Submitted by Sherry Hosein

BREAKING NEWS –

Iraqi Sarim Al Zubaidy has resigned as President of UTT.

Professor Prakash Persad is now in charge.

Al Zubaidy is reported to be rushing to his homeland in Iraq to rescue his relatives from US rocket attacks in Al Asad.

There are some other shake-ups at UTT. Dr Zameer Mohammed has been appointed as Vice President of Corporate Operations.

Sandra Ganness – reported to have only a degree in Zoology – has also been appointed Head of Student Support Services.

UTT.png

36 responses to “UTT Iraqi President Resigns”

1. What is the purpose of this post? People leave universities for all sorts of reasons and there is no hue and cry..

2. @Dr.Lucas

You are aware BU has posted on developments at UTT after the mass firings last year? You are aware this matter under discussion has been carried by the traditional media and there is speculation as to the why? Given that he is Iraqi commingled with recent events the blogmaster exercised prerogative. Feel free to comment or not:

https://newsday.co.tt/2020/01/10/is-utts-president-quitting-to-return-to-iraq/

3. @ David January 10, 2020 5:53 AM

I am aware of your previous postings. Trinidad seems to be having some financial problems and given the fact that UWI is having problems getting the member countries to fully pay their outstanding contributions. Having another university undoubtedly imposes additional burdens. By extrapolation, one can conclude that Iraqis overseas should also return home because of the dire situation.

4. ARE WE SEEING A “PREMORTEM” FOR THIS UINIVERSITY?

5. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ David Bu

Having seen Iraqis in the title ,I was about to scroll. Then I saw UTT; and I read on. The titles are the first impact.
    Barbados very nearly went the route of UTT with the now dead- in- the-water University of Barbados. Is that the lesson you intend to communicate?
    Follow pattern kills Cadogan.

6. Vincent Codrington Avatar

Yes. As you know, BU Household must have its pre mortes.

7. EXCEPT THAT THERE IS NO SUCH THING AS A PRE MORTEM

8. Vincent Codrington Avatar

I know. Just pulling your leg for pulling adP’s leg. You have expounded on that blooper for several blogs. LoL !!!

9. Piece the Legend Avatar

The reference to Iraq is silly!

The desire to make this succinct xenophobia catch the eye of Caribbean people is painfully obvious.

The Australian Prime Minister was forced to cut short his Hawaiian holiday when, in the midst of some of the most serious wildfire problems, he was deemed to be enjoying himself in Hawaii

The point is this, if it can be a national requirement for a Prime Minister to come home to serve the emotional needs of his people (cause de man ent no fireman) how much moreso does it become the duty of an Iraqi to choose to go home to his people!

Mugabe Amin Mottley is promoting the RH Gathering for returning nationals all RH year AND THIS INHERENT NATIONALISM IS PROMOTED BY THE MINISTER OF DISINFORMATION as being the best next thing to slice bread yet the UTT President going home in this calamity BECOMES A RH BLOG ITEM!

Wunna feel people stoopid and cannot see xenophobia

De ole man has made several attempts to discuss THE FAILURE OF UTT and Barbados’ similar failure IN THE CONTEXT OF DIVERSIFICATION PAUCITY!

In fact, only recently, AS A RESULT OF A CATALYTIC STATEMENT LED BY the Patriot Innovator Peter Lawrence Thompson, did several other visionaries start to discuss how we as a country MUST GO!

It becomes painfully obvious that the BU BORG is out of its depth in these topics

And that AS OPPOSED TO SEEING THE ECONOMIC, SOCIAL, POLITICAL AND EVEN SPIRITUAL IMPACT OF THESE VARIOUS MATTERS, they are caught up in the parochial and emotive.

And this is why I will die saying “where there is no vision, THE PEOPLE PERISH!”

I Piece the Legend HAVE SPOKEN

10. Steuspe

11. VINCENT
    DPD POSTULATED ON EMERGENCY POST MORTEMS
    NOW WE ARE INTRODUCED TO PRE MORTEMS. TRUMP IS SAID TO BE HAVING A PRE MORTEM. REALLY

12. VINCENT
    UTT SEEMS TO HAVE A LOT OF INTERESTING COURSES NOT OFFERED BY UWI
    QUESTION IS DOES IT HAVE THE NUMBER OF STUDENTS TO BREAK EVEN
    PERHAPS IT NEEDS TO ATTRACT STUDENTS FROM INDIA AND AFRICA INTER ALIA

13. Imagine we can publish a whole lot of opinions about Trump Brexit but publish something about a regional university and we ask what is the purpose.
    Thanks @David BU for highlighting issues for those of us who believe in keeping informed of what goes on in our region.
    Thank you, my Brother.

14. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ GP at 10 :14 AM

Thanks very much, GP . I thought they were one and the same medical procedure. One lives and one learns. Lol.
    I believe at this level we can coin new words ,new procedures , and phrases. LoL!!

15. vincent

be clear that niether emergency post mortems or pre mortems exist

16. Vincent Codrington Avatar

I am clear. Perhaps ,I need to cease and desist. I will.

17. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@Vincent, I am hopeful but certain yet that when you were a lad at school someone introduced you to the term “poetic licence” .

Your above remarks you filled with the mirth they deserve but that the items are otherwise continually highlighted (as you noted) is indicative of either an absolute case of being anal retentive or just being childish.

The blogmaster used his writer’s poetic licence…

The simple and (should be) clear context of an ’emergency post mortem’ refers to the event being done expeditiously to allow all different tests, lab work etc is order to satisfy the needs of a pressing police investigation.

Emergency means no more than expedited in so far as the pathologists and his/her assistant may have other work to complete that may change the timeline of this newest case.

Poetic licence again that should have been quite clear …. So really not sure why the continued childish interest … (as you alluded to)!

Ah well…another day, another jest!

18. DPD

THERE IS NO POETIC LICENCE IN PATHOLOGY
    AND THERE IS NOTHING CALLED A PRE MORTEM
    AND THERE ARE NO EMERGENCY POST MORTEMS

RE The simple and (should be) clear context of an ’emergency post mortem’ refers to the event being done expeditiously to allow all different tests, lab work etc is order to satisfy the needs of a pressing police investigation.

Emergency means no more than expedited in so far as the pathologists and his/her assistant may have other work to complete that may change the timeline of this newest case.

THIS IS SIMPLY RUBBISH AND A STATEMENT MADE BY A MEDICAL ILLITERATE ———-THERE ARE NO EMERGENCY POST MORTEMS

WHAT ARE THE different tests, lab work etc NEEDED IN order to satisfy the needs of a pressing police investigation? YOU ARE WATCHING TOO MUCH TV OR READING TOO MUCH FICTION.

EMERGENCY MEANS EMERGENCY! OR STATIM OR IMMEDIATELY OR RIGHT AWAY!. ALL OF THESE TERMS HAVE SPECIFIC MEANINGS.

THERE ARE NO EMERGENCY POST MORTEMS OR PRE MORTEMS

I AM TRYING TO GUIDE YOU AS ONE THAT HAS WITNESSED SEVERAL POST MORTEMS AND AS ONE INVOLVED IN “pressing police investigations”

THERE IS NO POETIC LICENCE IN PATHOLOGY
    AND THERE IS NOTHING CALLED A PRE MORTEM
    AND THERE ARE NO EMERGENCY POST MORTEMS

THERE IS NO POETIC LICENCE IN PATHOLOGY TEXTS BY ROBBINS, RUBINS OR ANDERSON ETC
    IN PATHOLOGY THERE ARE ALWAYS DEFINITE TERMS WHICH HAVE CLEAR PRECISE MEANINGS LIKE ATROPHY APLASIA ANAPLASIA METAPLASIA GRANULMATOUS ETC ETC ETC BUT NEVER PRE MORTEM OR POETIC LICENCE

I HAVE STUDIED AND TAUGHT PATHOLOGY AND I DO NOT JEST WHEN SPEAKING OF THESE THINGS

FOLK WHO TALK ABOUT PRE MORTEMS AND EMERGENCY POST MORTEMS ARE TALKING RUBBISH

DPD YOU ARE WRONG WRONG WRONG JUST AS YOU WERE ABOUT CERVICAL INJURIES
    YOU DO NOT KNOW ABOUT THESE THINGS

19. UNDERSTANDING OF STATEMENTS IN PATHOLOGY REQUIRE SOME KNOWLEDGE OF HISTOLOGY AND GROSS ANATOMY

FINDINGS IN PATHOLOGY ARE PRESENTED AS MACROSCOPIC OR GROSS ANATOMY FINDINGS AND MICROSCOPIC OR HISTOLOGY FINDINGS

SUCH DESCRIPTIONS ARE VERY VERY SPECIFIC AND ARE NEVER IN POETIC LANGUAGE …..NEVER!

THEY ARE SO WRITTEN THAT ALL DRS CAN COME TO A CLEAR UNDERSTANDING OF WHAT IS BEING PRESENTED IN THE REPORT

WHY IS IT THAT MEDICAL ILLITERATES COME ON BU AND EXPECT THEY CAN TALK RUBBISH AND THEN TALK ABOUT POETIC LICENCE

20. Piece the Legend Avatar

@ De Pedantic Dribbler

You getting tied up representing the illiteracy of one of the Several BU BORG!

