Prime Minister Mia Mottley addressed the Nation on the 02 January 2020 to update on a wide range of issues.

150 responses to “Prime Minister Mia Mottley Speaks to the Nation”

1. Too exhausted to listen to Mia, but really..only yardfowls of the most limited intellect would want any of you near their tax dollars and pension money for another 7 years….yall are TOO NOTOROUS…more and more will contine to come out…so maybe alyuh should consider getting the hell out as soon as ya can….what VISION for 7 more years what…ya goddamn well mad..

Get a vision for the corrupt parliament, bar association AND SUPREME COURT…that is where vision should be applied, funny ya can n ever find a vision to get rid of the corruption and the same corrupt minorities and corrupt insurance companies.

Ah bet everybody got a VISION to TIEF AND launder billions more though…all stolen from the people.

https://www.facebook.com/jackie.stewart.965/videos/1214078568801680/?t=0

2. There is a brief interruption in the video, then it continues.

3. The blogmaster had a listen to the Prime Minister, she said all the right things – she and team must execute now.

4. Piece the Legend Avatar

Cannot contribute to a video that is not hosted on a “friendly site”

Interestingly I expect that the Honourable Blogmaster and the horde of Mugabe poochlickers will have nuff to say about that comment about video file hosting.

But, a careful read of Golden Boy Chris Halsall’s recent contributions here WILL SHOW THAT he refuses to click on video links on this site and insisted that the blogger precis his video submission

Of course, not a fellow ent call Halsall paranoid abou his actions not to watch a video here but then again people does genuflect to these ascended ones!

But Piece ent no ascended one

5. The concern must be restated that the investment pipeline is to skewed to tourism related products.

6. William Skinner Avatar

Interesting. The much maligned Sandals is adding over sixty rooms in Christ Church.

7. You woud say all the right things too if ya had no ethics and morals, no repsect for your own people, hate ya own skin color, determined to keep your vulnerable people in modern day tourism slavery and poverty and even more determined to tief another 3 or 4 BILLION DOLLARS to offshore it….for you and your tiefing bribing friends.

alyuh better wake up and WATCH THESE RATS..

8. The debate about Sandals has always been about the wash pan of concessions given by regional governments. Trinidad was able to beat back as a result of the experience in the other Caribbean sites.

9. @ David January 3, 2020 7:57 AM
    “The concern must be restated that the investment pipeline is to skewed to tourism related products.”
    +++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

Given what is unfolding in the ME wouldn’t it be wise for the PM to revisit this plan of putting all of the country’s economic survival eggs in one fickle tourism basket?

Terrorism is no respecter of vulnerable states like Barbados. On the contrary, it finds itself easily and cowardly attracted to such soft targets where national security and defence is a knee-jerk reaction by ill-equipped policymakers and policy-executors.

What plans do the Mottley administration have for bringing those former CLICO plantations’ lands back into cultivation and production of food and other crops as a matter of urgency given the looming terrorism risks which are fast unfolding in the ME and about to spread globally?

10. @Miller

What about the private sector? Is there a responsibility this agency should shoulder?

11. Nobody gonna take Mia seriously anymore ten years of promises has turned into a year of empty promises and gimmicks
    Gimme de vote and watch me has turned out to long exhausted travels at taxpayers expense and stealing duppy bones out of the country
    Ten lefthanded garbage trucks and now nowhere to dispose of garbage
    Begging and cow tonguing the dispora to please help Barbados at their expense while paying an oversized cabinet to do little or nothing at tax payers expense
    So we gather and hope and pray that barbados moral values would improve
    In meanwhile drug dealers walked up the steps of parliament hand in hand with govt minister
    Gimme a break
    More smoke and mirrors to fool the gullible
    Not me

12. SirSimple SimonPresidentFoeLife Avatar
    SirSimple SimonPresidentFoeLife

Oh dear. i hope that Enuff etc. int vex wid me. Becausin’ I must admit that I fell asleep during the Prime Minister’s speech. Old as I am (remember I was working long before the Prime Minister was born) I can still work hard during the daytime, but don’t ask me to do anything, including listening to Prime Ministerial speeches if it is after 9 at night.

So David can you post a link to the speech so that I can read it in the bright light of day.

Thanks.

P.S. Next time tall the PM that she must stick to the 7 p.m broadcast time if she wants the elderly people who voted “B” this time to hear her. And you Enuff and Co. must do whatever is necessary to ensure that she is on time.

