The government plans to demolish the Old National Insurance Building and the adjacent Fire Station to create a park in the city. In related news the Treasury Building will be converted into a “mixed use facility”.It is not widely known that the Treasury Building is another of those “sick buildings”and staff from the Barbados Revenue Authority have been relocated from the Treasury Building to the Building next door.
The blogmaster likes the idea of improving the look of Bridgetown. With the arrival of the Hyatt the government may feel moved to “clean up” Bridgetown on an accelerated timetable.
David, blogmaster

The following was extracted from Thomas Sankara’s Facebook page.

#OLDNISBUILDING Good afternoon, please note I am apolitical and my conscience is not for rent, lease, sublet or hire. Why my silence on matters environmental , busy with school and the maturity of knowing when to speak. Sorry to disappoint those who spread malicious gossip about my silence. William Duguid Ronald Toppin Peter R. Phillips John King David King Arturo Edward Jeffrey Bostic Dwight Sutherland Indar A Weir Edmund Hinkson

When will the sale of the glass doors, glass frames, partitions and other salvageable parts of the building will take place. In case you have forgotten its called #UpCycling and is part of what is known as the #CircularEconomy Kirk Humphrey Dale Marshall. Such a building pre demolition can have materials removed worth hundreds of thousand of dollars and post demolition recovery of metals and debris can reused. Old concrete can make new cement and old metals can make new metals.

This is the taxpayers building and whatever can be sold pre demolition must be salvaged via fire sales. Dominique Tudor Vincent Haynes Heather Cole David Spieler Andrew Simpson

131 responses to “Old National Insurance Building to be Demolished”

1. @JohnJanuary 8, 2020 1:01 AM

Which architect designed the NIS Building?

Which architect designed the old Hilton?

Was it the same one?

The Treasury building reportedly sick also.

2. It is time to drain the swamp
    Btw one parliamentarian stated that her long days of being absent from her parliament duties was caused due to becoming sick when working inside the building
    Havent heard any more as to if what she said gave cause or concern to that building being closed in the future

3. @David

“It is never that simple when the government is involved in these matters.”

Yes its very “SIMPLE”, follow the $MONEY$. Now the real problems BEGIN, doing something EFFECTIVE to resolve the CAUSES is going to mean POLITICAL & BUSINESS HEADS ROLL, NOT LIKELY.

SAME OLD SAME OLD

4. Only way out now…and if they do not act..their asses will be gone come 2023 TOO.

The NEW ONES in parliament who are still UNTOUCHED by all this corruption, money laundering, bribery, thefts of estates from those and their beneficiaries living on the island and ABROAD and THEFTS OF PUBLIC FUNDS…should now know what they have to do or get pulled into the orbits of those who are now very EXPOSED….it’s not rocket science.

5. And it’s only some who are untouched, a few of them are corrupt like hell and are just an extension of those whose acts of corruption are embedded and has infected the parlaiment….AND we know who they are…

6. re Yes I do want to go to heaven, but truthfully just like you i do not want to die. I trust that you have no problem with that spiritual conflict.

YOU DONT HAVE TO DIE TO GO TO HEAVEN

ELIJAH DIDNT NOR DID ENOCH

SEE I THESSALONIANS 4:14-18 & I CORINTHIANS 15:51 et secq

7. @John A January 7, 2020 6:47 PM “I ask because I have been in buildings in Europe well over 100 years old which are still serving as offices today. How do we therefore condemn buildings in a temperate climate to demolition after only 30 or 40 years?”

Actually Barbados’ is not a temperate climate, but rather a tropical climate, warm and wet, and always trying to go back to being tropical rain forest, so maybe our experience is not the same as the Europeans’.

That said i have visited St. Alban’s Cathedral in England, the building is nearly 1,000 years old (one thousand years) and still looks good for another thousand.

Wikipedia: St. Alban’s Cathedral, England “Probably founded in the 8th century the present building is Norman or Romanesque architecture of the 11th century, with Gothic and 19th-century additions.”