Had you been representing the term “expeditious post mortem” you could get through but emergency is sort of a long haul.

You got to understand the education level of this BORG MEMBER

They hear the word post mortem so they reasoned that the prefix pre with mortem is correct!

So, since they know about “pre-liminary” expect this one to write “post-liminary” soon

21. PIECE
    PATHOLOGISTS EXAMINE DEAD PERSONS
    ALL OF THEIR PATIENTS ARE STONE DEAD
    THERE IS NEVER AN EMERGENCY FOR PATHOLOGISTS THEREFORE
    IT WAS THEREFORE VERY ASSININE FOR DPD A FEW YEARS AGO TO ARGUE WITH ME ABOUT EMERGENCY POST MORTEMS, JUST AS HE DID WITH CERVICAL INJURIES

HE IS WRONG AND I WILL NOT LET HIM GO
    HE IS A MEDICAL ILLITERATE AND MUST LEARN TO KNOW HIS PLACE

22. @ William Skinner January 10, 2020 11:02 AM

“Imagine we can publish a whole lot of opinions about Trump Brexit but publish something about a regional university and we ask what is the purpose.”

I stand by what is in my first post. I expanded on it in my second post to explain some reasons why the government of Trinidad might have down- sized the UTT.
    The point remains that people leave universities for sundry reasons. From the caption on the article one was left assuming that the situation in the ME was the causative factor.

23. Your assumption would have been addressed after you read the submission Dr. Lucas?

24. @ David January 10, 2020 3:03 PM

“Al Zubaidy is reported to be rushing to his homeland in Iraq to rescue his relatives from US rocket attacks in Al Asad..”

Based on the above which was the second paragraph of the “Breaking News.”

25. Clearly the author is being facetious.

26. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@Pieces, I am not getting tied up with anything bro… I give the Blogmaster and his crew full licence to HEADLINE as they like. I believe his facetiously induced phrase of a ‘pre mortem’ was understood by anyone with the simple appreciation of what a post mortem meant. I might agree that it’s not one of those terms that may go viral but then again who knows 😂!

I may also agree that had I originally said “expedited” that this absurd, anal retentive psychlogical assault would have been avoided…but good sir I suggest to you it would have found its genesis in some other chosen comment.

This is a blog of off the cuff remarks that can be interpreted many ways and when we opine here generally we are not attempting to quote or follow the guidelines of some medical or legal or IT texts…we are simply giving our gist of the issue….tortured syntax and all.

If you explain what you meant (way back too) but you have a guy hell bent on trolling your comments and refocusing on very old posts there is really no valid respite.

Wha yah gine do… but laugh at his childish behaviour . He missed a chunk of fun as a lad undoubtedly so he is enjoying it now in his retirement…why begrudge the man

Oh BTW … “post-liminary” doesn’t have any wow factor to it so I don’t think the smart Blogmaster will go there…. pre-mortem had some zing!

Lata. I gone.

27. DPD

YOU CAN TALK ALL OVER YOUR FACE
    I HAD A LOT OF FUN AS A LAD AND RIGHT THROUGH MY LIFE…..AND I HAVE LOTS OF FUN PUTTING MEDICAL ILLITERATES IN THEIR PLACE. AND I AM HAVING LOTS OF FUN DOING IT

DOCTORS AND PATHOLOGISTS ARE DISCIPLINED PEOPLE IN THEIR SUBJECT, THEY DO NOT USE POETIC LICENCE OR APPRECIATE MORONS TALKING ABOUT PRE MORTEMS AND EMERGENCY POST MORTEMS. NOR DO THEY RESPECT FOOL TRYING TO CONTRADICT THEM ABOUT CERVICAL INJURIES WHEN IT IS VERY CLEAR THAT THEY DO NOT KNOW WHAT THEY ARE TALKING ABOUT.

ONLY AN IDIOT WILL SPEAK OF PRE MORTEMS AND EMERGENCY POST MORTEMS
    ONLY A FOOL WOULD SEEK TO CONTRADICT A MAN SPEAKING ABOUT WHAT HE KNOWS AND ABOUT WHAT HE HAS BEEN IMMERSED FOR 2/3RDS OF HIS LIFE

RE when we opine here generally we are not attempting to quote or follow the guidelines of some medical or texts
    HOW CAN YOU? YOU HAVE NOT READ ANY. YOU ARE A BONE FIDE MEDICAL ILLITERATE!
    NOW GO BACK TO THOSE OF YOUR ILK—–HAVING BEEN PROPERLY TAUGHT NO PRE MORTEMS NO EMERGENCY POST MORTEMS

28. @Dee Word

The blogmasters shoulders are broad, very broad.

