Detailed in the recent IDB Caribbean Region Quarterly Bulletin – Volume 8, Issue 4| December 2019 is a cautionary tale.  Barbados continues to meet all targets as part of the IMF Extended Fund Facility and Barbados  Economic Recovery and Transformation plan  – the objective to achieve fiscal consolidation. HOWEVER the other story to be received from the IDB report is the fact the economy is contracting although all targets set under the IMF programs have been met.

The big challenge for the government as it was for the last government is the ability to mobilize projects to spur economic activity. In order for the fiscal consolidation activity Barbadians have had to suffer not being a vain effort, 2020 must be the year of implementation of projects currently wedged in the investment pipeline. We do not have the luxury of time fed by our procrastination paralysis malady.

There is a legitimate concern the majority of the shovel ready projects AND prospects are in the main tourism related. The expectation is after a successful implementation of the projects – detailed by the prime minister in a recent address to the nation – to float the Barbados economic boat from the rock of austerity, talk of transforming the Barbados economy shifts to building a new economy – a new economy modelled to be sustainable in a global economy Barbados has become disconnected in the last decades.

Unfortunately after years of economic and social inertia Barbadians appear to be walking the predictable path which includes being mired in unproductive partisan political discourse and a reluctance to let go of irrelevant economic and social models.

Relevant LinkIDB Caribbean Region Quarterly BulletinA Look at 2019 and Beyond (Volume 8, Issue 4|

156 responses to “Barbados Reform Agenda Threatened by Anaemic Growth”

1. Piece the Legend Avatar

@ Peter Lawrence Thompson

Your answer followed my question with commendable immediacy

And furthermore was spot on!

You said AND I QUOTE

“…This means that diversification will NOT be led by government; it must be led by citizens with initiative and creativity…”

And this kind Sir and Patriot Innovator is precisely the answer that de ole man for a while thought would be missed in the responses here.

Quo Vadis from here to move to the new land across Jordan?

Moses cannot go over, nor can Mugabe Mottley because, by their very nature they are enemies to the very Diversification Strategy that you speak of!

But Peter WE HAVE A BIGGER PROBLEM that you need to address for the few readers who have grasped your submission!

1.The Enemy of Government is the “GATEKEEPER” of the more easily mobilized funding, the National Indicative Funding that is there for precisely the purpose you speak of INNOVATION AND CREATIVITY!

How do you see such private sector innovation bypassing these enemies to innovation who, mindful of the ensuing enfranchisement of the people that follows your proposal, WILL BLOCK THIS STRATEGY?

2.Where is the steel as in Cow Williams’s Steelbar ?

Where will traditional corporate Barbados feature in this “non merchant-purchase-of-commodities-overseas-to-sell-in-Barbados” model?

Dem fellers only know bout buy/sell NOT CREATIVITY Peter what is going to happen with them?

Whst you are proposing WILL SHIFT THE POWER STRUCTURES IN BARBADOS my man, you are speaking of anarchy!

3.And how can a Minister get a kickback from an innovator WHEN THE IDB OR OTHER ENTITY IS MONITORING THE NIP?

4.You missed one critical Enablement Peter

You forgot one pertinent issue.

I also want you to tell us about Intellectual Property Rights and the Need for its inclusion AT GET GO PETER!

In fact, Lawrence the Patriot Innovator, I’d appreciate if you share with those here who even care about this,

(a).what is the current state of play for IP in Barbados
    (b).AND WHAT NEEDS TO BE CREATED HERE,
    (c).and how far we are from that and
    (d) how can we get there?

2. Piece the Legend Avatar

@ the Honourable Blogmaster your assistance please with a followup item here for Peter Lawrence Thompson the Patriot Innovator

3. William Skinner Avatar

@ PLT

You are absolutely correct. The interpretation: Stop dreaming and repeating the same mistakes we made fifty years ago by ignoring the emerging technologies back then. And when given the opportunity don’t fail like how we messed up Edutech.
    Failure to implement simple technological change. Just heard on the radio that the current Min of Education is trying to implement something from 2017. The reason it apparently was not implemented being some personality clash with the the the former Minister and the teachers union head. Every day they used to be quarreling in public insulting each other. Well school children have ears and eyes. Nothing engages children more than seeing adults acting stupidly.
    Hopefully the current minister will avoid such stupidity.