Isn’t St. Michael’s cathedral virtualy next door to the Old NIS Building more than 200 years old? And to me it looks good for at least another 200 once REGULAR MAINTENANCE is done.

Wikipedia: St. Michael’s Cathedral, Barbados “Destroyed by a hurricane in 1780, the church was rebuilt in 1789. The church was later damaged in the great hurricane of 1831 but not destroyed.”

To tell my truth in Barbados we too like to say “IT WANT PUSHING DOWN” and then we push it down, and then sometime later we say “oopsss!!! Oh! RH, what the shite we do, we shouldn’t do dat”

Blasted Philistines.

8. @GP January 8, 2020 7:56 AM “YOU DONT HAVE TO DIE TO GO TO HEAVEN.”

That suits me fine. Thanks. Looking forward…

9. This colourful language – if given a commonsense interpretation- is used to highlight a point that sacrifice is required to achieve the goal.

10. The house in which midwife Westerman delivered me was built in 1951. My father, a mason who “finished school” at age 11, converted it himself with the help of a carpenter, from wood to wall in 1962. The house is still in very good shape. The roof was replaced 2 years ago and it still houses a family who are happy to have a 3 bedroom, 2 bathroom wall house, with ceramic tile throughout, fenced and with solar water heating to rent for less than $1,000 BDS per month.

Sometimes we Bajans act as though we rich. As though we have plenty, plenty money and can afford to “lick it down and BILL it back.” Then we saddle ourselves, our children and grandchildren with massive BILLS.

11. @nextparty246 January 7, 2020 11:25 PM Silly Woman: “Commercial buildings are normally designed by architects. I am unaware of any commercial or public building in Barbados that was designed by an Engineer.”

Thanks Granville. I know. A few engineers in the family.

I is the only silly one.

12. @Kammie Holder January 7, 2020 8:02 PM “@Dr Lucas, GP, two kids born same year.. One born with cats and untidy environment the other born in a home where household use a lit of vleankng agents and animals are absent.”

Perhaps this house is too “clean”

Sometimes we are overcareful with our little ones. Maybe we need to leave some of the cleaning agents on the shelves, and let the kids be exposed to dirt.

I was raised in the country on a 20,000 square foot lot shared with cows, pigs, sheep, turkeys, chickens, cats, dogs (boy I loved that Alsatian Rover who was so afraid of thunder, he would run and hide under the nearest bed as soon as a thunder storm started) but he was the coolest, most gentle beast I have ever encountered. The kitchen door was always open and the dogs, cats and chickens moved freely in and out. None of us had allergies. All of us lived to be over 60. Nuff, nuff ‘o we over 70 now. The only one of we so far who has died before the age of 70 is the one who moved to the very clean, very wealthy United States, go figure.

I am sure that if any modern health care administration had visited they would have placed us all in foster care to get us away from the dirt and the animals.

but here we are still, some over 80, some over 70, and all over 60.

13. The “cleaning products” used. Water and blue soap.

14. @WURA-WAR-on-U January 8, 2020 7:46 AM “The NEW ONES in parliament who are still UNTOUCHED by all this corruption, money laundering, bribery, thefts of estates from those and their beneficiaries living on the island and ABROAD and THEFTS OF PUBLIC FUNDS.”

Here ye, hear ye. let’s have a party.

QARU admits that there Parliamentarians ” UNTOUCHED by all this corruption, money laundering, bribery, thefts of estates from those and their beneficiaries living on the island and ABROAD and THEFTS OF PUBLIC FUNDS.”

Time to party people!!!

15. Don’t party yet, one or two of them worked for the covetous, greedy corrupt minorities…as long as they see their leaders in handcuffs or about to be put there…they will gain a WHOLE BRAND NEW PERSPECTIVE…unless they have an affinity to wearing HANDCUFFS TOO.

16. @Silly Woman January 8, 2020 8:54 AM “The “cleaning products” used. Water and blue soap.”

