Prime Minister Mia Mottley addressed the Nation on the 02 January 2020 to update on a wide range of issues.

150 responses to “Prime Minister Mia Mottley Speaks to the Nation”

1. Vc

I and most would hire the Person with the most experience etc

What i am saying is that with things equal
    Most people would go for the one from hc before the other two schools
    This is the dusvabtage for those schools

2. Sorry for the big thumb and smartphone corrections

3. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ john 2 at 3:29 pm

Barbados is lucky that things are seldom equal. All like now so we would be in Duck’s guts.
    And that is coming from a graduate of a “good school”.

4. BTW
    Whether the students go to Garrison/Springer/HC or QC don’t they all end up at UWI?

5. Thanks Ms Stewart for summarising Mia’s speech. Keep up your fine work. You have saved me the agony of trawling through 52 minutes of pure propaganda.

Whilst we in Barbados have had to put up with several generations of the Mottley crew; spare a thought for our poor Angola brothers and sisters who have had to endure a family dynasty called the Dos Santos. We are in good company. Punching well above our weight.

Click through the various hyperlinks on the link below to discover more about Angola and the Dos Santos family.

What is been played out in Barbados is the norm for the entire African continent when one discusses leadership.

If there is one certainty about Mia’s leadership – she will leave office a richer (financially) woman than when she was first elected.

https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/world-africa-50956370

6. Piece the Legend Avatar

@ de ole man guess that with the song Auld Lang Syne pun wunnalips all of wunna conveniently forgot that Mugabe Mottley administered the EDUTECH 2000 debacle as Minister of Education

At US$236 million dollars of RH wastage

But de ole MSN gine keep quiet because “a fool convinced against their will, is of the same opinion still!”

All HAIL Mugabe! who de Honourable Blogmaster says may got something up the “sleeve” of the current Minister of Education Santia Bradshaw

7. Frauds Piece…all frauds…they say one thing, mean something else, care not one shite about the people only about the billions they can move offshore and move around in other countries, ya should hear the local companis names being called in Money Launderer’s Inc…local vehicles to move tens of millions at a time, offshore….true definition of a criminal syndicate …a large one.

….the Cahill scam is now the lawsuit scam…unfortunately for them they got so damn uppity and full of themselves…they took their criminality to other jurisdictions and now cannot pull any of it back..

“Douglas Trotman Charles Alleyne thanks bro. What many don’t know is that I had this discussion with the PM prior to election.
    I have sought “outside” help as well. However, it looks like there is a plan to pretend that nothing untoward happened… and only to mention “the neglect of the last ten years” as a sound bite..and move on!
    Cahill is an international matter… the law of the contract is the UK.
    That can’t be swept under the carpet!
    The port contracts… the port in general… deals mentioned “in the wind”.
    If you have renegotiated then you have evidence… follow your promise to the country… a promise that got you 100% seats and DISCLOSE… freely and honestly!”

8. Not everyone are dumb asses.

“Charles Alleyne Douglas Trotman Yes it is time we are able to see these deals they are getting us into, and this can only be possible if our people see those contracts.Thereby the FOI and Integrity Legislation must be put in place to prevent further corruption.This country must do better and can do better only if we the people insist on accountability and transparency.Barbados cannot move forward unless such measures are put in place and do not care how much gathering or plan in 7 years it is not going to work.”

9. New year, same RH–illogical, vapid, repetitive, non-evidenced chatter. BU regulars please up wunna game.

10. Hi
    Respect your PM.

11. Piece the Legend Avatar

@ WARU

a suggestion for you if I may.

The 1st of the Rented Jackasses Hee Hee is saying that what you say is illogical.

Give me leave to comment on what he is saying please.

There are a number of things you place here that people dont understand BECAUSE THEY DONT SEE THE OTHER THINGS YOU POST ON FACEBOOK.

For example you said some things earlier about Leslie Haynes and Frank Alleyne and CLICO and people here, for the most part were lost by what you said.

The fact is that you are referring to the Panama Papers and the clearly cited links between directors in several companies overseas!