4. @WS
    There are two sentences of yours that really caught my attention. I will add a brief comment/question after.

“Our problem has been a failure to capitalize on the period immediately after independence when we failed to create a vital national consciousness and ignored how the global economy was emerging.”

****Is this where we departed from Singapore? Did we start “bad’? Are we experiencing the failure of IMMEDIATE and subsequent post-independence leadership?

“As for agro industries we are about fifty years late. That’s why the mangoes coming from Peru or wherever. ”

****I have been away for quite some time, but at that time, there was a stigma in doing agricultural work. Are we pass that stage? Indeed, Investing in agriculture may be a part of the solution, but have we changed minds so that youngsters can realize that working in agriculture can be profitable and is honorable?

For those of you with a monocle – not a B thing or D thing. Don’t make it so.

5. @Peter

The nuance of things are done in Barbados must be factored. Barbados has always been a government led place. This is the reality, this is the prevailing ethos and culture that pervades the thinking. For it to change there has to be disruption, what will initiate and stoke the disruption all suggestions are welcomed. One suspects given the role of big government it will have to start in the public sector. This does not mean that actors in the private sector should not participate. The longest journey starts with the first step.

6. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

“Barbados has always been a government led place.”
    Independent Barbados is just 53 years old, a tiny moment of human history; always is much longer.

“For it to change there has to be disruption, what will initiate and stoke the disruption all suggestions are welcomed.”
    You are correct. I want disruption with no bloodshed; I’m just squeamish that way.

7. PLT…nah…ya brave Enuff…lol

the disruption is happening as you type…not a drop of blood required, only damaged and destroyed egos and the destruction of greed which is not important anyway….it has only aided in destroying the country and lives of 3 generations of vulneralable, unaware people..

8. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@TheOGazerts
    “… there was a stigma in doing agricultural work. Are we pass that stage?”
    +++++
    You are still envisioning your grandmother’s agriculture. To be successful agriculture must surf the wave of emerging technologies. You need to imagine custom designed ecosystems in enclosed environments like greenhouses or shipping containers powered by solar panels and LED lighting; include real time analysis of nutrient flows and computer controlled lighting temperature and humidity. No monkey predation, no predial larceny, no unwanted insects, no pesticides, no need to waste water washing produce, etc.

9. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

and don’t tell me we can’t do it in Barbados. https://www.inogroinc.com/

10. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@Piece the Legend
    You are correct that the position of government as gatekeeper is a significant structural impediment. We need to find clever ways around such blockages because we cannot afford to wait until the Bajan voters decide to get rid of their current system of government.

11. “For those talking about Mr. Talma and beach or surf tourism , where were they, when some very high up people , that we praise on BU , were daily putting obstacles in his way and harassing all his efforts? Go talk to Talma and he would give you the whole story.”

Mr. Skinner this is a petty comment and I fail to understand what you are trying to prove. The topic is about the need for growth. Surfing has grown from a niche sport reserved to Californians to a worldwide leisure sport worth billions.

The topic is intended to be forward looking. John A mentioned the need to reduce the food import bill, this has been met with many roadblocks over the years as well, are you going to criticize him for that too.

@ John A, along with cutting imports why don’t we as PLT said ride the wave. The avocado industry has grown exponentially in the last 15 years, we missed that one. I’ve been reading that soursop is considered a super food. May be we should get ahead of the wave this time and be ready to ramp up soursop production and processing.
    @Silly woman I know you can probably tell us a thing or two about soursop.

12. wuhloss..lol

https://barbadostoday.bb/2020/01/09/liquidation-center-of-historical-significance/

“The Liquidation Centre is actually a listed historical building, don’t mind the fact that it looks ugly. Everybody can agree that it does not look pretty, but any building can be made to look ugly or pretty. This building is in fact a huge 18th century warehouse that has some really interesting design features, but you can’t see them because it is a closed in warehouse and internal conditions are horrible.