Oh yes. And elbow grease, nuff, nuff elbow grease, becausin’ there were nuff, nuff young, strong elbows around.

17. A key cause of sick buildings is poor air quality. Many of these buildings front onto busy streets and greening measures such as trees, hedgerows, green walls and greenroofs are absent. A Golden Square Park makes sense? There’s no need to blame architects and engineers. We just need to accept that, apart from maybe the whipping boy maintenance, we continue to learn a lot about what constitutes healthy buildings, including materials, layout, lighting etc. The decarbonisation of our buildings and transport is a good start.

18. some thoughts on immunity by one of my students

The immune system possess both a non-specific defense system, responding to all foreign substances that enter the body and a specific defense system, mounting attacks against particular foreign substances. The immune system is a functional system with a variety of molecules and immune cells that inhabit lymphoid tissues and organs and circulate in body fluids. When our immune system is properly functioning, our body is protected from harmful bacteria and invading pathogens.
    Our first line of defense is the skin and mucous membranes, which provide an external barrier and secrete various fluids to destroy bacteria.
    Our second line of defense are our cells and chemicals (i.e. phagocytes that eat bad bacteria). Our natural killer (NK) cells police the blood and lymph (a form of lymphocyte) and kill cancer and other invading cells before the adaptive/specific defense line is enlisted. They can act spontaneously against any target, releasing perforins as an aide to disintegrate the invading cell membrane and nucleus.
    Our body also possesses an inflammatory response (redness, heat, swelling and pain), which is triggered whenever the body is injured. In this process, after cells are injured, they release histamine and kinins causing blood vessels to dilate and capillaries to leak and so activating pain receptors and attracting phagocytes and white blood cells to the area (chemotaxis). The inflammatory response is important, because it prevents the spread of damaging debris, disposes of cell debris and starts the process of repair. If the damaged area contains pathogens that have previously entered the body, protective antibodies and t-cells invade to act on damaging agents.

There are differing forms of immunity: natural, inborn, artificial, active and passive (does not create memory, short-term). The three lines of defense (skin, WBCs, lymphocytes + antibodies) contribute to the level of immunity of a patient. An acquired immune response involves the recognition of an antigen by lymphocytes, the activation of these lymphocytes, differentiation into effector cells, the elimination of the antigen and finally the return of homeostasis with the development of memory cells.

19. @enuff

Accepting what you have stated, maintenance is still an issue in the public sector. You create the green spaces etc as you correctly described and do not have a maintenance program we are back to square one. A holistic and relevant approach is required.

20. I am sure that if any modern health care administration had visited they would have placed us all in foster care to get us away from the dirt and the animals.

but here we are still, some over 80, some over 70, and all over 60.

Corruption in Global Health Care May Exceed $1 TRILLION
    By Dr. Joseph Mercola

Investigations assessing the prevalence of scientific fraud and/or its impact show the problem is widespread and serious, to the point of making most of “science-based” medicine a genuine joke. Conflict of interest is another pervasive problem that threatens the integrity and believability of most studies.

We’ve been repeatedly faced with study findings that are clearly tainted with industry bias. For example, a 2014 study1,2,3 funded by the American Beverage Association purported to have found that diet soda makes you lose more weight than drinking no soda at all.

Its findings blatantly contradicted a massive body of research demonstrating that artificial sweeteners disrupt your body’s metabolism and lead to greater weight gain than regular sugar.

Scientific Fraud Has Lethal Consequences

Another example is Dr. Don Poldermans’ fraudulent beta blocker study, which is suspected of having led to the deaths of as many as 800,000 Europeans. I wrote about this scandal in “Beta Blockers Killed 800,000 in 5 Years — Good Medicine or Mass Murder?