The thing about that incestuous director information is THAT IT IS NOT THE TYPE OF INFO THAT PEEPLE OR SHEEPLE HERE will read!

So the Rented Jackasses can take pot shots at you.

De ole man will suggest that you take SOME, not all the pictures, that show the connections, between a so called forensic investigator and a company that he is supposed to be investigation AND POST THEM TO IMGUR and then include your link to that here.

This is what I have been encouraging Senator Caswell Franklyn’s team to do VIA PROXY!

This way INCONTROVERTIBLE EVIDENCE IS EXPOSED ABOUT WHAT THE BLP REGIME IS DOING, but it CANNOT BE TRACED TO THEM!!!

All you have to do is upload a few of the really incriminating images.

Dont make it a repetitive thing though, use it for impact!

Please accept this suggestion in the sense of camaraderie given!

12. Piece…got ya…

The rented jackasses will help everyone bring Money Launderer’s Inc. all down, let them keep it up, they can’t help themselves, they are dumb like that….ah want some of them to get caught in that big net, serve some serious prison time for the thieves in parliament, because when it’s save ass time, guess whose asses will be most likely to save themselves and throw these ignorant, slaveminded dummies for yardfowls right under the bus.

13. The dimwitted fowls should be asking Mia, what is she doing with all those offshore accounts in her name..all of which are being posted to Facebook, the world is watching.

14. WRONG WARU! WRONG!

YOU ARE BEING REDUNDANT. THIS IS MUCH BETTER BELOW

The dimwitted fowls should be asking Mia, what is she doing ?

15. fortyacresandamule Avatar
    fortyacresandamule

Since tourism is the only game in the private sector, why not diverse the industry one step further and go for a vegas-style casino attraction. Give Atalantic resort in The Bahamas some competition.

16. “The dimwitted fowls should be asking Mia, what is she doing ?”

asswipes don’t ask questions, they just take orders.

17. Born into money my ass…ya mean BORN INTO TIEFING from Black Bajans…since the 1940s, so how come we have not heard about all these millions before…they are THIEVES..who robbed the island and generations of Bajans with their fellow THIEVES>.

“Don Article My boy if it in her name it legal, she come in government with 81 million she int new ta money , so she can have off shore on shore sea shore I sure and you sure accounts ANWAYYYYYY !! she legal.”

They were in power…TIEFING…they are carrying millions and the country is broke…

“Don Article Alex Mitchell do you understand that her party then was in power for 14 years ? And her father got bout 5 times more money than her ? She born into money , it’s only obvious she would have to had created businesses over 14 years that me and you might know nuttin about.”

18. Money Launderers Inc.

That is how they make their millions with their nahmen and talking shite about born into money. Born into TIEFING that ‘s what.

https://barbadosfreepress.wordpress.com/2008/01/11/hallam-nichols-owen-arthur-and-the-crooked-business-of-commissions-on-government-expenditures/

19. Yall are looking real good, ya all over social media showing how all those millions parked offshore were really accumulated…keep it up i say, am quite sure there is more.

better stop telling lies about being born into money…LIARS.

all those old people now deceased who were coerced into signing that great big ledger while the FAKE MAYOR pretended he was feeding the poor in queens park…he made these vulnerable people detail what properties they had, easy scam, pretending to feed the poor while getting info on what proerties they owned…and guess what…THEY ALL GOT ROBBED…and so did generations of their beneficiaries..

and yall carried on the legacy of robbing the cash poor but estate rich Black people for decades…..THIEVES…

20. With all the multimillion dollar offshore accounts all of you have…WHY IS BARBADOS BROKE and how did it get that way..

21. Making the rounds on whatsapp. This is how they all ended up as millionaires and billionaires. This is how they started stealing from the country from the 1940s when the bar association syndicate of thieves was created by Edwy Talma et al and every generation of bar vipers carry forward the tradition. They use their many layers of BAGMEN, insurance companies and the supreme court to pillage and launder. They would have never opened those sealed envelopes declaring assets they have sitting in the parliament. They plan to THIEF another 3 or 4 BILLION dollars (not going to happen) first, then claim they were born into money. Evil negros. They all need to declare their assets especially since so many tens of thousands of people are on the poverty line because of their thefts. Boasting of being millionaires and billionaires at the expense of the people. I told you they were boasting. And making every lowlife minority thief like themselves millionaires and billionaires too. Everyone except who they steal from. Yep. Both filthy DBLP governments did that for decades and still intend to. They are partners in crimes against YOU.