“That building has the most amazing roof structure on it,” explained Stevens,

He revealed that he has written to the Town and Country Planning Department on the issue, but it appears that his concerns have fallen on deaf ears.”

13. Thanks for this comment Resguard.

Was tempted to respond to William earlier that as a member of the IMF Barbados will approach the IMF to drawdown on accrued SDRs when we have shown the inability for whatever readily to manage our affairs.

Now moving forward, growth!

14. “there was a stigma in doing agricultural work. Are we pass that stage”

@TheOGazerts

The margins on just growing produce are still low. Cocoa farmers in Trinidad make a small profit but the Swiss companies who buy their cocoa make millions selling chocolate and cocoa products. Nothing Swiss about Swiss chocolate.

The key is owning and controlling more of the supply chain. The technology is now available and affordable for us to do this now. We have enough expertise on the island in processing, packaging and marketing that we no longer have to rely on foreign companies to buy our produce and transform it.

15. This very dangerous and deadly situation has been facilitated by both greedy, corrupt, neglectful and incompetent governments…for years and years on end. The faulty road works will continue as long as the same corrupt companies are facilitated by corrupt governments. They are alll more concerned about how much they could rip off for themselves.

http://www.loopnewsbarbados.com/content/terrifying-accident-4-roads-st-john-shakes-couple-core?fbclid=IwAR3qYo94eyAiA9WSaDuOaBbQC-1RkHftW6ebp8cyFdQTacPRLAByR4wwFno

“The four-crossing in question is said to be a problem for those in the area. Residents told Loop News that it is a constant bugbear with far too many accidents occurring as a result of poor signage.

Lewis went on to talk about how even police and fire officials seemed to be aware of the issues with the junction.

“They (residents) tell us to observe how far the stop sign is from the intersection & how no lines are painted on the road to distinguish the main road from the intersecting road. Even the police & fire department made a statement to the insurance assessors about these faults in road works.

Her concern was shared by many in the area who today, Wednesday, January 8, expressed upset and concern that there may be no hope towards getting the solution rectified.

In the meantime, the family is on their way out of the country and even though they are happy to be alive they worry about the state of the roads and what will happen to the next person who may not be so lucky at that junction. Expressing such, Lewis went on to share some words of woe to the Ministry of Transport in her post.

“How many more accidents have to happen here before they move the sign?”

16. @ Pieces

Your question is a fair one as to who will lead this diversification.

I see it as first the implementation of policies by government to aid the process and then in the case of the agricultural sector, assistance to low cost financing and the establishment of large scale green house projects. Government and Clico has a massive land bank on some of the best agricultural land in the island and they need to use it! They can enter into a large scale green house project where they can offer say 4 sizes of green houses for rental to small and medium size persons. Just like the $5000 free loans we had earlier, financing can then be made to these parties. Failing that we have a NCC nursery where plants can be hatched and distributed to the said farmers at a nominal price. The items grown should be dictated by our food import bill based on what we can grow locally. This should be based on highest value of imports as the priority and work it’s way down.

The renewable energy is much more simple, in that all it requires is a removal of the restrictions and a focus on a revised duty structure for the vehicles etc.

Truth is Pieces it’s not that difficult what I am proposing, however it’s not as glossy as fancy hotel buildings and the glamour of the hotel corridor from hither to thither.

Finally I don’t see you as an enemy but a master provocateur who I enjoy reading.

17. The message here is, if they refuse to remove a sign that causes multiple accidents that leads to death and injury and to court cases that are NEVER RESOLVED…do you think these retarded leaders are interested in changing anything else…dream on.

and that is not the only dangerous situation on the island…the Coverley entrance was supposedly “fixed”…but somehow it was still very dangerous to navigate around the ugly roundabout, at least it was before the summer, not too sure how things are there now.

there is a pattern, all of this incompetence and neglect is DELIBERATE.

18. William Skinner Avatar

@ Readguard
    Firstly I have never been critical of John A because I consider him to be one who understands the difference between: criticism and different opinions – they are not the same.
    As for Talma I merely stated that he was severely undermined by some major tourism players. That is a comment not a criticism.
    Finally those who follow the global economy will agree that the entire leisure industry has been showing tremendous growth in all areas for a few decades now.
    If we do not realise that we are on the leisure industry it’s not my fault or yours. The talk about surfing tourism has been around for about thirty years.