The discredited paper had a profound influence as it served as the basis for establishing the use of beta blockers in noncardiac surgery patients as “standard of care.”4 Poldermans — who was fired for scientific misconduct in 2011 — was also the chairman of the committee that drafted that guideline.5

https://articles.mercola.com/sites/articles/archive/2020/01/08/global-health-care-corruption.aspx?cid_source=dnl&cid_medium=email&cid_content=art1HL&cid=20200108Z1&et_cid=DM431369&et_rid=785689608

21. @Enuff
    A key cause of sick buildings is poor air quality. Many of these buildings front onto busy streets and greening measures such as trees, hedgerows, green walls and greenroofs are absent.
    Hedgerows in the city? Don’t get carried away, agree that we can do with some greenery in Bridgetown proper but there are trees in Queens Park which is not far as the blackbirds fly from the main commercial area. Don’t know if green walls and greenroofs would fly in Barbados but I do remember that some vegetation was planted in the Independence Sq car park and the trees were vandalized.
    Did some building material prohibited in NA make its way to Bim? I’m speaking of lead paint, lead pipes etc.? I remember speaking to an acquaintance some time ago and he told me his father died of cancer and he said his father used a carcinogen which was banned in the US to keep his small vegetable lot free of weeds. Speaking of poor air quality, you cannot drive in Barbados without encountering a vehicle emitting noxious fumes, you cannot escape the burning of refuse or other material by homeowners trying to “clean up” around their homes etc.

22. Sargeant
    I am talking bout good old Bajan garden hedges and yes these are city appropriate greening measures. Green walls can work and green roofs too, once the correct species are chosen. There is Central Park in NYC but Riverside Park is a few blocks to the west. Prospect Park is across the street from Brooklyn Botanical Gardens. In London, there is St.James Park across the road from Green Park, which is across the road from Hyde Park. Walk around Paris and there are parks/green squares everywhere. So what’s your point? Regarding your point on air quality, that’s what we mean by decarbonisation. I don’t cut and paste.

23. re Beta Blockers Killed 800,000 in 5 Years — Good Medicine or Mass Murder?”
    HOW DOES BETA BLOCKERS KILL PEOPLE GRREN MONKEY?
    CAN YOU EXPLAIN KIND SIR?

24. @ Enuff January 8, 2020 10:12 AM
    “We just need to accept that, apart from maybe the whipping boy maintenance, we continue to learn a lot about what constitutes healthy buildings, including materials, layout, lighting etc. The decarbonisation of our buildings and transport is a good start.”
    ++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

Your are making some very good points with this contribution.

Emissions from poorly maintained vehicles running on poor quality fuels and mixed in a cocktail of hot tropical air constitute one of the most dangerous toxins affecting human health.

That is why you need to advise the MAM administration that it can longer borrow money from the loan shark IMF to facilitate the ostentatious importation of ICE-powered vehicles especially when they are bought from the second hand car lots of S.E. Asia and transported to a country under an IMF-supervised austerity programme and afflicted with some of the worst roads in the Caribbean.

25. Miller…ya should see the temporary cosmetic do over on a road, it only needs one heavy rain to drop it right back into potholes resembling moon craters again, they and the corrupt shabby road works fraud companies…STRIKE THE TREASURY AGAIN..

they do not want to concrete the roads..no BRIBES IN THAT.

and as for their retarded yardfowls, facebook is having a field day with them, when the crooks run, they will leave them BEHIND for the people to deal with cause they will be too heavy to carry, crooks don’t like excess weight in flight…..just as they deserve.

26. @Enuff

I am not arguing against public Parks, I’m saying that some of your proposed solutions won’t fly. I’m also saying that part of the problems re “sick buildings” may lie with the materials used during construction and I wonder if there was ever an investigation into whether these materials are factors in “sick buildings”

27. Yardfowls too love to slither on to BU and spread propaganda, slight of hand, while their masters commit crimes and hide information from the people (the money laundering video from parliament).

i told yall yardfowls will become extinct in Barbados, just a matter of time.

They are getting a good work over on FB, people even volunteered to be professionals cussers, just for them,..lol

takes a lot of the pressure off me and others…we will make them famous, name and shame and make sure the world not only knows how destructive they are to any country but WHO THEY ARE, wuh they helped destroy Barbados with corruption, embezzlement, money laundering, thefts of estates, murders etc. and then tried to cover it..

budding FB stars, just like their masters.