“This is how they all became millionaires and billionaires through their bagmen and laundering the money and estates they stole and offshored through insurance companies and the supreme court.”

22. Blaming the international community for what YOU continue to do to the island AND people will not cut it anymore.

23. Verla Depezia responds

Leader of the Democratic Labour Party (DLP) Verla DePeiza has questions about the arrangements related to the procurement of the new garbage trucks in the island.

And she said that Prime Minister Mia Mottley failed to answer them, as hoped, when she spoke on Thursday night about her seven-year plan to transform Barbados into a world-class society.

She described Mottley’s 60-minute speech as eye opening for what was not said, adding that it sent a clear signal that tougher times were ahead for Barbadians.

“It didn’t answer any questions. Even in relations to the garbage trucks and circumventing the procurement rules. I don’t recall any state of emergency being declared or any emergency situation surrounding the garbage that would permit circumventing the procurement rule.

“We have not been told who it was that brought them in. If there is any connection close or business to any person in Government or Cabinet. There is a lot that we have not been told,” DePeiza said.

“We need more information on the garbage trucks. We haven’t been told costs, who brought them in, nothing. And it seems to me as though we have two shipments. The one that we were always expecting from Simpson Motors is still coming, plus this shipment [that recently arrived].
    Not that we can’t do with more trucks, but what is the additional cost, who brought them in, was any due diligence done in relation to this person or company that brought them in? We need to have the answers to those questions, this having been one of the fastest procurement ever,” she added.

In her conversation with the nation, Prime Minister Mottley cautioned Barbadians to brace for the inconvenience that would come with Bridgetown being redeveloped. DePeiza said she was particularly interested in what would be happening to landmarks in Bridgetown as that transformation took place.

“We know that the National Insurance building is to be demolished, but she dropped hints in relation to the Treasury building. When in Opposition, there was a lot of concern about the World Heritage Site designation, and I am wondering if that is no longer a consideration,” she said.

The attorney-at-law also added that while Government borrowed money to prop up the country’s reserves, she did not find “any joy in knowing how many weeks of reserve” the country has while not knowing the specifics of the loans.

The DLP President said she also thought the Prime Minister would have outlined specific initiatives to help develop the country’s social landscape.

“The abolition of the 11-Plus, what are we replacing it with? Have we had consultations on that? I recognize that we are lapsing in terms of consultations.

24. Imagine……in post slavery Barvados you are an estate rich but cash poor person …..assets you either acquired through hard work or left to you by your brutalized ancestors, you have hungry children and grandchildren to feed…and there is this FAKE MAYOR claiming to feed the poor in Queen’s Park….but FIRST…ya have to enter your name in this huge LEDGER…declaring the properties ya own……if you want any FOOD FOR YOU AND YOUR CHILDREN……or go hungry….because remember ya are land rich but CASH POOR…

That was the scam in a nutshell…the cash poor, hungry and vulnerable would never have seen it coming.

Now these lowlifes are claiming to be born into money….delusional, reality is BORN INTO TIEFING YOUR MONEY AND ESTATES.

even with millions and billions of dollars ah done know they still have 15 second attention spans and short memories so i will make it a ritual to keep reminding them that …ah have ya SUPERSIZED COJONES in my hands and i know HOW TO SQUEEZE….in case yall get any exotic ideas.

25. Not everyone died…there are people still quite alive who remember all those crimes against themselves vividly, they just did not know they were crimes against themselves their parents and grandparents THEN ….but they do NOW though…and YA CAN’T KILL ANY OF THEM….

