Prime Minister Mia Mottley addressed the Nation on the 02 January 2020 to update on a wide range of issues.

150 responses to “Prime Minister Mia Mottley Speaks to the Nation”

1. William Skinner Avatar

Three or so year ago, Owen Arthur and some of those now in Mottley’s cabinet, kicked her to the political curb. At that time Owen was the greatest. Today Mottley is the Prime Minister.
    To Mottley’s credit she showed tremendous survival skills. Owen no longer considers her a “ despot” and “ unfit” to be PM. He actually works with her in trying to solve problems.
    Ms. Depeiza was in the political doldrums and as fate would have she has emerged to leadership in the Duopoly.
    Just under two years ago Atherley was on a platform promoting Mottley and the BLP . In today’s paper he is criticizing the same Mottley. He even has his own political party.
    Sometime back Dr. Mascoll brought a no confidence motion against the BLP
    government. He accused Arthur of over spending and ruining the economy. He even led the DLP in an election. He subsequently left the DLP
    and join Arthur’s cabinet. Today he is an adviser to the BLP and a party member.
    It’s important to remind cool aid drinkers on both sides of these realities.
    With the Duopoly there is an ever present cannibalism. Sometimes they actually eat their own.
    However the remarkable thing is that they don’t hesitate to eat those who don’t lavish praise on them.
    Therefore the cool aid drinkers are guaranteed survival in some form. That’s how they have survived on BU. They eat each other and then eat the outsiders.
    Just about two years ago, @ Piece was their darling with his effective posters. Today they are eating him alive.
    The cannibals don’t rest. They are well trained. The carcasses buried in Roebuck and George Streets are evidence of the cannibalism.

The Duopoly Rules

2. Piece the Legend Avatar

The second entity the Barbados Entrepreneurs Foundation has one claim to fame.

It has a $20 investment club!

Yes $20! and its brainiac president Peter Boos is quite proud of the shy$e!

After a while Dr. GP the stoopidness gets you numb and you jes got to sit back and look at it IN SILENCE!

It makes more sense

3. William Skinner Avatar

@ Piece
    The only way to do that is to put the fire under them. It calls for serious leadership. Remember it was the same private sector that gave their workers time off to march against the NSRL ( or whatever it was called)
    My reason informs that if you help a man buy a cow you should help him feed it.
    But the old people say that not every body that helps you buy a big guts horse is help you feed it. Guess they were right. But the Duopoly is always in bed with the private sector so as @ WURA says they make other deals that have nothing to do with the welfare of the populace.

The Duopoly Rules

4. Mr skinner you are stating the obvious just like yourself being with the Dems probably based on your defence of them anytime someone criticize them still are,and leaving to join the other dis gruntled Dems like Dr Haynes,Mr Miller,Mr Bourne and Mr Byer,When Dr Haynes was by passed by Mr Sandiford or Sir Lloyd as he now is.From my memoery that did not work out well for you or them.Therefore nothing you stated negates the fact that Ms Depeiza as a leader of the Dems will most likely end in disaster as she cannot even win a seat so what is your point again?Do not even mention persons like Mr Arthur a heavyweight compared to Ms Depeiza.

5. Piece the Legend Avatar

@ Mr. William Skinner

Your points are valid points

The thing is that THEY HAVE CHANGED THEIR MESSAGE, I PIECE THE LEGEND, have not changed mine.

The country Barbados IS FOR ALL ITS CITIZENRY not a select few

And therein lies a significant difference between these weathercocks and Piece the Legend

And try as de ole man may, I cant change dat.

I have lived in the 2 Barbadoses for as long as I have known myself (according to the bajan vernacular)

I have seen the “if you white you right and if you black STAND BACK”

As well as the Black on Black victimization caused by

“Whose son he is” and “from which political party he be?”

The 52 murders last year is testimony that those systems ATE NOT WORKING!

But you know what Mr Skinner?

52 of de poor man deading DOES NOT MEAN DIDDLY SQUAT!

So this year de ole man will pray fervently for these deaths TO TOUCH THE FAMILIES OF THE BIG WIGS!

I expect that this statement will draw the ire of many here.

Dat is expected BUT UNTIL THE HAVES IN BARBADOS start to suffer LIKE THE HAVE NOTS, this callousnessness gine continue!

So this is my prayer THAT MY FATHER SENDS THE ANGEL WHO RAVAGED EGYPT’S FIRST BORN, to make these animals shift from their disconnected state of mind.