19. @ Redguard

Exactly my point as PLT said we need to move agriculture to a planned business as opposed to plant what we feel like. We need to use the food import bill by item as our guide and in a scheduled way start by focusing on the highest imported items by dollar value that we can grow and work our way down. We then need to consult with the hotel industry on what their top 20 items are and focus on them as well.

I don’t understand why our divine leaders can’t see that if we grow tourism we automatically have a way to expand agriculture. After all every one of them that come have to eat whether all inclusive or not don’t they?

20. @Piece
    The futile exercise of Import Substitution of which you speak can be conducted in 1 hour by requesting the never functioning Asycuda World
    +++++++++++++++
    Stop telling untruths about ASYCUDA, according to the Comptroller of Customs it is working “perfectly” and it is the imbeciles (couriers and others) who stinking up de joint 😊

https://barbadostoday.bb/2020/01/07/delivery-still-lags-in-customs-debacle-courier/

21. @ William

The truth is what we need from government is policy and the utilisation of their massive land bank. Once that is done let them step away and the leave the business of agriculture to the private sector and those that actually know how to grow something other than debt and taxation.

22. William Skinner Avatar

@ theOGazerts
    Daily reading of the newspapers will see young people having a deep interest in agriculture. As @PLT says they are interested in modern agro approaches . We need to invest millions in their projects rather than concentrate on investments designed to prove some leader has left a legacy.
    Look around you and note what we are or intend to spend the few pennies we have on. The answer should be clear .
    As for leadership the failure in the post independence era is rampant throughout the region. There are no visionary leaders in sight. The nonsense about Singapore was a talking point promoted by Barrow and the instant gratification clowns picked up the theme.

23. William Skinner Avatar

@ John A
    Perhaps the investments in agriculture can be more easily controlled. We are either producing crops or not. Now, building projects we use a lot of Steal and that’s why they are more attractive.
    Why loan ten small farmers a million dollars each and seize the land if they fail when you can come up with a ten million dollar building and put a lot of steal in it ?
    Remember the tax payers ended up paying $116 million for a building they should have paid $34 million . Remember that the taxpayers then turn around and rented a building they actually owned.
    You see my friend the Duopoly like buildings with plenty steal in them . Agro industries deal with land plants and so on. Hope you get my drift.

24. @ William

Sadly I catch your drift only too well.

25. Piece the Legend Avatar

@ John A

Neither do I see you as an enemy John A, but as a brilliant man who, notwithstanding that slight glitch with ***, possesses a quick mind and quicker wit.

Your challenge John A is always going to be your “rate of resonance” or how “quickly” you can “slow down” your thought processes to “catch up” with our bajan brothers!

That sounds convoluted but it is the state of things Barbadian!

The difficulty is having the patience to do precisely that, AND AS AN OLE MAN, the “grains of sand remaining in my hourglass” does not lead to a disposition of tolerance for slow thinkers AND certainly not fools!!

The issue is equitable exchange John.

Your land bank and “credits” has serious potential BUT IT HAS A DOWNSIDE!

Let me explain from two perspectives

1.the perspective of Mugabe’s poochlickers.

Invariably, the regime is disposed to nepotism coupled with which the capacity to assess a viable project is non existent.

2.The potential Subscriber

Some of these subscribers ENT GOT A CLUE IN THY KINGDOM COME ABOUT WHAT TO DO in this sector and are just there for the free money!

De ole man Solution?

1.IDB Funded / Israeli manned National Agriculture Initiative

To evaluate and implement any such project

2.All such initiatives MUST BE CLUSTERS of 3 or more persons.

No one man foolishness and the success of the cluster ascribed graduation thresholds to its members.

In short, if you idea is successful the you get more resources but if you and your partners fail, then you are out of the program

I, Piece the Legend, dun know dat dem here teifing all uh we ideas but 52 black bodies of UNIMPORTANT bajans drives me to cuss and swear and be called tin foil and demon and all dem nice names dem does call me

I still will not ever stop working on getting better governance than Mugabe Mottley but IN THE INTERIM, I will seek to contribute to Growth!