The title premortem was posted as received from the author of the submission.

29. A happy “Good Morning” To all of Barbados.

30. it does not matter to me one iota who chose the title premortem

premortem is a rubbish headline

there are no emergency postmortems

there is no hardened DNA…..AND THAT TERM DOES NOT REFER TO IMMUNITY IN A COMMONSENSE OR ANY WAY

TO SAY THAT RATS CAUSE BUILDINGS TO BE SICK IS REASONABLE AND HAS NOTHING TO DO WITH CASTING ASPERSIONS ON HUMANS

WE SHOULD BE ACCURATE I WHAT WE SAY AND LEARN TO RECANT WHEN ERROR IS POINTED OUT

WE DONT HAVE A “LOCK” ON TALKING RUBBISH AND THEN CALLING IT POETIC LICENCE

“THINK OF THE CHILDREN”

31. A good pre-Sunday to you Sir. I will be reading you contribution and also the post-Sunday post.

32. THAT IS VERY NICE OF YOU THEO

33. You took note the comment was not addressed to you?

Some of us have the understanding- on a blog – where colourful language is a norm. If you struggle with blog nuance and colloquial ‘speak’ we can explain- as if to a child.

#goandchill

34. RE You took note the comment was not addressed to you?

YES AND I RESPONDED TO ALL WITH AUTHORITY AND WITHOUT APOLOGY AND STATED THE TRUTH

DID YOU TAKE NOTE OF THE POINTS I HAVE MADE?

NO PRE MORTEMS NO EMERGENCY POST MORTEMS . NONE OF THIS HAS TO DO WITH blog nuance and colloquial ITS RUBBISH AND ERRONEOUS

THERE IS NO HARDENED DNA EITHER

THE PURPOSE OF DNA IS TO EXPRESS A SPECIES PROTEINS
    IMMUNITY IS ANOTHER ISSUE AS WAS DESCRIBED

AS A SCHOLAR AND TEACHER OF MEDICAL TERMINOLOGY I UNDERSTAND THE USE OF THE ENGLISH LANGUAGE WELL, AS WELL AS SPECIFIC TERMS USED IN MEDICINE

I HAVE ALSO DEMONSTRATED ON BU OVER THE YEARS THAT I DONT STRUGGLE WITH blog nuance and colloquial ‘speak’ OR RUBBISH

THERE IS NOTHING THAT YOU CAN EXPLAIN TO ME AS A CHILD

AND I AM ALWAYS CHILLING

I SPEAK QUIETLY AND WITH AUTHORITY AND ONLY ABOUT WHAT I KNOW

35. The Editor,

The resignation of the Iraqi UTT President and the exit of our foreign currency

It is now official that the Iraqi President of our national university, the University of Trinidad and Tobago (UTT), has resigned.

Permit me the space, as a citizen, to make some recommendations for the context of his exit from our country.

It is very simple. When people retire or resign from UTT, they leave with nothing. There is no pension, no bonus, no special extra payments. If they are under the scheme in which their gratuity was withheld until fulfillment of contract, then they get that when their contracts end and are not renewed. They don’t get it if they don’t stay to contract end.

This is not and should not be made to be a special case. If he has resigned, he must go with nothing. They could make a concession and pay him his gratuity, even though he did not fulfill his contract, but nothing else.

There must be no argument that UTT prefers Al Zubaidy’s ‘room to his company.’ In other words, they cannot claim to be acting in the best interests of UTT or of Trinidad and Tobago in paying this non-national several months of salary he did not earn, giving him essentially a paid vacation. One cannot reward a person you want gone. That is extortion. If you claim there is an advantage to paying someone for their absence what does that suggest? It suggests their presence was not beneficial!

Further, whatever monies owed to him should be paid in the currency of this land. UTT has several nationals who were living abroad and who returned to Trinidad and Tobago to serve UTT, some expecting to leave again when they were done. When they leave or, in the case of those who left already, will or did UTT facilitate payments in foreign currency for monies owed such as vacation pay, gratuity, or final month’s pay? Probably not and definitely not in some cases.

UTT’s President or any other foreign worker is not a special case in that they must be rewarded because they were ‘kind’ enough to come here and take our money. We were told they were coming here to ‘help us develop.’ As insulting as that was, it would be even more insulting if our national funds are used to treat that statement as if it were valid by giving this man any form of exit ‘bonus.’

Sincerely,

Fatimah Mohammed

Chin Chin Road

Cunupia