And for those of you who gine come to talk badword, remember the Flood!

6. “The cannibals don’t rest. They are well trained. The carcasses buried in Roebuck and George Streets are evidence of the cannibalism.”

that’s why it’s always good to remind them that there is a much BIGGER beast than them out there.

7. “Newsflash very few on this blog takes you two seriously about time both of realise this and take a vacation from the blog as even thblog master seldo”

Piece ya know anytime ya hear that, there is something vile going on in the background and they don’t want us to catch wind of it, stay tuned, ah looking for even more to hold them down with…let them carry on smartly.

8. Piece the Legend Avatar

@ WARU,

the second of the Rented Jackasses Hee Haw ent nobody so dont give what he said a second thought!

9. But Piece the comments Skinner made in reference to u was correct
    The worst of it all is that you worked very hard for them and none have said one good word about u since the blp.win
    As for Mariposa i can say what de hell i care to say
    Win or lose no sweat off my backside
    Cause u can bet that i rice at nobody doesnt know what the inside of the dlp.or blp headquarters look like
    I float my own boat and careful as hell to carry lifejackets and paddles

10. lol…

“Bishop Atherley pointed out that Barbadians heard no plans for sectoral development, including plans to make a meaningful dent in the unemployment rate of 30 per cent among young people.”

Piece…always with the world class bullshit but got a 30% or higher unemployment rate among the young people and wondering why there is violence every day, not thinking that these young people are under severe pressure, especially when the best that dummies for leaders can see them achieving is being maids and gardeners in racist hotels…useless leaders.

11. More rhetoric from the BU regulars. How do you constantly denounce the duopoly, yet live in America, Canada or the UK but refuse to leave? If duopoly rule is so repugnant and one is so patriotic, I would expect one to prefer the duopoly at home, rather than abroad where one is told by the President go back to where one comes from. Up wunna game nuh.🤣🤣🤣

12. My name is Mariposa

13. Piece the Legend Avatar

@ Mariposa rather ManyPussy

I Piece the Legend DID NOT AND WOULD NEVER WORK FOR MUGABE!

I worked for my country Barbados

And the DLP was an enemy of Barbados

And if the occasion arose again today, I would work doubly hard BUT THIS TIME TO GET WUNNA LOCK UP THE SAME TIME!

Your RH head is hard as scunt though, you got to tell each one of your 7 member access account, the same fvucking thing, TWICE!!!

My task was NOT ONE FUVCKING SEAT and that was accomplished!

And, if a bye election was to happen tomorrow I would make it my business to ensure the DLP candidate lost their deposit again

14. Btw desperate times need desperate action
    The blp had two campagain meetings tonight in CH CH
    Word on the street says the support numbers are dropping
    Mia is cracking the whip
    Oh Atherley hint of desperation in his response to Mia address spoke volumes

15. Piece
    So what
    Maybe if your RH head was as hard as mine u would have stay clear of the blp and their foot soldiers and fight yuh battle a lonesome
    But no yuh scunt jump right into a scorpion nest that now stings yuh back side everyday hee hee
    But listen yuh never too old to learn yuh hear
    My name is Mariposa

16. A man shot in Eden Lodge rushed to the hospital in critical condition
    So much for feel good speeches by PM Mia

17. This is what happens when evil negro governments who like to TIEF from and SELL OUT Black people and who don’t think Black people have suffered Enuff….this is the result

But fowl Enuff, the president tells you to get ya funky yardfowl ass back to Barbados and u refuse to budge, what are you still doing in US, ya up in there defending crimes against vulnerable Black people on the island. Don’t worry yall will try to rob the one who will blow ya sell out negro game wide open on the world stage, so keep it up. I will keep holding yall down until ya suffocate, watch muh..

https://www.facebook.com/jackie.stewart.965/videos/1215809985295205/?t=0

18. “And if the occasion arose again today, I would work doubly hard BUT THIS TIME TO GET WUNNA LOCK UP THE SAME TIME!”

Don’t mind the sell out negros of parliament, ah got the KEYS FOR THEIR PRISON CELLS.

19. These savages for Black leaders believe that Bajans in the Diaspora will walk willingly into the Barbados like sacrificial lambs to be ROBBED OF THEIR PROPERTIES AND BANK ACCOUNTS.

