

@ John 2

“…Is there anyway any of the “your” candidates that are already known/ on SB facebook can take a bite of the cherry?

They cannot continue to be in the background and expect to win a seat or improve on they last showing if they wait until just before the next elections to creep out of the cave they are hiding in…”

Your question WERE IT ADDRESSED TO A BONAFIDE POLITICAL PARTY would have gotten an answer.

But you are speaking to a fraud who does not think your question merits an answer because he is better than you are!

In fact, he is better than any of his pretend candidates AND THIS IS WHY HE LEFT HIS NO SOLUTIONS WEBSITE IN DISREPAIR FOR 2 YEARS

http://imgur.com/a/mUVDY32

38. Hal Austin Mariposa and others are concerned about not seeing your input hope all is well

39. David
    I am not downplaying the importance of maintenance. The fact, however, is that the NIS building has been deemed sick; therefore, we are past maintenance in this instance. GPII and his colleagues continue to adopt an anti-demolition stance. I even heard GPII mentioned a park is of no economic value. I would like to ask, is there no economic costs attached to respiratory diseases caused by poor air quality? I maintain my position, the panel was myopic and lacked the experience and knowlege. The building is being demolished in the broader context of urban regeneration and we had a panel with an electrical engineer and a civil/structural engineer making the most noise. Think about that–no urban design, no planning, no air quality and noise, no social and cultural development professional etc. Therefore no commentary on these perspectives. Myopia!!

40. re THIS IS WHY HE LEFT HIS NO SOLUTIONS WEBSITE IN DISREPAIR FOR 2 YEARS

Piece you cant see dat de man breking fuh he self?
    If he does not care for his party members how can he care for the populace?
    Seems dat he amputate heself from his party members
    If he cant maintain Solutions website how can he maintain the public buildings?

41. I alluded to my time at Soil conservation and to the need to establish if sitting members of parliament have connections to the land in that part of the world. I am not amazed that like my reminder of how Guyanese were treated by locals , that there is profound silence. Does not say much about Barbadians.

42. As i mentioned earlier soil contamination could be a major source of the “sick” building
    Attributed to years of environmental abuse of the Careenage and the Constitution River a by product of toxins and pollutants which back in the day no one ever gave thought or remedy
    The worst case scenario that toxins and pollutants have become breeding ground for all forms of bacteria in surrounding areas
    Which now brings my mind to what is happening on Worthing beach as govt proceeds with no end in sight of dumping sewage in the ocean
    Maybe in thirty or more years we would be looking at similar results

43. MARI

You looking for your mate asstin?? Hint – check the new names – an ass with its head up its butt is still an ass don’t mind how much it try to hide.

44. NorthernObserver Avatar

@enuff

It has become common in my part of the world, to build new structures ‘around and over’ buildings of “interest” (with or without formal designation). Condos over and around a former church as one example.
    https://urbantoronto.ca/news/2017/02/deer-park-united-church-demolition-reveals-glimpse-past

It is a marriage between 100% demolition, and 100% complete preservation.

Yet, the bigger question, is Barbados from many reports, seems to have more than its fair share of compromised internal environments. Why? These are not 40 sty buildings, subject to large external climate variances, and the resulting pressure differentials across the exterior envelope. Were these internal environments always compromised, or only since they ‘tightened’ them to provide A/C. Is the building ‘sickness’ beyond cure? It seems to me these answers are beyond the remit of the urban planners etc, albeit they have important contributions to the overall debate.

45. Enuff:

You wrote: “I even heard GPII mentioned a park is of no economic value.”

I do not recall saying this, because a park can have economic value – if it is used. Please explain where you heard me say this.

You also wrote: “The fact, however, is that the NIS building has been deemed sick; therefore, we are past maintenance in this instance.”

We may be past ‘maintenance’, but we are not past ‘repair’. We are also a long way away from ‘demolition’ in the construction process.

46. @ nextparty246 January 15, 2020 6:13 PM

There is no turning back the clock as far as the demolition of the old NIS building is concerned. The contract has already been awarded.

Why don’t you tell us who is about to cash in their chips and die of financial laughter?

What we want to hear from you, before its too late, is the GoB’s decision to relocate the Fire Station serving the Bridgetown area to the Pine Plantation area.

Don’t you think better use could be made of the old General Hospital site which is currently a ‘gutted’ haven for rats and serving as a graveyard for the Government’s discarded vehicles?

How about building a new Fire station there along with the ambulance service?

Or would it be too tsunami prone just like the Hyatt Lighthouse?

47. “I do not recall saying this, because a park can have economic value – if it is used.”

What the hell am I reading? This is a man that aspires to be PM? So I guess you support chopping down the Amazon because its only economic value is through its use. Jesus take the wheel!! Agree we are not past repair, but I repeat buildings alone do not lend to the social, cultural and economic life of a city. In fact they can cause microclimatic conditions that are unfriendly to pedestrians, solar glare, adversely impact on biodiversity and facilitate crime. But let’s go further, tell BU the cost of repairing the building and the viability of the proposed uses. In doing so, you should demonstrate what about that location makes it more attractive than similar activities proposed for Bay Street/Pierhead? A key aspect of creating a vibrant city is avoiding cannibalism and repetition. See what I mean about myopia. I give up.🤔

48. @Enuff January 15, 2020 7:40 PM

Now that the “Treasury Building” has been declared uninhabitable for business purposes (like the ‘younger’ NIS building) what do you think should be done with it?

Demolish it and extend Heroes Square to make room for today’s heroes like Stuart, Sinckler and Donville (and even OSA and MAM)?

Or retrofit it to help house the nurses from Ghana or even the thousands of immigrants needed to ‘improve’ the gene pool of the ‘inbred’ Bajan population and to save the NIS from pending collapse?

49. MILLER
    IF YOU PULL DOWN the “Treasury Building” WONT THAT BE AN UNNECESSARY AMPUTATION?

Leave a Reply to Freedom CrierCancel reply