Of course John A, watch how dem mess up the ideas

26. Well i always like to look on the bright side, they sent out their deranged yardfowls and blind undereducated political supporters to be analyzed and PULVERIZED on Facebook….thinking they were sending them out just to cuss people and promote their own self-destruction…by claiming how wonderful everything is, how they can do nothing about the corruption because it has always been there and always will be…how well their oppressors are loved by the blind, undereducated and DERANGED…people’s mouths are still hanging open by that one, the sane, intelligent people cannot believe what they are seeing playing out on the world stage.

BUT…..at least the analysis will clearly show the WORLD…the depth of the damage to the psyches of those who have been most vulnerable in the society for the last 80 years..and all perpetrated and KEPT THAT WAY by both governments.

there is always a silver lining..every negative, unproductive, unprogressive action by DEMONS posing as leaders, can be turned into a positive by those with better intent.

27. NorthernObserver Avatar

@peterlawrencethompsonJanuary 9, 2020 8:54 AM

Fabulous. Your alma mater in Montreal is a leader in this technology, sponsored at least in part by the Israelis.
    The other angle is something dubbed aeroponics, which has been very relevant to producing disease free seeds in products such as yams. Something I believe Ghana is on the forefront of. Maybe the PM’s recent visit opened contacts.

28. Yes my friends, ya genius government has EXPOSED their decades of MALICIOUS and DELIBERATE neglect of the miseducation system to over 2 BILLION VIEWERS and a gaggle of mental health professionals…WORLDWIDE.

and some do not believe in retribution and KARMA…but they do EXIST..

29. Piece the Legend Avatar

@ John A
    @ Mr. William Skinner
    @ Redguard
    @ The Patriot Innovator PLT
    @ Commander Theophillus Gazerts

De ole man shall reduce to practice what is eluding these successive governments

And I will focus on Agriculture and more specifically meat Substitution

And here is de ole man model to address what Commander Gazerts said

“…Indeed, Investing in agriculture may be a part of the solution, but have we changed minds so that youngsters can realize that working in agriculture can be profitable and is honorable?…”

How many at Risk Low Income Housing areas are there?

Pinelands, Deacons, St Stephen’s, Gall Hill, Haynesville Crabhill

Let we say 10!

How many murders have been committed there?

So each one of dem RH death camps where we are experiencing murders WILL BE PROVIDED 4 forty foot containers each

Outfitted as dual purpose Ruminant and Plant nurseries.

In short we raising Rabbits and Seedlings using Rabbit manure*** (oh de ole man do dis shy$e before so this ent theory)

And men and women from dese communities will be enrolled as small farmers in the Piece the Legend Business.

And we keeping metrics of enrollees performances.

So only de serious ones who deliver in these community based farms and wukking going get bigger plots in the National Ruminat Meat Replacement initiative

I could give wunna de layout plans for each At Risk Complex and the proposals dat de ole man was dud gine give Caswell and dem BUT DEM TOO RH SLOW heheheheh

But de Ole Man gone further that what Commander Theophillus Gazerts was saying bout profit and honour.

I Piece the Legend am saying that , we the older fold who is about to die, gots to give our young people real and practical opportunities which nuture the correct ethics of how we blacks see ourselves NOT AS VICTIMS BUT BUILDERS OF OUR COMMUNITY AND SOCIETY

But this is what is REAL VISION and not hobble gobble stupidity like the authors of this blog!

I, Piece the Legend, HAVE SPOKEN!

30. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@Piece the Legend January 9, 2020 12:11 PM
    This sounds like an idea with potential. If this venture is incorporated as a nonprofit enterprise or charity I can get you at least a modest amount of grant funding plus business mentorship for the community members running the operation.