20. Barbados’ slimy crooks, ya think ya got away with that 4 Seasons scam where yall ripped off investors tens of millions…am sure Pemberton is still in hiding..lol

https://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/243370/composer-wins-tax-fight-seasons

“At least one of the 14 villa owners who invested millions of dollars in the failed Four Seasons Barbados project will be able to claim capital gains tax losses in England on their investment.

Judge John Brooks recently told the tax tribunal in London that Baron Andrew Lloyd-Webber, 71, and his wife Madeline, 57, should be credited for the “real loss” they suffered when they forked out as much as 20 million pounds for two villas.

Lord Webber, a famous composer and impresario had paid a deposit of eight million pounds upfront for the properties, one of which was being sold for nearly £10 (£1 = BDS$2.61) million and the other for more than £7 million.

When they first made claims for capital gains tax losses, the HM Revenue and Customs disallowed the claims and the couple filed an appeal. (MB)”

21. Looks like Mama Mia worked for the four seasons SCAM for free, how very noble. Well since Four Seasons got offshore accounts out there nig and bold, maybe the victims of that ripoff can check to see if their tens of millions of stolen pounds are still sitting in there.

https://www.blp.org.bb/mottley-denies-getting-4-million-from-four-seasons/

22. Greene

I believe you’re suffering from “tunnel vision.” In other words, you have a tendency to focus exclusively on a single view.

To be FAIR, the BLP inherited a mess your inept DLP created. It’s a fact, no matter how many times you try to side step the issue.

And, you, Verla Depeiza or any other DLP sycophants (to use your word) should be ASHAMED to come to any forum, CRITICIZING garbage collection, public transport, water woes, the economy, “We Gathering,” (which is the BLP’s version of your year long 50th anniversary of Independence celebrations) and the redevelopment of Bridgetown.

You mentioned “forgiveness of back tax interests and VAT to certain people.” I’ll remind you the first thing Thompson did when he became PM was to “forgive back tax interest and VAT” for the Barbados Turf Club.

As I always “say,” there aren’t any fundamental differences between the BLP and DLP.

You can continue trying to convince yourself otherwise.

23. Artax,

i have been upfront about my preference of political parties and the reason why. you seem to think that your refrain that both parties are the same absolves you from your BLP leanings. the proof of the pie is in the eating. all your postings seem to along the same line. respond to some negative criticism of the BLP by pointing out the DLP did the same.

i say so what- the DLP has been booted out and rightfully so. the BLP is the Govt now and whatever the DLP did, does not give the BLP the right to do the same or worse. and no reference to the DLP, corruption and a verb will stop me from highlighting the negatives of the BLP and the PR PM.

she is pulling a fast one on the Bim public with slick PR and smoke and mirror gimmicks. all one has to do is to look at her actions and the players involved.

the white private sector is going to back this party to the hilt. this party is going to start and implement a myriad of capital work projects paid for and underwritten by the Bajan public. the white private sector is going to be the recipient companies leading these projects, which in the end will be a massive transfer of wealth to the private sector. the private sector does not drive any economic development in Bim- it depends on the govt to do so and the BLP govt in particular

this is not unusual at all. this is the cycle and game that has become our politics. the BLP borrow, do capital projects handing over massive wealth to the private sector and at the same time some black bajans will get a bit of coppers leading some to say that when the BLP is in power money flows. that is true but it is the tax payers’ money that flow to the private sector and the BLP, family and other friends with a short delay in the hands of a few of the public at large.

then the public frustrated with the Bs vote in the Dees who often have to implement massive spending cuts as the time comes to pay back those loans. then the DLP is blamed for our poor finances whilst cleaning up the BLP borrow, spend, transfer of wealth to the private sector follies.

this time around Freundel either refused or didnt know how to play the game and above all it seems to me this is what really angered the BLP. that the DLP did not rescue the country enough for the BLP to continue their game and so MAM had to go to the IMF.

that wont stop her tho. not with the IMF money, when we are gathering and the Chinese purse is open like a Venus fly trap. Pay back will be a bitch

24. Yes of course the smoke and mirrors

The BLP borrows!
    the DLP implements spending cuts not borrow.

someone said PR?

25. @ Greene January 5, 2020 9:41 AM
    “…then the public frustrated with the Bs vote in the Dees who often have to implement massive spending cuts as the time comes to pay back those loans. then the DLP is blamed for our poor finances whilst cleaning up the BLP borrow, spend, transfer of wealth to the private sector follies.”
    +++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

Did the BLP send the Erskine Sandiford administration to the IMF after the Bajan economy was batting and bowling like Sir Garry?