And ya know why…..”gimme de vote and watch muh nuh”

26. that is one of the better deliveries from DePeiza as DLP leader. no need to get bombastic. Just point out all the flies in the MAM’s ointment and let the people decide. DePeiza just keep reminding yourself and the people that there is a lot of flies and a lot of ointment coming. also go back to MAM’s numerous speeches and criticisms when she was in opposition and juxtapose them against the positions she adopts whilst being PR PM.

as to the Union and Miss Moore- wunnuh deserve whatever wunnuh get

27. @greene

She need to up her flair and pizazz as well. She is too flat coming after a dour Stuart.

28. Unless some documents fall off one of the trucks that will prove kickbacks from the procurement, she also need to let the trucks pass her by considering DEMs record in purchasing

29. So despite alyuh being millionaires and billionares off the backs of your people, ya still believe ya have some right to continue STEALING and selling out the properties of the elderly and deceased so they can leave nothing for their beneficiaries and future generations…

this lady is still alive yall stole the property her mother willed her and you renamed it….and refuse to give it back/

don’t you think it is time that you greedy pigs allow Black people and others on the island to pass on their estates and bank accounts to their beneficiaries so they too can become billionaires and millionaires…it’s time to stop stealing the people’s money and estates, ya can now boast about being millionaires decades after robbing the people and island BLIND …so how much more do you really need.

https://www.facebook.com/jackie.stewart.965/videos/1215110968698440/?t=5

30. I also applaud Atherley response
    Worth reading
    Mia Mottley had positioned herself to become the Moe in elective politics with all that weight she is carrying around on her posterior underneath there is nothing more than a bunch of hot air which she expels from her mouth
    A long winded campagIn speech of nothingness
    Not one iotta of development which can create a long term growth plan for the suffering people she has put on the bread line
    Plenty long talk about moral values with an out of focus plan to tackle crime

31. David BU

With the exception of “die hard” DLP supporters, do you really believe anyone takes Verla Depeiza seriously?

She’s a 3 time looser who makes “luke warm” speeches that resonates only with the George Street rum punch drinkers.

Her response to the PM’s address to the nation sounded like something she “put together” after reading comments on Barbados Underground and reminded me of the old saying, “if you live in a glass house don’t throw stones.”

If Depeiza was really serious about some of the issues she raised relative to the garbage trucks and circumventing procurement procedures, she should have cleared the air as to whether or not procedures were circumvented to allow Trans Tech Inc. to exclusively repair SSA trucks and why would the minister under whose portfolio the SSA fell, admit to driving a SUV owned by Trans Tech.

Depeiza needs to show the public she’s serious. For her to embrace Denis Lowe…… the man who is responsible for the garbage debacle…….. as a candidate in the 2023 elections, would be really “meking mocksport at we.”

Rather than coming to Barbadians with her usual “luke warm” samey, samey speeches and criticisms, Depeiza should use every opportunity she gets to show Barbadians the direction a newly revamped DLP plans to take under her leadership.

(1). She should start by addressing the issues, make a strong case for good governance, while emphasizing the importance of transparency and accountability.
    She should compile a list of all the instances this BLP administration breached the protocols of transparency, explain how they were breached and any implications of corruption.
    Send copies to P.M Mottley, O.L Atherley, G.G Mason, CARICOM, Transparency International and Barbados Underground.

(2). Admit her previous administration must take some of the blame for many of the ills confronting the island.and explain how they went wrong.

(3). As the DEMS used to say………”stop criticizing without bring solutions.” Outline the way a new DLP administration, under her watch, would go about dealing with issues and charting a new course for Barbados..

32. Pressure should be brought to bear to make all of them FAKE LEADERS currently infesting the parliament declare their assets, the sealed enveloples are just sitting there like souvenirs because of course they believe they hoodwinked everyone, we know ya been lying all along, so what difference does it make now..Let the people know what they are dealing with…

any low crawling politician/opposition aspiring to be the lastest thieves in parliament should also declare theirs…..and that includes Grenville Phillips.

