If one really wishes to know how justice is administered in a country, one does not question the policemen, the lawyers, the judges, or the protected members of the middle class. One goes to the unprotected–those, precisely, who need the law’s protection most!–and listens to their testimony.       

-James Baldwin

The crime situation affecting Barbados is a cause for concern. In 2019 Barbados registered 49 murders based on the official report. Clearly there has been a seismic shift in the social fabric of the society. The blogmaster is onboard with pressuring government and the police to efficiently enforce laws without compromise to create a culture of discipline in our little society. However, there is urgent remedial action needed to arrest the systemic matters on the opposite side of enforcement.

Recently the blogmaster as he parked the jalopy a youngster – found out he was 19 years old later in conversation – requested the opportunity to wash the vehicle. According to him, he had not eaten for the day. A conversation ensued – he attended St. George Secondary School, left in 4th Form without a single CXC. He tried to secure – unsuccessfully – a job as a gas attendant. He lived with an aunt and uncle because his parents showed no interest in his upbringing, no supervision while at school, he was left to do as he will. The result…

The blogmaster shared the story because at the root of many of our problems is the lack of parental care. A wholesome society is the aggregate of stable family units first and foremost. We live in a time where ceding our obligations to the Commissioner of Police of Attorney General is par for the course.

We need efficient enforcement of our laws by the police to ensure justice is delivered AND we need our Courts to deliver justice to respect the maxim, justice delayed is justice denied. The case load in the Barbados Courts has been rising in recent years to prompt Attorney General Dale Marshall to opine words to the effect – the system was about to crash under its weight. Successive governments have been unable to clear the backlog – even the appointment of a Chief Justice from ‘outside’ and talk about alternative dispute resolution have failed to arrest the issue.

The following article in the press was drawn to the attention of the blogmaster.

Bid to cut backlog of murder cases

HEATHER-LYNN EVANSON, ​heatherlynevanson@nationnews.com

Added 07 January 2020

carlisle-greaves-justice

Justice Carlisle Greaves (FILE)

All eighty-four murder accused, some with cases as old as ten years, will have their day in court this year.

In addition, with 54 matters awaiting sentencing, the new Assizes system will see the last Friday of each month dedicated to those decisions, with the intention of reducing that backlog by the end of February.

The new system was rolled out by Justice Carlisle Greaves yesterday as he joined four other judges for the historic sitting of five High Courts to hear the Criminal Assizes.

Justice Greaves, who will preside over Supreme Court No 3, joins Justices Randall Worrell who sits in Supreme Court 2, Laurie-Ann Smith-Bovell in No 4, Christopher Birch in No. 5A and Pamela Beckles who presides over Court No. 5. (HLE)

Subscribe now to our eNATION edition for the full story.

We have seen several attempts to deal with issues in the Courts. A country that aspires to respect the rights of actors living and operating therein must honour the principles of justice. We will have to wait to review later in the year.

122 responses to “Justice is Coming!”

1. Barbados population is equivalent to 0% of the total world population..

lol…something like your IQ…Fowl Enuff.

2. At least ya only embarrassing yaself on BU and not on facebook like the other soft-headed yardfowls who had to run when everyone started in on them…stay local ya hear…do not venture out…or ya will he MAULED mercilessly…and have to run and hide like them…

3. Wuh kinda argument this “in need of an IQ test” buffoon putting forward? She says Bdos is behind most Caribbean islands in every single thing and cited the provision of water. I pointed out it is an issue in Tdad and has been for a long time; but the goat referencing population size as an excuse somewhat ignoring the fact that Trinidad also has an economy that is four times Bdos! But back to the population size theory. If population size is a determinant of a country’s ability to supply water, then most Caribbean islands should be doing better than Bdos when it comes to the delivery of water since their populations are smaller than Bdos’. Contradictory much? But we all know that money and the availability of freshwater water and or groundwater and infrastructure are important. For example, notwithstanding Antigua’s population being smaller than Bdos’ “Residents of Potters Village [were] being advised to make effective use of receptacles and engage in water conservation practices until the Antigua Public Utilities Authority (APUA) can correct the water shortage situation that currently plagues the community.” Similarly in St.Lucia with a population size smaller than Bdos’ “St. Lucia [was] reeling from the effects of a prolonged dry period. The drought left the supply of water at the Water and Sewage Company’s dams at a very low level. The dry condition led WASCO to devise new strategies to copy with the new challenges.” I have not even bothered to touch economies of scale and water supply, but why cadtvpearls to a swine. There’s nothing worse than believing oneself to be intelligent when one is borderline semi-literate. Woman go season yuh husband Sunday meat do.🤣🤣🤣