28. Most of the issues with regards to sick buildings is due to poor air quality. With regard to building materials I think we have dealt with all the buildings with asbestos either through removal (I saw one job done poorly, those workers were definitely exposed during removal) and abandonment. The SHaW act which government refuses to bolster with regulations requires employers (including the government) to ensure workplaces meet basic air quality standards. The biggest violator is likely going to be government so good luck enforcing those regulations if we ever get them. (Government renting a building does not absolve them of their duty to ensure air quality standards are maintained)

“Speaking of poor air quality, you cannot drive in Barbados without encountering a vehicle emitting noxious fumes, you cannot escape the burning of refuse or other material by homeowners trying to “clean up” around their homes etc”

This was true maybe 20 years ago, I hardly see any vehicles fogging the streets these days, maybe a few ZRs.
    Homeowners have stopped the practice of burning refuse with the exception of a few rogues.

29. Miller
    Thanks. My contributions are always sound.🤣🤣

Sargeant
    They would fly!! It is called landscape architecture.

Redguard
    No fog does not mean there is no a NOx. Once there is fuel combustion, there is air pollution; hence why cycling, walking and buses in the absence of electric cars are encouraged, especially in cities. Read Kammie’s earlier contribution about the McGill University students’ research on air quality.

Waru, the one-trick pony, you need help.

30. as long as ah don’t need help running from a money laundering investigation…ah good.

31. Vincent I asked that question in another forum
    What is a sick building?
    Why is Government Headquarters or the MTW building in the Pine or the QEH all constructed in the fifties and early sixties not considered sick buildings or the Bdos Mutual Building on lower broad street and other older constructed buildings .
    I heard recently a member of Parliament complaining about Parliament as a place not for to enter but any sick syndrome connected with Parliament must be connected with the renovations to those buildings over the years which have effectively impacted on the ventilation which was clearly evident when those buildings housed the Savings bank,
    the Treasury,the Office of the Auditor General. In those days ventilation was so prevalent that a paper weight to prevent documents blowing through the windows was very much a part of the tools of trade.
    It is a shame that a building built as recent as 1986 out of the hardearned compulsory contributions of contributors to a National Insurance Scheme seemingly under threat can now be wantonly demolished for nothing more than lack proper maintenance so evident to many of us working in that building from inception as the potable water became progressively unpalatable

32. Ah thought Fowl Enuff would have a good come back for me with that one…ah guess not.

don’t worry, ah done know alyuh waiting for everyone to forget the money laundering video alyuh try to hide…but a still got BANK ACCOUNT NUMBERS THOUGH….with names.

…..so stay there and think it is all going away while telling me and everyone else we need help without telling us what type of help and for what.

33. The mental states of deranged yardfowls and brain damaged political supporters are being dissected on FB,so alyuh may want to take a front row seat, it is that time to expose alyuh self-imposed, self destructiveness and why it is still happening in 2020 to the detriment of your current and future generations.

yep, we have reached that place.

34. You know how many rats will come out of the NIS building when and if it is demolished?

35. Thank gooodness not everyone on the island is as mentally damaged and destroyed as are yardfowls and blind political supporters….the very WEAKEST LINK in the population that have caused the destruction of the people and island.

so how is the “we gathering” victims in the Diaspora coming along.

36. Maybe it is the rats that are making all these buildings sick.

37. @John

You are referring to people as rats?

Not nice at all.

38. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ John at10:45 AM

Which rat specie? The two legged or four legged? Lol !!

39. Rats leave a distinctive odour which may be responsible for the low air quality theory advanced above.

From my experience in construction I know air conditioning ducting is often advanced as the culprit for “sick buildings”!!

If rats are running wild in the ducting leaving urine and droppings, it stands to reason that the odour will permeate the building.

Maybe all that is needed is to clean the building, remove and replace the ducting and Bob’s your uncle.