33. The mere fact that the pickanoisettes continue to call me a “rented jackass” says a lot about how I am successful in ruffling all yuh feathers. I don’t post misinformation and disinformation and all yuh can never refute my posts with any sound response–pure hysteria and conspiracy. 2020 gine be a lot more fun on BU as I witness all yuh get embarrassed. Take a leaf outta Artax’s book–make sense.

34. Ruffle what feathers, yall are the ones under a microscope among other lovely things… me thinks that it will be harder to tief one more billion from the economy let alone 3 billion from the people..

what ruffle whose feathers what…did yall get any sleep at all in the last 13 DAYS…it must have been tough..

ah see one or two roads got temporarily refurbished…HOW ABOUT MAKING IT PERMANENT WITH CONCRETE..stop the 3 yearly Cow and Co ripoff of the treasury with inferior quality road works.

35. The blogmaster hopes that in 2020 we learn to attack the arguments and not the man. Vacuous statements will not progress citizen advocacy.

36. David
    They all attack me personally! The Salemite behaves as if I am part of the “you”. She can’t address the topic, a one-trick pony that tends to be a stranger to the truth. But there is a by any means necessary mentality amongst the pickanoisettes–lies included. Thankfully, I tend to laugh more than get upset.

37. Artax i certainly do not take the political nightwatchman or is it woman seriously at all.Only Mariposa, Greene, Baje and a few others would take this political three time loser lightweight seriously. I wonder where she will be running in 2023?Wherever it is the result will be in my view, a foregone conclusion.Imagine Ms Depeiza leading the Dems into an election against Ms Mottley and the BLP or eanie leading the PDP.As for Waru you and the englih lady or are you one and same really need a life or take some time off repeating the same stale news every day. I guess you realise that outside of Piece no one responds to your rubbish everyday and he is the same as you.

38. Artax,

not bad suggestions but the time will come when DLP addresses such concerns. the time may not be there yet. the populace needs to get some more bad tasting medicine- it needs more of the NSRL will lowering the price of goods moments and the forgiveness of back tax interests and VAT to certain people episodes – and given the BLP’s proclivities for such, they will come

i agree. whilst she doesnt need to be a boisterous, know -it -all like MAM, she would be better served by being more dynamic. but time will tell

39. “They all attack me personally! The Salemite behaves as if I am part of the “you”.”

ya wuss…when you attack me i just laugh it off.

so why the hell are you on here defending the “you” so vigorously for if ya nah part of dem…ya must think ya talking to toddlers, and even those nowadays would tell you the same damn thing.

40. As “light weight” as the blp foot soldier Lorenzo states of Depezia
    It seems that her light weight makes sufficient noise giving her enough ammunition to punch above her weight and in the process land an upper cut next to the mouth of lorenzo who just cant seem to help herself in protecting Mia gladiator policies filled with yardfowl promises and gimmicks

41. William Skinner Avatar

It’s obvious the country is in a holding pattern. The responsible thing to do is to give the PM another year or so , to see how things work out.
    There is no need to declare we are out of the woods and the turn around is complete like the cool aid drinkers do . And there is no need to be overly pessimistic. With the gathering picking up steam and crop over promising to be quite big, there will be bright spots.
    The major problem now is to get our parasitical private sector to commence job generating economic activity.
    My major concern now is to see what really will be the new thrust in education.
    As for Ms. Depeiza this will be the year of political reckoning. We have to see if indeed there are moves to destabilize her leadership. The DLP is still out to sea.
    Atherley’s response was quite good but his credibility is the problem.

The Duopoly Rules

42. Makes noise in your head only. Verla has a political leader had not even registered within her party the DLP. With 3 years to the question you need to answer- and fast – what is the record for the time a night watchman has held own.

43. Mrs. Depezia ask relevant questions and all these blp footsoldiers answers are to attack
    What if she hasn’t registered
    As a citizen she has a right to speak for or against all things barbadian
    Mia might send her band of loyalist as a defence force
    However the concerns as to how Mia has avoided transparency by leaps and bounds would not go away
    Further noises would be included
    Get used to them.