4. Yeah…and ah bet none of the TT ministers sold out their water to Ram for bribes….or sold out water to the community in Holetown for 10 years for bribes either…

ya can’t even understand logistics, population size nor the large area of a country as compared to a tiny island MIRED IN BRIBERY AND CORRUPTION for the last 80 YEARS…..but ya got talk…yall can only stay on BU and sass me, but when i catch ya asses on FB where ya friends and family can see ya being brutalized….ya don’t have a word for me…

5. We must arrest the lawlessness. This video has been making the rounds.

https://barbadosunderground.files.wordpress.com/2020/01/minibus.mp4

6. FRAUD BEING COMMITTED ON THE PEOPLE…on the East Coast…by ya own useless ministers..

https://m.facebook.com/story.php?story_fbid=1223099054566298&id=100005986451739

7. Justice is coming where. Not unless all these criminals, money launderers, frauds and thieves are DRAGGED OFF THE ISLAND IN HANDCUFFS….they have expanded their crimes so far one cannot now tell where it all ends….it just keeps going and going and going..

https://m.facebook.com/story.php?story_fbid=1223092314566972&id=100005986451739

8. “ya can’t even understand logistics, population size nor the large area of a country as compared to a tiny island MIRED IN BRIBERY AND CORRUPTION for the last 80 YEARS”

You ever hear bout the Beetham Wastewater project in Trinidad and the contractor who fled right after the last election? I tell you go cook yuh husband food. What about logistics? The more money and a larger population density/size (barring challenging topography) makes delivery more affordable and economical. Furthermore, in Tdad fuel is subsidised. You are a one-trick pony in need of an IQ test. I dun wid u on this matter, I am not the abusive type.

9. The amount of abuse you took from me, you actually are not ashamed to say the word abuse, you must be masochistic.

I want to know what Trinidad got to do with yall walking billions of dollars of the people’s money offshore…refuse to bring it back, refuse to lock up ya fellow crooks…ah want to know what yall selling THE ISLAND’S WATER to YA BRIBER’S rendering more than HALF THE 11 PARISHES….WATERLESS…. gotta to with Trinidad…

ya are 0% of the earth’s population…it is not difficult to maintain underground pipes on a soft stone rock…but yall thieves NEVER EVER maintained the 100 YEAR OLD PIPES….

but it’s Trinidad’s fault …right..

10. BTW..ya might need to go and give some assistance, one of ya bar association friends got himself embedded in online search engines WITH FALSE INFORMATION…looks like he is turning into a pretzel trying to get it off and on a weekend too….go help the man do instead of on here posting shite…lol

11. fortyacresandamule Avatar
    fortyacresandamule

I was never one for procreation. Left to me alone, we would have gone extinct by now. Sometimes I think nonexistence is way better than this short unpredictable human experience… who for millions is a life of drudgery, pain, and suffering.

12. So…asking for a friend and in the SPIRIT OF JUSTICE….

https://barbadosbarassociation.com/members_directory.cfm?MemberID=261&PageAction=DetailsLawyer

Membership
    American Immigration Lawyers Association
    District of Columbia, Washington, U.S.A. (D.C. Bar)

what will the Barbados Bar Association do about this 5 YEAR FRAUD that IS STILL being perpetrated on the public both local and foreign, using their website..just asking..

13. To make this brouhaha even more interesting, i have been reliably informed that this same Wayne Cumberbatch ran on a DLP ticket last election and ran against Colin Jordan. I asked twice if they were sure it is the same person and was told to go online and look it up.

Maybe the fowls from both sides of the corrupt divide can correct the old girl if am wrong and i will apoligize.

Lawd me gawd..the brou-HAHA!!

14. Miller and Piece…one fell SWOOP..

i await the cussing from the fowls..lol

15. Two hours in and not a fowl ain’t jumped out to cuss me yet, they can’t all be sleeping, not even Lawsuit Lorenzo is venturing out, ah must be losing me touch..

16. Ah just saw a photo onlone with the star boy himself…with Adriel Nitwit…and Carry-way-a-ton Carrington in deep, deep conversation…so that must be the & Co…lol, wuhloss…

17. Not sure if Wayne and Dave are the same and yardfowls wont tell me a thing….but i will tell ya this…

The lawyer calling himself Wayne Cumberbatch that has himself advertised as a BROOKLYN LAWYER …better be REGISTERED TO PRACTICE IN BROOKLYN….still dont know if it’s the same person…i will leave yardfowls and bar association to sort the Daves and the Waynes and the Washington and Brooklyn chapters out..,this has all gone too highfalutin for the I….am just a simple gal..

goodluck to all and bye..

18. I’ll say it again, this system of Police acting as Prosecutors is outdated and ought to be abandoned
    Let trained legal officers (lawyers) prosecute and let Policemen compile the evidence.

https://barbadostoday.bb/2020/01/14/magistrate-courts-controversy-again/