If the DLP had to undertake massive spending cuts to pay back the loans racked up under the Arthur administration (BLP) how then do you explain the national debt moving from just over $ 7 billion to over $14 billion during the period 2008 to May 2018?

Which private sector players benefited from the vast majority of construction contracts during the same period? Do the names Maloney and Bjerkham ring any bells for you the same names popping up today under MAM?

What you should be asking the Mottley administration is what is going to happen to the function currently performed by the Fire service depot on Probyn Street.

Why not construct a suitable replacement before destroying a vital piece of safety infrastructure in the City?

As a lifelong DLP backer you ought to be expecting that the barricade to be put around the demolished old NIS building will serve the same purpose as that which went up around the Four Seasons fiasco.

How about calling for a similar act of concealment by hiding a similar eyesore called the old General Hospital?

You ought to take the contributions of William Skinner more seriously.
    He is absolutely right on the money when he claims there is not even a sliver of ‘corrupted light’ between BDLP (the Tweedle Bee and Tweedle Dem of Bajan politics) other than an alphabetical Letter of ‘[B[latant [D]eceit’.

26. Miller,

these whataboutisms dont negate what i said you know.

after 50 odd years of the DLP and BLP governance after independence there is bound to be overlap and exceptions to the general rule but nevertheless i stand by what i said.

as George Lamming said, Barbados elections are often fought and won on which party is less corrupt than the other.

so pointing out the last 10 years ignores the prior 14, this year and half and rest to follow.

notwithstanding the 8 years or so after Thompson i prefer the DLP

27. Two million trees for 2020. Very ambitious but

I hope one million or more will be FRUIT TREES.

https://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/243368/prescod-million-trees-yearend

28. Salemite
    “…..especially when the best that dummies for leaders can see them achieving is being maids and gardeners in racist hotels…useless leaders.”

A government that just reintroduced free tertiary education thinks young Barbadians are only useful as maids and gardeners? One that expanded the youth service in terms of funding, numbers and objectives with exposure to graphics, coding, robotics, construction and design, etc? A government that just started Job Start Plus and have disbursed loans to many young people under its Trust Loans programme? What about the: Blockpreneurs programme, which there was a recent groundbreaking for the first site in Silver Hill; and, the Regulatory Sandbox? You accused me of defending the government, I see my actions as defending truth, fairness and logic. Up wunna game, one-trick ponyism is tired.

29. Enuff

Nuff smoke in the mirrows

30. Greene

BLP leanings what!!!

What you wrote is utter nonsense.

I “respond to some negative criticism of the BLP by pointing out the DLP did the same” to REMIND all and sundry that BOTH political parties ARE THE SAME and to debunk your silly belief that one is much better than the other.

Both the BLP and DLP indulge in similar activities to enrich their members, financiers, relatives and friends, at the expense of taxpayers.

RE: “the white private sector is going to back this party to the hilt. this party is going to start and implement a myriad of capital work projects paid for and underwritten by the Bajan public. the white private sector is going to be the recipient companies leading these projects, which in the end will be a massive transfer of wealth to the private sector. the private sector does not drive any economic development in Bim- it depends on the govt to do so and the BLP govt in particular.”

More rubbish. “The white private sector BACK both parties to the hilt.” I remember Bizzy Williams telling Barbadians he contributes to the political campaigns of BOTH the BLP and DLP. Why do you think he does that?

Under BOTH political administrations, the bulk of construction projects are awarded to WHITE OWNED companies, such as C.O Williams Construction, Williams Industries, Williams Electrical, Williams Rentals, Williams Electrical, Williams Equipment, Structural Systems, BRC, Bjerkhamn Construction, JADA Group, Preconco Limited, Innotech Services Limited, Black Bess Construction etc, who in turn subcontract some of the work to other white owned companies.

Majority of roadwork contracts are awarded to C.O Williams Construction and related companies.

Majority of government vehicles are leased or purchased from Simpson Motors. For example, 99% RBPF’s fleet of vehicles comprise of Suzuki Vitaras, Chevrolet and Mitsubishi Lancers.
    Majority of repairs to Transport Board buses are done by Simpson Motors, even though UCAL mechanics were sent abroad for training.