44. What a great speech from our leader and Prime Minister!

Promises in 2019 not broken, but fulfilled.

debt crisis: solved
    garbage collection: I have the garbage trucks in front of my residence three times a week, excellent!
    pensions: factually reduced through debt cut
    Inniss: further indicted in the US
    opposition: divided and humiliated

Dear Mia, we expect further great deeds from you, for example that your government provides incriminating evidence to the USA in the Inniss case, the promised legislation on transparency and corruption, the firing of the DPP and lower land tax.

45. re The major problem now is to get our parasitical private sector to commence job generating economic activity.
    HOW WILL YOU DO THAT SIR?

46. Good question GP best question on BU for the year
    Am awaiting the answer David

47. Piece the Legend Avatar

@ the Rented Jackasses Hee Hee and Hee Haw

Predictive Text!

On my computer, once I press the “the” I am prompted for the words “Honourable” or “Rented”

Once they are picked the entire syntax associated with the specific choice follows!

When de ole man engages with the 2 Jackasses I adopt a different approach depending on which jackass it is.

The 2nd jackass is a true asslicker and has no type of personality or nouns and is incapable of conversing intelligibly about anything.

The 1st jackass is different.

Dem got sense and procedural knowledge and can, when they shift from asslicking mode, debate topics reasonably.

Unfortunately their instructions are quite specific DO NOT ENGAGE!!

And we need to understand their instructions

Engagement means discourse.

Discourse means rational logical discussion.

And, because he is on the side of the Regime, AND IT CANNOT SHOW ANYTHING MEANINGFUL AT THIS TIME, he CANNOT indulge in meaningful discussion.

So, our rules of engagement revert to name calling and when de ole man points out that Mugabe Mottley was both the Minister of Education and the Attorney General for nuff years, AND DID SHY$E ALL, he gets a notification that Piece the Legend jes insult he boss and he comes , AS PER HIS JOB DESCRIPTION tasked to say the most derogatory things to de poor defenceless ole man

48. Tron
    Growth strategy muh boy
    Growth strategy
    Nothing else
    All the smoke and gimmicks would not save barbados
    Mia knows that her numbers are down
    Reason why she quickly jump to the media with another long winded speech of hope and dreams hoisted under the banner of “we gathering”

49. Piece the jackass you saying someone is incapable of discussing a topic with your warmed over soup. I guess you mean the corruption queen Waru. Newsflash very few on this blog takes you two seriously about time both of realise this and take a vacation from the blog as even thblog master seldo. replies to you.You are on here advising eanie andr Franklyn and neither seemsto be taking any advice from you what does that tell you.Mariposa what upper cut what the Ms Depeiza is lukewarm and lacklustre and i guess Mr Sealy, Mr Lashley and others just biding their time to replace the nightwatchman.

50. Piece the Legend Avatar

@ Dr GP

You said and I quote (or is that requote?)

“…re The major problem now is to get our parasitical private sector to commence job generating economic activity…”

to which you queried

“…HOW WILL YOU DO THAT SIR?…”

Your fellow myope and apostate, graduated to paedophile heheheheh will answer you to say

“THE PRIVATE SECTOR IN BARBADOS IS THE BIGGEST SET OF WASTE BADWORDS EVER BORN”

IT cannot ever be a part of the recovery process of Barbados

and to provide proof of this let me cite the names of a few entities that are in that Waste BADWORDS segment.

The Barbados Chamber of Commerce and the Barbados Entrepreneurs Foundation WHICH SAID chamber of Commerce serves as part time mentors!

Provide any example where the BCofC has ever become involved in any national project that focused on development of some entity other than themselves?

Just one?

Sadly the response will be none! Over all the years you will see zero investment in national projects yet the will have benefited from every special development funding program that gave them access to free money!

If there was the equivalent of an economic laxative that could be given to them that would have given them the equivalent of 6 months of daily shite-ing Dr. GP, similar to that Mugabe Mottley is giving bajans today, it should be put in all their badword food.

They should be purged permanently

All they know to do is tek foreign exchange and import tings and sell dem at 12 times the cost

The second entity, the Barbados Entrepreneurs F

Leave a Reply to WURA-WAR-on-UCancel reply