13. William Skinner Avatar

What do sixty seven more rooms mean to the current state of the economy mean:
    Construction jobs food on the table for some construction workers and some permanent jobs for hotel workers.
    That’s the bottom line. You talk about “ wash pan” concessions ; I talk about jobs for people who now catching their backsides to prop up the well to do. You like many others don’t understand the competitive nature of the tourist industry.
    We are mainly attracting hotels that are franchises the majority of the profits will never reach our economy.
    The only thing that poor people get are jobs. That’s my focus. You can continue with I’ll informed analysis. It’s one sided and detached from reality.
    Something for nothing does not work in the real world. We are not the only ones with sea and sand.
    Sandals building an additional sixty seven rooms is a plus for dozens of workers.

14. Of course William, you see things in a vacuum.

15. According to the PM, many children are disadvantaged for life depending on which school they go to after primary school! So the PM is stating as a fact that there are schools which are not educating students and are causing children to become failures in adulthood! Wow!

What is the Government planning to do with the teachers and principals of these schools?

Let me declare my hand. I voted for these clowns.

16. William Skinner Avatar

@ Ping Pong

Don’t forget that the PM wax once the Minister of Education. She speaks therefore with much authority.

The Duopoly Rules

17. A list of gimmicks by Mottley
    The so-called brooha about Sandals
    One of the biggest political gimmicks tossed into the public arena by Mottley to win over her blp yardfowls supporters under the disguise of “too much concession”
    Months after winning she tries another trick of going after Sandals /Paradise on the west
    coast
    The realities of this stalled stagnated and depressed economy calls for economical equality given all sides a chance of survival

18. PINGPONG

Is that your understanding of the word disadvantage….blaming the teachers?

St George vs HC
    GAM vs QC

You cannot see the disavantage there without blaming the teachers?
    The poor teachers at St George and GAM probably have to work a lot harder than the the ones at the other schools and first thing you want to do is pull them down.

19. @ David January 3, 2020 9:08 AM

That parasitic sector is woefully dependent on Government initiated and funded projects while making super profits in the importation and distribution sectors of the economy like the same Massy and its Trinidad-owned competitors.

We shall soon see if the budding barons in the tourism business are genuine when the financing of the construction of the Hyatt hotel and the gentrification of greater Bridgetown move from dreams in the investment pipeline to real(i)ty providing much needed jobs and economic activity to stem the rising tide of social unrest among the young people of Barbados.

We will see whether these private sector business tycoons are prepared to put their own money where their mouths are instead of sucking from the already sore financial nipples of the overburdened taxpayers.

20. @John2

That is the crux of my concern. I am NOT blaming or pulling down the teachers of any school. It is the PM who, by insinuation, is pulling down the teachers at unnamed schools! I fully support the teachers of ALL schools who are trying their best. Other than the students there is very little difference between schools in Barbados.

21. Ping pong

NO!!
    There was never close equality between the schools in Barbados. what the PM said is !00% correct.
    There is a huge gap between the schools I mention and everyone in Barbados will tell you that.
    then there is the one in St james where you had the killing. If you went school There you are at a total disadvantage.

You just don’t understand what the PM said. She said nothing or insinuated nothing towards the teachers! that’s the conclusion that you jumped to for whatever reason.

22. @Miller

He great irony is that our BCCI is always headed by a retailer. This tells the sorry tale.

23. William Skinner Avatar

@ Ping Pong
    @ John 2
    The educational system we have is elitist. The PM knows this. She was once the MOE.
    The problem I have is that we are being fooled into believing that the inequalities within the system only became pronounced or evident last week.
    It’s called hypocrisy. The Duopoly has been beating up on teachers since the mid seventies.
    In terms of St James Secondary. One unfortunate horrendous occurrence does not reflect the entire school. That’s like telling me that I should not live in any parish where somebody was murdered.
    I will therefore now be living on Pelican Island !

24. @W Skinner
    Don’t forget that the PM wax once the Minister of Education. She speaks therefore with much authority.
    What are you trying to insinuate? Are you hinting that as a former Minister of Education the PM could have done her part to ensure some equality among the Secondary Schools? Are you a subversive? Looka here we are embarking on a 12 month bank Holiday we want sweetness and light we don’t want anyone from “ova and away” to cast any grey clouds over we celebrating, we gwine issue an APB for you if you try to enter the island and ship yuh bach to wey yuh come from.