Blue Horizon Hotel was sold to Bjerkhamn and Mark Maloney. The land at Coverley was leased to Mark Maloney for 99 years. The Villages at Coverley was a joint venture between government and Preconco Ltd. The other partners include, DuraTile Inc., Caribbean Homes Ltd., Meridian Caribbean Inc. Windows, CemTile, Creative Paving Solutions.

Caribbean Homes was awarded a contract by the NHC as part of Government’s H.E.L.P. Program (Housing Every Last Person) to build 135 houses at Work Hall in St Philip, Four Hill in St Peter and Drax Hall Greens in St George.

Mark Maloney built the government units at the Grotto (you could ask Denis Kellman).

RE: “when the BLP is in power money flows. that is true but it is the tax payers’ money that flow to the private sector and the BLP, family and other friends with a short delay in the hands of a few of the public at large.”

I’ll have to remind you of DLP family and other friends, such as Michael Yearwood, Hal Gollop, Richard Byer, Michael Carrington and Guyson Mayers who all benefited from Treasury, under Freundel Stuart’s watch.

Imagine, Carrington charged the BIDC $706,450 for providing legal services relative to “the $32M sale of a BIDC at Lot A1 Newton Business Park, Christ Church to Gildan Activewear Properties (BVI) Inc. in 2010, and then asked the BIDC to pay, on his behalf, $92,146 VAT the transaction incurred.

Michael Yearwood charged the SSA $1,5M for the CAHILL project, when the SSA Board did not even have any knowledge of the project.

Freundel’s “bosom buddy” charged $1.5M for reviewing the BWA headquarters agreement.

Richard Byer charged Caves of Barbados $$766,855 to review a standard loan agreement.

Guyson Mayers was paid $300,000 for fifteen months work to prepare a nondescript report supported by technical tools costing $224,000.

RE: “this time around Freundel either refused or didnt know how to play the game….”

Are you referring to the same Freundel who wanted to hood wink Barbadians with the CAHILL scam?
    The same Freundel who said he didn’t know anything about nor did he sign any contracts relating to the project?
    The same Freundel who was exposed as a fraud and liar, when Barbados Underground published contracts sign by him?

What is annoying is the fact that no one in the DLP will be held accountable for those “crimes,” because the DEM gave the BEES a “get out of jail free” card in 2008, after shouting corruption.

Mottley has to return the favour.

31. John2
    Smoke and mirrors? Is free tertiary education available in Barbados again or not?

32. @ Greene January 5, 2020 10:40 AM

Greenie Jack, who is stopping or opposing you preference or even your ‘love’ of the “D” side of the Duopoly?

What we trying to point out to you is that both are simply opposite sides of the same coin spinning in a bowl of muddy mismanagement and financial infelicities.

Isn’t the modus operandi of the Leader of the current administration a carbon copy of what David Thompson did to propel him into power in January 2008?

The people are still waiting on the charging of the members of the Arthur administration (including the current leader) for the many acts of purposefully-devised financial infelicities the same way they are now awaiting the outcome of the valise full of similar charges against the Stuart & Sinckler administration.

Let them wait also on the Verla Depeiza & Co version of the Duopoly’s grandstanding on charges of financial infelicities.

33. Ah went into the wrong link and saw 246 post so since it is already there i repeat for Grenville’s benefit, ah thought he had pushed his head out..

WURA-WAR-on-UJanuary 5, 2020 12:12 PM

Grenville…really…you dare to talk that nonsense..

all i want to ask you if the Barbados electorate is fool ENUFF to allow you to pollute their parliament…HOW were you planning to stop Money Launderer’s Inc from moving tens of millions of dollars offshore….HOW?

ah dare ya to answer that…ah take you have not spoken to Daddy yet…ya should..or ya just boldface, but boldface don’t stop the uppity from going to prison.

34. Fowl Enuff…this is 2020, no education is FREE…Mia reentroduced what the taxpayers, overburndened and ROBBED…still have to PAY FOR….bullshit about free education…there is no such thing….

what she is doing is fooling people who know no better..

35. Fowl Enuff…you must think someone elected Mia for her looks while having to pay her and about 1000 consultants…steuppps…yardfowls too stupid though..