31. What the government is doing encapsulates economic growth. It is very strategic and joined up. What are the economic benefits of carbon neutrality; and where do electric buses and putting PV panels on low income units fit into this policy? When government focuses new hotel/leisure development on previously developed sites, promotes intensification (taller buildings) and introduces planning gain to fund/provide public infrastructure, secure local procurement and localised jobs, what opportunities exist for growth? When through planning gains they acquire land to provide housing, what economic activity would be realised? Let’s look at Jobs First, which according to news reports is envisioned to employ a large number of school leavers. How could such a programme, if properly executed, contribute to the enhancement of our workforce and by extension the economy? What role does entrepreneurship and nano, micro and small businesses play in economic growth and what is the raison d’etre for trust loans and building facilities on the block to acccommodate new businesses? Added to this, I have read that the government is exploring Peer2Peer lending and other seed funding mechanisms. What is key to innovation? Now remember I talked about joined up policy earlier. If you examine what I have listed above, you would note that in each scenario there are also social benefits and in others environmental as well. This is how governments are crafting modern public policy. Finally, we can’t escape reality; therefore, our main specialism at this time (tourism) will attract greater attention and investment, especially in view of the obvious opportunities, including surfing and watersports. Hyatt does not negate other types of tourism products coming on board, after all intra-sector diversification is good too. The nascent sectors will grow once the policies bed in, including alternative modes of funding/investment.

32. You all remember in the boom of 2006 and 2007 when the Guyanese was bout here, how much land was being cultivated by them in St Thomas, St George and St John?

What happens when we get heavy rain fall here to our local vegetable growers? Yes rain washes out their crops and shortages occur. This is then accompanied by a flood of imported tomatoes etc for the next few weeks. So if the state and Clico own some of the best arable land in the island and we have a state nursery at the NCC what is missing?

Well put simply a plan and a desire to succeed. If government undertook the green house construction on their own land in say 4 sizes, then the same farmers who lose their crops yearly to heavy rains would now be able to rent safe locations for their year round growth.

You really feel a man should pay $6 for a blasted imported mango when we got nuff land bout here rusting out?

All that is needed is a plan and a desire to succeed instead of all of the long talk and party nonesence we get from the duopoly.

I mean if it would make them feel better they could give it a fancy name and put up a pretty glossy sign on it or something so. All the pipe dream hotels is one thing, but while the doctors say we need iron in we diet, none of we can’t eat steal I don’t think.

33. Piece the Legend Avatar

@ PLT the Patriot Innovator

What if I told you that this idea is not just a concept and that …

Let me do this then PLT!

Because de ole man is being hounded to my death AND BECAUSE DEM SEEKETH ME TO PUT ME TO DEATH, I cannot make any outreaches to you directly.

But I can, and will, send “another” whom i know is a man of God and who will do what is right for my country Barbados

De ole man can never walk through those vales of Kintyre but what i will pledge to do is uplift why brothers and sisters there though that which he has given me!

If you care to share your email here de ole man will utilize a mechanism to conduit the Trusted Parties to you.

We do NOT WANT OUR COUNTRY TO DIE.

34. William Skinner Avatar

@ Piece
    Those are the types of new creative innovation we need throughout the country.
    What we have now are old programs being given new names. Put a Datsun stamp on a Ford it’s still a Ford or vice versa.

35. Piece the Legend Avatar

de ole man would really love to send you a project for the Reduction of Crime** ( I use that word “reduction” with caveats)

Ohhhhhh you can expect that their agents will reach out to you to direct your suasion otherwise.

Install Telegram from telegram.org since the conduit will only reach you via that medium

36. @Enuff

The problem is that Barbados is lagging so far behind the rest that the dilemma is how aggressive the transformation must be.

PS. Your comment reads pretty.

37. @ William
    @ Pieces

What is aannoying to me here is that we have all the information to develop our vegetable and condiment market, yet we do nothing about it. Here is why I say this.

MARKET VALUE:
    Based on the food import bill we know the value and volume of the products we want to target, hence a market is there and does not have to be developed.

LAND MASS:
    This too we have based on state and Clico land holding. History also shows these targeted lands to be some of the best agricultural lands on the island.

SEED GROWTH AND FERTILISERS:
    We already have a state nursery which can raise the seedlings and import the fertilizers duty free for sale to the small farmers who rent the state owned greenhouses.