25. Ping pong

What the PM is saying is that if you went to a schools like St Goerge, GAM, ST James and you go looking for a “good” job that people who whent to HC, QC applied for, the students from HC/QC most likely to get the job than the one from the first three mentioned schools. that is the kind of disadvantage she is referring to.

The ones who went to the “lower” schools would more get the jobs like working at NCC etc – where you would never find the ones from the hc/qc working unless it in the top positions.

26. The other argument is that the has learned from that time and should be in the best position (today) to make good on that learning. She promised that her MOE will be leading the nation in a discussing about education, the expectation is to make it more relevant. Should we give Bradshaw the time to see what she has up her sleeve?

27. WS

You are getting me wrong on the st james school. I think there was a name change and I cannot remember the new name so that why I mentioned the killing.

That school was always at the bottom of the list from the time I can remember it. IMO it is even lower that St George and GAM.

I am not “pulling down” because of the killing – it was down long before that.

28. William Skinner Avatar

@ Sargeant

Thanks for the warning. All I can say is that the PM knows of what she speaks.

29. @John2
    which schools did Ronald Jones, Chris Sinckler, Magistrate Frederick, David Estwick, the Deputy Principal of UWI, Mona, the Principal of UWI, Cave Hill, Junior Alsopp QC, the owner of ShopSmart, the Principal of QC, the Deputy Principal of HC, Speaker of the House Arthur Holder, Michael Lashley QC, and many others too numerous to mention attend?

30. A math teacher that I know is a graduate of the St. James Secondary/Frederick Smith Secondary. Truly a genius who has spent his life teaching all comers including those who go to HC, QC, Cawmere etc.

Can teach math anywhere in the world. It is our blessing that he has chosen to teach OUR Bajan children.

31. Other than the presumed capacities of the students what is different between HC and any other school in terms of curriculum, examining boards, physical state of the school, the qualification of the teachers, the universities and colleges that teachers attended, the training and experience of the Principals, the remuneration of the teachers and Principals, the training of the teachers, the books used, the food served in the school canteen, the sports played, the extra curricular activities or even the the desks, chairs and chalkboards or whiteboards used (have I left out anything)?

The PM has explicitly stated that many children are condemned to failure because they had to attend certain unnamed schools. By mixing up the intake of students it is insinuated that ALL or MOST will now succeed. If a certain school is now failing to educate students what is going to change when ONLY the intake of students is changed?

32. @William Skinner January 3, 2020 10:41 AM “The educational system we have is elitist.”

All of academia is elitist. Elitism is good. All athletics is elitist too Elitism is good. Does anybody complain that I am not permitted to compete at the Olympics with Usain?

33. Ping pong

I have not a clue except that I have read that sinckler went to springer. but that still does not say anything.
    There are always some that will break through no matter what school they go to.
    I know of some who went to a “lower” schools after primary but then finished in one of the “upper” school because did so well at the “lower” school. Hell, I know of some that got degree/masters.

That is not the point
    The PM said MANY – not all that went to those schools.
    The fact still remains and we all know it …..there is no equality in the school system. and the lower schools are disadvantaged.

34. Lol

Apologies to sinckler – Garrison not springer if that will make a difference lol

35. Sinckler attended the Garrison School now renamed Grayson Sealy.

36. William Skinner Avatar

@ Silly Woman
    When looked at from that perspective it always appears to be good. It’s like how some look at democracy or capitalism.
    We have an educational system that discards a great proportion of our children in a very crude way via something called the eleven plus.
    I have heard and lived your perspective for over fifty years. I therefore respect your position but believe me a child that can run fast can go to Harrison or Garrison and that’s a given. Beating Bolt is no problem.
    A child that feels dejected after leaving primary school and can’t spell his or her name and then has to survive secondary school and then later tries to get a job is in another situation altogether.
    Like I said I understand your position and if you embrace elitism within an educational system we have to agree to disagree.

37. How can you say that teacher are failing to teach when the evidence is there with the” break out” students or is the breakouts teaching themselves?

It is the stigma of the schools that is disadvantaging “the many students for life”

38. this talk of making all the schools the same is just smoke and mirrors again. just like how they made the schools co-ed. it is pure nonsense.

maintain the positives and work on the negatives in the education system.