36. Like I said you are a CLOWN 🥳🥳.

37. A clown who will not go to prison with any of you, will sit back and watch Grenville’s bad boys pick yall up and may be lucky Enuff to see them pick up both you and him…

38. Artax,

let me repeat what i said to Miller. it is an applicable response to your diatribe.

quote- these whataboutisms dont negate what i said you know.

after 50 odd years of the DLP and BLP governance after independence there is bound to be overlap and exceptions to the general rule but nevertheless i stand by what i said.

as George Lamming said, Barbados elections are often fought and won on which party is less corrupt than the other.

so pointing out the last 10 years ignores the prior 14, this year and half and rest to follow.

notwithstanding the 8 years or so after Thompson i prefer the DLP- quote

let me add -highlighting the infidelities of the former BLP Govt and the non prosecution thereof dont put paid to what i have said. equating that with what is happening now doesnt either. what it does meant, if it means anything at all, is that the Bees should be criticised roundly just as the Ds were. it certainly cant mean or shouldnt mean because the Dees did it, the Bees should be given a pass. or does it?

39. All the money govt using to have a demolition derby of govt buildings and for parks can be used to improve conditions or build a New Hospital

40. Ah take it the fowl ran off sulking, temper, temper, ya can’t take that attitude to a jail cell, ask Donville, ya better start the attitude adjustment right now..

41. Greene

Perhaps you may want to indicate to me where anyone mentioned anything about “it certainly cant mean or shouldnt mean because the Dees did it, the Bees should be given a pass. or does it?”

You mentioned something about “the white private sector supporting the BLP to the hilt,” and that “when the BLP is in power, money flows to the private sector and the BLP, family and other friends with a short delay in the hands of a few of the public at large,” as well as other accusations that, in your opinion, are synonymous with the BLP.

I proved otherwise, which you described as “diatribe.”

RE: “so pointing out the last 10 years ignores the prior 14, this year and half and rest to follow.”

You have once again proved my point. During the tenure of the former DLP administration, your ministers were constantly making references to the BLP’s “14 years in government” and making it seem as though all the problems facing Barbados, began during that period of time.

Now, the BEES keeps mentioning the previous administration tenure in office, referring to it as “the lost years,” and likewise making it seem as though the island’s problems began on January 15, 2008.

Ironically, you’re accusing us of focusing on the the previous administration’s 10 year tenure, which is far from the truth. You, on the other hand, are narrowing the focus of your attention specifically on successive BLP administrations, while giving the DLP a free pass.

In other words, you’re trying to CONVINCE us the BLP is responsible for the social, economical and moral decay of the society and the DLP has to take responsibility for “repairing the damage.” I’m sure that’s a view that found its origins in George Street. The guys in Roebuck Street give an opposing view.

As Miller correctly stated, “What we trying to point out to you is that both are simply opposite sides of the same coin spinning in a bowl of muddy mismanagement and financial infelicities.”

Finally, I prefer to read criticisms from neutral contributors, such as Piece the Legend, John A, Mr. Skinner, Mr. Codrington, PLT, Miller, GP, Donna, etc, because they present balanced opinions. Yours are politically biased, the credibility of which are questionable. That’s one of the reasons why I like to challenge yard-fowls.

Anyhow, enough of this nonsense…… the back and forth is getting us anywhere.

42. i have never asked you what you think of my posts such as they are. i really dont care, mate.

i just want to post my bit on any topic i like.

you do whatever you want.

to each his own

this duopoly thing whilst true in a sense means v little in the scheme of things. so to constantly reference it is a cop out and gets us no where beyond a truism

43. Liat under a chairman Owen Arthur

44. It seems as though I touched a nerve. But, I’m sure you’ll also agree your BIASED opinions “gets us no where beyond a truism” as well.

45. Enuff

SARCASM.

46. MIA IS CLOSELY MONITORING TENSIONS BETWEEN IRAN AND THE USA. HURRAY
    AND THEN WHAT?
    WHAT CAN SHE DO EXCEPT GIVE ANOTHER INCONSEQUENTIAL SPEECH NEXT MONTH AT THE NEXT WE GATHERIN CHURCH MEETING

I THINK SHE SHOULD INVITE FREEDOM CRIER OR DIOTROPHES TO GIVE “THE SERMON” NEXT TIME. MURDAH

47. Btw what happen to tge Ghana nurses that were to be here in Jan

48. You saw that too?
    A bad start to the story. She is concerned that instability in the ME may raise oil prices.

When I read the first paragraph it appeared to be silliness.

49. Here is a familiar discussion.

SINGAPORE — A terse exchange in a Singaporean election debate has brought simmering tensions over immigration to the surface, forcing the ruling People’s Action Party to fend off opposition claims that it wants a dramatic increase in foreign workers.