What else do we have to do so as to see this sector grow? Do we have to hold the hands of the politicians and lead them into the ploughed grounds, to get them to understand what we can achieve with what we now have laying idle?

Anyhow in the meantime thanks for the few garbage trucks.

38. Piece the Legend Avatar

@ Mr William Skinner

You are so very correct regarding the dearth of ideas that masquerade as cutting edge under both of the DUOPOLY entities.

Observe how Hee He the first of the Rented Mules (changed his name out of respect for you) observe how he came quickly and spewed out the Mugabe message at 12.31 pm!

This is the very longest that he has written!

But behold a mystery as he parrots the buzz words Innovation and Creativity and entrepreneurs.

Here is what the mule brayed

“…What is key to innovation?

Now remember I talked about joined up policy earlier…”

AS IF WE WERE LISTENING!!! And what de france is “joined up” policy?

They continue

“…What role does entrepreneurship and nano, micro and small businesses play in economic growth and what is the raison d’etre for trust loans and building facilities on the block to acccommodate new businesses?….”

Now I have heard of micro, meso and macro in various studies but is not small and nano, the same thing as “small”?

I need to Revised my opinion about Hee Hee radically

So their job role HAS NOT CHANGED WHICH IT TO MAKE OEOPLE FEEL THAT THE BLP IS IN CHARGE OF ALL THESE THINGS but the article the submitted shows that, whatever the concern, the Mugabe edict is to compose an immediate narrative that makes readers believe it is part of AND ALREADY IN THE NANO, SMALL MICRO VISION OF MUGABE!

39. Piece the Legend Avatar

@ John A

Your submission at 1.20 pm makes sense insofar as all the pertinent resources are there.

Where we may digress with this and any government is that government, Euphemism for elected representatives WANT TO BE PART OF THE ENTREPRENEURIALMIX as silent shareholders!

By the way, you noticed that at 1.10 pm, in response to the idiocy written by Hee Hee that the Honourable Blogmaster gave him the equivalent of a virtual high five for that ingrunce and says and I quote

“…PS. Your comment reads pretty….”

READS PRETTY, ” nano, micro and small”

John A when 2 idjits come together ALL SORTS OF JOBBY DOES HAPPEN

heheheheh

40. @ Pieces.

When you get a minute research Sante Fe Mega Farms in Guyana and see when agriculture is dealt with as a business what is possible.

41. @John A

When you grow all these vegetables what happens when the Trinis that control retail and distribution prefer to import?

42. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@Piece the Legend January 9, 2020 12:53 PM
    You (or anyone else) can reach me at peter@leadbarbados.org
    😉

43. @ David

That is where government comes in. Try and import chicken wings and see what happens. Lol

44. @John A

The challenge is two fold, the artificial protection/tariffs and the implications of blocking imports from countries where there is an imbalance. Many balls to juggle.

45. @ David

We do it now with several items. If You notice even in the Trini supermarkets you have never seen a tray of Trini eggs for sale, or trini chicken either. It is just a matter of people like James Paul keeping an eye on supply and demand. It’s done by many countries when it comes to dairy products etc. In other words home drum got to beat first.

Once that is done and production up, then you label the products as Bajan Made and spend some money in educating our people how to identify our products in a ” buy Bajan” campaign.

Anything is possible if you want it bad enough.

46. @John A

Fair enough, in theory.

There was a lot of braying some time ago to say Sandals had to purchase local produce.

How is that working out?

James Paul led the noise making.

47. @ David

Again poor planning. You remember when Sandals came in they were given a green card by Sinkler to import whatever they wanted duty free and vat free. No requirements were stipulated to them that they HAD to by local products first. If you go in there you will notice their “house rum” is in fact a Jamaican brand.

When we are giving way concessions in desperation, we must guard against throwing out the Bajan born child with the bath water in the future.

48. You were begging for the brand and prepared to sell your soul for it. Credit to Mia for pulling Sandals Beaches back to the table. We must have the courage to stop the race to the bottom.

49. Northern…Canada’s top universities took a big hit with students and professors when that plane went down in Iran, even Guelph and Waterloo had loss.

Leave a Reply to Vincent CodringtonCancel reply