Maybe there is no air-conditioning in the NIS building but for sure there is none in the Cathedral which has been around for upwards of 200 years.

Only one problem with this approach, the rats will relocate!!

40. So, here is an idea.

Let the Hyatt folks recondition the NIS building and they will have a ready made hotel.

Leave the open space by the beach as a park and beach access.

Maybe some car park space too … for the hotel!!

41. Throw in the Empire to add some class and make the Hotel as two blocks, the more modern NIS building and the vintage Empire theatre.

The open space by the sea is available both for the public and the visitors.

42. Very good idea John
    Why must the hotel be constructed on beachland which was once sea with the sea when the tide is high ever so often encroaching to road water mark
    Why this penchant for engaging in construction which overtime would impact on the natural flow of beach currents and reconfiguration of the beach when there is all that land within close proximity of the beach stretching from the same NIS building on Fairchild Street right up to the old hospital buildings and beyond
    We interfere with beach lands at our own peril.
    Climate change euphoria andxrhetoric should begin at home

43. RE Very good idea John
    WHAT ELSE DO YOU EXPECT FROM JOHN

NOW WE KNOW THAT HE WAS NOT referring to people as rats.

44. @ John
    @ Vincent Codrington

In the same paper(Nation) the National Trust has informed that the Liquidation Building due for demolition is a heritage building , one of the oldest if not the oldest buildings in Bridgetown with a roof that is of historical and architectural importance.
    We learned after it was compulsorily acquired that it was a “sick “ building as well.

45. Barbados does not maintain anything, so sick building syndrome is a thing. They prefer everyone drop dead and then cover it up. This is regarding a recent death.

https://www.facebook.com/100006677345341/posts/2572622909636929/?sfnsn=scwspmo&extid=oxIIAb4zA80b7awP

46. WILLIAM SKINNER SIR

do you realize that the Liquidation Building due for demolition contains nuff soft stones
    do you realize that if you could recieve the “rubble” from said demolition on a vacant lot that you could build a nice house therewith?
    do you realize that the old St Leonard’s Boys and the old Christ Church almshouse were similarly demolished under the BLP REGIME
    do you realize that THAT IS WHAT IS HAPPENING AGAIN
    WHEN YOU GO HOME FOR THE GATHERING MEK SURE YOU AINT GOT ON NO GARB THAT LOOK LIKE AN OLD BUILDING SIR, CAUSE YOU WILL ALSO BE KNOCKED DOWN AND TURNED INTO RUBBLE FOR NO GOOD REASON, FOR YOUR SOFT STONES ………MURDER

47. GP
    It’s called the circular economy and net zero waste. The Hyatt developers should look to reuse as much of the demolished material as possible.

48. @ Enuff January 10, 2020 7:13 PM

So what is going to happen to the tonnes of rock-hard cement to be imported to make the preconco slabs for the walls of the Hyatt’s lighthouse; the same concrete slabs which went into the construction of the Dalkeith Woods?

You are not that sharp a tool in the shed since it has been repainted ‘Red’.

If you had not allowed yourself to swallow the political partisan dumb-down so much to make you as dull as our own “Ms Mariposa” you would be sharpening you wits on the money-making whetstone by asking where is that Maloney fella going to find US$ 175 million to build a dream of a skyscraper-high scam.

Even LIAT would welcome 10% of that foreign manna from financial heaven to turn it into a real highflying machine with the captain of industry the Bajan Maloney at the helm with OSA his sidekick.

49. Gov’t’s response to alternative suggestions for the NIS and surrounding site: Thanks but no thanks for the proposals, we got this”

Anyone reading the tea leaves knows that the demolition of the buildings is a done deal, if the Gov’t was open to suggestions it would have invited them from interested parties long ago. Don’t forget to wear wunnah hard hats if yuh venture into the area, as the old well diggers used to shout after lighting the fuse when digging a well “holes blowing”.

50. @Sargeant

The buildings are being prepared, the CBC videographer has finished his work.

The end.

Leave a Reply to WURA-WAR-on-UCancel reply