39. Ping pong
    Answer honestly

Three people apply for an accounting job
    The requirement us cxc general grade 1
    St george, hc, gam (all grades 1)

In Jan 2020, who do u think is the most like on get the job in Barbados ?

Same school
    Which one do u think would be found working a job as a landscaper at NCC?

40. @John2

Of course the one that one to HC because that’s all that is important. (Isn’t that what you believe?) You are being quite silly but at least you are consistent.

41. Ping
    Both u and i know that most likely the one from hc would get that job
    It had nithibg to do with what i belueve
    U just want to bury you head in the Sand and believe all is equal or nearly equal

42. All balanssi know the jib would go to hc
    If i was doing the hiring most likely i would give the job to hc
    That just how it is and that the disvantages for the other schools
    But u dont wanta admit it so u trying to out it on my
    U a total bullshitter just like Hal u probably even Hal for all i know

43. Good going forget all of the jump and boast theatrics last night and talked about an educational
    Certain the issue of education has be hashed and rehashed a million times over
    Having the same ole managerial administrators at the Helm would change nothing
    Lets start at the meat and bones of what is driving the global community and connect the various ways technological skills are important to productivity

44. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ Ping Pong
    @ Simple Simon

I tend to agree with both of your comments. There are other factors other than the schools attended.
    No one is condemned as failure. Of course it depends on how one defines failure. Is book learning the only requirements for a productive and useful life? Does it measure intelligence and wisdom?
    Not every one wants to be an academic. Nor does a happy well adjusted society requires it.

It is this type of narrative that undermines the social objectives of Education. Barbados has done very well so far because of our system of education. We must continue to improve it to meet the demands of the decades ahead.

The system is competitive not elitist. But on the current trajectory there will be no need for the competitive system. The Population is an ageing one. Please note that primary schools are being closed and amalgamated. Secondary schools will go through this process soon.

45. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ john 2

Will you give the job to the HC graduate despite the fact that he does not have the training,qualifications and aptitude for the job? I doubt it.
    I do not think other employers do that either. Please do a survey and tell me if all competent performers in this society came from “the good schools”.

46. @Vincent

What John2 is opining was true back in the day when the school tie approach was prevalent. These days the process of recruitment is more transparent. Especially in unionized organizations.

47. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ David Bu

Not even when I was a lad 50 years ago.
    There were agreed criteria for selection to positions. One met them or not. Of course there were situations where ethnicity, classism, and connections played a part. These arise in all societies but they were not the general rule. What intelligent person would want to work in such environments any way?

48. there MUST be some individual approach to the situation

i was taught Pharm at BCC WHERE i HAD 3 FEMALE STUDENTS THAT WERE FAR FROM STELLAR

I FELT THAT THE BEST OF THESE THREE SHOULD BE HELPED IN THE HOPE THAT SHE WOULD BECOME A TABLET COUNTER AND DO SO FAITHFULLY FOR 33 YEARS SOMEWHERE, AND I DID WHAT I COULD TO HELP HER THROUGH THE SECOND TERM

IN THE THIRD TERM, I SET UP A SYSTEM TO FACILITATE THESE FOLK TO PAST THE EXAM BY HOLDING THREE EXAMS BEFORE THE FINAL . I DIVIDED THE CHAPTERS UP AND SET APPROPRIATE QUESTIONS FOR SECTIONS OF THAT TERMS WORK. THIS WAS MORE WORK FOR ME BUT GAVE THEM THE CHANCE OF BEING SUCCESSFUL BY NOT HAVING TO STUDY ALL THE CHAPTERS FOR A FINAL…………..ALTHOUGH IT MEANT THEY HAD TO ANSWER MORE QUESTIONS, AND THE COURSE WAS ACTUALLY EXAMINED MORE DEEPLY.

THERE WAS SOME IMPROVEMENT IN THE RESULTS OF THE WEAKLINGS. I DISCOVERED THAT THEIR FAILINGS WAS NOT DUE TO INABILITY BUT TO APTITUDE AND LACK OF EFFORT. THE BRIGHTER STUDENTS LAPPED IT UP

49. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ GP at 2:24 PM

Having done some teaching at all three levels my experiences are similar. I would like to add attitude to your list of two. Those who met the criteria were prepared to put in the work, were interested in passing, and had positive attitudes. The parents were also supportive psychologically.

50. YES VINCENT
    ATTITUDE NOT APTITUDE
    THANKS

Leave a Reply to LorenzoCancel reply