The spat broke out during a televised debate Wednesday night, when the chief of the opposition Singapore Democratic Party suggested that Deputy Prime Minister Heng Swee Keat had entertained the idea of nearly doubling the city-state’s population to 10 million, from 5.7 million as of June 2019.

“Singaporeans are deadly worried about this proposal,” the SDP’s Chee Soon Juan said, addressing the PAP’s representative in the discussion, Foreign Minister Vivian Balakrishnan. “Will you categorically tell Singaporeans right now that your party has no intention of raising our population to 10 million by continuing to bring in foreigners, especially foreign PMETs into Singapore, to compete with our PMETs for jobs?”

PMET stands for professionals, managers, engineers and technicians.

“That’s a cheap shot Dr. Chee,” Balakrishnan, a debater in his school days, fired back over objections from his rival. “Let me state for the record: We will never have 10 million. We won’t even have 6.9 million. The government doesn’t have a target for the population. What we want is a Singapore core that is demographically stable, able to reproduce ourselves, able to create opportunities and jobs for ourselves.”

Chee, however, struck a nerve just ahead of the July 10 election.

“We have got to stop this foolishness of continuing to bring in foreign workers, especially foreign PMETs,” he also said in the debate. “We have more than 100,000 unemployed [PMETs] in Singapore at the moment.”

Immigration and population growth have long been burning questions for tiny Singapore. Ministry of Manpower data shows there were over 1.42 million foreign workers on all types of permits at the end of last year. While the city-state has an aging base of locals, the idea of further supplementing the workforce with labor from abroad has proved touchy in elections before. The number 6.9 million stems from a government white paper’s projection that stirred controversy in 2013, before an eventual revision.

Tempers may be running especially hot in this race to the polls, as the coronavirus pandemic pushes the economy toward an estimated 4% to 7% contraction for 2020.

On Wednesday night, the government rushed to post a response on its website, stating that it “has not proposed, planned nor targeted for Singapore to increase its population to 10 million.” On Thursday, the Ministry of Manpower said there were only 39,000 unemployed PMETs, citing a figure for 2019.

Heng himself — the man tipped to be prime minister when current leader Lee Hsien Loong steps down, likely in the next term — weighed in on Facebook on Thursday.

Deputy Prime Minister Heng Swee Keat, center, has found himself under pressure from opposition parties over remarks made last year. © Reuters
    He sought to clarify remarks he made last year in a discussion with students, which seemed to be the basis for Chee’s argument. A report by the Straits Times newspaper said Heng had cited former chief planner Liu Thai Ker’s view that Singapore would need 10 million people, while arguing that the nation should remain open.

“Far from endorsing this, I had explained that our population size was not just about physical space, but also about social space and how we can preserve a sense of togetherness,” Heng wrote on Thursday.

“The government has never proposed or targeted for Singapore to increase its population to 10 million,” he added. “And if we look at today’s situation, our population is likely to be significantly below 6.9 million by 2030.”

The firm denials raised the prospect that the government might even invoke its fake news law — the Protection from Online Falsehoods and Manipulation Act. It has refrained from doing so, but the National Population and Talent Division under the Prime Minister’s Office on Wednesday warned that action may be taken against further publication of false claims about the population.

This did not stop the SDP from following up on Thursday with a statement titled “No to a 10 million population,” in which it insisted that it did not invent nor imagine the number.

The SDP is not the only opposition group pressuring the PAP on immigration and employment. The Progress Singapore Party — which has drawn plenty of attention over the membership of Prime Minister Lee’s estranged brother, Lee Hsien Yang — also hammered the point in the debate.

“The facts still remain that you have among us the 400-over-thousand numbers of foreign PMETs working here,” said Francis Yuen, the PSP’s representative.

“And the fact also remains that there are a number of our own PMETs that are out of jobs, to the tune of 100,000. So, logic would tell us that our own PMETs certainly could fill up some of the jobs,” he continued, suggesting the government should repatriate “excess” foreign workers and have locals fill the vacancies.

Tied to the issue of jobs and income, the subject of inequality also came up in Wednesday’s debate. The Workers’ Party’s Jamus Lim highlighted his camp’s proposal for Singapore to introduce a minimum wage.

“It is really a crime that we see the elderly continue to feel that they have to work, in order to make ends meet,” he said. “Elements like a minimum wage would actually help us move toward increasing social mobility.”